Skip to main content

Full text of "Commemorative biographical record of Hartford County, Connecticut : containing biographical sketches of prominent and representative citizens, and of many of the early settled families"

1 


Ifliilliiliilili!] 



I 






m 



I 



1 11 § 

- .JjilJIiillil 






■ - ■: :•': '■ ■ 

. . ■ " * 

'■;-■■'' ' . ' 

■ 

- . 

■ 
- 

. " - - 


ilMuplifimJIl'ilr IHSmliir 

^HIHllii IS MMlUMmllwlMlmwm 

IImmImP 'ill'llf 'i') niill < [In'iiMlljiiil]'']!'' hUJIJi 

TlfMiJitililiii iiiuilii iiSHIflif Jiili Jr mm ilffiHWiii ['NiiWUijJmhI I'MjfiJifNn' 
nil illli iUf ifi f l*j 1 il Hi fl 1 tH)iiff\!K1i(iHf nil I I(JiHmimJii1i1 <« hi I ISi-wiififMliMiH 






mmm 



■HKimniimi 



RICKS COLLEGE LRC 




404 00266 7456 



/ 



RICKS CULLi 

DAVID 0. McKrti r\Kl 

BEXBURG, IDAHO 83440 



RICKS COLLEGE 

DAVID 0. McKAY LIBRARY. 

REXBURG, IDAHO 83440 



DATE DUE 


1-0 na 








MAY - 


4 I9SS 














J 








\^i MAT 


- 






N. 






































































































Demco 



Digitized by the Internet Archive 

in 2012 with funding from 
Brigham Young University-Idaho 



http://archive.org/details/commemorativebio15jhbe 









COMMEMORATIVE 



BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD 



OK 



HARTFORD COUNTY, 



CONNECTICUT, 



CONTAINING 



BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES OF PROMINENT AND REPRESENTATIVE 
CITIZENS, AND OF MANY OF THE EAREY SETTLED FAMILIES. 



?t. ^ 



LLUSTRATED. 




CHICAGO: 






J. H. BEERS & 


CO. 




1901. 














. 







U^l^cj C^3~~Z^y, S^t^^, 



BIOGRAPHICAL. 




IXOX, HOX. JAMES, LL. 
D. (deceased). Among the 
able and cultured people who 
made their home in Hartford, 
and have gone to their reward 
after giving society a notably 
refined and intellectual tone, 
none took higher rank than 
did the late United States 
Senator, James Dixon, and his gifted wife. 

James Dixon was born Aug. 5, 1814, in Enfield, 
Conn., the youngest son of Hon. William Dixon, a 
native of Killingly, Conn., who for many years was a 
prominent and influential citizen of the town. A 
lawyer by profession, he engaged in practice from 
1807 to 1825, and attained high rank in his calling. 
He was a delegate to the convention which formed 
the State I onstitution, held at Hartford in [818, 
Gov. Oliver Wolcott presiding. [See "Hollisters 
History of Connecticut."] In 1831 the town of En- 
field was made a probate district, and Hphraim P. 
Prudens became the first probate judge, serving one 
year, and being followed by William Dixon, who 
served three years. Mr. Dixon also served his town 
in the < lencral Assembly. He died in 1835, his 
wife, formerly Miss Mary Reynolds Field, passing 
away in 1X40. She was descended from Henry 
Whitfield, of ( ruilford, Matthew Allyn, and the Rev- 
olutionary Capt. Newberry. 

James Dixon, of whom we more particularly 
write, was graduated from Williams College in 1834. 
lie was class laureate; member of the Kappa Alpha 
Societ) : president of the Adelphic Union; pr 
of the Philotecnian, 1X33. delivered the master's 
• 'ration in 1X37. and was honorar tiber of the 

Phi Beta Kappa Fraternity. In [862 the degree of 
1. 1.. I), was conferred on him by Trinity Coll 
After leaving college he commenced the stud. 
law in his father's office, afterward visiting Europ . 
where, at Paris, he was p ented to Louis Phili] 
King of France, Mr. Dixon being at that time aide 
to the governor of Connecticut. He was admittei 
the bar, and removing to Hartford entered upon the 
practice of his profession in partnership with )v. 



Ellsworth, at once giving promise of eminence at the 
bar. About this time he became interested in pol- 
itics and the anti-slavery cause, and his attention was 
somewhat diverted from the legal profession. 

In 1837, when only twenty-three years of age, 
Mr. Dixon was elected from his native town as a 
member of the State Legislature, at the time being 
theyoungest representative, and was chosen Speaker 
of that body, in which he also served in 1838, 1844, 
and 1854. About this time he declined the nomina- 
tion for governor of Connecticut, though strongly 
urged to accept it. In 1845 he was elected on the 
Whig ticket to the United States Congress, being 
also the youngest member in that body, and served 
from Dec. I, of that year, until March 3, 1841;. In 
1854 he was a candidate for nomination as United 
States senator, but L. E. S. Foster, of Norwich 
(who afterwards became his sincere friend), was 
elected. Two years later he was again a candidate, 
and was elected by a large majority ; when he took 
his seat he was the youngest member of the Senate, 
and he served therein until 1869. In 1869 he was 
appointed by President Johnson minister to Russia, 
and his acceptance was greatly desired by the Rus- 
sian legation at Washington, but he declined the 
office. He was an intimate friend of Abraham Lin- 
coln, wdio frequently sent for him for conference, 
and has even been known to telegraph for him to 
come to Washington after an adjournment of Con- 
gress. Mi". Dixon was also intimate with Charles 
Sumner, William I'iit Fessenden, Horace Gn 
and Gen. Grant, who were frequently at his hi 
An advocate for the c; 1 1 of liberty, he was a warm 
friend of the soldiers :n the ('ivil war. and his hi 

frequentl) visited by officers of the army and 
navy, while his wife was untiring in her kindly min- 
istrations to the wounded in the hospitals. After the 
war Senator Dixon was opposed to the confi 
of property in the South, being more desirous to 
the restoration of the Union. He advocated "Stat"' 
rights" and was in favor of Free Trade. 1 ipon the 
expiration of his term in the United States Senate 
he retired into private life, though strongl) urgi d by 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



his colleagues in the Senate to accept the position of 
minister to Austria. 

Mr. Dixon's health was uniformly good until 
some time in February, 1873, when he contracted a 
chill which terminated in a sudden affection of the 
heart, which caused his death March 2J, 1873. He 
was a man of high culture, a graceful writer and 
able debater, and his fame as an erudite and ac- 
complished scholar, a ripe lawyer, and close stu- 
dent of political economy, was not confined to his 
immediate surroundings, but extended through- 
out the entire State, and even far beyond its limits. 
In his death the people of Connecticut reasonably 
felt that they had lost not alone a much needed ad- 
viser in State affairs, but also a citizen who, long 
and often trusted with public interests, was ever 
true to his best belief and convictions. He was 
possessed of a fine and sensitive temperament, and 
his head and face made one of the finest studies 
ever seen in the Senate chamber of the United States. 
In his youth a writer of much merit, his articles 
were published in the "New England Magazine," 
the "Southern Literary Messenger," and other 
journals, while in the files of the Hartford C our ant 
may be found some of his best writings. Socially 
he was affiliated with the F. & A. M. 

Hon. James Dixon was married to Miss Eliza- 
beth Lord Cogswell, a descendant in the seventh 
generation from John Cogswell, who was born in 
1592, in Westbury Leigh, Wiltshire, England, and 
came to America in 1635, settling at Ipswich, Mass., 
where he received a large grant of land. The line 
of Mrs. Dixon's descent was through William, Capt. 
Jonathan (who held a commission from the King), 
Jonathan (2), Dr. Nathaniel, and Rev. Dr. Jona- 
than Cogswell. The last named was born Sept. 3, 
1782, in Rowley, Mass., a sou of Dr. Nathaniel 
Cogswell, a man of superior education and acquire- 
ments, a member of the Committee of Safety, and 
a model of the most remarkable integrity, and of the 
purest character. The son, Dr. Jonathan Cogswell, 
was admitted to Harvard College in 1803, and was 
graduated in 1806, among the first scholars of his 
class. Subsequently he attended Andover Theo- 
logical Seminary for one year, being associated with 
the first class that graduated from that institution, 
in 1810. In October of that year he was ordained 
to the Gospel ministry, and installed pastor of the 
Congregational Church in Saco, Maine, and there 
he labored some eighteen years with great fidelity 
and marked success (giving largely of his private 
fortune to the work), resigning in October, 1828. 
After resting for a year he was in 1829 installed pas- 
tor over the church in New Britain Parish, Berlin, 
Conn., where he remained until he was called, in 
1834, to the chair of Ecclesiastical History in the 
Theological Institute of Connecticut, at East Wind- 
sor Hill, where his fine old Colonial house may yet 
be seen. On May 13, 1834, he was inaugurated 
professor of church history in that institution. In 
1836 he received the degree of S. T. D. from the 



University of New York. Prof. Cogswell contin- 
ued to fill the chair of Sacred History in the Theo- 
logical Institute for ten years, resigning in 1844 — ■ 
having been appointed executor of his brother's 
estate, which required his presence in or near New 
York — and retiring to the city of New Brunswick, 
N. J., where he resided until his death, which oc- 
curred Aug. 1, 1864, when he was aged about 
eighty-two years. He was a man of great physical 
strength, strikingly handsome, being over six feet 
tall and enjoying good health to the last. 

Rev. Dr. Cogswell was twice married, in 181 1 
to Elizabeth Abbot, daughter of Joel and Lydia 
(Cummings) Abbot, and sister of Commodore Joel 
Abbot, of the United States navy. She was a lady 
of high culture, and of most gracious hospital- 
ity. She died April 30, 1837. Rev. Dr. Cogswell 
afterward married Jane Eudora Kirkpatrick, daugh- 
ter of Hon. Andrew Kirkpatrick, chief justice of 
New Jersey. She passed away in 1864. 

To Senator and Elizabeth L. (Cogswell) Dixon 
were born two sons and two daughters. The eld- 
est son served in the Civil war on the staff of Gen. 
Wright, later, in the cavalry, as aide to Gen. Han- 
cock. The mother of this family was a lady of 
large fortune, rare attainments, and great personal 
attractions. It is said that Hon. Richard Spofford 
once remarked: "Mrs. Dixon was the most accom- 
plished lady I have ever seen in Washington." Oth- 
ers have spoken of her as "beautiful and amiable." 
Donald G. Mitchell dedicated to her his "Reveries 
of a Bachelor." She was a personal friend of Mrs. 
Lincoln, who sent for her after the assassination 
of the President, and Mrs. Dixon went and remained 
through the night with her. Mrs. Dixon died June 
16, 1 87 1, at the age of forty-nine years, deeply be- 
loved and regretted by all who knew her and ad- 
mired her for her many virtues. 

JAMES BOLTER, the late venerable president 
of the Hartford National Bank, rounded out nearly 
fifty years of continuous service with that institu- 
tion, twenty-five of which were passed as its execu- 
tive officer, and he was one of the city's esteemed 
and respected citizens. 

Mr. Bolter was born June 27, 181 5, in North- 
ampton, Mass., a son of William and Nancy (Pom- 
eroy ) Bolter, natives, the former of Boston (to 
which city his father had come from the County of 
Norfolk, England, and there died), and the latter of 
Northampton, Mass., a daughter of William Pom- 
eroy, a manufacturer of cloth. William Bolter was 
by trade both a saddler and harness maker and a 
carriage maker, but followed the latter as an occu- 
pation through life. He located in Northampton, 
where in the days of the old militia he was an en- 
sign of a company, his commission, which his son 
held among family treasures, being signed by John 
Hancock, one of the signers of the Declaration of 
Independence. Mr. Bolter died in Northampton, 
in 1841, at the age of seventy-six years, and his 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



win 



-eight 



Nancy passed away in 1848, at the age of six- 
years. Of their four children, all now 
1, James was the young • 
Un his maternal side Mr. I loiter descended from 
especially distinguished ancestry. His great- 
ndfather, Lieut. Daniel I' n< r iy, and the latter's 
ther, Gen. Seth Pomeroy, were patriots and ren- 
ed valuable service in the early days of the Col- 
in "'times that tried men's souls, 1 both serving 
from Northampton in the French and Indian war, 
and both participating in the battle of Lake I reorge 
in 1755. where Lieut. Daniel Pomeroy was killed. 
Seth Pomeroy was also at the siege of Louishurg, 
.nil the battle of Bunker Hill, and was made a 
jadier-general June 22, 1775. Mr. Loiter had 
■ lis possession copies of letters written in July, 
1755, by Col. Pomeroy, during the French and In- 
lian war, to the widow of Daniel Pomeroy, in one 
if which he tells her of the killing of her husband. 
ile had also a letter written by his grandmother to 
I. Pomeroy during the war of the Revolution. 
These letters are believed to be among the oldest 
ers connected with those early wars. They were 
roduced in the Springfield Republican in 1875. 
»ne of these letters sets forth that 156 men were 
killed at the battle of Lake George. Air. Bolter 
had also among his family heirlooms a most quaint 
1 bearing the date 1713. Col. Seth Pomeroy 

- the grandson of Eltweed Pomeroy (3), who 

- one of the most prominent men in the early his- 
tory of Northampton, where he located in 1665. 
Three brothers. Eltweed (2), Caleb, and Joshua, 
-ettled in 1636 in Windsor, coming from Devon- 
shire, England; two located in Northampton, and 
from the three descended those of the name in the 

.11. They were the sons of Eltweed Pome- 
111. who was descended from a long line 
>f English ancestry dating hack in unbroken succes- 
sion to the time of William the Conqueror. Elt- 
weed Pomeroy (2) came to this country about 
1630, settling first in Dorchester, Mass., then re- 

. ed with Mr. Warham's company to Windsor, 
inn., where Eltweed (3) was horn in 1638. 

James Bolter, the subject of this sketch, pa<- 
his boyhood and early manhood in Northampton 
and there received scholastic training in the public 
and private s In early manhood he passed 

two years at St. Louis. Mo., and with that exi 
tion -ince leaving his native town his long and 1 
life was passed in Hartford. Coming here in [832 
red th( employ of C. H. Northam as a clerk 
in a grocery, and continued there four years. Then 
when about twenty-one or twenty-two years of age 
lie went to St. Louis and remained about a ; 
but. being unsuco --fid. he returned prai tically 
niless to Hartford. There he became a partner 1 
Ellery Hills in the wh< ry business, a 

partnership which continued four years, the b 

- being carried on under the firm name of Hills 
•• Bolter. In [843 Mr. Bolter became associated in 

zhe wholesale grocery business with his former em- 



ployer, C. H. Northam, under the firm style of C. 
H. Northam & Co., with which he continued until 
i860; on Jan. 14, of that year, Mr. Bolter was made 
cashier of the Hartford Bank, later re-organized as 
a national bank with a capital of one million, two 
hundred thousand dollars. lie sustained such re- 
lations with the bank until he succeeded the late 
I lenry A. Perkins as its president, July 6, 1874. 

Hartford National Bank, the oldest in the 
city, in 1892 celebrated its one hundredth anniver- 
sary. Its founders were men of exceptional ability 
and force, which has made the bank a distinctively 
important factor to the substantial and financial de- 
velopment of the town. It was the first to begin the 
practice of fire and marine insurance long before the 
first local company was chartered. Under its wings 
was gathered the early experience destined, in time, 
to make Hartford pre-eminent for skill and success 
in underwriting. Such a galaxy of distinguished 
men has rarely, if ever, been excelled in a hundred 
years of any bank's history. The names of John 
Caldwell, Nathaniel Terry, Joseph Trumbull, Da- 
vid F. Robinson, Henry A. Perkins and James Bolt- 
er, would adorn the annals of any community. The 
bank has had only seven presidents in one hundred 
and eight years. It was the fifth bank established 
in rhe Cnited States. Mr. Bolter's connection with 
the bank began June 10, 1852, at which time he was 
elected to its board of directors. At his death he 
was the oldest man in point of service connected 
with the Hartford Bank, or any other bank in the 
city, and he was also among the oldest of Hart- 

- residents. He served on the staff of Gov. 
Joseph Trumbull. In his religious faith he was an 
Episcopalian, and was one of the trustees of dona- 
tions and bequests in the Episcopal Church of the 
State 

1 »ne of the first steps taken by Mr. Bolter on his 
elevation to the presidency of the bank was to mod- 
ernize the building, which was made in every w^ay a 
most substantial and comfortable banking house, 
worthy of its grand history. During the present ex- 
ecutive officers' administration of its affairs, the his- 
tory of the Hartford National Lank has been one of 

-1 phenomenal prosperity, giving it rank among 
foremi I f the banking institutions of the city and 

. Mr. Loiter was held in great esteem by fel- 
low bankers, and, as stated above, by Hartford peo- 
ple. Me had a remarkable insight into th ■ real con 
I borrowers that has caused his advice to be 
;ough1 by buyers of paper, lie gave timely 
aid, judii i tusly rendered to many struggling under 
the burdens of life, met the duties of citizenship 
fearli I 10 protect public interests; on occasions 
showed courage in the rebuke of wrong. He was 
a man of vivacity, one of cheerfulness, and, pos- 
lie did a wealth of anecdote, was welcome 
everywhere. He abounded in repartee, and was the 
maker of many happy and pointed hits thai had al- 
as wide a currency as the hills of the hank. 
In h itical affiliations Mr. Bolter was a Demo- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



crat, though not active in that party's affairs. With 
the exception of service as councilman and alderman 
we believe he never held public office. He was a di- 
rector for years in various corporations, among 
them the National Fire Insurance Co., the Dime 
Savings Bank, the Hartford County Mutual Fire In- 
surance Co., and the P. & F. Corbin Co. of New 
Britain. He was a member of the Hartford Club, 
of the Colonial Club, of a driving club called "The 
Zodiac," and of the Church Club of the State. In 
early manhood he affiliated with St. John's Lodge, 
F. & A. M., of Hartford. 

On Feb. n, 1846, Mr. Bolter was married to 
Mary, born July 7, 1820, daughter of Roswell and 
Sally Johnson (Stone) Bartholomew, he being one 
of the prominent citizens of Hartford, and was of 
the seventh generation from William Bartholomew, 
of Ipswich, Mass., who came from England in 
1634, the line of descent being through William ( 2 ) 
William (3), Andrew, Andrew (2), Andrew (3). 
To Mr. and Mrs. Bolter were born children : 

(1) James, born in 1847, married, in 1881. Ellen 
A. Brown. They had a daughter, Mary E., who 
married Dr. John B. Griggs, of Farming-ton, Conn , 
and to them was born a son, John Bolter Griggs. 

(2) Alice E., born 1851. (3) Clara M., born in 
1854, married, in 1875, John W. Gray, who died in 
1892. Their children are, Robert, Mary, and Clara. 
Mrs. Bolter died in Jul}', 1898, aged seventy-eight 
years. 

In June, 1900, Mr. Bolter went to Bridgeport to 
attend a diocesan convention, and walked more than 
usual, becoming very tired, yet hurried home and at- 
tended a reception in the evening. From this lime 
his strength began to fail, but through all the 
month of July he continued to go to the bank and 
attend to his regular duties. On Aug. 1 he went 
to the summer home of his daughter, Mrs. Gray, 
at Weekapaug, R. I., where he remained about 
three weeks, but. gradually growing weaker, he was 
brought back to his Hartford home, in a special car, 
Aug. 20. and on the 6th of September, following, the 
end came. 

GEN. WILLIAM BUEL FRANKLIN, ex- 
major-general of I Jnited States volunteers, and ex- 
president of the board of managers of the National 
Home for disabled volunteer soldiers, as well as 
vice-president of the Hartford Steam II oiler Inspec- 
tion & Insurance Co.. was born in York, Penn., 
Feb. 2/, 1823, a son of Walter S. and Sarah ( Buel ) 
Franklin. 

Walter S. Franklin, who was clerk of the 
United States House of Representatives at the time 
of his death, in 1838, was a son of Thomas Franklin, 
of Philadelphia, who was commissary of prisoners 
during the war of the Revolution, and who married 
Mary Rhoads, daughter of Samuel Rhodes, a mem- 
ber from Pennsylvania of the First Continental 
Congress, although the family came from Flushing, 
L. I. Mrs. Walter S. Franklin was a daughter of 



Dr. William Buel, of Litchfield, Conn., and a de- 
scendant of Peter Buel, of Windsor. 

William B. Franklin in June, 1839, secured an 
appointment as cadet in the Lnited States Military 
Academy at West Point, N. Y., passed through the 
curriculum, and was brevetted second lieutenant 
of topographical engineers in July, 1843. The fol- 
lowing two years he passed in the service on the 
western lakes and the Rocky Mountains, and after 
the third year, passed in the topographical office at 
Washington, D. C, he was appointed second lieu- 
tenant, Sept. 1, 1846. His first actual experience as 
a soldier was had in the Mexican war, and for gal- 
lant and meritorious conduct at the battle of Buena 
Vista he was promoted to first lieutenant Feb. 23, 
1847. From July, 1848, to January, 185 1, he was. 
assistant professor of natural and experimental phi- 
losophy at the Military Academy at West Point,. 
and the following two years he was on active duty 
along the Atlantic, building light-houses on the New 
Hampshire and Maine coasts. He was commissioned 
first lieutenant of topographical engineers March 
3, 1853, and until 1857 was on duty in connec- 
tion with lighthouse and custom-house engineering. 
In March, 1857, he was appointed secretary of the 
lighthouse board ; in ( )ctober of the same vear he 
was commissioned captain of topographical en- 
gineers ; in November, 1859, was appointed superin- 
tendent of the Capitol and Post Office buildings; 
and in March. 1861, was appointed supervising" 
architect of the Treasury Department at Washing- 
ton, D. C. 

In the terrible conflict between the North and 
South Gen. Franklin gained undying fame for him- 
self. Commissioned colonel of the 12th United 
States Infantry May 14, 1861, he was elevated three 
days later to the rank of brigadier-general. United 
States volunteers. In the Manassas campaign, and 
at the battle of Bull Run, he was in command of a 
brigade, and until March, 1862, he was in com- 
mand of divisions about the defense of the Capitol. 
He also took an honorable part in the Virginia 
peninsular campaign, and on June 30. 1802, was 
brevetted brigadier-general of the United States 
army "for gallant and meritorious conduct" in the 
battle before Richmond, Va., and was appointed 
major-general of volunteers on July 4, 1862. 

In the Maryland campaign the General was in 
command of the 6th Army Corps, and in the bat- 
tle of South Mountain, Sept. 14, 1862, commanded 
the left wing of tne Army of the Potomac, carrying 
Crampton's Gap by assault, and gaining a signal 
victory. He commanded the 6th Corps in the battle 
of Antietam, Sept. 17, 1862. While on sick leave 
of absence in the summer of 1864 Gen. Franklin 
was sent for by Gen. Grant to come to his headquar- 
ters in front of Petersburg. After spending some 
days with Gen. Grant, he started to return to his 
family, then in Portland, Maine. The train on which 
he started from Baltimore was captured by Major 
1 tarry Gilmore's party a short distance from Balti- 




dirtd 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



more. Some one informed Major Gilmore that Gen. 
Franklin was on the train, and he was at once taken 
prisoner and started South by the way of Towson 
and Green Spring Valley in Baltimore county. 
During the night he succeeded in making his es- 
cape, and he wandered for forty-eight hours with- 
out food, not daring to approach any habitation. 
At last, almost exhausted, he came to a house and 
asked for food. It proved to be the home of a Union 
sympathizer named Bitzer, who received, fed and 
concealed the General for a time. Word was sent 
to Baltimore, and a large force of infantry was 
sent to give him safe conduct to that city. 

Gen. Franklin commanded the left wing of the 
Army of the Potomac Dec. 13. [862, when the army 
was so disastrously defeated at Fredericksburg. 
( )f that defeat, and the responsibility therefor un- 
iustlv-laid on Gen. Franklin, we can best speak by 
quoting from a paper recently published by Col. 
Jacob L. Greene, himself a veteran of the Civil 
war. and an honored resident of Hartford. This 
paper, with a map specially drawn for the purpose, 
on which the movements of the troops are traced, 
was first presented to the Monday Evening Club, 
and has since keen given to the public — a valuable 
contribution to history and a complete vindication 
of Gen. Franklin by one competent to undertake 
such a task and carry it to completion. In opening 
Col. Greene says : 

On the 13th day of December, 1862, the Army of the Poto- 
mac, under the command of Major-Gen. Ambrose E. Burn- 
side, fought the battle of Fredericksburg", and met defeat 
■with the loss of over 12,000 men. Four months later the 
Congressional Committee on the conduct of the war uttered 
its opinion to the world that Major-Gen. William Buel 
Franklin was responsible for the loss of that battle in coa- 

ence of his disobedience to the orders of Gen. Burnside. 
Probably no finding ever announced by that remarkable 
body ever occasioned more surprise; and none was ever 
more promptly and completely controverted; but it dark- 
ened the soul and marred the career of the man it falsely 
and infamously accused. The slow pen of history has 

ed up and will ever more surely clear his pure fame, 
and his name will stand secure among the posterities. But 
for us, whose lives have happily touched his through the 
long years since those eventful days, and to whom his rare 
intelligence, his dauntless heart and perfect truth and lov- 
alty are as familiar as the constant stars, it is but a due trib- 
ute from our friendship and our faith in a manhood that we 
have never seen fail in any test, to read again the story of 
that disastrous day, note his part and bearing therein, and 

tuse and the manner of that cruel and wanton injus tice 
to learn how it came to be that the true patriot, the trained 
soldier, devoted to his pi a, proud to bear its high ob- 

ligations and jealous of its honor, who won distinction on 
every held of action, whose wide knowledge, great - 

ind judgment, and transparent sin< erity made him 

and trusted counsellor of evi n and 

the relial nt of every commander, who shared the 

brunt at Bull Run, who fought the rear-guard battles from 

hickahominy to the James, and held the pass of White 

dale, who won at ('ran: I rap " the 1 ompletest vic- 

tory gained up to that time by any part of the Army of the 
—to learn how ii cam< to bi thai this man was 
of that to which his every quality and act gavi 
e lie. 

Continuing Col. Greene describes the battle 

and actions of th 's in- 



explicable conduct, etc., the continued confidence 
between Gens. Burnside and Franklin for several 
weeks after the battle, Burnside's resignation and 
the relieving of Gen. Franklin from command, and 
the hearing by the Congressional Committee, and 
closes as follows : 

When the committee visited Fredericksburg and Frank- 
lin was summoned before it, he asked Burnside if he had 
given or would give them a copy of the order under which 
he acted on the 13th, considering that all such orders should 
come from the commander issuing them. General Burnside 
assured him that he had already furnished the committee 
with a copy of it, and General Franklin gave his testimony 
throughout upon the faith of that word and upon the sup- 
position that in considering his action the committee had 
before them and in their minds the order which governed 
him. But in this he was betrayed. Gen. Burnside never 
gave them the order or any inkling of it. They never heard 
of it until months afterward, and too late to prevent the 
utterance of their damnatory judgment of the man whose 
great opportunity and great purpose greatly planned that 
order wholly destroyed. 

Four main points stand out distinct and clear: The 
only proper battlefield at Fredericksburg was the ground on 
which Franklin and Jackson confronted each other; the 
force at Franklin's disposal ought to have been used to 
adequate and decisive results; his own apprehension of 
both these facts was perfect, and his accordant scheme of 
operation was proportioned to both the opportunity and the 
resistance; at no point of time or of action was it Gen. 
Franklin's fault that, despite his urgent entreaty, his force 
was not allowed to essay its proper task on that day. 

In June, 1863, Gen. Franklin was ordered to the 
Department of the Gulf, and served in Texas and 
Louisiana until April. 1864, when he succumbed to 
a wound received at the battle of Sabine Cross Roads 
( where two horses were shot under him ) , and was 
given his first leave of absence, until November of 
the same year. From December, 1864, to November, 
1865, Gen. Franklin was president of the board for 
retiring disabled officers at Washington, D. C, and 
in March, 1865, he received additional honor, being 
brevetted major-general of the United States army. 
He resigned his commission and retired to private 
life in November, 1865. In the various trying posi- 
tions in which Gen. Franklin was placed, he al- 
ways acquitted himself with honor, and his military 
record is one of which he lias just cause to be 
proud. 

Selecting Hartford as his future place of resi- 
dence, the General came to this city in 1865. In 
November of that year he was chosen vice-presi- 
dent and general manager of the Colt's Patenl Fire 
Arms Co., and retained thai p on until April, 
1888. In 1868 he was 1 lei ted presidenl of the board 
of visitors of the United States Military Academy 
at Wesl Point; lected as the mosl suitable 

on to acl as pi tit of th con mission \> >r the 

I ion of th C >nn< cticul Stair I Louse in 

.'-73; was consulting engineer from [873 to 
[877, 'and superintendent of 1 ruction from 1X77 
to March, [880. The magni now the 

pride of all the citizens of the State, and It is a re- 
thai ll kepi 
within the appropriations made 1>\ the I ure. 
In all the detail - tction I len. I ranklin's 



I 



6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



controlling hand could be felt, and his vigilance 
was never relaxed. 

For fifteen years, from 1872 to 1887, Gen. Frank- 
lin was a member of the board of water commis- 
sioners of Hartford, and here his experience as an 
engineer was useful on numerous occasions ; and at 
the Centennial Exhibition he was chairman of the 
committee of judges on Engineering and Archi- 
tecture. 

Jn i8<~2 the National Independent Democratic 
Conventions of New Jersey and Pennsylvania tele- 
graphed Gen. Franklin, asking if he would accept 
the nomination for President of the United States, 
to run against Horace Greeley. The General de- 
clined, stating as his reason that to defeat Greeley 
the party must stand as a unit, and concentrate its 
power. In 1876 he was chosen one of the Presiden- 
tial electors on the Democratic ticket, and took part 
in the convention which nominated Samuel J. Til- 
den. From 1877 to 1879 ne was adjutant-general 
of the State of Connecticut, and from July, 1880, 
to 1900, was president of the board of managers 
of the National Home for disabled soldiers. 

Additional honors awaited him. In June, 1888, 
he was appointed commissioner-general for the 
United States at the International Exposition at 
Paris, France, and in October of the following 
year he received the appointment of grand officer 
of the French Legion of Honor, a high compliment, 
and the only one of the kind to be paid an Ameri- 
can. His miniature and insignia of the Legion of 
Honor have been accepted to appear on the "Cullom 
Memorial" now being erected at West Point Acad- 
emy. A member of the New York Commandery 
of the Legion of Honor, the General was for several 
years its commander. He is a member of the Cin- 
cinnati ; Sons of the American Revolution: Sons of 
Colonial Wars; R. O. Tyler Post, No. 50, Grand 
Army of the Republic; and of the Army and Navy 
Club. He still retains his hold on the business world, 
and is vice-president of the Hartford Steam Boiler 
Inspection & Insurance Co. ; a director of the Con- 
necticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., of the National 
Fire Insurance Co., of Hartford, of Colt's Fire 
Arms Co., and of the Panama Railroad Co., New 
York. 

That Gen. Franklin attained high rank as an en- 
gineer is evidenced by his various deserved promo- 
tions. No man could have risen to the rank of 
major-general in the Civil war unless he was a born 
leader of men, and unless he had rare capacity for 
handling large bodies of troops. Returning to pri- 
vate life, unless he had executive ability of the 
highest order, combined with a superabundance of 
practical common sense, no man could be the con- 
trolling spirit of an immense corporation for over 
twenty years. Unless he was popular in the truest 
and best sense of the word, no man could have 
filled the honorable positions which have been 
awarded to Gen. Franklin without any seeking on 
his part. 



Gen. Franklin was married, July 7, 1852, to 
Anna L. Clarke, daughter of Matthew St. Clair 
and Hannah B. Clarke, of Washington, D. C. Mrs. 
Franklin died July 17, 1900, at the age of seventy- 
six years, at the home in Hartford, after an illness 
of about one year. They had no children. 

JOSEPH HARRINGTON KING, the efficient 
and popular cashier of the American National Bank 
of Hartford, is one of the well and favorably known 
bankers of New England. 

Mr. King was born July 28, 1855, in East Hart- 
ford, Conn., son of George Walter and Julia (Burn- 
ham) King, and grandson of Walter King, who 
was born Sept. 11, 1780, in Glasgow, Scotland, 
and died in 1863 in New York City. In early man- 
hood he entered the British army, serving as aide 
under Sir John Moore. After leaving the arjny he 
went to Lancashire, England, and from there came, 
in 1818, to the United States. Jn 1807 he married 
(first) Airs. Ann (Hesketh ) McCandish, a young 
widow with one sun, whom lie legally adopted, giv- 
ing him his own name, John McCandish King. To 
the union came children as follows : James, born Jan. 
7. 1808; Isabella, July 3, i8io;Mary Ann, Aug. 
29, [812; Sarah. Oct. 3. 1814; George W., Feb, 
1'). 1817 ; and Jane, Aug. 2^,, 1819. The mother died 
soon after the birth of the youngest child. Mr. 
king, after having been in this country for a time, 
returned to England, and in 1822 again came to the 
United States. His second wife, a daughter of Rev 
Mr. Robinson, died within a year of marriage. Af- 
ter living in New York City a short time -Mr. King 
removed to Paterson, N. J., where at the home of a 
friend. Alexander Allan, he met Miss Elizabeth 
Morse, whom he married (third) Jan. 25, 1825, 
and who bore him the following children: Mar}- J. r 
born Nov. n, 1825; Elizabeth W., Sept. 2, 1827; 
Julia S., ( let. [6, [829; Anne, Dec. 27,, 1831 ; Anna 
Allan, Sept. 2, 1833; Menzier "Morse, Oct. 6, 1836: 
and Menzier Anna Morse. Jan. 9, 1840. The mother 
made her residence with her daughters in New York 
City, and later in Brooklyn, where she died in 1S84, 
at the age of eighty-nine. 

George W. King, the father of our subject, was 
born Feb. 16, 181 7, in Lancashire, England, and 
was brought to this country by his father, who for a 
time lived at Paterson, X. J., then in Mew York Citv. 
George W. learned the jeweler's trade with the firm 
of Wilmot, Moffit & Curtis, manufacturing jewelers 
on John street, New York City, and during a peril d 
of business depression visited PatersDn. N. J., made 
a trip inti 1 Virginia, and later came to East Hartford,. 
Conn., where lie worked with the linn of Messrs. 
W. eV ( ). Pitkin, silversmiths. He finally established 
himself in business upon State street, in Hartford 
continuing his residence in East Hartford, where he 
had already married. In 1859 he purchased a resi- 
dence on Governor street, where lie died in 1881. at 
the age of sixty-four, and where his wife passe 
away in 1893. at the age of seventy-three. Their 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



children were : Mar} 7 Jane, born July 4. 1843 : James 
Walter. March 21, 1845; Alice C. Burnham, Nov. 
22,18 "t Imma Louisa, Jan. 17. [850; George Burn- 
ham, Jan. 9, [853; Joseph Harrington (the subject 
of this sketch 1, July 28, [855 : Annie Kate. March 3, 
1858; and Edward Everett, Sept. 5, 1862. 

Joseph II. King passed hi., early school days in 
East Hartford, and later attended the public schools 
of Hartford, graduating from the Hartford Public 
High School in 1873. He entered the American 
National Bank as clerk, and by his steady devotion 
to the business he had chosen for his life work, his 
ready grasp of ideas, and quick mastery of the in- 
tricate details of banking, was rapidly promoted 
through the various grades to the general book- 
keeper's desk, from which., in 1883, upon the r< 
nation cf John ' \. Root as cashier, he was chosen to 
that office — the then youngest officer of any hank 
in the city. < lenial in manner, careful and conserva- 
tive in his dealings with all, he has, during his twen- 
ty-eight years' hanking experience, witnessed the 
growiii of the American National Bank from a com- 
paratively small institution to that of one of the 
[argi iks in the Ca] < it;. . He is a mi isi • 

petent officer, and an obliging gentleman. 

( »n ( )ct. 8, [878, Mr. King was married to Man 
K.. dan- 1' Walter A. Loomis, of East Hartford, 

and to them have been born three children: Edwin 
Loomis, now with the Travelers Insurance Co. of 
Hartford, born Aug. 18. 1880; George Walter, born 
Feb. 8, [886; and Lester Hazen, born March 11, 
1887. After his marriage Mr. King resided in Hart- 
ford until, in 1895, he built a handsome Colonial 
lence upi n Arnoldale Road, just south of v'an- 
derbilt Hill, one of the most attractive and sightly 
places in that most delightful suburb of Hartford. 

GEORGE W. FOWLER (deceased) was for 
tively identified with public affairs 
in both the city and town of Hartford, that his namu 
ime well-nigh a household word in the homes 
of those citizens who recall his public spirit, his 
lity to public trusts, and his whole-souled gener- 
- a man. He was born in Westfield, .Mass., 
Oct. 15. [844, n of Lyman Fowler, and grandson 
of Roland Fowler. His mother's maiden name was 
lisa V'adikin, and his paternal grandmother was 
a Miss Taylor. His great-grandfa/ther, I n Fowl- 

c r, 1 beth Thay< r, daught< r of a 

gyman. I . v\ a- a th by tr; 

and a man of powerful physique, a- well a- of strong 
mental power, and it seems nol improbable that at 
leasl a portion of the physical and tual 

strength which George W. Fowler exhibited 
throughout life came to him by natural inheritance. 
George \\ . Fowler was one of the younger of a 
family of nine children, and the exigencies of hi- sit- 
uation in boyhood forced him early to shift in life 
himself. He attended the pnbhV schools, and 
the trade of a printer. Even a- a youth lie 
manifested quick intelligence, a retentive men 



and a capacity for high development. The West- 
Nezvs Letter and the Springfield Republican 
were the first papers on which he was employed as 
compositor; and for eight years, beginning in [864, 
he worked at the case in the composing room of the 
Hartford Times. His nature, however, was not one 
that readily yielded to circumspection, and in 1873 
he organized the firm of Smith. Fowler & Miller. 
Subsequently the concern was incorporated under 
the name of The howler & Miller Co., Mr. Fowler 
becoming its president and retaining that office for 
many years. Through his exceptionally keen busi- 
ness sense and his rare executive ability the busi- 
ness of the concern grew apace, until it developed 
into one of the leading printing houses of that sec- 
tion of the State. 

It is, however, through his public, rather than 
his business, career, that Mr. Fowler was best 
known in Hartford; and it is for his acumen, hard 
work and unswerving loyalty to -public duty that he 
is best remembered, lie began his public life as a 
a uncilman from the Sixth ward, which bailiwick 
he represented in the aldermanic councils for nine 
years. His record there — as also thereafter — was 
one of which his family may well feel proud. In 
general information he surpassed most of his col- 
leagues, and his broad comprehension, no less than 
his unassailable integrity, resulted in the commit- 
ment to his hands of important trusts. Among 
these may he mentioned the delicate and difficult 
task of the revision of the municipal ordinance-, 
in the performance of which he was associated with 
I ihn II. Brocklesby and Henry E. Taintor. In 
[894 he was elected tax collector of his town: in 
[895 for the city and town; and in 1897 re-elected 
by an overwhelming majority. 

Besides being thus prominently identified with 
the city government, Mr. howler was one of the 
chief officials of the town. From [883 to [895 he 
was a member of the hoard of selectmen, being re- 
peatedly made the head of that important body. 
With Mich ability, industry and integrity did he 
perform the duties of this high office that, during 
the last three years of hi- service,he was the nominee 
of both political parties. It was during the term of 
his service as selectman that many of the most im- 
portant reforms in town administration were con- 
ceived and carried out. A new almshouse was 
built, and the "Id site was converted into one of the 

I attractive sections of the city, the transforma- 
tion resulting in the increase of the "grand list" for 
purposes of taxation h\ $200,000. Air. Fowler was 
also chairman of the Free Bridge Commission. Al- 
though a life long Democrat, and one of his party's 
iders, Mr. Fowler enjoyed the confideno and 
of his political opponents. In private life 
In- was always noted for hi- acute discernment, 
ready grasp of problems, fidelity to friends, and 
liberal, though unostentatious, charity. His mind 
wa- naturally analytical, and he possessed the rare 
power of making his kno clear to other-. 



8 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



< >ne of his most pronounced characteristics was his 
detestation of falsehood, and, above all, of hypocrisy. 
Sincere himself, he could not brook insincerity in 
others, and his own love of truth made him intol- 
erant of liars. He was a man of social instinct 
and genial temperament, and well loved by his 
friends ; a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, 
F. & A. M., of Hartford; the B. P. O. E. ; Wau- 
gunk Tribe, I. O. R. M. ; and the National Provi- 
dent Union. He also belonged to the Gentlemen's 
Driving Club. 

( )n March 29, 1883, Mr. Fowler married M. 
Loiiise Rowles, whose father. Judge Rowles, was 
a man of high repute in Tennessee. Mr. Fowler 
died July 24, 1897, leaving a wife and daughter. 

NELSON HOLLISTER, who died on March 2, 
1897, was for a long period one of Hartford's prom- 
inent business men and substantial citizens. He was 
a picturesque figure on the streets where his flowing 
pure white hair and beard, clear complexion, and 
kindly smile attracted general attention. 

Born Feb. 12, 18 10, in Andover, Conn., son of 
Gideon and Mary (Olmstead) Hollister, our sub- 
ject was a descendant of one of the historic fam- 
ilies of the Colonial period of New England and 
Connecticut, and a family of prominence, too, in 
the history of the State. 

( 1 ) John Hollister, the ancestor of the Ameri- 
can Hollisters, is believed to have been born in Eng- 
land in 1612, and to have emigrated to America 
about 1642, sailing from Bristol, England. His 
name is of record in Wethersfield, Conn., as early 
as 1642. He became one of the most prominent 
men of that town and the Connecticut Colony, and 
represented the town many times in the Legislature. 
He married Joanna, daughter of Hon. William 
Treat, Sr. John Hollister died in 1665. 

From this emigrant ancestor the late Nelson 
Hollister was a descendant in the seventh genera- 
tion, his line being through John (2), Thomas, 
Gideon, Nathaniel and Gideon (2). 

(11) John Hollister (2), son of John the emi- 
grant, born about 1644 in Wethersfield, married in 
1667 Sarah, daughter of William Goodrich. Mr. 
Hollister was one of the leading men of ( ilastonbury, 
where lie died in 171 1. 

I I II ) Thomas Hollister, son of John (2 ), born 
in 1672 in Wethersfield, married Dorothy, daughter 
of Joseph Hills, of Glastonbury, and lived and died 
in that town, passing away in 1741. 

(IV) Gideon Hollister, son of Thomas, born 
in 1 099 in Glastonbury, married in 1723 Rachel, 
daughter of Sergt. Nathaniel Talcott, and settled 
in the East Parish of Glastonbury. Mr. Hollister 
a lieutenant in the militia, and a deacon in the 
church in (ilastonbury. He died in 1785. 

( \ ) Nathaniel Hollister, son of Gideon, born in 
1731 in Glastonbury, married in 1754 Mabel Mat- 
1 le died in 1810. 

(VI) Gideon Hollister (2), son of Nathaniel, 



and the father of Nelson Hollister, born in 1776, in 
Glastonbury, married Mary Olmstead, of East Hart- 
ford, and settled in Andover, Conn., where he was 
a manufacturer of paper, and a valued and respected 
member of society. He died in 1864. 

Nelson Hollister, the subject proper of this 
sketch, in youth became engaged, with his father 
and brothers, in the manufacture of paper. Sub- 
sequently he removed to Hartford, and in about 
1840 engaged in business on Front street, as a 
dealer in paper stock and rags, where he laid the 
foundation of a large fortune. Late in the 'sixties 
he disposed of his business and retired. Mr. Hol- 
lister was identified with a number of banks and 
corporations, among them the old Charter Oak Life 
Insurance Co., the /Etna Fire Insurance Co., the 
Hartford Steam Boiler Inspection and Insurance 
Co., and the State Bank, in all of which he was a 
director. He superintended the erection of the large 
granite building on the corner of Main and Athe- 
neum streets, now the property of the yEtna Life 
Insurance Co. He was the first treasurer of the 
Hartford & Connecticut Valley Railroad Co. He 
was president of the Cedar Hill Cemetery Associa- 
tion, and took an active interest in the cemetery's 
development. He was an original member and a 
deacon of the Pearl Street Congregational Church, 
organized in 1852. Mr. Hollister was also a mem- 
ber of the Veteran Corps of the Governor's Foot 
( riiard, in which he ever took an active interest. In 
1894 he was admitted as a member of the Connecti- 
cut Historical Society. Up to two years before his 
death, in spite of his years, Mr. Hollister was one of 
the most active men of Hartford. He was poss- 
essed of a vigorous constitution and good health, 
was a great lover of outdoor life and sports, and 
enjoyed seeing plaved the National game of base- 
bail.' 

On May 12, 1834. Mr. Hollister was married to 
•Edith Sawyer, born Nov. 21, 1815, daughter of Eli- 
jah R. and Fanny ( Spencer) Sawyer, of Windham, 
Conn. The\" had four children, as follows: (1) Ar- 
thur N. Hollister, born Dec. 28, 1835, died Jan. 18, 
1897. (2) Erskin B. Hollister. born May 4, 1842, 
died Nov. 21, 185;;. ( 3 ) Edith Sawyer Hollister, born 
May 15, 1845, vras married May 13, 1867, to Charles 
Augustus Robinson. (4) Lucy Sawyer Hollister, 
born Aug. 3, 1848. married June 14, 1870, Albert 
H. Olmsted. 

CHARLES H. LAWRENCE, secretary of the 
Phcenix Mutual Life Insurance Co., Hartford, was 
born Aug. 23. 1845, m N' ew York City, son of 
John and Sarah ( Moore) Lawrence. He attended 
the public schools and the Free Academy of his 
native city, now the College of the City of New 
York", and then began a business career as a clerk 
in the Xew York branch store of Smith & Bourn, 
of Hartford. Conn. He changed to the Hartford 
h mse in [866, and remained with Smith & Bourn 
until Jan. i. 1871, when he entered into an arrange- 





"C^L<m^- ^^(H^^d^Cc- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ment with the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Co., 
with which company he has since remained unin- 
terruptedly. Beginning as clerk, he was advanced 
through succeeding grades, and in 1X89 was chosen 
to the secretaryship of the company, his present 
position. 

In his political views Mr. Lawrence is a stanch 
Republican, and as such has served several suc- 
cessive terms in the common council, and for a 
number of years represented the Second ward in 
the hoard of aldermen, of which he was president. 
Mr. Lawrence has figured quite actively and prom- 
inently in local politics, and has been a member 
of the Republican State Central Committee. He 
is a conscientious worker, and has done much to 
elevate the standard of local political influence in 
all branches of the public service. He is a di- 
rector in the State Bank, and sustains similar rela- 
tions with other Hartford corporations. 

( )n Nov. 26, 1872, Mr. Lawrence was married 
to Miss Juliette H., daughter of the late Thomas 
T. Fisher, of Hartford, a successful merchant and 
stock broker, and a prominent citizen of his day. 
Two children, a son and a daughter, have blessed 
this union. 

WILLIAM DENISON MORGAN, cashier of 
the -Ltna National Lank, of Hartford, has already 
made unusual progress along the highway to suc- 
cess in the business world, lie was born Dec. 19, 
1873, in Brooklyn, X. Y., son of William Gardner 
Morgan, and is of the ninth generation in descent 
from James Morgan. 

1 1 ) James Morgan was born in 1(107 in Wales, 
likely in Llandaff, Glamorganshire, but later lived 
in Bristol, England, coming from the latter place 
to Boston in 1636; to Roxbury before [640; to New 
London, Conn., in 1050; and to Groton in 1657, 
dying at the place last named in \<>X^. lie married 
in 1040 Margery Hill, of Roxbury. From this an- 
cestor William Gardner Morgan is descended 
through Capt. John, William. \\ illiam (2), William 
Avery, Col. Avery and Nathan Denison Morgan. 

(11) Capt. John Morgan, son of James the emi- 
grant, born in 1045, married ( second ) Widow Eliza- 
beth Williams, daughter of Lieut. -Gov. William 
Jones, of New Haven, and granddaughter of Gov. 
Theophilus Eaton. Capt. Morgan moved to Preston, 
('im., about 1692, and died in 1712. 

1 111 ) William Morgan, son of Capt. John, born 
in 1693, married in i7',(> Mary, daughter of Capt. 
James Avery. William Morgan died in 1721;, and 
his wife Mary passed away in 1780. 

(IV) William Morgan (2), son of William, 
born in 1723, married in 1744 Temperance, daugh- 
ter of Christopher Avery, ^i Groton. They resided 
in Groton, where Mr. Morgan died in 1777, and his 
widow died in 1801. 

1 Y ) William Avery Morgan, son of William 
(2), born in 1754, married (first) Lydia, daughter 
of Nathan Smith, of Groton. They settled in 



Groton, and in 1796 removed to Colchester. Mrs. 
Morgan died in 1804, and in 181 4 Mr. Morgan 
moved to New London, where he died in 1842. 

(VI) Col. Avery Morgan, son of William 
Avery, born in 1781, married in 1802 Jerusha, 
daughter of Jonathan Gardner, and settled in 
Bozrah, thence about 1807 removing to Colchester, 
and later to Hartford, where he died in i860, and 
his widow in 1861. Col. Morgan was a carpenter, 
merchant and farmer; was an officer in the militia; 
and served in the State Legislature. 

(VII) Nathan Denison Morgan, son of Col. 
Avery, born < )ct. 22, 1818, married (first) Mary B. 
Churchill, born in Portland, Conn., daughter of 
Capt. Henry Churchill, of Portland, and they had 
seven children, four of whom are still living: Col. 
Henry C, of Colchester, a retired United States 
army officer, now Commissary-General of Connecti- 
cut; Matilda, Mrs. Julian W. Merrill, of Bronx- 
ville, N. Y. ; William Gardner, father of our sub- 
ject ; and James H., who lives in Brooklyn, and is 
engaged in the insurance business in New York 
City. Mrs. Mary 11. Morgan died in 1854, at the 
age of thirty-two wars. I ler parents were members 
of the Episcopal Church at Portland. In i860 Mr. 
Morgan married (second) Helen M., daughter of 
Gen. James Watson Webb, former editor of the 
New York Courier and Engineer, and United States 
minister to Brazil. Thev bad two children, one 
living, Robert Webb Morgan, who is a resident of 
Bronxville, N. Y., and is engaged in business in 
Yew York City. Nathan I). Morgan was for some 
time president of the Manhattan Life Insurance 
Co., of .Yew York, and after leaving that company 
organized the North American Insurance Co., of 
which In- was president from 1872 to 1894, when he 
retired from business. He was also a director of 
the Farragut Fire Insurance Co., of New York, 
lie passed away in 1897, at the age of seventy- 
nine years. Mr. Morgan was reputed to have been 
one of the most accomplished insurance officers in 
the country. He was a director of the Eye & Ear 
Infirmary in Brooklyn. In religious connection he 
was identified with the Episcopal Church in Brook- 
lyn, being warden of St. Paul's. 

(VIII) William Gardner Morgan, son of 
Nathan D., born Dec. 2T, % 1846, was married in 
1868 to Elizabeth C. Hall, of Portland, Conn., 
daughter of Joel Hall, president of the Shaler & Hall 
Quarry Co., and the only survivor of his family 
of four children. To Mr. and Mrs. Morgan have 
been born three children: Elizabeth Hall, William 
Denison, and Samuel St. John, the latter now at- 
tending Trinity College. William G. Morgan 
spent his earl)- years in Brooklyn, New York and 
Hartford, and was in the United States Naval 
Academy at Newport and Annapolis for a time, but 
in 1867 he was injured and obliged to resign. He 
then entered the life insurance business, as a clerk- 
in the North America Life Insurance Co. In 1870 
he became its actuary, continuing in that position 



10 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



until 1874, when he left the company and engaged 
in manufacturing gas burning goods, and small ar- 
ticles m New York, until 1879. He then came to 
Hartford and formed a connection with the -Etna 
Life Insurance Co., being now editor of the ".Etna," 
and its advertising manager. He also edits the 
"•-Una Life News, ' entirely for agents, which has 
a circulation of 3,500; and the accident edition of 
the "-Etna," devoted to accident business, which 
has a circulation of 35,000. The regular "/Etna" 
has a circulation of 275,000. -Air. Morgan is a Re- 
publican in politics. Religiously he is a member 
of irmity Episcopal Church, to which his family 
also belong. 

Y\ illiam D. Morgan received his education in 
Connecticut, attending the common schools and 
Public High School in Hartford. In September 
1890, he entered the -Etna National Bank as clerk' 
and worked himself up to the position of discount 
clerk. In 1899 he was made cashier, being the 
youngest cashier of a National bank, with one ex- 
ception, in the United States. Theirs is the finest 
banking office in the State, and the bank, which 
was organized in 1857, is the second largest. In 
1900 Air. .Morgan married Lucile S. Couch of 
Providence, R. I., daughter of Albert and Jennie 
S. Couch, the former a native of Danielson, Conn. ; 
he was in the real-estate business in Providence for 
many years. Mrs. -A [organ is an only child. Our 
subject is secretary to the board of directors of 
the bank. Socially he holds membership in the 
Bachelors Club; the Hartford Canoe Club- the 
Farmmgton Canoe Club; the Hartford Scientific 
Society; and the Church Club. lie is a member 
of Trinity Episcopal Church, and is a Republican 
in politics. 

HOADLY. The family bearinq- this name 
m Hartford, of which Charles Jeremy Hoadly, LL. 
D., State Librarian, was an honored member, is one 
of the prominent families of the city whose 'line in 
New England extends back over a period of over 
two hundred and thirty years. 

William Hoadly, the 'settler, ancestor of by far 
the greater part of those who Dear the name in this 
country, was born in about the vear 1630 in Eng- 
land. His name first appears in Savbrook, Conn., in 
1663. Li 1666 he bought the home lot of Rev 
Abraham Pierson, of Branford, Conn., when the 
latter moved to New Jersey. He there conducted 
his business as a merchant, his shop being next to 
his dwelling-house. He was a deputy from Bran- 
ford to the General Court at nine sessions between 
1678 and 1685, was one of the patentees of the town, 
Feb. 16, 1685-86, and was one of the selectmen sev- 
eral years between 1673 and 1690. He died in No- 
vember or December, 1709, in Branford. He was 
thrice married, but of his first wife nothing is known 
His second wife, whom lie wedded about 1686 was 
Mrs. Alary (Bullard) Farrington (widow of John 
Farrmgton, of Dedham, Mass., and daughter of 



William Bullard, of Charlestown, Mass.), who died 
-May 12, 1703, in Branford. About 1704 he married 
(third) in Branford -Airs. Ruth (Bowers) Frisbie 
widow of John Frisbie, and daughter of Rev. John 
and Bridget (Thompson; Bowers, baptized 'Dec 
20, 1657, m New Haven, died April 26, 1736, in 
Branford. His children by his first marriage were : 
William, Samuel, John, Mary, Elizabeth, Hannah 
and Abraham. 

Charles Jeremy Hoadly, LL. D., of Hartford, 
was 111 the seventh generation from William Hoadlv 
(written by him rlodlej, the settler at Saybrook and 
Branford, the line of his descent being through 
Samuel, Samuel (2), James, Hon. Jeremv,°and Will- 
iam Henry. 

(II) Samuel Hoadley, son of William, died in 
i/ 14. m Branford, Conn. He wa^ killed under a 
haymow. He married, March 6, 1689, in Branford, 
Abigail Farrington, born April 30, 1668, in Ded- 
ham, Alass., daughter of John and Mary (Bullard 1 
Farrington, died Feb. 26, 1745, in Branford. He 
became one of the first settlers of Branford, having 
been granted a parcel of land in 1687, and lived in 
Hopyard Plain. His children, born in Branford. 
Conn., were: Abigail, William, Hannah, Samuel, 
Gideon, Lydia, Benjamin, Daniel and Timothy. 

(Ill) Samuel Hoadley (2), son of Samuel, 'born 
Feb. 20, 1696, in Branford, Conn., married in 1720, 
in 1! ran ford, Lydia Frisbie, daughter of Caleb and 
Hannah Frisbie, born June 1, 1698, in Branford, 
died there Feb. (», 1759. Samuel Hoadley lived on 
his farm. He was very corpulent. His" children, 
born in Branford, were": Abigail, Gideon, Samuel! 
Ebenezer, Jacob, Lydia, Jerusha and lames. 

(JA ) James Hoadley, son of Samuel (2), born 
Feb. 25, 1738. in Branford, died there Feb. 18, 181; 
He married, March 3. 1768, in Branford, Airs. Lydia 
( Buell) Hoadley. widow of Benjamin Hoadley, and 
daughter of Capt. Samuel and Lydia (Wilcox) 
Buell, born in 1740, in Killingworth, Conn., died 
April 17, 1820, in Hartford, Conn. James Hoadley 
was a farmer. His children, born in Branford, 
were: James, Ambrose, Lydia. Jeremy and Reuek 
(V) Hon. Jeremy Hoadlev, son of" James, born 
July 28, 1776, in Branford, died Dec. 1, 1847, in 
Hartford. Qn July 7, 1798, he married in Guilford. 
Conn., Harriott Fairchild, daughter of Capt. Asher 
and Thankful (Hubbard) Fairchild, born July 5, 
1770, in Guilford, died Sept. 22, 1849, in Hartford! 
Jeremy Hoadley lived in Guilford the first three 
years after his marriage, and moved to Hartford in 
1806. He was a selectman of the town for over 
twenty years, was an alderman of the city, and on 
the death of Alayor Griswold became acting mayor 
of Hartford from Nov. 23, 1835, to April 13, 1836. 
He was one of the representatives for Hartford in 
the General Assembly at the sessions of 1822, 1823, 
1826, and 1828, and was sheriff of Hartford county 
from 1828 to 1834, declining re-election. He was 
cliairman of the Whig State Central Committee in 
the Presidential campaigns of 1826 and 1840. His 




Qj^jl^ l-rh^f 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



11 



children were: William If., Frederick 11., Harriet 
S., Maria J., Delia A., and Caroline M., all now de- 
cease' 1. 

(VI) William Henry Hoadley, father of Charles 
J. Hoadly, LL. D., was born July 30, 1800, in Guil- 
ford, Conn'., and died Aug. 8, 1849, in Hartford. 
On Dec. 7, 1824. at Simsbury, ( nun., he was married 
to Harriet Louisa Hillyer. who was horn July 23, 
1803, in Fast Grariby, Conn., a daughter of Col. An- 
drew and Lucy (Tudor) Hillyer, and granddaugh 
ter of Janus and Mary (Humphrey) Hillyer. Col. 
Andrew Hillyer was in the French and Indian war, 
and served under Lord Amherst in the expedition 
against Canada. He was with Lord Albemarle 
under Putnam, at the taking of I tavana, and of 
fourteen who went from Simsbury only he and 
one other returned alive. Later he was in the Revo- 
lutionary war, serving part of each year. He raised 
a company in Granby, and was present at the "Lex- 
ington ' Alarm." 'I his Colonel Hillyer was a 
graduate of \ ale College, class of 1770. an Episco 
palian in religion, and a Whig in politics. His 
original intention was to become a missionary, lie 
died at East Granby in 1828. Me married Lucy 
Tudor, a daughter of Elihu Tudor, who was a grad- 
uate of Yale College, class of 1750, and was a son 
of Rev. Samuel Tudor." Elihu Tudor was one of the 
Staff of Gen. Wolfe at the storming of the heights 
of Abraham, Quebec, 1759. Later lie was with 
Lord Albemarle, in 1762, at the taking of Havana. 
As Col. Andrew Hillyer was with him on these oc- 
casions it is doubtless true that during these times 
the acquaintance between them was formed whicii 
later resulted in Col. Hillyer marrying the daughter 
of his old army friend. Gen. Charles Tudor Hill- 
yer, brother of Mrs. William Hoadley, died in 
J I art ford when over ninety years of age. 

William H. Hoadley resided in Hartford all his 
life; his wife died Feb. 15, 1895, in the old home at 
No. ji> Ann street, where she had lived since 1833. 
Their children were: (1) Mary Robbins Hoadley, 
born Dec. 22, 1825, died April 29, 1896. 

(2) Charles Jeremy Hoadly, born Aug. 1, 
1828. was graduated from Trinity College in 1851, 
at the head of his class. He was given the degree 
of M. A., in 1854, received the same degree from 
Yale College in 1879, and the degree of LL. D. from 
Trinity in 1880. He read law in Hartford in the 
office of Henry K. W. Welch, and was admitted to 
the Bar in 1855, from which time he had charge of 
the State Library, which, through efficiency, dili- 
gence and ability in his service of nearly fifty years, 
was made one of the best collections of Law Reports 
and Statute Law in the hind. He edited the New 
Haven Colonial Records, 1638-65. two volumes, also 
Connecticut Colonial Records, 1689-1776, twelve vol- 
umes ; Connecticut State Records, 1776-1780, two 
volumes, and was engaged on the third volume when 
his sight failed. He was one of the commissioners 
who prepared Vols. V and VI of the Special Laws 
of Connecticut. He published several short his- 



torical article-, among which were a "Sketch of 
the Life of Silas Deane," in the Penn Mag. of 
History, 1877; 'Annals of Christ Church. Hart- 
ford," 1870; "Holidays in Connecticut," 1888; the 
"Public Seal of Connecticut," 1889; "Town Repre- 
sentation in the General Assembly," [892 (the last 
in the < on icut Register for those years) ; 
ue Early Post Mortem Examinations in New 
England," read b die State Medical Society, 

[89 2. 

Dr. Hoadly was a member of the American 
Antiquarian Society, an honorary 1 [responding 

member of a dozen or more historical societies, and 
president of the Connecticut Historical Society, a 
position he held for five or >i\ years. Some time 
ago, on account of his failing eyesight, he declined 
lection, hut die society would not accept his re- 
1, and he retained tlu p isition until his death, 
an uii' tduate of Trinity College he 

received the J d tit's prize for Latin prosi 1 the 
first one ottered 1. kept Up his Latin, and could to- 
day, w. re he living, write a petition in Latin. In the 
fa'] ol [899 Dr. Hoadly met with a painful acci- 
dent, le. falling down stairs in his home, which, 
while not breaking bones, partly incapacitated him 
f ir w rk. 1 ie died ( )ct. I oo. 

(3) Frederick William Hoadley was horn Dec. 
2, [831. Soon after the death of his father he went 
to Columbia, S. C. where lie read law and was ad- 
mitted to the Bar. Before the breaking out of the 
Civil war he removed to Little Rock, Ark., and 
prior to the passage of the secession ordinance held 
a staff appointment in the militia (judge advocate, 
with rank i)t captain). He entered the < >nfeder- 
ate service, leaving the State as Captain of an ar- 
tillery c< mpanj : was at Memphis (Tenn.), Colum- 
bus ( Ky. ). Fort Pillow and Island No. 10 (Tenn.), 
where most of his company were captured, he nar- 
rowly escaping, . \fter this a new artillery regi- 
menl was formed, called the First Tennessee Heavy 
.Artillery, C. S. A., and he was made its major. At 
Vicksburg, Miss., he had command of the Water 
battery, a big gun called "Whistling Dick." and 
there met his death, in June, 1863. a few days be- 
fore the place was surrendered. The Vicksburg 
Daily Citizen, noticing his death, said: "Major 
Hoadley was a man of fine intelligence, untiring in- 
dustry and zeal in the cause, kind to the men under 
him and a gentleman in every sense." Gen. Grant, 
writing to his brother, said : "The Major was a great 
favorite of the citizens of Vicksburg." 

(4) James Henry Hoadley, born Dec. 6. 1833 
entered the United States navy in 1859 as captain's 
clerk, on the "Mohawk." and was cruising after 
slavers on the north of Cuba. He resigned in 1862 
to take charge of the United States sanitarv com- 
mission in the Department of the South, in which he 
continued until after the close of the war. He was 
sent North, and took charge, as superintendent, of 
a hospital in New York City, called Lincoln Home, 
a home for crippled soldiers. Since then, until a 



12 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



few years ago, his life lias been passed in Broad 
and Wall street, New York. 

(5) < ieorge Edward Hoadley, born June 28, 
1837, resides in Hartford. 

(6) Francis Andrew Hoadley, born Oct. 12, 
1842. is teller of the Hartford Trust Co. 

( 7 ) Harriet Lonise Hoadley, born May 22, 1846, 
-was married June 17, 1874, to Dr. William A. Cor- 
win, of the United States navy, and has two daugh- 
ters. He died off Panama, of yellow fever, in 
.March, 1886. She resides in Hartford. 

CHAPMAN. The Chapman family of Hart- 
ford, of which the late Hon. Charles Richard Chap- 
man was a worthy descendant, and whose children 
are among the leading citizens of the city, is one 
of the oldest and most prominent families of Con- 
necticut. 

Hon. Charles Richard Chapman was in the 
seventh generation from the American ancestor of 
the family, Robert Chapman, the line of his descent 
being through Deacon Nathaniel, Deacon Caleb, 
Phineas, Judge Asa, and Hon. Charles. 

( 1 ) Robert Chapman, one of the first settlers 
of Saybrook, Conn., in 1635-36, or in the succeeding 
spring, according to family tradition was born in 
1616, and came from Hull, England, to Boston in 
1635. He was for many years commissioner for 
Saybrook, Conn., and was elected as their deputy 
to the General Court forty-three times, and assist- 
ant nine times. He settled on a tract of land some 
two miles west of Saybrook. He was a man of 
exemplary piety. His parents were Puritans. He 
married, in 1642, Ann Bliss. He died in 1687, and 
his wife in 1685. Their children were: John, Rob- 
ert, Hannah, Nathaniel. Mary and Sarah. 

(II) Deacon Nathaniel Chapman, son of Robert 
Chapman, born in 1652, married (first) in 1681 
Mar}' Collins, by whom he had four children, and 
(second) in 1698 Hannah Bates, by whom he had 
five children. Deacon Nathaniel Chapman died in 
1726. His widow, Hannah, died in 1750. He was 
many years deacon of the church in Saybrook, and 
many times represented the town in the General 
Court (twenty-four sessions). He was a large land 
owner. His children by the first wife were: Na- 
thaniel, Nathaniel (2), Daniel, and John. Those 
by the second wife were: Mary, Hannah, Phineas, 
Caleb and Anne. 

(III) Deacon Caleb Chapman, son of Deacon 
Nathaniel Chapman, born in 1706, married (first) 
in 1729 Thankful Lord, (second) in 1749 Abigail 
Lee, and (third) Widow Hannah Platts. Mr. 
Chapman served many years as a deacon of the 
church of Saybrook, and died universally lamented. 
His children were : Thankful, Phineas, Hannah, 
Lucretia, Caleb, Elisha, James and Hezekiah. 

( IV) Phineas Chapman, son of Deacon Chap- 
man, born in 1732, married in 1703 Mary Hillier, 
by whom he had five children: James, John, Asa, 
Nathaniel and Mary. 



(V) Judge Asa Chapman, son of Phineas Chap- 
man, born Sept. 2, 1770, was graduated from Yale 
College in the class of 1792, sharing the highest 
honors of his class while in college with Hon. Roger 
M. Sherman. After graduation he taught for a 
time in the academy at North Salem, and also at 
Norwalk. He studied law at Litchfield, Conn., with 
Hon. Tapping Reeve, was admitted to the Bar in 
1795, and settled in the practice of law at Newtown, 
Conn. He was repeatedly elected a representative 
of that town to the General Assembly, and in 1817 
was elected a member of the Governor's Council, 
comprising at that time twelve members. In 1818 
he was elected judge of the superior court and court 
of errors, which office he held until his death, in 
New Haven, Sept. 25, 1825. He married, at New- 
town, Conn., Sept. 2, 1798, Miss Mary Perry, 
daughter of Bennet Perry, M. D., and by her had 
four children. In 1824 he removed from Newtown 
to New Haven. His widow died in Brooklyn, L. 
I., on March 21, 1850. Their children were: 
Charles, Charlotte, William P., and Henry P. 

( VI ) Hon. Charles Chapman, son of Judge Asa 
Chapman, born at Newtown, Conn., July 21, 1799, 
studied law with Judge Williams, of Hartford, and 
subsequently with Judges Reeve and Gould, of 
Litchfield, and was admitted to the Bar in 1820. On 
Jan. 3, 182 1, he married Sarah Tomlinson, of New- 
town, by whom he had three children. Some three 
years after his marriage he moved to New Haven, 
where he remained about five years, and thence to 
Hartford. He enjoyed a very extensive practice, 
being one of the leading lawyers of Connecticut, 
and was honored by his fellow citizens with many 
offices of responsibility and trust. He represented 
Plartford many times in the State Legislature, and 
represented his district in the NNIId Congress of 
the United States. As a story-teller he was unsur- 
passed. His children were: Frances A., Charlotte 
and Charles Richard. He died in 1870. 

(VII) Charles Richard Chapmax, whose 
death occurred at his home on Laurel street, Hart- 
ford, Jan. 25, 1897, was the son of Hon. Charles and 
Sarah (Tomlinson) Chapman. 

He was born Nov. 23, 1827, in New Haven, and 
the family moved to Hartford when he was an in- 
fant. He was graduated from Trinity College in 
1847, an( l belonged to the I. K. A. Society. Hav- 
ing studied law at Northampton, Mass., and in New 
York in the office of John Van Buren, son of ex- 
President Van Buren, he was admitted to the Bar 
in Hartford in 1850, and practiced law there until 
1885, when he became postmaster. He was mayor 
of Hartford for three terms, from 1866 to 1872. 
In 1857 he represented the city in the State Senate; 
represented the city in the House in 1856 and 1872 ; 
served as city attorney in 1874, 75, j6, and was held 
in high esteem by all who knew him on account of 
the uprightness of his character, the geniality of his 
nature and the faithfulness of his friendships. Many 
times nominated for office and man)* times elected, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



13- 



he went through every campaign with clean hands 
and untarnished reputation. He was as fair and 
just to his opponents as he was faithful to his party 
and his friends. He was always courteous in his 
manner and considerate in his speech, and he proved 
worthy of every trust reposed in him. Jn politics he 
was a Democrat. 

Mr. Chapman married, May I, 1855, Mrs. Har- 
riet (Putnam) Thomas, daughter of Rt. Rev. 
Thomas Brownell, Episcopal bishop of Connecticut. 
Mrs. Chapman and four children — Airs. Charles 
Holland, of Eastbourne, England ; Thomas Brownell 
Chapman, of Hartford, Conn. ; Mrs. Howard Dudley 
Bean, of New York City, and Robert 1 tolland Chap- 
man, of Torrington, Conn., — survive him. Thomas 
Brownell Chapman married Helen Louise, daugh 
ter of William H. Post, and they have one daughter, 
Priscilla Alden. Mr. Chapman is New England 
agent for Holmes, Booth & Hydens, of Waterbury, 
Conn. Robert H. married Renova M. Walbridge, 
of Pittsburg, Kansas, and they reside in Torrington, 
Connecticut. 

HOOKER. The name of Hooker was brought 
into prominent notice in ecclesiastical circles in 
England by two men who were born in the six- 
teenth century. Richard Hooker was horn in Exeter 
in 1554. He became a scholar of Corpus Christi Col- 
lege in 1573; Master of Arts in 1577; Deputy Pro- 
fessor of Hebrew in 1579: received holy orders in 
1581. In the religious discussions of his day he held 
to Arminian views, maintaining also the Anglican 
form of church government. He is chiefly dis- 
tinguished for his great work on "Ecclesiastical 
Polity." 

Thomas Hooker, the founder of the Connecti- 
cut Colon}-, was born in Marfield, Leicestershire.. 
Tilton parish, in 1586. The American Cyclopedia 
says that he is supposed to have been a cousin 
of Richard Hooker. After being graduated at Em- 
manuel College, Cambridge, he took orders, preached 
some time in London, and. was chosen lecturer at 
Clemsford in [626, at St. Mary's Church. He con- 
tinued there about four years, his preaching draw- 
ing great crowds, and there was a wide and pro- 
found impression made by his discourses. People 
flocked to his ministrations from great distances, 
some of great quality among them, one of whom 
was the Earl of Warwick, who afterward sheltered 
and befriended Mr. Hooker's family, when he was 
forced to flee the country. 

Hooker's labors resulted not only in the visible 
reformation of morals in Chelmsford, but in stimu- 
lating to similar endeavors many other ministers 
of the surrounding region. But he was not long 
to remain there, as his preaching was too evan- 
gelical to please those in authority, and he was si- 
lenced by Archbishop Laud, and for about two years 
taught school in Little Baddow. In 1630 he left 
England for Holland, as he had been cited to ap- 
pear before the High Commission Court. Mr. 



Hooker's Chelmsford friends paid the penal sum 
into the Court. It was we.l he Med, as persecution 
began to be severe. Hi- remained in Holland until 
[633, preaching in Amsterdam, Delft and Rotter- 
dam. I hat year he came to America, and with him 
came his assistant, Lew Samuel Stone. Some of 
his friends in England, from the towns of Chelms- 
ford, Braintree and ( olehester, had preceded him. 
They settled at first at Mt. Wollaston, near Boston, 
and were known as "Mr. Hooker's Company." 
After the coming of their pastor they removed by 
order of the court to Newtown, here remaining until 
1030, when a large portion of them emigrated with 
their leaders. Hooker and Stone, to the hanks of 
the Connecticut river, and founded the town of 
Hartford. Hookey; was not only a powerful 
preacher and a religious guide, hut is now regarded 
as the father of the Connecticut Constitution, ami 
consequently of that of the United States. An old 
sermon of his which has been found within a few 
years says: "The choice of public magistrates be- 
longs unto the people by God's own allowance. The 
foundation of authority is laid in the free consent 
of the people." John Fiske says of the Connecti- 
cut Constitution: "It was the first written Consti- 
tution known to history that created a government, 
and it marked the beginning of American democ- 
racy, of which Thomas Hooker deserves mure than 
any other man to he called the father. The ( rovern- 
ment of the United States is to-day in lineal de- 
s< ent more nearh related to that of Connecticut than 
t > any other of the thirteen colonies." There were 
more than twenty-five books written by Mr. Hooker 
published in London; the most important one for 
the New England churches was called "A Survey of 
the Sum of Church Discipline." 

Thomas Hooker and his wife Susan had five 
children, two sons and three daughters. He died 
in ['147, aged sixty-one years. I lis eldest son, John, 
returned to England, and remained there. His 
daughter Johanna married Lew Thomas Shepherd. 
His son Samuel, who was born in 1033, was grad- 
uated from Harvard College in 1053, and ordained 
a minister in 1057 in Farmington, Conn. He mar- 
ried in 1058, in Xew York, Mary Willet, who 
was horn in 1037. daughter of Thomas Willet, the 
first mayor of Xew York City. Rev. Samuel Hooker 
died in [697. His widow' married Rev. Thomas 
Buckingham. A monument has been erected to her 
by the Hooker Association, in Norwalk, Conn., also 
one to Rev. Samuel Hooker, in the old burying- 
ground in Farmington. He had a large family, 
nine sons and three daughters. 

John Hooker, son of Rev. Samuel, was born in 
Farmington in 1004. and spent his life in that town, 
dying in 1740. "He was five years Speaker of 
the Lower House, nine years a member of the 
L/pper House, and nine years a judge of the su- 
perior court." Lie married Abigail Stanley, of 
Farmington, daughter of Capo John Stanley, who 
was a member of the Lower Llouse and of the Gen- 



14 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



eral Court for at least twenty-five years. They had 
a large family of children. Hezekiah, the eldest 
sen, was born in 1688, left Farmington when a young 
man, and went to the new town of Woodbury, where 
he died. He married Abigail Curtis, and they were 
the parents of ten children. Asahel, who was born 
in Woodbury in 1736, removed to Bristol, where 
he bought land and became a successful farmer. 
He married Sarah Parmalee. Of their six children, 
Asahel studied divinity and became a minister, 
and was settled in Norwich, Conn. He was the 
father of Rev. Edward W. Hooker, D. D., who was 
professor in the Theological Seminary at East 
Windsor Hill, and afterward pastor for some time 
in Newburyport, Mass. Another son of Asahel, of 
Woodbury and afterward of Bristol, was Bryan, 
who was born in Woodbury in 1764, and died in 
Bristol in 1826. He was one of the first woolen 
manufacturers in Connecticut, and was very suc- 
cessful in producing fine and serviceable cloth for 
men's wear. Pie built a fine house for that time in 
Bristol on a hill side, with the land sloping down 
to the bank of the little Pequabuck river, where, not 
many years before, when the stream was larger, 
the Tunxis Indians had fished and paddled their 
light canoes. In 1804 Bryan Hooker married Mrs. 
Nancy (Lee) Fuller, a daughter of William Lee, 
of Bristol, and. widow of Mr. Fuller, who was a 
teacher in Hartford. She had two children : Rhoda 
Fuller, who married S. Augustus Mitchell, of Phil- 
adelphia, the author of many school books ; and 
Franklin Fuller, who lived and died in Bristol. To 
her marriage with Bryan Hooker three children 
were born: Lydia, born in 1805, married Hon. 
Cyrus P. Smith, mayor of Brooklyn, N. Y. ; Nancy, 
born in 1809, married William Hill, of Troy, N. 
Y., and she is now (1900) living in the Hooker home- 
stead at Bristol, at the advanced age of ninety-one 
years, supposed to be the oldest living descendant 
of Thomas Hooker; Bryan Edward is mentioned 
below. 

An interesting account of the celebration of Mrs. 
Nancy (Hooker) Hill's birthday appeared in the 
Bristol and Hartford papers July 24, 1899: 

An event of unusual interest occurred in Bristol on 
Monday, Iuly24. It was the ninetieth anniversary of Mrs. 
Nancy (Hooker) Hill's birthday, and was celebrated in a 
wholly informal manner, but very expressive of the high 
regard in which Mrs. Hill is held by a host of relatives and 
family friends far and near, and by her own townspeople. 

No invitations were sent out, but all who remembered 
the day were glad to testify of their affection and esteem. 

The celebration began on Saturday, with the arrival of 
letters of congratulation and gifts from distant relatives; 
on Sunday nearer relatives and friends came in person, with 
gifts and words of good cheer and gratitude. Monday 
witnessed the arrival of flowers and bonbons and books, 
and the coming of many friends in town, a veritable recep- 
tion day, which closed with messages of congratulation by 
telephone from certain New England towns. 

Mrs. Hill was at her best, and looked younger by twenty 
years than her age, as she responded most graciously to the 
greetings and attentions of those who called to see her. She 
was dressed in a soft gray cloth princess gown, decorated 
with white lace, the gift of her granddaughter, in which, 



with a white shawl thrown over her shoulders, she received 
her callers, and looked the ideal picture of a lady who had 
lived a peaceful and beautiful life of nine decades. 

Born in 1809, in the same year with Gladstone, Bismarck 
and Pope Leo XIII, she has outlived all but the last, and 
nearly every one of her own generation in her native town. 
Yet, in spite of delicate health and slightly impaired senses, 
she has been a most interested spectator of the clianges which 
have come to her town and country, and to the world at 
large. 

Of the many evidences of affection and regard which 
came to Mrs. Hill on her birthday, one was especially rare 
as a mark of homage. It was a box of American Beauty 
roses which came from Philadelphia by special messenger, 
who left Philadelphia at midnight Sunday, and arrived at 
Mrs. Hill's door on Monday morning at lU o'clock, deliver- 
ing his message with the directness and dispatch of the 
man who carried the letter to Garcia. 

These birthday gifts and attentions to Mrs. Hill are the 
mere symbols of a constant devotion, called forth by the 
rare qualities of mind and heart of the recipient, who for 
nearly a century has preserved the ideals of her youth, and 
has been an inspiration and a joy to all who have come 
under her influence. Hence it is only a devotion richly 
deserved, and bestowed in full and overflowing measure. 

Mrs. Nancy Hooker Hill had one daughter, 
Adeline Frances, who married George Ripley Bow- 
man, of Brooklyn, N. Y., a native of Braintree, 
Mass. Mr. Bowman died in Brooklyn in 1863. 
He left one child, Clara Lee Bowman, who since 
her father's death has lived with her mother in the 
Hooker homestead, with her grandmother. 

Bryan Edward Hooker, the youngest child and 
only son of Bryan Hooker, was born in Bristol Jan. 
1, 1813. When a lad of twelve years he was sent to 
the fine school for boys in Farmington, and boarded 
in the familv of Rev. Dr. Porter, the minister of the 
old town, and father of President Porter, of Yale 
College. For a year after leaving school he was 
employed in a store, but early went into the manu- 
facturing business, as his father had done before 
him. He won the respect of all in the community 
by his faithfulness, dignity of manner, kindness and 
mature judgment. He was active in both town 
and church matters, and people learned to depend 
upon him as a wise counselor and friend. In 1840 
he was sent to the State Legislature by the town 
of Bristol, and was the youngest member of that 
body. Mr. Hooker removed in 1844 to Hartford, 
and engaged in business with Lawson C. Ives, the 
firm being Ives, Hooker & Co., wool merchants. 
In business matters Mr. Hooker was well known 
for his exactness, punctuality and honesty. He 
connected himself with the First Congregational 
Churcn, and was as faithful in church matters as he 
was in business. Rev. Dr. Hawes, well known in 
Xew England as a leading minister, was pastor of 
the church at that time. He soon found that the 
young man from Bristol was one on whom he could 
depend, and in a few years he was chosen a deacon 
in the church, that office then being expected to 
continue through life. Among those at that time 
deacons in the church were men much older than 
Mr. Hooker, men, indeed, old enough to have been 
his father, among them Judge Thomas S. Williams 
and Gov. Ellsworth. Mr. Hooker remained in office 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



15 



twenty-two years, when he resigned on account of 
partial deafness, lie was the first to propose that 
the office of deacon should be temporary, and not 
for life, and that system was soon established in the 
church. Air. Hooker was interested in the Sunday- 
school, and his classes of young men knew they 
had a friend whose example, as well as teaching, 
it was safe to follow. The Sunday-school was then 
held at nine o'clock a. m., and for many years, when 
well and in town, Mr. Hooker never tailed to be 
promptly with his class. 

in 1862 Mr. Hooker retired from the firm, with 
which he had been connected eighteen years, to de- 
vote himself to the management of the Broad Brook 
Woolen Manufacturing Co., of which he became 
secretary and treasurer. When he entered upon 
this undertaking the situation was most discourag- 
ing, the company being heavily in debt, and the 
stockholders despondent. His ability as a man 
of business is indicated by the success of the com- 
pany for more than a quarter of a century under his 
management. A sturdy inflexible integrity was the 
distinctive quality in Mr. Hooker, best known to 
the people of Hartford, and his name frequently 
fell from the lips of men as a synonym for abso- 
lute honesty. ' All shams and deceit were abhorrent 
to him. To do his duty was the supreme law of his 
life. His friends knew him as one who was un- 
obtrusively thoughtful for the happiness of others, 
liberal and magnanimous. A difficulty in hearing, 
which came upon him some years prior to his death, 
led him to resign from various boards of direction, 
for he believed that directors should direct. Though 
during the latter part of his life he was unable 
to hear a sentence in church, he was always in his 
place at public worship. Politically he was a stanch 
Republican, and the last time he left his home was to 
cast his vote for President Harrison. He died Dec. 
9. 1888, after five weeks' illness of pneumonia. 

Mr. Hooker was twice married, first to Maria 
Robbins Williams, of Rocky Hill, a descendant of the 
Robbins and Wolcott families, and also of Thomas 
Welles, governor of Connecticut in 1655 and 1658. 
She died in i860, leaving two daughters: Ellen 
Frances, who died in 1897; and Mary Williams, 
who married Joseph G. Woodward in 1879, and 
died in 1882, leaving one child, Joseph Hooker 
Woodward, born March 7, 1882. In 1862 Mr. 
Hooker married Martha Huntington Williams, of 

O 7 

Manchester, who was born in East Hartford, daugh- 
ter of Solomon and Martha (Baker; Williams, for- 
merly of Lebanon, Connecticut. 

Mrs. Hooker's parents were both descended from 
the early settlers of Massachusetts and Connecti- 
cut. Her father, Solomon Williams, was born in 
1783, in Lebanon, Conn., and early entered Yale 
College, but remained not -quite two years, being 
unable to continue on account of severe illness. A 
weakness of the eyes and a cough remained with 
him throughout life, and as he was obliged to lead 
an outdoor life he for some years had the care of 



the farm that had belonged to his grandfather, the 
old minister of that historic town, bbr a few years . 
he was in business with David L. Dodge, afterward 
of .New York, who was engaged in manufacturing 
in Bozrah, near Lebanon. Later Mr. \\ illiams was 
in mercantile business, and removed to East Hart- 
ford, but the last years of his life were spent in 
Manchester, where (notwithstanding the feeble 
health which was his lot during most of his life) he 
lived to the great age of ninety-two years, dying in 
1875. Solomon Williams was a son of Thomas 
\\ illiams, M. D. (a graduate of Yale), and a grand- 
son of Rev. Solomon Williams, 1). D. (a graduate 
of 1 iartford), for fifty years pastor of the church in 
Lebanon. Gen. William Williams, one of the 
Signers of the Declaration of Independence, was 
also a son of Rev. Solomon Williams, who de- 
rived his Christian name from his maternal grand- 
father. Rev. Solomon Stoddard, D. D., of North- 
ampton, Mass., a clergyman of great prominence 
in his day, and grandfather also of the famous di- 
vine, Jonathan Edwards. Mr. Stoddard's mother 
was a daughter of Emanuel Downing, who was 
associated with (low Winthrop in the foundation 
of the Massachusetts Colony. Mr. Stoddard's wife 
was a daughter of the Rev. John Warham, who 
came from Exeter, England, to Dorchester, Mass., 
with his church, and removed to Windsor, Conn., 
in 1636. Rev. Solomon Williams' father. Rev. 
William Williams (a graduate of Harvard), was 
pastor at Hatfield, Mass., for fifty-six years, and 
lie was a grandson of Robert Williams, wdio came 
to Roxbury, Mass., from Norwich, England, in 
1638. The wife of Rev. Solomon Williams was 
Mary Porter, a daughter of Judge Samuel Porter, 
of lladley, Mass. Rebecca Wells, the wife of Dr. 
Thomas Williams, was a descendant of Thomas 
Welles, governor of Connecticut, and through the 
Ellsworths, her mother's family, she was descended 
from Elder John White and Elder William Good- 
win, wdio came with Rev. Thomas Hooker to Hart- 
ford in 1636. 

Martha Baker, wife of Solomon Williams, of 
Lebanon, was the daughter of Dr. Joseph Baker, 
who served in the war of the Revolution as a 
surgeon, and was at the battle of Fort Griswold. 
His wife, Lucy Devotion, was of French descent. 
Dr. Baker was descended from Rev. John Rob- 
inson, of Leyden, and his wife belonged to a Hu- 
guenot family, her father, Rev. Ebenezer Devotion, 
of Scotland Parish, Windham, being a great-grand- 
son of Edward Devotion, who was born at Rochelle, 
France, in 1621, and came to Boston in 1645, to 
escape religious persecution, settling in Brookline, 
Mass. He left a large portion of his property to 
establish free schools. Rev. E. Devotion married 
Martha Lathrop, a daughter of Col. Simon Lathrop. 
who commanded one of the Connecticut regiments 
at the taking of Louisbourg in 1745, and rendered 
distinguished service both in the field and in council. 
He was a great-grandson of Rev. John Lathrop, 



1G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



a clergyman who left the Established Church, 
preached for one year in London, was imprisoned, 
and after his release came to Boston. He was an 
independent thinker, and not agreeing with the 
Boston ministers went to Barnstable, Mass., and 
gathered a congregation. Xo one who united with 
his church was obliged to sign any creed. He simply 
professed his faith in Godj and promised that it 
should be his constant endeavor to obey his com- 
mandments, to live a pure life, and to walk in love 
with his brethren. The wife of Gov. Samuel Hunt- 
ington, one of the Signers of the Declaration of 
Independence, and governor of Connecticut from 
1786 to 1796, was a daughter of Rev. E. Devotion, 
and an aunt of Mrs. Hooker's mother. 

Bryan E. and Martha Hooker had three sons : 
Edward Williams Hooker, born Oct. 19, 1865 ; Rob- 
ert Huntington Hooker, April 21, 1867 (died May 
21, 1874) ; and Thomas Williams Hooker, May 10, 
1871. Edward Williams Hooker married Nov. 12, 
1889, Mary Mather Turner, daughter of Dr. Charles 
P. Turner, of Philadelphia, and grandchild of Major 
Roland Mather, of Hartford. Their children are 
Rosalie, born Sept. 26, 1892 ; and Roland Mather, 
born Sept. 10, 1900. 

BOARDMAX. The name has been one of 
prominence in New England from the earliest Co- 
lonial times, and especially has it been historic in 
Connecticut. It is the purpose here to treat only 
of the line of ancestry and descendants of the late 
William Boardman, for many years a prominent 
citizen of Wethersfield and Hartford, in which latter 
city still reside some of his children and grand- 
children, among them William Francis Joseph and 
Thomas Jefferson Boardman, long identified with 
the father in the wholesale tea, coffee and spice 
house of William Boardman & Sons. 

The name is uniformly spelt Boreman in the 
Colonial Records of Connecticut, and Boreman or 
Borman in the early records of Wethersfield. The 
change from Boreman, or Borman, first appears 
among the family records in that of Lieut. Richard 
Bordman, of Newington, in 1707, nearly seventy 
years after the first appearance of Samuel ( 1 ) 
Boreman in New England, by the addition of the 
letter "d." The new form was adopted by most of 
the name in Wethersfield until 1780, in which year 
the "a" is first added in the record of Elijah Board- 
man, son of Israel, of Newington, since which 
time the name has been spelt as above, Boardman. 
Instances are found where the same person might 
have his name spelt in all three ways in succession, 
as in the case of Lieut. Richard, of Newington, 
above mentioned, whose birth was recorded as a 
Borman, his marriage as a Bordman, and his death 
on his gravestone as that of Boardman. 

(I) Samuel Boreman, the emigrant ancestor 
of this branch of the Boardman family, was a son 
of Christopher and Julian (Carter) Boreman, and 
was born in Banbury, Oxfordshire, England, and 



baptized there August 20, 1615. About i6iy he 
removed with his parents to Claydon, a village near 
Banbury, where he spent his early life. From indi- 
cations contained in the Journal of John Josselyn, 
Genl., Mr. Boreman, accompanied by his "servant" 
(and perhaps by his wife), sailed in the ship "New 
Supply" from Gravesend, England, for New Eng- 
land, "April 26, 1638, which anchored in the Bay of 
Mass., before Boston, July 3d, of the same year." 
He first appears as a New England settler in Ips- 
wich, Mass., where, in a list of inhabitants without 
date, he is called a cooper, and has land recorded 
to him Aug. 22, 1639. His stay in Ipswich was not 
a long one, yet during this period he owned three 
different homesteads. The first of these, which was 
granted to him b- the town, was situated at the west 
end of High street. 

In 1 64 1, or during the previous year, he dis- 
posed of all his property in Ipswich and removed 
to Wethersfield, Conn. About this time he mar- 
ried Mary, daughter of John and Mary Betts, who 
were living in Claydon in 1627. She afterwards 
emigrated to New England with the mother, then 
the "widdoe" Mary Betts, who appears in Hartford 
soon after the settlement of the town, and received 
a portion of the first grants of land, being one in 
the list who had "lotts at the Courtesie of the Town." 
Her house lot in 1639-40 was situated at the foot 
of the present Trumbull street on the East side. 
She was a school teacher and called "Goody Betts, 
the school dame." She died before July 19, 1647. 

The earliest record of Samuel Boreman in Weth- 
ersfield appears in Vol. I, Town Votes, Page 4, viz. : 
"The care marke of Sam : Boreman of Wethers- 
ffielde is the near eare under half-penyed, the off 
eare whole." This ear mark was used by his de- 
scendants in Wethersfield as late as 1846. Judge 
Adams, the Wethersfield historian, considers 
this entry to have been made in 1640. His 
first purchase of land in Wethersfield, so far as 
known, was a homestead of three acres, with a 
barn and cellar, which was recorded April 9, 1645. 
It was on the east side of Broad street, a little north 
of Plain Lane and near the great elm now stand- 
ing there, and is thus entered on the record of the 
town : "One piece whereon a cellar and a barn 
standeth, containing three acres more or less. The 
ends abut against the Broad St. north-west, and the 
plain south-east, the sides against the house-lot of 
Mr. Chester north-east and Richard Parke south- 
west." This lot he sold to John Lattimer before 
Juno 22, 1646. 

On November 3, 1659, he purchased of Mr. 
Nathaniel Dickinson a homestead which was sit- 
uated on the southwest corner of Broad street, ex- 
tending westward along Fletcher Lane (Garden 
street) to Belle Lane (South Main street) and is 
described as "one house lot with house thereon 
Con: 2 acres and a half more or less, the end abut- 
ting on Broad Street East, and the long street West, 
and on the highway North, and the lands of John 





<£ 



C\XsOC6*r\ 




fi^sTr^i *- ^ cD 





* 



V^ 



m 




/ 




lt^£C4 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



17 



Kilborn South." Here he resided the last four- 
teen years of his life; the house, at times repaired 
and enlarged, was the home of five generations of 
the family. The buildings were subsequent!} mm-' 1 
as a tavern, and destroyed by fire March 17, [827. 
Samuel Boreman was an extensive land holder, 
having purchased no less than fifty-five pieces of 
land, aggregating 755 acres. This was exclusive 
of one-eighth part in lands of Robert Rose, who had 
312 acres in one trad on the East side of the river, 
and other lands on both sides. Samuel Boreman 
was granted, by the town, Jan. 2, [649-50, thirty 
acres of upland in Stepney (Rocky Hill) bounded 
East on the river, North on what was later re- 
served for a ship yard, South by a .stream known 
as Eog Brook, extending westerly up the hill which 
slopes from the river. This was the first grant of 
land by the town in that section of Wethersfield. 
In after years this tract became of great commercial 
importance. It has often been occupied by stores and 
warehouses, and at the present time the Railroad 
Station, the Foundry and several ancient residences 
are located on this site. 

The Indian Chief Turramuggas ( Son of Sachem 
Sowheag) gave to Mr. Samuel Boreman and Thom- 
as Edwards jointly, Jan. 26, 1073, out of "respect 
for them" a tract of land containing 400 acres al 
Assawasick, in what is now East Glastonbury. This 
is the earliest deed, next after one grant of kind at 
Beckley quarter, made by the Indians to private in- 
dividuals in the township. 

Samuel Boreman's name is often found in the 
records of Wethersfield. He was chosen townsman 
(Selectman) in 1656-57-58-60-61-62-65-66-69 72 
and 1673, assessor for two years, rate maker, sur- 
veyor of highways and constable. He was often 
appointed to lay out highways, town bounds and in- 
dividual grants of lands. In church affairs as well, 
he took a prominent part, serving on committees 
to "procure a minister," "seat the meeting house," 
erect a parsonage, to settle differences, etc. He last 
appears in the Wethersfield Town Records, March 
26, 1673, where he is the first named of five towns- 
men to procure a house for the use of the Rev. Mr. 
Bulkley. His inventory was taken May 2, 1673. 
We learn from the Records of the Particular Court 
or Court of Magistrates that Mr. Boreman was a 
Juror as early as 1646 and filled that office for fif- 
teen years, in 1660 and 1662 being one of the Grand 
Jury. 

In the Colonial Records, we find that Samuel 
Boreman first represented the town of Wethersfield 
as Deputy to the General Court Oct. 1, 1657, that 
he was elected in all eighteen terms and reported 
present .at thirty-four sessions. On Oct. 9, 1662, 
when Connecticut's famous charter, procured in Eng- 
land from Charles IT by Governor Winthrop, was 
"first publiquely read in audience of ye Freeman and 
declaired to belong to them and their successors," 
"Mr. Samuel Boreman was present as one of the Dep- 
uties and he and Sergt. Nott were appointed to notify 
2 



those in W'cthersfield indebted to the country in be- 
half of Air. Cullick to provide and prepare payment 
to enable tlie country to discharge such sums as 
should be charged b) Governor Winthrop for pro- 
curing the Charter for the Colony." He was appoint- 
ed by the Genera] Court in 1649 Town Sealer of 
weights and measures, and in 1659 Customs Ma 
of Wethersfield. being the first to hold that office, 
was selected bv the General Court to serve on com- 
mittees to settle church differences, to lay out the 
new town of I Iaddain, including its purchase from 
the Indians, to lay out the bounds of Middletown 
and settle its differences with the Indians, to settle 
estates and to lay out the bounds of the proprietors 
at Naubuck. "Mr." Samuel Boreman's last appear- 
ance as Deputy from Wethersfield on record was 
( )ct. i_', [671, the beginning of a term of the court 
which expired in April, 1O72. He died in April, 
1673. His widow Alary died in August, 1684, 
aged about sixty-one years. Children: Isaac, Alary, 
Samuel, Joseph, John, Sarah, Daniel, Jonathan, 
Nathaniel and Martha. Joseph, born March i_\ 
1650, and John, born June i_\ [653, died in 1676, un- 
married ; their inventories were both taken Feb. 27, 
M>7') 7. In the list of accounts due to John appears 
"ii2-6s-9d, due from the country," which, with the 
manuscript of Hon. David Sherman Boardman that 
they "died unmarried in the Army," lead to the belief 
that they perished in the King Philip war — proba- 
bly in the Swam]) fight, Dec. 19, 1676. The other 
children lived to marry. 

"Few of the first settlers of Connecticut came 
here with a better reputation or sustained it more 
uniformly through life than Mr. Boreman" [Hin- 
man page 263] "Samuel Boreman was a leading 
man in the Colony for nearly thirty years" [Hol- 
lister Vol. I. P. 464]. 

(II) Samuel Boreman, son of Samuel and Alary 
(Betts) Boreman, was born in Wethersfield, Oct. 
28, 1648. He married Feb. 8, 1682-3, Sarah Steele, 
baptized at Farmington, Dec. 29, 1656, daughter of 
Lieut. Samuel and Mary (Boosey) Steele of Weth- 
ersfield and earlier of Farmington. Air. Boreman 
was by occupation a cooper and farmer, and one of 
the principal land owners of the town, having add- 
ed largely to the share which he received from his 
father's estate by the purchase of other tracts of land 
in the South Field, the Great Plain, the West Field 
and elsewhere. 

In 1 077, Samuel Boreman, with three others, re- 
ceived from the town a grant of land in 'Piper Stave 
Swamp in the present town of Newington with 
sufficient Pondings and 20 acres of land to each of 
them forever, for the purpose of erecting a saw- 
mill, allwise provided the said party, make no sale 
of bord or timber to any other town, without the 
consent of Wethersfield townsmen, and to sell bords 
at home, at five shillings per hundred and at the mill 
at four shillings per hundred. The mill is to be Lip 
and fit for work at or before the last of Septem- 
ber next ensuing the date hereof [Wethersfield 



13 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Town Votes]. This was the first sawmill built in 
Wethersfield. "Clark Samuel Boreman" had a 
share in the second division of land on the West 
side of the river, a 52-acre lot in Newington, and 
lands elsewhere. 

Although not a prominent office holder we find 
that Mr. Boreman was chosen surveyor of high- 
ways in 1679. "Sergt. Samuel Boreman" was one 
of the town collectors for 1683, constable in 1682, 
one of the Committee to lay out a highway to Fear- 
ful Swamp in 1687, Lister in 1693 and 1702, and 
Surveyor in 1694. He occupied his father's home- 
stead, corner of Broad Street and Fletcher Lane. 
He died Dec. 23, 1720, "aged y2 y. 2 mo., wanting 
two days," and his widow, Sarah, died Jan. 23, 
1732-3. Their children were Mary, Sarah, Hannah. 
David, Joseph and Josiah. Sarah, Hannah and 
Josiah died young. Sarah (Steele) Boreman was 
a descendant of the third generation from John 
Steele, one of the original proprietors of Hartford, 
who was born in Essex County, England, and mar- 
ried at Fairstead, near Braintree, in the above coun- 
ty, Rachel, sister of John Talcott of Hartford. He 
emigrated to New England about 1632, and set- 
tled in Newtown (Cambridge), where he w r as made 
a freeman in 1634. He was /:hosen Deputy to the 
General Court of Massachusetts in March, 1634, 
'and May and September, 1635, and was appointed 
by that body March 3, 1635-6 one of the Commis- 
sioners "to govern the people of Connecticut for 
the space of one year coming." He removed to 
Hartford in 1635-6, and his homestead was on the 
east side of Main Street, a little north of the site 
now occupied by the Atheneum. Mr. Steele was 
activelv interested in the affairs of his town and 
colony. He was Secretary of the Colony from 
1636 to 1639, was often chosen Deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court between 1637 and 1657, and held the 
office of Town Clerk of Hartford until his removal 
to Farmington about 1645. where his wife Rachel 
died in 1653. He died in Farmington, November 
25, 1665. Sarah Steele's line of descent was Lieut. 
Samuel (II), John (I). 

(Ill) Joseph Bord.max, son ofSamueland Sarah 
I Steele) Boreman, was born in Wethersfield April 
> >. [695, married Feb. 17, 1726, Mary, daughter of 
Joseph Belden, born April 23, 1704, and lived at the 
extreme south end of Broad Street, on the west side, 
in the house erected by his father Samuel (II), 
and given him by the latter's will in 1720. He was 
a farmer by occupation, and in local matters a man 
of substance and prominent in the affairs of Weth- 
ersfield. He was commissioned Quarter-master of 
Captain Josiah Griswold's Troop of Horse, in the 
Sixth Regiment, May it, 1749, and Cornet in the 
same regiment in October, 1751, by the General 
Court. He was one of the selectmen of the town 
m 1 7S5- wno na d charge of the French prisoners 
quartered there at that time. "It is probable that he 
did his share of duty in the French campaign dur- 
ing his term of military service." 



Joseph Bordman was chosen Deputy to the Gen- 
eral Court from Wethersfield, October, 1754, Jan- 
uary, 1755, March, 1755, October, 1759, and May 
1760. He was one of the largest contributors to the 
fund raised for building the present Congregational 
church in Wethersfield in 1761. (Corner Stone.) 

His wife Mary died April 30, 1769. He died 
Jan. 19, 1771. Their children were Mary, Sarah, 
Eunice, Hannah, Levi, Rhoda, Samuel and Abi- 
gail. All lived to marry. Mary (Belden) Bord- 
man was descended in the fourth generation from 
Richard Belden, an early settler of Wethersfield. 
The records concerning him are few. He owned 
April 7, 1641, eight pieces of land including a 
homestead situated on the east side of Broad street, 
on the north corner of Plain Lane. He was chosen 
town herder March 16, 1646. It was his duty to keep 
watch over the herd and give immediate warning to 
the inhabitants of wolves or other dangers threat- 
ening the stock, his compensation being in "four 
equal payments." "On fourth in wheat, on fourth 
in pease, on fourth in barley, on fourth in Indian, 
sound, dry and well drest." That this was not an 
easy task we may readily infer from the fact that, 
the year following, four herders were elected. He 
died in 1655, the inventory of his estate was taken 
Aug. 22d of the same year. Mary (Belden) Bord- 
man's line of descent is through Joseph (III), John 
(II), Richard (I). 

(IV) Levi Bordman, son of Joseph and Mary 
(Belden) Bordman, was born in Wethersfield, May 
6, 1739. He married April 2^, 1761, Esther Bord- 
man, born Dec. 22, 1743, daughter of Gamaliel and. 
Sarah (Sherman) Bordman, of Newington, and 
great-great-granddaughter of Samuel Boreman, the 
settler. He died March 22, 1782. Esther, his wid- 
ow, married (second) Nov. 11, 1784, William War- 
ner, and died Sept. 1, 1797. The children of Levi 
and Esther were Joseph, Levi, Sarah, Sarah, Simeon 
and Joseph Simeon — Levi and Joseph Simeon, only, 
living to maturity. 

Levi Bordman was a prominent man of his day 
in W'ethersfield. He was chosen one of the se- 
lectmen of Wethersfield in December, 1773. 1774. 
and 1775, and in this official capacity he certified to 
the muster roll of Capt. John Chester's Company 
of one hundred and fifteen men, at the starting of 
that body for the relief of Boston, in the Lexing- 
ton Alarm in April, 1775. In this company were 
Samuel, Elijah, Return and Samuel Bordman (2d). 
In 1774 he was one of the contributors to a fund 
to relieve and encourage the inhabitants of Boston 
under their unparalelled suffering in the General 
Cause of American Liberty." In the year follow- 
ing he assisted his brother Samuel in erecting a 
saltpetre manufactory, near the foot of Broad 
street, in Wethersfield, and furnished material n?c- 
essarv in the manufacture of this article, large quan- 
tities of which were made for use in the Revolution- 
ary war. Levi and Samuel Bordman also built and 
owned the sloop "Ann" (Lemuel Deming, mas- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



19 



Hi), which was used to convey a company of sev- 
enty-two soldiers, under the command of Capt. John 
llanmcr, from Wethersfield to New York, at the 
time of the Long island invasion Aug. 23, 1776. 
ft is a family tradition that Levi Bordman served in 
the war of the Revolution. The fact that he pos- 
sessed a full military equipment, including a hreast 
plate marked "L. Bordman," adds not a little to the 
truth of this tradition. 

During a portion of his life, at least, Levi Bord- 
man was a school master, and sometimes received 
pupils at his home for instruction. Jt is known that 
lie taught the South School in Wethersfield in 1771, 
and the Broad Street School in 1778- Mis library 
included hooks in the Greek and Latin languages, 
indicating that he was a man of liberal education. 

Mr. Bordman is said to have lived some years 
after his marriage in the house of his ancestor, Sam- 
uel Boreman (I), corner of Broad street and Fletch- 
er Lane. Included in the inventory of his property 
was an "old tavern sign," which leads to the conjec- 
ture that he kept a public house there, for it is known 
that the building was used for that purpose. It is 
believed that Mr. Bordman was keeping this tavern 
when on September 19, 1765, Stamp-Master Jared 
Ingersoll, of New Haven, on his way to Hartford, 
was forced by the "Sons of Liberty," who had gath- 
ered under the great Elm tree in front of Col. John 
Chester's house, next adjoining, to enter this tavern, 
and there sign a written resignation of his office. 

Esther Bordman was helpful to the soldiers dur- 
ing the War of the Revolution in assisting them to 
join their regiments, in boarding, washing and 
mending their clothes. &c. Her line of descent is 
through Gamaliel (IV), Richard (III ). Daniel ill), 
Samuel (I). 

(V) Joseph Si m eo \ Hoard man, son of Levi and 
Esther (Bordman) Boardman, was horn in Wethers- 
held, Conn., May 3, 1780. lie married July 31, 
1803, Lucinda, daughter of Joseph and Hannah 
( Harrison) Canfield, of Salisbury, Conn., horn 1786. 
He was a cordwainer by trade. Early in 1804 he re- 
moved to Lenox, Mass., where he successfully en- 
gaged in the business of tanning leather. Late in the 
following year he returned to his native town, and 
for some years lived on the west side of the high- 
way leading from Broad street to South Lane, next 
north of the Appleton Robbins place. In 181C) he 
purchased his father's old homestead on Broad 
street, where he resided until his death. 

After his return from Lenox he devoted his at- 
tention somewhat to the shipping business, then of 
considerable local importance. An examination of 
his account books and diaries show him to have 
been very careful and accurate in Ids business habits. 
From them, it is learned that he spent a portion of 
his time at his trade, and that he was also engaged 
in shipping large quantities of onions, then the staple 
crop of Wethersfield, to New York, and there selling 
them on commission. Tt was while acting as super- 
cargo on board the sloop "Eliza" (David Moul- 



throp, captain ), on her passage to New York, that he 
lost his life by shipwreck on Long Island Sound on 
the night of November 13, 1827, all on board being 
lost. His body was recovered at Huntington, L. 
1., and buried in Wethersfield. His widow married 
Sept. 19, 1832, Ezra L'Hommedieu, of Chester, 
where she died March 6, 1850, and was buried in 
Wethersfield. 

Mr. Boardman was a gentleman of strong re- 
ligious convictions, lb 1 and his wife became mem- 
bers of the Congregational Church in r8l6, and 
throughout their lives were zealous workers in the 
cause of religion. Mr. Boardman's private diary, 
from which extracts of considerable length are 
given in the Boardman Genealogy, is a witness to 
the earnestness and sincerity of ids Christian life. 
Their children were William, Hannah, Joseph, Jo- 
seph Canfield and Maria Lucinda. 

Lucinda (Canfield) Boardman was of the sixth 
generation from Sergt. Thomas Canfield, who was 
born in England and settled in Milford, Conn., in or 
before 1646, and was -ranted a house lot and two 
acres of land by the town, December 31, 1646. He 
also received from the town four acres of land for 
supporting a gate at New Field. He became a mem- 
ber of tiie church in Milford, March 1. [656, and 
was appointed by the General Courl May 13, 1669, 
sergeant of the train band of Milford. He was 
elected Deputy to the General Courl from Milford 
in 1073. 1074 and [676. Me died in [689. His wife, 
Phebe Crane, whom he married probably before 
1050. was perhaps the sister of Benjamin Crane, of 
Wethersfield. Her will was made July 29, 1690. 
Lucinda Cantield's line of descent is Joseph (\ 1, 
Foe! (IV), Thomas Mil), Thomas (U), Thom- 
as ( I i. 

1 VI I W'11.1. 1 \\i BoARDM w. -Mil of Joseph Sim- 
eon and Lucinda (Canfield) Boardman, was born 
Feb. 25, 1805, in Lenox. Mass.. where his father was 
then for a short time residing. Young Boardman re- 
ceived his education in the best schools of Weth- 
ersfield. At the age of sixteen he began learning the 
printer's trade in the office of the Hartford Times, 
then owned and published by Samuel Howies and 
John Francis. In the summer of 1824, when Mr. 
Bowles started* the Springfield Republican, Mr. 
Boardman went with him to Springfield, the removal 
being accomplished by placing the press, with all ar- 
ticles necessary for use in the business, and the 
household furniture on a fiatboat, in which they were 
poled up the Connecticut river. He boarded in 
the familv of his employer, and se. up and printed 
a part of the first issue of the Springfield Republi- 
can, which has since become one of the leading news- 
papers of New England. In 1828, in company with 
William Faulkner, of Nonvich, under the firm name 
of Boardman & Faulkner, he began the publication 
of the Norwich Republican, of which he was also 
the editor. This was the second paper in Connecti- 
cut to support the election of Andrew Jackson for 
the Presidency. Ill health obliged Mr. Boardman 



20 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



to retire from his position after the first year. In 
1830 he published the Tolland Advocate for an asso- 
ciation of gentlemen in Tolland, Conn. In 1832, 
in company with Alfred Francis, he published the 
life, writings and opinions of Thomas Jefferson, 
written for them by 13. L. Rayner, the printing, 
binding, etc., being all done in Wethersfield. In 
1834, Mr. Boardman was employed by John Rus- 
sell, then editor and publisher of the Hartford 
Tiiiics, as foreman of the establisnment. 

In 1841, in company with John Fox, Mr. Board- 
man started in Wethersfield, in connection with a 
successful grocery business, the first manufactory in 
New England, outside of Boston, for the roasting, 
grinding, and packing of coffee and spices for the 
wholesale trade. This partnership was dissolved 
in October, 1844, and January I, 1845, ^ r - Board- 
man undertook the same business on his own ac- 
count, which he removed in 1850 to Hartford, lo- 
cating at No. 12 Central Row, where he associated 
with himself his son, W. F. J. Boardman, under 
the firm name of Wm. Boardman & Son. Steam 
power and modern machinery were introduced, and 
the firm did a large business in several States of 
the Union, and especially in Xew York City, where 
a considerable amount of the goods manufactured 
were sold. The coffee used at the opening of the 
Crystal Palace in New York, July 14, 1853, was 
furnished by them. Probably the first invoice of 
ground and prepared coffee sent to California was 
from this firm. Still larger accommodations being 
needed, the store and manufactory were removed, 
in 1853, from Central Row to what is now No. 
241 State street. The building was bought and 
fitted up with a twenty-five horse power engine, and 
with all the new and improved machinery for the 
successful carrying on of the business. At this 
time Mr. Boardman's second son, Thomas J., was ad- 
mitted to the firm, and its name was changed to Win. 
Boardman & Sons. The building, occupied, consist- 
ed of four stories, with a store-house of two stories 
in the rear. In 1858, two stories in an adjoining 
building were leased, and teas were added to the 
stock in trade. Travelling salesmen were employed, 
and a large business was done throughout New 
York, New Hampshire, Vermont. Massachusetts and 
Connecticut, thousands of chests being sold yearly. 
In 1867 the business was removed from No. 241 
to No. 205 State street, corner of Front, the old 
store being retained for the manufacturing and stor- 
age of goods. This added four stories, 30x80 feet, 
to the space formerly occupied. In 1871, the brown 
stone building, Nos. 298-306 Asylum street, was 
erected for the business; it measured 52x100 feet, 
and was five stories high besides a basement, with 
the manufactory in the rear of three stories, 30x40 
feet. The cost was over $100,000, and it was the 
finest private building then in the city. The firm 
removed to it April 1, 1872, new machinery being 
added, making it the most complete manufactorv of 
its kind in Xew England. Here thev continued to 



do a large and successful business as wholesale 
dealers and importers of teas, coffees and spices, and 
as dealers in cigars, tobacco and grocers' sundries. 
On July 9, 1888, after the death of the senior part- 
ner, William F. J. Boardman retired from the firm 
— the business then for a time being carried on by 
the younger of his two sons, Thomas J., and his son, 
Howard F., under the old firm name out of respect 
for its founders. On Jan. 1, 1897, the business 
was incorporated under the name of The Wm. 
Boardman & Sons Co., of which Thomas J. Board- 
man is President ; A. H. Bronson, Secretary, and 
H. F. Boardman, Treasurer. 

William Boardman was interested in many en- 
terprises aside from his regular business. He, with 
the firm, was the builder of several of the finest pri- 
vate structures in Hartford. He also, in company 
with others, constructed several vessels of large 
size, one of which was named the "William Board- 
man." He was one of the originators of and sub- 
scribers to The Merrick Thread Co., of Holyoke, 
.Mass., and one of its directors; also of the Hart- 
ford and New York Steamboat Co., the Comstock & 
Ferre Seed Co., Bank of Hartford County (Amer- 
ican National), Merchants and Manufacturers Bank 
(First National), Orient Fire Insurance Co., Me- 
chanics Bank & Building Association, and Hudson 
River Water Power & Paper Co. He was an orig- 
inal subscriber to the stock of the City Fire Insur- 
ance Co., Merchants Fire Insurance Co., Phoenix 
Fire Insurance Co., and Hartford Engineering Co. 
In 1836, and for several years after, he was secre- 
tary and director of the Wethersfield Mutual Fire 
Insurance Co. He also assisted in the formation of 
many industries, both of a private and public char- 
acter, and did much to advance the interests of his 
adopted city. He settled many estates, was a direc- 
tor in insurance companies, manufacturing cor- 
porations, and banks. He was largely interested in 
proving the feasibility and cheapness of peat as 
fuel. He was associated with Henry Martin in 
manufacturing the first power machines for making 
brick in this country ; was general agent and mana- 
ger of the Holbrook School Apparatus Company for 
the manufacture of instruments showing the revolu- 
tions of the solar system, and of other instruments 
connected with the education of children. He was 
president of the Hartford Associated Coal Company. 
a companv which was formed just after the Civil 
War, to enable consumers to receive their coal at 
the cost of mining, etc., which, owing to the general 
collapse in mercantile values, did not prove a suc- 
cess. Mr. Boardman filled all these places of trust 
with honor and fidelity. His advice was often 
sought in business and other matters, and cheerfully 
and honestly given. He held other offices in earlier 
life, such as State prison director in 1834, town 
constable and collector in 1835-36-37, representative 
in the Legislature from Wethersfield in 1852, where 
he was on several important committees, and was 
again appointed State prison director, and also com- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



21 



missioner for Hartford county, by Gov. Thomas 
H. Seymour, After his removal to Hartford, in 
[858, lie invariably refused public office. He was 
a life-long Democrat, a firm Union man, and a sub- 
scriber to The Hartford Times from 1820 to 1889. 
In 1858 he assisted J. M. Schofield in establishing 
a Democratic journal, the Hartford Morning Post, 
now the Hartford Evening Post, Republican in its 
politics. He was a member of the Masonic fraternity 
and of the Odd Fellows, and in the latter organiza- 
tion held the office of Noble Grand. 

"Religiously, Mr. Boardman was a true child 
of his Puritan ancestry." "To strict integrity, a 
careful frugality, a true orthodox)-, he joined a 
clear religious experience." Both he and his wile 
were brought up in the Congregational Church, 
but in early life became deeply interested in the 
Methodist Episcopal Church, then in its infancy in 
Wethersfield, where it was at first strongly opposed 
by many of the townspeople, who adhered to the 
-Congregational denomination. At one time when 
they were refused the use of the town hall for relig- 
ious services, Mr. Boardman with others forced the 
doors in order to hold the meeting. The excite- 
ment at that time was so great that the "riot" act 
was read to the assembled crowd by Samuel Galpin, 
Esq., of Wethersfield. Mr. Boardman and his wife 
united with the M. E. Church in 1838, and remained 
through life its firm supporters. He helped to re- 
build its church edifice, and gave so liberally to the 
undertaking that, in gratitude to him, it was named, 
at its re-dedication, Boardman Chapel. On re- 
moving to Hartford in 1858, their membership was 
transferred to the First Methodist Episcopal Church 
there, of which Mr. Boardman was elected one of the 
trustees, and when its new church edifice was erected 
on Asylum street, he was one of the building com- 
mittee, giving a large sum for the purpose. When 
the South Park M. E. Church was organized in 
1869, in the south part of the city, Mr. and Mrs. 
Boardman joined the new movement, and were 
among the foremost in the enterprise, he being ap- 
pointed one of the trustees and a member of the 
building committee. One of the acts of his later lFe 
was the payment of the mortgage then on the church, 
thus relieving it of debt, and this on the condition 
that there should never be another mortgage. He 
was elected the first Sunday-school superintendent, 
continuing in that capacity until infirmity and ad- 
vancing age compelled his resignation. In 1885, 
after the death of his wife, he built the Boardman 
Memorial Chapel, adjoining the church, in remem- 
brance of her. It was dedicated Feb. 23, 1886. 

The liberalitv of Mr. Boardman was great, and 
the calls on his charity were many, and freely re- 
sponded to. By his will he made bequests to the 
Old People's Home, The Hartford Hospital, The 
Larabee Fund, The Charitable Society of Hartford. 
The Fund for Superannuated Preachers, the Board 
of Church Extension of the M. E. Church, and to 



the Grant Memorial University of Athens, Ten- 
nessee. 

On Jan. 3, 1828, Mr. Boardman was married to 
Mary Francis, who was born in Wethersfield," Nov. 
6, 1803, daughter of Capt. Daniel and Mehitabel 
(Goodrich) Francis, and granddaughter of Capt. 
John Francis and Capt. Ehzur Goodrich, both sol- 
diers of the Revolution. Mr. Boardman's married 
life was a long and happy one, extending through 
more than fifty-six years. His wife was a woman 
remarkable for her kindness of heart and her whole- 
souled liberality. She was never happier than when 
doing something for the help and comfort of others, 
and her husband took care that she should never 
lack the means for her benefactions. She was in- 
terested in all good works, both public and private, 
and the extent to which she aided them will never 
be known, for she was unassuming in all her boun- 
ties. During the Civil war, she took great interest in 
the condition of the soldiers, and was one of the man- 
agers of the Soldiers' Aid Association. But it was 
as the kind and tender wife and mother that -she 
found her chief happiness, and the best monument 
and witness to her excellence has been the rever- 
ent and unforgetting affection of her husband and 
children. She died Dec. 14, 1884, at the age of 
eighty-one. bier line of ancestry was Daniel (V) 
John (IV), John (III), John Oh, Robert (I). 
Mr. Boardman survived his wife for nearly three 
years, and died November 3, 1887. in his eighty- 
third year. Their children, all of whom were born 
in Wethersfield, were: William Francis Joseph and 
Thomas Jefferson, both mentioned later; Arethusa 
Maria and Alpheus Francis, both deceased in early 
childhood: Mary Lucinda, born in 1841, married, 
in 1870, George W. Atwood; and Emma Jennette, 
born in 1846, died in i860. 

(VII) William F. J. Boardman, of Hartford, 
Conn., son of William and Mary ( Francis) Board- 
man, was born in Wethersfield, Dec. 12, 1828. He 
was married Jan. 7, 1852, by the Rev. Horace Bush- 
nell, D. D., in the North Congregational Church in 
Hartford, to Jane Maria Greenleaf, born in Hartford 
Aug. 9, 1835, youngest daughter of Dr. Charles and 
Electa (Toocker) Greenleaf. Mrs. Boardman died 
Aug. 20, 1899, aged 64 years. "The world was 
better for her having lived." 

Mr. Boardman received his education in the pub- 
lic schools of his native town, graduating from the 
Wethersfield Academy in the Spring of 1846. On 
leaving school he entered the Coffee and Spice Man- 
ufactory of his father, in Wethersfield, to learn the 
business in detail. Four years later, upon the re- 
moval of the business to Hartford, he was admitted 
into partnership with his father, under the firm 
name of William Boardman & Son. In 1853, his 
brother Thomas J. was admitted a member and the 
corporate name changed to William Boardman & 
Sons. This business connection continued with 
uninterrupted success for thirty-eight years. After 



22 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



many years of close application to business, Mr. 
Boardman's health became seriously impaired and 
he found it necessary to take a rest from its cares, 
at one time going abroad to seek the benefit of travel 
and change. The result was not entirely success- 
ful, and, as a matter of physical necessity, he con- 
cluded, after his return, to abandon all business act- 
ivity, which he did by selling to his brother his en- 
tire interest in the old firm, July 9, 1888, after an 
experience of forty-two years. Mr. Boardman has 
never sought political office or favor. In 1861 he 
was chosen a director of the State Bank of Hart- 
ford, serving in that capacity during the war of the 
Rebellion, giving to the institution the same con- 
scientious attention that he did to his own business. 
In 1863, he was elected a member of the Hartford 
Common Council from the old Third ward, in which 
he was a member of the highways committee and 
chairman of the committee on the horse railroad, 
then being constructed, also serving on other com- 
mittees. 

During his business life, Mr. Boardman has been 
actively engaged in promoting and establishing many 
business eterprises, among which are the Hartford 
and New York Steamboat Company, The Merrick 
Thread Company of Holyoke, Mass., The Hudson 
River Water Power and Paper Co. of Mechanics- 
ville, N. Y., as well as many other undertakings in 
which he shared an equal interest in common with 
the other members of his firm. He has helped young 
men to establish themselves in business and assist- 
ed others in these affairs. He has served on com- 
missions, settled estates, operated in real estate con- 
siderably, attended to the construction of some of 
the best buildings of his adopted city, and has gen- 
erally led an active life. 

Mr. Boardman was one of the original members 
of the Putnam Phalanx at its organization in 1859, 
and still retains his connection with this well known 
Military Battalion. He is a life member of the Con- 
necticut Historical Society, a life member of the 
Wethersfield Society Library, a member of the Tops- 
field Historical Society of Massachusetts, the society 
of the Sons of the American Revolution, and of the 
Connecticut Society of the Order of the Founders 
and Patriots of America, through both lines of his 
ancestry. He was admitted a member at its organ- 
ization May 9, 1896, and chosen one of its coun- 
cillors, and later elected Genealogist of the Order. 
Mr. Boardman has devoted much time and money 
in collecting and preserving records relating to the 
Boardman Family, including originals relating to 
each of his Xew England ancestors. In 1895 ne 
published "The Boardman Genealogy 1 525-1895," a 
work of nearly 800 pages. He has also published 
"The Francis-Goodrich-Boardman" Genealogy in his 
line of ancestry. "A memorial to the Memory of 
William Boardman and Mary Francis" and a "Com- 
plete Record of the Wethersfield Inscriptions in the 
Five Burial Places in that Ancient Town." He has 
nearly ready for publication, "The Record of the 



Ancestry of William Boardman and Mary Francis, 
showing their allied lines of descent through forty 
families who settled in Xew England prior to 1650, 
with short biographical sketches of each ancestor.'' 

jane Maria (Greenleaf) Boardman was a de- 
scendant in the ninth generation from Capt. Ed- 
mund Greenleaf, who was born in England, and emi- 
grated to Xew England with his family in 1635, and 
settled in Newbury, Mass. He was one of the first 
settlers or founders of Newbury, and was granted 
122 acres in the first division of land there in 
1635. From all that can be gathered, it is believed 
that his ancestors were Huguenots. On the parish 
records of St. Mary's la Tour in Ipswich, County of 
Suffolk, England, is recorded "Edmund Greenleaf, 
son of John and Margaret, was baptized January 
2, 1574." Edmund Greenleaf married Sarah Dole, 
and by her had nine children whose names appear on 
the record of St. Mary's la Tour above mentioned, 
all born in England. Mr. Greenleaf lived near the 
old town bridge in Newbury, where for some years 
he kept a tavern. He was admitted a freeman March 
13. 1639, and on May 22, of the same year, he was 
"permitted to keep a house of entertainment." He 
was by trade a silk dyer. About 1650, he moved 
to Boston where his wife Sarah died January 18. 
1663. He died there March 24, 1 671, aged about 
ninety-seven years. In 1637, Capt. Greenleaf com- 
manded a company which marched against the 
Indians. On Xov. 5, 1639, he was made ensign 
of the company at Newbury, and in 1642 lieutenant 
of Massachusetts Provincial Forces. In 1644 he 
was an "Ancient and experienced Lieut, under Capt. 
William Gerrish," was captain in 1644, and head of 
the Militia under Gerrish, and November II, 1647, 
at his own request, was discharged from military 
service being in the seventy-fourth year of his age. 
Jane M. (Greenleaf) Boardman's line of descent is 
Dr. Charles (VIII), Dr. David (VII), David (VI), 
Dr. Daniel (Y), Rev. Daniel (IV), Capt. Stephen 
(III), Capt. Stephen (II), Capt. Edmund (I). 

(ATI) Thomas Jefferson Boardman, son of 
William and Mary (Francis) Boardman, was born in 
Wethersfield, Conn., May 2J, 1832, and received his 
education in the district school and academy of the 
town, and at the Wesleyan Academy at Wilbraham, 
Mass. Having finished his education, he returned 
to Wethersfield, preferring a business to a pro- 
fessional life. He began as clerk in a country store 
in New Britain, remaining till the failure of the con- 
cern in 1850. He then accepted a position with his 
father and brother in Hartford, and later, in 1853, 
he was admitted to the firm. Tn this he remained 
a partner till after the death of his father, and the 
retirement of his brother July 9, 1888, when he, 
with his son. Howard F., continued the business 
under the old firm name until Jan. 1, 1897. It was 
then incorporated as The Win. Boardman & Sons 
Company, of which he became, and is still Presi- 
dent, his son, Howard F.. being Treasurer, and Ar- 
thur H. Bronson, Secretary. He is also President of 








fa/&e<rf<?H) 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



23 



The Wholesale Grocers Association of Southern 
New England. 

Mr. Boardman has often been urged to accept 
public office, but has always declined, preferring to 
give his entire time and energy to his business. He 
was brought up a Methodist, but in early life became 
a convert to the I niversalist faith, uniting with that 
church in 1863. He was long connected with the 
Sunday-school, as teacher, assistant superintendent, 
and president of the Teachers' Association, and was 
for many years a worker in the church, as a member 
of its board of trustees and one of its chief support- 
ers. He was also for many years on the State Mis- 
sionary Board of the Universalist Church, and 
trustee for the State of Connecticut in the I 'niver- 
salist Publishing House in Boston. He has had an 
equal interest with his father and brother in the busi- 
ness enterprises in which they were concerned. 

Thomas J. Boardman married October 14, 1858, 
Julia Amanda Ellis, of Hartford, who was born Jan 
uary 29, 1838, and died November 24, 1858. He 
married (second) October 24, 1861, Mary Charlina 
Ellis, sister of his first wife, born September [I, 
1N43. She died Jan. 16, 1890. He married (third) 
April 29, [893, Mary Adah Simpson, daughter of 
Frederick H. Simpson, of Staten Island, New YorK. 
Mr. Boardman's children were Howard P., Emma 
Julia, Minnie Gertrude, William Ellis, Thomas 
Bradford (born March 9, [895) and George Fran- 
cis (born May 31, 1890). He is a member of the 
Connecticut Historical Society, of the Society of the 
Sons of the American Revolution, the Connecticut 
Society of the Order of the Founders and Patriots 
of America through both lines of his ancestry, and 
historian of the last named Society. 

(VIII) William Greenleaf Boardman, only 
child of William F. J. and Jane Maria (Greenleaf) 
Boardman, was born in Hartford, Conn.. June 29, 
1853. He married ( )ct. 21;, 1874, Eliza Fowler Root, 
born May 11, 1853, the daughter of Horatio and Abi- 
gail Whittier ( Hussey) Root, of Hartford, the latter 
a cousin of the poet John Greenleaf Whittier. Mr. 
Boardman was educated at Mr. Hart's preparatory 
school in Earmington, Mr. Hall's Classical School 
in Ellington, and the Hartford high school. He is 
a life member of the Connecticut Historical So- 
ciety, a member of the Sons of the American Revo- 
lution, and a member of The Connecticut Society of 
the ( )rder of the Founders and Patriots of America. 
He was formerly connected with the firm of Wm. 
Boardman & Sons Co., but has been obliged to give 
Up business on account of trouble with his eves. 
The children born to William G. Boardman and his 
wife are: Francis Whittier, born April 6, 1876, 
died April 5, 1885 ; Cedric Root, born Jan. 23, 1886, 
and Dorothy Root, born April 26, 1889. They reside 
in 1 1 art ford'. 

(YIII) Howard Francis Boardman, son of 
Thomas J. and Mary C. ( Ellis) Boardman, was born 
in Hartford, Conn., Sept. 22, 1862, married Jan. 12, 
1886, to Catherine Augusta Belcher, born June 16, 



1866, in New York City, daughter of Charles and 
Katherine (Slater) Belcher. Howard F. was grad- 
uated from the Hartford high school in 1880. He 
is secretary of The Wm. Boardman & Sons Co., and 
socially a member of the Connecticut Society of the 
Order of the Founders and Patriots of America. 
Mr. and Mrs. Boardman have had two children: 
Harold Ellis, born Nov. 16, 1890, died the same 
day; and Marie! Wildes, born May 31, [893. 

JAMES GOODWIN PATTERSON, M. A. 
Rugged and stable as the granites which first gace 
him fame, finished and polished as the marbles 
which added lustre to strength, complex and diverse 
as the industries which he promoted — James Good- 
win Patterson stands sans pareil in the great number 
of his personal and business qualities, negative to- 
each other, yet conspicuous in variety and mag- 
nitude. 

Porn in Wintonbury (now Bloomfield), Conn.,. 
near Hartford, Feb. 2^, 1823. his early boyhood was 
spent at New Preston, among the Litchfield Hills, 
whither his parents removed when he was an infant. 
In the pure bracing air of the country, an active 
outdoor life laid the foundations in youth of a 
strong, vigorous constitution which sixtv years oi 
strenuous business exertions have failed to shake. 
Here he received a common-school education, fol- 
lowed by a course in the Western Academy, where 
he was prepared for college. 

Finding it impossible, however, through lack of 
means, to canw out this cherished ambition, he re- 
solved to become self-supporting, and journeyed 
to Ithaca. X. Y. (a good share of the way on toot 1. 
where he signed for a three-years apprenticeship in 
the printing house of Mack, Andrus & Woodruff. 
The idea of a college course still remained, however, 
and his nights were spent in reading and study, so 
that he returned at the age of nineteen to Litchfield, 
where the family then resided, much broadened and 
strengthened in mind. 

Fortune cast his lot. for a time at least, as a 
stone-cutter in his father's marble yards. But the- 
active mind of the youth still clamored for knowl- 
edge, and Judge ( >rigen S. Seymour, a friend of 
the elder Patterson, becoming interested, took the 
boy into his law office. A happy year passed, and 
then the family circumstances demanded that the 
son again take up the mallet and chisel. 

Thwarted in his ambitions for a professional' 
career, the pluckv lad threw all his energies into 
the stone trade, determined to achieve more than a 
moderate success. And in this his plans did not 
miscarry, for five years saw the business so increased 
that removal to the larger field at Hartford was 
effected. The line of work also broadened, and to- 
monuments and substructures were added all kinds 
of cemeterv work, tombs, sarcophagi, etc., and the 
construction of the completed building. Among- the 
earlier work in Hartford may be mentioned the 
brownstone building: of the State Savings Bank 
on Pearl street, and the marble front home of the 



24 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Phoenix National Bank, on Main street. In 1857 
Mr. Batterson was awarded the contract for the 
Worth monument, in New York, which stands at 
the junction of Fifth avenue and Broadway. From 
this time on the husiness grew rapidly until 1875, 
when it was thought best to organize it into a stock 
company. 

Accordingly, under a special charter from the 
Legislature, The New England Granite Works was 
formed with a capital of $250,000. Quarries were 
procured under purchase or lease at Canaan, Conn., 
Westerly, R. I., and Concord, N. H., and the work 
continued to be proseculed with great vigor. New 
and modern apparatus was introduced, which the 
inventive genius of the man devised and improved 
until his equipments were far in advance of any 
other. He perfected a turning lathe for cutting 
and polishing stone columns, a process previously 
done bv hand with clumsy and inaccurate results. 
In this "field he had much to do besides his own work, 
and personally wrought and polished the granite 
columns in the Capitol at Albany. 

As a contractor and buildei in granite, Mr. Bat- 
terson established a name second to none in the 
country. Covering over half a century since the 
business was first established, there is scarcely a 
cemeterv of repute in the United States that has not 
its monuments, or a city of size that has not Bat- 
terson granite in some of its buildings. Represen- 
tative among the public monuments and statues 
are the National Soldiers' Monument at Gettysburg, 
the portrait statue of Alexander Hamilton in Cen- 
tral Park, New York, the monument to Brevet 
Brig. -Gen. Thayer, founder of the West Point Mil- 
itary Academy, at West Point, the monument at 
Antietam surmounted by a colossal granite statue of 
a soldier twenty-one feet in height, the great 
monument at Galveston, Texas, dedicated to the 
soldiers who fell in the Texas revolution, the monu- 
ment in Golden Gate Park. San Francisco, to 
Major-Gen. Henry W. Halleck, General-in-chief 
of all the armies of the United States 1863-64, and 
the Gen. Wool monument at Troy, N. Y., whose 
sixtv-foot shaft is in one piece weighing nearly 
one hundred tons. 

Among the more notable buildings which Mr. 
Batterson and his company have erected or fur- 
nished the granite used, are the Connecticut Mutual 
Life Insurance Co.'s building. Hartford, the Equit- 
able building (home of the Equitable Life Assur- 
ance Society), New York, the Masonic Temple, 
New York, the Mutual Life Insurance Co.'s build- 
ing, Philadelphia, the City Hall, Providence, and 
the thirty-storv Park Row building. New Y^ork. 

But the Congressional Library Building in 
Washington, that massive pile of pure gray Concord 
granite perfectlv matched and grained, the finest 
granite building in the world, will ever attest to 
Mr. Batterson's pre-eminence as the Man of 
Granites. Perhaps not less marvelous than the quar- 
rying of this immense quantity of stone of such even 
grain and coloring, was the mechanical accuracy 



with which the cutting and fitting was done before 
leaving the shops at Concord, so that not a shilling 
was charged in Washington for refitting at the site. 

Another building of more than National repute 
is the Connecticut State Capitol at Hartford, for 
which Mr. Batterson personally was the contractor. 
Prominently set upon a hill in the midst of Bush- 
nell Park, with its 500 trees of 150 distinct varie- 
ties and its rich and rare, shrubbery, this handsome 
building stands forth, its native white marble walls 
supporting from the center a perfectly proportioned 
golden dome, bearing aloft 250 feet from the ground 
a heroic bronze figure of the genius of Connecticut. 
With this rich setting, and great architectural beau- 
ty, it has been pronounced by competent critics as 
"unique among structures of this kind in America." 
And it has yet another claim to distinction in that 
it is the first building of the kind to be erected in 
the United States within the appropriation, for so 
thoroughly did contractor and commissioners work 
to their limit that $13,000 of the $2,000,000 appro- 
priated was returned unexpended. Mr. Batterson's 
contract covered the entire construction, even to the 
smallest details. 

Fifteen years of dealing with the harder exterior 
stones served to show the demand for the more 
ornamental and decorative marbles, and in i860 
Mr. Batterson established his steam marble works 
in New York City. Here in this new field he 
achieved immediate and increasing success, until 
to-day these works, under the name of Batterson 
& Eisele, are without question the largest and best- 
equipped in the country, furnishing employment 
for from 500 to 600 men. As examples of this 
firm's work may be mentioned among pub- 
lic buildings the marble interiors of the Equita- 
ble building, the Manhattan Bank building and 
the Mutual Life building in New York, the 
City Hall in Providence, R. I., and the Congres- 
sional Library Building in Washington, D. C. 
Among the many hotels, noted for their magnificent 
marble and ornamental stone interiors, which Mr. 
Batterson and his company have furnished, are the 
"Waldorf-Astoria"- and the "Imperial," New York 
City, while representative among the private dwell- 
ings of the "mansion" type are the Cornelius Van- 
derbilt residence, Fifth avenue. New York, "The 
Marble House" built for W. K. Vanderbilt, at New- 
port, R. I., and "Biltmore," at Asheville, N. C, for 
George Y T anderbilt. 

But as though laurel-crowned efforts in two 
great lines of industry were not enough, it remained 
for Mr. Batterson to originate and organize a new 
kind of business, in which he has achieved even 
greater success than in the other two ; for here he 
blazed a path where none had gone before, and set 
a pace which tired and made early rivals drop out of 
the race, and gave later competitors a hopeless task 
to overcome his lead. While traveling through Eng- 
land in 1863 Mr. Batterson's attention was attracted 
to the system of insurance by tickets against acci- 
dents occurring on railroads, then just coming into 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



25 



vogue there. Soon after his return he succeeded in 
persuading a few Hartford gentlemen of means to 
combine with him in the formation of an accident 
insurance company. A charter was secured from 
the Legislature, which was amended in [864 to in- 
clude all kinds of accident insurance, and the new 
company was launched on an unknown sea, with 
no compass to steer by, but with brains and energy 
at the helm. Two years saw the business increase, 
and in [866 a further grant was secured, permitting 
the transaction of a general life insurance business. 

The early years were beset with the fiercest 
kind of competition, accident companies springing 
up like mushrooms in the night, and in many cases 
having about the length of life of these fungi. Kail- 
roads ejected The Travelers to make way for their 
own companies, and then retired these in turn when 
they had met with sufficient reverses. Seventy ac- 
cident companies were horn within two years, none 
of which now survive. Finally, from this chaotic 
condition of things, was evolved The Railway Pas- 
sengers Assurance Co., being a consolidation of the 
ticket interests of all the larger accident companies 
then existing. After a few years of successful 
Struggle this was re-insured by The Travelers as- 
sole legatee, and is now represented in its Ticket 
1 )epartment. 

The first premium received by The Travelers 
was two cents, representing the charge for insur- 
ing a Hartford hanker on his journey home from 
the Post Office. A recent premium in the Life De- 
partment exceeded $50,000, and a still further ex- 
ample of the growth during these thirty-eight years 
is in the receipt of applications for $300,000 on a 
single life, where originally but $10,000 would he 
considered. But the career of The Travelers In- 
surance Co. is current* history, well known, and 
needs no exploiting. Under Mr. Batterson's guid- 
ance it has grown from nothing to a company with 
over $30,000,000 assets, and a surplus security to 
policy holders of $4,500,000. The capital stock has 
been increased from $250,000 to $1,000,000, and 
during these years over $42,000,000 has been re- 
turned to policy holders, doing an inestimable 
amount of good. The same energetic but conser- 
vative man is at the head now' as in the beginning, 
and. besides making it the largest accident insur- 
ance companv in the world, he has brought it to a 
high rank with the leaders in the life field. Justly 
termed the "Father of Accident Insurance in Amer- 
ica." Mr. Batterson mav also rightly claim the title 
of "Father of all Accident Insurance," for the Eng- 
lish idea was merelv the suggestion which started 
liim thinking, but the product of that thought in 
no way resembles the cause. For Yankee inge- 
nuity and persistence devised, enlarged and con- 
structed until Old England was forced to come to 
New England to learn about accident insurance. 

Having organized and developed three great 
•companies, of each of which he has been president 
since the beginning, and whose careers have been 
prosecuted side by side, simultaneously by this mas- 



ter mind until each has achieved an extraordinary 
degree of success, it would seem that this man of 
granites, of marbles, and of insurances were solely 
a man of business. But lo! we have also a man of 
science, of art, of literature, and of public works, 
for the main other sides are all fully developed in 
proportion. A student from boyhood, he has he- 
come a scholar among men, but is always the stud- 
ent, by which one recognizes the scholar. 

< Mn; year's stud) of law furnished the foundation 
on which he has builded all these years by reading 
and experience, until to-day he possesses a judicial 
mind of rare balance, and, although never admitted 
to practice at the bar, he knows the law thoroughly, 
and his opinion on all practical questions carries 
great weight. In no sense pugnacious, Mr. Patterson 
has the accurate and just powers of discrimination 
which enable him to fully determine the right or 
wrong of an issue at the start, and once convinced 
he has a tenacity of purpose, backed by the strength 
of unfaltering convictions, which often carry him 
to the Court of Last Resort before he obtains final 
justification or technical defeat. 

Another of his early studies which has been of 
great service is that of geology, which he took up 
when a mere lad at the instigation of Prof. J. G. 
Percival, the poet-geologist of Connecticut, for 
whom he acted as guide during a part of the first 
geological survey of the State. This subject, to- 
gether with mineralogy and engineering, as applied 
to bis own industries, has commanded a large share 
of his attention. On the know ledge gained thereby 
depends to a certain degree his success as a builder, 
for he knows not only how best to get the material 
into place, but also all the qualities and characteris- 
tics of the material itself, giving him an immense ad- 
vantage over the man bred as a builder solely from 
the mechanical standpoint. The winter of 1858-59 
Mr. Patterson spent in Egypt with Brunei, the well- 
known engineer. The geological study of the Xilc 
Valley, with particular attention to the unsolved 
problems in engineering for which Egypt is noted, 
became very interesting in such companv. In turn 
the pyramids, the great ruins at Thebes, Karnak and 
elsewhere, the tombs, catacombs, obelisks, etc., were 
all studied with profitable results. Aside from the 
impetus given the engineering instincts under such 
unusual conditions, Egypt herself became a sub- 
ject of engrossing interest to Mr. Batterson, which 
has increased as the years of study have deepened 
his knowledge, until to-day he stands among the 
foremost authorities on Egyptology, and is an Hon- 
orarv Secretary of the Egypt Exploration Fund. 

Returning to the south of Europe, a geolog- 
ical study of the Mediterranean basin added much 
practical information in this line of research, and 
subsequent study and investigation on his many 
travels at home and abroad have given him a thor- 
ough general and technical knowledge of the sub- 
ject that has been an undoubted factor in his success. 
At his home in Hartford is a collection of choice 
minerals, geological specimens and curios, gath- 



2G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ered in his peregrinations from Norway to the Nile, 
carefully classified ami arranged, to each of which 
is attached a concise and interesting story of its 
discovery and locus. The whole has a high value 
apart from its absorbing interest. From geology 
to astronomy is a natural step, and he has delved 
deep into the hidden mysteries of the latter and its 
kindred sciences. 

Art is another subject which has always appealed 
greatly to Air. Batterson's natural tastes, and has 
been fostered both by his interest as a student and 
as a patron. His first trip abroad was as the repre- 
sentative of certain philanthropically inclined men, 
for whom he gathered and brought home the works 
in various stages of completion of his promising 
young friend Bartholomew, the sculptor, who died 
at Rome. Having erected a monument over the 
grave of the deceased, near the historic tomb of Vir- 
gil, Mr. Batterson delayed his return several 
months that he might study the paintings, sculp- 
tures and language of Italy. As the direct result 
of this trip the masterpieces of Bartholomew (who 
in sculpture, with the late Frederic Church in 
painting, placed Hartford's name to the fore as a 
progenitor of art) are now among the treasured 
possessions of the Museum at Philadelphia, and the 
Wadsworth Atheneum at Hartford. But a result 
no less far-reaching in its influence was the foster- 
ing and training of the artistic temperament, in its 
early impressionable stage, of the agent who exe- 
cuted this commission, and the few bits in oil picked 
up on that occasion formed the nucleus of a collec- 
tion of rare paintings which now has a National 
reputation. In a large gallery connected with his 
residence, constructed from original design, with 
special attention to light and wall-surface, hang a 
\aluable collection of canvases covering a remark- 
able range of subjects and schools — including the 
Italian, Dutch, Flemish, Dusseldorf, French, English 
and Belgian. The Wadsworth Atheneum in Hart- 
ford has quite a number of paintings from Mr. Bat- 
terson's collection. Travel and study have added 
to his reputation as a connoisseur the discrimina- 
tion and artistic taste of the critic, and the value 
of his opinion on a canvas is unquestioned. 

But yet another accomplishment of this many- 
sided man is his marked ability as a linguist. Here 
we have two almost incompatible qualities, for we 
find, in the natural mathematician who laid the foun- 
dations and shaped the career of a great insurance 
company, a rare knowledge and command not only 
of his own language, but of the ancient classics and 
modern foreign tongues as well. This is a remark- 
able characteristic, for Greek verbs have not as a 
rule a fondness for the values of x and y in the same 
brain. A life-study of Greek and Latin has made 
him one of the devoted scholars of the day in these 
classics, and for twenty years a member of the 
Greek Club of New York. A natural philologist, 
his love for the comparative has developed in Mr. 
Batterson more than a superficial knowledge of the 
modern languages of Europe. 



Sociology and economics have also received a 
great deal of attention, particularly the relations of 
capital and labor. Many trips abroad and much 
travel at home have stimulated the study of general 
history, both in its local colorings and in relative 
effects. Modern English, French and American 
literature have been read and studied, and Mr. Bat- 
terson's library (one of the finest in the State) is 
especially rich in works of this class, as well as in 
the heavier tomes of text and reference. The whole 
atmosphere of library and den breathes the scholar 
and student of unusual range of thought. Nor have 
contemporaneous writings been neglected, so that 
he is fully informed on the issues of the day, and is 
in touch with its most advanced thought. 

With his brain a vast storehouse of knowledge, 
and an intellect flexible and adaptable, but with great 
powers of concentration and expression, it is little 
wonder that Mr. Batterson has earned fame as a 
writer, which would overshadow all his other 
achievements were he to devote himself to it. A 
lifetime of reading and study has prepared him to 
write exhaustively upon almost any subject. In 
style strong and vigorous, every sentence concise 
and carrying some new thought, expression direct 
and with but little of the qualifying, the tracings 
from this pen have an individual flavor character- 
istic of the man which greatly enhances their in- 
trinsic value. His many short contributions on the 
subject of capital and labor have always commanded 
attention, and the mastery in handling this complex 
question has won the respect of both sides by its 
fairness. Several brochures on taxation have served 
to set lawmakers to thinking, and in some cases 
have had a direct effect in the results. His transla- 
tions from the Iliad have special value in smoothness 
and beautv of expression,' while maintaining the 
heroic meter and literal meaning of the original. 
Monetary questions have been discussed from time 
tn time, and in 1896 Mr. Batterson wrote his book 
on "Gold and Silver," which was at once recognized 
by leading authorities as the best concise treatment 
of the subject ever written. The demand was im- 
mediate, and called for the printing of large edi- 
tions, which were used extensively in the sound 
money campaign of that election. The majority of 
Mr. Batterson's writings have appeared in his com- 
pany paper. The Travelers Record, whose files are 
rich in contributions on questions of the day and in- 
surance economics. A number of poems attest to 
his versatility as a writer, ranging from the deep- 
est scientific subjects, treated in heavy technical 
prose, to the light airy verse, evenly balanced and 
musical. Among the latter may be mentioned "The 
Death of the Bison." "The Trysting Place," and 
"Lauda Sion," translated from the Mediaeval Latin 
of St. Thomas Aquinas. 

But a work (now in press) which will live long 
to redound to the fame of its author is a poem in 
blank verse on the "Creation." Besides a remark- 
able display of knowledge in geology, astronomy. 
evolution, dynamics and the associated sciences, it 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



27 



contains germs of thought far in advance of the age. 
Expressed now with superlative force and virility, 
and again in the soft accents of simple description, 
the coloring of each passage varies that it may har- 
monize with its text. But the rhythmic swing of 
the verse is never lost to sight, and the whole is 
rounded and finished with a smoothness and polish 
that makes it of the highest order of literary merit. 
Add to this his masterly treatment of the subject 
and the poem will not only attract the litterateur, 
but the student in science and philosophy. J loth 
Yale and Williams have recognized Mr. Batterson's 
pre-eminence as a man of letters and conferred up >n 
him the honorary degree of M. A. 

In personal appearance Mr. Batterson is a man 
of large frame, strong, robust, naturally dignified 
and of commanding presence. With a wonderful 
constitution, a lifetime of unceasing labor, during 
which he has accomplished more than three average 
men, has left him at the age of seventy-eight still 
strong ai id active. Every week-day finds him be- 
fore his desk at The Travelers, directing the affairs 
of this immense corporation, and often entering 
into the minutest details. In character honest and 
just to the last degree, he asks nothing which is not 
rightfully his, and takes no advantage over the 
weaker because of his superior strength. It has 
been said that "the busiest man has the most leis- 
ure," and this is true of Mr. Batterson, for in spite 
of his great and varied interests he is one of the 
most accessible of men, alwavs finding time to listen 
to anyone whose business in any way warrants it. 
Possessing a strong personal magnetism and a gra- 
cious manner, he puts his interviewer completely at 
ease, seeming to know how to meet on equal foot- 
ing men of every station. 

( )ne great factor in his success has been the abil- 
ity to wholly concentrate his mind on the matter in 
hand, disposing of it quickly without loss of time 
in reviewing details already covered. This is only 
made possible by his remarkable memory, and ability 
to grasp whole ideas at once. But more than all 
else is his power to find recreation in reading and 
study, and after a particularly hard and trying day 
at the office he may be found in his den, "resting" 
until the small hours of the morning, with a volume 
of Homer or Horace, of Spenser or Haeckel, before 
him. With his omnivorous intellect and great as- 
similative qualities, sixty years of such evenings 
have given him his wonderful store of knowledge, 
always available on almost every subject. He is 
the true type of the self-made man who has taken 
pride and pains in that making-. 

In religion Mr. Batterson is a Baptist, and has 
always been a regular attendant and active sup- 
porter of his church. The Bible has been a study 
of great interest to him, and his philological ten- 
dencies have been of very material aid in following 
the higher criticisms. 

Politically Mr. Batterson is a Republican, having 
assisted in founding this great party. When the 
Civil war broke cut he withstood the temptation to 



take the field with the promise of rapid promotion 
held out to him, deciding to do his duty where 
it seemed to lie, in the direction of affairs at home. 
As a result to-day he wears no Grand Army button, 
bears not the title of colonel or general, but no man 
in battle ever did more for his country than this 
plain citizen of Connecticut. All through the war, 
as chairman of the State Central Committee of his 
party and chairman of the War Committee, he was 
indefatigable in his endeavors to further the public 
interests, managing events with a judgment and 
tact that dispelled jealousies and promoted har- 
mony. Although Connecticut sent nearly 55,000 
troops to war, or over 0,000 more than her quota, 
no less an authority than Appleton ( '66) says polit- 
ically she was regarded all through that crucial time 
in our history as a doubtful State. Those were 
days when Mr. Batterson was here, there, and every- 
where, organizing and directing, consulting with 
his leaders in the various districts, exhorting, en- 
couraging, and now and then answering calls to 
Washington for consultation with Xational heads, 
his advice being sought even by President Lincoln 
regarding matters connected with the administra- 
tion. 

By sheer hard work and personal influence, felt 
to the corners of the State, Mr. Batterson managed 
to poll 2,405 majority for Lincoln in 1864 out of a 
total vote exceeding 87. 000, one of the largest ever 
cast in its history. In [866, when the differences 
between President Johnson and Congress over the 
reconstruction of the South became the election 
issues with the two parties in Connecticut, and the 
eyes of the Nation were turned toward that little 
State, General llawley, the Federal candidate, was 
elected governor by only 541 majority. Although 
Buckingham was re-elected governor each year dur- 
ing the war. it was only with small majorities, and 
Republican Congressmen were returned by margins 
of a few hundred only. The moral effect of the elec- 
tion of an anti-administration government by loyal 
old Connecticut, one of the thirteen original States, 
can scarcely be imagined. A home of rebellion 
against the Xational Constitution, and of advocacy 
of State Rights in the very heart of the solid North, 
would have struck terror and discouragement into 
the sorely tried hearts at Washington, and given a 
new impetus to the efforts of the South. State 
sovereignty was the issu^ of the South: State 
Rights of the Democratic party of Connecticut. 

Mr. Batterson undoubtedly saved the State elec- 
tions through this trying time, for a man less strong 
than he in control of the Republican party would 
have ensured Democratic success. This mighty 
service was duly recognized abroad by the great Na- 
tional leaders. In many other ways he rendered un- 
told service from 1861 to 1865, assisting greatly in 
the enlistment, organization and mobilization of 
troops. In relief work, too, he devoted much time 
and money. 

Ever since its formation Mr. Batterson has been 
very active in working for the interests of his party. 



28 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



With a powerful voice, ready wit, and strong argu- 
mentative ability, he has exerted great power as a 
political speaker and debater. But with all his serv- 
ice he will accept no reward or political preferment, 
and the man who might have attained to the highest 
State and National honors is a simple citizen of his 
native city, viewing politics as a civic duty only. 
This fact has carried unusual influence with his 
part}- leaders. 

in the old town meetings of Hartford, now done 
away with, Mr. Batterson was a man of unusual 
influence, and the rooms used to be crowded when 
it was known that his views on a subject would 
probably call for a debate. With his splendid pres- 
ence, quick wit, at times keenly sarcastic, great argu- 
mentative powers, and the attribute of never recog- 
nizing defeat, he was more than a match for a score 
of worthy opponents, and the finest displays of for- 
ensic ability ever seen in the State took place when 
some of those long standing contentions were wres- 
tled with in the open arena of the old town meet- 
ing. As a lecturer, also, and presiding officer, Mr. 
Batterson has an enviable reputation, and has been 
in great demand. 

A long life with its varied interests has given 
him a wide and extensive acquaintance with men in 
public life, and has enabled him to know intimately 
and number among his friends those in its highest 
walks for more than half a century. From humble 
circumstances he has risen to be a man of large 
affairs and comfortable estate. 

Although in no sense a club man, the following 
are a few of his business and societv connections: 
President and director of The Travelers Insurance 
Co., The Xew England Granite Works. Batterson 
& Eisele. New York, director Hartford National 
Bank, Case, Lockwood & Brainard Co., vice-presi- 
dent Wadsworth Atheneum, trustee Brown Univer- 
sity, member Colonial Club, Connecticut Society 
Sons of the American Revolution, American Statis- 
tical Association, Society of Biblical Literature & 
Exegesis, Hartford Scientific Societv, Connecticut 
Horticultural Society, Xew England Societv of 
New York, American Association for the Ad- 
vancement of Science, Yale Alumni Association, 
Hartford Board of Trade, for thirty years Fellow 
American Society Civil Engineers, etc. 

In 1 85 1 Mr. Batterson married Eunice E. Good- 
win, and for forty-six years lived in the enjoyment 
of domestic happiness that comes to but few people. 
In 1897 Mrs. Batterson died, leaving, besides her 
husband, two children surviving — Mary E., wife of 
Charles Coffing Beach, M. D., of Hartford ; and 
James ( ',., Jr., who resides in New York, as manager 
of the business of The Travelers Insurance Co., 
in that city. — E. D. C, 1901. 

FRANCIS M. BUNCE, Rear Admiral U. S. 
Navy : a native of Hartford, Conn. ; was born 
Dec. 25, 1836; is a son of James M. and Frances 
A. ( I'.race) Bunce. Appointed Acting Midship- 
man, May 28, 1852; graduated Naval Academy and 



warranted Midshipman, June 10, 1857; "German- 
town," East India Squadron, 1857-60. Passed Mid- 
shipman, June 25, i860; "Brooklyn," Gulf Squad- 
ron, engaged in Chriqui Survey. Master, Oct. 24, 
i860; "Macedonian," Gulf Squadron, Jan. 7, 1862. 
Commissioned Lieutenant from April 11, 1861 ; Ex- 
ecutive-Officer of "Penobscot," 1862; in that vessel 
took part in engagement with Rebel batteries at 
Y^orktown, Va. ; was assigned to temporary duty 
with the army, and had charge of the disembarka- 
tion of the heavy artillery and mortars for use in 
the batteries at the investment of that place by Gen- 
eral McClellan, April, 1862; rejoined "Penobscot," 
blockading off Wilmington, N. C, and took part in 
several skirmishes with Fort Fisher and batteries 
about Fort Caswell ; commanded a successful boat 
expedition up Little river, between North and South 
Carolina, destroying several schooners and large 
quantities of cotton, turpentine and resin, together 
with extensive salt works ; on capture of "Robert 
Bruce" by "Penobscot," was placed in charge of 
her as Prize-Master, and brought her to New York, 
Nov. 1, 1862; detached from "Penobscot" and or- 
dered as Executive of "Pawnee." refitting at Phil- 
adelphia ; served in her in South Atlantic Blockad- 
ing Squadron Station, Stono River, S. C. Commis- 
sioned Lieutenant Commander, Jan. 16, 1863; dur- 
ing winter of 1863 sounded out and buoyed and re- 
moved obstructions from interior channels from 
Stono River, S. C, to Morris Island ; acting as aid 
to General Gilmore, had charge of the embarka- 
tion and transportation of Gen. George C. Strong's 
brigade, five regiments, through these channels to 
Morris Island, and commanded the naval part of 
tbis attack, July 10, 1863, resulting in the capture 
of Morris Island to Fort Wagner; conduct in this 
affair honorably mentioned, report of Commander 
G. B. Balch and letter of Admiral Dahlgren, to 
Navy Department ; detached from "Pawnee" and or- 
dered to monitor "Patapsco;" took part in that 
monitor in all the actions in which she was engaged 
during siege of Charleston : also in night boat at- 
tack on Fort Sumter, Commander T. H. Stevens ; 
received honorable mention for conduct in that of- 
ficer's report of same ; wounded by premature ex- 
plosion of a -cartridge, in action, November, 1863; 
detached from "Patapsco" and ordered to "Wabash" 
tor recovery; ordered to monitor "Kaatskill," tem- 
porary duty, Dec. 8, 1863; returned to "Wabash," 
Jan. 7, 1864; same month ordered to temporary 
command of "Weehawken ;" detached and returned 
to "Wabash," and ordered on staff of Admiral Dahl- 
gren, was given charge of the scouting and picket 
boats of the squadron before Charleston, until or- 
dered to command monitor "Lehigh," April 6, 1864; 
May 14, 1864, detached from South Atlantic Block- 
ading Sauadron, and ordered North ; monitor "Dic- 
tator," Commodore John Rodgers, Sept. 26, 1864; 
commanded monitor "Monadnock," Sept. 5, 1865: 
took this vessel from Philadelphia to San Fran- 
cisco, Cal., the first extended sea voyage ever made 
by a monitor; received for this service the thanks 





'*^&*- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



29 



of the Navy Department, upon recommendation of 
Commodore John Rodgers, and was recommended 
for reward to the President by the Secretary of the 
Navy; Boston Navy Yard, 1866-9; monitor "Dic- 
tator," April, 1869; detached Oct. 4, [869, having 
fitted her for sea service; commanded "Nantasket," 
Nov. 12, 1869, stationed at St. Domingo; detached 
Julv 20, 1870; special ordnance duty, ai Pittsburg, 
Pcnn., 1871. Commissioned Commander, from Nov. 
7, 1871 ; commanded "Ashuelot," Asiatic Station, 
1873 ; on duty, Navy Yard, Washington, June, 1875 ; 
detached, on Light-House duty, July to October, 
1875; returned to duty, Navy Yard, Washington; 
fiuring 1877 attended torpedo instruction at New- 
port, R. I.; Jan. 7, 1879, to July 29, 1881, com- 
manded "Marion," Home and South Atlantic Squad- 
ron ; commanded receiving-ship "Wabash," Navy 
Yard, Boston, 1882-5. Commissioned Captain, Jan. 
11, 1883 ; Senior Member of Board on Timber Pres- 
ervation for Naval Purposes ; commanded "Atlanta," 
June 1, 1886, to Dec. 1, 1889; command of Naval 
Station, New London, Feb. 12, 1890. Appointed 
bv the President as president of a commission to 
select a suitable site for a dry dock on the shores 
o f the Gulf of Mexico, or waters connected there- 
with, Nov. 22, 1890; commission reported and dis- 
solved, March 9, 1891 ; Senior Member of Board 
for Examination of Master Mechanics, Foremen, 
etc., of Navy Yards, April 17, 1891 ; this board 
later ordered to report on Navy Yard organization, 
the employment of labor, etc., dissolved Feb. 4, 1892 ; 
June 30, 1 89 1, ordered to command Naval Train- 
ing Station, and ship "Richmond," Newport, 
Rhode Island. 

On Aug. 20, 1894, he was relieved from the 
command of that station and the "Richmond," and 
ordered to the Navy Department at Washington as 
a member of the Board of Inspection and Survey. 
March 1, 1805, commissioned Commodore; March 
23, 1895, assigned to duty as president of the Naval 
Examining and Retiring Boards at the Navy De- 
partment, Washington. June 19, 1895, Commodore 
Bunce was assigned to the command of the Naval 
force on the North Atlantic Station, and ordered, 
June 27, to hoist the flag of Rear Admiral, and to 
affix that title to his official signature. The U. S. 
ship "New York" was designated as his flag-ship. 
He received, March 5, 1897, a letter from Secretary 
of the Navv, Herbert, on his retirement from of- 
fice, expressing" his official and personal satisfac- 
tion with the discharge of the duties assigned to the 
Admiral during his term of office. May I, 1897, 
he was relieved from the command of the North 
Atlantic Station and ordered to command the New 
York Navy Yard and Station. Aug. 17, 1897, or- 
dered senior member of a Board to report on the 
requirements of the country as to dry docks, and, 
on Feb. iq. 1898, was commissioned Rear Admiral. 
Dec. 25, t8o8. Admiral Bunce was transferred to 
the retired list of officers of the U. S. Navy in 
accordance with the provisions of Section T444. Re- 
vised Statute, he then being sixty-two years of age 



and the senior officer on the active list of the of- 
ficers of the Navy. He continued on duty at the 
New York Navy Yard until relieved Jan. 14, 1899, 
when he received from the Secretary of the Navy 
the following letter: 

Navy Department, January 12, 1899, 

My Dear Sir: 

As the time approaches for your retirement, I cannot 
let the occasion pass without expressing my appreciation, 
not only of the long, distinguished and useful sen i< e n ln< li 
you have rendered as an officer of the United Mates Navy, 
but also of the efficient manner in which you have dis- 
charged the duties of the very responsible post you have 
held as commandant of the Brooklyn Navy Yard during the 
existing demands of the recent war. I wish to say tins lor 
the Department and personally for myself, and, also, to wish 
you many happy years to come, feeling sure that if the call 
of your government should come at any time, your ripe 
experience would be at its service. 

\ ery truly yours. 

|ohn D. Long, 

Secretai y. 

On June 20, 1899, the senate and house of rep- 
resentatives, Connecticut, passed the following reso- 
lution, of which an engrossed copy was sent to the 
Admiral : 

"The country has been deeply indebted to Ad- 
miral Bunce for his long and successful service in 
the Navy during the late Civil war. He had as- 
tonished and delighted, not only the Naval author- 
ities of the world, but the world of science itself, 
by his courage and skill in successfully navigating 
the iron-clad monitor 'Monadnock' around Cape 
1 lorn. 

"At the outbreak of the recent hostilities with 
Spain he was placed in charge of the principal coast 
defenses of the country and of its largest maritime 
interest at its metropolis port. That duty he ful- 
filled with the wisdom and energy which have char- 
acterized all his previous history." 

On May 28, 1864, when a Lieutenant com- 
mander. Rear Admiral Bunce married Mary Eliza 
Bull, eldest daughter of John W. Bull, of Hartford, 
Connecticut. 

CHARLES H. BOLLES. The Bolles family, 
which is one of the oldest in the United States, 
originated in England, and was identified from an- 
cient times with Bolles Hall, Lincolnshire. 

Sir John Bolles and his son Sir Charles, of 
Bolles Hall, lived and died in London, England, 
and Joseph Bolles, a son of the latter, was born in 
1608, and came to America at an early date, set- 
tling before T640 in Maine. John Bolles, the great- 
great-grandfather of the well-known resident ^f 
Hartford whose name heads this sketch, was born 
in August, T677. He established Baptist Churches 
in Massachusetts and Connecticut, and carried on an 
earnest struggle of twenty years with the Connecti- 
cut General Assemhlv to obtain a charter for the 
church in that State. He endured great persecu- 
tion, hut his heroic efforts resulted in much good. 
Our subject has a book written by him in 1754, 
which shows his work, and sets forth his arguments 



30 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



against his opponents in a most able and scholarly 
style. It was addressed to the elders and members 
of the church in Connecticut, and to the General 
Court of that Colony, and was also presented to 
the General Court at Boston, May 29, 1754- 

Enoch Bolles, our subject's great-grandfather, 
died Dec. 3, 1800. 

Deacon John Bolles, the next in the line of de- 
scent, was born in New London, Conn., Feb. 3, 
1752, and lived in Hartford, in a house located where 
the Phelps building now stands. For many years 
he was successfully engaged in mercantile business 
in Hartford, and he was one of the founders of the 
First Baptist Church, in which he held the office of 
deacon. He died March 19, 1830, in Hartford. 
His first wife, Lydia Tabor, who died June 19, 
1816. was the mother of nine children, of whom our 
subject's father was the youngest. The second wife 
was Lydia A. Francis, a native of Newington, Conn. 
[See Dr. Trumbull's memoirs of the First Baptist 
Church of Hartford.] 

Edward Bolles, our subject's father, was born 
in Hartford in 1797, on North Main street, and 
became the leading wholesale dry-goods merchant 
of that city. At the time of his retirement, in 1867, 
he had been in business over fifty years, with Dea- 
con Albert Day as his partner. He was noted for 
his sound judgment, being one of the best buyers 
in New England, and by his sterling qualities of 
character and quiet, unassuming manners he won 
a host of friends. He contributed liberally to the 
support of the Baptist Church of Hartford, in which 
he also served for years as clerk, leader of the 
choir, and player on the bass violin. He died in 
June, 1882. In 1819 he was married, at Hartford,. 
to Abigail Rand, who died aged sixty-two years. 
She was born in South Deerfield, Mass., daughter 
of Aaron Rand, a farmer in the latter locality, who 
spent his last years in Hartford, engaged in the 
bakery business. Our subject was the youngest of 
nine children, all of whom lived to maturity : Ed- 
ward John, Eliza Jane, Abigail M.. Caroline L., 
George W., Lucius S., Lydia Ann, William C. (who 
makes his home in Hartford) and Charles H., all 
deceased except the two youngest. 

Charles H. Bolles was born Oct. 8, 1836, on 
Village street, Hartford, and now resides at No. 
471 Farmington avenue, Hartford. After receiv- 
ing a common-school education he learned the 
jeweler's trade, which he followed in Virginia pre- 
vious to the Civil war. He was regarded as an 
expert in his line, and continued in active business 
until his retirement, in 1882. In politics he is a 
Republican, and he belongs to the Baptist Church, 
for which his ancestors made so many sacrifices. 
In 1873 Mr. Bolles married Miss Harriet Knox, 
who was born in Farmington, Conn., daughter of 
Walter Knox, and granddaughter of Walter Knox, 
a native of Hawick, Roxburghshire, southern Scot- 
land, and a prominent citizen and wealthy land 
owner of that section, some of his estate having been 
a grant from the King. He passed his life in Scot- 



land, dying at the age of sixty years. Walter! 
Knox, Mrs. Bolles' father, came to this countrv in: 
1844, and is now living in the West, at the age of 1 
eighty-seven. He married Elizabeth Smith, a native 
of his own birthplace, who died aged sixty-one 
years. Mrs. Bolles' parents united with the Pres- \ 
byterian Church many years ago, and their children 
were brought up in that faith. They had nine chil- 
dren, of whom five are living: Jessie, Mrs. Mc- 
Clintock, of New Britain; Walter; Mrs. Bolles; 
Anna, wife of Dr. Stark, of Dakota; and Louise, 
Mrs. Hammersmith, of Milwaukee. 

Mr. and Mrs. Bolles have had four children, one 
of whom died in infancy ; Harry, a graduate of 
Williston Seminary, is now employed in Boston; 
Charles, who attended Lehigh University, is now 
connected with the Chandler Co., of Aver, Mass.; 
and Elsie is a student in the Hartford Public High 
School. 

THOMAS OSTROM ENDERS. In the busi- 
ness circles of Hartford no man stood higher than 
the late Thomas Ostrom Enders. 

Mr. Enders was born Sept. 21, 1832, in Glen, 
X. Y., a son of Jacob John and Relief (Ostrom) 
Enders, natives of New York State. His father 
was a prominent man, a merchant and farmer. 
Thomas O. was educated in Glen, and began work 
on the farm at an early age, continuing until sev- 
enteen, when he came to Connecticut and secured 
employment in a factory at Meriden. He also 
worked for a time as a dry-goods clerk in New 
Haven, and, being a man of naturally good business 
ability, he met with considerable success. He be- 
came interested in the insurance business through 
Curtis L. North, of Meriden, Conn., the first agent 
of the ^Etna Life, who employed him as a solicitor. 
Three vears later he removed to New York and en- 
tered the employ of the Avery Sewing Machine 
Co. While there he attracted the favorable atten- 
tion of the secretary of the yEtna Life, and on in- 
vitation he came to Hartford at the age of twenty- 
two, and accepted a clerkship in that office. Four 
years later (1858) he was elected secretary of the 
company, and served as such until 1872, when he 
became president. His industry, fidelity to duty, 
and remarkable aptitude for the insurance busi- 
ness, contributed largelv toward bringing about the 
great success of the companv. In building up its 
interests he sacrificed his health, and in 1879 he re- 
signed his position of president and rested for two 
years, although he continued as a director of the 
companv. He took the presidency of the United 
States Bank of Hartford (then called the United 
States Trust Co.) in 1881, at which time it was 
suffering from old losses, and the stock was quoted 
at eightv. He remained president until June 16, 
T891, when he declined re-election. Under the pres- 
idencv of Mr. Enders the bank advanced rapidly, 
and at the time of his resignation was in per- 
centage of surplus, value of shares, and ratio of 
deposits to capital, far in advance of the other banks 





-r^ 




<S^eycr^^^ ^^^^^raiJZ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



31 



of the city. Mr. Enders made his home in West 
Hartford, and as a Republican represented that 
town in the < leneral Assembly during the sessions of 
1889 and 1891, and served on the committees en 
Appropriations and Banks, respectively. Without 
the aid of influence or wealth he rose to a leading 
position among the most prominent hnsiness men of 
the county. In addition to his connection with the 
.Etna Life and the United States Bank he was a 
director in the y£tna Fire, Hartford Steam Boiler 
Inspection & [nsurance Co., Society for Savings, 
Dime Savings Bank, Charter Oak Bank, and various 
oilier financial institutions, lie died June 21, 1894, 
'honored and respected by all who knew him. He 
was a member of a lodge of the Masonic Fraternity, 
;i> Hartford. Mr. Enders was a man of wonderful 
husiness knowledge and a courteous gentleman, a 
representative financier. 

Mr. Enders was married Dee. 29, 1858, to Miss 
Harriet Adelaide Burnham, who was born March 
12, 1835, and is still living, and who is a lineal 
descendant of Thomas Burnham. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Enders were horn four children, of whom Harry 
and Harriet Burnham are deceased. The others 
are : 

(i) Thomas B. Enders, M. D.. horn Mav 14, 
[865, in Hartford, was graduated from the Hart- 
ford Public High School, and from Yale in the 
class of '88. IK- studied medicine in the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons, New York City, from 
which institution he was graduated in 1891. Fol- 
lowing this event he spent two wars in the Surgical 
Division of Bellevue Hospital. He then was en- 
gaged for one year in private practice in New York, 
after which (in 1894) he returned to Hartford. Dr. 
Enders is a member of the Society of the Alumni 
of Bellevue, and a fellow of the Mew York State 
Society: also a member of the Hartford City and 
( Viunty Medical Societies. Dr. Enders married 
Elizabeth T. Daly, of New York City. 

(2) John Ostrom Enders, horn Dec. 3, 1869. 
11 Hartford, was educated in the West Hartford 
schools and Phillips Exeter Academy. He has been 
connected with the United States Rank at Hartford 
since 1888, of which he is now one of the directors. 
lie is also a director of the .Etna Life Insurance 
Co. In 1899 Mr. Enders served as a representative 
from West Hartford in the General Assembly. In 
1895 nc married Harriet Whitmore, and they have 
two children, John Franklin and Harriet Burnham. 

LEONARD DANIELS, who was a prominent 
figure in the citv of Hartford for nearly seventy 
years, was born March t, 1803, in Medway, Mass., 
and died in Hartford Jan. 18. 1892. In build he 
was short, strong and solid, and he descended from 
old American stock that originated in England. No 
incidents marked his boyhood save those of his 
school days, the raising of crops every summer on 
his father's farm, and for a few seasons the sale 
of produce in the winter time in Boston, during 
all of which time he learned what the grammar 



schools had to teach him, became a strong, vigorous 
young man, and gained some acquaintance with the 
principles of mercantile pursuits. At the age .of 
twenty-three he removed to Hartford, Conn., arriv- 
ing Nov. 16, 1826, and there found employment 
for a time in the sawmill of Ward & Bartholomew, 
on Sheldon street. When a little later he entered 
the service of Humphrey & Nichols, in their grist- 
mill on the north side of Little river, on Wells 
street, he found the calling which pleased him, and 
thereafter he devoted his life to it. 

About 1830 Mr. Daniels bought a small flour- 
mill, formerly owned by Hurt & Stanley. Mr. 
Stanley having given his property to the South 
Church, Mr. Daniels brought a lawsuit to compel 
the trustees to sell the property, and, winning the 
ease, bought the mill, and went into business on 
ins own account. This was the only lawsuit in 
which he was ever engaged. In 1853 he built a 
new mill on the south side of Little river, just 
above the stone bridge, and began business there in 
1855. One secret of his great success was his 
promptitude in all business transactions. Another 
was his clear and sound mind, careful reflection, 
and close and careful personal attention to every 
detail. As years rolled on, a growing business com- 
pelled him repeatedly to enlarge the brick building, 
Known as Daniels' Mill, and the surplus means 
which its operation brought him gradually grew into 
a large fortune. After Ins death the husiness was 
left to his nephew, Leonard C. Daniels, and grand- 
son, Leonard D. Fisk. 

Mr. Daniels was a man of very strong individu- 
ality. His face expressed energy and determina- 
tion. The vigorous health which originated in a 
wholesome boyhood never left him, and was pre- 
served not only by active labor in his business, but 
by pedestrianism. of which he was fond. He had 
never been ill except when attacked with measles, 
at the age of thirty-seven, and, like most men so 
favored, abhorred the notion of taking medicine. 
His eyesight became impaire 1, however, in his later 
years, and he was blind for the last eight years 
of his life. Three operations were performed, but 
they did not restore his sight. A remarkable trait 
was his conciseness of speech. He was not a 
misanthrope, and certainly not an ignorant man, 
nor was he averse to pleasant conversation with 
intimate friends, but he had the reticence char- 
acteristic of Gen. Grant, and, with the energy and 
a little of the impatience of a born business man. 
loved to dispose of an argument, a proposition or a 
question, in a terse expression, limited sometimes 
to two or three words. His honesty was proverbial. 
Even during the period when Connecticut was over- 
whelmingly Republican, Mr. Daniels adhered in- 
flexibly to his own principles, and was known as 
an uncompromising Democrat of the old Jeffersonian 
stamp, and not by any means a passive upholder 
of his party either, because he voted at every election. 

Mr. Daniels was thrice married, and one daugh- 
ter, the wife of Augustus L. Ellis, survived him. 



32 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



The business founded by the late Mr. Daniels 
has been continued under the name of the Daniels 
Mill Co. by the grandson, Leonard D. Fisk, and the 
nephew, Leonard C. Daniels, previously mentioned. 
The business, in the nature of thing's, has changed 
considerably in that time, but has continued to keep 
pace with the growth of Hartford, and in addition 
to this a large wholesale trade has been established, 
extending over New England. 

GUY ROWLAND PHELPS (deceased), for 
many years, a physician and druggist of Simsbury 
and Hartford, was a man of varied attainments, 
and prominently identified with insurance interests. 
Prior to the reign of Edward XI the Phelps family 
patronymic was spelled Phellyppes. The Doctor be- 
longed' to the Guelph family, tracing his ancestry 
to George I, of England. He was a descendant 
in the seventh generation of William Phelps, who 
was born at Tewkesbury, England, in 1599, emi- 
grated to America about 1630, first making his 
home at Dorchester, Mass., and became one of the 
first settlers of Windsor, Conn., iin 1635. From 
him the chain of descent is as follows : Joseph, 
born in England, died at Simsbury in 1684; Joseph 
12), born Aug. 2J, 1667; David, a lieutenant in 
the militia, born May 7, 1710: Major-Gen. Noah 
Phelps, born Jan. 22, 1740; and Col. Noah A., the 
father of Guy Rowland, born May 3. i7*>2. 

William Phelps was a member of the first 
General Court held in Connecticut in 1636, and a 
magistrate from 1638 to 1642, a deputy from 1645 
to 1649, and again in 165 1 and 1657. Joseph 
Phelps (1) was one of the early settlers of Sims- 
bury in 1653. and the progenitor of a large fam- 
ily. He himself was a man of great personal 
courage, of strong military instincts, and dis- 
tinguished himself in the numerous conflicts be- 
tween the settlers and the Indians, who were at 
that time numerous, and whose depredations were 
a constant source of terror to the whites. His de- 
scendants include many men prominent in the his- 
tory of Simsbury and the State, both during and 
since Colonial davs. Not a few were active par- 
ticipants in the French and Indian war and in the 
struggle for American independence. Gen. Noah 
Phelps, grandfather of Guy Rowland, was one of 
that devoted band of patriot volunteers which, self- 
constituted as it was, followed Ethan Allen, of 
deathless fame, in his assault on Fort Ticonderoga, 
and it was Gen. (then Capt.) Phelps who obtained 
entry to the fort in disguise, and ascertained the 
condition and strength of the fortifications and gar- 
rison. He reported the conditions to Ethan Allen, 
and the same nigrht the fort was captured. 

Dr. Guv R. Phelps was born at Simsburv April 
t, 1802. His mother's maiden name was Charlotte 
Wilcox. His early schooling was received at Sims- 
burv and Suffield, and he graduated from Yale in 
T825. He was a close student, an apt and facile 
learner, and qualified himself for the profession of 
teacher while yet a mere youth, and in fact suc- 



cessfully managed an exceedingly disorderly school, 
where other — and more experienced — pedagogues 
had failed. For several winters he taught with 
marked success, devoting his summers to the study 
of medicine, for which profession he felt a strong 
vocation early in youth. His first medical preceptor 
was J Jr. Coggswell, a noted and successful practi- 
tioner of those days, who in accordance with the 
custom of his times gave instruction to three or 
four embryo phvsicians. Going to New York, 
young Phelps pursued his studies under the tutelage 
of those eminent physicians and surgeons, Dr. Alex- 
ander and Dr. Yalentine Mott. 

After being licensed , to practice Dr. Phelps" 
opened an office in New York City, where he met 
with most gratifying success for three years. How- 
ever, his health became impaired, and he felt that 
change of scene and fresh country air were neces- 
sary to restore his physical condition to its wonted 
strength. He therefore returned to Simsbury, where 
he entered upon the tiresome but active round of 
duties incident to a country practice. After four 
years of this life he felt well enough to resume city 
practice, and accordingly returned to New York. 
Once more he found the metropolis a field of suc- 
cess, and it was with, poignant regret that he realized 
that an extensive city practice (during the epidemic 
he was at one time treating forty cases of small- 
pox ) might prove the means of shortening his life. 
Again he returned to Simsbury, but the long rides 
and uncertain hours of the country practitioner were 
not to his liking, and in April, 1837, he opened a 
drug store on North Main street, Hartford. As a 
druggist Dr. Phelps ranked among the first, while 
his financial success exceeded his expectations, and 
lie was recognized as the leading pharmacist of his 
day and section. It was he wdio devised the formula 
for the "Phelps Tomata Pill." a preparation which 
had a wonderful sale in its day, and which, to- 
gether with the profits arising from his drug busi- 
ness, laid the foundation of his fortune. He always 
retained his membership in the County and State 
Medical Societies, with both of which he had for 
many rears been actively and prominently identified. 

Perhaps, however. Dr. Phelps' most enduring 
claim to fame rests upon his connection with the 
insurance business, to which the latter years of 
his life were devoted almost exclusively. His at- 
tention was first directed to the subject of life in- 
surance in 1846, when he took out a policy upon 
his own life. In the United States the field was a 
terra incognita, and the scheme was regarded with 
disfavor, if not with positive distrust. Dr. Phelps 
was quick to perceive the possibilities of the situa- 
tion, and his keen, well-trained mind was of a cast 
especially well qualified to grapple with the intricate 
and pernlexing problems which nresented them- 
selves. Evidently the first task to be accomplished 
was the education of tlie American people as to the 
theory of life insurance and the fundamental prin- 
ciples upon which it is based. At that time the 
business was conducted generally in an expensive 





^ 



&~*^U*-f 



S?. /°^ue^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



83 



manner, while the spirit of speculation was rife 
among" managements which knew comparatively 
nothing of the practical value of risks. His ideas 
were so far in advance of his time that, while some 
pitied what they termed his "folly," others doubted 
whether his mental balance was in correct equipoise. 
Yet what were then called his "fanciful" and "ab- 
surd" theories are to day recognized (with neces- 
sary modifications) as among the underlying prin- 
ciples of every sound and well managed company. 
The great work of the Doctor's life was the or- 
ganizing, establishing and nurturing of the Connec- 
ticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., and it was he who 
conceived the plan under which the great success 
of this company was achieved. In 1846 the company 
was organized, the Doctor becoming the first sec- 
retary, and while that great corporation was strug- 
gling in the swaddling bands of infancy he even 
swept out his own office to save expense. He had 
carefully studied the matter in all its phases, and 
not long afterward made a special trip to Europe 
to investigate the workings of the < >ld World com- 
panies, on his return to America incorporating with 
his own plans all the features of value he had found. 
He wrote the charter of the company, which was 
adopted practically word for word as composed by 
him, and fought for two sessions in the Legislature 
to have it granted. As the company was a "mutual" 
one it was necessary to obtain a guaranty fund of 
$50,000 — to guarantee the payment of policies dur- 
ing the infancy of the company — a task of far 
greater magnitude, but at length ten of his friends 
in Hartford, Simsbury and New York came to his 
relief by signing notes aggregating that amount, 
Thomas K. Brace, three of Dr. Phelps' brothers, 
two of his cousins and an uncle being of the number. 
Dr. Phelps was ever a tireless worker for the suc- 
cess of the concern, and the "Insurance Monitor" 
of September, 1868, said: "It is not too much to 
say, for it is a well-known and conceded fact that 
the Connecticut Mutual owes its eminent success 
and prosperity, in a very large measure to the skill 
and labor of Dr. Phelps, its principal manager from 
its organization to the present time." He regulated 
and managed its affairs in a most able manner, serv- 
ing as secretary for a time, and later, for a number 
of years, as president. Though not the originator 
of the "mutual" system used in insurance he did 
more than any other man to "elucidate and pop- 
ularize" it. Just before his death he told his daugh- 
ter that the company was on such stable footing 
that without any management it would continue to 
run for twenty-five years. After his demise the 
Life Underwriters of Hartford passed resolutions 
of sympathy and regret, etc., and among other 
things said : "In the death of Dr. Guv R. Phelps 
the Life Underwriters of the United States have 
met with an irreparable loss." The "Insurance 
Times" of March, 1869, said of him: "A great 
and good man has left us forever- A practical 
laborious and eminent philanthropist, who not only 



loved his fellow men, but spent the energies of his 
life, the gifts of his intellect and the goodness of 
his heart in their behalf, is gone to his haven of 
eternal peace and reward. His comfort giving and 
abundant works remain, and the spirit with which 
he espoused and promoted a sacred cause, and built 
up a great benevolent institution, having inspired 
many others with its kindling sympathy, will be 
perpetuated and multiply on the earth for ages 
to come." 

On April 17, 1833, at Simsbury, Dr. Phelps was 
married to Miss Hannah Latimer, who was born in 
that town June 23, 1801, daughter of Waite and 
Hannah (Pettibone) Latimer. Their marriage was 
blessed with four children: Antoinette Randolph 
Maria Augusta, Guy Carelton and Guyana Row- 
land, the first named being the only one that at- 
tained maturity. Miss Antoinette R. Phelps is a 
resident of Hartford, her home being at No. J2 
Washington street, in that city. She enjoys the dual 
distinction of being a member of two of the most 
honored orders in America, the Daughters of the 
American Revolution and the Colonial Dames. 

Dr. Phelps was both a Freemason and an Odd 
Fellow, and was held in high regard by all who 
knew him, receiving the highest esteem from those 
who knew him best. As a physician he was care- 
ful, reflective and conscientious, as a citizen pa- 
triotic, as a husband imd father gentle, loving and 
true, as a man honest and fearless- He died March 
18, 1869, after a short attack of typhoid pneumonia. 
Until within a few days of his passing away his 
activity was unimpaired, but a cold contracted 
through sitting near an open window at a directors' 
meeting proved the indirect cause of his demise. 
His wife survived until May 28, 1873, when she, 
too, fell asleep. Both rest in the cemetery at Sims- 
bury, where also sleep five generations of both 
families. 

The Doctor was a reflective reader and a pro- 
found student, particularly fond of the study of 
history and the languages, in both of which he 
v, as proficient. He was a man fully abreast of the 
times, thoroughly posted on the current events of 
the day, and well-informed on general subjects. 
Until 1856 he was a Democrat, but after that date 
voted with the Republican party, though it was his 
wont to say that he had "never left his party, its 
name simply changed." His fellow citizens showed 
their appreciation of his worth by early choosing 
him a member of the city council, and later elect- 
ing him an alderman, as well as by sending him to 
represent them in the Legislature. For years he 
attended Dr. Horace Bushnell's Church, and was a 
liberal contributor to its support and to the prosecu- 
tion of its work; he became a member during his 
later years. Dr- Phelps was too old to enlist for 
service in the Rebellion, but was much interested 
in the cause of liberty, and he volunteered to double 
the pay of a man who would go to the front as he 
had no son to send. His grandfather served in 



34 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



the Revolution, his father in the war of 1812, and 
he desired to have representation; accordingly he 
sent Charles Tennant, who soon became second lieu- 
tenant, was wounded at Antietam, recovered, was 
promoted to captain, and was afterward killed. Dr. 
Phelps ever after took a deep interest in his family. 

MAJOR-GENERAL JOSEPH ROSWELL 
HAWLEY, LL. D., lawyer, editor, citizen-soldier 
and statesman, of Hartford, belongs to that galaxy 
of great men of New England, the mere mention 
of whose names has thrilled the country. 

Senator Hawley, though a native of the South, 
born Oct- 31, 1826, at Stewartsville, N. C, is a 
product of New England, and in paternal lines is 
from early Connecticut ancestry. He is of English- 
Scotch lineage, and on his father's side is a de- 
scendant in the eighth generation from Joseph Haw- 
ley, who came from Parwick, Derbyshire, England, 
landing near Boston, Mass., in 1629, and became 
a planter or settler at Stratford, Conn., in about 
1640. From this Stratford settler Senator Haw- 
ley's line is through Samuel, Capt. Joseph, Eben- 
ezer, Ebenezer (2), Asa and Rev. Francis. The 
last named, the Senator's father, was a native of 
Farmington, Conn., where his ancestors, Capt. Jo- 
seph Hawley, had settled about 1700, and earlv in 
life went South and engaged in business, but after- 
ward entered the ministry of the Baptist Church. 
He married Mary McLeod, a native of North Caro- 
lina, of Scotch parentage, and the family, in 1837, 
removed to Connecticut, where the father was an 
anti-slavery man. 

Joseph R. Hawley prepared for college at the 
Hartford Grammar School and the seminary at 
Cazenovia, N- Y., • whither the family removed 
about 1842. He was graduated at Hamilton Col- 
lege in 1847, with a high reputation as a speaker 
and debater. He taught school in the winters, 
studied law at Cazenovia and Hartford, and be- 
gan practice in 1850. He immediately became 
chairman of the Free-Soil State Committee, wrote 
for the Free-Soil press, and spoke in every can- 
vass. He stoutly opposed the Know-Nothings, 
and devoted his energies to the union of all op- 
ponents of slavery. The first meeting for the or- 
ganization of the Republican party in Connecticut 
was held in his office, at his call, Feb. 4. T856. 
Among those present were the late Hon. Gideon 
Welles and Hon. John M. Niles. Mr- Hawley gave 
three months to speaking in the Fremont canvass, 
in 1856. In February, 1857, he abandoned law prac- 
tice, and became editor of the Hartford Evening 
Press, the new distinctively Republican paper. His 
partner was William Faxon, afterward assistant 
secretarv of the United States Navy. 

On the outbreak of the Civil war, Mr- Hawley 
responded to the first call for troops in 1861 by 
drawing up a form of enlistment, and, assisted by 
Albert W. Drake, afterward colonel of the 10th 
Conn. Vol. Inf., raising Rifle Company A, 1st Conn- 



Vol. Inf., which was organized and accepted in 
twenty-four hours, Mr. Hawley having personally 
engaged rifles at Sharp's factory. He was mus- 
tered in April 22, as captain, and is said to have 
been the first volunteer in the State. Capt. Hawley 
received special praise for good conduct at the bat- 
tle of Bull Run, from Gen. Erastus D. Keyes, 
brigade commander. Under his muster out of the 
three-months' service, Capt. Hawley directly unit- 
ed with Col. Alfred H. Terry in raising the 7th 
Conn. Vol. Inf., a three-years' regiment, of which 
he was mustered in as lieutenant-colonel Sept. 17, 
1861. The regiment went South in the Port Royal 
expedition, and on the capture of the forts was 
the first sent ashore as a garrison. The Seventh 
was engaged for four months in the siege of Fort 
Pulaski, and upon the surrender was selected as 
the garrison. On Jan. 20, 1862, Lieut.-Col. Haw- 
ley succeeded Col. Terry, and commanded the regi- 
ment in the battles of James Island and Pocotaligo, 
also in Brannan's expedition to Florida. He went 
with his regiment to Florida, in January, 1863, and 
commanded the post of Fernandina, whence in 
April he undertook an unsuccessful expedition 
against Charleston. Col. Hawley also commanded a 
brigade on Morris's Island in the siege of Charleston 
and the capture of Fort Wagner. In February. 1864, 
he had a brigade under Gen. Truman Seymour in the 
battle of Olustee, Fla., where the whole national 
force lost 38 per cent. His regiment was one of the 
few that was armed with the Spencer breech-load- 
ing rifle. This weapon, which he procured in the 
autumn of 1863, proved very effective in the hands 
of his men. He went to Virginia in April, 1864, 
having a brigade in Terry's Division, 10th Corps, 
Army of the James, and was in the battles of 
Drury's Bluff, Deep Run and Derbytown Road, and 
in various affairs near Bermuda Hundred and Deep 
Bottom- Col. Hawley commanded a division in 
the fight on New Market Road, and engaged in the 
siege of Petersburg. In September, 1864, Col. 
Hawley was made a brigadier-generil United 
States Volunteers, having been repeatedly recom- 
mended bv his immediate superiors. In November, 
1864, Gen. Hawley commanded a picked brigade 
sent to New York City to keep the peace during 
the week of the Presidential election. He succeed- 
ed to Gen. Terry's division when Terry was sent 
to Fort Fisher in January, 1865, afterward re- 
joining him as chief of staff, 10th Corps, and, on 
the capture of Wilmington, was detached by Gen. 
Schofield to establish a base of supplies there for 
Sherman's army, and command southeastern North 
Carolina. In June, he rejoined Gen. Terry as chief 
of staff for the department of Virginia. In Oc- 
tober, he went home, was breveted major-general 
Sept. 28, 1865, and was mustered out of the service 
Jan. 15, 1866. 

The following April (1866) Gen. Hawley was 
elected Governor of Connecticut, but he was de- 
feated in 1867, and then, having united the Press 




JOSEPH R. HAWLEY 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



35 



more vigorously than ever entered the political 
■contests following the war. Gen. Hawley was al- 
ways in demand as a speaker throughout the coun- 
try. He was president of the National Republi- 
can Convention in 1868, secretary of the committee 
on Resolutions in 1872, and chairman of that com- 
mittee in 1876. He earnestly opposed paper money 
theories. In November, 1872, he was elected to 
fill a vacancy in Congress caused by the death of 
Julius L. Strong. Gen. Hawley was re-elected to 
the XLlIId Congress, defeated for the XLIVth and 
XLVth, and re-elected to the XLVIth (1879-81). 
He was elected United States Senator in January, 
1 88 1, by the unanimous vote of his party, and re- 
elected in like manner in January, 1887, for the term 
ending March 4, 1893. He was re-elected in Jan- 
uary, 1893, and again in January, 1899. 

In the House, Gen. Hawley served on the com- 
mittees on Claims, Banking and Currency, Military 
Affairs and Appropriations ;and in the Senate on the 
committees on Coast Defenses, Railroads, Printing, 
and Military Affairs. He was also chairman of a 
select committee on Warships, and submitted a long 
and valuable report, the result of careful investiga- 
tion into steel production and heavy gunmaking in 
England and the United States. He was chair- 
man of the committee on Civil Service, and vigor- 
ously promoted the enactment of civil service reform 
legislation. 

In the National Republican Convention of 1884 
the Connecticut delegation unanimously voted for 
Senator Hawley for President in every ballot. 

Senator Hawley was president of the United 
States Centennial Commission from its organiza- 
tion in 1872 until the close of its labors in 1877, 
eave two years exclusivelv to the work, was ex- 
officio member of its committees, and appointed all 
save the executive. 

Senator Hawley received, in 1875. the degree 
cf LL. D. from Hamilton, and from Yale in 1886. 
Of the former institution he is a trustee. Religious- 
ly he is a Congregationalist. Gen. Hawley is an 
ardent Republican, one of the most acceptable ex- 
temporaneous orators in the Republic, a believer 
in universal suffrage, the American people and the 
'American way," would adjust the tariff so as to 
benefit native industries, urges the reconstruction 
of our naval and coast defenses, demands a free 
ballot and a fair count everywhere, opposes the 
tendency to federal centralization, and is a strict 
constructionist of the constitution in favor of the 
rights and dignity of the individual States. Sen- 
ator Hawley is known the country over as a type 
of the highest, noblest class of American states- 
men. 

On December 25, 1855, Gen. Hawley was mar- 
ried to Harriet Ward Foote, of Guilford, who died 
March 3, 1886. Mrs. Hawley's services at the 
front during the Civil war in alleviating the dis- 
tresses of the war have made her name sacred to 
thousands of soldiers. ' [Compiled in part from Ap- 
pleton's "Encyclopaedia of American Biography."] 



GEORGE S. HULL, M. D., of Bristol, was 
born in Burlington, Hartford Co., Conn., March 
31, 1847, an d 1S a son °f Sylvanus anil Florilla 
(Clark ) 1 lull, parents of three children : Dr. George 
S. ; Burton C, born Feb. 22, 1854; and Rowland T., 
born in May, 1863. 

Sylvanus Hull, the father of the Doctor, was 
born in North Haven in June, 1820, was of English 
descent, and a farmer by vocation ; he first married 
Evaline Pond, by whome he became the father of 
a daughter Evaline, who married Isaac B. Hart- 
well, and had four children, Samuel, Susan, Everett 
and Grace. The father of Sylvanus, Elisaph Hull, 
was born in North Haven in 1783, was also a farmer, 
died in 1873, an d his remains lie interred in Burling- 
ton. The maternal grandfather of the Doctor was 
Wooster Clark, who was born in Burlington, June 
26, 1797, married Maria Sparks, and died Aug. 21, 
1884, the father of the following named children, 
Neanvin, Florilla, Jane and Sybil. 

George S. Hull's early education was secured 
in the common schools of his native town, and this 
was supplemented by a two-years' course in the 
State Normal at New Britain, and by, a preparatory 
course of study at the Connecticut Literary Insti- 
tute at Suffield ; he next entered Yale Medical 
School, where he passed one year, and then attended 
one course of lectures at the College of Physicians 
and Surgeons, at New York, after which he entered 
the Homeopathic Medical College of the same city, 
from which he was graduated in the spring of 1872, 
and immediately afterward (in March) located in 
Ilristol, where he has built up a good practice. 

On the creation of the office of medical examiner 
for Bristol, Dr. Hull was appointed to that posi- 
tion, and still retains it. In 1887 he was elected 
surgeon of the First Regiment, Connecticut Uni- 
form Rank, Knights of Pythias, and held the office 
until 1890, when he was appointed to the same po- 
sition in the Second Regiment, and a few weeks 
later received the appointment of assistant surgeon- 
general on Brig. Gen. E. F. Durand's staff. Dr. 
Hull is a member of the Alumni Medical Association 
of the New York Homeopathic Medical College, and 
of the Connecticut Homeopathic Medical Society. 
He is an enthusiastic believer in the principles of 
fraternal organizations. In the spring of 1872 he 
was made a member of Franklin Lodge, F. & A. M., 
at Bristol, and early the next year became a member 
of the Pequabuck Chapter, No. 32, R. A. M. He 
then joined, in order, the Doric Council of New 
Britain, the Washington Commanderyof the Knights 
Templar of Hartford, the Pyramid Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine, of Bridgeport, is a charter member 
of the Mystic Shrine, Sphinx Temple, of Hartford, 
and in 1889 became a thirty-second degree Scottish 
Rite Mason of the Sovereign Consistory of Nor- 
wich. Dr. Hull is likewise a member of the Knights 
of Pythias. He was a charter member and the first 
past chancellor of Ethan Lodge, No. 9, K. of P., of 
Bristol, and was the organizer of Hull Company, 



36 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



No. 5, of the uniform rank of the same city, which 
was so named in his honor. In 1888 he was ap- 
pointed grand master at arms at the grand lodge ses- 
sion held at Derby (or Ansoma) ; in 1889 he was 
elected grand prelate; in 1890, grand vice-chancel- 
lor at the session held at Torrington; and in 1891, 
grand chancellor at the session held at Wallingford. 
In 1895 he was sent as supreme representative to 
the supreme lodge session held at Cleveland, and was 
also representative at the supreme lodge session held 
at Indianapolis in 1897, and at both places was ap- 
pointed a member of the Rathbone monumental 
fund committee, organized for the purpose of erect- 
ing a monument at Utica, N. Y., and is still a mem- 
ber. The Doctor is likewise an Odd Fellow in 
good standing, being a member of Stephen Terry 
Lodge, No. 59, of Bristol, and a charter member 
of E. L. Dunbar Encampment, at Bristol. 

Dr. Hull has been a devout member of the Bap- 
tist Church for thirty years, and for the past ten 
years has been one of the trustees. In politics he 
is a Republican, for a number of years has held the 
office of manager of the' town deposit fund, and 
for eight years has been a member of the school 
committee from District No. 3. He is extensively 
interested in several of the industrial pursuits of 
Bristol, being president of the Codling Manufactur- 
ing Co., which was incorporated in 1893 ; also presi- 
dent of the Turner Heating Co., manufacturers of 
hot air heaters and stoves, and incorporated in 1890, 
with a capital stock of $50,000, and he is a direc- 
tor in the Bristol Water Co., having held that office 
since its organization. Besides the above he is a 
director of the Dowd Printing Co., of Winsted, 
Connecticut. 

The first marriage of Dr. Hull took place April 
2, 1867, when Miss Sarah Alice Curtiss became his 
wife. She was born in October, 1846, and died in 
October, 1884; his second marriage, which occurred 
June 3, 1886, was to Miss Hattie Antoinette Fenn, 
who was born Sept. 22, 1857, in Plymouth, a daugh- 
ter of Lucius A. Fenn, and to this union has been 
born one son, George W. Hull. 

COL. HENRY KENNEDY (deceased) was 
one of Hartford's best known business men, and in 
his life and character he well represented the sturdy 
pioneer stock from which he came. He was born at 
Burnside, East Hartford, April 5, 1819. He was 
the son of Samuel Kennedy, and "grandson of John 
Kennedy. Samuel Kennedy was nine years of age 
when his father settled in Burnside, and lived to the 
advanced age of eighty-two years, and became one 
of the wealthy land owners of East Hartford, and a 
prominent citizen. In every generation the family 
have been noted for the possession of sterling qual- 
ities of character. 

Col. Kennedy's education was begun in the 
schools of East Hartford, and among his school- 
mates was the late Gov. R. D. Hubbard. Col. Ken- 
nedv left home at the age of fourteen, and much 
against the wish of his father, as the Colonel ex- 



pressed it in later years, he carried but a dollar in 
his pocket and his father's disapproval. He went 
to Hartford and apprenticed himself to Smith & 
Bourn, at such meager wages that he could not 
properly clothe himself, and in order to avoid the 
jeering of the boys of his acquaintance he would 
wait until they had returned to their work, and then 
run as fast as he could to the shop. Such experi- 
ences early taught him the worth of money, and he 
became a shrewd and careful financier, as was evi- 
denced in later years by his successful investment of 
moneys, both as related to his personal interests and 
those of others. To illustrate his integrity, when 
a very young man the late Gov. Hubbard urged upon 
him the loan of a thousand dollars with which to start 
in business, the Colonel having no security to offer. 
He served as a supernumerary on the police force,, 
and about i860 was appointed jailer under Sheriff 
Russell, at the old jail at the junction of Pearl and 
Jewell streets, where the Y. M. C. A. building now 
stands. In 1865 he was appointed steward of the 
American Asylum, which position he held for six- 
teen years, filling it with marked ability. While at 
the American Asylum he was appointed conservator 
of the late Leonard Church. After the death of Mr. 
Church he was appointed administrator of his estate, 
much to the satisfaction of Mrs. Church, and at her 
death he benefitted largely from her estate, reward- 
ing his efforts in the handling of the Church proper- 
ties, which were largely increased under his manage- 
ment. Through the efforts of Col. Kennedy, Mrs. 
Church was induced to present the organ to the 
First Church of Christ in Hartford, which remains a 
memorial to herself and her husband. His early 
experiences at Smith & Bourn's brought him in con- 
tact with horsemen and their interests, and having: 
an inborn liking for horseflesh he early became 
identified with trotting interests, which was con- 
tinued through his life, and was himself an owner of 
good horseflesh. He was prominently identified with 
Charter Oak Park and its trotting interests, and a 
familiar figure at its race meetings for many years. 
At the time of the sale of Charter Oak Park it was 
purchased by the Colonel, and some time later passed 
into the hands of prominent turfmen, thus securing 
its continuance as a race course. When the Gentle- 
men's Driving Club was formed in 1888 Col. Ken- 
nedy was elected the first president of the organi- 
zation. In politics Col. Kennedy was a stanch Re- 
publican. He united with the Putnam Phalanx in 
1859. In 1869 he was chosen major, and served as 
such until 1873. He was again elected maior in 
1874, holding the position until 1876. Under his 
command the Phalanx made a trip to Montreal, 
Canada, in September, 1871. While in that city he 
was presented with a very fine sword by his Pha- 
lanx friends, as a token of the esteem in which he 
was held. This sword was always highly cherished 
by him, and is now in the possession of Mrs. Pitkin. 
Although the Colonel disliked notoriety and 
lived a quiet life, he was a man who loved his 
friends and made them know it. He was interested 





>** 



i? 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



37 



in religious work, having been one of the organizers 
of tlie old Fourth Church, to which he gave liberally. 
For some years previous to his death he and his 
family attended Christ Church. After leaving the 
American Asylum he lived for a time on Winthrop 
■street, later removing to the Leonard Church home- 
stead, corner of Asylum avenue and Garden street, 
which came into his possession after the death of 
Airs. Church, and where he died March 15, 1899. 
( hi Keb. 21, 1844, Col. Kennedy married Sarah 
Jane White, who died Feb. 10, 1875, and on Dec. 
3, 1887, he married Rebecca A. Cady, who died Dec. 
1, 1898. Col. Kennedy is survived by a brother, 
John Kennedy, and a sister, Mrs. Esther Abbey, 
.and an adopted daughter, Mrs. Nellie W. Pitkin, 
wife of William T. Pitkin, of Hartford, Connecticut. 

SAMCEL M. BRONSON, director and general 
.manager of the National Machine Co., Nos. 111- 
133 Sheldon street, Hartford, was born April 1, 
1832, in Waterbury, Conn., where his family has 
long been prominent. His great-grandfather lo- 
cated there in pioneer times, and became the owner 
■of a large tract of land. 

Amasa Bronson, grandfather of our subject, was 
horn in Waterbury in 1778, and died in 1880, at 
the age of one hundred and two years, never hav- 
ing had a week's sickness. At the time of his death 
lie was the oldest man in the State. He was a farmer, 
and owned considerable real estate in Waterbury, 
-comprising a part of the business portion of the 
town, and a part of what is now the "Green." Dur- 
ing the Revolutionary war he enlisted in the army, 
hut peace was declared before he had an oppor- 
tunity for active service. He and his wife, Sarah, 
who lived to the age of ninety- four, were members 
of the Episcopal Church, and very regular attend- 
ants. They had a large family of children, all now 
deceased. 

Julius G. Bronson, our subject's father, was 
"horn and reared in Waterbury, and engaged in 
butchering and farming upon a part of the old 
homestead. In public affairs he was prominent, 
holding various offices. His death occurred at the 
age of fifty-seven. He married Julia Newton, who 
was horn in Waterbury, and died in 1843, aged 
thirty-three years. She was one of five children of 
James Newton, who died at the age of forty-three, 
and his wife, who died aged ninety-two years. Our 
subject was one of a family of four children, of 
whom only two are living. His younger brother, 
Charles H., has always resided in Waterbury, and 
; is now assistant superintendent of the Waterbury 
Hospital. 

Samuel M. Bronson spent much of his early life 
in Waterbury, receiving a common-school educa- 
tion, and at thirteen entered a store as clerk. Soon 
afterward he went to Waterville to learn the cut- 
ler's trade, and for four years was engaged in the 
manufacture of shears and pocket knives. He then 
went to Hotchkissville, having a contract in the 



manufacture of shears, and later he became super- 
intendent of the plant, remaining in all four years. 
( hie year he spent in Waterbury, practically out of 
business on account of poor health, and he then 
took charge of a mill at Oakville, where he also 
served as postmaster for three years. On resigning 
he entered the employ of the Adams Express Co., 
making his headquarters in Waterbury, but act- 
ing as their traveling representative, and taking 
the place of different agents. Later he removed to 
Mew York, and for some time had the express run 
from New York to Boston, afterward acting in this 
capacity upon different routes, and finally removed 
his headquarters to Hartford, from which point 
he took charge of the inward freight and money 
department. In 1869 he entered the retail market 
and grocery business, and three years later began 
the wholesale trade on State street, which he con- 
tinued up to 1894, being at that time among the 
oldest and best known wholesale merchants in the 
city. In 1891 he was one of the organizers of the 
National Machine Co., together with Charles E. 
Hillings, Silas Chapman, and others. He was elect- 
ed treasurer in 1893, and secretary in 1894, and 
held both offices until 1897, when lie resigned as 
secretary, and was made treasurer and general man- 
ager, which position he still holds. This concern 
started with only six workmen, and has increased to 
sixty. They are the sole manufacturers of a special 
machine or printing press for printing in colors, 
which is used by the best-known periodicals, such as 
the "Youth's Companion," "Harper's Weekly," and 
others of this character. They also ship these ma- 
chines to the most remote parts of the world, not 
only throughout Continental Europe, but to Aus- 
tralia, Cuba and even southern Africa. They 
made a large exhibit at the World's Fair in Paris 
in 1900, and received the grand prize, notice of 
which read as follows: 

Tin National .'\f<t</rine Co., Hartford. Conn., U. *. A. 

The official Journal of the Republic of France an- 
nounces that you have been awarded a Grand Prix in the 
United States Department of Liberal Arts and Chemical 
Industries. 

A. S. Capehart, 

Director. 
Participant in Modern Commercial Composing Room, 
Exhibitors of the Gaily Universal Presses. 

In the Columbian Exposition, in 1893, they occupied 
a large space, and took all the medals awarded to 
machines of this character for superiority of work. 
[n their own plant they use all labor-saving ma- 
chinery from the latest inventors. 

Mr. Bronson was one of the organizers of the 
Hartford Merchants Exchange, with which he was 
connected until he left the wholesale business, serv- 
ing five years as president. He is a director in the 
State Savings Bank, and was for some time a di- 
rector in the Fowler & Miller Co., while he has 
also dealt extensively in real estate for many years. 
He was one of the charter members of the Hart- 



38 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ford Board of Trade, in which he was a director 
for many years. 

Mr. Bronson is a Democrat in politics, and 
served as a member of the common council in 
1874-75, alderman in 1892-93, and commissioner 
of fisheries in Connecticut for three years. The 
following shows his activity in Masonic life: He 
was raised in Federal Lodge, No. 17, Watertown, 
Conn., February, 1857; affiliated with Pacific Lodge, 
No. 2.11, New York, 1861 ; affiliated with St. John's 
Lodge, Hartford, 1866; received chapter degrees 
in Pythagoras Chapter, Hartford, 1868; received 
Cryptic degrees in Wolcott Council, No. 1, Hart- 
ford, 1868; knighted in Washington Commandery, 
No. 1, Hartford, April 13, 1869, and elected com- 
mander in 1880; elected grand commander of Con- 
necticut in March, 1897; is Past T. P. G. M., Char- 
ter Oak Lodge of Perfection ; Past M. E. S., Prince 
G. M., Hartford Council, Princes of Jerusalem; 
Past M. W. and P. M. of Cyrus Goodale Chapter, 
Rose Croix ; member of the Connecticut Sovereign 
Consistory ; member of the Royal Order of Scot- 
land ; crowned an honorary member Supreme Coun- 
cil, in 1884; member of the Veteran Association 
of Connecticut. He has held various offices in the 
different bodies of the York Rite, and is grand 
chancellor in the council of Deliberation, A. & A. 
S. Rite, of Connecticut. During his Masonic career, 
while in the Council, Cryptic Masonry, he was treas- 
urer for a number of years, and also treasurer of 
Pythagoras Chapter, and held the offices in both 
these bodies. Pie was one of the organizers of all 
Scottish Rite Bodies in Hartford, and has held 
nearly all the offices in these, and in a number of 
instances served several terms. For eight years 
past he has been president of the Masonic Mutual 
Benefit Association of Connecticut. He was one 
of the first in organization of the Masonic Hall 
Association in 1872, and was secretary and treas- 
urer of this body until 1897. Of the four Masons 
in this city to receive the 33d degree he was second, 
having it conferred upon him in 1884; the remain- 
ing three are Charles E. Billings, Silas Chapman 
and John G. Root, of this county, sketches of 
whom appear elsewhere. 

In 1853 Mr. Bronson married Miss Harriet A. 
Burnham, a native of South Windsor, and daughter 
of Lucius A. Burnham, a farmer, who became one 
of the pioneers of Wisconsin, going there at a time 
when he had to make the journey with horses. For 
seventy-four miles west of Chicago towards his 
destination there was not a single house, and he was 
offered land within the limits of the present busi- 
ness portion of Chicago for $6 per acre. He fol- 
lowed farming successfully in Wisconsin for twenty- 
three years, but later returned to Hartford, where 
he died aged seventy-four years. His wife, Pamelia 
(Goodrich), who died aged sixty-nine, was a native 
of Waterbury, Vt., and they had five children, three 
of whom are living : John W., of Portland, Oregon ; 
Edward L., of East Hartford ; and Julia A., Mrs. 



Bacon, who resides in Wisconsin. Airs. Bronsor* 
died June 15, 1893, aged sixty-two years. Sev- 
eral years ago Mr. and Mrs. Bronson became inter- 
ested in two little girls, Flora E. and Ada E. Burt, 
sisters, whom they took into their home and edu- 
cated. Flora graduated from Madame Draper's 
famous French Seminary in Hartford, and later 
married Thomas R. Morrow, a native of Hart- 
ford, but now one of the leading lawyers of Kan- 
sas City ; he has recently gained a celebrated case 
in the United States Supreme Court, at Washing- 
ton, D. C. Ada graduated from the Hartford Pub- 
lic High School, and taught in Hartford for seven, 
years, but since the death of Mrs. Bronson has had 
charge of the Bronson home. 

PERKINS. The Perkins family of Hartford, 
of which the eminent lawyers, Enoch Perkins and 
his son, the late Thomas Clay Perkins, were honored 
and distinguished members, and of which the lat- 
ter's son and grandson, Charles E., and Arthur, re- 
spectively, are prominent in the profession, is one of 
the oldest families in New England. Charles E. 
Perkins is in the seventh generation from John 
Perkins, Sr., the American ancestor, the line of his- 
descent being through Sergt. Jacob, Joseph, Mathew, 
Enoch and Thomas Clap. 

(I) John Perkins, Sr., as he is called in the 
records, the immigrant ancestor of many of the 
family in this country, according to family tradi- 
tion was born in Newent, Gloucestershire, England, 
in 1590. He was among the earliest emigrants 
from the mother country, sailing from Bristol, Eng- 
land, Dec. 1, 1630, in the ship "Lyon," bound for 
Boston in America, taking with him his wife and 
five children. The ship anchored before Boston 
Feb. 6, 163 1. The children of John Perkins and 
wife Judith were: John, Thomas, Elizabeth, Mary, 
Jacob and Lydia. He resided in Boston two years, 
and became one of the leading men of. Ipswich, 
Mass. ; was several times deputy to the General 
Court; and held other offices of trust. He died 
in 1654, aged sixty- four years. 

(II) Sergt. Jacob Perkins, son of John, Sr., was 
born in England in 1624. He was first married about 
1647, ms wife's name being Elizabeth. She died 
in 1665, and later he married Widow Damaris Rob- 
inson, of Boston. He died in 1699-1700, and his 
widow in 17 16. Like the general fanner he lived 
a quiet, uneventful life. His children by Elizabeth 
were : Elizabeth, John, Judith, Mary, Jacob, Mathew, 
Hannah, Joseph and Jabez. 

(III) Joseph Perkins, son of Sergt. Jacob, bom 
June 21, 1664, in Ipswich, Mass., removed in early 
life to Norwich, Conn., and married there, in 1700, 
Martha, daughter of Joseph and Dorothy Morgan. 
She was of Preston, Conn., born in 1680, and died 
in 1754. He died in 1726. In connection with his- 
brother Jabez he purchased a large tract of land — 
800 or 1,200 acres — in that part of the town of Nor- 
wich afterward the town of Lisbon, and it was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



3D 



known as "Perkins' Crotch." Joseph Perkins was 
an influential man in both town and church. His 
children were : Elizabeth, Mary, Joseph, Martha, 
John, Jerusha, Mathew, Deborah and Ann. 

(IV) Mathew Perkins, son of Joseph, was born 
Aug - . 31, 1713, in Norwich, Conn., and died in 
1773. In 1739 he married Hannah, daughter of 
Samuel and Sarah (Fobes) Bishop. She was 
born in 1724, and died at Lisbon, Conn., in 
1809. He owned a farm of 1,000 acres in Hanover 
Society, north part of Lisbon. His children were : 
Joshua, Hannah, Mathew, Ephraim, Jerusha, Na- 
than, Susanna, Sarah, Mathew (2), Enoch, Fre- 
derick and Samuel. 

(V) Enoch Perkins, son of Mathew, was born 
Aug. 16, 1760, and in 1787 was married to Anna 
Pitkin, born in 1764, daughter of Timothy and Tem- 
perance (Clap J Pitkin, of Farmington, Conn. 
Enoch Perkins was graduated from Yale College in 
1781, and studied law with William Channing, of 
Newport, R. I. He was a tutor in Yale College for 
two and one-half years, after which, in 1786, he 
established himself in his profession at Hartford, 
where he remained in the active discharge of his 
duties to the end of his life. As a lawyer he was 
distinguished for a thorough acquaintance with the 
duties of his profession, and he was, to no common 
degree, skilled in the forms of legal process, and his 
services were often called into requisition ; his 
clients are said never to have suffered by his negli- 
gence. As a member of the civic society he was 
ever ready to bear his part of public business; and 
when appointed to civil offices he executed the duties 
thereof promptly and efficiently, and his services 
met with the approbation of the wise and good. In 
1809 he was appointed attorney for the State of Con- 
necticut in the county of Hartford, in which office 
he discharged the duties of public prosecutor with 
a characteristic regard for moral principle. He 
was chosen a member of the board of trustees of 
the Missionary Society of Connecticut in 1808, and 
was also trustee of the Hartford grammar school. 
Mr. Perkins was much esteemed and resorted to as 
an adviser in cases of difficulty, and for this office 
he was well qualified. He looked coolly into the 
intricacies of a subject, and it was rarely that he 
did not penetrate it to the bottom ; his unbending 
integrity and honesty of purpose gave to his advice' 
its peculiar value. His life was one of uncommon 
evenness. 

While a tutor in Yale College Mr. Perkins made 
a public profession of religion, and through his 
whole life he was thoroughly and sincerely a Chris- 
tian ; his religious feeling sprang from clear views 
of truth. He observed the Sabbath with great 
strictness, for lie loved its holy hours and sacred 
duties. He died Aug. 28, 1828. His children were 
Anna, Charlotte, Henrietta, Emilia, Thomas Clap, 
Henry A. and George W. 

(VI) Thomas Clap Perkins, son of Enoch, and 
the father of Charles E. Perkins, of Hartford, was 



born July 30, 1798, in Hartford, Conn. On Nov. 
7, 1827, he married Mary Foot Beecher, daughter of 
Rev. Lyman Beecher, D. D. Thomas C. Perkins 
was graduated from Yale in 181 8, taking the salu- 
tatory, and studied law with Hon. Seth P. Staples, 
of New Haven. He was admitted to the Hartford 
Bar, and soon rose to an influential position among 
associates whose ability and success rendered it no 
easy matter for a new and young lawyer to achieve 
distinction. For a time he was secretary of the 
Protection Fire Insurance Co. He filled several 
town offices, and was a number of times a member 
of the State Senate and 1 louse. Elected later in 
life to the Bench of the Supreme Court, he declined 
that honor, preferring the business of his profes- 
sion. He was very learned in the law, had an in- 
tellect of great exactness and clearness, a sound and 
instructed judgment, and wonderful tenacity of 
purpose. He excelled both in the preparation of a 
case and in its conduct, convincing court and jury 
not so much by eloquence of words as by perspicuity 
of statement and entire candor of manner. "Thor- 
oughly learned in the law, he was untiring in his 
work. Gifted with an extraordinarily retentive 
memory, and an equally surprising quickness of 
perception, he made the most of his facts and au- 
thorities: and could inprovise his points, as trial 
progressed, without previous knowledge of prep- 
aration of the case. lie had not the winning and 
persuasive way with a jury that marked Mr. Chap- 
man, who was frequently associated with him; he 
was better before the Court than before the jury. 
He digested everything he read, and his application 
of a rule was remarkable. He used his precedents 
and authorities in such a way as to make them 
'tell' on the case without lumbering or overloading 
it. In a consultation his judgment was as valuable 
as that of the ablest of his associates. As a lawyer, 
in the stricter sense of the word, he was one of the 
best of the Hartford liar. During the latter half 
of his professional career his practice was very large 
and lucrative." 

In his private life Mr. Perkins was accustomed 
to lay aside his severe habits of business, and give 
himself to the genial pleasure of social intercourse. 
He was a man of much wit and humor, and greatly 
engaged them in others, drawing always for the 
entertainment of his friends upon a large store 
of anecdotes and a wide range of reading. He was 
a man wdio concealed his charities and avoided a 
display of sympathy, but a tale of distress never 
failed to move him, and he gave liberally where his 
gifts were known only to himself and the receivers. 
He looked habitually on the bright side of life, and 
never liked to talk of that which was unpleasant 
or disagreeable. No man was truer or deeper in 
his attachments, though he sought society in a 
limited circle of friends. He was a Christian gen- 
tleman, of the old school of courtesy and kindness. 
He died, after a short and painful sickness, Oct. 
11, 1870. 



40 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



"The death of Mr. Perkins deprived the Hart- 
ford Bar of one of the last of the old fraternity of 
distinguished lawyers whose names, during the 
thirty or forty years prior to his death, had given it 
honorable distinction. Within eighteen months 
from that time the deaths of Toucey, Chapman 
and Perkins had occurred. Hungerford and Waldo 
alone remained of the older members, and the latter 
practiced chiefly at the Bar of another county. Ells- 
worth, 1 'arsons and other distinguished lights of 
the Hartford Bar had died during the few preceding 
years. Hungerford, at that time the oldest sur- 
viving associate of the old members of the Hart- 
ford Bar, and in some respects the most remarka- 
ble lawyer whom Connecticut or New England has 
ever produced, survived our subject at eighty or 
upwards, and had then of late years entirely with- 
drawn from active practice. One, who would have 
won a deservedly wide fame at the Bar, died in his 
fresh prime ; and the Bar of Hartford county, as 
well as the community, lost a valuable member in 
the death of the late Lucius F. Robinson. Mr. 
Perkins' death, like the loss of Mr. Chapman, was 
particularly felt." 

The quotations preceding are from the Hart- 
ford press at the time of the death of Mr. Perkins, 
and those following are from the resolutions of 
speakers at the Hartford Bar meeting held at that 
time : 

"As a genial lawyer, conducting causes from 
their earliest consultation, through their prepara- 
tions in his office and conflicts at the Bar, to the final 
engrossment after the last decree of the last tribunal, 
he was systematic, patient, vigorous and powerful. 
He was an associate most valuable, an antagonist 
most powerful. 

"His well-disciplined intellect, his retentive mem- 
ory, his unequalled self control, and his many years 
of industrious application to all branches of profes- 
sional practice, rendered him a bright ornament to 
that Bar which not even the offered highest judi- 
ciary honors of our Commonwealth could induce 
him to forsake, and in whose advance he died, with 
courage unabated and pulse unwearied." 

"The death of Mr. Perkins was not merely the 
loss of a great lawyer and of a Christian gentleman, 
but it would be peculiarly felt by the Hartford 
County Bar. • For the last few years he had been 
regarded as the leader of this Bar. Taking a prom- 
inent part in almost all the important trials, he was 
always cautious, always honorable, always fair. 
The influence of his example had had much to do 
in giving to our Bar its enviable reputation of being 
one of tiie most honorable and courteous in New 
England. The younger members, with his daily 
example before them, were led to know that trick- 
ery, dishonesty and sharp practice have no place 
in the qualifications of a great and successful 
lawyer. Mr. Hyde felt sure he expressed the feel- 
ings of the younger brethren present when he de- 
clared that to the Hartford County Bar his loss was 
irreparable." 



Mr. Perkins' children were: (i) Frederick B., 
Perkins, born Sept. 27, 1828, in Hartford, Conn., 
married May 21, 1857, Mary Westcott, of Provi- 
dence, R. L, and a daughter of Henry and Clarissa 
(Perkins) Westcott. Their children were: Thomas 
H. (deceased), Thomas A., Charlotte A., and Julia 
De \\. (deceased). 

(2) Emily B. Perkins, born Nov. 23, 1829, in 
Hartford, Conn., married Oct. 13, 1852, Rev. Ed- 
ward Everett Hale, D. D., of Boston, Mass., son 
of Hon. Nathan Hale. Their children were : Al- 
exander, (deceased) ; Ellen D., born Feb. 11, 1855 
Arthur, born Aug. 12, 1859; Charles A. (deceased) 
Kdward E., born Feb. 18, 1863; Philip, born May 
2t, 1865; Herbert, born July 22, 1866; Henry K., 
born June 6, 1868 (deceased) ; and Robert, born 
Sept. 5, 1870 (deceased). 

(3) Charles E. Perkins, born March 23, 1832, 
in Hartford, married, Aug. 29, 1855, Lucy M. 
Adams, of Boston. He graduated from Williams 
College, Massachusetts, in 1853, then studied law 
with his father in Hartford, and was admitted to the 
Bar in 1855. He has resided in Hartford ever since 
as a partner with his father while he lived, and after 
his death alone until 1892, when his son Arthur was 
admitted to a partnership. Mr. and Mrs. Perkins 
have had children as follows : Mary R., born July 22, 
1857, married in 1887 Rev. Sidney D. Hooker, of 
Dillon, Mont. ; Emily H., born Jan. 23, 1861, married 
in 1888 Howard H. Knapp, of Bridgeport: Arthur, 
born May 16, 1864, graduated at Yale College in 
1887. was admitted to the Bar in 1889, and since 
1892 has practiced law with his father under the 
firm name of Perkins & Perkins (he married Miss 
Amy Dennison, of Philadelphia, and has one daugh- 
ter, Helen Perkins) ; Lucy A. was born Oct. 2^, 
1865 ; and Thomas C. was born May 16, 1873. 

(4) Catherine B. Perkins, born May 3, 1836. 
married in 1859 William C. Oilman, of New York. 
She died Nov. 15, 1879. Their children were: 
Theodora (deceased) ; Bessie (deceased) ; Hough- 
ton, born Aug. 8, 1867; and Francis, born Dec. 15, 
1870. 



ALBERT P. PITKIN (deceased), for many 
years a leading business man of Hartford, was a rep- 
resentative of one of the oldest families, tracing his 
descent from William Pitkin, a pioneer of East 
Hartford. 

The name has long been identified with a high 
order of citizenship, and among other members of 
the family who have attained distinction are Will- 
iam and Ozias Pitkin, sons of the pioneer, who 
were among the most noted lawyers and politicians 
of their time : William Pitkin, governor of the colony 
from 1766 to 1769; Col. John Pitkin, brother of the 
governor, who was lieutenant-colonel in 1755 and 
colonel in 1756, and led his command against Crown 
Point in 1755 in the expedition under Gen. Lyman: 
and Col. William Pitkin, son of the governor, who 
was in 1758 appointed major of the Connecticut 
forces raised for the expedition against Canada, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



41 



served through the campaign', under Gen. Aber- 
crombie, and acquired the reputation of a faithful 
:uul gallant officer; during the greater part of the 
Revolutionary war he was a member of the Council 
of Safety. 

William Pitkin, the pioneer, was born in 1633, at - 
Marylebone, near London, England, and came to 
Hartford in 1659. A year later he began teaching 
school, being thereto encouraged by votes and grants 
of money by the town. 1 le was appointed attorney 
for the colony in 1664. lie bought land on the east 
side of the river, and was one of the most prominent 
planters. He bequeathed in his will nearly 800 
.acres of land, after having given his two older sons 
a portion of it. William Pitkin filled many public 
offices with ability, and was conspicuous and influ- 
ential in the affairs of the colony. He annually 
represented Hartford in the Colonial Assembly for 
a period of fifteen years, from 1675 to 1690. His 
sister Martha married Simon Wolcott, and was an- 
cestress of five governors, lie married Hannah 
< ioodwin, only daughter of lion. Uzias and Mary 
(Woodward) Goodwin, the progenitors of the 
Goodwin family in Connecticut. Mr. Goodwin was 
born in England in 1590, and came to America with 
Rev. Thomas Hooker. 

Roger Pitkin, the next in the line of descent, 
.married Hannah Stanley. Jonathan Pitkin married 
Rebecca Smith. Jonathan Pitkin {2) married Lucy 
Steele. Ezekiel Pitkin married Euphemia Chap- 
man. Dennison Pitkin, our subject's father, married 
Phoebe Dunham Turner. 

Albert P. Pitkin was born Feb. 2~j, 1829, at East 
Hartford, on the original homestead purchased from 
the Indians in 1684 by William Pitkin, the pioneer. 
When a young man he went to Hartford and entered 
the employ of Gilbert & Cowles, tinners and furnace 
makers, of whom he learned his trade. He was 
afterward employed by the Culvers of New York, 
the leading furnace manufacturers of the country at 
that time. Returning to Hartford in 1849, ne went 
into partnership with D. L. Bidwell, under the firm 
name of Bidwell, Pitkin & Co. In 1858 he formed 
another co-partnership, with his brother Norman 
T., for the manufacture of steam goods, etc. At 
this date the heating of buildings by steam was but 
little known. This was the only concern of the 
kind, of any considerable note, between Boston and 
New York, and Mr. Pitkin was one of the leading 
steam engineers in New England. Not long after- 
ward the firm of Pitkin Brothers & Co. was formed, 
consisting of A. P. Pitkin (senior member), N. T. 
Pitkin and Charles A. Pitkin, and George C. Root. 
Mr. Root shortly afterward withdrew from the 
firm and removed to Detroit, where he died ; C. A. 
Pitkin also severed his connection with the firm, be- 
cause of failing health, and is now in Arroyo 
Grande, Cal. A. P. Pitkin was the directing spirit 
in this firm, whose work stands as high as any of its 
kind throughout the country. He was for more 
than forty years a director of the Farmers & Me- 
chanics Bank, having been first appointed to the 



position by the State. From 1866 to 187 1 he was 
a member of the board of water commissioners, and 
was instrumental in securing the establishment of 
the present system of water supply, lie was also 
instrumental in founding the Hartford Light & 
I '< >wer Co., of which he was a director at the time 
of his death, and he also took an active interest in 
the Hartford Board of Trade. He was one of the 
original members of the Putnam Phalanx, and was 
a Freemason of long standing, having taken the 
thirty-second degree in that fraternity. Mr. Pitkin 
was a member of the Connecticut Historical Society, 
and the author of the Pitkin Genealogy, which was 
published in 1887, and for which membership in the 
1 tarleian Society of Blackheath, Kent, England, was 
conferred upon him. This work, which stands high 
among the genealogical literature of the day, was a 
lifelong labor of love with its author, and is an en- 
during monument to his energy and devotion, es- 
pecially as it was compiled in the midst of a life of 
unusual business activity. Mr. Pitkin was a liberal 
supporter of the churches of the town, and had 
been a regular attendant at the First Church for 
many years. He was a kind, genial, generous man, 
devotedly attached to his family, and beloved and 
respected by all who knew him. He was a man of 
sterling business qualities, scrupulously upright, and 
always careful for the welfare of everyone in his em- 
ploy. He believed in the right of every man to his 
freedom in the broadest application of the term, and 
was a stanch supporter of the Republican party 
from the time of its formation. His death, which 
occurred Feb. 21, 1892, caused sincere mourning 
among a wide circle of acquaintances in Hartford 
and elsewhere, and called forth many tokens of re- 
spect and affection. The funeral, which was held 
at his residence, was largely attended. 

On Nov. 4, 185 1, Mr. Pitkin married Miss Jane 
Ann Hastings, who was born Dec. 8, 1828, daugh- 
ter of Capt. Henry and Sarah Ann (Dewey) Hast- 
ings. Capt. Henry Hastings was a leading citizen 
of Hartford for many years, and he and his father, 
Benjamin Hastings, were elected collectors of the 
taxes of the town and city of Hartford, Conn., for 
thirty consecutive years. Mrs. Pitkin died Feb. 1, 
1876, leaving three sons: Albert H., of Hartford; 
Howard S., of East Hartfbrd ; and William T., of 
Hartford, all yet living. In 1889 Mr. Pitkin mar- 
ried Miss Julia Louise Goodwin, daughter of 
Horace Ely Goodwin, of Hartford, and she sur- 
vives him. 

EDWARD H. SMILEY, A. M., for a decade 
past connected with the Hartford Public High 
School, and its efficient principal since 1895, is well 
and favorably known to the educators of New Eng- 
land, among whom he has taken high rank. 

Born Aug. 17, 1852, in Winslow, Maine, Mr. 
Smiley is a son of Reuel and Laura (Webber) Smi- 
ley, who were natives of Sydney and Vassalboro, 
Maine, respectively, and were farming people of 
the vicinity of Vassalboro, where the former died 



42 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



at the age of fifty-nine years. The mother sur- 
vived him many years, attaining the advanced age of 
eighty-three. Both were identified with the Con- 
gregational Church of their community, and were 
most estimahle people, and held in high regard by 
their acquaintances and friends. 

The boyhood of our subject was passed on the 
farm, at work, and in attendance at the common 
school of the neighborhood. At the early age of 
sixteen he began teaching a district school, and 
continued so occupied more or less for several 
years before completing his scholastic education. 
He furthered his studies in the Coburn Classical 
Institute, at Waterville, Maine, then entered Colby 
University, from which he was graduated in 1875, 
after this event returning to Waterville, Maine, 
where a high school had just been opened ; he be- 
came its first principal, a position he held for eight 
years. Following this, for six years, he was first 
classical teacher in the Springfield (Mass.) High 
School. From Springfield he came to Hartford, 
and" in September, 1890, began his relations with 
the Hartford Public High School as vice-princi- 
pal, continuing in such position until May, 1895, 
when he was made principal, since which time he has 
proven himself the right man in the right place. 
He is a man of liberal education, thorough, pos- 
sesses the requisite tact for management and disci- 
pline, and the ability necessary to the successful 
teacher and principal that he is, as is evidenced in 
his work of a decade with the one institution. 

The schools of Hartford from almost the very 
dawn of its settlement have been of a high order — 
in keeping with the superior intelligence and high 
character of the city's founders. The Colonial 
records of Connecticut show that a Classical School 
was in existence in Hartford as early as the year 
1638, and before 1662 ten graduates of Harvard 
College, from Hartford, had received their prep- 
aration for college in this school. During that 
period two sons of Gov. John Winthrop were in 
Hartford as pupils. Another historic name, that 
of Gov. Edward Hopkins, is associated with the 
early schools of Hartford. The high school of the 
city was established in 1847, under the energetic 
and untiring efforts of such men as James M. Bunce, 
Amos M. Collins, D. F. Robinson, Rev. Dr. Bur- 
gess, Dr. Henry Barnard, and Rev. Dr. Bushnell. 
The first high school building, a plain three-story 
brick, was erected in 1847; another was built, in a 
different locality, in 1869, and enlarged in 1877. 
This building was destroyed by fire in 1882, and 
in May of the same year the first stone of the foun- 
dation of the present fire-proof structure, built in 
the secular Gothic style, was erected ; to it in 1896 
an extension was made, and it stands to-day the 
largest and best equipped high school building in 
New England. Among the principals of the school 
have been Joshua D. Giddings, Thomas K. Beecher, 
McLauren F. Cook, Cephas A. Leach, T. W. T. 
Curtis, Samuel M. Capron, Hiram A. Pratt, Joseph 
Hall, Charles H. Douglas and Edward H. Smiley. 



In the report of the board of school visitors of 
the town of Hartford, 1899, it is set forth that : "Our 
High School, from the standpoint of equipment, 
teaching, force and far-reaching potentiality, stands 
to-day, as in the past, amongst the foremost high 
schools of the country. The Board, the citizens of 
Hartford, and the thousands of children who will 
enjoy the educational advantages of this school, 
owe a debt of gratitude to the members of the build- 
ing committee, and especially to Mr. Charles E. 
Thompson, the chairman, and Mr. Edward H. 
Smiley, the principal of the school, for their intel- 
ligent and self-sacrificing efforts in planning and 
supervising the erection of this building.'' In the 
school there are in attendance some nine hundred 
pupils, and forty teachers are employed. 

EVERETT JAMES McKNIGHT, M. D., 

Hartford, is one of the leading physicians and sur- 
geons in the county. A native of Connecticut, he 
was born June 12, 1855, in Ellington, Tolland coun- 
ty, and traces his ancestry to John McKnight, the 
emigrant, through James Dixon, Horace and 
John (2). 

(I) John McKnight (1) was born about die 
year 1712, in Scotland, whence when nineteen years 
of age he came to this country, first locating in Xew 
Haven, Conn., where he became a merchant, later 
moving to Hartford, and finally to Ellington, and 
here he resided on a farm in the northwest part of 
the town until his death, in 1785. While on a trip 
to England for a cargo of goods, he married Je- 
rusha Crane, an Englishwoman, and by her had six 
children as follows: Thomas, (II) John, Mary, Je- 
rusha, Esther and Sarah. The father of these died 
March 16, 1785, the mother in September, 1783. 

(II) John McKnight, born June 18, 1739, mar- 
ried (first) Nov. 20, 1762, Charity Abbe, who died 
in 1798; he married (second) May 2y, 1799. Jerusha 
Kent, born May 25, 1772, died Aug. 11, 1842. He 
passed away Nov. 12, 1837, the father of thirteen 
children, as follows: Roxia, born Sept. 8. 1788, 
married Parley Chapman ; Timothy (twin of Roxia) 
died Oct. 30, 1788; Horace was born Oct. 2T,, 1790; 
Harvey (twin of Horace) died March 10, 1806; 
Polly, born May 23, 1792, married Flavel Whiton, 
died June 30, i860; Chauncey was born Jan. 21, 
1796; Betsey was born Sept. 12, 1798. Children by 
second marriage: Charity, born April 15, 1800, mar- 
ried Jabez Chapman; Jerusha, born June 24, 1802, 
married Deacon Simon Chapman, and died in Wis- 
consin Aug. 11, 1842; Miranda, born Oct. 1, 1804, 
married Harvey White, and died in Vermont Feb. 
24, 1843; John, born March 2, 1807, married Sarah 
M. Abbe; Sarah, born Jan. 14, 1810, married Helms 
Terry; and Gilbert, born Nov. 16, 1812, married 
Roxianna Abbe, and died in Worcester. Massa- 
chusetts. 

(III) Horace McKnight was married Nov. 26, 
1817, to Asenath Kimball, who was born Sept. 27, 
1795, daughter of Daniel and Miriam (Allworth) 
Kimball; he died Dec. 2y, 1856, she on Jan. 17, 




CU^^<^^~ r4 /^c^c^^c^/^ ah/^ 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



43 



1857, the parents of seven children, as follows: 
Horace Kimball, born Oct. 20, 1818, died June 1, 
1828; Alanson Abbe, a farmer, born March 25, 
1821, died Oct. 28, 1822; Henry, born Oct. 20, 1823, 
married Levia P. Chapman, and died Dec. 5, 1896, 
in Springfield, Mass. (he was a farmer) ; James 
Dixon was born Aug. 9, 1826; Louisa Asenath, born 
Jan. 30, 1829, died March 10, 1832; Frances Ro- 
selle, born May 14, 1832, married Joseph Woods, a 
banker, and died July 17, 1865, in New Haven, 
Conn. ; and Adrian Kimball, born Nov. 29, 1836, 
died Oct. 1, 1841. The father of this family 
was a tavern-keeper at Enfield, also a farmer, and a 
well-known teacher in Hartford county; he was a 
Whig, and a representative in the State Legislature 
from Ellington, Conn., one term, also serving as 
selectman, justice of the peace, and school visitor, 
for manv years. He was a member of the Eccle- 
siastical Society of the Congregational Church. 

(IV) James Dixon McKnight, born Aug. 9, 
1826, in Enfield, married Oct. 10, 1850, Mary Fi- 
delia Thompson, who was born May 22, 1827, in 
East Windsor, daughter of John and Ann (Ells- 
worth) Thompson, and granddaughter of Ben- 
jamin Ellsworth, a revolutionary soldier, who was 
present at the execution of Major Andre. John 
Thompson, born in 1798, died in 1874; his wife, 
born in 1800, died in 1833. Their children were: 
Sabra Ann, born in 1824, who married Fitch 
Stoughton, of Vernon ; Mary Fidelia, Mrs. Mc- 
Knight ; Julia Salina, born in 1829, who married 
Newton Booth, of East Windsor; Edwin Franklin, 
born in 1831, who married a Miss Morrell ; Martha 
Aurelia, born in 1833, who married Allen Pascoe, 
of East Windsor: Sophronia, born in 1835; Emily 
Eleanor, born in 1838, who married James B. Stiles, 
of East Windsor; John, born in 1840; and Elizabeth 
Mabel, born in 1842. who married a Mr. Newell. 
Children were born to Mr. and Mrs. McKnight as 
follows: Mary Louisa, born Aug. 31, 1852, married 
George Booth, a farmer of Enfield (no children) ; 
Everett James, our subject, sketch of whom follows; 
John Thompson, born May 29, i860; married Julia 
Kimball, and has three children (he is city engineer 
of Rockville I ; Nellie Elizabeth, born Sept. 29, 1863, 
died Aug. 20, 1 890, unmarried ; and Howard Horace, 
born Aug. 13, 1865, is married and has four chil- 
dren (he manages his father's farm). All the fam- 
ily unite with the Congregational Church. 

Dr. E. J. McKnight received his earlier educa- 
tion at Hall's family school in his native town, El- 
lington, Conn., and his preparation for college was 
made at the Hopkins Grammar School, in New 
Haven. From there he went to Yale, entering the 
class of 1876, in which among others were Arthur 
Twining" Hadlev. now president of Yale. William 
Waldo Hyde and others. While in Yale Dr. Mc- 
Knight took ereat interest in athletics, and during 
his course had much to do with developing; interest 
in football, being one of it- early advocates. He 
was connected with the club in an official capacity 
during- almost his entire course, being treasurer of 



the organization in his sophomore year, secretary in 
his junior year, and president in his senior year, 
personally making most of the ararngements for the 
first game between Yale and Harvard. After his 
graduation from the regular course at Yale our 
subject took one year at Yale Medical School, and 
then at once proceeded to New York in order to 
further prepare himself for the medical profession. 
After three years of hard painstaking study at the 
College of Physicians and Surgeons he received his 
degree of M. D., in 1879. At once locating at East 
Hartford, he for fourteen and one-half years prac- 
ticed his profession with much acceptance to the 
people ; indeed, it has been truthfully said of him that 
his success was that of a painstaking physician, who 
drew to himself the patronage of the very best fam- 
ilies as well as that of the great masses of the com- 
munity. His practice having increased so largely 
in East Hartford, Dr. McKnight opened an office 
in the Batterson building, on Asylum street, at the 
corner of High street, Hartford. For several years 
he remained in that location, and in July. 1897, he 
came to his present quarters, No. no High street, 
where he has a very convenient office. 

On Feb. 8, 1881, Dr. McKnight was united in 
marriage with Miss Aletha T. Lindsley, of New 
Haven, Conn. They have one daughter, Rachel, 
born Aug. 9, 1889. The Doctor has filled and is 
now filling a large number of responsible profes- 
sional positions in the societies and with railroads 
and life insurance companies. He is a member of 
the City, County and State Medical Societies. In 
1898, by virtue of his long service as railroad sur- 
geon for the New England Railroad Co.. he was 
chosen a vice-president of the International Asso- 
ciation of Railroad Surgeons. In 1899 he became 
attached to the Hartford Hospital in the very re- 
sponsible position of orthopedic surgeon, and was 
later first assistant surgeon in that institution, of 
which, on the death of Dr. M. Storres, June 0. T900, 
he was appointed visiting surgeon. He is also con- 
sulting surgeon to the Hartford Orphan Asylum. 
In November, 1899, our subject became medical 
director of the Hartford Life Insurance Co.. under 
its new management, a position which he tills with 
the utmost satisfaction to the company and its pol- 
icy holders. 

Dr. McKnight represented the town of Kast 
Hartford in the General Assembly during the ses- 
sion of 1893, and was House chairman of the com- 
mittee on Fisheries and of the committee on Public 
Health. His professional cares of necessity restrict 
him from actively participating in affairs of a po- 
litical character, but he nevertheless has the welfare 
of the city in mind.- He is a man of social leanings, 
but has been too busy to connect himself villi any 
secret 1 irganizations. 

Dr. McKnighl is a member of the Yale Alumni 
Association of the city of Hartford, of the well- 
known Colonial Club, and of the Twentieth Century 
Cluh. He is a great admirer of the ceramic art r 
and has one of the finest collections in the citv. 



44 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



HON". ALFRED EDMUND BURR, the 
founder of The Hartford Daily Times, and for 
sixty years its editor and publisher, and in whose 
death, on Jan. 8, 1900, Hartford lost one of its 
foremost citizens, and the State and Nation one of 
the forceful and most influential molders of public 
opinion through the Press, had the distinction of 
being the oldest editor in New England, if not in 
the United States. 

Born March 27, 1815, in Hartford, son of 
James and Lucretia (Olcott) Burr, the veteran edi- 
tor was in the fullest sense a Hartford and Con- 
necticut man, for three of his ancestors were orig- 
inal proprietors of the town of Hartford some 260 
and more years ago, and here have lived through 
all of that period the direct line of his Burr ances- 
tors. On his paternal side, Benjamin Burr, the 
founder of the Hartford branch of the family, was 
one of the founders of the city in 1635, and one of 
the original proprietors in 1639, and from him 
Editor Burr was a descendant in the fifth genera- 
tion, his line being through Thomas, Thomas (2), 
and Tames Burr. On his mother's side he was a 
descendant in the seventh generation from Thomas 
Olcott, one of the original proprietors of Hartford 
in 1639, who was a merchant, and one of the found- 
ers of the trade and commerce of the Colony of 
Connecticut; for generations his descendants were 
prominent and influential in Hartford. Editor 
Burr's line from Thomas Olcott is through Samuel, 
Thomas (2), Joseph, Joseph (2), and Lucretia 
(Olcott) Burr. 

Tames Burr, the father of Editor Burr, was 
-engaged in the East India trade near the close of 
the eighteenth century, when two of his brigs were 
•captured by French privateers, and still another 
was lost in a gale off the Barbadoes, and to meet 
"his obligations he sold a large and valuable tract 
of land, upon which the central portion of the city 
of Cleveland is now situated. This loss rendered 
"him financially unable to support his large family in 
the manner he desired. 

At the age of thirteen Alfred E. Burr entered 
the employ of George Goodwin & Sons, then the 
publishers of The Connecticut Courant. Young 
Burr's capability was quickly recognized by the 
Goodwins, and before he was twenty-one years of 
age he filled the responsible position of foreman 
in the office. In 1836 the proprietors of the Cour- 
ant, who had become much attached to him, and 
fully appreciated his ability and integrity, proposed 
to sell him the paper on very unusual and favorable 
terms, an offer that few young men without means 
would have had the moral courage to decline. The 
offer was coupled, however, with the conditions 
that he should attend a certain denominational 
■church, and adopt the political faith upheld by the 
paper. Both of the stipulations were distasteful 
to Mr. Burr, and he was obliged to reject what was 
intended as the kindliest of proposals. 

The Hartford Times was then published as a 
weekly and semi-weekly paper. Early in the year 



1838 Jones & Watts, the publishers, failed in busi- 
ness and suddenly left the city. Soon afterward 
John M. Niles, Gideon Welles, and one or two 
others, came into possession of the Times estab- 
lishment. They induced Henry A. Mitchell, then 
State's attorney for Hartford county, to resign his 
office and take charge of the Times. He became 
sole proprietor in May of that year. In November, 
1838, Mr. Burr called at the Times office, and in- 
quired of Mr. Mitchell if he would dispose of a 
half-interest in the paper. He suggested to the 
proprietor that the paper could be greatly im- 
proved, mechanically at least, and referred to sev- 
eral existing features in its publication which 
might be advantageously changed. Gideon Welles 
was present on that occasion, and it was then that 
he and Mr. Burr formed an acquaintance which 
ripened into a lifelong personal friendship. Mr. 
Welles subsequently admitted to Mr. Burr that he 
had urged Mr. Mitchell to sell him the half-inter- 
est. During a later interview 7 with Mr. Mitchell 
an agreement was entered into, to take effect Jan. 
1, 1839, at which time Mr. Burr took charge, os- 
tensibly, of the mechanical department of the 
Times, although, during the following two years, 
he did considerable editorial work, particularly in 
connection with the news service. Near the close 
of the year 1840, Mr. Burr purchased the other 
half-interest of Mr. Mitchell, and took full pos- 
session of the establishment on Jan. 1, 1841. On 
March 2. of that year, he began the publication of 
the Daily Times, as a morning paper. No pros- 
pectus had been circulated, but after a brief can- 
vass three hundred subscribers were obtained, and 
the new daily was issued. But there was a demand 
for an evening paper, especially from the working 
men, and about two weeks later Mr. Burr changed 
the morning to an evening journal. In the course 
of a year the daily circulation reached a thousand 
copies, and in two years about two thousand. 

Mr. Burr had no working capital at that time, 
and no one to "back" him. He had given six per 
cent, notes on purchasing the small plant, which 
had grown steadilv under his management, and it 
required hard work and the strictest economy to 
meet the current expenses and pay interest as it 
became due. But his industry and indomitable will 
prevailed, and he succeeded in making improve- 
ments in the paper, and reducing his indebtedness 
each year until he was clear of debt. His ambi- 
tion was to make the Times the foremost paper in 
the State. He spared neither labor nor expense in 
pushing the paper ahead, often refusing nomina- 
tions for the highest offices within the gift of the 
people of the State, preferring to make his paper 
successful rather than to accept political honors. 
In later years his past labors upon the Times were 
justly rewarded. The following is extracted from 
the issue of the Times on the morning of Mr. Burr's 
death : 

His relations were close with the Democratic leaders of 
Connecticut during the early years of the daily issue of this 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



45 



paper. His duties brought him in close association with 
John M. Niles, Gideon Welles, Loren T. .Pease, and Thomas 
H. Seymour. The value of the daily presence ot such men 
at the Times office was very great to the young editor, who 
was quietly developing into a persuasive and influential 
writer, while maintaining his close relations with them. 
These men there discussed the leading questions of the day, 
and other questions of a world-wide interest. Young Burr 
had the benefit of almost daily discussions of political ques- 
tions by those men of strong intellects and firm convictions. 
It was a rare and peculiar school, and, in the language of Mr. 
Burr, himself, we " doubt whether any other young man of 
that day, beginning a career of journalism, had the benefit 
of a school at all approaching its wide scope of knowledge 
and clear-headed grasp ot the broad principles of Democ- 
racy, and the distinction in the intricate political machinery 
of the State and Federal Governments upon which our 
republic was founded." 

It was under such inspiration as this that Mr. Burr's 
style as a political writer was formed, and for more than 
forty-five years nearly everything relating to politics, Na- 
tional and State, that appeared in the Times came from his 
hand. He believed the best way to inculcate ideas and 
principles was for men to meet each other. Hence he was 
not a polemical writer, and he never issued his editorial 
projectiles over the heads of those whom he addressed. He 
neither assumed a loity intellectual superiority to the men 
who bought his newspaper from day to day, nor did he make 
the error of assuming that their stock of ideas was greater 
than it really was. He wrote and spoke as a plain American 
man and addressing plain American men, and he early 
acquired the habit of lucid and terse statement which made 
the happiest impressions upon the minds of his daily read- 
ers. In the sharp political controversies which rose prior 
to and during the Civil war much incisive, biting give-and- 
take was inevitable, yet bitter antagonisms.even with political 
opponents, were never to his liking, and he rarely indulged 
in those acrid personalities which made the columns of the 
political newspapers in New York such reservoirs of Billings- 
gate, when Webb, Greeley, Raymond, the elder Bennett, 
Hugh Hastings, and others of their day, set the pace 
in the political journalism of the metropolis. Mr. Bun- 
made the Times a Democratic newspaper of the most stead- 
fast and rock-bound quality, and, standing on that ground, he 
adhered firmly to his principles when the organization was 
threatened with disruption by unwise leadership. With all 
his might he opposed the movement to repeal the Missouri 
Compromise, and when that unfortunate act led on to the 
fatal schism of 1860 he stood with the supporters of Breck- 
enridge and the South, against Stephen A. Douglas and the 
doctrines of squatter sovereignty, and was most influential 
in the large vote Connecticut cast for Breckenridge, as com- 
pared with other New England States. He believed that 
the war which broke out in 1861 had been needlessly forced 
upon the country, and that it might have been averted by a 
wise spirit of conservatism and adherence to Democratic 
principles, and so did not swerve from his consistent course, 
and when another four years rolled around nearly 49 per 
cent, of the total vote of Connecticut supported the policy 
advocated by the Times. He stood in the storms of those 
days like adamant for what he believed to be sound and 
conservative principles in government, and there is proba- 
bly no man to-day who will dare to say that his motives at 
that time were not as pure and as patriotic as when,- 
thirty years afterward, in the campaign of 1896, the Times, 
with his entire acquiescence, repudiated the heresies which 
Populists, disguised as Democrats, had thrust into the party 
platform, and aided with all its influence in defeating the 
candidate- for the Presidency, whose election would have 
aimed a death-blow at the public credit. 

From the time when Mr. Purr first made the Times' 
influence felt as a political newspaper j n Connecticut Ins 
relation to the organization ol the party became an intimate 
one, and his activity in party work during political cam- 
paigns was second to that of no oilier man in the Demo- 
cratic ranks. For many years no n was 
adopted in Connecticut which was not wholly or in part 
prepared by him. In campaign after campai 
all money that was obtained lor party work, never fai 
himself to be a large contributor. 



Mr. Burr was repeatedly a delegate to National 
Democratic conventions, and on those occasions his 
influence was not small. In the campaign of 1876 
he came into intimate relations with Hon. Samuel 
J. Tilden, and in the election that followed the 
State of Connecticut was carried for that gentle- 
man by a plurality of 2,900 over Hayes, and a ma- 
jority of 1,712 over all. He was a delegate to the 
convention held at Cincinnati, in 1880, and eight 
years later was a member of the committee on 
Resolutions at the Democratic National convention 
which met at St. Louis and renominated Grover 
Cleveland, and it was under Mr. Burr's leadership 
that the platform reported to the committee de- 
clared for a "fair and careful revision of our tax 
laws, with due allowance for the better wages of 
American and foreign labor." Throughout his 
whole career Mr. Burr neglected no opportunity 
to maintain the need of guarding the interests of 
the laboring man in the framing of tariff laws, and 
it was his care for the wage earner's interest which 
contributed in no small degree to the maintenance 
of the numerical strength in Connecticut. He was 
never at any time a seeker for political office, Na- 
tional, State or local, yet he served with great fidel- 
ity two terms in the Connecticut Legislature, being 
appointed chairman of the committee on Education, 
by a Republican speaker. 

Mr. Burr early saw the importance of new 
manufacturing enterprises to the growth of Hart- 
ford and the Times, and no man was more active 
than he in seeking to enlarge the opportunities for 
highly paid labor in Hartford. He took an active 
part in aiding Col. Colt in establishing his great 
plant. He was a member and chairman of the com- 
missions in 1873 which built the State Capitol, and 
the enormous work was carried on without exceed- 
ing the appropriation, and to the accomplishment 
of this end much was due to his good management 
and unflinching firmness and vigilance. Again, he 
was useful to the public service as chairman of the 
committee to sell Hartford's old town farm prop- 
erty in such a manner as to yield a handsome sum 
to the city. Pie was ever a friend and influential 
supporter of the Hartford Public High School, 
and did much to help it when there was great op- 
position to its plans. He was largely instrumental 
in carrying through the scheme for Bushnell Park, 
which was also bitterly opposed. He saw the pos- 
sibilities of that waste spot and backed the project. 
l\c was an original member of the street board of 
Hartford, appointed in 1872, and served thereon 
until 1876. To him also is due a large share of 
the credit for the establishment of the West Hart- 
ford reservoir system. He saw more clearly than 
others at that time the need of a supply superior 
to that of the Connecticut river, which even then 
was contaminated. He was a member of the State 
board of health from 1877 to 1893, and its presi- 
dent from 1885. He was a member of the board of 
pardons from 1883 to 1897. 

As appropriate at this place is given the reso- 



46 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



lution adopted at a meeting of the Hartford Busi- 
ness Men's Association at the time of Mr. Burr's 

death : 

He was recognized for more than half a century as an 
active promoter, by pen and word, of every enterprise for 
the welfare and advancement of his native city. He gave 
his valuable aid in making Hartford the important business 
center that it is to-day, and he was always foremost by his 
personal labor and example in forwarding the growth of the 
city as a municipality and the benefits as individuals. His 
active participation in many large enterprises, and his con- 
nection with some of the city's greatest banking, insurance 
and manufacturing corporations, gave him a ciose insight into 
the business life and needs of Hartford, and, knowing them, 
he was earnest in his labors for the advancement of the 
people, alike by aid from his private means and the pub- 
licity and encouragement given in the columns of the news- 
paper he controlled. 

Mr. Burr was active from the outset in the 



a resident of Hartford, and referred to above; and 
Sarah E. is the wife of Dr. James McManus, of 
Hartford. The mother still survives. 

It is appropriate in this article to refer to Frank- 
lin L. Burr, who for so many years was associated 
with his brother in the conduct of the Times, who 
in his unselfish nature and great good heart never 
failed to accord due praise for his invaluable ser- 
vices in the editorial department, and to claim 
that much of the success of the Times was due to 
his vigorous and facile pen. The younger brother, 
Franklin L. Burr, was born Dec. 9, 1827, in Hart- 
ford, and learned the printer's trade in the Times 
office. In 1853 ne t0 °k a position in the office of 
the solicitor of the Treasury in Washington, D. C, 
but after a period returned to Hartford to assist 
in the editorial department of the Times. He be- 
Good Will Club, an organization of boys for their came a partner in the business, as referred to in the 



advancement and own good, and was instrumental 
in securing for them the building they occupy, and 
he was president of the club from its organization, 
in 1888, until his death. Mr. Burr was always 
ready to assist any public enterprise that promi>ed 
well for the people, either by co-operation or money, 
For a long term of years he was a trustee of Unity 
Church. He was president of and director in a 
number of business corporations, among them the 
Dime Savings Bank, the charter for which he was 
active in securing in 1870 (he became its first and 
only president up to the time of his death) ; Spring 
Grove Cemetery Association ; and the Connecticut 
lire Insurance Co., in which he was a director for 
nearly thirty years. Mr. Burr was the oldest pol- 
icy holder in the Connecticut Mutual Life Insur- 



foregoing. He was enthusiastic in the pursuit of 
his profession, and his articles along the lines of 
natural science and astronomy and geology at- 
tracted much attention, and his reviews of books 
were long a feature of the paper. The poet Ten- 
nyson on one occasion wrote him a special letter of 
thanks for one of his reviews of the poet's works, 
and complimented him by saying it stood among 
the best that had been written, on either side of 
the Atlantic. 

In 1853 Franklin L. Burr was married to Liz- 
zie Merrow, of Manchester, Conn., and to the union 
came children as follows: Mary, Frederick W. 
and Emily, the latter dying when twenty-three, 
and Frederick when twenty-one. 

Mr. Burr passed away Feb. 5, 1901. One sis- 



ance Co., his policy being one of the first issued ter, Frances E. Burr, who all through life made her 



when the company began business, in 1846. 

Through all the long years of Mr. Burr's busi- 
ness career his only business partner in the Times 
was his brother Franklin L. Burr. 

Some years ago Alfred E. Burr purchased the 
interest of his brother, who came into the business 
in 1854, and at the time of the former's withdrawal 
from the management of the Times he made a 
deed of the entire establishment to his son, W. O. 
Burr, who has since been the responsible and actual 
director of the affairs of the paper. 

A lovelier, kinder, more unselfish and nobler na- 
ture has seldom been developed on earth than that 
of the late Alfred Edmund Burr. Those who 
knew him best have felt most keenly his loss. At 
the time of his death all of the corporations with 
which he was connected and many other organiza- 
tions in Hartford passed the most praiseworthy 
resolutions, and in the leading papers of the" coun- 
try appeared editorials setting forth his remarka- 
ble personality, high character, influence, and the 
power he exerted during his long, busy and useful 
life. 

On April 18, 1841, Mr. Burr was married to 
Sarah A., daughter of Abner Booth, of Meriden, 
Conn., and of their three children Edmund L. died 
when three years of age; William Olcott Burr is 



home with Alfred E., is now the only survivor of 
fourteen children — seven boys and seven girls. 

FREDERICK E. BISSELL. The Bissell home- 
stead in the town of East Windsor has been held in 
the family name from an early day, having been 
built just prior to the Revolutionary war, and three 
generations of the family were born in the same 
room. Our subject's grandfather was born on the 
farm, but in another house, and he built the one that 



is still standing. 



Four generations have thus been 



born on the farm. 

Capt. Hezekiah Bissell, the grandfather of our 
subject, was born and reared on the old farm, and 
the residence built by him was regarded as a fine 
building in its day. He was a man of ability and in- 
fluence, and during the Revolutionary war he served 
as captain of a company which he had assisted in 
raising. He died at the homestead in 1828, in his 
ninety-fifth year. 

Hezekiah Bissell (2), our subject's father, was 
born in the house mentioned above, and resided there 
throughout his life. He died July 5, 1872, in his 
eightieth year, and his wife, whose maiden name 
was Elizabeth Ellsworth, died Dec. 30, 1871, at the 
same age. They had six children : Elizabeth E., 
deceased; Cornelia M., now the wife of Capt. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



47 



and the Courant, he resumed editorial life, and 
Charles Talcott, of Glastonbury; Hezekiah F., de- 
ceased ; Alary, who died in infancy ; Frederick E., 
our subject; and Carlos F., deceased. 

Frederick E. Bissell was born Oct- 15, 1833, in 
the house built by his grandfather, and grew to 
manhood at the homestead, becoming familiar with 
all the details of agricultural work. In 1865 he 
built a new house, also making other improvements 
upon the farm, and he now has about fifty acres 
under cultivation. As a general farmer he is suc- 
cessful, and for some years he has been engaged 
also in tobacco growing and in the dairy business. 
As a good citizen he takes an active interest in local 
affairs being one of the leading advisers in the Re- 
publican organization. Since 1890 he has served as 
justice of the peace with credit to himself and sat- 
isfaction to his fellow citizens. He is a prominent 
worker in the local Grange, in which he has been 
gatekeeper, and is now steward, and he and his esti- 
mable wife are leading members of the Congrega- 
tional Church at East Windsor. 

On Nov. 17, 1857, Mr. Bissell married Miss 
Charlotte Dexter,, daughter of Edward Dexter, a 
highly esteemed resident of Broad Brook, and two 
children have blessed the union: (1) Willie F., a 
progressive and enterprising agriculturist, resides 
at the homestead, and relieves his father of the act- 
ive management and oversight of the farm. (2) 
Ellen E. married Frank Winn, of Rocky Hill, this 
county. 

CHARLES S. STERN, A. B., M. D„ a success- 
ful physician and surgeon of Hartford, was born 
July 25, 1868, in Springfield, Mass., of German 
ancestry. 

The Doctor's great-grandfather, Solomon Stern, 
born in 1764, settled in Hartford about 1840, with 
his son Moses, and died there in i860, at the age 
of ninety-six. Although a weaver by trade, he did 
not engage in active business after his arrival as 
he was already well advanced in years. By his 
first wife, Julia, he had the following children: 
Ascher, Aaron, Moses, Myer fa merchant of Hart- 
ford, and a member of the common council of the 
city in 1864), and Brina. By his second wife, 
Yetta, he had Levi, a jeweler and merchant; 
a daughter, Bienschen; and Abraham, a prominent 
merchant of Hartford, who died in 1885- 

Moses Stern was born April 16, 7810, in Hesse, 
Germany, and died Feb. 7. i88r>. Bv occupation 
he was a weaver, and he also carried on a small 
farm. He married Taubschen Bloch, and had nine- 
children : Jacob is mentioned below; Threasa mar- 
ried Bernard Goodkind ; Julia married Abram 
Strasburger: Hannah married Solomon I .nrsch ; 
Jennie married Abram Danzig-; Bertha died, aged 
seventeen or eighteen : Daniel M. is a wholesale 
liriuor dealer in New York City; Max D. was a 
successful business man of New York, and died 



July 3, 1898; and Ella married Abram Adler, of 
Rochester, New York. 

Jacob Stern, our subject's father, was born in 
1838, in Hanover, Germany, and came to this coun- 
try in childhood. When a young man he engaged 
in the dry-goods business in Springfield, and about 
1880 he became a traveling salesman for his brothers 
in New York City, then enjoying a large and pros- 
perous business. His route covered many sections 
of New England, and he also had a large trade 
in New York City and its adjacent towns. During 
his long connection with the firm, lasting until his 
death, on Feb. 9, 1897, his fidelity and integrity 
were of the highest standard. In politics he was a 
Democrat, and he took an active interest in military 
affairs as a member of the first company, Gov- 
ernor's Foot Guard, being a veteran member at 
the time of his death. He married Miss Rosa 
Mayer, who was born in Landau, Bavaria, Ger- 
many, daughter of Isaac Mayer, and granddaugh- 
ter of Mayer Halevy. The family was from the 
province of Alsace-Lorraine, and before coming to 
the United States Isaac Mayer was a wealthy and 
prominent banker in that section ; but the revolu- 
tion in Germany, in 1848, caused him to emigrate 
to this country. Isaac Mayer married Bella Mass, 
from Frankfort-on-the-Main, a member of one of 
the aristocratic or noble families of that section, 
and the great banker, Chevalier Adolph Bingen, 
who was knighted by the King of Italy, was her 
nephew. After coming to this country Isaac Mayer, 
who was very learned, and a scholar of excep- 
tionally brilliant attainments in philosophy and the 
Hebrew law, became a rabbi. He first had a con- 
gregation in Cincinnati, Ohio,, and while there, with 
the assistance of Dr. Wise, inaugurated the modern 
reform in the Jewish worship. Later he officiated 
as rabbi in Rochester, N. Y., and Hartford, Conn., 
where he was much sought for by scholars of all 
religions, who appreciated his deep and accurate 
knowledge of matti rs which could not be found in 
books. His later years were spent in New York, 
where he .died Dec- 31, 1897, at the age of eighty- 
nine years. 

Jacob Stern and his wife had six children: 
Clotilda married Julius Lewy, of New York; Mon- 
roe died aged fourteen rears : Charles Seymour 
is mentioned below ; Fthel B. married Arnold Le 
Witter, of New York: Nathan M. is in business 
in New York City: and Winfred M. is a student. 

Dr. Charles S. Stern attended the public schools 
of Hartford in bovhood. graduating from the West 
Middle School in t88i, at the age of twelve years 
and nine months. In 1883. at the end of his second 
year in the high school, he went to New York 
wilh his oar< n The following vear he entered 

the College of the City of New York, where the 
degree of A. B. was conferred upon him in 1888- 
In this course he had given special attention to 
studies which would assist him in his chosen pro- 



48 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



fession, and in the fall of 1888 he entered Bellevue 
Hospital Medical College, of New York City. As 
an under-graduate he did much practical work in 
the Charity Hospital and Mt. Sinai Hospital, and 
after graduation was connected with the staff of 
the Gouverneur Hospital and the German Hos- 
pital of New York City. In 1893 he engaged in 
general practice in the city, where for some time 
he was an inspector in the health department, hav- 
ing passed the civil service examination. Early in 
1894 he opened an office in Hartford, where he 
has built up an extensive practice, his specialty be- 
genita-urinary diseases; he has charge of the 
genito-urinary department at the Hartford Dis«- 
pensarv. From 1896 to 1898 he was city physi- 
cian under appointment of the commissioners of 
charity ; he is one of the police surgeons of the city, 
is medical inspector for the Board of Health, and 
he is an active member of the City, County and 
State Medical Societies- During the war with 
Spam he was an officer in the Medical Depart- 
ment, United States Army, and was ordered to 
Chickamaugua Park with the 1st Corps, where he 
did duty as executive officer of the 1st Division 
hospital,' and later as acting assistant quarter- 
master of the 3d Division Hospital. From there he 
was ordered to Porto Rico, but an illness — typhoid 
fever, contracted at Chickamaugua — of two months 
prevented him from going until December. He 
spent four months as post surgeon at San German, 
Porto Rico, and after a six-months stay on the 
island left the service, July 10, 1899, resuming his 
practice in Hartford in September of that year. 
The Doctor is fond of athletics and music, and is 
prominent socially as a member of the Hartford 
Philharmonic Orchestra; of St- John's Lodge, No. 
4, F. & A. M. ; Hartford Lodge, No. 88, I. O. O. 
F. ; and Midian Encampment, No. 7. In politics 
he is an independent. He is an active member of 
the First Company, Governor's Foot Guard, and a 
member of the Veteran Association of Company 
K, 1st Conn. A'. I., of the Spanish- American war. 

GEORGE LEWIS CHASE, of Hartford, who 
for a third of a century has been the executive head 
of the Hartford Fire Insurance Co.. one of the 
leading insurance companies not only of the United 
States, but of the world, and who since boyhood — 
for fifty and more years, with the exception of a 
short interval — has been identified with underwrit- 
ing, is known throughout the insurance world as 
an authority in all matters pertaining to the business. 
Mr. Chase was born Jan. 13, 1828, in the town of 
Millbury, Worcester Co., Mass., son of Paul Cush- 
ing and Sarah (Pierce) Chase, and is descended 
from Aquila Chase, who was also the emigrant an- 
cestor of the late Hon. Salmon P. Chase, of Ohio, 
chief justice of the United States. Aquila Chase, 
born in 1618, was in the fourth generation from 
Thomas Chase, of Hundrich, Parish of Chesham, 
England, through Richard and Aquila Chase, Sr. 



Coffin's History of Newbury refers to Aquila (2) 
as of Cornwall, while George B. Chase, the com- 
piler of a small work on the Chase genealogy, clearly 
to himself locates him in Chesham. But in either 
case he was one of the first settlers and grantees of 
Hampden, Mass., in 1639 or 1640, and later, in 1646, 
a settler at Newbury. He married Ann, daughter 
of John Wheeler, of Salisbury, England. Aquila 
Chase died in 1670. From this first American an- 
cestor President Chase, of Hartford, is a descendant 
in the eighth generation, his line being through 
Moses, Daniel, Daniel (2), Paul, Joshua and Paul 
Cushing. 

Paul Cushing Chase, son of Joshua, was born 
March 6, 1790, married Dec. 19, 1819, Sarah Pierce, 
daughter of Aaron and Hannah Pierce. 

George L. Chase, the subject proper of this re- 
view , attended the old Millbury Academy, receiv- 
ing a good English education, and when nineteen 
began his business career as the agent of the Farm- 
ers Mutual Fire Insurance Co., of Georgetown, 
Mass., of which he was subsequently elected a mem- 
ber of the board of directors. Young Chase had 
shown himself of good material, a man of quality, 
effort and energy, and speedily became an efficient 
canvasser, operating at first through southern Mass- 
achusetts and eastern Connecticut, and within a 
short time his agency included four companies trans- 
acting business on the mutual plan, one of which, 
the Holyoke Mutual of Salem, is still engaged in 
successful operations. In 1848 Mr. Chase was ap- 
pointed traveling agent for the People's Insurance 
Co. of Worcester, and retained the position until 
1852, giving great satisfaction. From 1852 until 1856 
his attention was given to the business of railroad- 
ing. Flaving in the former year been appointed as- 
sistant superintendent of the Central Ohio Railway 
Co., he removed to Ohio, caught hold of the snap, 
hurry and push there exhibited by the then con- 
sidered Westerners, soon got into the current, and 
became at home among them. The same qualities 
that he had exhibited in his insurance experience 
brought him deserved recognition and reward in 
his new field of operations, and he was advanced to 
the office of general superintendent of the road. 
He was one of the first representatives who organized 
the first association of railroad superintendents in 
the United States, the meeting for the purpose being 
held at Columbus, Ohio, in 1853. In i860 Mr. 
Chase resumed the fire insurance business, accept- 
ing the Western general agency of the New England 
Fire Insurance Co., of Hartford, a position he held 
until 1863, in which period he did much effective 
work in the line of supervision that brought in- 
creased business to the company. In 1863 he ac- 
cepted the appointment of assistant Western gen- 
eral agent of the Hartford Fire Insurance Co., and 
here, as in all previous positions he had occupied, 
Mr. Chase displayed ability of the holiest order, 
attracting from the outset the attention and ap- 
proval of the board of directors. In 1867 the presi- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



49 



dency of the company was placed at his acceptance, 
the duties and responsibilities of which he assumed 
in June of that year, succeeding in that high office 
Timothy C. Allyn. And from ihat time on. through 
all of the intervening period of thirty-four years, 
his management of the company's business and in- 
terests has been matchless in character, placing him 
in the foremost rank of fire insurance representa- 
tives. 

It is not within the province of this article to 
go into and follow the history of the Hartford Fire, 
one of the oldest and most successful insurance in- 
stitutions in the United State ; suffice it to say that it 
has now a capital of one and one-quarter millions, and 
in addition to this great sum it has total assets of II,- 
180,000, a mighty reserve against which to draw if 
ever the occasion arises. The net surplus is over 
$4,458,000, all of which makes the company one of 
the strongest in the world. The Hartford began 
its career in the field of underwriting in 1810, a 
career that has been one unbroken success from that 
day to this, its charter then authorizing a capital of 
$150,000. In its business life of ninety years the 
company has had only five presidents, including the 
present incumbent, who has exceeded all of them 
in his length of service, and in this long official 
period of thirty-four years he has administered the 
affairs of his office with peculiar acceptance to the 
directors, the stockholders, and those who have been 
fortunate enough to hold policies in this great cor- 
poration. The company has always been in the 
hands of men who stood high in the confidence of 
the community. There is hardly a name in the long 
list of directors which is not known to every one 
familiar with the business life of Hartford, and the 
company's prosperity has rested and now rests on 
the character of its managers. 

When Mr. Chase came to the presidency of the 
Hartford, the office of the Company was on Main 
street, and was in very limited quarters. At Mr. 
Chase's suggestion, the Board of Directors decided 
to build an office of their own, and purchased a lot 
on the corner of Trumbull and Pearl streets, on 
which, under Mr. Chase's supervision, was erected 
a very handsome, granite building. The new office 
was finished and occupied by the Company in 1870. 
Its appointments were up to the times, and every ar- 
rangement was made for conducting their large 
business in an economical and systematic manner. 
This gave the Hartford the most commodious quar- 
ters of any insurance company in the city at that 
time. 

In 1897 the Company's business had outgrown its 
accommodations, and the directors decided to enlarge 
the office building which was done by tin- erection 
of an addition, which gave the Company more than 
double the room they had before. The business, in 
the mean time, however, had increased more thin 
fivefold. Their new office is of the most approved 
type with all the modern improvements for the trans- 
action of business. 

President Chase was the first to suggest the use 



of the telephone for communication between the 
Hartford, 2&tna and Phcenix offices, and, in connec- 
tion with Presidents Hendee and Kellogg, communi- 
cation was arranged between these three offices 
by means of telephone wires, and, although the serv- 
ice was of necessity somewhat imperfect, yet it was 
found to be a great advantage in communicating 
between these three offices. Mr. Chase now has in 
his office the first instrument of this kind, which is 
a very crude affair. This was the introduction of 
telephone service in the City of Hartford. Mr. 
Chase was also the first to employ stenographic and 
typewriter service in the business. The Hartford 
have always availed themselves of the best facil- 
ities that could be secured for the transaction of 
their large business. 

The standing of President Chase as an insurance 
manager was recognized from the very outset by 
his associates and competitors in the business. In 
1876 he was elected president of the National 
Board of Fire Underwriters, and has since served 
the board as chairman of the committee on Legis- 
lation and Taxation, in all respects the most import- 
ant committeeship in the organization. His connec- 
tion with the national board has been one of com- 
manding influence and leadership. He is a member 
of the board of trustees, and one of the vice-pres- 
idents, of the Society for Savings in Hartford, 
which is the largest savings bank in the State, and 
is also a trustee of the Connecticut Trust & Safe 
Deposit Co., and a director in the American National 
Bank. Mr. Chase is a leading member of the Hart- 
ford Board of Trade, and is thoroughly interested 
in the industrial development and prosperity of the 
city of which he is so prominent and influential a 
citizen. 

President Chase has been several times the recip- 
ient at the hands of his co-workers and friends of 
handsome gifts. In 1892, on the twenty-fifth anni- 
versary of his presidency of the Hartford hire In- 
surance Co., he was given a silver loving-cup by his 
local co-workers, as a testimonial of their admiration 
and love for him. And again, in June, 1898, the 
general and special agents of the company, located 
in various cities throughout the United States, pre- 
sented him with a $1,000 Jurgensen watch, which 
is one of the handsomest timepieces that has been 
manufactured, striking the hours, halves and 
quarters. 

President Chase's religious connections are with 
the Asylum Hill Congregational Church in I [art- 
ford, and he has five times been chosen president of 
the Connecticut Congregational Club, the most im- 
portanl organization connected with the Congre- 
gational Churches in the State, and wielding the 
in: >s1 extended influence. 

' >n Jan. 8, 1851, Mr. Chase was married to 
Miss Calista M. Taft. daughter of Judson Taft, and 
the union was blessed with three children- on,- sou 
and two daughters. The former, Charles K. Chase, 
is the efficient assistant secretary of the compam of 
which his father is president. He married Miss 



50 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



I telen S. Bourse, and they have one daughter. Pres- 
ident Chase's younger daughter died in 1866. The 
elder was married, in 1874, to Charles H. Longly, 
and died in 1893. 

ROSWELL j. CLAPP, successor to Clapp & 
Son, the well-known iron and steel merchants of 
Hartford, was born in Hartford June 10, 1871. 
He comes of a long line of ancestry, and in his 
office, handsomely framed, is a genealogical chart 
of the family, giving all the facts connected with 
them, from the first settler, Rodger, down to 1873. 
It is a complete and authentic record of the family, 
and one of which any man might be justly proud. 
This chart was prepared by a member of the Clapp 
family, being done with a steel pen, and is a mar- 
velous piece of penmanship. 

Rodger Clapp, the pioneer, was born in Devon- 
shire, England, in 1609, son of Richard Clapp, 
and came to Dorchester, Mass. Preserved Clapp, 
son of Rodger, was born in Dorchester in 1643. 
Thomas Clapp, the next in the line of descent, set- 
tled in Hartford at an early date. Elijah Clapp, 
son of Thomas, was born in Hartford. Norman 
Clapp, of Hartford, was our subject's great-great- 
grandfather ; his great - grandfather was John 
Clapp, and his grandfather Daniel Clapp. 

Gen. John B. Clapp, our subject's father, was 
born July 4, 1842, in the town of Wethersfield, and 
received a common-school and academic educa- 
tion. He enlisted in the 16th Conn. V. I. July 21, 

1862, entering the company of Capt. Henry L. 
Pasco, of that command. Capt. William H. Lock- 
wood, of Hartford, was the first lieutenant, and 
Charles A. Tennant, who was fatally wounded on 
the Nansemond May 3, 1863, was the second lieu- 
tenant of the company. Gen. Clapp was with the 
regiment at Antietam Sept. 17, 1862, and displayed 
marked gallantry on the field. He was at once 
advanced to the" first lieutenancy of Company D, 
his commission dating from the day of the battle. 
He received the appointment of adjutant Jan. 9, 

1863, and at the siege of Plymouth, April 20, 1864, 
received the brevet rank of captain for gallant and 
meritorious conduct. The capture of the 16th 
Regiment at Plymouth resulted in his being im- 
prisoned by the Rebels for nearly one year, the 
time being spent at Macon, Savannah, Charleston 
and Columbia. In March, 1865, he was released 
on parole at Wilmington, N. C, and he soon after- 
ward became post adjutant under Gen. F. D. Sew- 
all, at Camp Parole, Annapolis, Md. The war 
record of Gen. Clapp was an honorable one in all 
respects. His courage in the field was unques- 

ed, and actuated by patriotic impulses he gave 
himself entirely to the cause which he had espoused. 

Vfter returning from the war the General was 
appointed to the captaincy of Company F, of Weth- 
ersfield, tst Regiment, and held the position until 
lu was appointed tanl adjutant-general on the 

staff "i" ( "ii til. Prentice, of the 1st Brigade. 
Subsequently he resumed the command of Com- 



pany F. In 1873 he was promoted to lieutenant- 
colonel of the regiment, and in 1874 became colo- 
nel, which latter position he retained until 1876. 
He was appointed brigade inspector in 1878, on 
the staff of Gen. Stephen R. Smith. Gen. Charles 
P. Graham, who succeeded Gen. Smith, renewed 
the appointment, which was retained by Gen. Clapp 
until his promotion to the staff of Gov. P. C. Louns- 
bury as commissary-general. Gen. Clapp was a 
member of the Veteran City Guard of Hartford, 
and had been the commandant of the organization. 
At the time of his death he was a member of the 
1st Company, Governor's Horse Guard, Hartford, 
holding the position of adjutant. 

Gen. Clapp served three years in the court of 
common council in Hartford, representing the old 
Second ward. He was a member of the board of 
fire commissioners nine years, and a member of 
the commission under the direction of which the 
Memorial Arch in Bushnell Park was erected. He 
was also a member of the Camp Field Monument 
Association, representing, with Col. Frank \\ . 
Cheney, the 16th Connecticut in that body. He 
belonged to the Army and Navy Club of Connecti- 
cut, to the Society of the Army of the Potomac, 
and was also a member of Robert O. Tyler Post, 
G. A. R. Gen. Clapp was the life secretary of the 
1 6th Regiment Association. In January, 1899, he 
was elected secretary of the Connecticut Secre- 
taries' Association, succeeding Judge E. E. Mar- 
vin, clerk of the United States Court. Gen. Clapp 
was identified with the Union Prisoners Associa- 
tion in the State, and was one of the most popular 
veterans of the Civil war in this section of Con- 
necticut. He was commandant and foremost in 
the organization of the Buck Engineer Corps, dur- 
ing the two campaigns which resulted in the elec- 
tion of the Hon. John R. Buck to Congress from 
this district. 

The Masonic career of Gen. Clapp was one of 
singular interest. He was a member of St. John's 
Lodge, and received the degree of Knighthood in 
Washington Commandery, Knights Templar, Nov. 
10, 1868, being knighted by Gov. Thomas H. Sey- 
mour ; ex-Mayor John G. Root was generalissimo 
of the commandery at that time. He first became 
captain-general of the commandery in 1878, and 
held this position under different eminent com- 
manders, including two terms under Watson H. 
Bliss, until 1893, when he started on an unbroken 
period of service in the office, holdine it up to the 
hour of his death. He was the recipient of a 
Knight Templar sword from the commandery in 
November, 1897, the event being one of excep- 
tional interest in the order in the city. He was a 
brilliant officer in the commandery, and won the 
admiration of his associates, wherever the organi- 
zation appeared in a public capacity. 

From 1868 Gen. Clapp was engaged in the iron 
trade, from 1868 until 1880 as a member of the 
firm of Blodgett & Clapp. In 1880 the Blodgett 
& Clapp corporation was organized, the partnership 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



51 



being dissolved, and he became secretary and man- 
ager. In recent years he carried on business un- 
der the firm name of John 1!. Clapp & Son, his 
only son, Rosweli J. Clapp, being identified with 
him. 

Gen. Clapp was married Sept. 17, 1867, to Miss 
Leila F. Blodgett, of Hartford, daughter ot Kos- 
well Blodgett, and the wedding took place on the 
anniversary of the battle of Antietam. The ser- 
vices were conducted by Rev. William S. Colton, 
pastor of the Congregational Church in Washing- 
ton, but the General s pastor in the Wethersfield 
Church. Mrs. Clapp died at Madison in May, 

I893- 

Gen. Clapp became a member of the Wethers- 
field Congregational Church in 1865, after his re- 
turn from the war. This action was taken with 
Robert Hale Kellogg, now president of the 16th 
Regiment, and the General's lifelong friend and 
associate. The late Judge Elisha Carpenter, of the 
Supreme Court in this State, joined the church in 
the same period. As soldier and Knight Templar 
Gen. Clapp possessed traits of character that greatly 
endeared him to men. He was held in the sin- 
cerest regard and friendship in the 16th Connecti- 
cut, having been on the executive committee of 
the regimental association from the first, and for 
years its secretary. He succeeded Major B. F. 
Blakeslee in the secretaryship, and made the posi- 
tion one of importance to the veterans of that com- 
mand. In Washington Commandery he was held 
in equal admiration and esteem. For years he had 
been identified with the highest interests of the 
commandery, serving as captain-general under such 
members of the order as Past Eminent Command- 
ers Watson H. Bliss, Stephen Ball, H. LeRoy 
Woodward, of Springfield, Gen. James H. Jarman, 
Edward Mahl, A. D. Newton. In 1894 he was at 
Pittsburg with the commandery, attending the tri- 
ennial conclave of the order, whose interests were 
of the highest importance in his life. 

Gen. Clapp was a man of genial impulses, and 
companionable in all the surroundings and circum- 
stances of life. His loss will be felt as a lasting- 
one in all circles, where men met and exchanged 
courtesies with him. The following is a tribute 
by a comrade: John B. Clapp was one of those 
fine Connecticut country boys whose soldierly quali- 
ties were brought to appreciation and development 
by the Civil war. He had the faculty to organize 
and lead. Hardly half a year from a country store, 
he brought the records and accounts of a hastilv 
gotten together regiment, which was precipitated 
into battle when just armed and not at all instruct- 
ed, and was almost decimated at the first charge, 
into order and official semblance, and ablv 
onded Cols. Frank Beach and John H. Burnham 
in reforming this half demoralized mass into a fine 
. whose moral and soldierly standing became 
the best. He was an officer of dashing appear- 
ance, full of life and energy, prompt in his de- 
cisions, and skillful in carrying them out, for he 



carried by winning the co-operation of the men. He 
was very sympathetic, and the entire regiment 
heartily loved and trusted him. On several occa- 
sions in battle he showed marked bravery, and at 
Plymouth he displayed exceptional heroism. The 
long captivity in Southern prisons he bore, with 
the rest of his comrades, courageously and man- 
fully ; and, when the fragments of the regiment 
were released, he helped form it again into a good 
military body. 

As adjutant of the 16th Connecticut John B. 
Clapp's service was eminently brilliant, and of ad- 
vantage to his cause and country ; and the men of 
the 1 6th will always affectionately associate him 
with the evolution and the war record of their 
regiment. The memory of his dashing figure and 
fine mount, and his clear ringing voice, will carry 
them back to the days of the struggle that made 
truer and stronger men of all, and gave something 
to their life that endured beyond it. With his 
more acute military quality there w T as true kind- 
liness, warm sympathy and great justness of ap- 
preciation. He knew each man of his regiment 
personally, and knew him all around, so as to ap- 
preciate him at his best. And thus he proved a 
leader whose leadership did not expire with his 
commission, but endured through three decades of 
civil life. He passed away July 14, 1899, at the 
home of his son, in Hartford. 

Rosweli J. Clapp was married in 1894 to Miss 
Mabel R. Lawrence, of Worcester, and they have 
one son, Lawrence John, born in 1896. 

ARTHUR S. CLAPP, advertising agent for 
Parsons' Theater, Hartford, was born in Hartford 
March 25, 1858, a son of Caleb Clapp, born in North 
Hampton, Mass., whose father was born in North 
Hampton, May 3, 1787, and died Feb. 22, 1843. He 
was a lifelong farmer of prominence in North 
Hampton. His wife, Maria J. (Hooker), was born 
in Milford, Conn., Nov. 20, 1793, and they reared 
fifteen children, only one of whom, Harriet, is now 
living, a resident of Chicago. Roger Clapp, the first 
settler of the Clapp family in America, came to 
Nantasket in September, 1630. 

Caleb Clapp, father of Arthur S., was reared in 
North Hampton, where he learned the tailor's trade. 
Then coming to Hartford he became proprietor of 
tin- "City Hotel." which he conducted for a number 
of years, or up to the time of his death. He was a 
well known man, took a prominent part in the affairs 
of tlie city, was a Republican in p ilitics, and served 
iber of the city council. Socially he was 
affiliated with the I. O. O. P.. but was in n > m use 
of Hi- ivord a "lodge man." preferring the quietude 
of his own home. Formanj he was interested 

with Mr. Sharp in the livery business, and was also 
interested in the Shelby Iron Mines, in Alabama, 
lb- married Sarah M. Sexton, bom in North Hamp- 
ton, Ma--., Jan. 27, 1822, a daughter of Phineas 
on. born in September, 1771. who was a man 
of prominence, a shoemaker by trade, and spent 



52 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



his life in North Hampton. He married Phoebe 
Thompson, born Dec. 30, 1770. Airs. Clapp had a 
brother in the Mexican war. Ten children, all 
sons, were born to Caleb Clapp and his wife, 
Arthur S. being" the youngest, and three are yet 
living: Allen C, with E. C. Kibbe, wholesale gro- 
cers ; Henry P., in San Francisco ; and Arthur S. 
The mother died at the age of seventy-seven, on 
Oct. 18, 1899. The parents were members of the 
Pearl Street Congregational Church, in which the 
father took an active interest. At the time of his 
death he was among the oldest business men of Plart- 
ford, having come here in 1854. 

Arthur S. Clapp spent his early years at home, 
was educated in the common schools, and then 
learned the drug trade. In 1886 he went to Colorado, 
remained a year, and returned East. For a time he 
was employed by Charles F. Adams, and in 1896 he 
accepted a position with Parsons' Theater as adver- 
tising agent, in which incumbency he has since con- 
tinued. He is a member of the Industrial League 
of the Fourth Church,and in politics is a Republican. 
On Sept. 2y, 1900, Air. Clapp married Nettie Studa- 
baker, of Lucerne, Mo., born in 1863 in Adams 
county, Indiana. 

Howard S. Clapp, brother of Arthur S., was 
born in Middletown, Conn., Oct. 21, 1848, attended 
the common and high schools, and later graduated, 
when only eighteen years of age, from Yale Col- 
lege. He then entered the Berkeley Divinity School, 
after graduating from which he was called to the 
pastorate of Trinity Church at Wethersfield, being 
their first pastor. Later he went to Philadelphia, 
then to St. Paul, Minn., and for a number of years 
supplied various churches. He died in Hartford, 
Oct. 16, 1898. Another brother, William, was a 
druggist in Hartford, having learned the business 
with Talcott Brothers, and later for a number of 
years conducted the City Hotel Drug Store ; he 
died Sept. 21, 1884. 

DAVID CLARK, of Hartford, was the son of 
Amasa and Eleanor (Fuller) Clark, of Hampton, 
Conn., and was born in that town Oct. 12, 1806. 
He was of full Revolutionary descent. 

Mr. Clark married Miss Julia M. Ross, of 
Chaplin, Conn., Oct. 12. T827. He came to Hart- 
ford in April, 1832, and died Oct. 8, 1889. His 
wife died June 7, 1892. We cannot do better for 
this sketch than to give the following tribute to 
Mr. Clark by his long-time friend, ]xu\^c D. W. 
Pardee : 

"By the death of Mr. David Clark a remarka- 
ble man has been taken from the visible life of 
Hartford. Physically lie was a fine specimen of 
the men whose youth is passed upon the hill-coun- 
try farm, and who therefore are so strong that 
came to foursco rs. His I 1 frame, 

supporting : , [, hj 1 noticeable 

ire in any company, lb' changed early from 

the farm t<> the counl nise. \s a merchant he 

E untiring industry. If at any time losses 



came upon him, he still held his courage; and his 
determination to succeed made him victor at last. 
And his is the rare honor due to one who pays 
debts collectible no otherwise than in the court of 
conscience. 

"He closed his business as a merchant in mid- 
dle manhood, although in health and in success. 
From time to time he secured to himself and to 
his family the pleasure and culture to be gained 
from wide travel at home and abroad. Meantime, 
his fortune increased. But he was watchful, per- 
sistent and untiring in giving of the increase, in 
sums large and small, in manifold ways and in 
numberless instances. Not only this, but he gave 
of his time, his strength, his knowledge; gave will- 
ingly of himself — charity in the highest form. 
By the law of his being he was hospitable. Few 
home doors in this city opened so easily, so widely, 
or so frequently as did his. There was the ever 
ready place at his board for friend or stranger. 

"Having released himself from the cares of 
active business, he resumed as a diversion the oc- 
cupation of his early life. He improved a farm. 
Many will remember that in person he brought of 
its products to their doors as gifts ; and all will 
remember that at last, in loving memory of a son, 
he gave the farm to the uses of the sick and home- 
less. The faculties of his mind were with him in 
strength to the last, even his exceptionally reten- 
tive memory, which enabled him to marshal in their 
order many even of the minor events in his life 
and assign to each its appropriate day, and month, 
and year. So of his body : he ever had that great 
possession, abounding health. Passing fourscore, 
yet the rising sun would sometimes find him by 
the stream with rod and fly ; and sometimes on 
the frosted hillside waiting" for the cry of the hound. 

''In his business, in his recreation, in his home, 
and among men, he put much into his life, and 
drew much out of it — drew not only for himself, 
but for others as well. Many have lost a friend, 
indeed." 

FRANCIS HENRY RICHARDS, mechan- 
ician, engineer and inventor of Hartford and New 
York City, with residence in the former city, is a 
native of the town of New Hartford, Litchfield coun- 
ty, Conn., a county from which have gone out into 
the world many men who have achieved distinction 
and fame. 

Born Oct. 20, 1850, Mr. Richards is the son of 
Henry and Maria (Whiting) Richards, and is of 
noble lineage. On his father's side he is a descend- 
ant in the ninth generation from (I) Thomas Rich- 
ards, who was at Hartford in about 1637, and whose 
name is given in the Memorial History of Hartford 
County, edited by the late Dr. Trumbull, as one 
of the original proprietors of Hartford in 1630. 
< »ur subject's line of descent from this first Ameri- 
can ancestor is through John. Thomas ( 2). Thomas 
(3), Dr. Samuel. Capt. Aaron. Marquis and Henry 
Richards. 





^^^ 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



53 



(II) John Richards, son of Thomas the emigrant, 
born in 1631, married Lydia Stocking, and settled 
on the homestead in Hartford. 

(III) Thomas Richards, son of John, born in 
1666, married, in 1691, Alary, daughter of Deacon 
Benjamin Parsons, of Springfield, Mass., and suc- 
ceeded his father on the homestead. He was deacon 
of the First Church for forty-three years, and was 
very well known in Hartford and vicinity. 

(I\ ) Thomas Richards, son of Thomas (above), 
born 1694, married, in l/i/, Abigail Turner, of 
Hartford, and resided in Southington. 

(V) Dr. Samuel Richards, son of Thomas 
-(above), born in 1726, in Hartford, married Lydia 
Ruck. When he was one year old his parents moved 
to Southington. Samuel Richards rose to honorable 
distinction in the profession, practicing in Newing- 
ton, Canaan, and New Hartford, dying in Plainville 
in 1793. He served in the Continental army. 

(VI) Capt. Aaron Richards, son of Dr. Samuel, 
born in 1749 in Newington, married (first), in 
1778, Dorcas Adams. He purchased land in New 
Hartford, first in 1776, settled and passed his days 
in the town, dying in 183 1. 

(VII) Marquis Richards, son of Capt. Aaron, 
born in 1793, married, in 1822, Polly Carpenter, and 
they resided on the old homestead in New Hartford. 

(VIII) Henry Richards, son of Marquis, and 
the father of Francis Henry Richards, of Hartford, 
was born Sept. 13, 1824, in New Hartford. He 
was married in October, 1847, to Maria S. Whiting, 
daughter of Dr. John Whiting, and to the union 
were born Francis H., Oct. 20, 1850; Hubert P., 
Sept. 2, 1852; and Rosa M., Aug. 2, 1854, who died 
in New Britain in 1872, when in her eighteenth 
year. 

On his mother's side Francis H. Richards, our 
subject, is a direct descendant from Maj. Wm. Whit- 
ing, who came to New England not more than a dec- 
ade after the landing of the Pilgrim Fathers, his 
name being identified as early as 1632-33 with Lords 
Say and Prooke in the purchase of Piscataqua, and 
he retained his interest in that enterprise through life. 
Maj. Whiting was also engaged in a patent for lands 
at Swampscott with Say and Brooke. He was one 
of the committee who for the first time sat with the 
court of magistrates in 1637. Maj. Whiting was one 
of the original proprietors of Hartford in 1639, and 
was one of the most efficient promoters of trade and 
commerce of the town. A merchant of wealth and 
a man of education, he had dealings with the people 
of \ irginia and Piscataqua, and had a trading post 
at the Delaware river and at Westfield. lie was 
treasurer of Connecticut from 1647 until his death 
in 1047, and was a justice of the peace from [642 
until his death. Joseph Whiting, a -on f the Major, 
settled in Westfield. but returned to Hartford about 
]<»75, and was treasurer of Connecticut for thirty- 
nine years, from 1678 to 171 7. when he was suc- 
ceeded to the office by his son Col. John Whiting, 
who held it for thirty-two years. As might be ex- 



pected, the families into which these early Whitings 
married were of the first of New England. Joseph 
Whiting's first wife, Mary, was a daughter of John 
1'vnchon, and granddaughter of William Pynchon, 
one of the founders of Springfield, Mass., whose 
wife, Ann, was a daughter of Hon. George 
Wyllys ; and his second wife, Anna, a daughter of 
Col. John Allyn. Col. John Whiting married Jeru- 
sha, daughter of Richard, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Lord, one of the first settlers of Hartford. 

Francis Henry Richards, the subject proper of 
this review, passed a part of his time during his 
early youth on the old homestead founded by his 
great-grandfather, Capt. Aaron Richards, in New 
Hartford during the period of the Revolution, and 
which in large part continues to be held by the fam- 
ily. Our subject's early training in the English 
branches and letters was held in the neighborhood 
district school, and at a private school in New Hart- 
ford. Descended from a race of farmer-mechanics, 
he exemplified in a marked degree that self-reliant 
spirit of the early pioneers, who never hesitated to 
attempt what needed to be done. What better 
training-school ever existed than the old-time New 
England homestead, with its ample fields and build- 
ings, and the shop where the husbandman and his 
boys worked the farm together in the summer, and 
in the winter carried on the manufacture of all that 
the farm and home required? 

Inheriting inventive genius from his ancestors, 
who taught and practiced the theory that a mechanic 
should always be able to make his own tools, young 
Richards, at the age of fifteen, began inventing and 
building machinery, and from that time to the pres- 
ent he has been actively engaged in the development 
of mechanical industries. In 1865 his father and 
family removed to New Britain, where its head was 
in charge of the Machinery department of the Stan- 
ley Rule & Level Works, an establishment with 
which he still retains his connection. In these fac- 
tories the son began his career under the tutorship 
of his father, who himselfwas an ingenious mechanic 
and inventor. Already the son had shown great 
adaptability for new ideas in mechanics, and it was 
but a short time after he went to work in 
the plant named when he was found ex- 
perimenting with the construction of machin- 
erv of his own devising. By systematic study 
and application extending over a period of eight 
years, he acquired a practical and theoretical knowl- 
edge of the machine-building trades, including wood- 
working, forging, and the allied branches. I fe came 
to Hartford in 1882, and until [886 lie was connected 
with the great manufacturing concern of Pratt & 
Whitney. By this time his frequent tours for the 

1 ration of machinery and manufactures, and his 
knowledge of mechanics and experience as an inven- 
tor, together with a thorough study of patent law, 
1 '! fitted him for its practice as well as made him 
an expert engineer ; and from that time to this he has 
given much of his time in these lines, having an 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



55 



Conn. She was born in 1738, and died in 1790. 
Their children were : Lorrain, William, Aaron C, 
Daniel, Samuel, Ruth and Lucy. 

(VI J William Collins (2), son of William Col- 
lins, born in 1760, died in 1849. He married, in 
1783, Esther Morris, at Morris Point, near New 
Haven, Conn., where she was born in 1763. In 1783 
they located in Litchfield, Conn., and in 1822 moved 
to Illinois. She died at Collinsville, 111., in 1834. 
Their children were : Eliza, William M., Amos Mor- 
ris, Almira, Augustus, Anson, Michael, Maria, Will- 
iam and Frederick. When a lad of seventeen 
William Collins enlisted for service in the war of 
the Revolution. He was a private in a company 
commanded bv Capt. Humphrey, the regiment being 
under the command of Col. Jonathan Meigs. Later, 
in 1779, he served with his uncle, Augustus Collins, 
who was a major, serving as brigade major under 
Brig.-Gen. Ward. William was a deacon in the 
Church at Litchfield, Conn., while Lyman Beecher 
was pastor. 

1 VII) Amos Morris Collins, third child of Will- 
iam Collins (2) and Esther Morris, was born March 
30, 1788, in Litchfield, Conn. His father, a deacon 
in Dr. Lyman Beecher's Church, was a man of rec- 
ognized Puritan stamp. His mother was a descend- 
ant in a direct line from Thomas Morris, of the 
County of Essex, England. The Morris families of 
Connecticut and Massachusetts are without doubt 
descended from the Morris family of Roydon Parish, 
County of Essex, England. On April 30, 181 1, 
Mr. Collins was married to Mary Lyman, only 
daughter of Col. Moses Lyman, of Goshen, Conn. 
Their children were : William L., Morris, Erastus, 
Charles, Edward, Maria E., Henry and Mary F. In 
1810 Mr. Collins established himself in mercantile 
business in Blandford. Mass. In a few years he 
had turned into new channels the industry of that 
and large portions of the surrounding towns. The 
impulse which he crave was felt long after his death. 

In i8hj Mr. Collins removed with his family to 
Hartford, Conn. He and his wife united at once, 
by letter, with the First Church of Hartford, then 
under the pastorate of Rev. Dr. Hawes. Of the 
historic North Church Mr. Collins was one of the 
founders. He was chosen one of the deacons at the 
time of its organization in 1824, and retained the 
office until his death. 

In 1827 Mr. Collins erected the building which 
at the time of his death was occupied by Collins 
Brothers & Company, in Asylum street. It is a 
scarcely credible fact that the idea of going so far 
out of the way was generally considered ridiculous, 
and sagacious men who survived Mr. Collins ac- 
knowledge that they thought he had surely made a 
very great mistake. He retired from the mercantile 
business in 1N42, leaving it in charge of his sons. 

Mr. Collins' benevolence was systematic, as well 
as bountiful. For about twenty years before his 
death lie had taken the resolve not to lay up prop- 
erty. "All the great societies of Christian benefi- 
cence were aided by his bounty. In this manner he 



took the rewards of his beneficence into his own life, 
and grew by the Christly measures of his charities." 
He had always been to a marked degree actively in- 
terested in the general welfare of Hartford, and 
vigorously aided plans for its improvement and 
prosperity. At the time of the proposed extension 
into the Farmington valley of the Hartford & Prov- 
idence railroad he was chairman of the committee on 
subscriptions. He himself became as large a stock- 
holder as his means would permit, and personally 
superintended many of the labors incidental to the 
extension of the road. Mr. Collins was a member of 
the common council for several years ; was elected 
mayor in 1843, re-elected in 1845, an( l declined a 
third term which was pressed upon him. At the 
proposed erection of the Hartford High school he 
was appointed chairman of the building committee, 
and with a few others contributed liberal:)-. At its 
formation he became in great measure personally re- 
sponsible for its success. Mr. Collins was a zealous 
and working friend of the temperance cause, known 
as such from 1826. In its behalf he made excellent 
speeches in very nearly every neighborhood in a 
large circuit around Hartford. He was early an 
anti-slavrry man, the unpopularity of a good cause 
seeming to him a very good reason for helping it. 
The Free-Soilers once or twice ran him for Con- 
gress. In religious matters Mr. Collins had decided 
views, and he could clearly and strongly express 
them. He was firm, enthusiastic, and also well bal- 
anced and just. After his death, which occurred 
Nov. 10, 1858, his pastor Rev. Dr. Bushnell, said 
of him: "Deacon A. M. Collins was one of the few 
men or Christians who require to be noted as spec- 
ialties. He was among the land-mark characters 
of our city, and a man so positive in every sphere of 
action or counsel that the void which is made by 1 1 i >- 
death will be deeply felt, and for a long time to come. 

"There is almost nothing here that has not some- 
how felt his power, nothing good which has not 
somehow profited by his beneficence. Banks, saving- 
institutions, railroads, the singular anomaly of a 
large wholesale dry-goods trade which distinguishes 
1 1 art ford as an inland city, the city councils and im- 
provements, the city Missions and Sunday-schools, 
the Asylum for the Dumb, the Retreat for the In- 
sane, the Nigh School, the Almshouse, three at least 
of the churches, almost everything public, in fact, 
has his counsel, impulse, character, beneficence, and 
what is more, if possible, lii^ real work, incorporated 
in it. Whole sections of the city are changed by him. 

"But the Church was dearest to him of all 
There was never a better man to support and steady 
a Christian pastor 1 loved him as a friend, as 

what brother 'lid not? 1 took him f ir m besl coun- 
sel, I leaned upon him as a prop. Who can estimate 
the value of such a man ?" 

In the troubles that later befell the ( hurch, aris- 
ing from the charges of heresy concerning it^ 1 
tor, Mr. Collins with two other-, of its members were 
among the first to foresee the course to be pursued. 
In a paper addressed by him to the Hartford I 



50 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



tral Association, Air. Collins said: "We think it 
necessary :; ' :: * to take the position of an independent 
Church * : ' and have therefore withdrawn from 
our connection with the Consociation with which we 
united in our infancy." 

The following extract is from the tribute paid 
to Mr. Collins by Hon. Joseph R. Hawley in the 
Hartford Evening Press, of which he was editor at 
that time: "Positively, it is precisely true, and no 
unmeaning eulogy, if we say that the symmetry and 
strength of his physical man harmonized with his 
fine proportions as a Christian merchant, citizen, 
friend and neighbor. He was such an outgrowth of 
New England hills, schools and churches as we can 
point to with pride." 

( i ) William Lyman Collins, eldest son of Amos 
Morris Collins, was born at Blandford, Mass., Feb. 
10, 1812. For about thirty-five years he was con- 
nected with the mercantile interests of Hartford, 
first with the firm his father founded as A. M. Col- 
lins & Sons, and later as Collins Brothers & Com- 
pany. This firm was among the most prudent and 
reliable in New England, and so much confidence 
was reposed in it that, after the Civil war broke 
out, when banks and bankers were looked upon 
with suspicion, the house of Collins Brothers & 
Company was offered large sums of money, with- 
out security, by its correspondents. Mr. Collins 
was for many years a director in the City Gas 
Light Company, also in the Merchants Insurance 
Company, a member of the managing board of the 
Retreat, and was for a long time connected with 
the Society of Savings. The Park was one of his 
favorite projects, to which, as chairman of the 
Park Commissioners for a number of years, he 
gave his watchful attention, and Hartford is large- 
ly indebted to his refined tastes and persevering 
industry for the plans and laying out of this orna- 
ment to the city. He was one of the first pro- 
jectors of the Hartford & Wethersfield Horse rail- 
road. The Cedar Hill cemetery was another 
enterprise in which he felt deep interest, and 
the West End improvements were more due 
to him than to any other citizen. He was 
one of the foremost in establishing the Asy- 
lum Hill Congregational Church. In Mr. Col- 
lins' death, which occurred in Chicago. Nov. 15, 
[865, the city lost one of its most enterprising and 
public-spirited citizens. Mr. Collins was unosten- 
tatious, and the public at large could not know 
him as he was known and respected by business 
men who were constantly brought in contact with 
him. He was modest in all things, and purely un- 
selfish in all. His opinions were decided and sel- 

'1 at fault. I If delighted in liberal works, in 

encouraging all deserving charities, and no indi- 
vidual case which called for assistance, and was 
known to be worthy, was ever turned off unre- 
Iie\ 

1 'ii Nov. 1 |. [835, Mr. Collins married Harriet 
Pierson, daughter of Dr. Aaron Pierson, of 

nge, \. J. She died Jan. 15, 1871. To this 



union were born children as follows : Edward Pier- 
son, deceased; Mary Lyman, deceased; Ellen; 
Frances, widow of Dr. William H. Palmer, of 
Cleveland, Ohio, who died June 19, 187 1 ; Will- 
iam Pierson, deceased; and Alice, who on April 
28, 1 88 1; married Samuel Gurley Dunham, son of 
Austin Dunham. Their children: Ethel Collins, 
Alice Elizabeth, Sarah Root, Frances Collins, 
Austin and Beatrice Lyman. 

(2) Morris Collins was born Oct. 18, 1813, and 
died March 19, 1873. On Nov. 4, 1852, he mar- 
ried Martha Wickes Blatchford, daughter of Rev. 
John Blatchford, of Quincy, 111., and their chil- 
dren were : John Blatchford ; Frances Wickes, 
Amos Morris, Martha Blatchford, Alice Blatchford, 
and Richard Ely,. For his second wife Morris Col- 
lins wedded Hannah Adams, and they had one child, 
Henry Adams, born Feb. 6, 1866, who died Aug. 19, 
1867. 

(3) Erastus Collins, son of Amos Morris Col- 
lins, and father of Atwood Collins, was born 
Feb. 10, 1815. in Blandford, Mass. He came 
to Hartford with his father's family in 1819, 
and for years was associated with his father 
in the business described above. He was a prom- 
inent and trusted man in Hartford interests. He 
was a director of the JEtna. Insurance Company, 
and as chairman of its building committee he su- 
perintended the construction of the present fine 
brown-stone structure of that company on Main 
street, north of the /Etna Life building. He was 
also director and vice-president of the Hartford 
Hospital ; a director of the American School at 
Hartford for the Deaf ; an active and valuable 
school visitor; one of the projectors of the Hart- 
ford & Wethersfield Horse Railway Company ; a 
projector of the noble Cedar Hill cemetery, and 
a leader in the Young Men's Institute (now the 
Hartford Library). For two winters before his 
death he was especially active in philanthropic 
work. Mr. Collins was a true Christian ; in his 
own unostentatious way he lived the life he pro- 
fessed. His religious profession, made in his early 
youth, was in the old North Congregational 
Church (now, in another locality, the Park 
Church), in 1830 — about the time Dr. Spring was 
succeeded by Dr. Bushnell, we think, and having 
united with that Church he remained in it until the 
organization, in 1852, of the Pearl Street Church. 
He became interested therein, and was one of the 
founders. He became, when the Asylum Hill 
Church was founded, not merely a member, but 
one of its leading supporters, contributing at one 
time largely toward the extinguishment of the 
debt. It is to such men as he, and Roland Mather, 
that the Church has been indebted for much of 
its prosperity. Mr. Collins built up an admirable 
character in Hartford. It was a life work, but it 
is one which wins appreciation, when fellow citizens 
can view such a character through a long perspec- 
tive of philanthropic enterprises and abounding 
g< iod deeds. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



57 



Mr. Collins was first a clerk, and later asso- 
ciated with his father in the business of the great 
house which afterward became his own. That 
house took, among other accounts, that of the well- 
known Sprague prints. Later, on the failure of 
the A. & W. Sprague Mfg. Co., Collins & Fenn, 
bv a special arrangement, took all the product of 
the Sprague mills. This arrangement proved a 
safe and profitable one for the Hartford house, 
and, giving as it did the entire Sprague account to 
the Hartford house of Collins & Fenn, largely in- 
creased the business of the commission house. 
Mr. Collins was a cautious man, in business as in 
everything else. He went into no business trans- 
action without fully considering it from all points 
of view. He owned real-estate in Hartford, on the 
south side of Asylum street, between Main and 
Trumbull, and land on Asylum avenue, Atwood 
and Collins streets. He was also a large owner 
of gas stock and horse-railway shares, and other 
local securities. Toward the close of 1876 Mr. 
Collins retired from the active business of the 
house, with which he was so long connected, and 
afterward devoted his time largely to philanthropic 
enterprises. 

On Jan. 26, 1848, Mr. Collins was married to 
Mary Atwood, daughter of the late John M. At- 
wood, of Philadelphia. She died March 31, 1874, 
he on April 8, 1880. Their children were: (1) 
Henrietta A. was married Feb. 17, 1876, to Daniel 
Robinson Howe, and their children are Edmund 
D., Henrietta C, and Marjorie F. (2) Atwood, 
married on June 9, 1880, Mary B. Brace. Their 
children are Gertrude, Frederick S., Elinor B., 
Marion A. and Emily B. (3) Caroline Lyman, 
married, on March 9, 1886, Dr. Charles Whitney 
J 'age, superintendent of Middletown Hospital, and 
their children are Atwood C, Charles W., Jr., and 
Ruth Whitney. (4) William Erastus is referred 
to below. 

1 4) Charles Collins, born April 2, 1817, was 
married Sept. 1, 1840, to Mary Hall Terry, daugh- 
ter of Eliphalet Terry, of Hartford ; she died in 
1900; their children are: Lydia Coit married Will- 
iam Piatt Ketcham. Charles Terry married Mary 
Abby Wood; children, Charles, Clarence Lyman, 
Mary Terry and Arthur Morris. Clarence Lyman 
married Mary Louise Clark ; have one daughter, 
Edith. Arthur Morris died Jan. 3, 1861. Louise 
Terry married William Allen Butler, Jr. 

' 5 ) Edward Collin-, born Nov. 15, 1820, passed 
away Aug. 4, 1822. (6) Maria Elizabeth Collins was 
married May 13, 1846, to Rev. Caleb Strong, who 
died Jan. 3, 1847. (7) Henry Collins, born Jan. 7, 
[827, died Aug. 22, 1828. (8) Mary Frances Col- 
lin-. 

William Erastus Collin-, son of Erastus Collins, 
was born Oct. 10, [859. In [880 he graduated From 
the Hartford Public High School, and in 1884 from 
Williams College, after which he became connected 
with the editorial staff of the Hartford Courant. He 
was an ambitious and brilliant journalist, and his 



colleagues upon the newspaper state that "he pos- 
sessed industry, zeal, a real love of work, clever wit 
and an individual style, with a high ideal of journal- 
istic work, and was living up to it. He had read 
freely, traveled widely, and his range of information 
was large and his culture genuine. He had a home- 
loving nature, deeply devoted to his family, and the 
evident happiness of his domestic life was proverbial 
among his friends." He was an active member of 
the Congregational Church. His active, noble, manly 
and unselfish life was suddenly finished May 20, 
1893. On May 5, 1886, Mr. Collins married, at In- 
dianapolis, Eva Lee Steele, and they had one daugh- 
ter, Ruth Lee. 

HON. EDWARD WILLIAMS TWICHELL 
was born in the town of Southington Nov. 5, 1839, 
and is a descendant of Joseph Twichell, the com- 
mon ancestor of all who bear the name in this coun- 
try. 

Joseph Twichell came from England about 1630, 
and located in Dorchester, Mass., where he was ad- 
mitted as a freeman May 14, 1634. He probably 
died there. His son Benjamin removed from Dor- 
chester to Bogiston about 1663, and purchased 100 
acres of land in what is now Sherborn, Mass. Soon 
after this he moved to Lancaster, same State, where 
he is supposed to have died, or was killed by the In- 
dians. His son, Abiele Twichell, was born in No- 
vember, 1663, and was the father of Benoni Twich- 
ell, who was born about 1684, and was one of the 
thirty original grantees of Oxford, Mass. In 1722 
and 1 723 he was styled an inn-holder on the Oxford 
records, and between 1720 and 1740 was largely 
engaged in the transfer of real estate in Oxford and 
vicinity. Tn 1727 he purchased 100 acres of land in 
Woodstock, Conn., with a mansion in Oxford which 
he had previously owned, and in 1740 became pro- 
prietor of lands in Poquiog (now Athol), Mass. 
lie is supposed to have died in Killingly (now 
Thompson), Conn. On April 18, 1705, he married 
Hannah Allen. Their son, Joseph Twichell, mar- 
ried Elizabeth Thompson. Among their children 
was Isaac Twichell, who was born in Oxford, Mass., 
and about 1767 located in Southington, Conn., where 
he died Feb. 10, 1776. Isaac Twichell married De- 
borah Alcox, and they were the parents of Joseph 
Twichell, grandfather of our subject, who was born 
in Wolcott, Hartford county, July 15, 1769, ami died 
March T4, 1824. He first married Electa, daughter 
of Simeon Hopkins, of Wolcott, and for his second 
wife he married Phebe, daughter of Joseph and 
I'hebe 1 (fall) Atkins. The latter was the grand- 
mother of our subject. She died Dec. 5, 1823. 

( Mir subject's father, Edward Twichell, was born 
in Wolcotl Sept. 5, 1810, and was there reared and 
educated. In early manhood he located in Plants- 
ville, where he learned the tanner's and currier's 
trade with Timothy Higgins ; later, in partnership 
with his preceptor, he engaged in that business, 
and. branching out, also engaged in the manufacture 



58 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of leather belting. Retiring from that business in 
1850, Mr. Twichell embarked in the manufacture of 
carriage hardware with Henry D. Smith, under the 
firm name of H. D. Smith & Co., and was interested 
in that business up to the time of his death, in the 
spring of 1861. He married Selina D. Carter, a 
daughter of Reuben Carter, of Wolcott, and to them 
were born three children who reached years of ma- 
turity : Joseph Hopkins, a Congregational minister, 
who has been pastor of the Asylum Hill Congrega- 
tional Church of Hartford since its organization, in 
1865; Edward W\, our subject; and Sarah J., wife 
of Edmund A. Ware. 

The boyhood and youth of our subject were 
passed in Plantsville, and after attending the public 
schools for some time he was a student at Lewis 
Academy. From the age of seventeen to twenty 
years, after completing his education, he engaged in 
mercantile business in Laporte, Ind., but since 1861 
he has been connected with H. D. Smith & Co., of 
Southington, first as shipping clerk, then as book- 
keeper, and, since 1865, as treasurer of the com- 
pany. He is also a stockholder in and vice-president 
of the Southington Bank, and has been actively 
identified with the business life of the town. 

On Oct. 18, 1866, Mr. Twichell was united in 
marriage with Mrs. Sarah Louise Idarrison, a 
daughter of Martin and Sally (Moore) Frisbie, of 
Southington. They have one son, Reuben Carter, 
who was born Nov. 25, 1877, and graduated from 
Yale, a member of the class of 1900. 

In his political views Mr. Twichell is a Repub- 
lican, and he has served as assessor of his town for 
two years, and represented it in the State Legislature 
during the session of 1880. Fraternally he belongs 
to Friendship Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M.. of South- 
ington, of which his grandfather was also a member. 
He is an active and prominent member of the Plants- 
ville Congregational Church, of which he has been 
clerk since its organization in 1866. He is a man 
of excellent business and executive ability, is public- 
spirited and enterprising, and is quite popular in 
both business and social circles. 

GEN. LUCIUS A. BARBOUR, of Hartford, 
president of the Willimantic Linen Co.. and one of 
the prominent men of Connecticut, is a descendant 
en both sides from families who have been conspic- 
uous in the history of New England for over two 
and a half centuries. 

Gen. Harbour on his paternal side is in the eighth 
generation from Thomas Barber, the emigrant an- 
cestor, tin- line of his descent being through Lieut. 
Thomas, Samuel, John, John (2), John (3). and 
Lucius Barbour; and on his maternal side lie is in 
tin- ninth generation from Robert Day, one of the 
original proprietors of Hartford, the line of his 
enl being through Thomas, Samuel, Josiah, 
Gideon, Ambrose, Albert and Harriel Louise Day. 

1 I) Thomas Barber (spelled Barber, Barbor, 

Barbar, and Barbour, as variously written through 

probat records; the spelling Barbour was 



adopted by Henry, of this branch of the family ), 
the first of the name in New England, came to 
Windsor, Conn., in 1635, at the age of twenty-one, 
with the Saltonstall party, under Francis Stiles. 
He was a soldier from Windsor in the Pequot fight, 
and is mentioned in Mason's narrative. He married 
Oct. 7, 1640, and died Sept. ll, 1662. His wife, 
Jane, died Sept. 10, 1662. 

(II) Lieut. Thomas Barber, son of Thomas,, 
born July 14, 1044. married Dec. 13, 1660. Mary 
Phelps, born March 2, 1644, daughter of William 
Phelps, the emigrant, of Windsor, and his second 
wife, Mary (Dover ). He removed to Simsbury, 
where he built the first meeting-house. He died 
May 10, 1713. She died in 1687. 

(III) Samuel Barber, son of Lieut. Thomas, 
born May 17, 1673, married Dec. 17, 1712, Sarah,. 
Holcomb, born in 1691, daughter of Nathaniel Hol- 
comb and Mary (Bliss). He died Dec. 18, 1725, 
and she died in 1787, at the age of ninety-six. She 
removed from the old parish to W'est Simsbury in 
1738 with her four sons, Samuel, Thomas, Jona- 
than and John, and her daughters, Mercy and Sarah, 
the sons settling on the best lands in the Center 
School District. This family were among the ear- 
liest and most conspicuous settlers of West Sims- 
bury. 

(IV) John Barber, son of Samuel, born Dec. 
4, 1 719, married Jan. 22, 1746-47, Lydia Reed, 
born Nov. 18, 1726, daughter of Jacob Reed and 
Mary (Hill). He died in 1799, and his widow 
died in 1806. 

(V) John Barber (2), son of John, born Nov. 
29, 1749, married in 1773 Elizabeth Case, born 
April 20, 1752, daughter of Capt. Josiah Case and 
Esther (Higlev). He died Nov. 3, 1825. She 
died May 26, 1817. 

(VI) John Barbour (3), son of John, born 
Feb. 18, 1782. married (first) Oct. 13, 1803, De- 
light Griswold Case, born Oct. 15, 1783, daughter 
of Elisha Case and Delight (Griswold). She died 
April 13, 181 1, and he married (second) June 15, 
1812, Fanny Hunt, born Aug. 30, 1792, daughter 
of George Hunt and Jemima (Hollister). He died 
Xov. 24, 1865, Mrs. Barbour on Nov. 6, 1858. 

(VII) Lucius Barbour, son of John (3), born 
July 26, 1805, in Canton, Conn., married April 23, 
1840, Harriet Louise Day, born Feb. 2, 1821, daugh- 
ter of Deacon Albert Day and Harriet (Chapin). 
He died Feb. 10, 1873, she on Sept. 26, 1886. When 
about twelve or fourteen years of age he accom- 
panied his parents to Western New York, on their 
removal to that State. For a number of years suc- 
ceeding his majority lie was traveling in the South 
and West, where he was engaged in business and 
investing in Western land, particularly in the State 
of Indiana, lie finally located in Madison. Ind., 
of our city, and a man so positive in every sphere of 
and engaged in the wholesale dry-goods business. 
Subsequently he became interested in similar busi- 

at Cincinnati. * >hio. Along in the middle 
'forties he removed to Hartford, Conn., and ever 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



59 



afterward made that city his home, yet as a silent 
partner retained his interests in the business houses 
at Madison and Cincinnati. He possessed excellent 
business habits and ability, and in his undertakings 
prospered greatly. He was an upright man and a 
Christian gentleman, and was greatly esteemed and 
respected by the community in which he lived. 
He was a deacon in the Second Congregational 
Church of Hartford from 1858 to 1865, and in the 
First Church of the same denomination and city 
from 1869 until his death. He was a trustee of 
the Congregational Seminary ; and a director of the 
American Asylum for the Deaf and Dumb, and of 
the Charter Oak Bank. 

Lucius A. Barbour, son of Lucius Barbour, and 
the subject proper of this sketch, was born Jan. 26, 
1846, at Madison, Ind., and in infancy was brought 
to Hartford, Conn., by his parents, on their return 
to that city. Here his youth was passed in attend- 
ance in the public schools of the city, he being grad- 
uated from the high school in 1864. Later he 
became teller in the Charter Oak Bank, holding 
the position until 1870, when he resigned for the 
purpose of a contemplated two years' tour of travel 
in Europe. From boyhood young Barbour evinced 
a taste for military affairs, and it is perhaps in this 
line that he has been the most widely known 
throughout the State and Xew England. However, 
his business career has been equally brilliant. He 
enlisted Sept. 9, 1865, becoming a private in the 
Hartford City Guard, then attached to the First 
Regiment as Battery D. His military advancements 
were rapid, and received wide notice in the State, 
and he proved himself worthy of the promotions, 
his instincts and tastes entitling him to military 
leadership from the outset. Fie resigned from the 
Guard in 1871, but returned some years later, when, 
in February, 1875, he was chosen major of the 
First Regiment. He was elected lieutenant-colonel 
Dec. 29, 1876, and on June 26, 1878, was advanced 
to the command of the regiment. Col. Barbour 
was in command of tin- First at the Yorktown 
Centennial in 1881, and won a national reputation 
by the splendid efficiency and discipline which his 
organization displayed. In connection with the 
Yorktown Centennial the command visited Charles- 
ton. S. C, and gained the highest military praise. 
Archibald Forbes, the celebrated London war cor- 
respondent, paid a high tribute to Col. Barbour's 
command. The Colonel was one of the most pop- 
ular officers connected with the National Guard, 
and his selection later as adutant-general of the 
Slate met with universal satisfaction throughout 
Connecticut. He resigned the colonelcy of the First 
Nov. 12, 1884. His political affiliations have been 
with the Republican party, lie was a member of 
the House of Representatives in 1879, serving as 
tin- colleague of the late lion. Henry C. Robinson, 
and his legislative career was in keeping with the 
course which he had followed in other callings of 
life, and added to his reputation and popularity. 
Gen. Barbour was prominently identified with 



Battle Flag Day, being a member of the legislative 
committee which had the arrangements in charge. 
As a distinguished representative of the National 
Guard the General is honored throughout Con- 
necticut. Since 1884 he has been treasurer and 
president of the Willimantic Linen Co. of the city 
whose name it bears. He has the reputation of be- 
ing one of the ablest business managers in the 
Capitol City. His religious connections are with 
the First Congregational Church of Hartford. 

On Feb. 8, 1877, at Brooklyn, N. Y., Gen. Bar- 
bour was married to Miss Harriet E., born Dec. 2, 
1849, daughter of- Alfred Smith Barnes and Har- 
riet Elizabeth (Burr), Air. Barnes being of the 
well-known publishing house of A. S. Barnes & 
Co., of New York City. Mrs. Barbour died at 
Hartford, Conn., Nov. 8, 1899, universally beloved 
and lamented. Her children are : Lucius Barnes,, 
of Yale College, class of 1900; and Harriet Burr. 

The genealogy of the Day family in Gen. Bar- 
bour's line is as follows : 

(I) Robert Day came to Boston from Ipswich, 
County of Suffolk, England, in the "Elizabeth," 
in 1634, and became one of the original proprietors 
of Hartford, Conn. Fie married Editha Stebbins. 

(II) Thomas Day, son of Robert, the immigrant, 
married Oct. 2J, 1659, Sarah Cooper, daughter of 
Lieut. Thomas Cooper, who was killed by the In- 
dians at the burning of Springfield, Mass. He 
removed to Springfield, Mass., in 1658, and was the 
ancestor of the Day family in that State. 

(III) Samuel Day, son of Thomas, born in 
1 67 1, married in 1697 Mary (Marah) Dumbleton,. 
daughter of John Dumbleton and Lydia (Leonard). 

(IV) Josiah Day, son of Samuel, born in 1701, 
married in 1731 Elizabeth liliss, daughter of Pele- 
tiah Bliss and Elizabeth (Hitchcock), and resided 
in West Springheld, Massachusetts. 

(V) Gideon Day, son of Josiah, born in 1733, 
married in \yivz Elizabeth Duncan, daughter of 
Samuel Duncan and Sarah 1 Ingram). They re- 
sided in West Springfield, and later removed to 
Westfield, Massachusetts. 

(VI) Ambrose Day, son of Gideon, born in 
1767, married in 17*; [ Mary Ely, daughter of Na- 
than Ely and Silence (Morgan). 

(VII) Albert Day, son of Ambrose, born in 
T797, married in [819 Harriet Chapin, daughter of 
Frederick Chapin and Roxalany (Lamb), of Chico- 
pee. Mr. Day was a prominent business man of 
Hartford, of the firm of A. & C. Day, and Day,. 
Griswold & Co. He was a brother of the late ( al- 
vin Day. He was lieutenant-governor of Connec 
ticut, 1856-57. His children, besides Mrs. Lucius 
Barbour, were: Alberl F. and Charles G. 

ROGER SAMUEL NEWELL. This well- 
known attorney of Bristol, now serving as Judge 
of Probate and Judge of the Town Court, is a 
member of one of the pioneer families of Conn. 
cut, being a descendam of Thomas Newell, a na- 
tive of Herefordshire, England, who came to Con- 



60 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



necticut about 1640, locating- at Farmington, and 
of Elder William Brewster, who came in the "May- 
flower." Thomas Newell married Rebecca Olm- 
stead. and among their children was a son Samuel. 

Samuel Newell, the next in the line of descent, 
was an ensign in the militia. He married Mary 
Han. and had one son Samuel, born in 1686. 

Samuel Newell married Sarah Norton, and had 
a son Isaac, born in 171 1. 

Isaac Newell married Rachel Pomerov, and had 
a son Simeon, born in 1748. 

Simeon Newell was a captain in the Revolu- 
tionary army, and a member of the Society of the 
Cincinnati, his original certificate being now in the 
possession of our subject. He married Mercy 
Hooker, and had a son Roger S. Newell, of Farm- 
ington, Connecticut. 

Roger S. Newell, our subject's grandfather, 
married Naomi Hawley, and had the following 
children: Samuel P., the father of our subject; 
George, deceased; Henry, deceased, formerly a 
judge of the supreme court of California; Edward 
E., a resident of Bristol, Conn. ; and Cornelia H., 
wife of Charles H. Chapin, of Springfield, Mass., 
lately deceased. 

Samuel P. Newell was born Nov. 16, 1823, in 
Farmington, Conn., wdiere he acquired his elemen- 
tary education. Later he took a course in Yale 
University, and read law in the office of John 
Hooker, Esq., of Hartford, Conn. He was ad- 
mitted to the Bar in 1848, and shortly afterward 
removed to Bristol, where he practiced his pro- 
fession during the remainder of his life. He served 
as judge of probate, United States revenue col- 
lector for the district, and held other important 
public offices, and was also a director of the Na- 
tional Bank, the Savings Bank, and the Bristol 
"Water Co. Politically he affiliated with the Re- 
publican party. He died Jan. 2, 1888, widely hon- 
ored for his useful and well-spent life. On Oct. 
10, 1854, he married Miss Martha Judd Brewster, 
of Bristol, Conn., who survives him and still re- 
sides in Bristol. Five children were born to them, 
of whom our subject was the youngest. (1) Eliza- 
beth N. married John J. Jennings, and died Oct. 

17, 1888, leaving two sons, Newell and John J., Jr., 
who reside in Bristol. (2) Cordelia N., widow of 
I tarry W. Barnes, resides in Bristol. (3) Anita 
died in childhood. (4) Mary B. married Frederick 
I'.. Scudder, of New York City. 

Roger Samuel Newell was bron in Bristol, Oct. 

18, 1867, and received his academic education in 
the public schools of that town and of Hartford. 
He graduated from the Hartford Public High 
School in [886, from Yale University in 1889, and 

1 Yale Law School in 1891. He then read law 
in the office of John J. Jennlings, Esq., of Bristol, 
and in [891 was admitted to the Bar, after which 
he continuously practiced his chosen profession as 
a partner with his preceptor until the latter's death, 
April 1, [900. lie was the first clerk of the bor- 



ough of Bristol, in 1895 was elected judge of the 
town court, and in 1896 was elected judge of pro- 
bate, to succeed Elbert E. Thorpe, on the latter's 
decease. Socially he and his family are prominent, 
and he is a member of Franklin Lodge, No. 56, F. 
& A. M., and Pequabuck Chapter, R. A. M. In pol- 
itics he is a Republican, and in religious belief a 
Congregationalist. 

Mr. Newell was married in Bristol, Sept. 25, 
1895, to Miss Adaline Birge, daughter of Senator 
John and Mary A. (Root) Birge. 

GEN. JAMES T. PRATT (deceased. Long 
prominent in the business life of Hartford and in the 
public affairs of the State, Gen. Pratt was one of 
the best-known men in Connecticut politics. 

A son of Capt. John Pratt, of Middletown, he 
was born in 1802, in that part of the town from 
which Cromwell has since been formed. As a boy 
he came to Hartford, and served as a clerk first in 
the dry-goods store of J. B. Hosmer, and later in 
that of Robert Watkinson. About 1824 young Pratt 
started in the jobbing and commission business, the 
pioneer of this branch of the dry-goods business, 
which has since grown to such proportions. He was 
associated with E. G. Howe and Rowland Mather, 
the firm name for a time being Pratt, Howe & 
Mather, and afterward becoming Howe, Mather & 
Co. Young Pratt was full of life, and a natural 
leader. In a private letter he wrote two years be- 
fore his death, regretting his inability to attend the 
Foot Guard reception to the governor, he thus ex- 
pressed himself: "I joined the Horse Guard about 
1820, and attended the 'Election Ball' of that year; 
danced with Miss Boardman, of New Milford, a 
a sister of the late Hon. William W. Boardman, of 
New Haven, a ladv of rare accomplishments. At that 
time Daniel Buck commanded the Horse,and Richard 
Goodwin the Foot. I was chosen commander of the 
Horse on the 4th of Juh, 1826, the fiftieth anniver- 
sary of American Independence. The late Ma j. James 
Goodwin (father of the Rev. Francis Goodwin) 
succeeded me in command of the company. His 
brother, Jonathan Goodwin, commanded the Foot 
at the same time. There is not a man living who 
was a member of the Horse when I enlisted or when 
I was elected Major. The world moves." Young 
Pratt served as major of the Horse Guard from 
1826 to 1829; in 1834 he was elected major of the 
First Regiment of Cavalry; in 1836 he was colonel 
of the regiment; from 1837 to 1839 he was brig- 
adier-general commanding the first brigade; from 
1839 to 1846 he was major-general commanding the 
first division; and in 1840-47 quartermaster-gen- 
eral. His service with the State troops in various 
positions covered a period of more than a quarter of 
a century, and, largely owing to his efforts, the mil- 
itary force of the State was greatly increased in 
efficiency. There was no other man living at the 
time of Gen. Pratt's death who had given as much 
unselfish labor to this important part of the State's 
service. 





CU^L^ 



cTX*" 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



61 



Before finishing his military service Gen. Pratt 
had acquired a fortune sufficient for his wants, and 
about this time he retired from business and pur- 
chased a farm in Rocky Hill, known as the John 
William place. Always a Democrat of the old- 
fashioned Jacksonian type, he was sure, with his 
temperament, to take an active interest in politics. 
He represented Rocky Hill in the Legislature in 
1847, 1848 and 1850, and again in 1857 and 1862. 
In 1852 he served in the Senate, representing" the 
old First District. He was a very frequent dele- 
gate to Democratic State Conventions, and with his 
white overcoat and his impetuous manner, both of 
which he retained as long as he lived, became a con- 
spicuous and influential figure. He was a represen- 
tative from his district in the XXXIIId Congress 
(1853-55), and in 1858 and 1859 was the Demo- 
cratic candidate for governoi, being defeated by 
Gov. Buckingham. He confidently expected to be 
nominated in i860, but in the meantime his old-time 
friend and companion, Thomas H. Seymour, for 
whom he had done very many acts of kindness and 
friendship, returned from the Russian mission, and 
was at once suggested as the man to be nominated 
in the emergency. Gen. Pratt at once wrote him, 
offering to withdraw in his favor from a canvass in 
the convention. Col. Seymour politely and pos- 
itively declined to accept the sacrifice (says Dr. 
Rufus W. Griswold in his "History of Rocky Hill"), 
and wrote Gen. Pratt that he would not be a candi- 
date under any circumstances. Nevertheless Sey- 
mour was nominated and accepted. This put an end 
for years at least, to an old friendship, for the Gen- 
eral was as strong in his prejudices as in his friend- 
ships. The same convention which nominated Sey- 
mour elected Pratt a delegate to the National Con- 
vention of Charleston. This was at the time when 
the secession conspiracy was just beginning to lift 
its head. Gen. Pratt represented the old-type Dem- 
ocrat, who looked upon the Free-Soilers as imprac- 
ticable cranks, and upon the Abolitionists as sons 
of Belial. He regarded slavery as a human patri- 
archal institution, which had always existed, and he 
regarded those at the North who were making a 
crusade against it as disturbers of the peace. But 
he was a Union man to the core, and, when he found 
the Charleston convention dividing upon lines look- 
ing toward disunion, he did not hesitate a moment, 
but planted himself fair and square on the Union 
side. When it came to the question of breaking with 
the Southern wing — or rather head — of the party, 
or of lending countenance to the infamous work 
of the conspirators, Gen. Pratt's views were not un- 
certain. He voted for Douglas, and when threat- 
ened treason became a reality in the secession move- 
ment he became one of the foremost leaders of the 
war Democrats of the State. Rufus W. Griswold, a 
long-time friend and neighbor of Gen. Pratt, writes 
especially of this period of his life: "I was much 
with Gen. Pratt at this time, and more fully in his 
confidence than any other person. T recall many 
long talks with him between the adjournment of 



the convention at Charleston and its meeting again 
at Baltimore, and especially just before the re-as- 
sembling, when it was concluded that, as lovers of 
the common weal rather than as partisans, the patri- 
otic Democrat had gone as far in support of the de- 
mands of the South as could be rationally expected, 
and that when more was demanded it could not be 
granted. Thereafter there was no more earnest 
supporter of the Union cause than this old Jack- 
sonian Democrat." Elected to the House of Repre- 
sentatives in 1802, he no longer recorded himself 
a Democrat but a "Union" man, and for ten years 
he acted more with the Republicans than with the 
Democrats. Afterward, when in 1870 and 1871 he 
represented Wethersfield in the Legislature, he 
styled himself in politics an "Old-school Democrat." 
Recognizing his fidelity to the "Union," as well as 
his standing as a Democrat, Gov. Buckingham ap- 
pointed him a delegate to the Peace Convention 
which was held at Baltimore, with the vain hope 
of preventing actual conflict. 

Some twenty years before his death Gen. Pratt 
removed from Rocky Hill to Wethersfield, where 
he afterward enjoyed a serene old age, taking an 
active interest in public affairs until near the end of 
life. Personally he was a firm friend, and a stanch 
but always open enemy. He was positive and opin- 
ionated, somewhat emphatic in expressing his views, 
especially if opposed or contradicted. But he was 
thoroughly honest, earneotly patriotic, straight- 
forward in all his courses, generous to the poor, lib- 
eral and public-spirited. He was probably the most 
prolific letter-writer in the State, corresponding with 
almost every one of any prominence in either party. 
And he was nearly as forcible in his manner of ex- 
pressing himself on paper as in the convention or 
legislative hall. Fraternally he was a member of 
the F. & A. M., St. John's Lodge, No. 4, Hartford. 
He died April 11, 1887, and was buried at Indian 
Hill, Middletown. 

On Nov. 29, 1840, Gen. Pratt was married to 
Lutitia Juliette llollister, of South Glastonbury, 
Conn., and children as follows were born to this 
union: James Elijah, deceased in infancy; Laura 
Louise, also deceased ; James Timothy, sketch of 
whom follows; Elizabeth C, widow of Ernest Dem- 
ing, late of Middletown; Ellen Woodward, living 
in 1 iartford ; Fanny Wendell, deceased; and John, 
connected with the New York Herald, with resi- 
d( nee in New York City. 

James T. Pratt was born in Rocky Hill, t !onn., 
in 1 85 1, and there passed the earlier years of his life, 
his education being received mainly at St. Paul's 
school, Brookfield. For live years thereafter he 
clerked for Wetherby, ECnous & Pelton, dry-goods 
merchants, Hartford, passing the subsequenl five 

rs in the railway mail service. Returning to 
Hartford, twenty-one years ago, Mr. Pratt engaged 
in t lie undertaking business with W. R. Morgan, 
the firm being Morgan & Pratt, and upon the retire- 
menl of Mr. Morgan from the business Mr. Pratt 
conducted the concern alone for some eighteen 



02 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






months, since when the style of the firm has been 
Trail & Johnson. 

In 1894, in Wethersfield, Conn., Mr. Pratt was 
married to Miss .Mary L., daughter of Dr. Abner 
S. Warner, of that town, and they have two chil- 
dren : James T., Jr.; and Lucia Elizabeth. In his 
fraternal associations Mr. Pratt is a Thirty-second 
degree Mason, and a member of the Shrine; is 
also affiliated with the I. O. O. F., Connecticut 
Lodge, No. 93 ; and with the K. of P., Washington 
Lodge, No. 15. 

CONE FAMILY of Hartford. This family is 
an old and prominent one in Connecticut, and sev- 
eral members thereof, closely related to the late 
William R., Sylvanus F., and Deacon Joseph E. 
Cone, of Hartford, have figured in the professional 
and mercantile history of that city through two 
thirds of a century. 

The American ancestor of this branch of the 
family was Daniel Cone, who, with three of his 
sons — Daniel, Jared and Stephen — came in 165 1 to 
this country from Edinburgh, Scotland, the voyage 
being made in the ship "John and Sarah." They 
located first in Massachusetts (where was born another 
son, Caleb), thence in 1657 removing to Haddam, 
Conn. From there they came in 1685 to East Had- 
dam, which locality became the permanent home 
of many of their descendants. Daniel Cone, Sr., 
was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, and died in Had- 
dam, Conn., Oct. 24, 1706. He was one of the 
original twenty-eight who for twenty-eight red 
coats bought from the Indians what is now the 
county of Middlesex. His second wife was the 
widow of Richard Walkley, of Haddam. 

Slyvanus Franklin Cone, father of the late Jo- 
seph Henry Cone and Col. William E. Cone, who 
for many years as partners carried on successfully 
a rirst-class hardware business on Asylum street, 
Hartford, where it has since been continued under 
the old firm name by Col. Cone, was born Aug. 
24, 1813, in East Haddam, Conn., a son of Joseph 
W. and Mehitabel S. (Swan) Cone, who died March 
4, 1848, aged seventy-three, and Sept. 11, 1849, 
aged seventy-one, respectively, both being buried in 
tin- cemetery at West Hartford Center. Sylvanus 
F. Cone came to Hartford in 1835, and passed the 
rest of his lifetime in that city, where he was a 
ul, honored and respected citizen. He always 
a warm interest in public affairs, rarely if 

r failing to exercise his rights as a citizen. For 
many years he was a member of the board of 
linen of the town, also served as assessor, and 
iher offices of trust, always performing his 
duties with scrupulous fidelity. He was possessed 
of a most genial and kindly disposition, retaining 
outhful feelings and appearance to a wonder- 
ful degree to the very last. lie died on June 30, 
1879, ' '' ( 1 an d beloved by a large circle of 

friends and acquaintances. I lis first wife, formerly 
Miss Sarah A. Miller, to whom he was married 



in April, 1835, passed away Aug. 28, 1849. Their 
children were as follows: Joseph H. (a sketch of 
whom follows), Sarah A., and Augusta M., all 
three deceased ; Augustus F., a resident of Toledo, 
Ohio; William E., in Hartford; and Helen M., 
deceased. For his second wife Slyvanus F. Cone 
married Dec. 11, 1850, Delia M. Barnard, of Hart- 
ford, and two children graced their union : Ella 
Barnard, wife of Charles W. Pratt, a sketch of 
whom follows : and John Barnard. 

Joseph Henry Cone, who died at his home in 
Hartford July 7, 1892, was born in 1836, in the 
old Cone homestead on Farmington avenue, Hart- 
ford, and was a lifelong resident of that city. He 
was educated at the public schools, and at West 
Hartford Academy, a famous school half a century 
ago. Early in life he entered the hardware store 
ot George M. Way & Co., there learning the busi- 
ness. In 1861 he entered into partnership with the 
late Roderick Terry, the firm name being Terry & 
Cone. When Mr. Terry retired the firm became J. 
H. & W. E. Cone by the admission of Mr. Cone's 
brother, Col. William E. Cone. In 1872 they pur- 
chased and remodeled the building at Nos. 87-89 
Asylum street, which the firm occupied, and where 
they afterward remained. 

Joseph H. Cone never held public office, al- 
thougn he was always prominent in business life. 
He was a man of rather retiring disposition, much 
attached to his family, by whom he was regarded 
as an affectionate husband and kind, indulgent 
parent. Nearly two years prior to his death he re- 
tired from the active business of the firm of which 
he was a member, although still retaining his in- 
terest in the same. He married Martha I. Mix, 
daughter of the late John G. and Clarissa (Isham) 
Mix, of Hartford, and she and her son, Henry F., 
and two daughters, Clara M. and Lillian C, sur- 
vive. 

Charles W. Pratt, of Hartford, is a direct de- 
scendant in the eighth generation from Lieut. Will- 
iam Pratt, who, with Rev. Thomas Hooker, was one 
of the first settlers of Hartford, tracing his line of 
ancestry through Charles A., William A., Deacon 
Timothy, Timothy, Isaac, and John to Lieut. Will- 
iam., the first settler. 

(I) Lieut. William Pratt came to Newtown, 
Mass., in 1633, thence moving to Hartford, Conn. 
In June, 1636, he married Miss Elizabeth Clark, 
daughter of John Clark, of Saybrook, Conn. He 
was deputy at the General Court for twenty-three 
sessions. He died in 1678. 

(II) Ensign John Pratt, eldest son of the above, 
was born Feb. 20, 1644. He married June 8, 
1668, Sarah Jones, daughter of Thomas Jones, of 
Guilford, Conn. He was a large land owner in 
Saybrook, and also in Hebron, Conn. He was a 
blacksmith by trade, and a man of prominence, and 
for several terms was the representative of his town 
in the Legislature. He died in 1726. 

(III) Isaac Pratt, son of John, was born June 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



63 



[6, i<>77. and died in 1733. He married Mary 
Taylor. 

(IV) Timothy Pratt, son of Isaac, was born 
Jan. 20, 1713. He married Sarah Parker. 

(X ) Deacon Timothy Pratt, son of Timothy, 
was born Oct. 17, 1748. In 1775 he married Sarah 
Shipman. For many years he was a deacon of the 
Congregational Church at Saybrook, and he was 
an exemplary Christian. He died Sept. 12, 1823; 
Mrs. Pratt died Jan. 2, 1817. 

(VI) William Augustus Pratt, son of Deacon 
Timothy, was born Oct. 9, 1791, and was a car- 
penter and builder at Saybrook. On Dec. 2, 1817, 
lie married Sarah Lynde. Pie. died March 3, 1850, 
she on Feb. 13, 1840. Issue: Elizabeth, Sarah, 
William, Lynde, Charles Augustus, and John Heber. 

(VII) Charles Augustus Pratt, son of William 
Augustus, was born March 21, 1826, and has all 
his life been a carpenter and builder in Saybrook, 
Conn. On April 1, 1849, ne married Mary E. 
Randall and children as follows have come to 
them: Sarah Elizabeth, born Jan. 6, 1850, married 
to John Rankin, of Saybrook ; Charles William, 
born Dec. 8, 185 1 ; Isabella, May 29, 1853; George 
Augustus, Oct. 3, 1855 (resides in Hartford)"; Mary 
Amelia, Jan. 6, 1859, married to K. N. Bill; Ed- 
ward Burt, May 4, 1861 ; and Frank Sterling, Oct. 
3, 1867. 

(VIII) Charles W. Pratt spent his early school 
days in Saybrook, and at the early age of ten 
years became the mail carrier for that village, which 
position he filled four years. When fifteen he began 
clerking for Augustus Bushnell, at Westbrook, 
Conn., remaining with him some three years; at 
the age of eighteen he came to Hartford to fill the 
position of clerk in the old "Bee Hive" store. In 
1887 he engaged in the ladies' dress and cloak busi- 
ness in partnership with a Mr. Sage, under the 
firm name of Pratt & Sage, which continued a 
couple of vears, and since 1889 the firm name has 
been C. W. Pratt. 

On Sept. 10, 1879, Mr. Pratt was married to 
Ella 1 laniard Cone, daughter of Slyvester F. 
Cone, as above, and children as follows have graced 
their union: Charles Franklin, born Sept. 10, 1880; 
and Warren Cone, born Jan. 31, 1888. 

JAMES CPIURCPI PRATT, a well-known 
lent of West Hartford, whose home is at No. 
700 Farmington avenue, was born in Hartford 
March 17, 1838, and traces his ancestry back to 
John and Elizabeth Pratt, the progenitors of the 
family in America. (II) John Pratt, their son, 
married ITepsibah Wyatt, a daughtier of John Wy- 
att. and died in 1687. (Ill) John Pratt, the third 
<<\ that name, was born May 17, 1661, and married 
Hannah Sanford. (IV) William Pratt, born in 
1691, married Amy Pinney, and died Jan. 16, 1753. 
(V) Joseph Pratt, born in 1742, was married in 
1767 to Susannah Caldwell, and died Oct. 14, 
1814. 



(VI) Josleph Pratt, born in Hartford June 6, 
1779, was the grandfather of our subject. He was 
a Democrat in politics, and served as postmaster 
of Hartford at one time. He died in Opelousas, 
La., March 6, 1852. On Dec. 10, 1802, he was mar- 
ried to Fanny Wadsworth, and after her death he 
married Charlotte Wadsworth, Dec. 6, 1839. He had 
thirteen children: Susan Ann, born Oct. 19, 1803, 
married Timothy Allyn, and died in 1888 ; Algernon 
Sidney, born May 30, 1805, died Feb. 28, 1809; 
Esther, born May 13, 1807, died March 4, 1809; 
Mary, born 1808, died in 1809; Edward, born Jan. 
18, 1810, died Oct. 31, 1810; Joseph, the father of 
our subject, was next in the family; Harriet, born 
Nov. 10, 1814, married Moses Cook, and died in 
1862; John G., born March 31, 1817, married (first) 
Adella B. King, and (second) Mary Ann Hall, and 
died in 1866; Mary Esther, born Sept. 6, 1819, died 
in 1887; Frances, born Sept. 3, 1821, died in March, 
1826; Edward, born Aug. 15, 1824, died Aug. 24, 
1850; Ellen Frances, born Feb. 15, 1826, died Feb. 
4, 1848; and Jeremiah, born in 1828, died the same 
year. 

(ATI) Joseph Pratt, father of our subject, was 
born in Hartford, Nov. 8, 181 1, and was educated 
in the schools of that city. On attaining man's 
estate he engaged in farming in the town of Hart- 
ford, until forty years of age, when he became in- 
terested in the lumber business for one year. He 
took quite a prominent and influential part in public 
affairs ; was a member of the city council, street 
superintendent for a year, and also chief of the 
fire department. After the Civil war he affiliated 
with the Republican party. He married Abigail 
Prior Church, who was born Oct. 12, 1812, a 
daughter of James Church. Only one child was 
born of this union, James Church Pratt. 

(VIII) James C. Pratt spent his early boyhood 
at the farm on Windsor avenue, until eight years 
of age, when he accompanied his parents on their 
removal to Hartford, and there attended public 
school until sixteen years of age, when, his health 
failing, he went to Louisiana to visit his grand- 
mother and an uncle, who lived there, in the hope 
of regaining his strength. He made his home there 
until the outbreak of the Civil war, when he entered 
tin- Confederate service, and for a time served as 
captain of a company in a Louisiana regiment. He 
was taken prisoner in the fall of 1863, and in March, 
[864, returned to the home of his childhood at 
Hartford, a paroled prisoner of war. After the 
close of the war Ik- remained at home with his par- 
ents, and later engaged in mercantile business, con- 
tinuing the same for about ten years, when he re- 

i. IK- became a member of the Governor's 

i ( iuards in 1867, and has retained his member- 
ship, being now with one exception the oldest in 
active service. He was promoted from private 
through all the grades to captain, and now, at the 
age of sixty-two, is carrying a musket. He has been 
a resident of West liar! ford for the past twelve 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



65 



I Shields) Stedman, he a native of Hartford, and 
-die of Philadelphia, descending from old substan- 
tial families there, one of which, on her mother's 
side, was the Jackson family. The paternal grand- 
father of Gen. Stedman, who also bore the name of 
Griffin, was a native of Hampton, Conn., and was 
there engaged, and afterward in Hartford, in the 
lumber business, the old family homestead in Hart- 
ford being located on Morgan street. He was one 
of the prominent men of Hartford of his day; was 
very active in religious work, identified with Christ 
Episcopal Church, and assisted in building the pres- 
ent church edifice that stands on the corner of 
Main and Church streets. He died at the age of 
seventy years. Gen. Stedman 's father was also 
active and prominent in the councils of Christ Epis- 
copal Church.- He was major <in the old Governor's 
Foot Guard, a military organization of historic 
origin and of considerable local note, and also had 
a brother, Edmund Stedman, who served in that 
organization in the same rank. This Edmund Sted- 
man was the father of the New York gentleman of 
the same name known widely as a poet and critic. 
From the inscriptions on the tombstones marking 
the graves of the parents of Gen. Stedman it is 
learned that his father was born in 1810 and died 
in 1883, and that his mother was born in 181 5 and 
died in 1877. The children born to this couple 
were Mary Ada. now Mrs. Charles W. Johnson, of 
Hartford; Griffin Alexander, our subject; Eliza- 
beth Shields ; Robert Shields, now a practicing phy- 
sician in Xew York; Ernest Gordon, now a lawyer 
of Xew York : and Edmund Ap( )wen. 

Gen. Griffin A. Stedman, the subject proper of 
this sketch, passed his youth and early manhood in 
his native city. His education was received in 
the schools of which Hartford is so justly proud, 
he graduating from Trinity College June, 1859. He 
began reading law in Philadelphia, entering the 
office of S. II. Perkins, a leading lawyer of that 
city. When the attack on Sumter was made he at 
once joined the Washington Greys of that city, but 
on learning that Col. Colt, of Hartford, was rais- 
ing a regiment for the Fourteenth {'. S. Infantry. 
he exchanged to that command in May, 1861, just 
as it was taking up its quarters on the very grounds 
which are now marked by this young hero's statue. 

Realizing amid all the excitement and enthusi- 
asm of the time how poorly we were prepared for 
the struggle, that war was a science, that numbers 
and bravery could not win battles unless directed by 
intelligence and skill, young Stedman devoted him- 
self with untiring energy to acquire a knowledge of 
his new calling, lie early showed such aptitude 
and ability as to attract the attention of Major 
Baker of the regular army, in charj the instruc- 

tion of the battalion, who recommended him for a 
commission. 

The enterprise of Col. Colt was not successful, 
the battalion v banded and the Fifth regimenl 

of Connecticut Volunteers was called for by the 
governor, who in recognition of Stedman's qualifi- 



cations commissioned him as captain of Company 
I. He left Hartford July 29, 1861, with the regi- 
ment which was assigned to duty under Gen. Banks 
in the department of the Shenandoah. The regi- 
ment was at once called upon to make a series of 
long and rapid marches up and down the Potomac 
to cover threatened points, earning for itself the 
designation of "foot cavalry," and becoming thor- 
oughly acquainted with guard and out-post duty in 
face of the enemy; Stedman availed himself with 
alacrity of these opportunities for improvement, 
arid so impressed Col. Ferry with his ability that he 
was selected to command a detachment sent across 
the Potomac to cover the retreat of our forces after 
the disaster at Ball's Bluff. He received great 
credit for the effective manner in which he per- 
formed this service, ft is a difficult and delicate 
mission, and seldom accomplished without sacrific- 
ing a portion of the picket line on withdrawal. 
Stedman withdrew the picket line himself, and 
brought back every man. 

In November, 1861, Capt. Stedman was pro- 
moted to be major of the Eleventh, and served with 
the regiment under Burnside in the expedition to 
North Carolina, taking part in the capture of New 
Haven and the different affairs of the campaign. 
On June 11, 1862, he was promoted to lieutenant- 
colonel, and returned with the regiment to the 
Army of the Potomac, in time for the Antietam cam- 
paign. The regiment formed the advance guard in 
entering Frederick City, and was engaged at South 
Mountain. In the battle of Antietam Stedman had 
command of the right wing of the regiment in the 
attack on the Stone Bridge, and, after the death of 
the gallant Kingsbury, led in the charge by which 
it was captured. Here he was severely wounded, 
but refused to leave the field until the regiment; 
was relieved. 

< In Sept. 25, of that year, Stedman was made 
colonel, and was in command at the battle of Fred- 
ericksburg. Shortly afterward he was ordered to 
Newport News, then in March, [863, to Suffolk, 
where he took an active part in the defense dur- 
ing its investment by Longstreet. In June hi' par- 
ticipated in the demonstration on Richmond, and 
during the rest of the summer and fall was in gar- 

11 at Gloucester Point and Yorktown. In Jan- 
uary, [864, the regiment re-enlisted, and on its re- 
turn to the front was assigned to the Eighteenth 
cor])-: was engaged in the affair at Swift's Co 
Ma\ 0. and in the battle of Drury's Bluff, on the 
where he lost nearly two hundred nun. in 
pari of Maw Stedman succeeded to the 
commani de, and went with Gen. Smith's 

n of the Potomac in time to join 
in the bloody assault upon the enemy's line at C 
Harbor. On June 15 he was presenl at the cap- 
rtion of the > ! Pel rsburg, and 

iquently was 1 in the inve that 

place. I "1 Vugusl 5, jusl at the end of the at- 
tack which had been repuls d. and while talking with 
Gen. Ames he n eivecl his death wound. Repeat- 



6G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



edly recommended for promotion by his division 
and corps commanders for personal gallantry and 
effective service while leading his brigade, his com- 
mission as general reached him as his life was ebb- 
ing a\va\ . 

Such in brief outline was the career ot one of 
Connecticut's best and bravest sons. His country 
called, he gave her all he had, his life. The details 
that would round out the study of his service are 
woven in the records of the Fifth and Eleventh 
Connecticut regiments, and of his later commands. 
These records tell of many a well-fought field, of 
patient endurance, of weary march, of defeat and 
victory, and all illumined with the spirit of pa- 
triotic devotion and self-sacrifice. 

Gen. Stedman was possessed in a high degree 
of the qualities which mark the successful com- 
mander. Cool and collected he was always master 
of himself and of the situation, and inspired a con- 
fidence in those under him that was unbounded. 
Ever ready for any service, never complaining, al- 
ways setting an example of cheerful obedience to 
orders, and always exacting strict compliance with 
his own without in any degree being a martinet. 
By force of his personality he exerted an influence 
that was irresistible. He governed not so much by 
fear of punishment as by creating an ideal of duty 
which made every man feel the honor of the regi- 
ment was in his keeping, and that failure on his part 
would bring discredit on the command. Those 
who knew Stedman best loved him best. There was 
an indescribable something in his bearing and man- 
ner by which you realized that you had met a man. 
He was strong of heart and true of purpose, and 
withal tender as a woman, self-reliant, but always 
considerate of others. "Whom the Gods love die 
young." Lives are not like leaseholds measured by 
a term of years, achievement laughs to scorn 
the reaper death. If Stedman's years were few 
they sufficed to bring him honor and renown. He 
left a memory without a stain. He died for others. 
| The foregoing personal sketch of Gen. Stedman 
is in main taken from the oration of Col. W. S. 
I • gswell, delivered at the unveiling of the Sted- 
man monument at Hartford Oct. 4, 1900.] 

The shot that gave Gen. Stedman his mortal 
wound passed through his stomach. He lived until 
the following morning, dying Aug. 6, 1864. Gen. 
Ames, in announcing to Gen. Ord the fact of the 
receiving of the mortal wound, stated that he had 
lost one of the finest soldiers in the army. Gen. 
Stedman"- remains were sent under escort to New 
London, Conn., the summer home of the family, 
and Aug. 13, 1864, his body was temporarilv in- 
terred, with military honors, in Cedar Grove ceme- 
tery in that city. On Aug. 20, 1875. his remains 
were removed from New London to Marl ford, and 
reburied in the family lot in Cedar Hill cemetery, 
where they now repose, a handsome and elaborately 
sarcopl military design marking his 

last resting ( »n the base of the tomb appears 

the highly appropriate inscription: "Brave, just, 



generous and pure, without fear and without re- 
proach." 

On what is known as Campfield, in the southern 
part of the city of Hartford, there has just been 
erected by the Campfield Monument Association 
what is designated as The Campfield Monument. 
Campfield was made historic during the Civil war 
by its being the camping place and mustering-in 
point of many Connecticut regiments. To mark this 
field and commemorate the memories that cluster 
about it this monument was erected by the associa- 
tion, who likewise determined upon having it sur- 
mounted by a portrait statue of some typical Con- 
necticut volunteer, one whose military history was 
linked with the field, and it was unanimously decided 
upon that of Gen. Griffin A. Stedman. "The Com- 
mittee in charge has crowned the pedestal on which 
are inscribed the names of the regiments that were 
here mustered into service with a statue in bronze 
of one who was, in fullest measure, a type of the 
citizen soldier of the Republic. Of one who rep- 
resented in marked degree the patriotism, courage, 
determination, intelligence, and self-sacrifice that 
animated the great army by which the nation was 
preserved." The monument was unveiled Oct. 
4, 1900. 

JOHNSON. The Johnson family of Hartford, 
of which the late Gen. Nathan Johnson and descend- 
ants, among whom is Charles W. Johnson, yet a res- 
ident of the city, and family, and who in turn with 
his father has been identified with the legal profes- 
sion and courts of the county and State throughout 
the last century, is one among the oldest of New 
England families, and also one of prominence. 

William Johnson, the emigrant ancestor, sup- 
posed to have come from Heonehill, a parish near 
Canterbury, County of Essex, England, left Lon- 
don, England, in 1634, at the age of thirty-two, for 
America and settled in Charlestown, Mass., where 
he had three and one-half acres of land laid out to 
him in that same year, 1634. He and his wife 
Elizabeth were admitted to the church in Charles- 
town in 1635, and in March of that same year he 
was made a freeman. His death occurred between 
1677 and 1678, when he was seventy-six years of 
age. 

From this emigrant ancestor Charles \\ . John- 
son, of Hartford, is a descendant in the seventh 
generation, his line being through Jonathan. Will- 
iam (2), Isaac, Elisha and Gen. Nathan Johnson. 

ill) Jonathan Johnscn, son of William, the em- 
igrant, horn in 1641, settled in Marlboro, Mass., 
in 1662, where he had some thirty acres of land as- 
signed to him. He married Oct. T4. 1663, Mary, 
horn in 1044, daughter of Richard and Ann Newton, 
of Marlboro (the first marriage recorded in the 
town 1. Jonathan was for several years the school- 
master, and was the first master in the first school- 
house erected in the town, in 1700. lie served as 
selectman, and died in 1712: his widow Mary passed 
away in 1728. The handwriting oi Jonathan John- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



67 



son, samples of which exist in deeds and other doc- 
uments, indicates a man of education, marked indi- 
viduality and force of character. He wrote his 
will hut a few days before his death at the age of 
seventy-one, yet the bold, clear-cut letters would do 
credit to a professional penman. 

(Ill) William Johnson (2), son of Jonathan, 
born Dec. 15, 1665, married (first), about 1688, 
Hannah Larkin, who died in 1696, and (second) 
about 1699 wedded Hannah Rider. Mr. Johnson 
was chosen moderator of the first business town 
meeting, and took a prominent part in town affairs 
for many years, representing the town in General 
•Court, was constable and frequently served on im- 
portant committees, and from 1706-08, held the office 
of highway surveyor for Marlborough. He had a 
sawmill and gristmill in 1733. His death occurred 
in Southborough in 1754, when aged eighty-eight 
years. His widow died in 1757, when aged sev- 
enty-nine years. 

'(IV) Isaac Johnson, son of William (2), born 
in 1713, married, in 1733 or '35, Rachel Thomas, 
<laughter of Joseph Thomas (son of Rowland 
Thomas, of Springfield, and Sarah, daughter of 
Deacon Samuel Chapin) and Mary, first wife (?), 
or Elizabeth, second wife (?). Isaac was select- 
man in Southborough in 1761 and 1771. After 
having lived together as man and wife for sixty 
years, Mrs. Johnson died in 1794, aged eighty-four 
years, and Mr. Johnson in 1801, aged eighty-eight 
vears. 

(V) Elisha Johnson, sen of Isaac, born July 1, 
1753, married (first), in 1774, Abigail Newton, who 
dud iu 1776, and (second) he wedded, in 1778, 
Sarah Perry, daughter of Nathan (Josiah, John (2), 
John) and Hannah Fiske (Thomas, William, John, 
Nathaniel, the progenitor). Mrs. Sarah (Perry) 
Johnson died in 1847, and Elisha Johnson passed 
awav in 1832, aged seventy-nine years. Under the 
heading of "Southboro in the Revolution" in a pam- 
phlet from edition of Historical Sketches of that 
town by Deacon Peter Fay, it is stated that "South- 
"boro evinced a noble patriotism in the Revolutionary 
war, sending a large number of minute-men to the 
-opening conflict," and in the company of Capt. Jo- 
siah Fay, which on Nov. 8, 1774. was ordered "to 
appear in the Common training field by the Meet- 
ing House in said Southboro with their fire arms 
complete on the Ninth Day of this Instant Novem- 
"ber att eight of the Clock in the fournoon of Said 
Day then and thair Remain and Obay further or- 
ders," Elisha Johnson's name appears as a member 
of this company. 

(VI) Gen. Nathan Johnson, son of Elisha, and 
the father of Charles W. Johnson, of Hartford, was 
born Aug. 24, 1779, and was married in August, 
1818, to Sarah P.utler Merrill, born Fell. 1. 1796, 
died Dec. 3, 1888, in Ffartford, a daughter of Heze- 
kiah and Catherine (Collier) Merrill, of Hartford, 
and to the union were born children as follows: 
Elizabeth Sadler, born in 1819, married Rev. Will- 
iam E. Dixon, and died in 1861 ; Sarah Butler, born 



in 1821 ; Harriet N., born in 1822; Emily Merrill, 
born Nov. 26, 1824, married James H. Holcombe, 
of Hartford; Nathan Perry, born in 1827, died in 
1858; Laura, born in 1829; Charles W., born in 
183 1 ; and Catherine, born in 1834, died in 1835. 

(Hezekiah Merrill, in the foregoing, was the son 
of Capt. Hezekiah, who was in the fourth genera- 
tion from Nathaniel, the firjt settler, through John 
and Deacon Daniel Merrill ; and Catherine Collier 
was the daughter of Capt. Hezekiah Collier (2), 
who was in the fourth generation from Joseph Col- 
lier, the settler, through Joseph (2) and Capt. Heze- 
kiah (1), and she was also the great-granddaughter 
of Capt. Joseph Wadsworth, of Charter Oak fame. 
Hezekiah Merrill (2) was appointed cashier of the 
old Hartford Bank, the first bank of the place, at 
its organization June 16, 1792, and served as such 
officer until 1799 when he declined re-appointment. 
At an early period he had been an apothecary and 
bookseller at the sign of the "Unicorn and Mortar," 
a few rods south of the Court House, and subse- 
quently a merchant. He served as city treasurer 
from the time Hartford was incorporated as a city 
in 1784, until his death July 18, 1801. Mr. Merrill 
was the brother-in-law of Maj. Joseph Caldwell, the 
first president of the old Hartford Bank). 

Gen. Nathan Johnson received a liberal educa- 
tion, graduating at Yale College in the class of 1802, 
and on the death of his father, by a bequest, fell 
into possession of an equal share of the latter's 
library. He was prepared for the legal profession 
in the office of Chief Justice Oliver Ellsworth, in 
whose family he lived for some years, and from 
1808 to 1852 practiced law in Hartford, Conn. He 
was prominent in military affairs, served as a lieu- 
tenant in the war of 1812, and from 1816 to 1820 
we find him serving as colonel of the 2nd Regiment 
of Light Artillery, and from 1820 to 1828 as brig- 
adier-general of the artillery of the State. He also 
served as quartermaster general of the State. In 
those early days some notable general trainings of 
die First Brigade took place in Hartford, Wethers- 
field, Windsor and East Hartford, and there were 
also military displays on special occasions. In 1817 
three artillery companies under the command of 
( len. Johnson, along with other companies of the 
militia, were received in Hartford by President 
James Monroe. In 1824, on the occasion of Gen. 
La Fayette's visit to Hartford, some 1,200 sol- 
diers, artillery, cavalry and infantry, under the com- 
mand of Gen. Johnson escorted him with credit to 
the city. The visit of La Fayette was a long-re- 
membered holiday in Hartford, on which day nearly 
one hundred soldiers and officers of the Revolution 
were present and greeted the distinguished French- 
man with emotion, one of the features of the dav 
being the parade under Gen. Johnson. Again in 
1833 President Jackson and Vice-President Van 
Buren were similarly escorted by the militia. 

Genera! Johnson was also prominent in his pro- 
i' .-ion and in civic public affairs For sixteen vears 
he was town treasurer. He was clerk of the House 



68 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of Representatives of Connecticut in 1820, 1821 
and [822. In 1823 he was a member of the House, 
and from [825 to 1829, inclusive, of the Senate. 
At about this tune he was Fellow of Yale College, 
the corporation of Vale then consisting of the Gov- 
ernor of Connecticut, the Lieutenant-Governor and 
six senior Senators, besides the minister. At one 
time when his (the Democratic) party was in 
power, the General was offered the position and 
high honor of United States Senator, but with his 
large family and the salary of the position being- 
only $3,500 per year he felt he could not give up 
the law practice, and so declined that great honor. 
Jn 1827 Harvard conferred upon him the honorary 
degree of M. A. Gen. Johnson died at Hartford 
< >ct. 12, 1852, aged seventy-two years. 

(VII) Charles William Johnson, yet of Hart- 
ford, son of Gen. Nathan Johnson, was born Oct. 
7, 1831, in Hartford, where his life has been passed 
as an esteemed and respected citizen. He was here 
educated and prepared for the legal profession and 
was engaged in active practice of the law until the 
latter part of the "sixties, or early 'seventies, when 
he for a time became assistant clerk and soon after- 
ward clerk of the Supreme and Superior Courts 
at Hartford, and most intelligently and efficiently 
thereafter until 1897 performed the duties of such 
office. In his earlier years and prime, Mr. John- 
son was possessed of a brilliant mind and attracted 
to him socially the lights of the Hartford Bar, the 
most prominent of whom were his admirers and 
warm personal friends. His wit and sayings went 
the "rounds" and were not a little the subject of 
most favorable comment. 

In 1870 Mr. Johnson was married to Alary A. 
Stedman, daughter of the late Griffin A. and Alary 
Ap Owen (Shields) Stedman, of Hartford, and 
sister of the late Gen. Griffin A. Stedman, who fell 
at Petersburg, Va., during the Civil war, and a 
statue of whom now adorns the Capital city. To 
this marriage were born two daughters, Mabel and 
Eleanor. 

BULKELEY. Hon. .Morgan Gardner and Hon. 
William Henry Bulkeley, ex-governor and ex-lieu- 
tenant-governor, respectively, of Connecticut, and 
Airs. Leverett Brainard, of Hartford, children of 
the late Hon. Eliphalet Adams Bulkeley, are de- 
scendants of an old and honorable family of New 
England, being in the eighth generation from Rev. 
Peter Bulkeley, through Rev. Gershom, Rev. John, 
Hon. John, Eliphalet, John C. and Hon. Eliphalet 
Adams. 

(I) Rev. Peter Bulkeley, B. D., one of the origi- 
nators and firsl pastor of the church of Concord, 
.Mass., and identified with the town in all its inter- 
if the ninth generation from Robert Bulk- 
eley, Esq., one of tin- English barons who in the 
reign of King John was lord of the manor of Bulk- 

. in the County Palatine of Chester. Peter re- 
ceived a learned and religious education, suited to 
his distinguished rank, under the direction of his 



father, Rev. Edward Bulkeley, D. D. He arrived 
in Cambridge, Mass.. [634 or 1635. After a 
laborious and useful life at Concord he died March 
7, 1659, in his seventy-seventh year. He was twice 
married, having by his second wife, Grace Chit- 
wood, four children, one of whom, Gershom, was 
the next in the line we are tracing. 

( 1 1 ) Rev. Gershom Bulkeley, son of Rev. Peter 
Bulkeley, the Puritan settler of Concord, Mass.. 
born in 1636, was graduated from Harvard College 
in 1655. Jn 1659 he married Sarah Chauneey. 
daughter of President Chauneey, of Harvard, the 
emigrant ancestor of the name. She died in 1669. 
In 1661 Air. Bulkeley located at New London, Conn., 
as the second minister of the church in that place. 
He was installed pastor of the church in Wethers- 
held, in 1667, and continued pastor there ten years. 
He then devoted himself to the practice of medicine 
and surgery. He was appointed by the General 
Court in 1675, surgeon to the arm}- that had been 
raised against the Indians. While in this service 
he was attacked by the Indians, and received a se- 
vere wound in the thigh. As a clergyman he stood 
at the head of the profession, and he ranked among 
the first in medical science. Soon after devoting 
himself to the practice of medicine he located on the 
east side of the river, in what is now Glastonbury, 
and became quite a landowner. He died at Wethers- 
field in 1713. His children were Catherine, Doro- 
thy, Charles, Peter, Edward and John. 

(Ill) Rev. John Bulkeley, son of Rev. Gershom 
and Sarah (Chauneey) Bulkeley, married Patience 
Prentice, daughter of John and Sarah Prentice, in 
1701, and was the father of twelve children, lie 
was graduated from Harvard College in 1699, 
studied divinity, was ordained as pastor of the 
church in Colchester, Conn., in 1703, and took a 
high rank among the clergymen of his time. His 
children were: Sarah, one who died unmarried. 
John, Dorothy, Gershom. Charles. Peter, Patience. 
( Hiver, Lucy, Irene and Joseph. 

( IV) Hon. John Bulkeley, son of Rev. John and 
Patience (Prentice) Bulkeley, born April 19, 1705. 
was graduated from Yale College in 1725, studied 
law, and became eminent in his profession. In 1753 
he was elected an assistant, and onward for a period 
of ten years he was judge of probate, and held many 
important offices of trust, lie was twice married, 
first, in 1738. to Mary Gardner, who died in 1750. 
and second, in 1751, to Abigail Hastings. He was 
colonel of militia. He died in 1753. His children 
by his first marriage were: Lydia, Mary, John, Mary 
(2), Eliphalet, Lucy and Charles. 

1 Y ) Eliphalet Bulkeley, son of Hon. John and 
Mary I Gardner) Bulkeley, born Aug. 8, 1746, mar- 
ried Anna Bulkeley, of New Condon, in 1767. Their 
children were: Lydia A.. Mary A., John C. Pa- 
tience, Jonathan. Pettis, Eliphalet, Sarah. Fanny, 
Orlando and Julia. 

(VI) John Charles Bulkeley, son of Eliphalet 
and Anna Bulkeley, born Aug. 8. 1772. married 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



69 



Sally Taintor in 1798, and to the marriage were born 
children as follows : Charles E., John T., and Eli- 
iphalet Adams. 

(VII) Hon. Eliphalet Adams Bulkeley, son of 
John Charles and Sally (Taintor) Bulkeley, born 
Jan. 20, 1803, in Colchester, Conn., married Lydia 
S. Morgan, of Colchester, March 31, 1830, and died 
Feb. 13, 1872, in Hartford. Judge Bulkeley was 
graduated from Yale College in the class of 1824, 
and after his graduation studied law in the office of 
William P. Williams,, in Lebanon, Conn. In about 
1830 he removed to East Haddam, Conn. He prac- 
ticed law in that place, and was a'so president of the 
East Haddam Bank. He represented the town in 
the General Assembly, and was twice a member of 
the Senate from the Nineteenth district. In 1847 
lie removed to Hartford, and filled the office of school 
fund comissioner. For several years he held offi- 
cial positions, and besides was a leading stockholder 
in very many profitable business enterprises, out of 
which he accumulated a handsome fortune. 

Judge Bulkeley's habits of life were very regu- 
lar. He was especially prompt in all his engage- 
ments, making it a duty to be present at meetings 
where his presence was expected. It is said of him 
that for eighteen years he had never failed, until 
<luring his last sickness, to attend and preside over 
the meetings of the Pearl Street Ecclesiastical So- 
ciety, to which he belonged. When he lived in 
Church street his regularity of attendance at school 
meetings in the First district was a matter of remark, 
and afterward he was equally punctual at all meet- 
ings of the South district, at all gatherings, whether 
religious, political or otherwise, in which he took 
an interest. He was a leading man in politics. In 
1857 he was elected with Nathaniel Shipman to the 
Legislature from Hartford, and was chosen Speaker 
of the House of Representatives by the Union Re- 
publicans. He was originally a Whig, and joined 
the Republican party at its formation. In the practice 
of law in Hartford he formed a partnership with 
Judge Henry Perkins, the firm being Bulkeley & 
Perkins. His later years were devoted to the busi- 
ness of life insurance. He was the first president 
of the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., 
which he assisted in organizing, and subsequently, 
in 1850, he organized the ./Etna Life Co., taking its 
presidency at the start and holding it to the time 
of his death. He was largely interested in all the 
.Etna moneyed corporations, banking and insurance 
(fire and Lrfe), and was also a director in the Will- 
imantic Linen Co. and other concerns. His regular- 
ity and promptness were not exceeded by any other 
citizen, probably, and he was especially faithful in 
all his political obligations. It was not enough that 
he should vote on election day. but he urged others 
to do so. He never neglected his duty as a citizen. 

< )ne marked characteristic of the man was lvs 
wonderfully retentive memory as to individuals 
and dates. His knowledge in this respect enabled 
him to give with surprising accuracy many genea- 



logical facts relating to families whose own mem- 
bers were in ignorance. Few men have lived in the 
State who have possessed such general information 
with regard to individual associations. In other re- 
spects his knowledge was quite extensive, accurate 
and valuable. Judge Bulkeley was survived by his 
wife and three children. Mrs. Bulkeley died Aug. 
9, 1895. Their children were: (1) Mary Morgan 
Bulkeley, born Oct. 21, 1831, died June 20, 1835. 

(2) Charles Edwin Bulkeley, born Dec. 16, 1835, 
was graduated from Yale College 111 1856, studied 
law, and practiced at Hartford. He served as a cap- 
tain of artillery in the Union army in the Civil war, 
dying in the service in December, 1864, while in 
command of Battery Garesche, near Washington, 
D. C. 

(3) Hon. Morgan Gardner Bulkelev, ex-gov- 
ernor, and president of the yEtna Life Insurance 
Co., of Hartford, was born Dec. 26, 1837, in East 
Haddam, Conn. He became a resident of Hart- 
ford in 1846, and received his education in its 
public schools. In 1851 he began his business ca- 
reer with the /Etna Co., sweeping out the office 
for $1 a week. Later that year he became a bundle- 
boy in a mercantile house in Brooklyn, X. Y. 
Through his own efforts he became successively 
salesman, confidential clerk and finally partner, with- 
in seven years, in the dry-goods firm of H. P. Mor- 
gan & Co. At the beginning of the Civil war he be- 
came a private soldier in the 13th N. Y. V. I., and 
served in the Army of the Potomac under Gen. 
Mansfield, at Suffolk, Va., during McClellan's Pen- 
insular Campaign. Since his father's death, in 1872, 
he has made his home in Hartford, in which city 
he has been most active and useful as a business man 
and citizen. He was the principal factor in organiz- 
ing the United States Bank, of which he was made 
the first president, and which now. after a long and 
successful career, is among the largest and most 
substantial banks in Hartford. He succeeded 
Thomas O. Enders to the presidency of the /Etna 
Life Insurance Co., and to him credit is due for the 
great success that has come to that institution. 
In this connection it is interesting to note that dur- 
ing the company's existence a Bulkeley has always 
been president with the exception of Mr. Enders' 
seven-year term, and it has always been under the 
direction of members of the Bulkeley family. 

Mr. Bulkeley having a love for politics, his 
abilities were early recognized by his fellow citizen s, 
whom he served as councilman, alderman, and, for 
eight consecutive years, as mayor of Hartford. 
He displayed rare executive ability in managing 
the affairs of the city, and the fact that he had 
made municipal problems a study doubtless ac- 
counts for the satisfaction his services. in these vari- 
ous incumbencies gave. He exercised watchful 
care over income and expenditure, and advocated 
only such measures as would advance the interests 
of the municipality, irrespective of partisan con- 
siderations. He did much during his incumbency 



70 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






of the mayor's office for the amelioration of the 
distressed, and the comfort and pleasure of the 
working classes, by organizing free excursions on 
the river and to the sea, his salary as mayor being 
more tb.au disbursed in this way every year. His 
availability for higher honors was soon observed by 
his friends, and his candidacy for the gubernatorial 
office was urged, which resulted in his name being 
presented before the Republican State Convention 
in the fall of 1886, but it was finally withdrawn 
by his advice in favor of Mr. Lounsbury. At the 
State Convention of his party in August, 1888, 
Morgan G. Bulkeley was nominated for governor 
by acclamation, the choice was approved at the 
polls, and in the following January he was inaug- 
urated, and took his seat in the gubernatorial chair. 
The vigorous administration which followed was 
characteristic of the man, and will be remembered 
as among the most notable in the history of the 
Commonwealth. At the State election in Novem- 
ber, 1890, a peculiar situation of affairs occurred, 
and amid the trying scenes Gov. Bulkeley won 
fresh honors for himself. It was the first State 
election under the new ballot law, and results were 
declared by town officers which were not accepted 
as conclusive by the Senate, to whom the election 
statistics were returnable under questions of guber- 
natorial succession. Under the constitution it be- 
came Gov. Bulkeley 's duty to continue to exercise 
the functions of his office for two additional years, 
The circumstances attending his second term as the 
official head of the State were delicate and some- 
times vexing in the extreme. That he bore every 
test most creditably is the highest praise that could 
be awarded. When the General Assembly failed 
to pass the usual and necessary appropriation bills 
he, as president of the ./Etna Co., advanced the 
hundreds of thousands of dollars necessary to con- 
tinue the affairs of the State until provision was 
made, and his conduct in this and numerous other 
trying situations won the hearty approval of all. 
In 1896, at the convention in St. Louis which 
nominated McKinley for President, Mr. Bulkeley 
received the largest vote ever given to a Connecti- 
cut man for a National office. It goes without 
saying that he is one of the most prominent figures 
in the State, and he is especially devoted to the wel- 
fare and interests of Hartford. Socially he is con- 
nected with various societies, and is president of 
the Connecticut Society of Sons of the Revolution, 
mecticut Society of Foreign Wars, and Con- 
necticut Society of the War of 1812; he is also a 
member of the Mayflower Society, the Society of 
Colonial Wars, the Grand Army of the Republic, and 
the Mass. Commandery of the Loyal Legion. Gov. 
Bulkeley enjoys wide reputation in the life and ac- 
cident insurance world as a man combining, in rare 
degree, progressiveness and conservatism. The 
success which has followed his management of the 
Etna's affairs demonstrates his keen perception 
and skill. I le is also connected with a number 



of corporations and financial institutions in Hart- 
ford, among them the .-Etna National and United 
States Banks, in each of which he is a director. 
Mr. Bulkeley married Miss Fannie Houghton, 

(4) Hon. William Henry Bulkeley, a 
capitalist, ex-lieutenant-governor and merchant, 
Hartford, was born March 2, 1840, in East Had- 
dam, Conn., and came to Hartford six or seven 
years later with his father, who then established his 
home in the city. The boy received his education 
in the public schools of Hartford, in which he made 
an admirable record for scholarship. His business 
career was begun with the company with which he 
has so long been connected, for he succeeded his 
brother, Morgan G., in the humble capacity, and 
at the same salary, above referred to. When six- 
teen years of age he commenced mercantile life with 
an old dry-goods firm of Hartford, becoming a 
clerk. In the spring of 1857 he became engaged 
in the dry-goods business in Brooklyn, N. Y., with 
H. P. Morgan & Co. Later he began the dry-goods 
business in that city for himself, continuing it suc- 
cessfully on Fulton street for some six years. ( >ni 
the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion young 
Bulkeley was one of the first to respond to his 
country's call. i\t the time Fort Sumter was fired 
upon he was a member of Company G. 13th Regi- 
ment, N. Y. N. G., the Brooklyn City Guard, and 
advanced to the front April 19, 1861, the organiza- 
tion being in the service for four months. In 1862 
Mr. Bulkeley organized Company G, 56th Regi- 
ment, N. Y. N. G., and was made its captain. He 
was with his command through the Pennsylvania 
Crisis of 1863, being in Gen. "Baldy" Smith's divis- 
ion. During the New York draft riots the regi- 
ment was ordered home, after which it was dis- 
banded, its time of service having expired. 

Capt. Bulkeley returned to Hartford, and en- 
gaged in the lithographing business, organizing the 
Kellogg & Bulkeley Co., lithographers, of Hartford, 
of which for many years he has been president. 
Immediately on his return to Hartford he was 
elected a director of the .Etna Life Insurance Co., 
was also vice-president of the same in 1877-70, and 
is at present auditor, which office he has held many 
years. He has had more to do with the success of 
the company than any other man who has not held 
an executive office. Gen. Bulkeley has borne a very 
close relation to the company in an advisory ca- 
pacity for the past quarter of a century, and his 
business judgment has proved invaluable in the 
direction of its policy. He has been and still is 
prominently connected with a number of the bank- 
ing, insurance and other corporations of Hartford, 
among which are the United States Bank, of which' 
he is vice-president and a director, the American 
National Hank, of which he is a director, and the 
Kellogg & Bulkeley Co. In 1878 he purchased the 
"Bee Hive," a famous dry-goods establishment, 
which he managed for years with great success. 
He has been honored with official position, and has 







ri^/L^Sj ^6 ^-^aJl. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



71 



had large experience in city and State politics. 
He served his fellow citizens for five years in the 
common council of Hartford, acting a portion of 
the time as vice-president and president of the 
board. He also served as one of the street com- 
missioners of the city for some seven or eight years, 
in which he proved a very efficient member. Mr. 
Bulkeley was commissary-general of the State, 
commissioner of Connecticut to the Yorktown Cen- 
tennial Celebration, and was elected to the office of 
lieutenant-governor of Connecticut on the ticket with 
Gov. Bigeiow, serving with credit through 1881 and 
1882. He made a good presiding officer of the Sen- 
ate. In 1882 he was a Republican candidate for gov- 
ernor, and in the exciting time which followed the 
election conducted himself in a manner which elic- 
ited favorable comment in the press all over the 
country. He is an active member of Robert O. 
Tyler Post, G. A. R., of Hartford, and of the Army 
and Navy Club of Connecticut. In religious con- 
nection he is a member of the Pearl Street Congre- 
gational Church, and contributes generously to the 
charities of Hartford. 

On Sept. 18, 1863, Mr. Bulkeley married Emma 
Gurney, daughter of Melvin and Letitia Gurney, 
and they have had six children: (1) Mary Morgan, 
wife of E. S. Van Zile, the author; (2) William 
Eliphalet Adams, cashier of the ^Etna Life Insurance 
Co; (3) Grace Chetwood, wife of David Van- 
Shaack; (4) John Charles, of Hartford; (5) Sally 
Taintor, wife of Richard McCauley, of Detroit, 
Mich. ; and (6) Richard Beaumarais, of Hartford. 

(5) Mary Jerusha Morgan, born Sept. 27, 1843, 
married Hon. Leverett Brainard, president of the 
Case, Lockwood & Brainard Co., of Hartford, and 
ex-mayor of the city. 

(6) Eliphalet Adams Bulkeley, born July II, 
1847, died Dec. ij, 1848. 

HON. CHARLES HULL CLARK, of the firm 
of Clark Bros. & Co., manufacturers of bolts and 
hardware specialties, Milldale, has become an im- 
portant factor in the business circles of Southington, 
and by the exercise of his ability has not only ad- 
vanced his individual prosperity, but has materially 
contributed to the welfare of his native town. 

Mr. Clark was born in Southington. Oct. 23, 1832, 
a son of Theodosius and Chloe (Clark) Clark. On 
the paternal side he traces his ancestry back to James 
Clark, originally of England, who located in New 
Haven, in 1638, and was one of the company con- 
sisting of Gov. Eaton and others who met in a Mr. 
Newman's barn June 4, 1639, to form a civil com- 
pact. In 1669 he removed to Stratford, Conn. His 
son, Ebenezer Clark, the first of the family to locate 
in Wallingford, was born Nov. 29, 1651, and was 
married May 6, 1678, to Sarah, daughter of James 
Peck. Their son, Stephen Clark, was born Dec. 
7, 1696, married Lydia (or Ruth) Hotchkiss, and 
died Nov. 1, 1770. He was the father of Amasa 
Clark, who was born Nov. 25, 1753, and was mar- 



ried Dec. 28, 1785, to Lydia Hull, daughter of 
Deacon Zephaniah Hull, of Cheshire. He engaged 
in farming in Cheshire, and died Dec. 30, 1833. 

Theotiosius Clark, the father of our subject, was 
born in Cheshire Oct. 22, 1788, and spent his early 
life on a farm. At the age of eighteen years he 
commenced teaching in a district school in his native 
town, and in 1810 he came to Southington to teach 
in the Plantsville District. In 181 1 and 1812 he 
taught at what is now Plainville, and in Farmington 
■ in 1813 and 1814, while for several years following 
he taught in the districts in the southern part of 
Southington. In 1824 he was a techer in the South 
End District. This was the first year that grammar 
was taught in the town, the school commissioners 
requiring it. Mr. Clark was entirely ignorant of 
grammar, but he took the study in hand, and with 
much labor was enabled to carry his class through 
the book. In connection with teaching he also fol- 
lowed farming. During the seasons of 1826 and 
1827 he was commissary at Suffield, while the canal 
was being constructed around Enfield Falls. In 1819 
he united with the First Congregational Church of 
Southington, in 1834 was elected deacon, which office 
he held until 1865, anel was also superintendent of 
the Sabbath-school for some years. Pie died July 
2j, 1865, honored and respected by all who knew 
him. On Oct. 26, 1816, he married Chloe Clark, 
who passed away April 5, 1848. Their children were 
Harriet,, wife of Plezekiah C. Cummings ; Francis 
J. ; William J. ; Henry H. ; anel Charles H. 

Seth Clark, our subject's maternal grandfather, 
was born in Middletown, Conn., July 11, 1768, and 
was married Nov. 16, 1789, to Chloe Bailey, who 
was born in Haddam, Conn., Feb. 19, 1771, a daugh- 
ter of Benjamin Bailey, of that place. Soon after 
their marriage Seth Clark and wife removed to 
Southington, where she died July 17, 1834, anel he 
passed away Jan. 27, 185 1. His father, Joseph 
Clark, was born Sept. 15, 1720, and died in Middle- 
town Aug. 22, 1778. On June 2, 1752, he married 
Joanna Fairchild, who was born Sept. 21, 1727, anel 
died Nov. 26, 1793. 

Our subject passed his boyhood and youth in his 
native town, anel was educated in the common 
schols and Lewis Academy. In 1852 he began his 
business career as a mechanic in the nut anel bolt 
shop of his brother, at ten cents per hour, and was 
thus employed until he attained his majority, when 
he was admitted into the firm as a partner. In 
1854, with his two elder brothers, under the firm 
name of W. J. Clark & Co., he embarked in the 
manufacture of bolts anel carriage hardware, and 
was superintendent of the plant until 1862, when he 
laid aside all personal interests to enter the service 
of his country during her hour of peril. On Aug. 5, 
1862, he enlisted in Company E,2oth Conn. V. I., and 
was made ejuartermaster sergeant of the regiment. 
He remained in active service until 1864, anel dur- 
ing the last years was on the staff of Col. James 
Wood, who commanded the 3rd Brigade, 3rd Divi- 



72 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



. 20th Army Corps, in front of Atlanta. During 
this period he foraged over the territory in Tennes- 
see where his father had peddled clocks and notions 
fort} years before. ( in his return home he resumed 
active work in the factor) of \\ . J. Clark & Co. In 
1871, on the retirement of the senior member 
of the firm, the name was changed to Clark Bros, cc 
( 0., and as such business has since been successfully 
carried on. Our subject continued to superintend 
the work until 1882. and is still a member of the 
company, lie is also a director in both the South-, 
ington National Bank and the Savings Bank, also 
in the Southington Cutlery t o. 

On August 21, 1862, Mr. Clark was united in 
marriage with Miss Alary E. Dickerman, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Rebecca (Gale) Dickerman, of 
Guilford, Conn. Religiously he is a member of 
the Plantsville Congregational Church, ami socially 
is connected with Trumbull lost. No. id, G. A. R., 
and the Independent ( )rder of ( )dd Fellows. He is 
a stanch supporter of the Republican party and its 
principles, and has frequently been called upon to 
serve as a member of the board of assessors and 
board of relief in his town. He was also elected 
to the State Legislature in 1895, and re-elected to 
the same office in 1899. As a citizen, soldier and 
business man. he stands high in the public esteem, 
and his life of usefulness has given to the younger 
men of the town an example well worthy of emula- 
tion. His genial manner has made him many 
friends, and wherever known he is held in high 
regard. 

CHARLES HOPKINS CLARK was born in 
i tartford, April 1, 1848, son of Ezra (Jr.) and Mary 
(Hopkins) Clark. He was educated in the Hart- 
ford public schools, except between [860 and 1865, 
when he was living j n New York, and attended the 
grammar schools of that city and what was then 
the Free Academy. Returning to Hartford in 1865, 
lie entered the Hartford Public High School, and, 
graduating from there in 1867, entered Vale, where 
1 e was graduated in 1871. A few weeks later he 
went to work upon the Hartford Courant, at first 
ruder temporary engagement, and he has been con- 
d with that journal ever since. In 1887 he was 
admitted to the firm of Hawlev, Goodrich & Co., 
then publishing the Courant, and later, when a cor- 
poration was formed, he was chosen vice-president 
of the Hartford Courant Co. He has been in 
editorial charge of the Courant since the death of 
Stephen A. Hubbard, in [890. Mr. Clark is a 
director in the Connecticul Mutual Life Insurance 
' . and the Collins Co., and is connected with 
various philanthropic institutions of Hartford, be- 
ing treasurer of the Wadsworth Atheneum, the 
Hartord Public Library, and the Trustees k\ the 

id Will Club, and a trustee of the Watkinson 
Library of Reference. He is a member of the Cen- 
tury and the University Clubs of New York, and 
> >f the ( Colonial * Ink 1 H I Ian ford. 

In [873 Mr. ('lark was married to Miss Ellen 



Knot, daughter of the late E. K. Root, who was at 
his death president of the Colt's Patent Fire Arms 
( o. She died in February, 1895, leaving two chil- 
dren. Horace P. Clark (Vale "<;8 ) and Mary Hop- 
kins Clark. In November, 1899, Mr. Clark mar- 
ried Miss Matilda C. Root, sister of his first wife. 

HON. EZRA CLARK, a familiar figure for 
many years on the streets and in the civic life of 
Hartford, died in that city Sept. 26, 1896. He 
wis born in Brattleboro, Vt., Sept. i~', 1813, but 
became a resident of Hartford when six years of 
age. His father. Ezra Clark, was a partner of the 
iron and steel firm of David Watkinson & Co.. and 
the son, who for many years was Ezra Clark, Jr., 
was taken into the partnership when twenty-one 
years of age. The firm was, in succession, David 
Watkinson & Co., Clark. Gill & Co.. Ezra Clark 
v Co., and Clark & Co., and is now L. L. Ens- 
worth & Son. 

Mr. Clark's business record included member- 
ship in the board of directors of the Exchange Bank 
and the presidencv of the National Screw Co., of 
Hartford, which under his management became a 
great success, and was subsequently sold out to the 
American Screw Co.. of Providence. In 1857, by 
reason of endorsing the business paper of friends, 
he failed financiallv. hut he recovered from this, 
and returning to Hartford paid his creditors one 
hundred cents on the dollar, with interest. Mr. 
Clark held many public offices, having been, at one 
time or another, councilman, alderman, judge of 
the city ccurt, chairman of the North District 
school committee, city and town auditor, president 
of the Young- Men's Institute, president of the 
Spring Grove Cemeterv Association, and president 
of the Board of Water Commissioners. He rep- 
resented the Hartford District in the XXXIVth and 
NNXVth Congresses. His most important work 
in Hartford was in connection with the Water 
Board, of which he was for many years a member. 
Under his presidency a great share of the work 
of building the reservoirs and equipping the city 
with mains was accomplished, lie also laid out 
the Reservoir Park, connecting the various ponds 
by a drivewav through the woods: and the large 
Tumbledown Brook Reservoir was planned and 
built by him. 

In October. 1841. Mr. Clark was married to 
Mary Hopkins, daughter of Daniel P. Hopkins and 
Marv Whiting, both of Hartford. She died in 
1866. leaving three children: Frances, now Mrs. 
.Albert L. Butler; Charles Hopkins Clark, editor of 
the Courant, and Howard M. Clark, who was cash- 
ier of the United States Bank, and died in 1804. 

CAPT. TIMOTHY BOARDMAN ROBIN- 

S( )N is one of the sturdy strong settlers of New 
England whose ancestors for several generations 
were born and reared in the State of Connecticut. 
I le was born at a time that made it necessary to risk 
his life for our country at that happy, promising r.ge 




AJ^a/^U^Ctdj M)/<wfo 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



73 



when he had begun to realize the full measure of 
happiness which was revealed in the early years of 
manhood. Fortune, however, favored him to a very 
full extent in his service in the war, and, while he 
was taken a prisoner several times, he returned to 
his home and friends without having- been wounded 
or overcome by serious illness. If heredity may be 
credited with the transmission of virtuous traits from 
one generation to another. Capt. Timothy B. Robin- 
son is indebted to his ancestors on both sides for a 
tendency toward those sterling qualities which, 
when developed, are bound to succeed in the face 
of the most trying obstacles. 

Capt. David Robinson, his great-grandfather, 
was born in Glastonbury, Conn., in 1749. He was 
married twice, his first wife, Mary, dying Dec. 25, 
1801 ; his second wife, Marion, died June 20, 1856. 
Capt. Robinson served in the Revolutionary war, 
where he probably received his title. He was the 
father of seven children, as follows : Mary Anna, 
born Feb. 5, 1770; Lieodiah, Aug. 25, 1772; James, 
May 28, 1774; David, Jr., Nov., 1778; Shadrach, 
July 15, 1781 ; Timothy, Feb. 6, 1784; William. 
June 24, 1788. 

Shadrach Robinson was born in Glastonbury 
Conn. He was a sea-faring man. On June 13, 1802, 
he married Eunice Tennant, who was born (Jet. 17, 
1 78 1, and their marriage was blessed with four chil- 
dren: Leverett, born April 8, T803 (died April 21, 
1835); Azel T., March 31, 1807 (died Sept. 26, 
1886); Loretta, Feb. 26, 1809; and Lester, Dec. 
9, 1810. 

Azel Tennant Robinson, our subject's father, v. as 
also born in Glastonbury, Conn., on the date pre- 
viously named, and died in Bristol Sept. 26, 1886. 
He was a woodworker by trade, working on clock 
cases and small furniture, was a very industrious 
man, and his efforts were rewarded by the success 
in life which earnest application and intelligent pur- 
suit merit. He came to B/istol and worked in the 
clock factories, having been connected with the 
Jerome Clock Co., the L'nion Clock Co. (in which he 
was a stockholder), and the George A Jones Clock 
Co., respectively. During the latter part of his life 
he was engaged for a number of years in making 
door screens. Azel T. Robinson was a strong Spir- 
itualist. He was a member of Franklin Lodge, 
Xo. 56, F. & A. M . and served as treasurer of same 
for over twenty-five years. In politics he originally 
was a Whig, and later became a Democrat. On 
May 3, 1832, Mr. Robinson was married to Miss 
Harriet Stratton, who was born in Glastonbury 
March 1, 1808, and their marriage was blessed with 
the following children : Charles Azel, born June 7, 
1833, died Aug. 20, 1833; Timothy Boardman is 
our subject; Eunice Tennant, born June 22, 1836, 
died May 19, 1876, unmarried; Harriet, born Aug. 
26, 1839, is married and lives in California; Lev- 
erett, born Jan. 20, 1843. died Jan. 1, i860; Henry 
Azel, born Jan. 2, 1845, died Aug. 21, 1864 (he was 
a brave lad, and his life was sacrificed for his coun- 



try in the war of the Rebellion, as he was captured 
and starved to death in Andersonville prison) ; 
Mary, born Dec. 19, 1846, is married, and resides in 
Brooklyn, N. Y. ; Alice Kate, born Sept. 13, 1849, 
is the wife of H. B. Cook, the shoe man of Bristol ; 
Frederick Arthur, born Dec. 20, 1852, died May 19, 
1880. 

Capt. Timothy Boardman Robinson, our subject, 
was born in Cromwell, Conn., July 18, 1834. He 
attended the schools of his native town until he was 
eight years of age, when his parents removed to 
Bristol, where he continued his education until his 
sixteenth year, and then attended the Berlin Acad- 
emy for one term. With this common-sense, prac- 
tical foundation of learning he began the struggle 
for life, entering the employ of his father, who was 
a member of the firm of Case & Robinson, then en- 
gaged in manufacturing coffee-mill boxes. At this 
occupation he remained for about two years, and then 
worked in the spring factory of Edward L. Dunbar 
for two or three years. Subsequently, in company 
with two others, under the firm name of Herring & 
Ci >., he engaged in the manufacture of sash and dials. 
This business relation lasted for about three years, 
and was succeeded by the Bristol Hardware Co., 
who purchased hie aforesaid plant and retained our 
subject in their employ under contract for two years. 
At the expiration of this time the business was 
again sold out, to the E. N. Welch Manufacturing 
Co., by whom our subject was again retained under 
contract for about three years, when he enlisted in 
the war. After the war he engaged with H. Hark- 
ness in the manufacture of ice scrapers, continuing 
this business for about six months, when it was sold 
out to Landers, Frary & Clark, of New Britain. 
After this Mr. Robinson acted as foreman in the 
shear factory of the Inventors Manufacturing Co., 
S. Valentine, manager, where he remained for about 
three years. He then resigned in order to accept 
the position of foreman in the clock factory of 
George Jones, which business relation continued for 
twenty years without interruption. Following this 
he entered the employ of Plumb & Allen, of Terry- 
ville, who had purchased the Jones factory, acting 
for the firm as foreman in the Jones shop in Bris- 
tol, making mechanical toys of all kinds. Our sub- 
ject then went to work for the Florton Manufactur- 
ing Co. for about six months, and subsequently en- 
gaged with the New Departure Bell Co., with which 
firm he remained until 1898. In that year he re- 
signed to accept the position of general superin- 
tendent of the Liberty Bell Co., which position he 
now holds. 

On Aug. 24, 1862, Capt. Robinson enlisted in 
Company K, 16th Conn. V. I., and came out a cap- 
tain. He was a prisoner in Macon, Ga., Charleston 
and Columbia, S. C, escaping from the latter. He 
was never wounded. He was in the battle of An- 
tietam, and was mustered out Aug. 25, 1865. In 
politics our subject is a stanch Republican, though 
he has never sought office. Socially he is a member 



74 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of Franklin Lodge, Xo. 56, F. & A. M. ; of the 
Royal Arcanum, of which he is vice-regent; and of 
George \\ . Thompson Post, Xo. 13, G. A. R., of 

which he is past commander. 

< »n ( let. 31, 1855, Capt. Robinson was united in 
marriage with Sophia Wells Waters, who was 
born March 20, 1836, a daughter of Lora and Laura 
(Churchill) Waters, of Bristol. Five children 
have Messed their union, as follows. (1) Lora Azel, 
born Aug. 3, 1856, died Sept. 18, 1856. (2) Lora 
Waters, born Oct. 2, 1857, was married March 11, 
1885, to Annie Shepard, of Bristol, and they have 
had children — Pauline, born Dec. 26, 1885; Archer 
Waters, born Aug. 12, .1887 (died Aug. 15, 1887) ; 
Lyle Wells, born May 1, 1889; Kendall, born in 1894 
(died in 1895) ; and Wells Hall, born Sept. 15, 
1895. Lora Waters Robinson is a graduate of the 
Philadelphia Dental College, and is now practicing 
dentistry in Buffalo, X. Y. (3) Archer Waters 
was born Oct. 12, 1859, and died Sept. 8, i860. (4) 
Belle Waters, born June 12, 1861, married Edward 
B. Gaylord, of Winsted, June 12, 1884. (5) Grace 
Waters, born Sept. 14, 1871, died May 29, 1872. 
Capt. and Airs. Robinson attend the Congregational 
Church, of which Airs. Robinson is an active and 
devout member. The life of Capt. Robinson has 
been one of continued activity. Through all the 
fluctuations and vicissitudes following the war he 
has maintained not only an unruffled disposition, 
but he has acquired broader views of all matters 
pertaining to the welfare of his country and of 
humanity. 

CHARLES LEVI LINCOLN, a manufacturer 

and prominent business man and citizen of Hart- 
ford, where for fifty years and more he has been 
engaged in the manufacturing of castings and raa- 
chinerv, and closely identified with the growth of 
the city, is a representative of a sturdy New Eng- 
land family of the Colonial period. 

Mr. Lincoln was born March 12, 1825. in Dor- 
chester, Mass., son of Levi and Malinda (Miles) 
Lincoln, and is a descendant in the eighth genera- 
tion from Thomas Lincoln, who was born in Eng- 
land about 1603, came to Xew England in 1635, 
and located in llingham, on Massachusetts Bay, 
but removed to Taunton prior to 1650, and estab- 
lished a gristmill on Mill river. He brought with 
him from England two or three children. He lived 
to be eighty or upward years of age. 

From this first American ancestor our subject's 
line of descent is through Thomas (2). Thomas 
(3), Nathaniel, Nathaniel (2), Stephen and Levi 
Lincoln. 

(II) Thomas Lincoln (2), son of Thomas the 
emigrant, likely born in England, baptized in [637- 
38, married Mary, daughter of Jonah Austin, who 
was a husbandman and died about 1694. He early 
in life became a resident of Taunton, Massachu- 
setts. 

(III) Thomas Lincoln (3), son of Thomas (2), 



born in 1656, in Taunton, married Mary, daughter 
of Richard Stacy. He took part in the Indian 
troubles in the time of King Philip's war. 

(IV) Nathaniel Lincoln, son of Thomas (3), 
born about 1684, married Alice, daughter of Capt. 
John Andrews. He was a sergeant in the militia, 
and was engaged in milling with his father-in-law, 
at a point three miles west of Taunton. 

(V) Nathaniel Lincoln (2), son of Xathaniel, 
born in 1725, in Taunton, married in 1743 Eliza- 
beth, daughter of Increase Robinson, Jr. Prior to 
1750 he removed to Rehoboth, Mass., and to Brain- 
tree, in the same State about 1759, dying in Attle- 
boro. 

(AT) Stephen Lincoln, son of Xathaniel (2), 
born in 1751, in Rehoboth, Mass., married in Oak- 
ham, Mass., in 1779, Lydia, daughter of Lieut. Eben- 
ezer Foster. He removed from Rehoboth to Brain- 
tree and later located in Oakham. He was a soldier 
of the Revolution, serving in the Rhode Island cam- 
paign. He was occupied in farming, and in con- 
nection with his farming operations also carried 
on a tannery. He held several public offices : he 
died in 1840. 

Levi Lincoln, son of Stephen, and the father of 
the subject of this sketch, was born in 1790. in 
Oakham, Mass., and was married in Rutland, Mass.. 
July 9, 1816, to Malinda Miles, daughter of Bar- 
zilla and Sarah (Reed) Miles, of Rutland. She 
was born July 7, 1795, and died in Hartford, Conn.. 
April 12, 1883. Mr. Lincoln died in Hartford 
Jan. 31, 1868. Their children were: George S., 
Sarah K., Charles L., Mary E. and Theodore M. 

Charles Levi Lincoln married in Hartford, Conn.. 
Aug. 31, 1847, Olivia M. Brewster, born July 21, 
1826, in Coventry, Conn., daughter of Silas and 
Wealthy (Richardson) Brewster, and their children 
were: (1) Carrie Augusta, born Aug. 15. 1854, 
was married in Hartford to Edwin P. Taylor, bi rn 
in that city Aug. 20, 1840, son of Edwin and Nancy 
Jane ( Kinney ) Taylor, and they had five children, 
four of whom are living: Charles Lincoln, born 
Sept. 10, 1875, is in the employ of the Lincoln Com- 
pany ; Edwin P. and Caroline B. and Morgan Wells ; 
Rowland K. is deceased. (2) Charles Payson. born 
May 21, 1851, was married in Southbridge. Mass., 
Nov. 20, 1878, to Margaret Sanders, born in Cromp- 
ton, R. I., Feb. 24, 1854, daughter o'J James and 
Margaret (Henry) Sanders; he is secretary of The 
Lincoln Co., and is one of the trustees of the Pratt 
Street Savings Bank. (3) Frank Howard, born 
March 4, 1855, died in Hartford, Dec. 16, [860. 
(4) Theodore M., born April 4. 1858. is treasurer of 
the Lincoln Co., a director of the Hartford City 
Bank, and has served as member of the city council : 
he was married in Pawtucket, R. I., May 11. 1881, 
to Alice M. Horton, of that city, born Sept. 10, 
[860, and they have had three children: Alice H., 
Theodore B. (deceased), and Minerva B. (5) 
Fannie Maria, born Nov. II, 1861, was married 
in 1 lartford to Dr. Robert Hamill. born in Oak Hall, 





m^> 



c 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



75 



Perm., May 24, 1855, son of Robert and Margaret 
E. (Lyon) Hamill. of Philadelphia, and they have 
two children : Robert L. and Francis L. ; the Doctor 
studied for the medical profession at Lafayette 
College, graduated from the Pennsylvania Univers- 
ity of Medicine, and is now practicing medicine in 
Summit, N. J. (6) Elizabeth Brewster, born May 
8, 1868, resides in Hartford. 

Charles L. Lincoln, our subject, was admitted to 
the firm of George S. Lincoln & Co., in 1846, and 
through all of the intervening jears between that 
period and this, he has been continuously engaged 
in the manufacture of castings and machinery. His 
brother George, the senior member of the firm, 
retired from the business in 1885, since which time 
Charles L. Lincoln has continued the business with 
his sons Charles P. and Theodore M., under the 
name of The Lincoln Company. 

Mr. Lincoln is a good business man, possessed of 
sound judgment, and is a good manager, which 
qualities, together with integrity and fair dealing, 
have brought him success. He is a substantial citi- 
zen of Hartford, and has carried through his long 
business career with this people their esteem and 
respect. He is a director of the Hartford Street 
Railway Co., an incorporator and trustee of the 
Mechanics Savings Bank, and a member of the 
Connecticut Historical Society. 

The firm of George S. Lincoln & Co., which 
is now incorporated The Lincoln Company, proprie- 
tors of the Phoenix Iron Works, was established in 
1834 by the late Levi Lincoln, and has thus been 
in existence about two-thirds of a century, during 
which period the business has grown from com- 
parative insignificance to one of the largest, as it is 
the oldest, of its class in the State. On the death 
of Levi Lincoln the business was so arranged that 
his sons George S. and Charles L. (who had been 
associated with their father some fifteen years) suc- 
ceeded, and the firm of George S. Lincoln & Co. has 
since been one of the best known in New England. 
They make a specialty of the latest designs of archi- 
tectural iron work, consisting in part of building 
fronts, columns, lintels, girders, vaults, etc., besides 
large quantities of machinists' tools and other arti- 
cles, employment being given to an average of nearly 
160 hands. George S. Lincoln, who died April 2, 
1894, was well-known throughout the New Eng- 
land States, and ranked among the ablest business 
men of the day, while in Hartford, the city of his 
adoption, at the same time holding place among the 
leading citizens, representative manufacturers and 
promoters of its best interests. The same remarks 
arc in every sense applicable to Charles L. Lincoln. 

EBENEZER ROBERTS, whose death oc- 
curred March 7, 1896, was one of the best-known 
business men in Hartford, where his career was a 
most honorable one. 

Born Oct. 28, 1819, in Westfield, Conn., Mr. 
Roberts was a son of Enoch Cornwall Roberts, and 
a grandson of Ebenezer Roberts, who was an officer 



in the war of the Revolution, was with Washing- 
ton at New York, in the battle of Trenton, and also- 
at Yorktown. The lineage is traced to Samuel 
Roberts, who appeared in Middletown, Conn., dur- 
ing the seventeenth century, and died there in 1739. 
In 1691 he married Mercy Blake. Ebenezer Rob- 
erts' great-great-grandmother, Sarah Bulkeley, was 
a daughter of Edward Bulkeley, one of the found- 
ers of the Society of the Cincinnati, and through, 
her he is a descendant of Rev. Gershom and Rev. 
Peter Bulkeley. Rev. Gershom Bulkeley graduated 
from Harvard College in 1665, was minister at 
New London in 1661, and at Wethersfield in 1666. 
Mr. Roberts was also a descendant of Charles 
Chauncey, the second president of Harvard College. 

At the age of fifteen years our subject entered the 
employ of the well-known firm of H. & W. Keney,. 
and the same qualities that maintained his success 
later began to show themselves there, securing for 
him prompt recognition as a young man of promise 
and rapid advancement. In 1855 he was taken into 
partnership, and, though the old name of H. & \\ . 
Keney remained over the door, the firm was changed, 
to Keneys, Roberts & J. N. Goodwin, and later, at 
Mr. Goodwin's death, to Keneys & Roberts, contin- 
uing thus until the death of Walter Keney. After 
that it was Keney, Roberts & Co., and after the 
death of Henry Keney it became Roberts, Tucker & 
Goodwin. This is the oldest of the wholesale gro- 
cery houses in the State, and has been one of the 
most successful business concerns in Connecticut. 
The Keneys and Mr. Roberts each accumulated a 
large fortune ; and at the same time the house 
established a name for integrity, square dealing 
and public spirit that made people regard it as one 
of Hartford's especial business honors. 

Mr. Roberts was well known to the citizens of 
Hartford for his kindly manner and sterling busi- 
ness qualities, and his ever ready hand to assist in 
worthy objects for the public good. He was a di- 
rector of the Hartford National Bank, the Travel- 
ers Insurance Co., the National Fire Insurance Co., 
the Collins Co., the Smythe Manufacturing Co., 
and the Anchor Mills Paper Co., of Windsor 
Locks, and a trustee of the will of the late Henry 
Keney. He neither sought nor held office. As a 
member of the Park Congregational Church, he 
was a constant attendant at its services, having been 
a member of that society when it was known as the- 
North Congregational Church. 

On Jan. 18, 1843, ^ Lr - Roberts was married to' 
Clarissa, daughter of Bela and Clarissa Root Ban- 
croft, of Granville, Mass. She died Jan. 12, 1883. 
One daughter, Florence Clarissa, wife of Col. Will- 
iam C. Skinner, of Hartford (a sketch of whom 
follows), survived the father. 

William Converse Skinner was born Jan. 
26, 1855. in Malone, N. Y., a son of Calvin and 
John Porter ( Blodgett) Skinner, and comes of good 
old English stock. In descent he is of the eighth 
generation from John Alden, and is in direct line 



70 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



from Calvin Skinner, of Woodstock, Conn., who 
served honorably in the war for independence. 

riie early education of Mr. Skinner was re- 
ceived in the common and high schools of his native 
town; then, in 1872, he entered Trinity College, 
Hartford, and was graduated from that institution 
in the class oi '76. Having first decided on the 
profession of law for his life work, he attended a 
law school in Albany, X. Y., for one year. Con- 
cluding, however, to take up commercial business 
instead, he, in 1882, became a member of the firm 
of Dwight, Skinner & Co., wool merchants, and so 
continued until May, 1899. 

Mr. Skinner was a colonel on Gov. Morgan G. 
Bulkeley's staff, serving as such during the entire 
four years of that Governor's administration. So- 
cially he is a member of the Hartford Club, of the 
Sons of the American Revolution and the Colonial 
Wars, and of the Mayflower Society. In politics 
he has always been a Republican, ever taking an 
active interest in the welfare of his party, but so far 
has studiously declined office. He is a director of 
the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., of the 
Hartford Fire Insurance Co., the Phoenix National 
Bank, the Fidelity Co., the Society for Savings, 
the Smythe Manufacturing Co., and president of 
the Anchor Mills Paper Co. 

On Oct. 20, 1880, Mr. Skinner married Flor- 
ence Clarissa, daughter of the late Ebenezer Rob- 
erts, of Hartford, and three children grace this 
union: Marjorie Roberts, born Aug. 6, 1881 ; Rob- 
erts Keney, born Oct. 1, 1886; and William Con- 
verse, Jr., born Dec. 27, 1889. Mrs. Skinner is a 
member of the Colonial Dames, and correspond- 
ing secretary of the D. A. R. 

EDGAR CHAPIN LI XX, president of the 
Connecticut Building and Loan Association, Hart- 
ford, is a native of the Western Reserve, or "New 
Connecticut," Ohio, born in Richmond Mav 29, 
1 861. 

Mr. Linn is descended from some of the older 
families that removed to the Western Reserve in an 
early day from Connecticut. Vermont and New Jer- 
sey, his parents being Dr. and Mrs. Ezra ( Buell ) 
Linn. His great-great-grandfather, Joseph Linn, 
served as adjutant in the Second Regiment of Mil- 
itia of Sussex county, X. J., during the war for 
independence. On his father's side Mr. Linn is 
descended from William Buell, who was one of 
tin company that came to Xew England in 1630 
with Rev. John Warham, and first settled at Dor- 
chester, Mass. Subsequently he removed to Wind- 
sor, Conn. This William Buell is said to have been 
the common ancestor to all of the American Buells. 
I li> name is on the first distribution of lands in 
Windsor, Conn., in 1639. He died in 1681. His 
two sons were Samuel and Peter. Samuel married 
Deborah Griswold, and settled in the town of Kil- 
lingworth, Conn. Peter married Martha Coggens. 



I A resume of the Buell family is given farther on 
in this sketch. J 

Edgar C. Linn attended the common schools 
in Richmond until his fourteenth year, and in the 
meantime, with his parents' permission, lie under- 
took to earn, and succeeded in earning, sufficient 
money to carry him through a two-years' course 
at the academy in Austinburg, ( )hio. He then en- 
tered a general store at Conneaut, Ohio, as clerk, 
at $100 per annum, and remained there five years, 
becoming head clerk of the establishment. Here 
he earned the money to pay for his expenses for 
two years in Allegheny College, Meadville, Penn. 
After leaving college he returned to his former 
position in the general store at Conneaut, where 
he remained another year, and then, in 1884, em- 
barked in the retail shoe business for himself. 

In 1887 Mr. Linn retired from the shoe busi- 
ness and became identified with that of the Build- 
ing and Loan Association in the same town, con- 
tinuing therein until 1895. during which period 
by careful study he became thoroughly versed in 
its workings. In 1895 he came to Connecticut, 
associated himself with the directorate of the Con- 
necticut Building and Loan Association, and aided 
in its organization. Mr. Linn became the associa- 
tion's first secretary, a position he filled with great 
efficiencv and very acceptably until his election to 
the presidency, in February, 1901. In connection 
with the secretaryship Mr. Linn served as treasurer 
of the association, having been appointed in 1896 
acting treasurer, and shortly thereafter was regu- 
larly elected. 

in June, 1884. Mr. Linn was married to Miss 
Harriet Hawley, daughter of Gideon Hawley, of 
Conneaut, Ohio, and to them were born five chil- 
dren, three of whom are still living: Robert H., 
Elizabeth H. and Chapin C. The family residence, 
a commodious and sightly one, is located on Farm- 
ington avenue, West Hartford. 

Buell Family. First generation. William 
Buell, or Bewelle, or Beville, w r as born at Ches- 
terton, in Huntingdonshire, England, about 1610, 
came to America about 1030, settled at Dorchester, 
Mass., and about 1635 removed to Windsor. Conn., 
where he died Xov. 23, 1681. "William Buell and 
wife, in 1650, were indicted in Plymouth Colony 
as Baptists." [Bayliss 11. 211.] Married at Wind- 
sor, Conn., Xov. 18, 1640. to Mary | name 

not known I , who died Sept. 2, 1084. Eight chil- 
dren. 

Second generation. Samuel Buell, first child 
of William Buell, born at Windsor, Conn., Sept. 
2, 1641, removed to Killingworth, Conn., [664, 
where he died July ti, 1720. Married at Wind- 
sor, Conn., Xov. 13 or 18, 1 (>(>_>, to Deborah Gris- 
wold. daughter of Edward Griswold, who came 
from England in [639, and settled at Windsor. 
Twelve children. 

Third generation. Deacon John Buell, of Kil- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



77 



lingworth, Conn., fifth child of Samuel Buell, born 
Feb. 17, 1671, removed to Lebanon, Conn., 1695, 
and in 1721 was pioneer to Litchfield, Conn., where 
he died April 9, 1746. Married at Windsor, Conn., 
Nov. 20, 1695, to Mary Loomis. Thirteen chil- 
dren. In the West Burying Ground, at Litch- 
field, Conn., this inscription appears on an old 
gravestone : "Here lies the body of Mrs. Mary, 
wife of Deacon John Buell. She died Nove. 4, 
1768, aged 90, having had 13 children; 10 1 grand- 
children ; 274 great-grandchildren ; and 22 great- 
great-grandchildren. 336 survived her." 

Fourth generation. John Buell, of Lebanon, 
Conn., second child of John Buell, of Killingworth, 
born Feb. 1, 1699, died at Lebanon [no date] 
Married at Lebanon May 19, 1726, to Freedom 
Strong. Nine children. 

Fifth generation. Abraham Buell, fourth child 
of John Buell, born at Lebanon, Feb. 19, 1734; re- 
moved to Litchfield, Conn., thence to Groton, Conn. 
(N. H. ?), 1773, where he died about 1815. Mar- 
ried in Litchfield, Conn., to Sarah Stone, May 20, 
1759. Nine children. 

Sixth generation. Ezra Buell, fifth child of 
Abraham Buell, born at Litchfield, Sept. 18, 1769, 
went with his father to Groton, N. H., in 1773. 
Resided in Hanover, N. H., 1790 to 1800; removed 
to Kinsman. Ohio, 1810 ; afterward removed to 
Hartstown, Penn., where he died Nov. 16, 1865. 
He was a teacher most of the time for sixty years, 
teaching the first school where Dartmouth Col- 
lege now stands ; voted at every Presidential elec- 
tion from Washington's second term to Lincoln's 
second term. He was married at Deerfield, N. H., 
1794, to Dorothy Sanborn, of Deerfield. Four 
children. 

Seventh generation. Theodate Buell, born at 
Groton, N. H., May 29, 1801. She removed to 
North Shenango, Penn., and then married Andrew 
Linn, Feb. 5, 1818. 

Eighth generation. Dr. Ezra Buell Linn, third 
child of Theodate Buell-Linn, born Nov. 6, 1822, 
at Espyville, Pennsylvania. 

Ninth generation. E. C. Linn, third child of 
Dr. E. B. Linn, born May 29, 1861. 

GEN. JAMES H. JARMAN, special agent for 
the Connecticut Mutual Insurance Co., of Hartford, 
is a native of Connecticut, born June 18, 1849, m 
New Haven, and is descended from stalwart New 
England ancestry. 

William S. Jarman, grandfather of our sub- 
ject, married Miss Eliza Elford, of London, Eng- 
land. He was a prominent citizen of New Haven, 
Conn., a deacon in the North Congregational 
Church, and a school teacher by profession, liv- 
ing to the advanced age of eighty-four years. 

William S. Jarman, father of the General, was 
born in New Haven, Conn., received his educa- 
tion in New Haven, and commenced mercantile 
business as a clerk, in course of time establish- 
ing the "Bee Hive" Dry Goods Store in New Haven, 



Conn., which he conducted with success for many 
years, dying at the age of seventy. He married 
(for his second wife) Emma M. Morrell, and by 
her had six children, only two of whom are now 
living: William S. (in Burnside, Conn.) and James 
H. The mother was called from earth in 1852, 
when our subject was a small boy. The latter 
received a liberal education at the public and private 
schools of his native State, and was prepared for 
college, intending to enter Yale, but circumstances 
prevented and he entered a fire-insurance office in 
New Haven. In 1870 he commenced a clerkship 
in the office of the Connecticut Mutual Life In- 
surance Co. in Hartford, where he has since re- 
mained, for years having had charge of the "New 
Business" department. In 1885 he was appointed 
special agent, and has written up an excellent line 
of business. He is a director of the International 
Power Vehicle Co., of New York. 

Our subject is a Republican in politics, and 
has served in various offices of trust, such as coun- 
cilman (1895) from the old Second ward; on the 
school board two terms of three years each, and 
president of same three years. He is a member of 
the South Congregational Church, and was presi- 
dent (1898-99) of the Young People's Association 
of that society. He is on the board of managers 
of the Y. M. C. A., and member of the State com- 
mittee of same. He is also on the board of man- 
agers of the Hartford Free Dispensary. While in 
New Haven he joined the militia, serving in the 
New Haven Grays, but on account of removal was 
discharged. In 1879, after coming to Hartford, he 
assisted Col. Charles E. Thompson in the formation 
of Company K, 1st Regiment, Conn. N. G., of 
which company he was made sergeant, declining a 
lieutenancy; his military record since then is as 
follows: Second Lieutenant, Feb. 19, 1883; First 
Lieutenant April 29, 1886; Major and Brigade I. 
R. P., Conn. N. G., July 3, 1888; resigned, May 
12, 1890; Paymaster-General for State of Connecti- 
cut, Jan. 9, 1895, on the staff of Gov. Coffin. 

In fraternal affiliations Gen. Jarman is a mem- 
ber of the F. & A. M., St. John's Lodge, No. 4, 
and was secretary of Washington Lodge, Windsor, 
two years ; is a member of Wolcott Council, No. 
1, R. & S. M.; Pythagoras Chapter, No. 17, R. 
A. M. ; Washington Commandery No. 1, K. T. 
(being now past commander) : Sphinx Temple, A. 
A. O. N., Mystic Shrine, of which he was one of 
the organizers, and is second officer ; is also T. P. 
Grand Master of Charter Oak Lodge of Perfection, 
Scottish Rite; an officer of Hartford Council, 
Princes of Jerusalem ; and is a thirty-second degree 
Freemason. The General is an honorary member 
of the Hartford City Guard ; charter member of the 
Republican Club of Hartford ; charter member of 
the Twentieth Century Club; member of the Hart- 
ford Masonic Club ; charter member of the Hart- 
ford Golf Club ; and member of the executive com- 
mittee of the Woodmont Golf Club. 



78 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



In 1871 Gen. Jarman was married to Harriet 
C Chipman, of New Haven, daughter of William 
Chipman, a eontractor and builder of that city, 
and they have had four children, one of whom, 
Francis Townsend Jarman, died in infancy, and 
three are living as follows : Florence Eleanor; Edith 
Hedges, wife of Clarence Ward Hatch, secretary 
of the International Power Vehicle Co., of New 
York ; and Frederick Townsend, who was educated 
at public and high school, of which latter he is a 
graduate, and is now attending Yale College, class 
of 1902, being in the Sheffield Scientific Depart- 
ment. Mrs. Jarman is a descendant of Capt. Na- 
thaniel Turner, of the New Haven Colony, who 
was one of the twelve "chosen for foundation work 
of the church" in 1639, and "Captaine" in 1640. 
Gen. Jarman is a grand-nephew of Thomas Jar- 
man, author of the celebrated law work entitled 
"Jarman on Wills," which holds an honored place 
in law libraries. 

PETER DONAHUE, who died at his home in 
Hartford, March 1, 1900, was born in County An- 
trim, Ireland, June 22, 1842. For more than forty 
years he was engaged in the grocery business in 
Hartford, where he was much esteemed for his ster- 
ling qualities of mind and heart. He first estab- 
lished a store at No. 232 Front street, and in 1893 
removed to No. 307 Park street, the business being 
conducted there until his death. Air. Donahue was 
active politically in Hartford, representing the old 
Sixth ward as councilman for two terms. He was a 
man of large charity, and many a poor family will 
miss him. He belonged to several fraternal organ- 
izations, including the Ancient Order of Hiber- 
nians ; Charter Oak Council, Knights of Columbus ; 
and the Emerald Society, and he was a devout and 
consistent member of the Church of the Immaculate 
Conception. He had five sisters living in this coun- 
try : Mrs. Bernard McCaffrey and Mrs. John Gib- 
bins, of Hartford ; Mrs. Mary Atchison, of South 
Dakota ; Mrs. John Trainor, of Moodus ; and Mrs. 
James Carr, of Naugatuck. 

In October, 1878, Mr. Donahue was married 
in Hartford to Miss Nora O'Neil, who survives 
him. They had three children: John, aged twenty 
years, who succeeded his father in business ; Mar- 
garet, aged eighteen; and Stephen, aged sixteen. 

HERBERT CALVIN PARSONS, proprietor 
of "Parsons Theater," Hartford, is a native of Con- 
necticut, born Nov. 4, 1854, in East Windsor, a son 
of Calvin G. and Elizabeth (Chapman) Parsons. 

Calvin G. Parsons was born in East Windsor, 
Conn., in 1825, and died in 1891, at the age of 
sixty-six years. In politics he was a Republican, 
and for many years was first selectman in Windsor; 
during the war of the Rebellion he was an enroll- 
ing officer, having the enlisting of men for the I Inion 
army, and altogether was a prominent man, taking 
tive part in all the affairs of his day and time. 



He married Elizabeth Chapman, born in Ellington, 
Conn., a daughter of Jabez Chapman, also of El- 
lington nativity, where he passed his entire life, a 
long one, in agricultural pursuits. To Calvin G. 
and Elizabeth Parsons were born four children, 
three of whom are yet living: Hattie, wife of Henry 
Tschummie, residing in Broadbrook, Hartford 
county; Carrie, wife of George Crane, superintend- 
ent of a mill in Glastonbury ; and Herbert C, our 
subject. The parents were members of the Con- 
gregational Church. 

Herbert C. Parsons received his education at 
the common schools of East Windsor, and passed 
his early manhood in farming in that town where 
for five years he was collector of taxes. He has had 
an extensive and varied experience. In 1872 he 
started from Jacksonville, Fla., as an assistant to 
George H. Decostio ; next accepted a position as ad- 
vance agent for Dan Rice's "Paris Pavilion" Circus, 
which he filled with flattering success. Some two 
years later he purchased the "Broad Brook Hotel," 
and in 1893 we find him in Bridgeport, a partner to 
C. L. Davis, in the Alvin Joslyn show, which he 
later disposed of to become part owner of the Park 
City Theater, in that city, and in 1896 be built and 
opened his theater in Hartford. It is beautifully 
decorated and elegantly furnished, and is through- 
out a thoroughly modern playhouse, the equal of 
those in the larger cities, and the public has shown 
its appreciation by a very liberal patronage. 

Not only is Mr. Parsons a thorough business 
man, but he is possessed of fine social qualities, and 
is a member of a number of fraternal organizations, 
having passed through the various degrees of Ma- 
sonry. He is a member of Oriental Lodge, No. 
in, Adoniram Chapter, Rockville Council, Wash- 
ington Commandery, and Pyramid Temple of the 
Mystic Shrine; of the Hartford lodge of Elks; and 
of Elm Court, Foresters, of Broad Brook. In poli- 
tics he has always been a Republican. Mr. Par- 
sons married Carrie G. Simpson, daughter of 
Harvey and Mirah Simpson, of Portland, Conn.; 
they have one daughter, Maud M., born in 1880. 

HENRY C. JUDD, senior member of H. C. 
Jttdd & Root, wool merchants, Hartford, was born 
of good old English stock. April 12, 1827. in North- 
ampton, Mass.. but has resided the greater part of 
his life in Hartford, Connecticut. 

Thomas Judd, the first ancestor of the family 
in America, came from England in 1633 or 1634, 
and settled in Cambridge, Mass., later, in 1636, be- 
coming one of the original settlers of Hartford, lo- 
cating next to the Wyllvs lot, which was dis- 
tinguished by the fact that upon it once stood the 
celebrated Charter Oak. He was one of the first 
settlers of Farmington, where he removed in 1644; 
he was a member of the General Court, this body 
then being known as the House of Deputies, and 
served from 1648 at different times up to 1679 — 
seventeen terms in all. He was a member of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



19 



Thmas Hooker's church, one of its seven pillars 
at its organization, and was a deacon of this church. 
He was one of the original proprietors of the town 
■of Farmington, which included some five or six 
towns, thence removed to Northampton, Mass., 
-where he was a selectman and held other offices of 
trust. He died Nov. 12, 1688, at the age of about 
eighty years. 

Jonathan Judd, great-grandfather of Henry C, 
was born in the town of Middletown, Conn., a son 
of Benjamin J. Judd, who was the fourth son of 
Deacon Thomas Judd, who lived at Lexington. 
Jonathan Judd had his home for a time in Glaston- 
bury, whence he removed, in 1716, to Middletown, 
and there died Aug. 28, 1725, at the early age of 
thirty-seven years. 

Solomon Judd, son of Jonathan, and the grand- 
father of Henry C, was born in Coventry, Conn., 
Sept. 21, 1758, and was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary war, and died in South Coventry, April 
521, 1 85 1, aged ninety-two years. By his wife Anna 
(Carpenter), who died Jan. 29, 1847, he had six 
children. 

John F. Judd, son of Solomon and Anna Judd, 
and the father of our subject, was born Sept. 6, 
1798, in South Coventry, Conn., and for some years 
made his home in Northampton, Mass., removing 
finally to Hartford, where he spent the rest of his 
life, dying at the age of eighty-five years. In 1850 
he embarked in the wool business, and followed 
same successfully until his death. He was an in- 
fluential member of the M. E. Church, and one of its 
trustees ; was a director of several public institu- 
tions, and altogether was a very prominent man. 
Mr. Judd married Olive Fuller, who was born in 
Windham, Conn., and six children came to their 
union, two of whom are yet living: Henry C. ; and 
Edwin D., a retired army officer residing in Hart- 
ford. The mother of these passed away in 185 1, at 
the age of forty-eight years. 

Henry C. Judd, whose name introduces this 
•sketch, received his education in part at the com- 
mon and high schools, in part at a private school, 
and at the age of twenty-one began business with 
Fis father, becoming a partner in the concern, and 
he is now the oldest wool merchant in Hartford. 
At different times he has had five partners, and the 
present house of H. C. Judd & Root is not only 
one of the oldest in the United States, but one of 
the largest in the wool trade. The firm buys wool 
all over the United States, importing largely from 
foreign countries, and as Mr. Judd has traveled ex- 
tensively in the interests of the business, he is known 
by every large owner of sheep throughout the Union. 
The present firm consists of Henry C. Judd, Judson 
H. Root. Edwin D. Judd, James H. Bidwell and 
Edwin Y. Judd. In 1883 "they built the Judd & 
Root block, corner of High and Allyn streets, in 
Hartford, one of the finest in the city, it being 
140x100 feet, six stories high. 

On Sept. 6, 1853, Henry C. Judd was united in 



marriage with Mary P. Young, a native of Jewett 
City, Conn., and six children have graced their 
union, four of whom are now living: (1) Edwin 
Y., a member of the firm; (2) Emma, wife of Will- 
iam H. Deming, of the Connecticut Mutual Life 
Insurance Co.; (3) Jennie B., wife of Leonard D. 
Fisk, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere; (4) 
Fred E., who married a Miss Roberts, of Hart- 
ford, and is now living in Pendleton, Oregon. The 
family attend the services of the Park Congrega- 
tional Church ; in politics Mr. Judd is a Republican. 
He is a director in the Hartford National Bank, 
the National Fire Insurance Co., of Hartford, the 
^Etna Nut Co., of Southington, Conn., and Landers, 
Frary & Clark, of New Britain, Conn, while for 
some years he has been chairman of the West Hart- 
ford School Board. 

The home of the family is one of the very finest 
and most luxurious in the city of Hartford, fur- 
nished as it is in the most elegant manner, wherein 
comfort, refinement and artistic taste are the ne plus 
ultra. In the music room stands a fine pipe organ, 
run by a water motor, and here the eldest son, who 
is an organist of no mean merit, finds solace and 
recreation of the most soul-inspiring kind. Around 
the walls of this room are numerous electric lights, 
that produce variegated hues, at the the will of the 
performer at the organ, without leaving the key- 
board, presenting in its entirety the suggestion of 
oriental inspiration. The furniture of some of the 
rooms is hand-carved, and of rare design, dating 
back to the sixteenth century. Throughout the en- 
tire residence there are evidences of the refined 
taste of the owner, and the handiwork of master 
artists. Both Mr. and Mrs. Judd are most genial, 
hospitable people, ever ready to welcome their 
friends. 

JOHN F. WHAPLES, of the firm of J. F. 
Whaples & Son, contractors and builders, No. 2 
Olmsted street, East Hartford, Hartford county, 
Connecticut. 

JOHN C. WEBSTER, who for nearly forty 
years has been most widely and favorably known 
in insurance circles, twenty years of which period 
he served as vice-president of the /Etna Life In- 
surance Co., of Hartford, and who at this writing 
is the company's general agent in New York City, 
was born May 24, 1839, at Kingfield, Maine. 

Mr. Webster received a thorough English edu- 
cation, completing the course at the Concord (N. 
H.) high school. He learned the printer's trade at 
Concord, and before he was twenty-one was at the 
head of one of the largest newspaper offices in that 
city. Tn the spring of 1864 he became identified 
with the business of life insurance, becoming the 
general agent of the /Etna Life for the States of 
New Hampshire and Vermont. In that position 
from the very start he showed marked adaotation 
for the business, and advanced rapidly. He re- 



80 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ceived the appointment, in 1873, of superintendent 
of agencies tor the .Etna, and removed to Hart- 
ford, Conn. In July, 1879, ne was elected vice- 
president, a position he occupied in the most effi- 
cient and able manner. For fifteen years Mr. 
Webster edited "The /Etna," a journal devoted ex- 
clusively to the interests of the /Etna Life, pub- 
lished quarterly. Mis writings have commanded 
wide attention in insurance circles, giving the pa- 
per and company a standing that could have been 
attained in no other way. Mr. Webster organized 
the accident department of the /Etna Life, and 
continued in charge of it until his retirement from 
the vice-presidency, in 1899. He also organized 
the ^Etna Indemnity Co., and was its first president. 
He served seventeen years as trustee of the Hart- 
ford Trust Co. 

Air. Webster was one of the founders of the 
Hartford County Horticultural Society, and was its 
first president. This society was subsequently in- 
corporated by the Legislature as the Connecticut 
Horticultural Society. Mr. Webster, in his political 
views, is a Republican. While he has steadily de- 
clined public office and position, he regards public 
affairs with great interest, and is one of the most 
patriotic and public-spirited of citizens. He has 
done a great deal toward the development and pros- 
perity of that section of the town of West Hart- 
ford where he resides. 

Mr. Webster has been twice married. His first 
wife, who was Miss Sarah B. Norton, of Kingfield, 
Maine, died in 1868; by this marriage he had one 
child, a son, who died in infancy. His second 
wife, who was Mrs. Mary E. L. Abbott, of Con- 
cord, N. H., is still living. 

HON. GEORGE PAYNE McLEAX. for 
years a member of the law firm of Sperry & Mc- 
Lean, of Hartford, and now Governor of Con- 
necticut, comes of Puritan stock. 

Born Oct. 7, 1857, in the town of Simsbu'ry, 
son of Dudley Bestor and Mary (Payne) McLean, 
the Governor on his mother's side is descended 
from Gov. Bradford, who came to New England 
in the "Mayflower," and on his father's side from 
the ancient and illustrious Loomis family, who for 
generations lived in what is now Tolland county, 
which section was for years the home of the earlier 
McLeans, and in whose history a number figured 
prominently. From the McLeans, of that part of 
the old town of Boston more recently Vernon, 
. McLean is in the fifth generation from Allen 
McLean, who, in 1744, married Mary Loomis, the 
line of his descenl bring through Capt. Alexander. 
Rev. Allen and Dudley Bestor McLean. 

(IP apt. Alexander McLean, soil of Allen. 
born 1717. married, in 1 7G8, Joanna Smith, and 
died in [806. 

(Ill) Rev. Mini McLean, born June 20, 178T, 
in what is now the town of Vernon, Conn., mar- 

I (first), June 21, [810, Sarah Pratt, who died 
in [831, and (second 1 $33, wedded Nancy Mor- 



gan, who died in [860. Lev. McLean, according: 
t Ins own statement, was reared by good Christian 
parents, rigid in morals and discipline. He was 
graduated from Yale College in 1805, and after one 
year passed in divinity study in New Haven he 
furthered his studies in that line in the family of 
Rev. Hooker, in Goshen. He was ordained and set- 
tled as pastor over the Congregational Church in 
Simsbury, and remained in such relations over fifty 
years, during the last eleven of which he was totally 
blind, but ever resigned and cheerful. In is the- 
ology he was in harmony with Dwight and Edwards 
and the Holy Scriptures, always honest and straight- 
forward in his religious opinions. He was a strong 
advocate of temperance. He died in 1861, greatly 
beloved by the people he had served so long. 

Dudley B. McLean, son of Rev. Allen, and the 
father of Gov. McLean, born Feb. 12, 1821, mar- 
ried Sept. 16, 1846, Mary Payne. Mr. McLean 
was a man of intelligence and worth in Simsbury, 
where he was by occupation a farmer. 

George Payne McLean, the subject proper of this 
sketch, was reared on a farm, worked in the farming- 
season, and attended the district school in the 
winters. At the age of fifteen he entered the Hart- 
ford Public High School, in his Junior year was 
chosen editor of the school paper, and, in his Senior 
\ear, as class orator. He was graduated in 1877, 
and then began the work of life as a reporter on 
7 he Hartford Post. In 1879 he left journalism and 
entered as a student the law office of the late Hon. 
Henry C. Robinson, of Hartford, and while studying t 
law continued to support himself by keeping books I 
for Trinity College. He was admitted to the Bar 
in 1882, and commenced practice in Hartford, where 
he has since continued. In one sense he has re- 
tained his identity with Simsbury. and represented 
that town in the General Assembly of Connecticut 
in the sessions of 1883 and 1884. and was State 
senator from his district in 1886. As a legislator 
Ins fidelity and ability made him prominent and in- 
fluential. He was especially active in his advocacy 
of the bill creating the Board of Pardons, and of 
what was known as the "Short Haul bill." Mr. 
Robinson, in wdiose office Mr. McLean had remained 
as a practitioner after his admission to the Bar, 
was the chief attorney for the railroad corporations 
in the sharp contest which they made against the 
passage of that bill: but Mr. McLean believed the 
bill to be right and for the welfare oi the people, 
and so he favored it. The Speaker of the House 
of Representatives in the session of [884 was that 
able and high-minded citizen of New Haven. Hon. 
Henrv 15. Harrison, who, when he became governor 
in 1887. remembered so well the fine quality of Mr. 
McLean's legislative work that he appointed him, 
although then only twenty-nine years old, a member 

lie Commission to perform the delicate and im- 
portant duty of revising the Statutes oi the State, 
■his associates on the Commission being Judges James 

Eovey, Augustus H. Fenn, and R. Jay Walsh. . 
lie was nominated for Secretary of State in 1890, 







£t^<^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



81 



the election for State officers that year resulting in 
what is known as the "dead-lock." In 1892 upon rec- 
ommendation of the entire Connecticut Congress- 
sional delegation, President Harrison appointed him 
United States Attorney for the District of Connecti- 
cut. He filled that office four years, and filled it so 
well that he won for the government every criminal 
case that was tried, and every civil case for the State 
Comptroller four years, and for the State Treas- 
urer two years. 

At the State Republican Convention held at 
New Haven on Sept. 6, 1900, Mr. McLean was 
made the nominee of that party for Governor of 
Connecticut, by being placed in nomination by the 
distinguished lawyer and orator, Hon. Joseph L. 
Barbour, of Hartford. In the election which fol- 
lowed in November, Mr. McLean was elected by 
something like 11,000 majority, and was inaugur- 
ated Governor of Connecticut Jan. 9, 1901. 

"To Mr. McLean for his tact, forbearance, court- 
esy and gentlemanly bearing all through the un- 
comfortable days of a trying campaign much credit 
is due. His course under the fire directed upon 
him commanded respect, and made for him friends. 
His administration will be brilliant and a credit to 
the State as well as to himself." 

Gov. McLean's first message is considered as al- 
together out of the ordinan — a brilliant State paper, 
one in which there is not a dull or superfluous word, 
while it is full of ideas. In it he has said what he 
thinks, and has dodged nothing. The sources of its 
real strength are courage, wisdom and foresight. 
It is a paper that will mark, not to say make, an 
epoch in Connecticut history. Gov. McLean's ver- 
satility of gifts as an orator has often been illus- 
trated before critical audiences, and on more than 
one occasion he has received distinguished compli- 
ments from eminent sources, of which he would be 
justified in feeling proud. 

LIEUT.-GOV. GEORGE GRISWOLD SILL, 
well and favorably known, not only throughout the 
length and breadth of Hartford county, but largely 
throughout the .State of Connecticut and adjoining 
States, comes of an honored and honorable New 
England family, of English descent. He is a de- 
scendant in the seventh generation from John Sill, 
his line beng through Capt. Joseph, Joseph, John 
(2), John (3), and Henry 

(I) John Sill about the year 1637 emigrated 
from Lyme, England, to Cambridge, Mass. (II) 
Capt. Joseph, of Lvme, after 1675. (Ill) Joseph 
(2). (IV) John (2). (V) John (3), son of John 
(2), born at Silltown (Lyme), Conn., in 1744, 
married (first) Mary Anderson, of Windsor; mar- 
ried (second) in 1785 Elizabeth, daughter of George 
Griswold, of Lyme. John Sill (3) settled in Wind- 
sor about T775, and died there in 1827. 

(VI) Henry Sill (father of our subject), son 
of John (3), born Aug. 25, 1786. in Windsor, 
married in May, 1809, Almeda Marshall, of Wind- 

6 



sor, and their children were: (1) Henry G., born 
in 1810, died in 1835; (2) Eliza A., born in 1814, 
died in 1859; (3) J onn M., born in 1816, died in 
1834; (4) Julia, born in 1819, married Samuel 
Mather, and died in 1885; (5) William R., born in 
1822, married Mary G. Edgar, and is a prominent 
man at LaCrosse, Wis., a civil engineer of note ; (6) 
Emily, born in 1824, married E. S. Alford, of 
Windsor, and died in 1865; (?) Mary A., 
born in 1827, married O. R. Holcomb, of 
Windsor; (8) George Griswold, our subject, was 
born Get. 26, 1829; and (9) Jane H., born in 1833, 
died in 1859. The father of this family was a life- 
long farmer, also followed surveying ; he was a lay 
judge of the probate court, a man of prominence 
in Windsor, and held all the offices of the town ; set- 
tled a large number of estates, and transacted a 
great deal of legal business. He died July 21, 1870, 
at the age of eighty-four years, highly respected and 
greatly esteemed by all. His wife was a lineal de- 
scendant of Capt. Samuel Marshall, who was killed 
in a fight with the Narragansett Indians, in 1675. 
She was called from earth in October, 1858, at the 
age of seventy-two, a member of the Episcopal 
Church. 

George G. Sill, of whom we write, was educat- 
ed at Ellington Academy, and prepared for college 
by private tuition; graduated in 1852 from Yale 
College with the degree of A. B. ; attended lectures 
for a year in Yale Law School, and afterward be- 
came a student in the law office of the late Gov. 
Richard D. Hubbard, at Hartford. In 1854 he was 
admitted to the Bar, and has since continued in the 
active practice of his profession. For over forty 
years he has been a prominent member of the Bench 
and Bar, and for more than half a century has taken 
an active part in the court, social and political affairs 
of the county. For forty odd years he has been 
a justice of the peace, for many years a prosecuting 
grand juror, and a side judge of the Hartford City 
Court, while from 1871 to 1873 he was recorder, or 
judge, of the same court. Among the many cases 
that have been tried by him none, perhaps, is of 
more general interest than the celebrated "Fox 
will" case. 

During the Civil war Mr. Sill was especially 
active in the Union cause, and it was in his office 
that the first company of Connecticut volunteers was 
formed. Until 1872 he had been an active and 
prominent Republican, but in that year, under the 
leadership of Horace Greeley, he became a liberal 
Republican, believing that a more conciliatory policv 
should be pursued toward the Southern States. In 
1872 he voted for Greeley. He has been a delegate 
to a number of county conventions, and has de- 
livered many platform addresses, being noted for 
his success as a public speaker. 

In 1873 Mr. Sill was nominated for lieutenant- 
governor on the ticket headed by Charles R. Inger- 
soll, of New Haven, and was elected by a hand- 
some majority; in 1874-75-76 he was re-elected to 



82 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



the same office. In 1882 he was elected to the Gen- 
eral Assembly as representative from Hartford, and 
was the Democratic nominee for Speaker of the 
House. In March, 1888, he was nominated, by 
Presidenl Cleveland, as United States district attor- 
ney for the District of Connecticut, and his appoint- 
ment was confirmed by the Senate. In 1859 he was 
a member of the Fremont Club ; in i860 was a mem- 
ber of the Lincoln Club, and upon the occasion 
of Lincoln's visit to Hartford he introduced him 
to the people of the city. In municipal affairs he 
served three years in the Hartford common council, 
part of the time as alderman. In commercial and 
financial circles he has always been prominent, and 
is identified with some of the most important finan- 
cial and commercial concerns of Hartford and 
vicinity. 

On Dec. 18, 1861, our subject married, at Rock- 
ville, Conn., Mrs. Mary J. (Preston) Peek, a native 
of New York, widow of De Witt C. Peek, of that 
city, and daughter of Esek J. Preston, a flour and 
coal merchant in Hartford, and at one time connected 
with William H. Imlay. Children as follows were 
born to this union: (1) George Eliot, born in 1862, 
and who died in 1896, was a prominent lawyer in 
Hartford. (2) Grace P., born in 1865, died April 
14, 1893. (3) Ellen P., born in 1866, married Hubert 
Kip Wood, of Cleveland, Ohio, an inventor, and 
now superintendent of a factory at Windsor for 
making shells for the government. (4) William 
Raymond, born in 1869, was a prominent editor and 
newspaper man "out west." and is now on the staff 
of the New York Evening World; he recently re- 
ported for that paper the celebrated "Molineux" 
trial, which lasted some ten weeks ; he married Cora 
Ankins. The mother of this family died April 
13, 1894, at the age of sixty-nine years. The fam- 
ily attend the services of Trinity Episcopal Church, 
Hartford. 

Although having now reached the allotted age 
of man, our subject is still actively engaged in the 
arduous pursuits of his profession, and of the men. 
who, by personal effort and application, have clone 
much to make the city of Hartford what it is to- 
day, none are more deserving of the highest encom- 
iums of praise than Lieut. -Gov. Sill. 

XATHAX LOOM IS I URGE, deceased. For 
more than 250 years the I 'urge family has re- 
sided in Hartford count)-, and during these two and 
half centuries its members have been promi- 
nent as farmers, manufacturers and business men, 
as well as in public life and in the church. 

The earliest member to settle within the present 
nty limits was Richard Birge, one of Windsor's 
pioneers, who came from Dorchester, Mass.. with 
Rev. John Warham, of whose church he was a 
member. The early records — in which the family 
name is variously spelt Burge, Birdge, Birydge and 
Birge — show him to have been an extensive land 
owner as early as [640. In addition to a home 



lot, in the settlement of Windsor, he had acquired 
title to sixteen acres "beyond the second pine plane," 
on the west side of the mill brook, besides eight 
acres south of the mill brook, eight and one-fourth 
acres on the side of "Pine Hill, " and many other 
parcels of land, on both sides of the river, the deeds 
antedating 1646. Most of this was afterward 
owned by his son Daniel. Among his grantors 
were Nathan Gillett (in 1644) and James Eno (in 
1647). Richard, Sr., was Richard, Jr., in 1649. 
He was a large farmer, but of his personal traits 
of character very little can be told. That he was 
a God-fearing man, and a devout Puritan, is shown 
by his connection with Rev. Mr. Warham; and that 
he was prudent, careful and successful is evidenced 
by his continued acquisition of wealth. 

On Oct. 5, 1641, Richard Birge married Eliza- 
beth, a daughter of Hon. William Gaylord, and 
their children were: John, born in 1642, died in 
1643; Daniel, born Nov. 24, 1644; Elizabeth, born 
July 28, 1646, died in infancy; Jeremiah, born May 
6, 1648; John (2), born Jan. 14. 1(149: and Joseph, 
born Nov. 2, 1651, died in July, 1705. Richard 
Birge died in 1651, and his widow became the wife 
of Thomas Haskins, of Windsor. Jeremiah, the 
third son of Richard, entered into an agreement 
with his step-father to the effect that he would 
serve him faithfully and well until he reached the 
age of twenty-one, the consideration to be the con- 
veyance to him by Haskins of a stipulated piece of 
land ; it being also provided that, in the event of 
the death of Jeremiah before attaining his majority, 
his brother John should serve the unexpired term. 
The elder brother died at the age of twenty years 
and six months, and the younger son, on completing 
the contract, received the reward agreed upon. 

The death of Jeremiah left two sons of Rich- 
ard Birge yet living: Daniel and John. Daniel, 
who was propounded for a freeman in May, 1670, 
married, Nov. 5, 1668, Deborah Holcomb. by whom 
he was the father of three sons and six daughters : 
Elizabeth, born April 25, 1670 (died in infancy) : 
Deborah, Nov. 26, 1671 ; Elizabeth (2), Feb. 3, 
1674; Mary, Dec. 25. 1677 (married before her 
father's death); Daniel, Sept. 6, 1680; Abigail, 
1684; John, 1690; Cornelius, July 30, 1694 (died in 
1697) ; and Esther, 1697. Daniel Birge died Jan. 
26, 1697-98, his wife surviving him. 

It is, however, with the younger branch of the 
family, that of which John Birge, son of Richard, 
was the founder, that this biography is more par- 
ticularly concerned, since it is to this that the late 
Nathan L. Birge belonged. John Birge, who, as 
has been said, was born Jan. 14, [649, married 
1 lannah Watson (or Wratson ) March 28. 1678. and 
died Dec. 2, 1697. Four children were born to 
them: John, Jr., Feb. 4. 1679; 1 lannah, June 17, 
1682: Jeremiah, Sept. 22, [686; and Mary, Sept. 
9, 1688. 

Jeremiah Birge, the second son and third child 
of John Birge, Sr., married Mary Griswold, of 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



83 



Windsor, in 1718, and was the father of children 
as follows: Jeremiah, born Dec. 23, 1719; Mary, 
Aug. 21, 1721 ; John, April 25, 1723; Ann, Oct. 28,. 
172O; Peletiah, Sept. 8, 1728; Hannah, March 18, 
1730; Mindwell, March 24, 1732; and Lucia, Sept. 
23, 1736. Jeremiah, Sr., the lather, died in 1775. 
John Birge, known as Capt. Birge, because of 
his military rank, married Mary Kellogg, who bore 
him six children: Mary, Oct. 31, 1752; John, March 
15, 1753; Simeon, Dec. 26, 1756; Isaac; Roswell ; 
Anna. 

John Birge, the second child, was the grand- 
father of Nathan L. Birge. The place of his birth 
-cannot be fixed with absolute certainty, but is be- 
lieved to have been Torrington. On March 23, 
1779, he married Lydia Hopkins, of Canaan, and 
to this union six children were born : Polly, Feb. 
22, 1781 ; Aranda, Sept. 17, 1782; John, May 4, 
1785 ; Chester, July 23, 1788 ; Hopkins ; and Marella, 
Dec. 27, 1797. After the death of his first wife 
he married, on Feb. 5, 1824, Lucy, the third of a 
family of twelve children born to Ebenezer Good- 
win, of New Hartford. She died in February, 1858, 
without issue. 

John Birge, second son of John, above, and the 
father of Nathan Loomis, was born at Torrington. 
After leaving school he learned the trade of a 
•carpenter and builder, and assisted in the erection 
of Harwinton church. About 1800 he removed to 
Bristol, where he settled on a farm near the old 
North burying-ground, and adjoining the "Gad 
Lewis" farm, and at the same time began business 
.as a manufacturer. His first venture in that line 
was in the building of wagons, in which he was 
very successful. He had a natural fondness and 
aptitude for agricultural pursuits, taking a deep 
interest therein until the time of his death. He 
was a man of sound, practical sense, which he 
brought to bear upon the affairs of everyday life, 
and of excellent judgment, and to these two qualities 
his success in life may be largely attributed. 

After conducting the business of wagon making 
for several years, Mr. Birge purchased a patent 
covering the right to manufacture rolling-pinion 
eight-day clocks. He was already the owner of 
a building in which to install a plant, having pre- 
viously bought the old woolen-mill, in the eastern 
part of the town, upon a portion of the site of 
which stand the works of the present Codling 
Manufacturing Co. Here, in connection with a 
partner, he began the manufacture of clocks, the 
firm being Birge & Mallory. Their goods met with 
a ready and large sale from the very inception of 
the enterprise, and gained for Mr. Birge a reputa- 
tion throughout the United States and in Europe. 
Peddlers were sent through the South and West; 
the domestic demand steadily increased, while the 
export trade assumed very considerable propor- 
tions; and even to this day not a few of his clocks 
may be found in Bristol homes, ticking away the 
hours with the regularity and accuracy of more 



modern and more costly timepieces. Some of these 
clocks have been running over sixty-five years in 
the South and West. Mr. Birge continued in this 
line of business until within a few years of his 
demise, when he retired, having accumulated a 
moderate fortune. At one time he owned and ran 
for a number of years the stage route between 
Bristol and Hartford. He was a man of prominence 
in the community; a public-spirited citizen, always 
ready to contribute money or time toward the ad- 
vancement of the general welfare. He served as 
a soldier during the war of 1812, carrying a cap- 
tain's commission, and adding- luster to the family 
name. He took a deep and active interest in po- 
litical affairs, and was prominent in the councils 
of the "Old-line" Whig par.ty. His fellow towns- 
men, appreciating his capability, integrity and fear- 
lessness, honored him by electing him to several 
offices of responsibility and trust. 

From early life Mr. Birge was an earnest worker 
for the advancement of religion, freely contribut- 
ing of his wealth, and unselfishly devoting his best 
personal efforts to the cause of his Master. And 
in this connection it may be added, that this spirit 
of generosity toward the church, and this readiness 
to aid in the dissemination of Gospel truth, yet 
remain characteristics of his descendants. He en- 
tered into rest June 6, 1862, at the age of seventy- 
seven, full of years and of good works, trusted and 
honored by all who knew him, and most of all by 
those who knew him best. In 1810 he was married 
to Miss Betsey Loomis, who was born at Torring- 
ford in 1786, a daughter of Brigadier Loomis. 

Nathan Loomis Birge, son of John, was born 
on his father's farm in Bristol Aug. 7, 1823. After 
graduating from the high school of his native town, 
at the age of sixteen, he prepared for Yale Col- 
lege at the Berlin Academy and at Deacon Hart's 
school, Farmington, and then matriculated at Yale 
College ; but after passing through the Sophomore 
year he found himself compelled to abandon his 
studies on account of impaired eyesight. He was, 
nevertheless, able to accept a position as teacher 
in the old Pearl Street Academy, in Albany, N. 
Y., which he filled with marked ability for two 
years, having as many as ninety boys, whom he 
instructed in the higher Mathematics, and in the 
Languages. Some of those who were under his 
pedagogic care at this period afterward attained 
National, if not world-wide, celebrity, among them 
being a son of William H. Seward, Gen. Massey, 
and Rev. Morgan L. Dix, of New York. After 
severing his connection with the Academy Mr. 
Birge entered the office of Stevens & Cagger, at 
Albany, where for a time he read law. The legal 
profession, however, did not commend itself to his 
favor, and going to New York he became a part- 
ner in a wholesale dry-goods house. The firm 
was shortly after dissolved, owing to the death 
of one of the partners, and he began to think of 
engaging in business as a manufacturer. At this 



84 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



juncture his father, whose trade with Great Britain 

and the continent of Europe had grown to such 
dimensions as to require the presence of a repre- 
sentative abroad, ottered him the position of Lon- 
don agent, which he accepted. Mis management 
of the business entrusted to his charge was em- 
inently successful, and in 1848 he returned. 

At that period of his life Mr. Birge was im- 
bued with a young man's fondness for change of 
scene, and the predilection for adventure which 
often accompanies a daring, courageous spirit, as 
one of its attributes, lie joined a party of traders, 
bound for what was then the "bar West." Sep- 
arating himself at once from the comforts and the 
restraints of civilization, he followed the course of 
the Arkansas river, buying skins and furs from the 
aboriginal sons of the forest in exchange for mer- 
chandise of a miscellaneous sort. He had a regular 
trading" store, and always got along very well with 
the Indians. The life was hard, yet it possessed the 
charm of novelty, and the venture proved a finan- 
cial success. The following year occurred the epi- 
demic of the California gold fever, and Mr. Birge 
proved an easy victim. His journey to the gold 
fields (actual and prospective) occupied seven 
months, and was attended by a constant recur- 
rence of privations and sufferings, which might 
well have caused a weaker or less resolute man to 
drop by the way. There were no bridges across 
any of the rivers, and he and his party were com- 
pelled to swim every river they same to ; ten times 
they swam the Colorado river, ferrying their per- 
sonal possessions across on lightly constructed rafts. 
During the entire trip they were more or less among 
hostile Indians, and parties in front of Mr. Birge's 
train were cut off, as well as those following, while 
other parties were completely annihilated. Only 
one man attached to his train was lost, although 
they had almost daily skirmishes with the hostile 
Indians, who would attack them at every oppor- 
tunity. 

On reaching San Francisco, well-nigh destitute 
of ready money, Mr. Birge found even the most 
ordinary necessaries of life commanding prices too 
exorbitant for him to pay. Under these circum- 
stances, he accepted the invitation of a friend to 
pass the coming winter in Hawaii. Early in the 
succeeding spring he returned to California, and 
after one summer spent in the mining camps he 
resolutely set his face toward Bristol. After his 
return he made the home of his childhood the home 
of middle life and old age, identifying" himself 
■with all its public interests, and always keenly sym- 
pathetic with every project which tended for its 
real betterment. 

Soon after his return, in 1850, Mr. Birge found- 
ed the Bristol Knitting Mill, locating his plant in 
the northern part of the town, in a large factory 
building which had been erected by Benjamin Ray, 
in 1845. Several changes in the personnel of the 
firm occurred during the succeeding years, Mr. 



Birge finally becoming sole owner, and managing 
the Dusmess alone until 1882, on Feb. 10 of which 
year the mill was destroyed by fire. A new and 
more complete one was immediately erected, and in 
operation before the fall of the same year, the main 
building alone being 165x35 feet, and four stories 
high. About this time he admitted his son John into 
partnership. In 1893 a younger son, George, was 
taken into the firm, and after that time the business 
was conducted under the firm name of N. L. Birge 
& Sons, until the death of Mr. Birge, Oct. 29, 1899, 
when it was changed to the X. L. Birge & Sons 
Co. The enterprise prospered from the beginning, 
and has proved very profitable. The firm's new 
mill is one of the best equipped, best constructed 
and best managed in New England, and gives em- 
ployment to more than one hundred hands. All 
descriptions of knit underwear are manufactured 
here, and the superior quality and fine finish of the 
output creates for it a steady demand throughout 
the country, the trade universally considering" the 
firm's goods as among the best on the market. The 
New York office and salesroom of the house is 
at 346 Broadway. The policy of the firm toward 
its employes has been a liberal one, and the wages 
paid have always been equal to the highest, and 
sometimes in excess of those paid by other concerns 
in the same line. 

For many years Mr. Birge was prominently iden- 
tified with the public affairs of Bristol. In 1888 
he was chosen a member of the school board, and 
filled that position at the time of his death. It was 
during these eleven years (1890-91) that the hand- 
some, new, high school building was erected. He 
was one of the incorporators of the Bristol Na- 
tional Bank, and was for many years its vice-presi- 
dent, having declined its presidency, which was 
offered him after the death of John H. Sessions. 
He was also a director of the Bristol Savings Bank, 
and vice-president of the Bristol Water Co. A 
member of the Congregational Church, he was a 
remarkably regular attendant upon its services, 
rarely missing a Sunday during a period of forty- 
one years, and he contributed freely toward its sup- 
port and the advancement of its work. In fact, 
he regarded his wealth as a trust to be administered 
for the benefit of religion and humanity. His purse 
strings were never drawn against a call for a worthy 
charity, public or private, while the amount of his 
personal benefactions to the needy, unostentatiously 
bestowed, is known only to Him who said, "let not 
your left hand know what your right hand doeth." 
He was universally beloved and his kind smile and 
cheery word seemed to spread light and comfort as 
he went about his daily vocations. His home was an 
ideal one, in every sense. His residence was, prob- 
ably, the most costly in Bristol, having involved an 
outlay of $50,000, and standing in the midst of 
extensive grounds, the beautiful arrangement and 
adornment of which told of the wealth and artistic 
tastes. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



85 



For several years before his death, Mr. Birge's 
health was not good, yet he fought against illness 
with the same courage and grit which had sustained 
him during his seven months of hardship while 
crossing the mountains and plains of the "Far 
West." A serious disorder of the heart manifested 
itself, however, in October, 1899, and on the twen- 
ty-ninth of that month he passed away, aged sev- 
enty-six years. He was a very bright, able man, 
and could speak French and Spanish fluently, as 
well as the Cherokee Indian language. 

Mr. Birge was married, May 19, 1852, to Ade- 
line, a daughter of Samuel B. Smith, of Bristol, 
who survived him. He was the father of three sons 
and one daughter : John, the eldest, was born Aug. 
25, 1853 : Ellen Smith, now the widow of Charles 
Wightman, was born Aug. 12, 1855; George 
Wallace, on June 8, 1870; and Frederick Morton, 
on Dec. 2, i860. The last named died in 1862. 

Hox. John Birge, the eldest son of Nathan 
Loomis Birge, was educated in the Bristol com- 
mon schools, and at the academy at Lake Forest, 
Bl. His preference was for a business life, he hav- 
ing inherited his father's love of an active life, as 
well as his capacity for affairs. On leaving Lake 
Forest he returned home, and after receiving a 
thorough commercial training in his father's mill, 
and under his affectionate, careful guidance, he 
was admitted into partnership in 1882, as has al- 
ready been told. When his father died he was 
elected to fill the vacancy on the board of directors 
of the First National Bank. He takes a lively and 
active interest in local, State and National politics, 
and is a firm believer in the necessity of maintain- 
ing a high standard of purity in the conduct of 
political affairs. He has represented the Fourth 
district upon the Republican State Central Com- 
mittee, a post for which his keen judgment of men, 
and his readiness in devising and adapting measures 
for the securing of a given end eminently qualify 
him. He has also been chairman of the town com- 
mittee for several terms. Mr. Birge believes in 
the "young men's movement," and was several years 
chairman of the Young Men's Republican Club, 
which is affiliated with the State League. In 1894 
he was elected to the State Senate from the Fourth 
Senatorial district, sitting in that body during the 
session of 1895-96. 

Senator Birge comes of old Puritan stock, trac- 
ing his ancestry back to families which came from 
England either on the "Mayflower" or on vessels 
arriving at about the same time. His line of descent 
from Richard Birge, a pioneer settler of Windsor, 
has been already given. He also traces his lineage 
back on his maternal side, through nine generations, 
to Rev. Thomas Hooker, the originator of the New 
England system of town and municipal government, 
and the first settler and minister at Hartford, in 
1636; is also a descendant, in the eighth genera- 
tion, of William Smith, an early settler of Hunt- 
ington, L. I. ; and, in the ninth generation, of 



George Smith, a member of the New Haven Colony 
of 1638, as well as of Theophilus Smith, a captain 
in the war of the Revolution. Another ancestor, 
Samuel Terry, made and put in place the great 
wooden clock in the steeple of the Congregational 
church of Bristol. 

On June 22, 1874, Hon. John Birge married 
Miss M. Antoinette Root, a daughter of Samuel E. 
Root, of Bristol. She died April 25, 1891, leav- 
ing four children : Adeline, the eldest, born Aug. 
16, 1875, is the wife of Judge Roger S. Newell, 
of Bristol. Nathan Root, the second child and first 
son, born June 16, 1877, enlisted in the First Con- 
necticut Light Artillery, Battery A, known as the 
"Yale Battery," for two years, and served through- 
out the Spanish war, after the close of which he 
was mustered out, in September, 1898; he belongs 
to the class of 1900, Worcester Polytechnic Insti- 
tute. The two younger children, Marguerite, born 
April 22, 1886, and John Kingsley, born March 4, 
1888, are at home. On Feb. 1, 1893, Senator Birge 
married Matilda Louise, a daughter of John Sayles 
Smith, of Windham. Of this marriage there has 
been no issue. 

George Wallace Birge, the second and youngest 
living son of Nathan L. Birge, born June 8, 1870, 
graduated from the Bristol high school in 1888, and 
two years later from Huntsinger's Business College, 
at Hartford. He finally became a partner with his 
father and brother John. On Oct. 19, 1898, he 
married Miss Eva M. Thorpe, a daughter of W. 
W. Thorpe, of Bristol. They have one child, 
Rachel, born Sept. 8, 1899. 

HENRY C. DANIELS, better known as "Dan- 
iels the Printer," the third oldest disciple of Guten- 
berg now living in the city of Hartford, and probab- 
ly one of the best known citizens in the State, is a 
native of same, born Oct. 11, 1851, in the town of 
Manchester. 

Darius Daniels, his grandfather, was a promi- 
nent farmer in his day, for many years a resident 
of Andover, Conn., whence he came to Hartford 
county, for some time making his home with his 
son Charles, in East Hartford, and thence remov- 
ing to Plainville, Conn., where he passed the rest 
of his days at the home of a daughter, dying in 
1870, at the age of eighty-one years. By his wife, 
Mary (Rathbun), he had seven children, five of 
whom are vet living: Charles S., in Wethersfield ; 
Aaron M., sketch of whom follows; Harriet (Mrs. 
Kennedy), living in Burnside, Hartford county; 
Joseph R., also in Burnside; and Elizabeth (Mrs. 
William Spencer), a resident of Plainville, Conn. 
The mother of this family died in Plainville in 
1880, at the age of ninety-two years. 

Aaron M. Daniels, father of Henry C, was born 
March 7, 1819, in Springfield, Mass., coming in 
boyhood to Hartford, where his life has been main--'' 
ly passed. For some time he was in the patenting 
business, and issued a number of valuable patents; 



86 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



also engaged in insurance writing, in both of which 
lines he made a success. In 1843 he married Maria 
( i. Ensworth, born in Andover, Conn., daughter of 
Jeremiah Ensworth, of the same nativity, and Sophia 
I Kennedy), a native of Burnside, Conn., who had 
a family of five children, all now deceased; the 
mother passed away at the age of seventy-five years. 
To Aaron M. and Maria G. Daniels were born three 
children, two of whom are yet living: Sarah J. and 
Henry C. (our subject). Sarah J. has been twice 
married, first time to Alfred D. Hart, who died in 
1869, at the age of thirty, and by whom he had one 
son. Alfred D., who married Carrie E. Sperry, and 
by her had five children, Iver S., Ethel R., Jennie, 
Eva B., and Alfred. Airs. Hart subsequently wedded 
Dwight North, late of Hartford, to whom she bore 
two sons, Dwight and Horace. Mr. North passed 
away in 1890. .Mrs. Aaron M. Daniels died in 
1896, at the age of seventy-five years, a member 
of the M. E. Church, as is also her husband. 

Henry C. Daniels, the subject proper of these 
lines, received a iiberal education at the common 
schools of Hartford, and at the age of thirteen years 
commenced learning the trade of printer in the office 
of William C. Hutchings, of Hartford, following 
same as a journeyman for some time, including 
three years in New Haven. Removing thence to 
Worcester, he there carried on a printing busi- 
ness two years, after which he returned to Hart- 
ford, and in that city has since continued to make 
his home. About fourteen years ago Mr. Daniels 
established his present business, at No. 284 Asylum 
street, and by close attention to his work, fair deal- 
ing, and courteous treatment of his patrons, has 
met with well-merited success. 

On Oct. 14, 1874. Mr. Daniels was married to 
Mary E. Kempton, who was born in New Haven, 
a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William S. Kempton, 
an old family of that locality, and two children, 
Henry Christie and George, both now deceased, 
were born of this union. In politics Mr. Daniels is 
a Democrat. Socially he is a member of Summit 
Lodge, I. O. ( ). F. ; of Jewell Council, No. 8, Jr. 
O. U. A. M. ; of Charter Oak Commanderv, No. 26, 
O. I'. A. M.; Charter Oak Council, No." 3, O. U. 
A. M. : the Royal Society of Good Fellows; and of 
Hubbard Escort, and in all of these he has taken 
an active interest, his words of council having mtteh 
weight in their councils. 

As an attest to Mr. Daniels' wide popularity, 
perhaps nothing more fitting could be cited than the 
signal victory he achieved in the Washington Trip 
Contest of the Hartford Post, in January, 1900. 
We quote from the Post: "In that competition the 
candidate receiving- the largest vote was given a 
week's trip to Washington at the expense of the 
paper, dating from March 4th, the anniversary of 
McKinley's inauguration, until the nth inst. This 
trip also included the successful candidate's wife. 
Mr. and Mrs. Daniels won the contest, they having 
a -rand total vote in the preliminary and final com- 



petition of 32,250. The total vote throughout the 
State was 134,898. Mr. and Mrs. Daniels went to 
Washington, saw all the sights, and shook hands 
with the President." 

FREDERICK HENRY WILLIAMS, M. D., 
a leading physician of Bristol, has met with remarka- 
ble success in the treatment of disease, and his 
practice extends all through western Connecticut 
and the Connecticut Valley. He was born in 184^, 
in Pleasant Valley, Barkhamsted, Conn., of good 
Colonial ancestry, two of his great-grandfathers 
having fought in the Revolutionary army. An 
abstract from his genealogical record is as follows : 

Paternal side. — (I) Capt. George Barbour, 
born 161 5, and who settled in Dedham, Mass., about 
1635, was a paternal ancestor eight removes. A 
female descendant, in the fourth generation, mar- 
ried a Havens; her daughter (Y) Mehitable Ha- 
vens married Hezekiah Whitnev ; his daughter 
(YD Juliette Whitney married Jesse Williams; 
(VII) Orville Williams married Minerva Gillett. 
Williams — (I) Jesse Williams married Lois Col- 
lins at Rocky Hill, Conn. Jesse (2) married Ju- 
liette Whitney. (HI) Orville married Minerva 
Gillette. 

Maternal side. — (I) Rene Cosset, born in 
Paris, France, 1690, married in 17 16, in New Ha- 
ven. Conn., Ruth Porter, daughter of Dr. John 
Porter. (II) Rene, born 1722, married Phoebe 
Hilyer, of Granby. (Ill) Rosene Cosset, born 
1759, married Abel Adams, a Revolutionary sol- 
dier. (IV) Lurana Adams married Almon Gil- 
let. (V) Minerva Gillett married Dr. Orville 
Williams. (VI) Frederick H. Williams. Adams. 
— (I) Lieut. George Adams early in 1600 married. 
in London. England, a daughter of Conrad Street- 
holt. (II) George Adams was in Watertown. 
Mass., in 1645. (Ill) Daniel, born 1659, married 
Mary Phelps in Simsbury. (IV) Joseph, born 
[685, married Mary Case. (V) Matthew, born 
1724, married Susanah Eno. (VI) Abel, born 
[756, married Rosene Cosset (above). Gillett. — 
( I ) Joseph Gillett married Elizabeth Hayes. Sims- 
bury, 1740. (II) Benoni Gillett, born 1762, mar- 
ried Penelope Hubbard ; he was a Revolutionary 
soldier. (Ill) Almon married Lurana Adams. 

Dr. Williams' parents died before he reached 
the age of ten years, and since that time he has 
made his own way !n the world. His early life 
was mainly spent in Granby, Conn., and he after- 
ward went to Hartford to pursue his studies. When 
nearly readv to enter a medical college in 1869 
he suddenly lost his hearing. This was a severe 
blow to the young man, but he persevered in his 
efforts to obtain an education, supporting himself 
in the meantime by working in printing offices 
and drug stores until 1874. when he was examined 
and given a diploma by the Censors of the Connecti- 
cut Botanico Medical Society, and in 1880 received 
another from the Connecticut Eclectic Association. 




$ ' M }ru&. 



<Zl^v<^ 



A3 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



87 



He is a member of the National Eclectic Associa- 
tion, and has always had a large practice, especially 
in obscure and chronic cases. Dr. Williams mar- 
ried, in 1885, Janetta E. Hart, of Pleasant Valley, 
Conn., and has one daughter, Frances Hart, born 
in 1886. 

The Doctor has not devoted himself exclusively 
to the study of medicine, but is an ardent student 
of scientific subjects of all kinds, especially surface 
geology, anthropology and archaeology. He has 
one of the finest pre-historic archaeological col- 
lections in the State, if not in New England. He 
has published "Prehistoric Remains of the Farm- 
ington Valley." He takes a deep interest in all 
things pertaining to the welfare of Bristol, and was 
the first to propose the formation of the Bristol 
Historical Society. In politics he is a stanch Gold 
Democrat, and at all times he has been a firm be- 
liever in human liberty, being strongly opposed to 
all forms of oppression, either personal or muni- 
cipal. 

In literary matters Dr. Williams has always 
taken a deep interest, and he is himself a writer of 
both power and ability. During the long course 
of years since he was deprived of his hearing he 
has been an omniverous reader, besides taking up 
the study of various languages. Bishop Berkeley 
once said of President Johnson, of Kings College 
(now Columbia), that he could write in Latin, 
think in Hebrew and speak in Greek. This same 
statement would almost be true in the case of Dr. 
Williams ; for, besides having an intimate knowledge 
of Latin, he can read French, German, Spanish 
and Swedish. Much of his reading of foreign au- 
thors is done in the language in which they wrote. 
As a writer he has contributed occasionally to medi- 
cal magazines and newspapers in the form of essays 
on scientific and other subjects, which have attracted 
considerable attention. He is a keen student of 
men and affairs, and his knowledge of political 
parties, their candidates, principles and motives, 
is not surpassed in this locality. He wields a 
scathing pen in questions where he considers that 
ignorance is triumphing over the fundamental 
principles of religious or political thought. As a 
historical student Dr. Williams has few peers 
among the laity, for in the course of his reading he 
has paid special attention to the history of this and 
other nations. There are few phases of American 
or European history with which he is not familiar. 
His historical sketches are chiefly of a local nature 
and uncollected ; but they show uncommon power 
of discernment in analyzing chronological data, and 
preparing it for popular reading. As a poet Dr. 
Williams has much talent, although he has pub- 
lished very little. His style is spirited, flowing 
and graceful ; his versification almost always very 
smooth and harmonious. In spicy pungency of 
satire and a certain elegance and grace of manner 
without an approach to stiffness or formality, he 
has few rivals among amateur verse makers. His 
poetical productions are the delight of his friends, 



as they would be to the reading public, if his mod- 
esty permitted their publication. — [Frederick Cal- 
vin Norton.] 

HON. ROBERT ANSEL POTTER, a promi- 
nent resident and real-estate dealer of Bristol, was 
born in Thomaston, Conn., Jan. 29, 1840, son of 
Tertius D. and Esther B. (Frisbie) Potter. 

Our subject's father, Tertius Daniel Potter, born 
Sept. 25, 1793, also in Thomaston, was a very thrifty 
farmer, and owner of one of the largest farms in 
his part of the State. He was the Whig repre- 
sentative in the State Legislature from Thomas- 
ton in 1837 and 1838. He was one of the deacons 
of the Congregational Church in Plymouth, Conn., 
near Thomaston, and was one of the original pro- 
moters of the church at the latter place, becoming 
a deacon when it was there established, and so 
continued until seventy-five years old, when he 
resigned. He died Jan. 10, 1891, in Thomaston. 
Mr. Potter married Miss Esther Barnes Frisbie, 
who was born in Bristol in 1805. 

Hon. Robert Ansel Potter was born and reared 
on a farm, and received his early education in the 
Thomaston common schools, which he attended un- 
til sixteen years old, later attending Williston Sem- 
inary, Easthampton, Mass., until nineteen, at which 
age he graduated. For one term lie taught school 
at Terryville. He then went to New Haven, and 
for a year and a half kept books for David W. 
Buckingham, a grocer. Mr. Potter then started 
for the West, with the expectation of locating 
there, but in the meanwhile the Civil war broke 
forth, and he returned to his native town. 

In June, 1862, Mr. Potter enlisted, at Thomas- 
ton, in Company D, 19th Conn. V. I., which, after 
being mutsered in, was changed to the 2d Conn. 
H. A. Mr. Potter took part in the battle of Cold 
Harbor, and then in all the engagements around 
Petersburg, Va., was with Gen. Phil Sheridan all 
through the Shenandoah Valley campaign, and later 
with the Army of the Potomac, and finally was 
present at the surrender of Gen. Robert E. Lee. 
His only casualty was a slight wound sustained 
at Cold Harbor, but a more serious affliction was an 
attack of chills and fever, the effects of which clung 
to him long after the war had ceased. When he 
first started out he was commissioned second lieu- 
tenant, and he was mustered out in September, 1865, 
with the rank of captain. 

After returning from the war, Capt. Potter went 
to St. Louis, Mo., where he and his brother, Luther 
H. Potter, embarked in the commission business 
for two years. They then sold out, as the sickness 
engendered in the army compelled the Captain to 
return to the East. For two years he was employed 
as bookkeeper at New Haven, Conn., by Cornelius 
Pierpont, treasurer of the Street Railway Com- 
pany and also a grocer. In 1869 he came to Bristol, 
and for about two years was superintendent of Joel 
H. Root's factory, for making brass hinges for 



88 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



cabinets, boxes, etc., then becoming secretary of 
the Bristol Saw Co. for six years, when the company 
sold out. For about three years thereafter Mr. 
Potter was engaged in the real-estate business, dur- 
ing which time he laid out several streets and built 
many houses ; he also traveled a year for the Alden 
Emery Co., of Boston, as salesman. In 1883 he 
bought a farm at Plainville, and for seven years 
gave most of his attention to raising tine stock, 
in 1890 settling in Bristol, where he has ever since 



been 



doing 



a leading- real-estate business. 



being 



ville, of 
Sept. 11, 
Diantha 
marriage 



in politics Mr. Potter is a thorough Republican, 
ami has long held the confidence of his party. While 
in Plainville he was first selectman of the town two 
years, justice of the peace several years, and chair- 
man of the school board a number of terms. In 
1889 he represented that town in the State Legis- 
lature. In 1891 he was elected chairman of the 
Republican town committee of Bristol. In 1892 
and 1893 ne was tax collector for the town of Bris- 
tol, and in 1895 was elected by the Legislature as 
commissioner for four years. In 1894 he was elect- 
ed a member of the Republican State Central Com- 
mittee, serving until 1898, and again elected in 1900, 
now a member. 

On May 18, 1869, was celebrated the marriage 
of Capt. Robert A. Potter with Miss Lucy Man- 
Great Barrington, Mass., who was born 
1844. and is a daughter of Linus and 
(Sage) Manville. On Oct. 16, 1873, this 
was crowned by the birth of a daughter, 
Louise Manville Potter, who is a graduate of the 
Plainville high school, and still has her home under 
the parental roof. The family attend the Congre- 
gational Church, of which Mr. Potter was a deacon 
during his residence in Plainville, and a deacon in 
Bristol, also, as well as treasurer of the Bristol 
Congregational Society. 

Mr. Potter has always felt a deep interest in 
agriculture, and especially in dairying. For two 
years — 1893 and 1894 — he was president of the 
Connecticut Dairymen's Association, and at the 
World's Fair in Chicago had charge of Connecti- 
cut's dairy exhibits. Capt Potter is a member of 
Newton F. Manross Post, No. 54, G. A. R., of 
Forestville, of which he is post commander; 
is also a member of the Hartford Club; and Frank- 
lin Lodge. No. 56, A. F. & A. M„ of Bristol. 

SAMUEL NELSON KELLOGG. The Kel- 
logg family is of old Colonial stock, and the sub- 
ject of this sketch, a well-known resident of Hart- 
ford, is in the seventh generation in descent from 
Lion. Joseph Kellogg, an officer in King Philip's 
war. 

(I) The name of Lieut. Joseph Kellogg appears 
in the records of Farmington for [651. in 1659 
he removed to Boston, purchasing a home on Rox- 
bury road, now Washington street, and later he 
settled in Hadley, Mass., where he died about 1707; 
hi- ' ad there is in a good state of preserva- 



con, and 

members 

church in 

22, 1687, 



tion. He was prominent in public affairs, serving 
many terms as selectman of Hadley, and in 167O, 
during King Philip's war, he was in command as 
lieutenant at the "Falls fight," South Hadley Falls, 
Mass. His first wife, Joanna, died Sept. 14, 1666, 
and on May 9, 1667, he married Miss Abigail Terry, 
daughter of Stephen Terry, of Windsor, Con- 
necticut. 

(II) Deacon Samuel Kellogg was born in Had- 
ley, Mass., Sept. 28, 1662, and died in Hartford 
in 1717. In the records of one of the Hartford 
churches, for March 17, 1695, he is named as dea- 

in 1 71 3 he was among the twenty-nine 
of the Second Church who founded a 
the west division of Hartford. On Sept. 
he married Sarah Merrill, daughter of 
Deacon John Merrill, and granddaughter of Na- 
thaniel Merrill. Her mother, Sarah Watson, was a 
daughter of John Watson, of Hartford. 

(III) Capt. Isaac Kellogg was born in Flart- 
ford in 1696, and died in New Hartford July 3, 
1787. In 1742 he removed to New Hartford, and 
was regarded as one of the founders of the town, 
being a deacon in the church and a leader in public 
affairs. As a magistrate he showed much ability, 
and in 1795 he served as justice of the peace, being 
the first justice of the town (he held this office in 
both Hartford and Litchfield counties, serving in all 
twenty-eight terms), which he represented as dep- 
uty for twenty-five terms. In 1744 he was chosen 
captain of the 1st Company of Militia at New- 
Hartford. On Dec. 26, 1717, he married Mary 
Webster, daughter of Joseph and Mary (Judd 1 
Webster, granddaughter of Lieut. Robert and Su- 
sanna (Treat) Webster, and great-granddaughter 
of Gov. John Webster. Susanna Treat was a sis- 
ter of Gov. Robert Treat, and daughter of Hon. 
Richard Treat, patentee of the Connecticut Char- 
ter, 1662. 

(IV) Samuel Kellogg, born in Hartford Nov. 
15, 1718, died in Poultney, Vt., about 1770. In 
1742 he made his home in Enfield, where he en- 
gaged in manufacturing. Four of his sons — Eben- 
ezer, Leverett, Helmont and Samuel — served in the 
Revolutionary army, and one of them, Leverett, 
was captured at Fort Ticonderoga in 1776, at the 
age of twenty-three years, and while a prisoner 
was starved to death. On July 8, 1741, Samuel 
Kellogg married Mary Steele, daughter of Eben- 
ezer and Melatiah (Bradford) Steele, and of the 
fourth generation in descent from Gov. William 
Bradford, who came to America in the "May- 
flower" in 1620; she was of the third generation 
from William Bradford, Jr., deputy-governor of the 
Plymouth Colony. 

(V) Fbenezer Kellogg, born in Enfield, Conn.. 
Sept. 6, 1 75 1, died in New Hartford July 17, 1843. 
He served in the Revolutionary war, and for many 
years engaged in manufacturing. On Dec. 9, 
1770, he married Molly Bissell, daughter of Joel 
and Mercy (Bishop) Bissell, granddaughter of 
Lieut. Isaac Bissell, of Litchfield, Conn., and a de- 




SAMUEL H. KELLOGG 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



89 



scendant of Capt. John Bissell, of Windsor, an 
officer in King Philip's war. 

(VI) George Comfort Kellogg, horn in New 
Hartford March 17, 1788, died in New Hartford 
April 19, 1847. He was president of the New 
Hartford Manufacturing Co., and an inventor of 
machinery some of which came into practical and 
profitable use. He was also active in local politics, 
and served in the Legislature. On Dec. 3, 1818, 
he married Clarissa Brown, daughter of Sanford 
and Hannah (Parsons) Brown, granddaughter of 
Daniel Brown, Jr., and great-granddaughter of 
Daniel Brown, of Sandisfield, Mass. Sanford 
Brown served in the war of 1812, and was badly 
wounded. 

(VII) Samuel Nelson Kellogg was born in 
New Hartford, Conn., Nov. 21, 1820, and was edu- 
cated in the common and high schools. He re- 
moved to Hartford in 1837, and entered the em- 
ploy of A. M. Collins & Sons, wholesale dry-goods 
dealers, remaining three years. In 1841 he went to 
St. Louis, where he was a partner in the wholesale 
dry-goods house of Collins & Kellogg until the 
beginning of the Civil war. From 1864 to 1870 
he was a member of the firm of J. V. Farwell & 
Co., Chicago, but since the great fire of 1871 he 
has lived retired, first in New Haven, Conn., in 
1876 returning to Hartford. 

On Sept. 5, 1850, Mr. Kellogg, married Helen, 
daughter of Noah and Sophronia (Parsons) 
Cooley, and they have two children, Charles C. 
and Helen Elizabeth. In politics Mr. Kellogg is 
a Republican, and he and his family attend the 
Center Church. 

EVELYN L. THORP, blacksmith, Milldale, 
town of Southington, Hartford County, Connecticut. 

WILLIAM BRO SMITH, counsel for the Trav- 
elers Insurance Co., Hartford, with the legal busi- 
ness of which he has been connected since January, 
1895. has been identified with a number of large 
corporations and insurance companies in that ca- 
pacity during his successful professional career of 
a quarter of a century. 

Mr. Bro Smith was born Nov. 8. 1854, in New 
York City, where his early life was passed. His 
preparatory education was gained in the public 
schools and the schools of the Christian Brothers, 
in that city, and he studied law with Beach & Be- 
man and J. S. L. Cummins, being admitted to the 
New York Bar in February, 1876, since when he 
has been engaged in active practice. For the first 
fciur years he devoted himself to general law work, 
but his energies have for the most part been di- 
rected to insurance and corporation law, as counsel 
for a number of corporations and insurance organi- 
zations. In January, 1895, he came to Hartford, to 
assume a connection witli the law department of the 
Travelers Insurance Co., which he has ever since 
maintained, and in 1900 was made counsel — his 
present incumbency. He is now a member of the 



Hartford County Bar. Mr. Bro Smith has been 
director in various corporations in New York and 
New Jersey. His political affiliations are with the 
Democratic party, in the work of which he took an 
active interest while iri New York City. 

RICHARD J. GOODMAN, a member of the 
legal profession in Hartford, comes of a' family 
which has long been one of the most respected in 
New England, and his father was for a number -of 
years a prominent business man of Hartford. 

Richard Goodman, the first of the family of 
which we have record, came from England with the 
Plymouth Bay Colony, located first in Cambridge, 
and came to Hartford with Rev. Mr. Hooker, be- 
ing one of the first settlers. Later he removed to 
Hadley, Mass., where he was killed by the Indians 
April 1, 1676. 

The next in line of descent, also named Richard, 
was born March 2^, 1663, in Hadley, Mass., and 
came to Hartford, where he died May 14, 1730. 

Timothy Goodman, son of Richard (2), was born 
Sept. 22, 1706, in West Hartford, and died March 
12, 1786. He married Johanna Wadsworth, 
granddaughter of Capt. Joseph Wadsworth, of 
Charter Oak fame. 

Richard Goodman, son of Timothy, was born 
April 10, 1748, in West Hartford, and died in 
May, 1834. He served in the Revolution, being a 
member of Capt. Seymour's Company. 

Aaron Goodman, son of Richard, was born in 
West Hartford, July 20, 1773, and died March 28, 
1832, in Hartford. He married Alma Cossitt, who 
lived to the advanced age of eighty-nine years. 
They had a large family, all now deceased, of whom 
are mentioned : Edward, who was a practicing law- 
yer 'in Hartford for many years; Julia; Almira; 
and Aaron Cossitt, father of our subject. 

Aaron Cossitt Goodman was born April 23, 1822, 
in West Hartford, and there passed his early life, 
acquiring his education in the public schools. He 
commenced active life at the early age of thirteen 
years, in 1835 becoming a clerk in Sumner's book 
store, Hartford. In 1841 he went to Philadelphia, 
to take a position in the house opened there by A. S. 
Barnes & Co., but returned to Hartford the year fol- 
lowing and went into partnership with his former 
employer, under the firm name of Sumner & Good- 
man. Buying his partner out in 1848, he contin- 
ued the business alone until 1852, when he em- 
barked in the paper business in New York City. 
Mr. Goodman was one of the original stockholders 
and directors of the Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance 
Co., of Hartford, and became president thereof in 
1875, having returned to that city in 1873 and se- 
cured the controlling interest in its stock. He con- 
tinued in that position until 1889, in which year the 
company was reorganized and he sold out, dissolv- 
ing his connection with the concern. From that 
time until his death Mr. Goodman lived quietly, 
interesting himself in various public and private 



90 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



charities. He was a member of Trinity Church. 
Fraternally he affiliated with the [. O. O. F. and the 
F. & A. M., in the latter connection holding member- 
ship in St. John's Lodge. During his earlier man- 
hood he belonged to the fire* department, serving in 
the old Sack and Bucket Company; and was cap- 
tain of the Hartford Light Guard, formerly the 
Buckingham Rifles, and served on the staff of Gen. 
Frank Bacon. Mr. Goodman died July 29, 1899. 
• Aaron C. Goodman married Miss Annie Al. 
Johnston, a native of New York City, daughter of 
Robert R. and Alary Sears (Hatch) Johnston. Air. 
Johnston died at the age of seventy-four, in West- 
held, N. J. The Johnstons are thought to be de- 
scended from Dr. John Johnston, who came to this 
country from Scotland in 1685, arid settled at Perth 
Amboy, N. J. Airs. Alary S. Johnston was also 
descended from an old family, one of her ancestors 
being John Alden, of the "Mayflower." Of the chil- 
dren born to Air. and Airs. Aaron C. Goodman four 
are living: Annie G., who married Rev. John F. 
Plumb, of St. John's Church, New Af ilford ; Emilie, 
who married Rev. Richard Wright, of Windsor 
Locks; ATary A.; and Richard J. Edward died in 
1872, in Brooklyn, New York. 

Richard J. Goodman was born Alarch 23, 1875, 
in Hartford. After attending the common schools 
and the Hartford Public High School he entered 
the Academic Department of Yale University, from 
which he graduated in 1896, and in 1899 graduated 
from the Yale Law School, being admitted to prac- 
tice in January of that year. 

THOMAS F. KANE, A. B., AI. D.. one of 
Hartford's able and successful physicians, was born 
in that city Feb. 23, 1863, and his large practice has 
been gained among those who have known him from 
childhood. 

Like many of our most enterprising citizens he 
is of Irish descent, the family having originated in 
County Clare, Ireland. His grandfather, Daniel 
Kane, was a tenant farmer in County Clare, till- 
ing a larger estate than the average, and wielded 
a decided influence in local affairs. Of his children 
only one son, Patrick, lived to adult age. 

Patrick Kane, our subject's father, was born 
in County Clare, received a good education for his 
time in the National schools of his native place, and 
became a farmer. In 1846 he crossed the Atlan- 
tic, landing at St. John, N. B. In 1847 1k- located 
at Hartford, where his remaining years were spent 
as a laborer, his death occurring in 1867. lie was 
a man of good natural abilities, and his honest, up- 
right character won him the respect of all who knew 
him. In religious faith he was a Catholic, and 
after his removal to Hartford he became a member 
«>t" St. Peter's Church, with which his family is still 
identified. He married Bridget Spellacy, who is 
now living in Hartford, at the age of seventy three, 
and they had four children: Mary, who has been 
a teacher in the South school of Hartford for twen- 
ty two years; Margaret Matilda, a teacher in Brown 



school district for eighteen years ; Thomas F., our 
subject; and Aiiss Nellie, who is at home. Airs. 
Kane is a woman of strong character, and when left 
a widow with four children to support she bravely 
met the task, giving them all excellent educational 
advantages. She was born in County Clare, Ire- 
land, and was the first of her family to come to 
America. As time passed she sent for others, and 
finally, in 1846, her father, James Spellacy, sailed 
from Limerick to complete the family circle here. 
By occupation James Spellacy was a farmer, and 
after coming to America located on a farm. 

Thomas F. Kane first attended the South school 
in Hartford, and after a few years' study in the high 
school went to Worcester, Alass., in 1880, to enter 
the College of the Holy Cross. He completed the 
classical course in 1884, receiving the degree of 
A. B., and in the fall of the same year entered the 
Medical Department of Harvard College, where 
he remained two vears. The last vear of his course 
was spent in Bellevue Hospital Aledical College, 
New York City, and on graduating, in 1887. he 
established himself in general practice at Hartford. 
He has never had a partner, and his success has 
been gained solely on his own merits, as shown in 
the effective treatment of disease. He is a member 
of the City, County, and State Aledical Societies, and 
is a member of the executive committee of the city 
organization. Socially the Doctor is connected 
with the Knights of Columbus, and he is prominent 
in municipal affairs, although not especially inter- 
ested in the political questions of the day. In 
1891 and 1897 he was elected a member of the board 
of school visitors, for terms of three years, and in 
T893 he was appointed a health commissioner by 
Alayor Hayden, in this work proving so invalua- 
ble that he has since served continuously, having 
been re-appointed in 1896 and 1899. In the spring 
of 1900 lie was elected president of the board of 
health. 

FREDERICK R. LOYDON, Connecticut State 
Agent for the Travelers Insurance Co., Hartford, 
lias, in his connection with various leading com- 
panies, become well and favorably known in in- 
surance circles in that city. He is of good American 
stock, being descended >m the maternal side from 
the Backus family, one of the oldest in Connecti- 
cut, and his father served honorably in both the 
Mexican and Civil wars, being in the army at the 
time of his death. 

Mr. Loydon was born Aug. 6, 1861, in Cuba. 
Allegany Co.. N. A"., son of Marshall Marvin and 
\larv Melinda (Backus) Loydon. Marshall M. 
Loydon was born Sept. 29, [820, in Boston, Mass.. 
where he spent his early life, and learned the tailor's 
trade. 

On Sept. 21, 1840, he enlisted, at Utica. N. A', 
in the United States service, and remained in the 
army five years, being discharged Sept. 21. 1845. 
at the expiration of his term >^\ service, at Fori 
Marion, Fla., as a private of Company E, 8th 








/'/%U~<_^/$, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



91 



United States Infantry. He saw service in the 
Indian and Mexican wars under Gen. Noble. Mr. 
Loydon resided in various places, in Canada, Chi- 
cago, 111., Hartford, Conn., and finally removed to 
New York State, settling in the western part. On 
May I, 1861, he enlisted from Cuba for service in 
the Civil war, raising one of the first companies 
in western New York State, at the first call for 
troops. At the time he held the rank of second 
lieutenant in the 64th Regiment, 30th Brigade, 8th 
Division, New York State Militia, his commission 
being dated Aug. 6, 1858. On his enlistment he was 
made captain in the 23d N. Y. V. I., with which 
he served six months, when he resigned. Re-enlist- 
ing, he was on Aug. 27, 1862, appointed first lieu- 
tenant in the 136th N. Y. V. I., having raised an- 
other company, with which he served in all. its 
skirmishes and engagements until his resignation, 
when he returned to Cuba, N. Y. Removinsr to 
Mayville, Chautauqua Co., N. Y., he there raised an- 
other company at the close of 1863, entering the 
service with same Jan. 6, 1864, on which date he 
was made captain of Company L, 15th N. Y. V. 
C. He was in the battle of Newmarket, and shortly 
afterward came home on sick leave, and he died 
within two weeks, of typhoid fever, Oct. 5, 1864. 
His letters, explaining all his movements, are still 
in the possession of his son, our subject. Mr. 
Loydon was activelv engaged in many battles and 
actions of various degrees of importance, and won 
an enviable record for bravery and honor. He was 
a great reader, and a man of intelligence, and was 
universally respected. 

On Nov. 5, 1857, Mr. Loydon married Mary 
Melinda Backus, and five children blessed their 
union, all of whom survive : Charles N. ; Josephine 
Clark, Mrs. J. George Young, of Hartford ; Mar- 
shall M., of New York; Frederick R., whose name 
introduces this sketch; and Albert H., who is with 
the Daniels Mill Co., Hartford. After the death of 
her husband Mrs. Loydon removed to Albion, N. 
Y., residing there until 1874, since when she has 
made her home in Hartford. She is a member of 
the South Congregational Church. 

The Backus Family, to which Mrs. Marv M. 
Loydon belongs, was founded in America by William 
Backus, of Saybrook, Conn., 1638, he being the com- 
mon ancestors of the Norwich and Windham county 
families. In i860 he removed to Norwich as one of 
the original proprietors of the place ; was made 
a freeman in 1663, and died in 1664. 

(II) William Backus (2), son of William of 
Saybrook, was also an original proprietor of Nor- 
wich, Conn., and one of its most enterprising set- 
tlers. He became one of the original proprietors of 
Windham ; was one of the sixteen Norwich lega- 
tees of Joshua Uncas, from which estate he re- 
ceived three shares of 1,000 acres each. Fie mar- 
ried Elizabeth, daughter of William Pratt, of Say- 
brook. She died in 1730, and Mr. Backus about 
1720. 



(III) Samuel Backus, son of William (2), 
born in 1693, married in 1719 Sarah Gard, and lived 
in Windham. 

(IV) Nathaniel Backus, of Windham, son of 
Samuel, born in 1728, married in 1753 Elizabeth, 
daughter of Robert Hebard. She died in 1813, 
aged eighty-three years. 

(V) Luther Backus, son of Nathaniel, born 
about 1772, was married three times, and was the 
father of twenty-one children, the largest family, it 
is believed, ever raised in Windham. His third wife 
was Melinda Lyman. Mr. Backus died in 1855. 

(VI) Henry Backus, son of Luther, married in 
1819 Susanna D. Sawyer, daughter of Daniel and 
Susanna (Dennison) Sawyer. Mr. Backus died in 
1841. Nine children were born to this marriage: 
Julia A., Albert H., Christopher A., Huldah M., 
Eliza E., Luther F.. Mary M., Chester H., and 
George A. Four still survive: Eliza E., Mrs. 
George Severance, of Hudson, Iowa ; Chester H. ; 
George A.; and Mary M., Mrs. Loydon, who was 
born Dec. 3, 1830, in Windham, Connecticut. 

Frederick R. Loydon received his education 
at Albion, N. Y., and Hartford, attending school 
up to the age of fourteen, when he became a cash 
boy in the drv-goods store of Hichborn & Foster, re- 
maining with them one year. For the next six 
months he was a telegraph messenger boy, and then 
became cashier in Capt. Sluyter's coffee-house in 
Market street, holding that position one year, after 
which he accepted similar employment in Fred 
Kingsley's market, on Asylum street, where he also 
discharged the duties of bookkeeper. Here he re- 
mained six years, at the end of which time he en- 
tered the actuary's department of the Connecticut 
Mutual Life Insurance Co., serving there six years. 
and subsequently four years in the bond and mort- 
gage department, resigning in July, 1892, when he 
became State agent of the United States Mutual 
Accident Association of New York. On Jan. 12, 
1895, Mr. Loydon engaged with the Travelers as 
District Agent, continuing thus until March. 1807, 
when he was appointed to the position he still holds, 
that of State Agent. Mr. Lovdon has attained the 
thirty-second degree hi the Masonic fraternity, be- 
ing a member of St. John's Lodge. No. 4. F. & A. 
M. ; Wolcott Council. R. & S. M. ; Pythagoras 
Chanter, R. A. M. ; Washington Commanderv, K. 
T. : Scottish Rite Masons : and a charter member of 
Sphinx Temple. Mvstic Shrine. 

On Sent. 16, 1886, Mr. Lovdon married Miss 
Marv L. Reillv, a native of Hartford, and they have 
had three children : Marv Elizabeth and Frederick 
R., Jr., survive; Urania Tosephine, the second, died 
when eleven days old. Mrs. Loydon is one of the 
ten children born to Christopher and Elizabeth 
(Weldon) Reillv. five of whom are still living: 
Elizabeth, Mrs. Warren S. Tavlor : Annie J.; Chris- 
topher T-, who is in the Klondike; John F., an 
electrician at the Connecticut State Prison; and 
Mary L., Mrs. Loydon, who is the youngest. The 



92 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHIC 'AL RECORD. 



father, who was a contractor and builder for many 
years, died at the age of sixty-five. The mother is 
still living. 

HENRY STANWOOD ATWOOD is one of 
the progressive citizens of Hartford, a man of 
wealth, and one whose success in life is the result 
of his own assiduous efforts, guided by native 
shrewdness and sound judgment. 

The family to which our subject belongs traces 
its descent to Dr. Thomas Atwood, who was one 
of Cromwell's captains of horse during what is com- 
monly spoken of by English historians as the First 
Civil war, taking part in the four great battles of 
that struggle, including the fierce engagement at 
Marston Moor, July 2, 1644. The old soldier set- 
tled at Plymouth in 1647, and died at Wethersfield, 
Conn., in 1682. At the age of fifty-nine he married 
a lady whom he had seen as a babe in the cradle, at 
the first homestead at which he had stopped after 
landing in the New World. He was the father of 
four children, of whom the youngest, Josiah, was the 
great-great-grandfather of Henry S. Atwood. Jo- 
siah Atwood was born Oct. 4, 1673, and died Jan. 
1 7> 1/53- He was the first of the family to settle 
in the Connecticut Colony. He was engaged in the 
West India trade, and the loss of a vessel with its 
cargo so affected his fortune that he was obliged to 
surrender to his creditors the manor house which 
he had inherited from his father. His son, Ashur, 
was born Dec. 27, 1729, and died April 21, 1808. 
Ezekiel Atwood, son of Ashur, and grandfather of 
Henry S., was born Aug. 19, 1764, and married Han- 
nah Francis, born March 22, 1770. They were the 
parents of three children: Josiah, born April 26, 
1794; Sarah, March 11, 1798 (married Rev. 
Henrv Stamvood, of Kalamazoo, Mich.) ; and 
Francis, Aug. 2 1 /, 1803. 

Francis Atwood, father of Henry S., married 
Eunice E. White, Jan. 14, 1840. Her father, Sam- 
uel White, served his country as a soldier in two 
wars, at the age of fifteen years enlisting in the Rev- 
olutionary army ; he was then so short that he 
stod on tiptoe in order to comply with the military 
requirements as to height. Returning home, he 
married, at Granby, and later fought in the war of 
1812. His second marriage was to a Miss East- 
man (daughter of Squire Eastman), who was the 
grandmother of Henry S. Francis Atwood was 
the father of three sons: Herman W., Oliver E., 
and Henry Stan wood. Herman W., born Nov. 
22, 1840, was a prominent druggist in New York 
City, his store being located at No. 846 Broadway; 
he died Oct. 22, 1897. Oliver E. was born Sept. 
14, 1843, an d died Feb. 11, 1888, at Chicago, Illi- 
nois. 

Henry S. Atwood was born June 1, 1847. He 
was educated in the public schools, and at the 
Bryant & Stratton Commercial College, in Hart- 
ford. When eighteen years old he went to New 
York, to begin a mercantile career, but within a 
year his father's failing health necessitated his re- 



turn home, and in 1866 he took charge of the 
farm, which embraced 150 acres. On attaining his 
majority he bought the property, assuming an in- 
debtedness of $21,000. For so young a man, with- 
out financial resources, such a burden would appear 
to be stupendous. But he had inherited from his 
Revolutionary grandsire a courage and hardihood 
equal to the task. He was young, strong, both 
physically and mentally, of resolute will and earnest 
perseverance; why should he hesitate? The result 
more than justified his confidence in himself. 
Within a few years his debt had become merely a 
memory, and his pluck and industry, joined to sa- 
gacity, had placed him on the high road to success. 
For some five years he w r as engaged in the whole- 
sale milk business, his annual sales aggregating 
$5,000. Dealing in cattle formed one of his chief 
interests for fifteen years, his purchases being made 
chiefly in New York and Connecticut, and not in- 
frequently amounting to eighty head in a day. He 
has also been interested in buying and selling fine 
horses, and, to a limited extent, in breeding the 
same, sometimes selling a team for as much as 
$2,000. 

Mr. Atwood has from time to time disposed of 
portions of his original farm, yet his present hold- 
ings amount to seventy-five acres of valuable land. 
The story of such lives as his are full of interest, 
and to young men such narratives convey at once 
a lesson and an encouragement. Self-made in the 
best sense of that term, which is too often employed 
to explain or apologize for a life of selfishness and 
greed, he has built his fortune, stone by stone, 
through industry and integrity, and in the construc- 
tion of the edifice has never lost sight of his duties 
to his fellow r s. He has not yet passed middle life, 
and Hartford may hope for much from the public 
spirit and philanthrophv of such men as he. A 
Republican in politics, Mr. Atw^ood has never cared 
to take a prominent part in political affairs, al- 
though in 1899 he consented to represent the Eighth 
ward in the city council. An evidence of the es- 
teem in which he is held by his neighbors and fel- 
low citizens is afforded by the fact that he was 
elected by a majority of 553, polling a larq-er vote 
than had been cast for an aldermanic candidate in 
many years. He has always cherished a deep inter- 
est in popular education, and is treasurer of the 
Southwestern school district. He is a member of 
Wyllvs Lodge, No. 99, F. & A. M., of West Hart- 
ford, and attends the services of the South Congre- 
gational Church. 

Mr. Atwood married Hattie M. Brewer, who 
was born in Unionville. Conn., a daughter of 
Joshua B. Brewer. They have had three children: 
Louise E., born July 27. 1887: Florence, born 
Nov. 25, T892, who died March 19, 1895 ; and Shir- 
ley, born March 31, 1896. 

HON. JOHN W. THAYER (deceased), son 
of Caleb and Patience (Phillips) Thayer, and father 
of George B. Thayer, of Hartford, was bom at 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



93 



Sterling, Conn., Dec. 5, 1819. His ancestral line 
is traced through Caleb, Reuben, Joseph, Ephraim 
and Shadrach to Thomas Thayer, a native of 
Thornbury, England, who came to America in 1630, 
settling on a large farm in Braintree, Massachusetts. 

After receiving a common-school education John 
W. Thayer began the trade of wool sorter, and, 
after working at one or two other places, finally took 
a contract at Waterford, Mass. Here he was mar- 
ried, April 2, 1843 (which event will be fully spoken 
of farther on), and the next day he and his bride 
started overland for Rockville, Conn., where he had 
entered into a business arrangement with the Xew 
England Co., one of the woolen manufacturing con- 
cerns of that place. The journey occupied two days, 
undertaken in a sleigh, but ending on wheels. Erom 
the position of wool sorter Mr. Thayer soon rose 
to be superintendent of the New England Co., filling 
that position successfully several years. In i860 
he bought the Ellington Mills, situated on the Hock- 
anum river, about two miles west of Rockville, to- 
gether with the tenements connected with the mill, 
and about fifty acres of land. He soon built a num- 
ber of cottages for his employes, beautified the vil- 
lage in many ways, and named it "Windermere," 
from Lake Windermere, in the lake regions of Eng- 
land. 

In July, 1861, while the mill was running day 
and night, making army blankets, the two upper 
stories of the five were destroyed by fire, involving 
a heavy loss upon the company, and a few years 
later the picker house was destroyed by fire ; yet, 
notwithstanding these and other reverses, his man- 
agement of the concern was so successful that his 
stock in the Windermere Woolen Co. was at one 
time worth $100,000. 

Col. Thayer early took an interest in military 
affairs. In 1856 he was appointed adjutant of the 
Fifth Regiment, State Militia. In 1857 he was 
chosen major, in 1858 lieutenant-colonel, and in 
i860 was elected colonel of the same regiment, the 
last two commissions being signed by William A. 
Buckingham, afterward the "War Governor" of 
Connecticut. 

In politics Col. Thayer was a Republican from 
the first. In 1855 he was elected to the House of 
Representatives from Rockville as a Know- Noth- 
ing. In 1865 he was again elected to the House, 
this time from the town of Ellington, a Democratic 
stronghold. In 1871 he was nominated for the 
Senate from the Twentieth district, heretofore a 
Democratic one, and, after a lively contest, was 
elected by a majority of forty. He also held many 
minor town offices. 

Our subject was a great lover of music, studying 
it thoroughly. He taught singing in his native 
town, in Waterford and in Rockville, and led the 
choir of the Second Congregational Church of the 
latter place for seventeen consecutive years. He 
was also captain of Talcott's Fifth Regiment Band 
for many 3'ears. 



In 1872, after several years of struggle against 
certain adverse circumstances connected with the 
Windermere Woolen Mills, Col. Thayer sold out his 
interest in the same to a Boston commission house, 
and in the following spring returned to Rockville. 
The long continued mental strain, however, resulted 
in nervous prostration, and treatment in the Con- 
necticut Hospital for the Insane at Middletown was 
thought advisable. In a few months he had re- 
covered completely, and was appointed supervisor 
of the institution. In a short time he was made 
clerk, a position requiring the financial oversight 
of a community of 1,500 people, and involving the 
outlay of $1,000 per day, and this position he re- 
tained until his death. The hold which he gained 
upon the affections of the physicians and attendants 
of the institution was shown by their setting apart 
a day, after his death, for planting trees about the 
beautiful grounds in memory of him. The land- 
scape gardening around the institution was the re- 
sult of his fine taste and oversight. He also in- 
stituted a system of outdoor exercise for the pa- 
tients, which resulted in much good to them, and 
caused the board of trustees officially to commend 
it in their reports. Col. Thayer died March 19, 
1889, and lies buried in Grove Hill cemetery, at 
Rockville. 

Col. Thayer, in his business relations, was the 
soul of honor, and in public affairs a leading spirit 
in the community. In his acquaintances he conde- 
scended to men of low degree, and in the bonds of 
friendship drew others to him with lifelong attach- 
ments. He hated hypocrisy in every form, and 
strove to be esteemed himself only for what he was. 
Pope was his favorite author. He early accepted 
the conclusions arrived at in Darwin's "Origin of 
Species." In his home he was kind and affectionate, 
though of a highly sensitive temperament, indul- 
gent, and ever planning to make that home a happy 
one. 

On April 2, 1843, in the Freewill Baptist Church, 
Waterford, Mass., Col. John W. Thayer was mar- 
ried to Adaline Burton, daughter of Raymond and 
Deborah (Sayles) Burton, Rev. M. Burlingame 
performing the ceremony. Three children were born 
of this union, as follows: (1) Adelbert P., born 
Aug. 5, 1846, is associated with the Times-Repub- 
lican in Marshalltown, Iowa. On June 9, 1870, he 
married Annie J. Whiton, born Feb. 4, 1849, at 
Charleston, Mass., and six children were born to 
them, their names and dates of birth being: John 
W., March 26, 1871 ; George F., Oct. 23. 1872; 
Minnie R., April 17, 1874; Nellie G., Nov. 14, 1876; 
Lillian E., March 7, 1879 (died Oct. 7, 1879) ; and 
Kent, June 2, 1881 (died Oct. 29, 1881). (2) Flo- 
rine, born Feb. 14, 185 1, married Col. McCray, a 
sketch of whom appears farther on. (3) George 
Burton, born May 13, 1853, sketch of whom imme- 
diately follows. 

George Burtox Thayer, son of the late Col. 
Thayer, received a liberal education at the public 



94 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



schools of Rockville and Ellington, Conn., after 
which for several years he had charge of the com- 
pany grocery store at Windermere, and purchased 
another at Vernon Depot. In 1886 he came to Han- 
ford to accept a position as reporter on the Evening 
Post, and later on the Hartford Courant, which po- 
sitions he rilled until 1894. At the age of forty- 
three \ears he commenced the study of law at Yale 
Law School, graduating in the class of '97, and 
then took a post-graduate course in the same 
institution. 

In May, 1898, Mr. Thayer left with Company K, 
First Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, and was mus- 
tered out six months later, at the close of the Span- 
ish-American war. Being a direct descendant of 
Col. John Sayles and Capt. Jeremiah Irons, who 
served in the Revolutionary war, he is a member of 
the Sons of the American Revolution, which so- 
ciety presented him with a gold medal in recogni- 
tion of his patriotic services during the war with 
Spain ; he is also a member of the Connecticut His- 
torical Society. Mr. Thayer is the author of several 
works, including "Pedal and Path," "Thayer and 
Burton Ancestry," and a "History of Company K, 
First Connecticut Volunteer Infantry, during the 
Spanish-American War." 

On Feb. 28, 1881, George B. Thayer was mar- 
ried, at Danielsville, Conn., to Miss Kate W. Til- 
linghast, and one child, Charles Tillinghast, hern 
May 14, 1882, has come to this union. 

COL. WILLIAM B. McCRAY, whose death 
occurred in Hartford on Jan. 22, 1899, had been 
for years a prominent insurance man in Hartford, 
and had also been prominently connected with the 
National Guard. In his business, social and mili- 
tary associations he was exceedingly well liked by 
his associates. 

Col. McCray was born in Ellington, Conn., Dec. 
16, 1852, a son of Henry and Roxanna (Kimball) 
McCray, who were born at Ellington. Col. McCray 
spent most of his life in business in Hartford, where 
he made a reputation for high character and hon- 
esty. He was a member of the insurance firm of 
Kimball & McCray, formerly C. C. Kimball & Co. 
His connection with the National Guard began Feb. 
I, 1872, when he was appointed commissary-ser- 
geant on the non-commissioned staff of the First 
Regiment. On March 27, same year, he was ap- 
pointed, by Col. Hamilton, adjutant of the regiment, 
with the rank of first lieutenant, which position he 
resigned Feb. 17, 1874. On Aug. 23, 1878. he was 
appointed, by Col. Barbour, paymaster of the regi- 
ment, with the rank of first lieutenant, in which 
position he remained until 1884, when he resigned. 
Upon his own application he was placed on the re- 
tired list of the Connecticut National Guard, ( )ct. 
29, [895. On Dec. 8, 1897, he was made colonel 
and aide-de-camp on the staff of Gov. Cooke. Col. 
McCray had a happy and genial temperament, was 
fond of the society of his friends, and attracted 



them to him in large numbers. His death was sin- 
cerely regretted by all who knew him. 

"After days and nights of weary, patient wait- 
ing, without murmur or complaint, conscious that 
the summons to depart could not long be delayed, 
the soul of William B. McCray has taken its flight. 
Just before the church bells began ringing on a 
beautiful Sunday morning, when the noisy wheels of 
industry were still, and the hustling, busy world was 
resting — could there be a more fitting time to die? 
Those who were acquainted with Col. McCray will 
miss his genial companionship and rare humor. It 
is not our purpose to attempt to eulogize him. To 
those who knew him it would be unnecessary. To 
all, it may be said, he made the rough places in life 
easier to travel over for those who had the good for- 
tune to be in his companionship. He was a bene- 
factor of humanity, in that he carried sunshine with 
him and dispelled shadow by his genial disposition. 
Many a social gathering, especially among his mili- 
tary friends, has enjoyed his witty sayings and quick 
repartee. He was a host as an entertainer, and had 
the rare ability of being able to laugh heartily him- 
self. He enjoyed the society of his friends, but 
nothing was so dear to him as his life companion 
and his home. He was a devoted husband, and his 
bereaved widow will have the heartfelt sympathy 
of a very large circle of friends. — A. L. G." He 
left considerable estate, among his bequests being 
one to the Hartford Hospital, for the benefit of 
friendless women. 

On March 3, 1874, at Rockville, Conn., Col. 
McCray was married to Miss Florine Thayer, daugh- 
ter of the late Col. John W. Thayer, and she sur- 
vived him but seven weeks. There are no children. 
Mrs. McCray was author of "The Life-Work of the 
Author of 'Uncle Tom's Cabin,' ' "Wheels and 
Whims," and "Environment." 

JOHN E. HIGGINS (deceased), for many 
years the capable and popular city and town clerk, 
also registrar of vital statistics, Hartford, was a 
native of Connecticut, born June 19, 1844, in New 
London, where he received a substantial public- 
school education. 

Edward Higgins, his father, born in Ireland, 
was a quarryman by occupation, and came to Port- 
land, Conn., where he worked for several years in 
the quarry there, and passed the rest of his days, 
dying at the age of seventy-one years. He mar- 
ried-Mary McDoland, also a native of Ireland, and 
by her had six children, three of whom are living: 
Elizabeth, widow of Patrick Lawler. of Middle- 
town; Mary, widow of James Murphy, of Middle- 
town; and ".Margaret. The mother was called from 
earth at the age of sixty-six, and her parents both 
died at advanced years, the father at the age of 
seventy-nine, the mother when seventy-three. 

John E. Higgins was a small boy when the 
family moved from New London to Portland. 
Conn., and he there received his education at the 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



95 



public schools, the present State Secretary Clark 
being his teacher. At the outbreak of the Civil 
war Mr. Higgins was a teacher in the Portland 
public schools, having received his appointment 
through Mr. Clark, but this position he resigned 
to enlist, in 1862, as musician, in the 3rd United 
States Artillery, serving under Maj.-Gen. John A. 
Dicks and Gen. Burbank. At the expiration of 
three years, in August, 1865, he received an hon- 
orable discharge and returned to Portland. In 
the following month he came to Hartford, and en- 
tered Colt's Armory as an employe, remaining un- 
til 1874, in which year he was elected to the office 
of city clerk and registrar of vital statistics for 
Hartford, which incumbency he filled continuously 
(with exception of the year 1880) until 1895, 
when a severe attack of rheumatism compelled 
him to confine himself to his room, which he never 
after left, for the thre'e years preceding his death 
being a helpless invalid, unable to take a single 
step; although a terrible sufferer, he retained 
his sunny disposition to the end, which came Dec. 
10, 1900. His career as city and town clerk and 
registrar was one of marked succfess, giving emi- 
nent satisfaction to all concerned. In fact, while 
a pronounced Democrat, his career as a public offi- 
cial was so characterized by devotion to the inter- 
ests of the community at large, without regard to 
party lines, that he received the enthusiastic sup- 
port of all, without Hegard to politics. 

Socially Mr. Higgins was a prominent member 
of Robert O. Tyler Post, G. A. R., and took an 
active part in the noted veteran assemblages and 
demonstrations that have taken plade in Hartford 
since the war of the Rebellion. He was also a 
member of Green Cross Council, Knights of Co- 
lumbus, and of the Hartford Lodge of Elks. For 
Several years he was affiliated with the Sons of St. 
Patrick. As a musician he was a member of Colt's 
Band, in which he played the euphonium and slide 
trombone ; was president of the band several years, 
and at the time of his death was the oldest living 
member, having joined in 1868 and played until 
1890. During this time, among the scores of pa- 
rades in which this band took part, that of the 
National Convention of Hand Engine Companies, 
held in Philadelphia, was the largest. Colt's Band 
in this parade waited for seven hours in their place 
before they had an opportunity to fall in line, al- 
lowing 210 bands to pass. Of the members of the 
band present on that occasion, only two are now 
living. For twenty-five years Mr. Higgins was a 
member and attendant of St. Peter's Catholic 
Church, at the time of his decease being connected 
with the Cathedral Parish. 

On Aug. 16, 1873, Mr. Higgins was married 
to Adella E. Collins, of Springfield, daughter of 
James D. and Julia Collins, the former of whom 
was employed during the Civil war as a barrel 
rifivr, having had a contract with the Sharp's Gun 
Co., at Hartford, later with the Colt Co. He af- 



terward went to England, and after eighteen months 
employment there with the firm of F. Firth & Sons 
returned to Hartford ; h'e is now a resident of 
Springfield, Mass. Mrs. Higgins, who is his only 
child, is an excellent musician, and a fine performer 
on the pianoforte. 

JOHN FAIRMAN (deceased) was for more 
than a half century a prominent and influential busi- 
ness man of Hartford. He belonged to that old 
school of merchants which w r as grounded in the 
principles of rectitude, fair dealing and intimate re- 
lationship with local public, political and social af- 
fairs. He was most highly esteemed, and died at a 
ripe age, leaving as a heritage an unblemished repu- 
tation, and the imperishable impress of a strong and 
well-beloved character. 

Mr. Fairman was of the sixth generation of an 
early New England family, founded in 1674 by 
John Fairman, son of Ebenezer Fairman, who mi- 
grated from Birmingham, England, and settled in 
Killingly, Conn. John Fairman (I) had one son, 
John Fairman (II), who, in 171 5, married Hannah 
Spalding. Jonathan Fairman (III), son of John 
and Hannah (Spalding) Fairman, was born March 
13, 1721, and married Nov. 5, 1743, Mary Nancy 
Ware. Jonathan Fairman (IV), son of Jonathan 
and Mary Nancy (Ware) Fairman, was born July 
10, 1744. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Jona- 
than Cady, and became a resident of Stafford 
Springs, Conn. He had three sons, Jonathan C, 
Chester and Simon. Jonathan C. Fairman (V), 
son of Jonathan and Elizabeth (Cady) Fairman, 
was born in 1783, and died in 1816. He married 
Elizabeth Turner, and to them were born five chil- 
dren, Joseph, Eliza, Mary, Clarissa, and John (our 
subject). 

John Fairman, our subject, was born Aug. 10, 
1814, in Hartford, Conn. Orphaned by the death of 
his father two years later, he was placed in care of 
an uncle at Haverhill, N. H., with whom he remained 
during his early boyhood. He then went to Brook- 
lyn, N. Y., and learned the shoemaker's trade with 
his brother Joseph. At the age of twenty-one he re- 
turned to Hartford, and there began a career which 
was terminated only bv his recent death. He began 
as a clerk for Isaac Hill, and was later a salesman 
for C. S. Ensign. In partnership with George Hol- 
brook he purchased the Ensign store, and established 
the boot and shoe house of Fairman & Holbrook, 
which later became Fairman & Miller. It was 
located on the site of the present Sage-Allen build- 
ing. Thence the business was removed to the block 
north of the First Baptist church. Fairman & 
Miller were succeeded by Fairman & Henry, and 
after the retirement of Mr. Henry Mr. Fairman 
assumed entire control, continuing uninterruptedly 
until his retirement from business in 1893, at the 
age of nearly eighty years, lie died April 19, [899. 

Mr. Fairman was a director of the Dime Sav- 
ings Bank, and for many years was a trustee of the 



96 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



First Methodist Church, lie was an old member 
of the First Company, Governor's Foot Guards, 
serving- under Major John C. Parsons. He was a 
Republican in politics, and about 1883 represented 
the old Seventh ward in the council board. As a 
business man and neighbor he was one of the most 
honorable and kindly of men, living an upright 
Christian life. He married for his first wife Char- 
lotte Parsons, daughter of Chester and Phebe Par- 
sons. She died April 22, 1882. For his second wife 
he married, Oct. 7, 1885, Emma Fuller Bissell. 

Henry M. Fairman, son of John and Charlotte 
(Parsons) Fairman, was married June 16, 1869, to 
Charlotte Woodward. 

EBEX H. STOCKER, secretary of the Billings 
& Spencer Co., Hartford, and well known among 
the business men of that city, was born April 23, 
1846, in Hartland, Vt., where the family was prom- 
inent, his father and grandfather having been among 
the most useful residents of that town in their day. 

The first of the family to come to America was 
a non-conformist clergyman of Scotland, who lo- 
cated originally in Massachusetts, his descendants 
removing thence to Vermont. Eben Stocker, grand- 
father of our subject, was born in Hopkinton, Mass., 
where he passed his early life, and was a farmer 
by occupation. Removing from his native place 
to Hartland, Windsor Co., Vt., he there passed the 
remainder of his days, attaining the advanced age 
of eighty-five years. He took a prominent part 
in the public affairs of his adopted town, was a 
stanch Democrat in political opinion, and was a 
deacon in the Congregational Church. By his 
first wife, Abagail Kimball, like himself a native of 
Hopkinton, Eben Stocker had nine children, all now 
deceased. She died at the age of forty years. 

Eben M. Stocker, son of Eben and Abagail (Kim- 
ball) Stocker, was born in Windsor, Vt., and was 
a child when the family removed to Hartland, where 
he was reared. His education was acquired in the 
common schools. He engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits, conducting the largest store in the town, 
and also took a prominent part in public affairs, 
serving thirty years as town clerk, and representing 
his town in the State Legislature for several terms. 
His long-continued service is sufficient evidence of 
his efficiency and trustworthiness, and he was re- 
spected by those who knew him in every relation 
of life. Mr. Stocker spent four years in California. 
He married Lucia D. Lull, who was born in Hart- 
land, daughter of Timothy and Susanna (Delano) 
Lull, and three children were born to them, of whom 
our subject is now the only survivor. Mr. Stocker 
died at the age of seventy-eight, .Mrs. Stocker at 
the age of sixty. She was a member of the Uni- 
versalist Church. Her father, Timothy Lull, was 
the first settler in Hartland, going up the river 
from Charlestown in a canoe. His family consisted 
of six children, only one of whom is now living, 
Almond, a resident of California. 



Eben H. Stocker spent his early years in Hart- 
land and Windsor, and received his education in 
the public schools. He has been a resident of Hart- 
ford since 1872, when he came to take the position 
of bookkeeper with the concern with which he has 
ever since been connected. In 1876 he was made 
secretary, in which incumbency he is still retained, 
and he is also a director in that largj concern. Mr. 
Stocker is also connected with the C. Billings Mfg. 
Co., of which he is secretary and a director. Though 
a public-spirited citizen, business absorbs too much 
of his time to allow him to interest himself as act- 
ively in politics as his immediate ancestors have 
done. He is independent in sentiment. 

In 1870 Mr. Stocker married Miss Jennie Hey- 
wood, who was born in Windsor, Vt., daughter 
of Willard and Emily Heywood, who had a family 
of nine children, five now living: Mrs. A. G. 
Couch, of Amherst, Mass. : Mrs. Lucia Spaulding, 
of Lancaster, Mass.; Eleazer, wdio is in the West; 
Mrs. Eda Jones ; and Henry, of Windsor, Vt. Mr. 
Heywood, who was a well and favorably known 
man in his town, died at the age of eighty-two, his 
wife at the age of sixty-eight. Mrs. Jennie Stocker 
died in 1881, at the early age of twenty-eight, leav- 
ing one son, Frank H., who is now engaged in the 
practice of medicine. He received his preparatory 
education in the public schools, his professional 
training in the New York Homeopathic Medical 
College, New York City, from which he graduate 1, 
the youngest in the class, taking the second three- 
years prize. For his second wife our subject mar- 
ried Lucy M. Birge, a native of East Hartford, 
daughter of Edward and Esther Birge, farming- 
people; her father is deceased. 

GEORGE ROBERTS (deceased). In the 
death of this gentleman, on March 25, 1878. at his 
residence in Lafayette street, Hartford, there de- 
parted from life a prominent business man, trusted 
and honored by the community with which he had so 
long been identified. 

William Roberts, son of Catherine Leete and 
a Mr. "Robards," came to East Hartford from 
Middletown, Conn., lived near the foot of Smith's 
Lane, on the Meadow Hill, south of the present 
"Bridge Road" — the main street at that time fol- 
lowing this "Meadow Bank."' He married Dorothy 
Forbes, who was a daughter of Capt. James Forbes, 
the progenitor of the Forbes family in East Hart- 
ford, and from him she received six acres of land 
on which William Roberts built his dwelling. The 
children born to William and Dorothy were : Dor- 
othy was baptized in the South Church at Hart- 
ford, in 1687; Deborah was baptized in the First 
Church in April. M xp ; William, baptized in the same 
church in [695, married Deborah Spencer, and died 
in 1726, leaving a son. William; Benjamin, baptized 
March 8. io<>8, died Feb. 14, 1774: Joseph, baptized 
Aug. 11, 1700; Mary, baptized May 31, 1702: and 
Samuel, baptized Dec. 24.1704, married Sarah Hills, 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



97 



daughter of Ebenezer Hills, Sr. William Roberts, 
the father, died probably in 1735. 

Benjamin Roberts, of the second generation in 
East Hartford, married Sept. 26, 1730, Dorothy Pit- 
kin, who was born in 1705, a daughter of Nathaniel 
and Hester (Hosmer) Pitkin. Nathaniel was a son 
of William Pitkin, the founder of the family in East 
Hartford. Mrs. Dorothy (Pitkin) Roberts died 
Oct. 5, 1737, and July 13, 1739, Mr. Roberts mar- 
ried jerusha Prat I, who was a descendant of John 
Pratt, who came to Hartford with the Hooker party 
in 1635. The children of the first marriage were: 
Dorothy, who was born Jan. 23, 1734, was married 
to Lemuel Kingsbury, of Andover ; Susannah, born 
in 1736, died in 1804, unmarried. To the second 
marriage, with Jerusha Pratt, were born : Jerusha 
and Catherine (twins;, April 24, 1740, the former of 
whom was married to Jonathan Stanley (who w r as 
for eighteen years town clerk and town treasurer), 
the latter to Jonathan Hubbard, ancestor of Gov. 
Hubbard; Benjamin, born Nov. 15, 1741, was a 
farmer in the south part of East Hartford, and 
married Dorothy Goodwin; Sarah, born April 13, 
1743, was married to Joseph Hurlburt ; Mary, born 
Jan. 18, 1745, married Timothy Forbes; William, 
born Jan. 19, 1746, married Abigail Stanley; Na- 
thaniel, born Dec. 24, 1750, married Annie New- 
comb ; George was born Nov. 22, 1752 ; Abigail, born 
in 1756, was married to John Norton, and died Nov. 
12, 1775; and Lemuel, born in 1760, died in 1775. 

Benjamin Roberts was a merchant trader, and 
the owner of several vessels, among them the "Sam- 
uel," the "Martha" and the "Porrige," which traded 
with the West Indies and at New London, bring- 
ing home cargoes of merchandise, which were stored 
in his house and cellar, strongly built for the pur- 
pose. He was a large land owner. 

George Roberts, of the third generation, was 
born Nov. 22, 1752, at East Hartford, and was a 
successful farmer and business man. He served in 
Capt. Jonathan W T ells' company, Col. Erastus Wol- 
cott's regiment, during the Revolutionary war, and 
was at Boston from December, 1775, until February, 
1776. He also served in several town offices, was 
elected selectman in 1820 and served two years. He 
married Jerusha Williams, who was born May 20, 
1757, a daughter of Timothy and Ruth (Pitkin) 
Williams, the latter being a daughter of Ozias, 
who was a son of the first William Pitkin, the 
founder of the family. The children born to 
George and Jerusha Roberts were: Jerusha, who 
was born in 1782, died July 7, 1798; Clarissa, born 
May 4, 1783, married Dr. Edward Pitkin, and 
died Jan. 28, 1864; Ozias was born Aug. 10, 1785; 
George, born May 28, 1789, died in Hartford, Nov. 
10, 1808; Alven, born Aug. 16, 1791, died aged 
twenty-seven on April 9, 1818; Esther, born 
July 4, 1793, married James Bidwell, and died in 
Manchester, Jan. 9, 1822; Lucretia, born Nov. 10, 
1795. was married to Dr. W. Coolev, and died in 
East Hartford March 31, 1821 ; and Martin, born 
Oct. 14, 1799, a well-known and promising young 
7 



man, died April 17, 1821, in New York City, whither 
he had gone to purchase goods for the purpose of 
starting in business at Hartford. Mrs. Jerusha 
(Williams) Roberts died Nov. 22, 1817. George 
Roberts married, for his second wife, Mrs. Lucretia 
(Beaumont) Abbey, widow of Jeduthan Abbey, but 
to this second marriage no children were born. Mr. 
Roberts died Oct. 4, 1824. 

Hon. Capt Ozias Roberts, of the fourth genera- 
tion, and the only son of George and Jerusha Rob- 
erts to reach full manhood, was born Aug. 10, 
1785, in the house where he died. He received the 
usual education furnished by the schools of that 
time and was endowed with a naturally strong intel- 
lect. He was possessed of a daring spirit, and was 
fond of adventure, and when a young man went to 
sea, trade being then carried on between the W'est 
Indies and Hartford direct. During the war of 
1812 he shipped with Capt. Josiah Griswold, of 
Wethersfield, on board the privateer "Blockade." 
The vessel was fitted out on the Connecticut river, 
was owned by Thomas Belden and others, and car- 
ried six guns. After cruising for some time with 
but little success the "Blockade" was captured by a 
British brig-of-war, was run into the Bermudas, 
and the crew confined on a prison-ship. Ozias 
Roberts, however, and Dr. AVilliam Cooley, of Man- 
chester (surgeon of the "Blockade"), managed to 
escape to the shore, and were secreted by a negro 
until they could find an opportunity to return in 
safety to their respective homes. For some time 
thereafter Ozias continued to follow the sea, event- 
ually became the captain of a vessel plying in the 
West Indies trade, but at the death of his father re- 
turned to Connecticut and managed the estate until 
his death, Feb. 8, 1868, his remains being interred 
in the Center cemetery. 

Ozias Roberts was three times married. His 
first wife, Martha Treat (daughter of Joseph Treat, 
of East Hartford, and Martha Adams, of Wethers- 
field), died Jan. 3, 1809, at the age of twenty-one 
years, the mother of two children : Mary Ann, who 
was married to Deacon Horace Williams March 10, 
1831, and died April 3, 1848, at the age of forty- 
one years ; and Martha, who was born Dec. 23, 1808, 
in East Hartford. The second wife of Ozias Rob- 
erts was Harriet Treat, a sister of Martha Treat, 
his first wife. Mrs. Harriet (Treat) Roberts died 
July 19, 1822, aged thirty-two years, the mother of 
the following children: George is our subject: Jane 
Treat, born Dec. 10, 1811, married Edward Good- 
win, and was the mother of J. O. Goodwin, of East 
Hartford; Harriet, born Oct. 1 1, 1814, married 
Aaron Olmstead in 1835, at East Hartford, and died 
Nov. 19, 1875, leaving the following named chil- 
dren — Horace B., Arthur G., A. Fred, and Charles 
H. ; Ira T. was born Feb. 10, 1817; and Jerusha, 
born March 15, 1819, was married to Alfred Kil- 
bourne. 

The third wife of Ozias Roberts was Nancy 
Comstock, whom he married March 26, 1823. 
Nancy (Comstock) Roberts was born July 4, 1802, 



<•> 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



in East Hartford, and was a daughter of Perez and 
Abigail i Raymond) Comstock, of the Comstock and 
Raymond families of Montville, Conn. The chil- 
dren of this marriage were: Esther Bidwell, horn 
May 25, 1824, married Albert Comstock Raymond, 
a native of Montville, Conn., who built the Raymond 
Library at East Hartford, in which town she died 
in September, 1883; Luther Martin, born Nov. 18, 
[826, was by nature a seaman, died March 21, 1847, 
on board a ship of which he was second mate, and 
was buried in Vera Cruz, Mexico; Juliette, born July 
23. 1829, was married to John B. Smith, of East 
Hartford, now of Berlin, Conn., and died Oct. 1, 
1S57. in East Hartford; Arthur, born Jan. 14, 1831, 
died Jan. 23, 1833; Emma and Ellen, born Oct. 15, 
1835, died respectively April 2, 1856, and April 26, 
[860, unmarried; Elizabeth Bradford, born March 
21, 1838, is now Mrs. Henry A. Street, of New 
Haven; Arthur Ozias, born Feb. 22, 1840, was a 
master's mate during the Civil war (he is unmar- 
ried) ; Frances L., born Aug. 23, 1846, takes great 
interest in genealogy, and to her the publishers of 
this work are indebted for many facts relating to 
the Roberts family; she is the present registrar of 
Martha Pitkin Wolcott Chapter, D. A. R., at East 
Hartford. Nancy Comstock Roberts died Jan. 
17. 1859. 

Ozias Roberts, the father of these families of 
children, left to them a name honored for integrity 
and uprightness in business affairs. In politics he 
was a Democrat previous to the formation of the 
Republican party, and long before the formation of 
the Republican party was an uncompromising Abo- 
litionist, and employed runaway slave labor. He 
served as State senator, and, for four terms after 
1828, as a member of the House of Representatives. 
In 1838 he was elected town treasurer, and served 
two terms, and was for many years custodian of 
school funds. His rare good judgment was highly 
prized by his neighbors, who frequently consulted 
him on business matters, and he settled many es- 
tates, to the great saving of money to those most 
interested. Although not a church member, he real- 
ized the value of churches, and liberally aided in 
their support, was a member of the Ecclesiastical 
Society and often one of the committee, and reared 
hi- children to respect the Sabbath rigidly. Fra- 

nally he was a Royal Arch Mason. 

it was not until he had quit the sea that Mr. 
Roberts gave his attention to agriculture, in which 
he met with a decided success. At one time he 
own; d and conducted the ferry at East Hartford. 
Two years prior to his death he had a fall, in his 
rd, from the effects of which he never fully 
red, being thereafter confined to his room, 
but he managed his affairs until the end. He was a 
man of strong convictions, and for forty years was 
a leader among men in East Hartford. He was a 
strict disciplinarian, and although his children were 
numerous lie reared them to positions of usefulness, 
and it may be added that lion. Richard 1). Hub- 
bard, ex-governor of Connecticut, and one of her 



brightest legal lights, was a ward and cousin of 
Mr. Robert-, and passed his youthful days on the 
latter's farm. 

Ozias Roberts never lost the charm that made 
his home the abode of enjoyment and true hospi- 
tality, and his dwelling in Last Hartford, in his 
day, was the scene of more gatherings than any 
other in the town. Thanksgiving Day and Elec- 
tion Day were always observed with bountiful 
cheer, and the members of the family were invaria- 
bly present on these occasions, beside innumerable 
friends and visitors, and the home, indeed, was one 
of the most popular known in its day ; all who ever 
visited it fully enjoyed themselves, and came away 
with undisguised admiration and praise of its unre- 
served hospitality. 

George Roberts, the subject proper of these 
lines, was born in 1810 in East Hartford, and lived 
with his father upon a farm until seventeen years 
of age, when he went to Hartford and entered the 
grocery store of Thomas K. Brace as clerk, serving 
in that capacity until the age of twenty-one. He 
then went to New York, and entered the large dry- 
goods house of Fitch, Goodwin & Co., continuing 
with that firm for two years, and remaining on duty 
through the great cholera epidemic of that time, 
when but few had the courage to stay in the city. In 
1833 ne returned to Hartford, and was soon there- 
after chosen State director in the Phoenix Bank. 
He also entered into business with Charles H. 
Northam, carrying on a wholesale grocery business 
under the firm name of Northam & Roberts. In 
1836 he entered into co-partnership with Philip G. 
Ripley and Edwin G. Ripley, under the firm name 
of Ripley, Roberts & Co., and conducted an exten- 
sive iron business some three or four vears. 

About 1840 Mr. Roberts again went to New 
York, forming a partnership with G. Spencer (James 
M. Bunce, of Hartford, being a special partner in the 
firm ) , and was for several years in successful busi- 
ness in that city. He was one of the business men 
who organized the Metropolitan Bank of New York. 
In 1853 he retired to a farm in South Windsor. 
In 1854 he was chosen treasurer o\ the Hartford 
Carpet Co., which owned extensive mills at Thomp- 
sonville and Tariffville ; in 1850, on the retirement 
of Hon. T. M. Allyn, he was elected president and 
treasurer oi the company, and continued to fill these 
important positions for twenty-two years, or until 
his death. One of the prominent officials of the 
company, with whom he was most closely associ- 
ated, said that in ail that time there was never an 
unpleasant word from Mr. Roberts, who was al- 
ways even-tempered, genial and kind. 1 le was care- 
ful and sagacious, and managed the financial affairs 
>.'( the great corporation with much prudence and 
skill. He was also president oi the Woven Wire 
Mattress Co., a director in the Phoenix National 
Bank, the /Etna hire Insurance Co.. the Connecti- 
cut Trust and Safe Deposit Co., and (for twenty 
years) the Hartford Gas Co. llis judgment was 
excellent, and his incessant fidelity and devotion re- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



99 



markable, in fact, in all the relations of life he was 
an excellent and highly esteemed man. He was 
possessed of unusual executive ability, which, with 
the strict integrity which had always characterize. 
his business life, made him an exceedingly valuable 
man in the many business corporations with which 
he was connected. Naturally modest and retiring, 
he was yet social, withal, and possessed of a vein of 
quiet humor that made him an exceedingly agreea- 
ble companion. He was a close observer of na- 
tional affairs, was sound and well-grounded on all 
important questions of political economy, was an 
earnest Republican, and a stanch supporter of the 
Union cause during the war of the Rebellion. He 
Avas a member of Center Church, and a man 
whose religious convictions pervaded his whole so- 
cial and business life. He was a manly type of the 
upright Christian gentlemen, who, in business, poli- 
tics, religious and social life, have shaped the char-^ 
acter of Xew England institutions and communities 
during the present century. 

Air. Roberts was twice married, on Oct. 19, 1836, 
to Louisa Stewart, daughter of Capt. Allen Stewart. 
To this union came one daughter, Louisa Stewart, 
who died at the age of about eleven years. For his 
second wife Mr. Roberts wedded Elvira Evans, who 
was born July 12, 1812, and they had children as 
follows : Martha married Edward C. Ritchie, of 
Brooklyn; Mary married George C. Perkins, of 
Hartford, son of Henry A. and Sarah Perkins; 
( icorge married Ida Hamilton, of Hartford (he suc- 
ceeded his father as president of the Hartford Car- 
j>et Co.) ; Jane L. married George D. Holton, of 
Chicago, 111.; Sarah died when three years of age 
Henry married Carrie E. Smith, daughter of Isaac 
\Y. Smith, of Bridgeport, Conn, (he is president of 
the Woven Wire Mattress Co., of Hartford). 

We give a brief record of Mrs. Roberts' ances- 
try : In the year 1639 two brothers by the name of 
Taylor came to this country from England. One of 
them soon after took ship to return ; the vessel was 
never heard of after leaving Xew York. John Tay- 
lor, the other brother, settled at Windsor, Conn, 
lie married a widow, and a son, John, was born of 
this marriage in 1641. Te married Thankful Wood- 
ward Dec. 18, 1662. He was killed by the Indians 
-at Xew Haven, May 13, 1704. Thomas, his son, 
was born X T ov. 4, 1680, and married Thankful 
1 [awkes Aug. 31, 1715. Lie was active in the French 
and Indian wars, was wounded at Deerfield, and 
was drowned in the Connecticut river Aug. 31, 171 7. 
His son Thomas was born in 1717, and married 
Sarah Merriman. There is no record of her death, 
but record of his marrying Sarah Stebbins, in 1 755- 
She died Sept. 11, 1809. While on a march from 
Xorthfield to Fort Dummer, July 14, 1748, in com- 
mand of seventeen men, Sergt. Thomas Taylor was 
attacked by one hundred French and Indians, taken 
prisoner, carried to Canada, and afterward ex- 
changed, and ;eturned home Sept. 17, of the same 
year. The government of the Province voted him 
i^o for his bravery in action. The record says he 



lost a French gun worth £18, and a pair of leather 
breeches worth £10. Sergt. Taylor was acquainted 
with the Indians who were with the French when 
he was taken captive. Two of them, one on either 
side, seated Sergt. Taylor on a log, and one of the 
Indians said, "Thomas, me kill you." The Sergeant 
said, "Why kill me?" The Indian said, "You kill 
my brother." The Sergeant said, "But he shot at. 
me first." The Indian dropped his head a moment, 
then said, "Yes, Thomas, that's so. Me no kill you." 
He died March 24, 1778. His son, Hollis Taylor, 
was born in 1758. Thankful Taylor, daughter of 
Hollis Taylor, was born April 20, 1791, and on May 
20, 1810, married Jason Evans, who was born April 
19, 1786, and died Oct. 29, 1823. 

HERBERT H. WHITE, secretary and director 
of the Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co., Hart- 
ford, has been connected with various lines of enter- 
prise which have helped to make that city famous, 
and as a representative successful business man is 
entitled to honorable mention in this volume. 

Mr. White was born July 3, 1858, in Hartford, 
son of Francis A. and Cornelia (Humphrey) White, 
who had a family of eight children, four now liv- 
ing, namely : Herbert H. ; Harry W. ; Howard C, 
of California; and Clara, of Hartford. The fa- 
ther passed away May 28, 1884, the mother Aug. 
30, 1898. He was a native of Massachusetts, but 
spent the greater part of his life in Hartford, where 
he was engaged as a contractor and builder. Her- 
bert H. White grew to manhood in his native city, 
and in February, 1874, entered the employ of the 
Hartford Trust Co., with whom he remained sev- 
eral years. In April, 1878, he entered the Phoenix 
Bank, with which he was connected over twenty 
years, winning promotion by his own efforts until 
he attained the responsible position of assistant 
cashier of that institution. For four years he was 
one of the auditors of the Connecticut Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., and in January, 1899, the directors 
of the company were unanimous in electing him 
a director, in the place made vacant by the death 
of E. M. Bunce. He was also unanimously elected 
secretary, as Mr. Bunce's successor, and has since 
filled that position with characteristic ability. Being 
thoroughly familiar with the internal affairs of the 
company. Mr. White's fitness for his important office 
was quickly recognized by all who knew him and his 
election was looked upon as an evidence of the con- 
servative policy of that great concern. The insured 
must depend much upon the officers of the company 
in which they insure, and the choice of Mr. White 
carries into a younger generation the assurance 
that the Connecticut Mutual will continue to be 
managed by men who have a full sense of the moral 
responsibilities of their trust, and the business 
ability and personal integrity to conduct its affair^. 

However, it is not alone in business circles that 
Mr. White is regarded as one of the most success- 
ful and promising men of his age in the city. He 



100 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



served efficiently as a member of the city council 
for six years, beginning with 1893, was president 
of the council in 1896, and alderman from the 
Tenth ward 1897- 1899, during which period he 
acted as chairman of the Ordinance committee. In 
February, 1900, he was elected president of the 
Colonial Club of Hartford. 

On Oct. 20, 1886, Mr. White married Miss Ella 
F. Kinne, of Richfield Springs, N. Y., and they 
have had one child, Marian H., now (1900) eleven 
years of age. 

CASE. The family of this name, from which 
descended the late Hon. Jairus Case, M. D., of 
Granby, whose surviving son is Hon. William Cul- 
len Case, of the law firm of Case, Bryant & Case, of 
Hartford, is one of the old and prominent families 
of Windsor and Simsbury, William C. Case being 
in the seventh generation from John Case, the 
American ancestor. His line of descent is through 
John (2), John (3), Capt. John, Levi and Dr. 
Jairus. 

(I) John Case married (first) about 1657 Sarah, 
daughter of William Spencer, of Hartford, Conn. 
He resided in Windsor, Conn., until the spring of 

1669, when he removed to Massacoe (now Sims- 
bury). Conn., and settled in Weatogue. His wife 
died Nov. 3, 1691, aged fifty-five, and he married 
(second) Elizabeth, widow of Nathaniel Loomis, of 
Windsor. Mr. Case was appointed constable for 
Massacoe, by the General Court, Oct. 14. 1669, be- 
ing the first person that ever held office at that place. 
He represented his town at the General Court inj 

1670, and several times afterward. He died at 
Simsbury Feb. 21, 1703-04. His widow, Elizabeth 
Case, died at Windsor July 23, 1728, aged ninety. 
His children by Sarah were : Elizabeth, Mary, John, 
William Samuel. Richard, Bartholomew, Joseph, 
Sarah and Abigail. 

(II) John case (2), eldest son of John, born 
Nov. 5, 1662, settled in Simsbury. lie married 
(first) in 1684 Mary, daughter of Thomas Olcott, 
Jr., of Hartford, Conn. She died in 1685, and he 
married (second) in 1693 Sarah, daughter of Joshua 
Holcomb, of Simsbury. John Case died in 1733. 
One child, John, born to the first marriage, died in 
infancy. The children born to the second marriage 
were : John, Daniel, Mary, Jonathan, Sarah and 
Hannah. 

(III) John Case (3), son of John (2), burn 
Aug. 22, 1694, married in 1716-17 Abigail daughter 
of Lieut. Samuel Humphrey. He settled in Sims- 
bury. and died in 1752. His children were: John, 
Norah, Charles, Abigail, Mary, Lucy, Martha, Job 
and Lydia. 

(IV) Capt. John Case, son of John (3), born 
Feb. 19, 1718-19, married in 1745 Sarah, daughter 
of Samuel P>arl>er. Slie was born April t, 1722. 
The_\- resided in Simsbury. Capt. Case died in 1776, 
and his widow died in 1805. Their children were: 
John, Giles, Seth, Sarah, Asa, Mary, Giles, George, 
Levi, Judah and Abigail. 



(Y ) Levi Case, son of Capt. John, born Dec. 14, 
1760, married Polly, daughter of Hon. Daniel Hum- 
phrey, of Simsbury, who was in the fifth generation 
from Michael Humphrey, the American ancestor of 
the family, Windsor, Conn., 1643, in line through 
Sergt. John, Deacon John and Deacon Michael. 
Polly (Humphrey) Case was born March 18, 1764, 
and died Jan. 19, 1849, m Hartland, Conn. Levi 
Case died in Simsbury April 2^, 1802. After his 
death, by her exertions, the widow reared and edu- 
cated her children to positions of influence and use- 
fulness. 1 heir children were : Polly married Elizur 
Benjamin, of Hartland; Agnes married Dr. Josiah 
W. Case, of Canton; Persis married Hiram Sanforcl, 
of Barkhamsted ; Levi P. married Harriet Jones, of 
Barkhamsted ; and Jairus, M. D. 

( VI) Hon. Jairus Case, M. D., son of Levi, and 
the father of Hon. William Cullen Case, was born 
March 20, 1802. at Simsbury, Conn. He attended 
the public schools at Hartland, to which point the 
family removed in his boyhood, and subsequently 
was graduated from die medical department of Yale 
College, and located in the practice of his profes- 
sion at Granby, where he continued to live through- 
out life. He built up a large practice, was success- 
ful in his profession, and accumulated considerable 
property. Politically he was a Democrat, and as 
such represented his district in the State Senate one 
term, elected in 1868. He was identified with the 
Congregational Church at Granby, and held the es- 
teem and confidence of the community. He was a 
man of good judgment, practical, and ranked high 
in the profession. He died at Granby, Conn., Dec. 
30, 1874. 

< >n < let. 5, 1830, Dr. Case was married to Miss 
Mary T., daughter of Hon. Silas Higley, of Gran- 
by, Conn., and the union was blessed with two chil- 
dren : John, born April 15, 1832, became a lawyer, 
and died March 1, i8c)o: William Cullen is referred 
to farther on. The mother of these children 
born Feb. 22, 1808, and died Feb. 6, 1887. 

Hon. Silas Higley, the father of Mrs. Mary T, 
Case, descended from one of the early and promi- 
nent families of Windsor (Conn.) and Simsbury, 
his line of descent being from Capt. John Higley, 
through Brewster, Joseph and Ozias. 

Capt. John Higley, the American ancestor, was 
born in 1649, at Frimley, Surrey, England, -and 
emigrated to America in 1666, locating at Windsor, 
Conn., where, in [671, he married Hannah Drake. 

Brewster Higley, son of Capt. John, born in 
1680, in Windsor, Conn., married in 1709 Esther 
Holcombe, of Simsbury. 

Joseph Higley, son of Brewster, born in 171 5, 
in Simsbury, married (second) about 1740 Sarah 
Case. 

( )zias Higley. born in 1748. in Simsbury, married 
Martha Gillette in 1772. 

Hon. Silas Higley. son of Ozias. was born in 
1780. in Granby, and was married to Melissa Hayes; 
he died June 21, 1853. His wife Melissa died May 
in, 1856, aged seventy- four. His children were: 















I 
ji 


4% A. 






> 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



101 



Mary T. (Mrs. Dr. Case), John Jay, William W. 
and Julia M. Silas Higley was a lawyer by pro- 
fession, for upwards of forty years practiced in 
Hartford count}', and for many years was on the 
.bench. "He was honorably identified with the 
growth, organization and management of the lead- 
ing interests of the town." The public records show 
.that few citizens were more prominent. Socially 
and intellectually, by Bench and Bar, and from a 
legal standpoint, he was acknowledged everywhere 
as one of the foremost and distinguished men of 
Hartford county. 

( VII) Hon. William Cullen Case, son of Hon. 
Jairus Case, M. D., was born Feb. 17, 1836, at 
Granby, Conn. He was prepared for college at the 
Connecticut Literary Institute, Suffield, and was 
graduated from Yale College in 1857. He took a 
law course in Yale, and furthered his studies under 
the direction of Rockwell & Colt, at Pittsfield, 
Mass. He was admitted to the liar in New Haven 
.in i860, and has since been engaged in active prac- 
iice. He has maintained an office in New Haven 
..since 1874, but since 1889 he has been more thor- 
oughly identified with Hartford. He is the senior 
member of the firm of Case, Bryant & Case. Mr. 
Case has by no means confined himself to criminal 
practice, yet that branch of his business has been 
extensive and singularly successful. "It is probable 
that no other lawyer now at the Connecticut Bar 
has engaged in the defense of so many capital cases; 
and these include the defense of Allen for the kill- 
ing of Shipman at the State's prison, of the Malleys 
in the so-called 'Jennie Cramer' case, of Conant for 
the shooting of McClellan, and many others almost 
as prominent in the criminal annals of the State for 
the past twenty-five years. But although he has 
achieved much distinction for his masterly handling 
■of the class of cases to which these belong, by far 
the greater part of his practice has been in the civil 
Tranches of his profession, and here his successful 
qualities as a lawyer are no less marked. Perhaps 
no case ever tried in Connecticut has aroused more 
general interest or called for greater legal ability in 
its management than the recent contest over the 
.governorship and other State offices. This contro- 
versy, which began in the Legislature in 1891, and 
readied the courts under the popular name of the 
'Quo Warranto Cases,' was, owing to its political 
•character, one of peculiar bitterness, and involved 
some of the most important questions that have yet 
been the subject of litigation in Connecticut. Mr. 
Case's ability and his wonderfully exhaustive study 
of the case largely contributed to the final success 
of the Republican party, which he represented, to- 
gether with Mr. Henry C. Robinson and Mr. Charles 
J. Cole." 

Mr. Case is a powerful and effective speaker, 
with a habit of expression original and striking, and 
in his writings he is master of a terse and vigorous 
style. He is possessed of fine literary tastes and 
instincts, and is a man of wide reading. He has 
great capacity for hard work, and is always busy. 



He is a painstaking lawyer in the preparation of his 
cases, and his conduct of a case in court is marked 
by a skill that shows singular power of concentra- 
tion and a shrewd forecasting of the possibilities. 
He is able in his treatment of witnesses, strong in 
the presentation of testimony, and he has the rare 
gift of orderly and concise arrangement in argu- 
ment. In his political views Mr. Case is a Repub- 
lican, and from 1869 to 1884 he was many times a 
member of the House of Representatives, and was 
Speaker of that body in 1881. 

In 1862 Mr. Case was married to Miss Margaret 
Turnbull, of Tariffville, Conn., and the union was 
blessed with two children : William S., born June 
27, 1864, who is mentioned elsewhere; and Theo- 
dore G., now a student in Trinity College. 

HON. CHAUNCEY EVELYN ENO, one of 
Simsbury's most respected retired agriculturists, is 
a native of Hartford county, born in Simsbury Dec. 
2j, 18 1 5, and descends from one of the first settlers 
in the State. 

James Eno, the progenitor of the Connecticut 
family, came from England, and located in Windsor, 
Harttord county, in 1648. There he married, for 
his first wife, Hannah Bidwell, a daughter of Rich- 
ard Bidwell, born Oct. 22, 1634, died Oct. 7, 1657. 
Eor his second wife he married, in August, 1658, 
Elizabeth, widow of Thomas Holcomb, of Wind- 
sor; she died Oct. 7, 1679. To the first marriage 
were born three children : Sarah, born in June, 1649, 
was (first) married April 11, 1667, to Benajah 
Holcomb, son of Thomas Holcomb, born June 23, 
1644, and for her second husband married Samuel 
Phelps; her death took place in April, 1732. James 
(2) was born Oct. 30, 1651. John, born Dec. 2, 
1654, married the widow of James Eggleston. 

James Eno (2) served in the war against the 
Indian King Philip. He married, Dec. 26, 1678, 
Abigail, daughter of Samuel and Abigail (Hol- 
comb) Bissell, who was born July 6, 1661, and died 
April 19, 1728, the mother of nine children: James 
was born Sept. 23, 1679; Ann, born April 10, 1682, 
died June 10, 1760, was married April 6, 1699, to 
Joseph, son of John and Sarah (Spencer) Case, of 
Hartford (Joseph and Ann Case settled in Sims- 
bury, and she became the mother of Rev. Benajah 
Case, who graduated from Yale in 1732) ; William 
was born Jan. 15, 1684; Abigail, born March 1, 
1687, w-as married to Samuel Phelps in 1707; Mary, 
born May 5, 1691, died Sept. 15, 1697; John was 
born Jan. 5, 1693; Samuel, July 7, 1696; Susannah, 
May 16, 1699; and David, Aug. 12, 1702. 

David Eno, son of James (2), was born in 
Simsbury, and on March 20, 1723, married Mary 
Gillett, who was born Feb. 29, 1702, and died Nov. 
23, 1760; she was a daughter of Nathaniel (3) in 
descent from Nathaniel Gillett, who came from Eng- 
land in 1634. David Eno died in the Cape Breton 
campaign, in June, 1745, and his remains were in- 
terred at Simsbury. To David and Mary (Gillett) 



102 



COMMEMORATIVE 'BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Eno, were born six children : David, born Ang\ 14, 
1727, who became a lieutenant in the Colonial 
troops; Mary B. ; Roger (Gen.), born in 1729, who 
died Oct. 6, 1808; Mercy, born in 1734, who died 
March 3, 1806 (she was married in 1754 to John, 
son of John and Sarah (Lee) Lang-don) ; Ann, born 
Sept. 14, 1735; and Jonathan (Capt.), born in De- 
cember, 1739, who died Dec. 5, 1813. 

Capt. Jonathan Eno, a native of Simsbury, was 
a farmer. He served as a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary war. He married Mary Goodrich Hart, 
daughter of Elijah and Abigail (Goodrich) Hart, 
natives of Xew Britain, and a descendant of Stephen 
Hart, of Cambridge, Mass. Mrs. Eno was born 
Dec. 28, 1744, and died Oct. 8, 1834, the mother 
of nine children: Mar}', born Dec. 21, 1764, was 
married to Elijah Tuller, of Simsbury, April 30, 
1782; Rhoda, born Aug. 12, 1766, married Daniel 
Phelps; Jonathan was born March 15, 1769; Lu- 
cretia. burn Feb. 13, 1771, was married to Granville 
G. Humphrey ; Elizabeth, born Aug. 9, 1773, was 
married Dec. 12, 1793, to Alexander Phelps, and 
died m 1868, aged ninety-five years and eight 
weeks; Cynthia, born May 28, 1778, was married 
to Hezekiah Case; Salmon was born Dec. 13, 1779; 
Chauncey was born Dec. 19, 1782; and Abigail, 
born Feb. 28, 1785, was married Oct. 2. 1805, to 
John Viets, son of Dr. Alexander Yiets, the latter 
a son of a ( rerman physician who came from Xew 
York to Simsbury in 1730, and was ancestor of the 
Right Few Alexander Viets, Bishop of Massa- 
chusetts. 

Chauncey Eno, father of our subject, was born 
Dec. 19, 1782, and was all his life a farmer in 
Simsbury. He was a Deacon of the church, and 
quite a prominent citizen. On Nov. 4, 1807, he 
married Amarilla, daughter of Fithen and Amarilla 
(Humphrey) Case, and she bore him the following- 
named children : Elizur Hart, born Nov. 7, 1809, 
married May 24, 1848, Sarah Elizabeth Tuller, and 
died Jan. 16, 1883. Cordelia, born June 3, 1812, 
was married Dec. 3, 1839, to Watson Wilcox, who 
died Feb. 15, 1879, leaving her with two children — 
Addie. born Jan. 9, 1841 ; and Lewis W.. born July 
15, 1842. who died Oct. 15, 1853. Chauncey Evelyn. 
the third child, born Dec. 27, 1815, is the subject 
of this sketch. The fourth child, Jennette Amarilla, 
born May 8, 1818, was married April 15, 1839, to 
Rufus Tuller, and died Feb. 13, 1889. the mother 
of three children — Nellie V., born July 26, 1840, 
and married Dec. 25, 1866, to Joseph A. Beecher; 
Fanny A., born Jan. 21, 1844, who died May 10. 
1871 ; and Chauncey Evelyn, born Jan. 20, 1846, 
married to Jennie Curtiss. The fifth child of Chaun- 
cey Eno, Josiah William, born Feb. 23, 1820. mar- 
ried Louisa Glassed, of Yirginia, and died in Plym- 
outh, 1 Vnn., in 1895, the father of two children — 
William Classed and Jennette, the latter the wife 
of Palmer Campbell, of Hoboken, N. J. Chauncey 
Eno, the father of the above family, was a repre- 
sentative in the General Assembly in 1828, and a 



justice of the peace in Simsbury in 1834. He was- 
noted for his upright character and temperate hab- 
its, was a true Christian, a good husband and kind, 
father, a bright example to his fellow men, and was 
blessed with the love of all. His death took place 
Jan. 13, 1845. 

Chauncey Evelyn Eno was educated primarily 
in a district school, and later became a student at 
Amherst (Mass.) College. He was reared to farm- 
ing, and followed that vocation in Simsbury until 
1878, when he removed to Weatogue and settled 
on the farm of his father-in-law, .Richard Bacon,, 
where he continued his calling until within the past 
few years, when he retired to pass the remainder 
of his years in peace and quiet. 

Mr. Eno has been twice married, his first wife 
having been Harriet Goodwin, who was born Feb. 
19, 1821, and whom he married Sept. 30, 1840. She 
wa a daughter of James Goodwin, a native ot 
Bloomfield, and she died Oct. 2y, 1856, the mother 
of two children: Harriet A., born March 6, 1840, 
was married to Rufus F. Bond; and Lewis Good- 
win, born March 27,, 1851, married Annie Bradley. 
The second marriage of Mr. Eno took place Oct. 
2y, 1858, to Miss Maria Bacon, a native of Sims- 
bury, and a daughter of Richard Bacon, and to 
this union have also been born two children : Rich- 
ard Bacon, April 4, i860, and Mary C, Nov. 13,. 
[864. The latter, unmarried, is a lady of refine- 
ment, well-read, and a fine conversationalist; she 
is a member of Abigail Phelps Chapter, Daughters 
of the Revolution, at Simsbury. Mrs. Eno is a lady 
of marked intelligence and sweet disposition, and 
though for the past thirteen years afflicted with 
blindness bears her deprivation of sight with Chris- 
tian patience and commendable fortitude. 

Richard Bacon Eno, son of the subject of this 
sketch, received a sound district-school education,, 
and is engaged in farming, stock raising and dairy- 
ing on the farm at Weatogue.- He is one of the 
most enterprising and progressive young agricult- 
urists of the town of Simsbury, besides being the 
operator of the Mount Philip Farm, having the 
largest dairy in the town : he is a director in the 
Connecticut Dairymen's Association. He is one of 
the most popular men in Simsbury, and command^ 
the respect of all who know him, as he is industry ius, 
temperate, affable in demeanor, and naturally a gen- 
tleman. Fie is a member of the Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution, uniting with the chapter at Hart- 
ford. Mr. Eno was superintendent of the G >n- 
gregational Sunday-school for eight years. 

Richard Bacon, father of Mrs. Eno, was a de- 
scendant of Connecticut ancestry. He was born in 
W'ethersfield Oct. 11, 1785, a son of Richard Bacon, 
and a brother of George Bacon, who became very 
prominent in the cite of New York, as Richard 
was at Hartford, where he was first engaged in the 
West India trade, and later, with his brother 
George and others, in the copper mines at Copper 
Hill, town of East Granbv, Hartford county, which 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



108 



business took him to Europe — principally to Swan- 
sea, England. While in that country, in 1845, ne 
interested several capitalists in the manufacture 
of safety- fuses for blasting - rock. A factory was 
first established for this purpose at Weatogue, and 
conducted under the firm name of Bacon, Bickford 
& Co., being the first concern of the kind in Amer- 
ica. Mr. Bacon also owned a large farm, where 
he passed his declining years. 

Mr. Bacon married, Jan. 12, 1813. Laura Gris- 
wold Humphrey, who was born Sept. 18, 1787, and 
died Nov. 18, 1859. To this union came seven chil- 
dren : Richard, born March 20, 1814. died unmar- 
ried Dec. 30, 1837; Harriet Humphrey, born Sept. 
18, 1815, also died unmarried; Laura Elizabeth, 
born Oct. 1, 1819, died in 1869; Moses Tryon, born 
Jan. 27, 1822. died unmarried Aug. 17, 1843; 
Charles, born Feb. 14, 1824, married Anna Putnam, 
great-granddaughter of Gen. Israel Putnam; Maria, 
born Dec. 14, 1825, became the wife of Chaunce) 
E. Eno, our subject; and Philip was born April 8, 
1827. 

Hon. Chauncev E. Eno was first a Whig, and 
became a Republican on the disintegration of the 
old party. He has represented his district in the 
General Assembly one term, although he did not 
seek the office, and he has always done good and 
active work for his party. He is a man of the 
strictest honor, and a devout member of the Con- 
gregational Church, and no man in Simsbury town 
is more highly esteemed. 

ARCHIBALD ASHLEY WELCH, actuary of 
the Phoenix Life Insurance Co., Hartford, comes of 
a family which has long been prominently identified 
with the leading residents of Mansfield, Tolland 
Co., Conn., especially in professional circles. Rev. 
Daniel Welch (a graduate of Yale) and Rev. Moses 
Cook Welch, the latter a native of Mansfield, 
great-great-grandfather and great-grandfather, re- 
spectively, of our subject, were both ministers of 
the Gospel, located at Mansfield. 

Dr. Archibald Welch, grandfather of our sub- 
ject, was born in Mansfield, but moved to Wethers- 
field, Hartford count}-. He completed his educa- 
tion at Yale, receiving his degree from that Univer- 
sity, and was a well-known physician and prominent 
resident of Wethersfield. lie was one 1 »f those killed 
on the train — bearing many of the prominent phy- 
sicians of this section — which went through the 
draw at Norwalk in 1S53. Dr. Welch married Miss 
Cynthia Hyde, of Tolland county, and they had five 
children, one of whom, Moses, graduated at Yale, 
and took his grandfather's pulpit at Mansfield for a 
time, later removing to Hartford. 

Henry K. W. Welch, father of our subject, was 
born in Mansfield, moved to Wethersfield, and. like, 
his ancestors, was liberally educated, graduating 
from Yale and late'" studying law. Later he was a 
partner of Judge Nathaniel Shipman, now of the 
United States court, and he attained high standing 



and honor in his profession. Actively interesed in 
the public affairs of his day, and especially in local 
progress, he was chosen to various positions of 
trust, represented his town in the State Legislature, 
and was member and chairman of the high school 
committee of the town. He was a director in the old 
Continental Insurance Co. Mr. Welch married Su- 
san L. Goodwin, who was born in Hartford, where 
the "Allyn House" now stands, daughter of Edward 
and Eliza (Sheldon) Goodwin, who had three chil- 
dren. She belongs to a well-known family of the 
city, her father having been one of the early proprie- 
tors of the Hartford Courant. Five children were 
born to this union: Archibald A., whose name intro- 
duces this sketch; Edward G., who died in 1894, in 
Chicago ; Frances G., widow of Bernard T. Will- 
iams ; Henry K. W.. secretary of the J. B. Williams 
Co., of Glastonbury : and Lewis S., of New Haven, 
who is a graduate of Yale, and editor of the "Yale 
Alumni Weekly." The father of this family died at 
the age of fifty. The mother survives, making her 
home in Hartford. She is a member of the Con- 
gregational Church, tn which her husband also be- 
longed. 

Archibald A. Welch was born Oct. 6, 1859, in 
Hartford, where he has always had his home. Dur- 
ing his boyhood he attended the North school, and 
later the Hartford Public High School, from which 
he was graduated in 1878. Matriculating at Yale, 
he continued his studies in that institution to the end 
of the Junior year, leaving to enter the service of 
the Travelers Insurance Co., in the actuary's office. 
He remained with that concern until 1890, when he 
took the position of actuary with the Phoenix Mutual 
Life Insurance Co., with which he has since con- 
tinued. In 1891 he completed his college course, 
receiving the decree of A. B. from Yale. He is a 
member of the Actuarial Society of America ; chair- 
man of the high school committee ; secretary of the 
American School for the Deaf, Hartford ; and a 
member of the Farmington Avenue Congregational 
Church. 

In 1884 Mr. Welch married Miss Ellen Bunce, 
who was horn in Hartford, daughter of James M. 
and Elizabeth (Chester) Bunce, the hitter a native 
(if Wethersfield. Mr. Bunce was a wholesale grocer 
of Hartford, vice-president of the Hartford, Provi- 
dence & Fishkill railroad, and a prominent resident 
of Hartford. 

JAMES H. OSBORNE, M. D. (deceased), 
was not only prominent as the acknowledged lead- 
ing medical practitioner of Southington, but dur- 
ing his long residence in the town identified himself 
with every interest for local improvement and 
benefit. 

The Doctor was born in Bridgeport, Conn., 
July 12, 1845, received his early education at Fair- 
field (N. Y.) Academy, and his medical training 
at the Xew York Homeopathic Medical College, 
graduating from the latter as valedictorian of the 



104 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



class of 1867. During his long and varied expe- 
rience as an active practitioner he built up an en- 
viable practice, and gained a high standing as a 
profound thinker and man of broad intelligence, 
which he used for the general good. His profession 
naturally absorbed the greater part of his attention, 
but he was deeply interested in scientific questions of 
every nature, as well as current events, and his 
opinions always commanded respect. He was well 
known in his neighborhood as an interesting and 
enthusiastic speaker on am- subject which he cham- 
pioned, and was popular among' his fellow citizens 
of all classes. Local public affairs always had their 
share of his attention, especially those pertaining to 
the mental and physical well-being of his towns- 
people, and the cause of education and improvements 
of the town schools always received his hearty sup- 
port. The Doctor was secretary of the board of 
school visitors for twenty-one years, for thirteen 
years chief of the fire department, and for twenty- 
four years health officer. He was a director in the 
Southington Savings Bank. 

Fraternally Dr. Osborne was well known, affil- 
iating with Friendship Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M., 
of which he was past master ; Triune Chapter, R. A. 
M., of which he was past high priest; and Temple 
Council, No. 32, of which he was T. I. M. His 
death, on Jan. 7, 1901, was the result of an apoplec- 
tic shock occurring three days before. He left a 
wife, .\nnie (Finch) Osborne. 

CHARLES H. NORTHAM, a member of the 
well-known firm of Smith. Xortham & Co., grain 
dealers at Nos. 127-129 State street, Hartford, was 
burn March 9, 1842, in Washington, R. I., son of 
Han ford McKee Northam. The family is of En- 
glish origin, and its members have been noted for 
the qualities which go to the making of good citi- 
zenship, and have usually been active workers in 
the Congregational Church. 

Jonathan Northam (our subject's great-grand- 
father), born Aug. 29, 1725, married Anna Mack 
Williams in April, 1754. and resided in Colchester, 
Conn., until 1796, being one of the pioneers of the 
place, and a leading member of the Congregational 
Church. Charles Northam ( the grandfather of our 
subject ) was born July 18, 1768, and followed agri- 
culture in Westchester, Conn., for many years in 
connection with manufacturing. He died there in 
March, 1852. His wife, Sally Harvey, who was 
bom at East Haddam, Conn., July 27, 1 771, died 
March 7, i860, at the Westchester homestead. 
They were married Nov. 18, 1795, and had five 
children: Charles H., born Dec. 21, 1797, died Nov. 
12, 1 88 1 ; Hanford McKee, our subject's father, is 
mentioned below; Sally M., born July 17, 1804, 
married George T. Loomis, a leading farmer of 
Bolton, Conn., and died Oct. 28, 1879; Robert C. 
born June 9, 1807, married Nancy Emmons, and 
died Dec. 2/, 1885 (he was a prominent agricultur- 
ist of Westchester, owning one of the largest farms 



in the locality, and was much esteemed in the com- 
munity ) ; Emeline Eliza, born April 15, 1813, died 
May 5, 1886, was married (first) March 27, 1865, 
to Daniel Whiteman, and (second) Feb. 10, 1881, 
wedded Enos Nickerson, of Rhode Island, both now 
deceased. 

Hanford McKee Northam (our subject's father) 
was born Aug. 18, 1800, near Colchester, Conn., and 
after completing a common-school course became a 
teacher. He located first in Norwich, and then in 
Suffield, where he conducted a farm. h\ 1868 he 
removed to East Hartford, where he died Nov. I, 
1886, at the age of eighty-six years. He became 
one of the successful farmers of East Hartford, and 
for some time made a specialty of raising tobacco. 
His judgment was sound, and, as his education and 
progressive spirit made him a power in the locality, 
he was prominent in politics as a Republican, and 
in religious work as a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church. On June 2, 1841, Mr. Northam mar- 
ried, in Coventry, R. J., Marcy Howland Chaoe, by 
whom he had two children, Charles H. and Miss 
Helen R., the latter a highly educated lady, resid- 
ing on the old homestead in East Hartford; she is 
a leader in church and social affairs in that locality. 
Our subject's mother, who was a woman of quiet 
disposition and a noble character, was born in Rhode 
Island March 1, 1813, and died Feb. 6, 1894. Her 
father, Russell W. Chace, who lived to the age of 
eighty years, was a wealthy cotton manufacturer of 
\\ ashington, R. I., employing a large number of 
workmen. Her mother, Phila Green, was born 
March 17, 1778. daughter of Gideon Green, of Co- 
ventry, R. 1., who was of the same stock as Gen. 
Nathaniel Green, of Revolutionary fame (born July 
2-, 1742). Gideon Green married Marcy Howland, 
daughter of Daniel Howland, of Rhode Island. 
Russell W. and Phila Green Chace were at one time 
Presbyterians, but in later life they united with the 
Congregational Church. They had three children: 
Daniel, William and Marcy Howland. Daniel was 
in business with his father, and took charge of the 
estate at the latter's death. William went to Cali- 
fornia in 1849, and remained in the gold fields ten 
years, making a success of his venture. Later he 
engaged in business with his brother, continuing 
until his retirement from active cares. 

Our subject was educated in the common schools 
of his native place and in the Connecticut Literary 
Institute at Suffield, Conn. When seventeen he left 
home to make his own way in the world, and in 1859 
he settled in Hartford, where he was first employed 
by Ins uncle, C. H. Northam, in the cotton and wool 
business. After six months he became a clerk for 
Jerome & Redfield, wholesale grocers, with whom 
he spent three years. In 1864 he went into business 
for himself, as a member of the firm of Bradford 
Northam & Co., wholesale flour, grain and feed 
dealers, and in 1866 the name was changed to Smith, 
Northam & Robinson. In 1882 Mr. Robinson with- 
drew, the others continuing as Smith, Northam & 




A0 Oy^ ^i/^\^O^0K^^^ 




O. Jy^ d^—ct^—^-y 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



105 



Co. until the death of Mr. Smith, in January, 1897. 
The business was then reorganized under the same 
name, and at present our subject's partner is Emelyn 
A'. Mitchell. The business is the oldest and best 
known in the State, and has been most successful. 
The firm has built four large warehouses and two 
elevators, and the largest grain mill in New Eng- 
land. They occupy over two acres of ground, and 
the capacity of the mill is 6,000 bushels of corn 
daily ; the four warehouses will hold 200 carloads 
of hour and feed, and the two elevators 200,000 
bushels of bulk grain. Their trade, which is larger 
than any other house outside of Boston and New 
York, extends all over New England, and they con- 
stantly keep grain of all kinds in transit, in addition 
to the stock kept on hand at the mill and warehouses. 
\\r. Northam is also connected with other corporate 
interests where his ability and shrewd insight are 
valued, being a director in the American National 
Bank, the Phoenix Eire Insurance Co., the Broad 
Brook Co., the New Haven Steamboat Co., the Loan 
& Guarantee Co., and the Society for Savings. He 
is a Republican in politics, and has served in the 
common council two terms. In 1890 he declined 
election as alderman, but was appointed street com- 
missioner, and by reappointments served ten years, 
being president of the board for eight years. He is 
not a member of any secret society, finding his 
greatest pleasure in spending his evenings in the 
home circle, but he and his family are popular so- 
cially, and all are active members of the South Con- 
gregational Church. 

In 1876 Mr. Northam built his present beautiful 
residence at No. 12 Charter Oak Place, one of the 
finest homes in the city. On Sept. 22, 1870, he was 
married to Miss Hattie L. Tiffany, who was born in 
Hartford, near her present home. They have had 
five children : Arline, Edwin Tiffany, Russell Chace, 
Katherine Tiffany, and Carl Harvey. All were edu- 
cated in the South school and the Hartford Public 
High School. Miss Arline is a graduate of La Salle 
Seminary, Auburndale, Mass. Edwin T. and Rus- 
sell C. graduated from the Peekskill Military Acad- 
emy, at Peekskill, N. Y. Carl Harvey belongs to 
the class of 1904, Wesleyan University, Middle- 
town, Conn. Russell C. Northam is in business 
with his father. Ele was married Dec. 14, 1899, to 
Miss Jane E. Hyde, daughter of Salisbury and 
Elizabeth Hyde, of Hartford. 

HON. EDWIN D. TIFFANY (deceased), 
one of the founders and for many years a member 
of what subsequently became the business house of 
the Case, Lockwood & Brainard Co., Hartford, and 
widely known as one of the city's substantial men 
and prominent citizens, was up to the time of his 
death, April 12, 1890, when he was aged eighty 
years, a connecting link in the city's history be- 
tween 1830 and 1890. 

Mr. Tiffany was horn Dec. 5, 1810, in the town 
of Sturbridge, Worcester Co., Mass., son of Jona- 



than and Experience (Chamberlain) Tiffany, the 
father born July 20, 1782, in Attleboro, Mass.; the 
mother on June 18, 1789, in Pomfret, Conn. They 
were married Dec. 20, 1807, in Woodstock, Conn., 
lived for a period in Sturbridge, and later located 
in Hartford, Conn., where they were esteemed and 
respected citizens. Mr. Tiffany died Dec. 12, 1865, 
his wife on July 31, 1861. Of their other six chil- 
dren three only are living: Palmer C, one of the 
successful men that went to California in 1849, is 
now a retired business man of Mt. Pleasant, Iowa; 
Lucian is a retired merchant living in Hartford ; 
Susan E. is the widow of John R. Youngs, late of 
Hartford. 

Edwin D. Tiffany began learning the printer's 
trade in his native town in 1827, and in 1830 located 
in Hartford, where his long, honorable, useful and 
successful life was passed. In the January number 
of the "Connecticut Quarterly," 1896, there ap- 
peared an article, under the head of "A Typographi- 
cal Galaxy," in which such men as Philemon Can- 
field, John Russell, William Boardman, James 
Lockwood, Condon A. Alford, Alfred E. Burr, 
Elihu Geer, John W. Stedman, Edwin D. Tiffany, 
William Eaxon and Charles Tuller were referred 
to, and from it we take the following concerning 
the life of our subject: 

The publication of the New England Weekly Review was 
begun at Hartford in 1828 by Hanmer & Phelps. George D. 
Prentice was its first editor. In 1830 Edwin D. Tiffany, a 
young man of twenty, from Sturbridge, Mass., obtained 
employment in the composing-room. He began work as 
a " half journeyman," in the printer's parlance of the time. 
In the same year Mr. Prentice left the Review, going to Ken- 
tucky to write the life of Henry Clay, and, subsequently, 
became editor of the Louisville Journal, which supported 
Clay for the Presidency. Mr. Prentice had been among the 
first to recognize the ability of John G. Whittier (then about 
twenty-three), and to prophesy his renown. It was through 
Prentice'sinfluence that his successor on the Review was none 
other than the young Quaker poet, Whittier — who, while in 
Hartford, was extremely homesick — was of a retiring disposi- 
tion, and spent nearly all his evenings in the " sanctum." He 
frequently invited young Tiffany to come in and chat with 
him, and the poet-editor and printer became warm friends. 
In after years those conversations in Whittier's sanctum 
were often referred toby Mr. Tiffany as among the happiest 
incidents of his life. 

An experience of two years in the office of one of the 
most popular newspapers in New England naturally stimu- 
lated a taste for journalism, and in 1832 Mr. Tiffany re- 
turned to Massachusetts and conducted a weekly paper 
in Southbridge for twelve months, a period quite long enough 
to satisfy him that the field was an unsuitable one for his 
more matured ideas and growing ambition. Returning to 
Hartford, he worked for a time as journeyman on the Anti 
Masonic Intelligence., and later for Philemon Canfield. 

A few years before his death Mr. Tiffany, in a private 
conversation, told some of his experiences as a pressman, 
and gave the history of his first business venture in Hartford. 
Any reader who knew him intimately can imagine with 
what dry drollery and quaint humor he related the story. 

" J. Hubbard Wells was a Hartford printer. His father, 
John I. Wells, the Quaker, was the inventor of the Wells 
press. When the father died, Hubbard continued the busi- 
ness, and added book printing to it by desire of many local 
book publishers. 

" Speaking of presses — the first I worked on was a 
Ramage, the kind Ben Franklin used to struggle with. I 
had some experience with a Wells press next in the office 



106 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



where I began my trade. Philemon Canfield used the 
Brattleboro' presses; they made more noise than forty 
steamboats. 

" David F. Robinson, the father of the Hon. Henry C. 
Robinson, was a publisher who gave Hubbard Wells a great 
deal of work. F. J. Huntington was another good customer. 
I was a pressman at the Wells establishment. Every inch 
of room in the building was utilized. Some of the presses 
were close up under the roof. It was so hot there in sum- 
mer that the rollers melted. That was where I worked at 
first. Afterward Air. Wells took a room down by the bridge 
and I worked there. Then the whole establishment was 
brought together in Catlin's building on the corner of 
Main and Asylum streets. It was there that I was made 
foreman of the pressroom. Very soon that office became 
too small, and we moved into the Mitchell building, where 
the Courant building now stands. 

"Not long atterward Mr. Wells had an opportunity to 
purchase a large printing establishment in Cincinnati, and 
he urged me to go in with somebody and buy him out. Well, 
to make a long story short, Newton Case and I went into 
partnership — that was in 1836 — the firm name being Case, 
Tiffany & Co., and bought the Wells establishment, paying 
all the cash we could raise, Mr. Wells trusting us tor the 
balance of tht amount due. Alanson I). Waters was soon 
taken into the firm, retiring two years later, when Leander 

C. Burnham was admitted and his name tacked on after 
Tiffany's. Burnham died in 1848, when the original firm 
name was resumed. In 1889 we were able to purchase the 
largest establishment in the State, Philemon Canfield's. 
We consolidated the two establishments in the old jail build- 
ing on the corner of Pearl and Trumbull streets, and thus, 
without knowing it, founded the present Case, Lockwood & 
Brainard Co. I expect there will always be a printing office 
on that corner." 

The first Hartford Directory (1833) was printed by Case, 
Tiffany & Co., for Mel/ar Gardner. Curiously enough Mr. 
Tiffany's name only appears in the imprint upon the title- 
page. Mr. Tiffany retired from the firm in 1857. Afterward 
he was for three years president of the Merchants and 
Manufacturers Bank of Hartford. Upon the organization of 
the First National Bank, in 1^64, he was made its president, 
and continued to fill that office until 1876. From that date 
Mr. Tiffany was occupied wholly with private business mat- 
ters until his death. He died suddenly April 12, 1890, aged 
eighty years. Throughout his fourscore years of life Edwin 

D. Tiffany was an industrious worker, unostentatious in his 
ways, possessed of a rare fund of humor, and a true New 
Englander. 

In 1877 Mr. Tiffany began the business of sell- 
ing- farm mortgages, and later, with Charles H. 
Smith, formed the firm of C. H. Smith & Co., and 
in their offices, in the .Etna building, Mr. Tiffany 
was seen every day up to the time of his death. He 
was at different times connected with other corpora- 
tions, including that of the Connecticut Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., in which he was a director. He ac- 
quired a handsome property. Mr. Tiffany was 
twice a representative in the General Assembly of 
the State from Hartford, in 1855 and 1859. His 
religious connections were with the South Congre- 
gational Church at Hartford, with which he united 
in 1838, and of which he remained an honored mem- 
ber for fifty-two years. In former years he filled 
positions of trust and responsibility in the church, 
and ever contributed to the peace and welfare of 
both it and society. lie was a member of the Con- 
necticut Historical Society from its organization. 

' hi Sept. Kj. [838, Mr. Tiffany was married to 
Julia A. Camp, born Feb. 28. 1809, daughter of 
Capt. Samuel and Tabitha (Seymour) Camp, and 
one of a large family of children, all of whom are 



now deceased. Capt. Samuel Camp was born in 
1770, and died Dec. 3, 1833, and Tabitha, his wife, 
was born May 1. 1780, and died Nov. 2, 1871, at the 
advanced age of ninety-one years. 

To Mr. and Mrs. Edwin D. Tiffany were born 
six children, only two of whom survive: George- 
Morton, of St. Louis; and Hattie L., now the wife 
of Charles H. Northam, a prominent business man 
of Hartford. The mother passed away March 9, 
1886, and, as stated above, the father on April 12, 
1890. The deceased children were: Julia Esther, 
who died Aug. 5, 1845; Edwin Palmer, who died 
Dec. 21, 1891 ; Robert Franklin, who died Aug. 3, 
1849; and Emma Francis, who was the wife of 
Charles Stanton ( iillette. who succeeded Mr. Tiffany 
as president of the First National Bank, and held 
the position until his death, Jan. 10, 1887, he and his 
wife dying within three days of each other (they 
left five children: Hattie; Charles Howard, who- 
married Marion, daughter of Col. George Pope; 
Norman; Henry Camp; and Emma Tiffany (iil- 
lette ). 

EDWIN TAYL< )R, a venerable and highly re- 
spected citizen of Hartford, passed away at his 
home in that city May 11, 1888, in his eighty-first 
year. 

Mr. Taylor was born Oct. 6, 1807, in Glaston- 
bury. Conn., and was of a well-known family. His 
father, Samuel Taylor, was born in England in 1777. 
and came to America in early manhood with his 
brother Joseph to meet his uncle Benjamin, who was 
a merchant in Xew York. Samuel Taylor landed 
at Portland, Conn., where he followed the tailor's 
trade for a time, but in 1800 he settled in South 
Glastonbury and engaged in business as a contract- 
ing sail-maker, vessel building being then carried 
on extensively along the Connecticut river. He took 
an active interest in church matters, and "read 
service" for many velars in the Episcopal Church in 
South Glastonbury, where a memorial portrait of 
him is now on the walls. He married Sarah Pem- 
berton, of Portland, and they had children as fol- 
lows: ( 1 ) Benjamin is mentioned more fully below. 
(2) Sophia, born March 7. 1801, died unmarried. 
(31 ( ieorge, born April 26, 1803. married Eunice 
Harris. He was a sailor, and lived and died in 
South Glastonbury. (4) Eliza was born Aug. 6, 
1805. 1 5 ) Edwin, our subject's father, is men- 
tioned more fully farther on. (6) Hannah, born 
Feb. 17, 1810, married Edwin Miller, a farmer in 
Glastonbury. (7) Sallie Ann. born May 15, 1812, 
married Gideon Kinne. a mason and farmer in Glas- 
tonbury. (8) Francis, born Nov. 2, 1814, married 
Lucretia Miner, of Quiambog, Stonington, Conn. 
He was a cooper by trade, but is now engaged in 
fanning in South Glastonbury. (9) Joseph, born 
Jan. 11, 1818, married (first) a Miss Dashiell and 
(second) Mary Metz. He is an Episcopal clergy- 
man, living in South Plainfield, X. J. (10) Mary, 
born Aug. 20, 1820, died unmarried. (11) Martha, 









COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



107 



born July II, 1823, married Henry S. Parsons, of 
New Haven, who now resides in Northampton, 
Mass. She is deceased. 

Edwin Taylor spent his early years in Glaston- 
bury, and in about 1830 went to Hartford to en- 
gage in mercantile business with his brother, Ben- 
jamin Taylor, who was living in Glastonbury at 
the time of Edwin Taylor's death, at the advanced 
age of eighty-nine years. They opened a store at 
the foot of State street, in a building erected by 
Edwin Taylor in 1833, which has been used of 
late years as a railroad station by the Valley Railroad 
Co. At that time there was no railroad, and mer- 
chandise was brought to Hartford by water, the 
steamboats stopping at the foot of State street. 
In 1835 Edwin Taylor went into the lumber and 
planing business, succeeding Bristol & Wheaton, 
at Dutch Point ; not long afterward the firm became 
Preston & Taylor, the members being Esek J. and 
Zephaniah Preston and Edwin Taylor. At a later 
period the connection was dissolved, and Mr. Tay- 
lor, with his brother Benjamin, under the firm 
name of B. & E. Taylor, kept that well-known 
yard and mill until April 16, 184U, when fire de- 
stroyed the mill and part of the stock on hand. 
In the same spring the new mill was built, and Ed- 
win Taylor started again with Edwin Spencer, then 
cashier of the Connecticut River Hank. The business 
prospered, but Mr. Spencer died in the fall of that 
year, and James Bartholomew bought his interest, 
and continued for five years, the firm name being 
E. Taylor & Co. In 1854 Samuel Taylor bought the 
Bartholomew interest, and the firm name became 
E. Taylor & Son, as it has since remained, although 
Edwin P. Taylor succeeded to his father's interest 
in May, [888. In 186.1 they moved to the present 
site. Edwin Taylor was in business for fifty-eight 
years, and for fifty-two years of that long period he 
was in the lumber trade. 

In 1832 Mr. Taylor married Miss Nancy J. 
Kinne, of ( Ilastonbury, a daughter of Aaron and 
Amelia (Hale) Kinne, and sister of Gideon and 
Aaron Kinne. Her father was a graduate of Yale 
College, and a teacher by occupation. She died 
in October, 1887, after fifty-five years of married 
life. .Vine children were born to them, three of 
whom survived the father: Samuel, born April 26, 
1833: Edwin P., born Aug. 20, 1849; anf ' Julia, wife 
of Dr. Poland G. Curtin, of Philadelphia. Edwin 
1 avlor was a Republican in politics, and earlier a 
Vi hig. He took no active part in public affairs, al- 
though he was a member of the council for one 
term. He was a man of medium stature and mild, 
conservative temperament, and was highly esteemed 
and respected by all who knew him. At one time 
he was a member of Christ Church, Hartford, and 
helped to found St. John's Church, of which he was 
warden for many years. 

Samuel Taylor was educated in the Hopkins 
grammar school of Hartford, and entered upon 
business life as a clerk for Watkinson & Bartholo- 



mew. Later he held a similar position with Col- 
lins Bros., wholesale dry-goods merchants, and in 
1854 he was admitted to partnership with his fa- 
ther. For the last quarter of a century he has been 
the executive head of the firm, and their continued 
prosperity shows his ability and enterprise. He is 
regarded as one of the most careful and pains- 
taking financiers in Hartford, is president of 
the State Savings Bank, and since 1875 has 
been one of the directors of the American 
National Bank of that city. He has always 
been a Republican, and in 1855 was a member of 
the council. He is an active worker in the Church 
of the Good Shepherd (Episcopal), and is serving 
as trustee of the following: The Church Scholar- 
ship Society, Fisher Memorial Fund, and the Church 
Club. Socially he holds membership with the Hart- 
ford Club, Hartford Republican Club, Hartford His- 
torical Society, and the Hartford Sons of the Amer- 
ican Revolution. He married (first) Miss Laura 
Louise Lester, daughter of Chauncy Lester, and 
they had one daughter, Ada Louise Taylor. This 
wife died in June, 1870, and Mr. Taylor later mar- 
ried Mary Amelia Curtin. of Bellefonte, Penn., who 
died Oct. 11, 1887, leaving one daughter, Mary 
Curtin Taylor. 

Benjamin Taylor, brother of Edwin Taylor, 
mentioned above, was born in Portland. Conn., Jan. 
[8, [799, and removed with his parents to South 
Glastonbury during boyhood. He received a good 
education for that day, and when a young- man 
went to Hartford and engaged in mercantile pur- 
suits on State street, near the river. In 1830 he sold 
out on account of failing health, and removed to 
North Glastonbury, where he maintained a general 
store and conducted the post office for over thirty 
years. He erected the building now occupied by his 
step-grandson, George F. Corbitt, and for a time lis 
sons assisted him there. He then rented the store 
to Edwin H. Andrews, who was there a short time, 
but Mr. Taylor afterward took charge, and with his 
sons managed the business until his death. He 
died April 2:;, 180,0. at the age of ninety-one years, 
and was buried in South Glastonbury. He was mar- 
ried (first), Nov. 3. 1824. to Mary Ann Hale, and 
(second) on Nov. 25, 1862, to Mary Tinker Clark. 
His eight children were all by the first marriage, as 
follows: ( 1 ) Charles, born Sept. II, 1825, is men- 
tioned below. (2) Mary Ann. born Nov. <), 1827, 
died May 10, 1828. (3) Mary jane, born April [4, 
[829, married Elias W. Hale, now of Towanda, 
Penn. (4) John Hale, born Sept. 19, 1831, died 
Aug. 30, 1858, married Maria Tuttle, of Xew Haven, 
and had two children, [ohn 1 1.. his son, being one of 
the firm of Tuttle, Morehouse & Taylor, of New 
Haven. (5 1 Alfred, horn April 14, 1835, died April 
9, 1856. (6) Benjamin, born April 6, 1838, and 
died Jan. 24, 1873, served in the United States army 
during the Civil war: he married Emma Chamber- 
lain, of Hartford. (7) William, born April 4, [841, 
died March 23, 1871. 1 [e married Kate Davies, and 



108 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



settled in Glastonbury. He was educated for the 
Universalist ministry, but never officiated. (8) 
James Francis, born Dec. 4, 1846, died Oct. 12, 1869, 
married Ada Gilbert, and lived in Glastonbury until 
his death. 

Benjamin Taylor was a strong Democrat, as 
were his children. He held nearly all the local of- 
fices, and served the town in the Legislature in 
1868 or '69. He never bought a vote in his life, and 
was known as a very honest, upright man in all his 
dealings. He was of medium stature, and of a very 
pleasant disposition. He was a very conscientious 
man. and the latter years of his life he spent in read- 
ing the Bible and writing on the subjects therein. 
He retained even- faculty until his death, was well 
posted on nearly all important topics, being a great 
reader; was also a hue penman, and when over 
eighty years old wrote as well as any young man. 

Charles Taylor, son of Benjamin Taylor, was 
born in Hartford, and removed to Glastonbury 
with the family in 1830. He attended the district 
schools of the town, and after leaving school clerked 
in his father's store for a time. He then went to 
St. Cloud, Minn., with his brother John, and started 
a store, but later he engaged in the lumber business. 
In 1 87 1 he returned to Glastonbury, and after the 
death of his brother, William, he took charge of the 
store, and continued in business until his death, 
which occurred Dec. 15, 1895. He was first married 
to Jane Talcott, by whom he had no children, and 
later to Mrs. Harriet Corbitt (nee Dee), widow of 
George Corbitt, who was wounded at Antietam and 
died in 1862, two months after the battle. Mrs. 
Taylor had one son by her first marriage, George 
Frederick Corbitt. born July 4, i860, and now man- 
aging the store. He married Rebecca Kieth, and has 
one son, Charles L. Corbitt, born Feb. 8, 1885, who 
is a talented musician, and is now attending Hunt- 
singer's Business College. 

Politically Charles Taylor was a Democrat, but 
never held office, preferring to spend the moments 
free from business in his home. The family attends 
the Congregational Church, of which Mrs. Taylor is 
a member. 

HIRAM BISSELL. a leading contractor and 
builder of Hartford, with office at Xo. 83 Wads- 
worth street, was born Aug. 12, 1819. in Glaston- 
bury, Hartford county, where the family is well 
known. 

Chester Bissell, his father, was a native of East 
Windsor, this county, but spent his life chieflv in 
Glastonbury, dying there at the age of sixty-five 
years. For many years he followed farming in con- 
nection with boating and shad fishing on the Connec- 
ticut river. He married Prudence Trvon, a native of 
Glastonbury, and a daughter of William Tryon, 
who engaged for many years in the manufacture of 
shingles by hand, and attained a good old age, our 
subject remembering him well. The mother, who 
died aged ninety-three years, was one of a family 



of six children, and the same number brightened 
her own home. 

Hiram Bissell, who is now the only survivor 
of the family, removed to Hartford in 1836, and 
learned the trade of mason with Eldridge Andrews, 
a prominent builder of that time. He worked four 
years to learn the trade, receiving $25, $30, $35 and 
$40 per year, respectively, and then began con- 
tracting in a small way, being in partnership with 
H. R. Tryon for a short time. He continued alone 
for a number of vears, and then his brother Sylves- 
ter joined him, but for some years past he has been 
alone. He is the oldest contractor in the city, which 
he has seen grow from a city of 7,000, including 
West Hartford, to its present population of over 
80,000. He has built hundreds of dwellings, and 
a large number of the prominent business blocks 
and churches in the city, whole or in part. Among 
these we may mention the south part of the Times 
building, the Putnam, Charter Oak, Connecticut Mu- 
tual, post office. State capitol, the Marble block, the 
Methodist church, the Memorial Arch, and many 
other structures. In 1899 he built the Universalist 
Church building on Main street, a four-story build- 
ing with a church in the rear and offices on the 
other floors, and in i860 built the church in the rear 
of that. His reputation as an expert workman also 
extends beyond local limitations. At one time Mr. 
Bissell was interested in the real estate business, 
and put up numerous buildings for sale, and for 
many years he was a director in the Merchants and 
the National Fire Insurance Cos., and in the State 
Savings Bank, Cedar Hill cemetery, and a life di- 
rector of the Hartford Hospital. He was elected 
water commissioner in 1854, re-elected in 1855, and 
during his second term was made president, in 
which capacity he continued for seventeen years, 
retiring in 1873. He saw the entire system of wa- 
ter works put in, being the projector of the gravita- 
tion method. 

J 11 1844 Mr. Bissell married Miss Nancy Shel- 
don, a native of Hartford, and a daughter of Sam- 
uel Sheldon, a well-known farmer of that locality. 
Of their four children two are living: (1) Belle 
married J. G. Lane, of Hartford, and has two 
daughters, Emma and Bertha. (2) Ella married 
F. S. Carey, of the Hartford Courant, and has two 
children, Hiram Bissell and Harold D. Mrs. Bissell 
died in 1863, and on Sept. 14, 1865, Mr. Bissell mar- 
ried Mrs. Elizabeth Barnard, widow of Dorus C. 
Barnard, by whom she had three children, one of 
whom is living, Dorus Clark Barnard, of Hartford. 

Mr. Bissell is a Democrat, but in local elections 
votes for the best man. He has been nominated 
to office, but has refused to accept. He and his 
family are prominent socially, and he has been a 
member of the F. & A. M. for many years, and was 
formerly a member of the I. O. O. F. He and his 
wife are both members of the Universalist society, 
and for many years he has served on the society 
committee. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



109 



MORRIS. The family of this name, of which 
the late Jonathan Flynt Morris, of Hartford, was 
an honored member, and of which his nephew, John 
Emery Morris, secretary of the Travelers Insurance 
Co., of Hartford, is also a member, is one of the old 
and prominent Colonial families of New England. 
Jonathan Flynt Morris was in the seventh genera- 
tion from Edward Morris, of Waltham, Holy Cross 
Abbey, County of Essex, England, who first settled 
in this country at Roxbury, Mass., the line of his 
descent being through Deacon Edward, Lieut. Ed- 
ward, Isaac, Edward and Edward. 

(I) Lieut. Edward Morris, the American ances- 
tor, was a son of Thomas and Grissie (Hewsone) 
Morris, of Waltham, Holy Cross Abbey, County of 
Essex, England, and was born in August, 1630. 
The earliest record of him in America is at Rox- 
bury, Mass., in 1652. He married Grace Bett, Nov. 
20, 1655. He was a man of prominence and influ- 
ence, and served in many public capacities, among 
them as constable, selectman, and lor nine years, 
from 1678 to 1686, as deputy to the General Court. 
He became in 1686 a settler of Woodstock, then in 
Massachusetts, but now in Connecticut, and died 
Sept. 14, 1690. His wife died June 6, 1705, at Rox- 
bury. Their children, all born in Roxbury, were: 
Isaac, Edward, Grace, Ebenezer, Elizabeth, Mar- 
garet, Samuel and Martha. 

(II) Deacon Edward Morris, son of Lieut. Ed- 
ward, born in March, 16^8-59, married May 24, 
1683, Elizabeth, daughter of Henry and Elizabeth 
(Johnson) Bowen, of Roxbury. He moved to 
Woodstock after his father's death, and seems to 
have taken his place in public affairs ; he was select- 
man the greater part of the time from 1691 to 1722, 
was assessor, town auditor, surveyor, etc. He 
was a deacon in the church for many years. He 
died Aug. 29, 1727, and his wife died Nov. 20, 
1743. Their children were : Elizabeth, Elizabeth (2), 
Edward, Grace, Abigail, Susanna and Prudence. 

(III) Lieut. Edward Morris, son of Deacon Ed- 
ward, born Nov. 9, 1688, in Roxbury, married Jan. 
12, 1715, Bithiah Peake, daughter of Jonathan (Jr.) 
and Hannah (Leavens) Peake, of Roxbury. He 
served as surveyor, constable and selectman of 
Woodstock for years. He died- Aug. 12, 1769. His 
children were : Elizabeth, Hannah, Edward, Grace, 
Bithia, Isaac, Asa, Eunice, Martha, Mary, Jona- 
than, Priscilla, Dorothy and Hannah. 

(IV) Isaac Morris, son of Lieut. Edward, born 
March 26, 1725, on Woodstock Hill, married (pub- 
lished) Oct. 18, 1748, Sarah Chaffee, of Woodstock 
daughter of Joseph and Hannah (May) Chaffee, 
formerly of Barrington, Mass. Isaac Morris was 
a farmer. In 1761 he moved to Springfield, Mass., 
and settled in that part of the town then known as 
Wales, later the South Parish of Wilbraham, and 
now the town of Hampden. He died Jan. 10, 1778, 
and his widow afterward married Hon. John Bliss, 
whom she survived, and died April 27, 1818, aged 
eighty-nine years. Their children were : Hannah, 



Darius, Isaac, Joseph, Edward, Elizabeth, Sarah, 
Eunice, Chester, Ebenezer, Elizabeth (2j, and 
Ephraim. 

(V) Edward Morris, son of Isaac, born Dec. 12, 
1756, in Woodstock, married March 28, 1782, Lucy, 
daughter of Hon. John Bliss, of Wilbraham, a de- 
scendant of Thomas Bliss, of Hartford, Conn., 1639. 
Edward Morris served in the war of the Revolution, 
principally in the army of Canada, and with him his 
brother Joseph, who lost his life in the war. Ed- 
ward was a farmer. He died April 29, 1801, his 
wife on April 15, 1836. Their children were: Oli- 
ver B., Edward, Isaac, John B., Lucy, Abby, Thirza, 
Richard D., Lydia, and Edward A. 

(VI) Edward Morris, son of Edward, born July 
21, 1784, at the Bliss-Morris homestead in South 
Wilbraham, Mass., married (first) May 15, 1806, 
Sally, daughter of Jonathan and Mercy (Leonard) 
Flynt, of Wilbraham. She was born in Greenwich, 
Mass., Sept. 10, 1784, and died in South Wilbraham 
June 24, 1807. Edward Morris married (second) 
June 27, 1808, Mercy Flynt (sister of Sally). She 
was born Aug. 1, 1788, in Monson, Mass., and died 
there Aug. 17, 1831. Mr. Morris was a merchant 
in South Wilbraham, and later in Belchertown. He 
afterward retired to a farm known as "the Kent- 
field place," and still later removed to another farm 
near Belchertown, and on Aug. 16, 1824, while bath- 
ing in Swift river, was seized with cramps and 
drowned. During the war of 1812 he was a quar- 
termaster in the 1st Brigade, 4th Division, Massa- 
chusetts Militia. Himself and wife were members 
of the Congregational Church. In politics Mr. Mor- 
ris was a Federalist. He was a member of the Ma- 
sonic fraternity. While residing in Wilbraham he 
served as constable, surveyor, collector, etc. 
His children, all by Mercy except the first 
named, w r ere : Edward Flynt, born March 24, 
1807, died Feb. 14, 1830; Sally Flynt, born June 
19, 1810, married Daniel D. Chaffee; Charles was 
born June 6, 1812; George Flynt, May 6, 1814; 
Maria Melissa, Nov. 2, 1816; Henry, Feb. 25, 1819; 
and Jonathan Flynt, March 20, 1822. 

Jonathan Flynt, the father of the wives of Edward 
Morris, was born Nov. 13, 1747, in Windham, Conn., 
and died in Monson, Mass., Nov. 6, 1814. He was 
a descendant of Thomas Flynt, of Salem, Mass., 
1640. On June 18, 1782, he married Mercy, daugh- 
ter of Ensign Ezra Leonard, of Flardwick, Mass., a 
descendant of Solomon Leonard, of Duxbury, Mass., 
1( ^37- Jonathan Flynt was a clothier, and had mills 
in Hardwick, Greenwich, Monson and Wilbraham, 
His wife was born in Hardwick Sept. 18, 175 r, and 
died in Monson, Jan. 4, 1823. 

(VII) Jonathan Flynt Morris, whose death oc- 
curred at his residence on Farmington avenue, 
I tartford, Jan. 30, 1899, was the former president of 
the Charter Oak National Bank, and for manv 
years a prominent citizen of Hartford. Mr. Morris 
was born at "the Kentfield Place" in Belchertown, 
Mass., March 20, 1822, and was the fifth son of 



no 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Edward Morris. His father died when he was two 
years old, and he lived with his maternal uncle, 
Rufus Flynt, of Monson, Mass., until 1836. He 
then went to New York City, where he attended 
school and filled various clerkships until 1843, when 
he went to sea as supercargo of a vessel in the 
Haytian trade, and for the four succeeding years 
was connected with commercial establishments at 
Port de Paix and Gonaives, in the Island of Hayti. 
In the autumn of 1847 ne was much reduced in 
health by an attack of yellow fever, which was fol- 
lowed by relapse, and being obliged to seek a change 
of climate returned to New England. After recov- 
ering his health he entered the employ of the West- 
ern railroad, now the Boston & Albany, at Spring- 
field, in the cashier's office, where he remained until 
1850, when he was offered and accepted the position 
of teller in the Tolland County Bank, of Tolland, 
Conn. On Sept. 13, 1853. Mr. Morris was chosen 
cashier of the Charter Oak Bank, of Hartford, and 
in 1879 he was chosen president of the bank, which 
had become the Charter Oak National Bank. He 
remained president until 1893, when he retired from 
that office, having been officially connected with the 
bank exactly forty years, but retained a position on 
the board of directors. Mr. Morris was a trustee 
of the Society for Savings, director in the National 
Fire Insurance Co., treasurer of the Hartford The- 
ological Seminary, and of the Connecticut Histor- 
ical Society. He was also trustee for many import- 
ant and large estates, which demanded much of his 
time. In business Mr. Morris was regarded as a 
man of the highest integrity and honor, conservative 
and well-grounded in his business beliefs and 
habits. 

Mr. Morris was an ardent Republican, and was 
one of nine men who met in Hartford Feb. 4, 1856, 
to take steps toward the formation of the Republi- 
can party in Connecticut. Only two of those pres- 
ent survive him, Senator Joseph R. Hawley and 
Judge Nathaniel Shipmau. He was a close student 
of historical matters, and took a lively interest in 
the establishment of "Flag Day" as a legal holiday, 
and gathered a large amount of facts about the stars 
and stripes, which he embodied in a pamphlet. He 
was intensely interested in genealogy, carried on 
much original research, and was regarded as an 
authority on the history and genealogy of Connecti- 
cut families. He was one of the originators of 
the Connecticut Society, Sons of the American 
Revolution, and a member of the Order of Founders 
and Patriots, and took the liveliest interest in all 
patriotic organizations. Mr. Morris was one of 
the most genial men, overflowing with a fund of 
information which could be relied upon, and he 
counted his friends and acquaintances by hundreds, 
although he was of a retiring, quiet nature. He 
was a member of the Asylum Hill Congregational 
Church. 

On May 8, 1855, Mr. Morris was married to 
Harriet, youngest daughter of Samuel and Alpha 



(Gillett) Hills, of Springfield, Mass. She died 
March 3, 1879, leaving two daughters: Anna, born 
Jan. 24, 1856, wife of Prof. Alfred Tyler Perry 
(former professor and librarian of the Hartford 
Theological Seminary, now (1900) president of 
Mariette (Ohio) College), to whom she was mar- 
ried April 13, 1887; and Alice, born Nov. 18, 1858, 
wife of Rev. Dr. Charles Smith Mills, of Cleveland, 
Ohio, to whom she was married June 17, 1885. 

(VII) Capt. Henry Morris, fourth son of Ed- 
ward, and the father of John Emery Morris, sec- 
retary of the Travelers Insurance Co. of Hartford, 
was born Feb. 25, 1819, in Belchertown, Mass. 
On the death of the father, when Henry was five 
years of age, he went with his mother and younger 
brother to live with his maternal uncle, Rufus Flynt, 
in Monson, and afterward with his grandmother 
in Wilbraham. At the age of ten years he went 
to live with his uncle Richard Morris, in Spring- 
field, Mass., and later for a time he was in the book 
store of G. & C. Merriam, the well-known pub- 
lishers of Webster's Unabridged Dictionary. In 
1835 he shipped as a cabin boy on the ship "Vesper," 
Capt. Hunt, bound for Belfast, Ireland. Later he 
made voyages to the Gulf of Mexico, Europe, South 
America, and the West Indies, during which he 
passed through every grade of seamanship, until, 
at the age of twenty years, he became a shipmaster. 
He was a thorough seaman, and fond of his pro- 
fession. He made navigation his study from the; 
day he first went to sea. Capt. Hunt said that 
"Henry Morris knew more about navigation at six- j 
teen than half the mates that ever sailed." He was 
a seaman for several voyages on the barque "Isaac 
Ellis," Capt. John H. Spring. His last voyage 011 
the "Isaac Ellis" was from New York to the Med- 
iterranean sea and to Monte Video, South America, 
and back to New York. Capt. Morris was a skill- 
ful navigator, and had the full confidence of his 
employers. He was a gentleman in his ways and 
manners, uniformly kind and courteous, and was 
liked and beloved by all who knew him. He had 
established a high character, and was indeed a 
model man. Had he lived, and continued in his 
profession, he would have reached a high position 
and obtained a wide fame, but he was cut off from 
life just at the age of twenty-five. His first com- 
mand was the schooner "Julia Ann," in the New 
York and Haytian trade, making voyages to Port 
an Prince. He was part owner of the "Julia Ann," 
but left it in July, 1843, to engage in trade for 
himself. He chartered and made four voyages as 
supercargo with the schooner "Mary Bright," Capt. 
Bright, commanding, on the last of which, in March, 
1844, the vessel was lost with all on board. Capt. 
Morris was in the "William Neilson," at Port an 
Prince, at the time of the great earthquake in Hayti, 
May 7, 1842, in which so many towns were ruined 
and so many lives were lost, and was the first to 
bring the news to the United States. 

On Aug. 2^, 1842, Capt. Morris was married 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Ill 



to Harriet, daughter of Daniel and Harriet (Bliss) 
Bontecou, of Springfield, Mass. She was born Oct. 
9, 1818, at Springfield, Mass., and was a descendant 
of Pierre Bontecou, a Huguenot refugee from 
France to New York in 1684. After the death of 
her husband Mrs. Morris remained a widow until 
Dec. 1, 1859, when she married Charles Morris, a 
brother of Capt. Henry Morris. She died at Keese- 
ville, N. Y., Jan. 28, 1872, and was buried there. 
Capt. Morris' only child is John Emery Morris. 

(YIII) John Emery Morris, secretary of the. 
Travelers Insurance Co., Hartford, son of Capt. 
Henry Morris, and nephew of the late Jonathan 
Flynt Morris, of Hartford, was born Nov. 30, 
1843. at Springfield, Mass., and in the spring of 
i860 settled in Hartford, where he was employed 
in the Charter Oak Bank, of which his uncle was 
then cashier. He enlisted Sept. 20, 1862, and served 
as corporal in Company B, 22d Conn. V. I., until 
discharged, July 7, 1803. He entered the service 
of the Travelers Insurance Co. July 6, 1864, was 
elected assistant secretary in May, 1874, and secre- 
tary July 5, 1898. He is also a member of the 
board of directors, and is his uncle's successor in 
the directory of the Charter Oak National Bank. 
Mr. Morris has devoted much of his leisure time 
to genealogical investigations, and has compiled and 
published a number of books and pamphlets on that 
subject. He is a member of the Connecticut His- 
torical Society, succeeding his uncle, Jonathan Flynt 
Morris, as its treasurer ; a member of the Connecti- 
cut Society, the Sons of the American Revolution ; 
a charter member of the Order of Founders and 
Patriots of America ; and a member of the Hugue- 
not Society of America. 

Mr. Morris married, May 15, 1867, Mary P., 
daughter of Festus C. and Sarah King (Lincoln) 
belt, of New York, a descendant of George Felt, 
of Charlestown, Mass., 1633. She was born in 
New York City Jan. 1, 1848, and is a granddaugh- 
ter of the late Levi Lincoln, of Hartford, a descend- 
ant of Thomas Lincoln, the miller, of Taunton, 
Mass., 1650. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Morris 
arc: (1) Henry Lincoln, born Feb. 6, 1868, was 
married in Stockbridge, Mass., Oct. 6, 1891, to 
Lucy Hurlbut Karrick, and they have one child, 
Edward Karrick Morris, born in New York City 
Jan. 25, 1897. Mr. Morris is historian of the Em- 
pire State Society of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, and an incorporator and founder of 
the Order of Founders and Patriots of America. 
He is engaged in business in Xew York City, and 

des in Flushing, L. I. (2) Edward Bontecou, 
born Aug. 16, 1875, a graduate of the Sheffield 
Scientific School, of Yale University, is employed in 
the Actuarial Department of the Travelers Insur- 
ance Co. (3) John Felt, born Oct. 29, 1877, is con- 
nected with the Hartford Trust Company. 

CHARLES G. STONE, Home Office Agent 
of the Travelers Insurance Co. of Hartford, and in 
other connections a prominent resident of that city, 



is a native of Connecticut, born May 5, i860, in 
Naugatuck. 

Alban Af. Stone, grandfather of our subject, 
was a descendant of Hugh Stone, who emigrated to 
this country from England in about 1655, and set- 
tled in Warwick, R. I. Mr. Stone's grandfather, 
Job Mattison, was a Revolutionary soldier, and 
his widow received a pension for his services. Mr. 
Stone was a prominent man in Hartford county in 
his day, for many years holding the position of 
agent for the North Manchester Mills. Later he 
removed to Providence, R. I., where he engaged 
in the wholesale paper trade, building up a large 
business. He married Mary Adams Morse, daugh- 
ter of Charles Morse, of Coventry, R. 1., whose 
ancestor, William Morse, emigrated to this coun- 
try in 1635, and settled in Newbury, Mass. Mary 
Adams Stone was a descendant of Henry Adams, 
who emigrated to New England in 1034, and set- 
tled in Braintree, Mass. Henry Adams was the fa- 
ther of Lieut. Henry Adams, of the Ancient and 
Honorable Artillery of Boston, who was killed by 
the Indians at the burning of Medfield in 1676. 
Other descendants from Henry Adams were John 
Adams and John Ouincy Adams, Presidents of the 
United States ; Samuel Adams, the patriot signer of 
the Declaration of Independence ; Charles Francis 
Adams; and many other men of note. Mr. and Mrs. 
Stone had a large family, of whom but two survive : 
James B., the father of our subject; and Sarah A., 
Mrs. Disbrow, of Providence, R. I. Mr. Stone 
passed away at the age of seventy-nine, his wife 
at the age of seventy-six. They were identified 
with the Congregational Church. 

James B. Stone was reared in North Manches- 
ter, but his active life was passed in Hartford, 
where he became a well-known business man, en- 
gaging in the wholesale and retail paper trade up to 
1892; at the time of his retirement he was the old- 
est paper merchant in the city. He is a Republican 
in politics, and prominent in social life, having affil- 
iated with the Masons for many years : he is a vet- 
eran of the City Guard, of which he was long an act- 
ive member. Mr. Stone is equally well known in 
musical circles, having played the organ many 
years in the Asylum Hill Congregational Church, 
and later in the Asylum Avenue Baptist Church. 
He and his wife attend the Congregational Church. 
James B. Stone married Miss Julia A. Greene, 
and two children were born to them : Charles G. 
I and Lillian A. The daughter married Dr. H. E. 
Rice, of Springfield, Mass., a prominent physician 
and surgeon of that city. Mrs. Stone is a native 
of Warwick, R. 1., and one of the eight children 
of Christopher Greene, a prominent citizen of War- 
wick. Mrs. Julia A. (Greene) Stone is a descend- 
ant of John Greene, surgeon, who came from Wilt- 
shire, England, and settled in about 1636 in War- 
wick, R. I., where he died in 1658. Other descend- 
ants from John ( ireen are Gen. Nathaniel Green, the 
celebrated Revolutionary general; John Green, dep- 
uty governor of Rhode Island, who died in 1708; 



112 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



William Green, governor of Rhode Island, who 
died in 1758; William Green (2) governor of 
Rhode Island, who died in 1809; Hon. Ray Green, 
member United States Senate 1794 to 1797; Will- 
iam Green, lieutenant-governor of Rhode Island in 
1871 ; Brig. -Gen. George Sears Green, who attained 
great prominence during the Civil war, and his 
son, Gen. Francis Vinton Green, celebrated for the 
services rendered his country during the late Span- 
ish war, and for his prominence in the Republican 
party in New York. 

Charles G. Stone spent his early years in Hart- 
ford, attending the district schools and the Hart- 
ford Public High School, from which latter he was 
graduated at the age of seventeen years. Until twen- 
ty years old he was employed in a wholesale harness 
house, and then entered the employ of the Travelers 
Insurance Co., as mail clerk. From this humble 
position he worked his way upward until, in 1885, 
lie was sent to St. Paul, Minn., to learn the agency 
work, remaining there one year. Soon after his 
return he was appointed Home Office Agent at 
Hartford, which position he has ever since retained. 
Mr. Stone is prominent in the social and public in- 
terests of Hartford, having been elected to the 
common council board from the Fourth ward for 
three years — 1808 to 1901 — being now first coun- 
cilman ; from 1897 he has served efficiently as chair- 
man of the Northwest school district. His political 
support is given to the Republican party. He is 
State secretary of the Connecticut Society, Sons of 
the American Revolution; member of the Connecti- 
cut Historical Society : the Connecticut Horticult- 
ural Society ; the Hartford Yacht Club ; the Weeka- 
paugh Golf Club; and, in religious connection, of 
the Asylum Hill Congregational Church, being also 
a teacher in the Sunday-school and a member of 
the Teachers Club. 

In 1893 Mr. Stone married Miss Bessie C. Rath- 
bun, and they have hail one child, Kathleen. Mrs. 
Stone's father, Julius G. Rathbun, is agent of the 
National Life Insurance Co., of Vermont, a well 
known and prominent citizen of Hartford. His 
family consisted of four children, three of whom 
are living: Helen, Fred D., and Bessie C. (.Mrs. 
Stone). 

HORACE MANN ANDREW'S, senior member 
of the mercantile and manufacturing firm of An- 
drews & Peck, and for many years prominently 
connected with the city government of Hartford, 
was born in Essex. .Mass., Jan. 10, 1849. His 
grandfather married Martha Lufkin, of Essex. 

Joseph Andrews, father of our subject, was 
born in Essex, in 1804, in that part of the town 
which was once a part of old Chebacco. The 
only educational advantages open to him were a 
few months each year in district schools, and very 
meager home training. His learning from books 
was chiefly self-acquired; yet such was his inborn 
love of study, that even under these discouraging 



conditions he became an excellent mathematician 
and a man of broad general knowledge. When a 
young man he worked as a surveyor, in which pur- 
suit he was successful because of his thorough fa- 
miliarity with his task, and his rigid integrity, 
which latter trait, indeed, was one of Air. Andrews' 
most pronounced characteristics through life. He 
was thoroughly intolerant of anything that was un- 
just or mean. In later years he became a farmer 
and shipbuilder. His farm was situated on But- 
ler's Point, in the town of Essex, and he was super- 
intendent in several of the shipyards, was regarded 
as an expert "liner," and supervised the modeling 
and construction of some of the largest craft floated 
from the yards of Essex, always an important cen- 
ter for this industry. The outbreak of the Rebel- 
lion stirred his patriotic pulse to the depths. He 
tendered his services to the government in the ca- 
pacity in which he felt he could be most useful, and 
was assigned to duty in the navy yard at Charles- 
town, where he was placed in charge of a large 
force of men. Here his technical skill, no less than 
his natural executive ability, trained by previous 
experience, insured success, and won for him the 
genuine, profound respect of the officers who were 
his superiors. It is difficult to speak too highly of 
the character of Joseph Andrews, whose keen intel- 
lect and rugged honesty stamped him as a true son 
of New England. His perceptions were quick and 
clear, his memory strong and retentive; his charity 
quiet, yet all embracing; his resolution firm. And 
to these traits he joined an originality and individ- 
uality of character with a high moral purpose which 
commanded and enforced respect. He passed from 
earth in 1888, his wife three years before. Her 
maiden name was Hannah Knowlton, and she was 
the daughter of Moses Knowlton, who married Ab- 
igail Pulcifer, of West Gloucester, Mass. Air. 
Knowlton's uncle, Gen. Knowlton, was a gallant 
officer in the Colonial army in 1776, and served 
with distinction at Bunker Hill. The children born 
to Mr. and Mrs. Andrews were eight in number: 
Joseph W., Francis Marion, Susan Eliza, Horatio 
Nelson, Maryline, Elias Calvin, Hannah Maria, 
and Horace Mann. 

Horace M. Andrews obtained his early educa- 
tion chiefly in the district schools of Essex, although 
his training was rounded out by one year in a com- 
mercial school at Boston. His scholastic training, 
fairly good for the times, he has since improved by 
well-directed reading. During the early years of 
his life, while not in school, he was enabled to . 
gather some knowledge of business, working in the 
principal store of his native town, it being his chief * 
desire to make himself useful even at gratuitous 
service, rather than pass his time in idleness. Though ! 
by no means averse to boyish sports, many of the 
half-holidays of Wednesdays and Saturdays found 
him assisting in the ship yards of his native town, 
familiarizing himself with the tools, which a few | 
years later he became adept in handling. The first 



114 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



(I) Deacon John Burnham, Sr., of Chebacco 
(Ipswich), Mass., born in England in 1618, died 
Nov. 5, 1694. He came to Chebacco in 1635 ; joined 
the 1'eqnot expedition in 1637, and in 1039 was 
granted land for his services as a soldier, .tie was 
a deacon in the church, and owner of a large tract 
of land. By his wife, Mary, he had four children: 
John, Josiah, Anna and Elizabeth. 

(II) Josiah Burnham, born May 9, 1662, died 
Oct. 25, 1692; married July 12, 1687, Abigail Var- 
ney, and had issue : Josiah, Jacob and Ebenezer. 

(III) Ebenezer Burnham, born Dec. 23, 1691, 
moved to Hampton, Windham Co., Conn., and died 
March 10, 1746. By his wife, Dorothy, he had 
issue: Joshua, Ebenezer, Joseph, Andrew, Isaac and 
Dorothy. 

(IV) Isaac Burnham, born in 1730, died Oct. 
14, 1807; married March 22, 1747. Eunice Holt, 
who was born in 1732, a daughter of Zebediah 
Holt, and died Feb. 16, 1776. Issue: Jacob, Sarah, 
Joseph, Eunice, Clarissa, Roswell, Isaac and Try- 
phena. 

(V) Roswell Burnham, born Nov. 15, 1761, 
died March 29. 1830; married (first ) ( )ct. 2T,, 1783, 
Esther Child, (second) Betsy Babcock, and (third) 
Sarah Preston. Issue by first marriage : Lucy. 
Jotham, Chester; issue by second marriage: Stephen 
and Esther. 

(VI) Chester Burnham, born in 1790, in Ash- 
ford, Conn., was a large farmer in the town of 
Willington, Tolland Co., Conn., and died in Ash- 
ford at the age of seventy years. He married Mary 
Holt, who was born in the town of Willington, 
daughter of Elijah Holt, and nine children were 
born to them, three of whom are yet living: Esther, 
widow of Harvey Merrick, late of Willington ( she 
now makes her home in Bristol, Conn.) : Jane, 
widow of Dr. Otis, late of Ellenville, N. Y., where 
she now lives : and Chester D. The father died in 
i860, the mother in 1854; both were members of the 
Congregational Church at Willington. 

(VII) Chester Dwight Burnham, son of Chester, 
and father of Edgar F., was born Nov. 13, 1819, 
in the town of Willington, Tolland Co., Conn., and 
is a prominent dealer in granite and marble in Hart- 
ford. He received his education in part at the 
schools of the neighborhood of his place of birth, 
and then entered the stove and tinware business. 
In this he continued some six years, after which he 
was engaged in different lines up to 1865, in which 
year he came to Hartford and opened out his pres- 
ent business, which, as will be seen, he has now car- 
ried on about thirty-six years, over thirty at his 
present location. He has an extensive plant, and 
turns out a vast amount of work, including all kinds 
of monuments, many of the very finest to be found 
in the cemeteries round about having come from his 
establishment. 

On May 27, 1844, Chester Dwight Burnham 
was married to Jane E. Burnham, of Hampton, 
Conn., daughter of Adonijah and Abigail (Fuller) 



Burnham, and also a descendant of (I) Deacon 
John Burnham through Josiah, Ebenezer, and An- 
drew. Adonijah Burnham, who was a lifelong 
farmer, and connected with one of the leading fam- 
ilies of the county, died at the age of fifty-six; 
his wife, who was born at Hampton, and was also 
allied to a prominent family, passed away at the 
age of eighty-four years. They were members of 
the Congregational Church. Four .children were 
born to this honored couple, as follows : Chester D., 
born Sept. 1, 1845, who died in infancy; Herbert 
D., Oct. 27, 1846; Edgar F., sketch of whom fol- 
lows; and Ida J., Dec. 15, 1855. The mother died 
in 189 1, at the age of seventy-two years. The chil- 
dren were all educated in Willimantic, and gradu- 
ated from the high school there. Ida J., who is still 
at home, graduated in music under an able teacher, 
and has successfully taught the '"divine art" for the 
past twenty years. Both sons are prominent in the 
affairs of the city, have served in the council, and 
are members of the F. & A. M. and the I. O. O. F. 
The father is a Republican in politics, and served 
as assessor of Willimantic two years. He is a 
director of the Spring Grove cemetery. The family 
are all members of the Fourth Congregational 
Church, and the daughter has for a long time been 
actively connected with the Sunday-school. 

(YII1) Edgar F. Burnham was born Aug. 27, 
1849, m Willimantic, whence he came to Hartford 
in February, 1865. Here for two and one-half years 
he clerked for James Gemmill, in the clothing busi-, 
ness, and the firm of Gemmill, Clark & Co. was 
then formed. This arrangement continued until 
April 1, 1871, at which time John Gemmill and 
Mr. Burnham formed a partnership, under the firm 
name of Gemmill, Burnham & Co., and carried on 
business at the stand now occupied by Wooley'sj 
hardware store, until 1882, in that year erecting 
their present commodious emporium. 

In 1879 Edgar F. Burnham was married in Hart- 
ford to Alice B. Foster, daughter of Ralph Foster. 
They have no children. Mr. Burnham is a Republi- 
can in politics, and has served as councilman fromi 
the old Seventh ward one year, and been alderman i 
four vears. Socially he is a member of the F. & 
A. M.. St. John's Lodge, No. 4: Pythagoras Chap- 
ter, Xo. 4 : Wolcott Council, Xo. 1 ; Washington 
Commanderv Xo. 1 : and belongs to the Scottish 
Rite and Thirtv-second degree ; is also affiliated 
with Sphinx Temple, Mystic Shrine, and with other 
orders. 

JOHX G. PARSOXS. who died March 1, 1890^ 
at his home in Hartford, was one of the leading 
residents of that city, and he and his estimable 
wife became associated helpfully many years agf 
with various philanthropic and reform movemen 
which have tended to promote the welfare of t 
community. 

Mr. Parsons was born June 2, 1821. in \\ i 
sor, Conn., of good Xew England stock, and 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



115 



life was spent entirely in this section. His father, 
Erastus Parsons, was born in the same town June 
jo, 1782, and was married in 1808, to Clarissa 
Bronson, who was born Sept. 14, 1785, and died 
Feb. 20, 1835. They had seven children, none of 
whom are now living. The father died Aug. 6, 
1827. For many years he and his wife were identi- 
fied with the Congregational Church of Windsor. 

John G. Parsons was but a child when his fa- 
ther died, and when fifteen years old he left Wind- 
sor to learn the book-binder's trade in Hartford 
with Brown & Drake, a leading firm on Main street. 
After becoming proficient in the art he was ad- 
mitted to partnership, the firm being known later 
as Drake & Parsons. They carried on a general 
book-binding business, and the firm was also con- 
nected with the publishing house of Bliss & Co. 
for about thirty years, becoming one of the most 
.successful business enterprises of the city. Mr. 
Parsons was interested in political questions and 
in the purity of the ballot, but refused to take office 
when urged to do so by his co-workers in the Re- 
publican party. At the time of his death he had 
been connected for fifty years with the volunteer 
fire department, where he was extremely popular, 
and rose through the various ranks to be assistant 
engineer, and later chief engineer of the depart- 
ment. In August, 1849. while serving as assistant 
engineer, he was presented with a silver speaking 
trumpet, a beautiful token of respect. For several 
vears he was chairman of the school board, and his 
time and means were freely given to the further re- 
ligious work. He was a stanch advocate of tem- 
perance principles. For many years he was an 
active member of the Order of Rechabites. 

On May 5, 1844, Mr. Parsons married Miss 
Betsey M. Knox, who survives him, and resides in 
her pleasant home at No. 146 Windsor avenue, 
Hartford. They had two children: Alice, who died 
Aug. 25, 1849, aged four years; and John Knox, 
who died April 4, 1892, aged thirty years. The 
son was educated in the Hartford schools, and on 
leaving high school he learned the gold beater's 
trade of James H. Ashmead & Son. After about 
five years in that business he entered the hardware 
business, but sold out a few years afterward on ac- 
count of ill health. He finally became interested in 
the hotel business, and after engaging in that busi- 
ness three years at Lake Dunmore, Vt., commenced 
the erection of a large hotel, with six cottages there, 
costing $100,000, and accommodating 300 guests ; it 
was completed by his mother after his early death, 
which cut short a most promising career, as he had 
gained a high reputation. For some years before 
his death he spent his winters in San Antonio. He 
married Miss Nellie Frisbee, and had one child, 
Bessie, but both wife and child are dead. 

Mrs. Parsons is a descendant of an old Colonial 
family, and her paternal great-grandfather, Archi- 
bald Knox, was born in Scotland in 171 3, and died 
in Ashford, Conn., in 1762. His son, Samuel Knox, 



had twelve children, four of whom died in infancy, 
the others being : Joel, Phebe, Samuel, David, 
Elisha, Elijah, Amariah and Susannah. Samuel 
Knox, Jr., father of Mrs. Parsons, was born Aug. 
10, 1780, and was a prominent agriculturist of Man- 
chester, whither he came when a young man, and 
learned his trade. He died Oct. 13, 1836. In 1800 
he married Lydia Benton, born June 17, 1780, a re- 
markably gifted woman, who attained the ad- 
vanced age of ninety-one years, dying March 12, 
1871. She was a granddaughter of John Benton, 
of East Hartford. The Benton family is well known 
in Manchester, and Joseph Benton, Mrs. Parson's 
maternal grandfather, was a man of marked char- 
acter and ability, and wielded much influence in his 
community. He married (first) Anna Symonds, 
and they had five children : Joseph, who married 
Jerusha Loomis, and had five children ; Anna, who 
died aged sixteen years ; Mary, who married Noah 
Keeney, of Manchester, and had three children, 
Horace, Betsey, and Mary (Mrs. Keeney, who is 
the only one of the family now living, is eighty- 
five years old, and has a home with her daughter 
in Boston); Lydia, Mrs. Knox; and Persis, who 
died aged twenty-three years. Joseph Benton's 
second wife was Elizabeth Bryant. Samuel and 
Lydia Knox had ten children, of whom Mrs. Par- 
sons is the only survivor, five of the children dying 
when voting, and five living to mature age. Maria 
died March 5, 1831. David P. died March 8, 1861. 
Mary, wife of John Fuller, died March 4, 1870. 
Chester J. died June 21, 1877. Chauncey B. died 
March 3, 1887. Mrs. Parsons' three bothers were 
prominent residents of Manchester, Chester being 
an agriculturist and fur dealer. Chauncey Knox was 
a liveryman and hotelkeeper, and was deputy sheriff 
for many years ; he was an earnest worker in the 
temperance cause. David P. Knox was a member 
of the Hartford Union Mining & Trading Co., and 
went out on the "Henry Lee" in 1849 to see ^ g°^ 
in the California fields, sailing around Cape Horn. 
There he broke down in health and returned to 
Hartford. After a short time he went to South 
Carolina, and there engaged in business, which he 
later had to abandon on account of ill health, and 
returning to Hartford he died at the home of his 
sister, Mrs. Parsons, March 8, 1861. 

Mrs. Parsons traveled extensively with her sun. 
She was reared among the best surroundings, be- 
came interested in religious work at an early ag< 
and since her removal to Hartford has been a mem- 
ber of the Fourth Congregational Church, in which 
her husband was a leading worker. For many years 
she has been assistant superintendent in the Sun- 
day-school. Her sympathetic aid has also been given 
to the temperance cause, in which she has done 
much active work, having been president of the local 
W. C. T. U. for eight years. She has for many 
vears entertained in her hospitable home various 
temperance speakers; it has been a home for John 
B. Gough, Miss Frances Willard, Col. Bain, of Ken- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



117 



scendant in the ninth generation from this Thomas 
Holcombe, his line being through Lieut. Nathaniel, 
Sergt. Nathaniel, Lieut. David, Reuben, Phineas, 
Phineas (2), and James Muggins Holcombe. 
Among the men of prominence who have been allied 
with the Holcombe family, and were the ancestors 
of John M. Holcombe, were: John Webster, gov- 
ernor of Connecticut ; Deacon Samuel Chapin, one 
of the founders of Springfield, Mass. ; Hon. Will- 
iam Phelps, one of the commissioners appointed by 
the Massachusetts Bay Colony, 1636 to govern the 
pe< 'pie of Connecticut, governor's assistant, member 
of the Council of the Pequot war, 1637, and mem- 
ber of the council which framed the Constitution, 
5639; Capt. Joseph Wadsworth, who concealed the 
Charter of Connecticut in the famous "Charter 
Oak:" and Gen. Nathan Johnson, an officer in the 
war of 1812, who was one of the most prominent 
lawyers in the State, was quartermaster-general, 
and for many years State senator, and was univer- 
sally respected and beloved. Three of Mr. Hoi- 
combe's ancestors served in the war of the Revolu- 
tion, while others appear in history as prominent 
and influential factors of their time. 

1 II) Lieut, Nathaniel Holcombe, son of Thomas, 
of Windsor, born in 1648, married in 1670 Mary 
Bliss, daughter of Thomas, one of the original pro- 
prietors of Hartford. His widow and family later 
settled in Springfield. Lieut. Nathaniel Holcombe 
was representative from Simsbury to the General 
Court in 1703 and several successive years. 

1 III) Sergt. Nathaniel Holcombe, son of Na- 
thaniel, born in 1673, married Nov. 1, 1695, Mar- 
tha, daughter of Peter and Martha (Coggans) 
Buel. He was representative from Simsbury to the 
General Court. 

( IV) Lieut. David Holcombe, son of Sergt. 
Nathaniel, born in 1696, married March 1, 1722, 
Mabel, daughter of David Buttolph, of Simsbury. 

(V) Reuben Holcombe, son of Lieut. David, 
born in 1725, married Susanna, daughter of Sam- 
uel and Elizabeth (Wilcoxon) Hayes, of Granby, 
Connecticut. 

(VI) Phineas Holcombe, son of Reuben, bcrn 
In 1759, <uec l m ^SS- He married April 26, 1781, 
Elizabeth, daughter of Jonah and Mary (Rideout) 
Moore. He served in the Revolutionary war. 

(VII) Phineas Holcombe (2), son of Phineas, 
born July 5, 1783, married Oct. 21, 1805, Nancy 
Smith Huggins, daughter of James and Nancy 
( Smith ) 1 [uggins. Phineas Holcombe died Oct. 30, 
1814. 

(VIII) James Huggins Holcombe, son of 
Phineas (2), and the father of John M. Holcombe, 
was born Aug. 31, 1806, in New Hartford, Conn. 
He was prepared for the law, began practice in 
Hartford in T833, and there remained engaged in 
his professional duties until his removal in after 
years to Italy, where for many years he made his 
borne. He died Nov. 18, 1889, in Positano, Italy. 
He was married April 23, 1844, to Emily Merrill 



Johnson, daughter of Gen. Nathan and Sarah 
(Merrill) Johnson, of Hartford, Conn., and to the 
union were born five children, two of whom sur- 
vive : James Winthrop, a resident of Italy (Europe) ; 
and John Marshall, referred to below. 

John Marshall Holcombe, son of James H., 
was born in Hartford June 8, 1848, in the house 
which he now occupies. After preparing for col- 
lege in the Hartford Public High School, he en- 
tered Yale, from which he was graduated in the 
class of '69, with the degree of A. B., and three 
years later he received the degree of A. M. In 
1 87 1 he became actuary of the Insurance Depart- 
ment of the State of Connecticut. In 1874 he was 
made assistant secretary of the Phoenix Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., was promoted to the secretaryship 
in 1875. and retained that position until elected to 
the vice-presidency of the company, in 1889, which 
relation he has since sustained. Mr. Holcombe's 
political affiliations are with the Republican party, 
in which he is active and influential. In 1883 he 
was a member of the common council, and in 1885 
a member of the board of aldermen, elected from 
the Second ward, serving as president in both 
branches. He has served as commissioner on the 
board of health of Hartford, of which board he 
was the originator. Mr. Holcombe has business 
connections with a number of corporations in Hart- 
ford, among them being the Phoenix Mutual Life 
Insurance Co., of which he has been vice-president 
since 1889, and the Fidelity Co., of which he has 
been president since 1897, as a director in the Amer- 
ican National Bank, the Mechanics Savings Bank, 
and the Connecticut Fire Insurance Co. His re- 
ligious connections are with the First Church of 
Christ (Center Congregational Church) of Hart- 
ford, the oldest church organization in Connecticut. 
Mr. Holcombe has been secretary, vice-president and 
president of the Yale Alumni Association of Hart- 
ford ; is a member of the Sons of the American 
Revolution, Society of Colonial Wars, Society of 
Colonial Governors and War of 1812; of the Co- 
lonial Club of Hartford, the University Club of 
New York, and the Actuarial Societv of America. 
He is also a director in the Retreat for the Insane 
at Hartford. Mr. Holcombe has contributed articles 
on life insurance and financial subjects to the "North 
American Review" and other publications. 

On Jan. 29, 1873, Mr. Holcombe was married 
to Miss Emily Seymour Goodwin, of Brooklyn, N. 
Y., who is prominent in Hartford social life, and 
whose fine work in various lines has given her 
prominence throughout New England. To this 
union have come children as follows : Harold Good- 
win, Emily Marguerite, and John Marshall, Jr. 

Mrs. Holcombe, too, is a descendant of one of 
the earliest and most prominent families of New 
England. She is in the eighth generation from 
Ozias Goodwin, one of the first settlers of Hart- 
ford, Conn., her line being through Nathaniel, 
Deacon John, Deacon John (2), Joseph, Hezekiah 



118 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and Edwin Olmstead Godwin. Of these, Nathaniel 
Goodwin married (first) Sarah Cowles and (sec- 
ond) Elizabeth Pratt. Deacon John Goodwin's 
first wife was Sarah, his second being Mary Hosmer 
Olmstead, daughter of Stephen Hosmer. Deacon 
John Goodwin (2) married Dorothy Pitkin, daugh- 
ter of Caleb and Dorothy (Hill) Pitkin. Joseph 
Goodwin married Hannah Olmstead, daughter of 
Jonathan and Hannah Meakin Olmstead. Hezekiah 
Goodwin married Emily, daughter of Deacon Eliab 
and Dorcas (Williams) Pratt. 

Edwin Olmstead Goodwin, father of Mrs. Emily 
S. Holcombe, was born Nov. 23, 1819, in East 
Hartford, and on Sept. 13, 1848, was married to 
Harriet Crown Pomeroy. He studied law, and 
was admitted to the Bar in Hartford. The science 
of life insurance early attracted his earnest atten- 
tion, and aroused his enthusiasm in this field of 
labor. He was one of the incorporators of the 
Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co. in 1846, 
and gave the name to that renowned corporation. 
He resided in Brooklyn, X. Y., from 1857 until his 
death, which occurred Nov. 25, 1882. 

Mrs. Holcombe organized Ruth Wyllys Chap- 
ter, Daughters of the American Revolution, of 
Hartford, in 1892, and was its first regent, which 
office she still occupies. The chapter, by unanimous 
vote, removed the term limit from tins office as 
long as Mrs. Holcombe would remain. In the 
chapter's patriotic movement to save the ancient 
and historic burying-ground of Hartford Mrs. Hol- 
combe has accomplished a great public improve- 
ment : she it was who conceived a plan for the widen- 
ing of Gold street — to remove the row of disrepu- 
table tenement houses would not only convert a 
dirty and disgraceful alley into a fine street, but 
would secure to the historic cemetery cleanliness, 
light and a conspicuous position in the center of 
the city. A similar work, though much less ex- 
ten? ve, had been previously attempted, resulting, 
however, in complete failure. Mrs. Holcombe re- 
ceived the cordial support of the chapter, official 
boards, and the public, and contributions were gen- 
erously made. However, delays occurred, and ap- 
peals from propertv assessments were made to the 
courts. At this period of discouragement Mrs. Hol- 
combe alone seemed imbued with the spirit of 
hope, and her faith never' faltered. Many people 
felt it to be but the optimistic dream of an en- 
thusiastic leader, but Mrs. Holcombe has overcome 
all obstacles, and carried through this formidable 
undertaking with a sagacity, diplomacy and bril- 
liancy of execution which have won her the thanks 
of the citizens of Hartford and a position of promi- 
nence in the State. She was the central figure at the 
celebration of the event at the grounds, on June 
17, 1899. on which occasion she — as regent of Ruth 
Wyllys Chapter and the originator of the plan by 
which the object was accomplished — delivered an 
eloquent address in presenting to the mayor of the 
city the deeds of certain parcels of land. She was 



presented with a loving cup by Mrs. William H. 
Palmer, vice-regent, in behalf of the members of 
Ruth Wyllys Chapter. At a banquet given on the 
evening of that day, by the historic Putnam Phalanx, 
one of the speakers said: "If there is a society in 
Connecticut that deserves to be honored the Daugh- 
ters of the American Revolution is that society, and 
if there is a woman who should feel happy to-night 
Mrs. John M. Holcombe is that woman." Gen. 
Hawley suggested a toast to Mrs. Holcombe, and 
all present rose. 

Erom a speech delivered by Thomas Weaver, 
of Hartford, in February, 1900, at Willimantic, 
before the members of Anne Wood Elderkin Chap- 
ter, of the Daughters of the American Revolution, 
referring to the work of the Ruth Wyllys Chapter, 
of Hartford, is extracted the following: 

**You are aware of the main fact that Ruth 
Wyllys Chapter has succeeded in making the way 
clear, clean and wholesome, and opening to the 
light of publicity the ancient burying-ground at 
Hartford, where lie the bodies of Thomas Hooker 
and his band of sturdy supporters, who fixed upon 
the Nation the idea that government of the people 
shall be by the consent of the people ; but few of 
you can know the largeness of that undertaking, 
the difficulties that were overcome at every for- 
ward step, and the untiring energy of the regent 
of that chapter, Mrs. John M. Holcombe, relent- 
lessly pursuing the object she had in view. If any 
man of my knowledge in Hartford had undertaken 
the task, there would have been nothing left of 
him but the foot-prints of those who had stepped 
upon him. This daughter of the American Revolu- 
tion had the dynamic force of good patriotic ances- 
tors in her veins, and official boards and public men 
and court committees and obdurate property owners 
all bowed to the persuasiveness of Mrs. Holcombe — 
one of the greatest improvements that Hartford has 
known for years was accomplished." 

Mrs. Holcombe is one of the charter members 
of the Society of Colonial Dames, and at this time 
is historian of the society : was elected a member of 
the first board of managers, and re-elected as soon as 
eligible after expiration of the first term, consecutive 
terms being prohibited by the rules of the societx 
From a long list of Colonial ancestors Mrs. Hol- 
combe entered the society on ten named, among them 
being John Webster, governor of Connecticut; 
Roger Conant, first governor of Massachusetts; 
Attorney-General William Pitkin ; Hon. Capt. Caleb 
Stanley ; Capt. William Ely. 

HON. GEORGE MERRIMAN, retired drug- 
gist of Bristol, and an ex-soldier of the Civil war, 
is native here, and was born June 3, 1844. 

The Merriman family is one of the oldest and 
best known in Bristol. The first of the family in 
this country was Capt. Nathaniel Merriman, one 
of the founders of Wallingford, Conn. The first 
in Bristol, Dr. Titus Merriman, was born in Wall- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



119 



ingfortl Aug. 27, 1768, and came here about 1792. 
He was one of the first members of the Hartford 
County Medical Society. The first deed of land 
recorded to him yvas in 1794. Soon afterward he 
built the house now owned and occupied by his 
grandson, Titus E. Merriman. His first wife, the 
mother of all his children, was Polly, daughter of 
Isaiah Thompson. Three of his sons arrived at 
the age of maturity : Henry E., George and Eli 
Todd, the latter choosing the medical profession, 
which he followed until his death ; he moved to 
Texas in 1848. 

George Merriman, son of Dr. Titus, inherited 
a large portion of his father's estate. He married 
Ann Peck. He was the founder of the drug busi- 
ness in Bristol, opening his store on the North side 
in 1825. and according to the custom of the times 
it was a general store, including dry goods, gro- 
ceries and drugs, the latter part of the business hav- 
ing been continued by the family from that time. 
Here for years was the post office. Later the gen- 
eral stoie was given up, and the drug store opened 
at the stand where it was so long and successfully 
conducted by the sons, George and Theodore, under 
the name of Merriman Brothers. Titus E. Merri- 
man, eldest son of George, Sr., was born in Bristol, 
Sept. 19, 1833; George, the second son, is the sub- 
ject proper of this sketch; Theodore D., the young- 
est son, will be mentioned more fully below. 

Titus E. Merriman was educated principally in 
the district school in Bristol, and later attended 
Bristol Academy, taught by Prof. Barnes, after 
which he attended Prof. Baker's Academy, at Col- 
linsville, whence he was graduated in 1852, at the 
age of nineteen. He entered his father's drug store. 
on the North side, Bristol, and a year later went to 
California, where he had several claims, and. ex- 
perienced many tips and downs until his return to 
Bristol in 1866. He fully intended to return to the 
West, but, with the exception of a dying visit 
thither, he has remained in Bristol ever since. On 
returning from California, in 1866, Mr. Merriman 
opened a grocery store on the North side, and later 
removed to the Seymour block, where now stand 
the abutments of the New York, New Haven 
and Hartford railroad trestle over Main street. 
Here he was burned out during the 'seventies. He 
next opened a grocery in the Gridley block on 
North Main street, and sold this out to W. H. Scott 
& Co.. of Terryville, who have since closed it. Mr. 
Merriman then retired for about two years, and 
in the spring of 1894 embarked in the harness and 
saddlery trade at No. 21, North Main street, carry- 
ing besides a full line of trunks, valises, traveling 
bags, etc. In 1869 he was married to Miss Amer 
S. Nettleton, who died the same year, without issue. 
1 "1 ( >ct. 4, 1871, Mr. Merriman married Miss Mar- 
garet A. Upson, daughter of Israel Upson, of 
W aterbury. No children have been born of this 
union. Mr. and Mrs. Merriman are members of the 
gregational Church, in the ladies' societies of 



which Mrs. Merriman takes an active part. In pol- 
itics Mr. Merriman takes but little interest, but 
has affiliated with the Republican party since its 
foundation, and while in California he voted for 
John C. Fremont, that party's first candidate for the 
Presidency. 

Hon. George Merriman, the subject proper of 
these lines, was educated in the common schools 
of Bristol, and at the Pavilion school in Hartford. 
At the age of seventeen years he left school, and 
at eighteen, July 23, 1862, he enlisted in Company 
K, 1 6th Conn. V. I., and was at the battle of An- 
tietam; later, when the "Fighting Sixteenth" was 
attached to the Department of North Carolina, the 
larger part of the regiment was captured, but Mr. 
Merriman luckily escaped. He was put on a de- 
tachment to guard Rebel prisoners near Sandusky, 
Ohio, and was finally discharged at Cincinnati, Aug. 
29, 1865. On returning from the army Mr. Merri- 
man began his business life in the drug store of 
his father, and after the death of the latter retained 
an interest in the establishment, under the firm name 
of Merriman Brothers, until 1889, when he re- 
tired. 

Mr. Merriman married Oct. 2, 1867, Miss Mary 
J. Barnes, who was born May 2, 1844, and is a 
daughter of Lucas and Clarinda (Tousey) Barnes, 
of Bristol ; no children have blessed this union. 
Mr. Merriman is a stanch Republican, but has never 
sought an office, although he has been elected to 
several town offices, for which he refused to qualify ; 
however, he consented to represent Bristol in the 
General Assembly in 1888 and 1889, and was a mem- 
ber of the Railroad committee, one of the most im- 
portant in the House. Fraternally he is a member of 
Franklin Lodge, No. 56, F. & A. M., of Bristol; 
of G. W. Thompson Post, No. 13. G. A. R., of 
which he is past post commander (Mrs. Merriman 
is past president of the W. R. C. of the same name, 
and past department president of Connecticut) ; 
and of Ethan Lodge, No. 9, K. of P., of which 
he is past chancellor commander ; he was the first 
captain of Hull Division, Uniformed Rank, No. 5, 
K. of P., but resigned when he visited Montana, 
where he has extensive silver and copper interests. 
Mr. and Mrs. Merriman are devout members of 
the Congregational Church, and are active in all 
work that tends to promote the moral welfare of the 
community. 

Theodore D. Merriman, youngest son of George 
Merriman, Sr., was born in Bristol Nov. 14, 1845, 
and was educated in a private school taught by 
Rev. Mr. Tufts, at Monson, Mass., after quitting 
which he entered his father's drug store, where 
with the exception of an extended trip through 
California with his sons, in 1894, he continued to 
hold the business — having bought out his brother 
George in 1887 — until January I, 1897, when he re- 
tired. His death took place the third day of March 
following. Theodore D. Merriman was married 
Oct. 15, 1879, to Mrs. Julia (Macy) Gaul, daughter 



120 



COMMEMORATIVE, BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



of Hiram and Ann (Hall) Macy, and widow of 
William D. Gaul, of Hudson, N. Y. To this union 
were born two children : George Macy, Nov. 20, 
1880, and Theodore Hall, April 16, 1882, both 
graduates of Bristol High School, and now students 
at Yale. Mr. Merriman was a member of the F. 
& A. M. lodge of Bristol, also of the Royal Ar- 
canum. He was a stanch Republican, but took no 
active part in party matters, as he was of a modest, 
unassuming disposition, and better satisfied with the 
society of his many personal friends in sociel in- 
tercourse, rather than the excitement of the "mad- 
ding crowd." 

FREEMAN SEYMOUR (deceased). The 
Seymour family of Hartford count}-, with its allied 
connections, has been one of prominence in the city 
of Hartford, county, and State from early times. 
To its early history reference is made elsewhere. 

Our subject, late of Hartford, where he had been 
prominent as a citizen and business man, engaged 
extensively in farming, was born Oct. 28, 1820, in 
the house on Fairfield avenue now occupied by 
his widow, and which was built by his father, who 
also bore the name oi Freeman. The latter was a 1 so 
a man of prominence, and an extensive farmer, 
taking an active interest in all the affairs of the day, 
and his opinions and judgment were sought and 
respected. He married Margaret Clark, whose 
father, too, was an extensive farmer and man of 
prominence, and lived on the corner of Webster 
and Washington streets. Freeman Seymour, the 
elder, died at the age of eighty-three, and his wife 
lived to the age of over eightv years. Both were 
.members of the South Congregational Church of 
Hartford. Their four children are all now de- 
c-eased. Freeman being the last to die. 

Freeman Seymour, our subject, was reared on 
the homestead, and received a good common- 
school education. He passed his life largely occu- 
pied in rural pursuits, engaging in tobacco grow- 
ing and dairying, and was a man of intelligence 
and infiuence in the community. His political af- 
filiations in his earlier life were with the Whig 
party, and in after years with the Republican 
party. He was a member of the Harrison Vet- 
erans. Throughout his life he took an active in- 
terest in public questions and in measures calcu- 
lated to advance the interests of his native city. 
Mr. Seymour was married three times, his third 
wife, to whom he was married in 1880, being for- 
merly Mary O. Smith. To the second marriage 
was born one son, Freeman P., who is now a resi- 
dent of Hartford, and in the employ of the Pope 
Bicycle Works. Mr. Seymour died in 1897, aged 
seventy-seven years. 

Airs. Mary O. (Smith) Seymour, the widow 
of our subject, was born in Enfield, Conn., daugh- 
ter of lion. John AI. Smith, and granddaughter of 
Thomas Smith, both natives of Scotland and men 
oi liberal education. Thomas Smith was a weaver 
by occupation, and on coming to America located 



in Enfield, Conn., where he was occupied in the 
business of carpet-weaving. Later he went to 
Vermont, but after a time returned to Enfield, 
and there died when fifty years of age. He had 
married Margaret Woodrow, who was born in 
Kilmarnock, Scotland, and they had four children. 
The mother died at the ag_ 5 of seventy-six. The 
family in their religious belief were Presbyterians. 
John M. Smith passed his later life in Vermont^ 
Politically he was a Republican, and rose to con- 
siderable prominence in public affairs, serving 
two years as a member of the General Assembly 
of Vermont. He married Jane Boyd, who was a 
native of the same place as himself, and to them 
were born three children: Jeanette; Alary O. ; and 
Robert, who is station agent at Greensboro, Vt, 
Airs. Seymour's mother died when about thirty- 
two years of age. and her father lived to be sev- 
enty. 

Mrs. Seymour was reared and educated in A'er- 
mont. She began teaching in the district schools 
when quite young, continued this vocation for a 
number of years, finally coming to Hartford, and 
here taught in the grammar grades of the South 
school until her marriage. Since Air. Sevmour's 
death the widow and son have lived in the home- 
stead, and have begun the work of developing the 
farm into a residence section of the city. She is a 
member of the Congregational Church, the same 
church her husband attended from his youth. 

FRED R. BILL. Associated in business with 
his brother, Dwight H. Bill, the subject of this 
sketch, is senior member of the firm of Bill Bros., 
car men of No. 46 Ann street, Hartford, a firm 
which has existed for many years, and is known 
extensively throughout New England. It is per- 
haps the oldest and best equipped in the New Eng- 
land States, and possesses most excellent facilities 
for moving furniture, machinery, hoisting safes, and 
performing similar service. The firm keeps about 
forty-five horses, and employs regularly from fifty 
to sixty men. 

The business was started a generation ago by 
Francis P. Bill, the father of our subject, with whom 
at various times were associated each of his five 
brothers, and the firm thus won its way to recog- 
nition through undergoing frequent changes of per- 
sonnel. Francis P. Bill, the father, was born in 
Chaplin, Conn., in 1823, son of Roswell and Olive 
(Ross) Bill. Roswell Bill was a school teacher. 
He had a large family, of whom three survive : Ed- 
win S., of Hartford; Alvin H., of Hartford; and 
Caroline, widow of Martin S. Preston, of Will- 
imantic, Conn. Francis Bill spent his boyhood in 
Chaplin, where he received a good common-school 
education, and where for a time he taught school. 
He, however, possessed an active temperament, and, 
coming to Hartford, entered the trucking business 
at the bottom of the ladder, driving for Smith & 
Blodgett for Si per day He then engaged for a 
time in railroad work, but soon returned to truck- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



121 



ing, and with his brother founded the firm of Bill 
Bros., now the oldest in the city. Later he went 
West, and for nine years engaged extensively in 
farming in Illinois. Returning to Hartford, he re- 
-entered the trucking business with his brothers, 
■continuing it up to 1872. He then removed to En- 
field, but nine years later, in 1881, the firm of Bill 
Bros, again included him as an active member, a 
business relationship which continued until the 
death of Mr. Bill, in 1894, at the age of seventy-one 
years. He was at one time one of the oldest and 
best known business men of the city. In politics 
he was a Republican. He married Sarah A. North, 
a native of Berlin, daughter of John and Harriet 
(Cheney) North, representatives of two of the 
oldest and best known families of Connecticut. 
John North was a farmer and blacksmith of Berlin. 
( )f the children of Francis P. and Sarah A. Bill two 
survive, Fred R. and Dwight H. 

Fred R. Bill was born in Amboy, 111., Sept. 15, 
1863. When two years old he was brought to Hart- 
ford, Conn., by his parents, and at eight removed 
with them to Enfield, attending the schools until 
he was sixteen years old, when, with his parents, 
he again became a resident of Hartford. He at- 
tended the high school at Hartford, and began his 
life work in the office of Bill Bros., when his fa- 
ther again purchased an interest in the business. 
Under the present management the business has 
been greatly extended. To it Mr. Bill has added 
a six-story storage warehouse, and has also had 
constructed a number of massive furniture vans, 
and otherwise increased the facilities of the firm 
for the prompt and safe removal of goods. A fea- 
ture to which prominence has lately been given 
is the packing of household goods, shipment to any 
point in the New England States, and subsequent 
unpacking, the firm assuming entire charge from 
point of shipment to destination. 

In 1890 Mr. Bill married Miss Minnie Warner, 
who was born in Manchester, daughter of A. W. 
and Jane (Witherill) Warner. Her father is a 
machinist and expert tool maker of Manchester. 
To Fred R. and Minnie Bill have been born three 
children, Francis Putnam, Ruth and Dorothy. 
Mr. Bill is an officer of the Governor's Foot Guard, 
having enlisted in 1884, and was promoted suc- 
cessively to sergeant, lieutenant and captain, now 
serving his second year with the latter rank. He 
is also a member of the I. O. O. F., and was one 
of the organizers of the Gentlemen's Driving Club. 
In politics Mr. Bill is a Republican. The family 
is widely known in social circles, and its dis- 
tinguished family affiliations make it typically rep- 
resentative of the past as well as the present in the 
social life of Hartford. 

Dwight H. Bill, the business partner and 
brother of Fred R., possesses the same aptitude for 
Wi Tk and successful achievement. He has been 
a resident of Hartford for many years, and is wide- 
Iv known in business and social circles. He is a 



member of Hartford Lodge, No. 88, F. & A. M., 
of Hartford; Lodge No. 19, B. P. O. E. ; and an 
ex-member of the Hartford City Guard. 

FRANK SMITH BROWN (deceased) was 
one of the founders of Brown, Thomson & Co., a 
well-known business firm of Hartford, and for many 
years was a leading resident of that city. 

Mr. Brown was born Nov. 2, 1832, in West 
Boylston, Mass., and was edncated there and at the 
academy in Shelburne Falls, Mass. Before 
he was of age he made a trip to Cali- 
fornia, and while there he became interested in vari- 
ous mining and general business enterprises. On 
his return to the East he spent several years as an 
office clerk for Hogg, Brown & Taylor, of Boston, 
his brother being a member of the firm. During the 
Civil war he enlisted in a Massachusetts regiment, 
and on being mustered out he returned to Boston. 
In 1865 he located in Hartford and organized the 
firm of Brown, Thomson & Co. For a time they 
occupied the southern part of the present Boston 
Branch Store, No. 260 Main street, but the busi- 
ness soon became too large for the place, and the 
entire building was taken, the firm buying out C. 
H. Smith's business. At that time the name was 
changed to Brown, Thomson & McWhirter, but 
since Mr. McWhirter's retirement in 1878 the origi- 
nal name has been used. In 1877 the business again 
became cramped for room, and was removed to the 
present store, in the Cheney building. Mr. Brown 
was interested in different business ventures at times 
his influence and advice being factors in their success 
and he was a director of the Phcenix National Bank. 
About 1890 he and James Thomson built the "Lin- 
den," in Main street, Hartford, but failing health 
compelled Mr. Brown to relinquish business cares, 
which he did Jan. 1, 189 1, and he went to California, 
where he died Oct. 1, 1893. Finding the climate 
beneficial, he decided to make his home at Pasadena, 
where he built a beautiful residence, but he never 
occupied it, his death having occurred abont the time 
the furniture was to have been sent from his pleas- 
ant home in Wethersfield, Conn. Mr. Brown was a 
Republican in politics, and before purchasing his 
home in Wethersfield was active in municipal affairs 
in Hartford, representing the Third ward in the 
board of aldermen, in 1878 and 1879. He was a 
leading worker in the Baptist Church, and the first 
president of the Hartford Y. M. C. A. His wife, 
formerly Miss Anna McDuffee, of Rochester, N. 
H., is now a resident of Pasadena, Cal. They had 
three children : George McDuffee, who is mentioned 
more fully below ; Emma Hanson, a native of Hart- 
ford, who married John G. Lyman, of New York 
City; and Annie Adams, who was born in Flartford, 
and now resides in Pasadena. 

George M. Brown was born Nov. 9, 1864, in 
Boston, Mass., and his early education was obtained 
in Hartford. In 1884 he went into the store, but 
he retired in 1893 to look after his extensive prop- 



122 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



erty interests in Hartford. He has also been en- 
gaged in installing electrical and mechanical plants, 
including some of the largest in this section, and is 
regarded as an expert on all electrical matters. Mr. 
Brown was married in Hartford to Miss Delorins 
Chamberlain, daughter of Gen. Samuel E. Chamber- 
lain, of Barre, Mass., who served in the Mexican 
war, and in the Civil war as colonel in the 1st Mas- 
sachusetts Cavalry. Two children have blessed this 
union : Chamberlain Brown and Lyman. 

AUSTIN L. PECK, of the lumber company 
bearing bis name, and of the firm of Andrews & 
Peck, of Hartford, and a veteran of the Civil war, 
is one of the substantial men of the Capital City, 
and a descendant of one of the old and prominent 
families of Xew England. 

The Connecticut Pecks are descendants of 
Joseph Peck, of Milford, Deacon William Peck 
and Henrv Peck, of Xew Haven, and Deacon 
Paul Peck, of Hartford, each of whom became 
the progenitor of a numerous race. Of these, Jo- 
seph Peck, who was the ancestor of the Newtown 
branch of the family, the one to which the subject 
of this sketcb belongs, resided first at Xew Haven, 
Conn. His name does not appear on the records 
until about 1643, although he is generally sup- 
posed to have resided there earlier, and to have 
been the brother of Henry, who settled there in 
1638. with whom he seems to have resided or been 
associated, and with whom he probably came over 
to this country. He left Xew Haven in or about 
1649, and settled in Milford, Conn., where he be- 
came a member of the church in 1652. He mar- 
( first) Mrs. Alice Burwell, and (second) Miss 
Marie Richards. He died in 1700-01. 

Fom this Joseph Peck, of Milford, Austin L. 
Peck, our subject, is a descendant in the eighth 
generation, his line of descent being through Jo- 
seph (2), Ephraim. Henry, Capt. Zalmon. Ezekiel 
and Zalmon S. Peck. 

(II) Joseph Peck (2). son of Joseph, of Mil- 
ford, baptized in 1653. married in 1678-79 Mary 
Camp. He settled in Milford, and there died. 

(III) Ephraim Peck, son of Joseph (2). bap- 
tized in [692, married in 1716 Sarah Ford, of Mil- 
ford. He removed from Milford to Newtown, 
Conn., where he died in 1760. 

( I\ ) Henry Peck, son of Ephraim, born in 
1719, married (first) in 1*^=, Ann Smith, and 
(second) in iy<')S wedded Hannah Leavenworth. 
He resided in Newtown. 

i\ ) Capt. Zalmon Peck, son of Henrv. born 
in 1758, married (first) Zilpba Hard and (second) 
Mrs. Sarah Booth. He resided in Newtown, 
where he died in 1812. He was a soldier in the 
Revolution. 

(VI) Ezekiel Peck, son of Capt. Zalmon, born 
in 1786. married (first) Sarah A. Johnson, and 
(second) in 1818 wedded Mis. Betsey Briscoe. 
He was a soldier in the war of i8t2. The tomb- 
stones of the four generations of Zalmon S. Peck 



(still living) are all in perfect condition in the 
family burial lot in the cemetery at Newtown, 
Connecticut. 

(VII) Zalmon S. Peck, sou of Ezekiel, and 
father of Austin L. Peck, of Hartfoid, was born 
May 22, 1812, in Newtown, Conn. During the 
Civil war he served as the enrolling and drafting 
officer of the town. He was made postmaster 
of the town under President Lincoln's first term, 
and held the position for twenty-six years, being 
out for two years I from 1867 to 1869) under the 
Johnson administration. During Ins active years 
Mr. Peck was one of the prominent public men of 
the town. Time seems to have dealt kindly with 
him, as he is still quite active and remarkably 
well preserved. He is an interesting conversa- 
tionalist. In 1833 he was married to Polly J. Lum, 
and they had children as follows : Sarah A., born 
in 1834, is deceased; Henry S., born Sept. I, 
1838. is secretary and treasurer of the P>rass City 
Lumber Co., Waterbury, Conn., of which city he 
is a prominent business man and citizen; Austin 
L., born June 3, 1844. is referred to in the follow- 
ing; and Mar\- F. was born June 10, 1854. 

1 VIII) Austin L. Peck, the subject proper of 
this sketch, is a native of Newtown, Conn., where 
he passed his boyhood attending the public schools 
of the town and the Newtown Academy. During 
the Civil war, Aug. 25, 1862, he enlisted as a 
private soldier in Company C, 23d Conn. V. I. 
The 2^,d Regiment was recruited in Fairfield and 
Xew Haven counties during August and Septem- 
ber, 1862. and it was musteied into the United 
States service at Camp Terry, Xew Haven, Conn., 
Nov. 14. 1862, with C. E. L. Holmes, colonel; 
Charles W. VVorden, lieutenant-colonel; David H. 
Miller, major; and Julius Sanford, captain of our 
subject's company. The regiment left the State 
Nov. 17, and joined Gen. Banks at Camp Buck- 
ingham, L. I., and it served in the independent 
command <A Gen. Franz Sigel. It was sent to the 
defenses of Xew ( )rleans, Department of the 
Gulf. From December, 1862, it was a part of the 
2d Brigade, 2d Division, 19th Army Corps; and 
from June, 1803, it was stationed at Post of Bra- 
shear. District of La Fourche, 19th Army Corps and 
Defenses of Xew ( hdeans. and Department of the 
Gulf from May, 1863. Young Peck shared the 
experiences of the command, and returned with 
an honorable army record. He was mustered in 
as corporal Nov. 14. 1862, and was taken prisoner 
at Bayou Boueff, La., June 2^, 1803; was paroled 
Jul}- 3. of that year, and was mustered out Aug. 
31, 1863. After his discharge from the service 
he began an active business career, which he has 
continued from that time to this, and his efforts 
and undertakings have been crowned with the suc- 
cess they have merited. 

In January, 1864, Mr. Peck moved to Water- 
bury, and became a clerk in the general merchan- 
dising store of Benedict, Merriman & Co. Later, 
in 1865, he entered the employ of the Hartford, 






^ 

s 

* 



3 

^ 



M 







&A 



'A^&z^t^z &^nJ 







COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



128 



Providence & Fishkill railroad, as freight clerk 
at Hartford, and was soon promoted to agent of 
this company in charge of their Waterbury sta- 
tion. Early in 1869 he entered Into the lumber 
business with Chester Curtiss, and in 1870 dis- 
solved that partnership, immediately entering the 
same business alone on Meadow street, that city. 
In 1887 he removed to Hartford, and lias since 
resided there. He retained his business in Water- 
bury until 1898, when he organized the Brass City 
Lumber Co., retaining a large interest, and be- 
coming its president. In 1883 he organized the 
Big Rapids Door & Blind Mfg. Co., of Water- 
bury, Conn., and located the mill plant at Big 
Rapids, Mich. ; was its largest stockholder and 
treasurer of the company, which was in active 
operation up to June 14, 1900, at which date the 
plant was totally destroyed by fire. He organized 
the Capital City Lumber Co. of Hartford in 1895, 
becoming its first president, but later sold his in- 
terest therein ; is at present an active partner in the 
firm of Andrews & Peck, of Hartford, and is a 
man of means and prominence, n^ + only in Hart- 
ford, but throughout the State. vVhile in New- 
town our subject attended the Presbyterian Church. 
On Feb. 20, 1867. Mr. Peck was married to 
Susan M., daughter of Horatio Root, of Hartford, 
and the union has been blessed with children as 
follows : ( 1 ) Edward A. Peck, born in Waterbury 
in June, 1868, is a resident of Say brook, Conn. 
He married Cora Hall, and their children are Helen 
Josephene, born in Holyoke, Mass., March 20, 1890; 
Frederick Hall, born in Hartford May 13, 1894; 
Susan Elizabeth, born in Hartford Sept. 20 1896; 
and W'allace Horatio, born in Hartford Feb. 2, 
1900. (2) Harry H. Peck was born Feb. 7, 1870, 
in Waterbury, Conn. He attended the Waterbury 
High School, Phillip's Classical School, and in 
1886 was graduated from the Cheshire Academy. 
After returning from school he was bookkeeper 
for the firm of Andrews & Peck for two years. 
In the fall of 1888 he traveled through the West 
in the interests of the Big Rapids Door & Blind 
Mann factor)-, visiting Denver, Chicago and Big- 
Rapids, Mich. In the spring of 1889 he again 
went West, remaining in Denver some eight 
months, and that fall he went to Chicago, remain- 
ing there until Jan. 6, 1890, at which time he was 
married to Miss Alice W. Grow, daughter of Caro- 
line Grow, of that city. From January, 1890, to 
the fall of that year, Mr. Peck located at Win- 
ooski, Vt, and following this he returned to Hart- 
ford, where he was made manager of the Hartford 
Sash, Door & Blind Co., with headquarters at No. 
554 Main street. This company was sold on Feb. 
I, 1894, to Andrews & Peck. After this sale he 
became treasurer of the Capital City Lumber Co., 
remaining as such from 1894 to Sept. 14, 1895. 
At the latter date he started in business for himself 
at No. 32 Church street. Mr. Peck is treasurer of 
the Gentlemen's Driving Club of Hartford, a po- 
sition he has held since Feb. 5, 1900. He is a mem- 



ber of B. H. Webb Council, No. 702, Royal Ar- 
canum. Mrs. Peck died May 7, 1897, and left 
children as follows: H. Windsor, born Nov. 21, 
1890; Everett Laurence, born Oct. 21, 1892; 
and Alice W., born April 20, 1897. (3) Theo- 
dore Peck was born March 15, 1875, in Wa- 
terbury, and was educated at the Hartford Public 
High School. He was in the employ of his father 
until 1896, when he went to Africa in the employ 
of the -Royal Gold Mining Co. Leaving there he 
returned to Hartford, and is at present residing 
there. He is unmarried. 

FRANK W. HAVENS, agency supervisor for 
the Hartford Life Insurance Co., Hartford, was 
born in Wethersfield, Conn., Dec. 2, 1845, a son of 
Hiram and Mary Welles Havens. 

Hiram Havens was a manufacturer during the 
first half of the century, and was engaged in ship- 
building at Wethersfield, Conn., when that industry 
was a prominent feature of that place. His wife 
was a daughter of William and Mary (Welles) 
Adams, of Wethersfield, the latter being a daughter 
of Elijah Welles, an honorable and honored soldier 
of the Revolution, who served in Capt. Hezekiah 
Welles' company in Boston, January, 1776, and aft- 
erward at the battles on Long Island under Wash- 
ington. Through this line our subject traces his 
ancestry direct to Gov. Thomas Welles, one of the 
first governors of the Connecticut Colony. Mrs. 
Mary W. Havens died in November, 1876, aged 
sixty-four. Hiram Havens died ten years later, in 
November, 1886, aged eighty-three. 

Frank W. Havens was two years old when his 
parents moved to Hartford, and here, with the 
exception of some seven years spent in Manchester, 
Conn., he has since resided. He was educated at 
the schools of the city, and by private tuition, then 
read law in the office of Johnson & McManus, but 
owing to ill health did not apply for admission to 
the Bar. Afterward he engaged in manufacturing, 
later conducting an insurance agency under the 
firm name of Nevers & Havens, representing some 
of the largest companies in the country. In 1887 
he became connected with the Hartford Life In- 
surance Co., as editor and manager of the literary 
department, but since 1898 he has held the position 
of agency supervisor, an incumbency he fills with 
characteristic fidelity and ability. 

Mr. Havens is prominent in the Masonic frater- 
nity of the State, having been a member thereof 
since 1881, in which year he joined Manchester 
Lodge, No. J^. He is a 32(1 degree Mason, a mem- 
ber of Norwich Consistory ; has passed the several 
chairs of the Grand Lodge; in January, 1898, was 
elected Grand Master of Masons in Connecticut, 
and has been president of the Hartford Masonic 
Club since its formation. In church relationship 
Mr. Havens is a Congregationalist ; in politics he is 
a stanch Republican. 

On May 18, 1870, Mr. Havens married Eliza 



124 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Brainerd, daughter of Martin B. Brainerd, of Had- 
dam, this State, and they have two children: Frank 
S. Havens, Ph. D., Yale, '96, now secretary and gen- 
eral manager of the New York SUk Conditioning 
Works, New York City; and Mary C. C. Havens. 
Mrs. Havens' father, Martin B. Brainerd, was born 
in Haddam, and died in 1899, aged eighty-nine. 
His wife, Mary (Baldwin) Brainerd, born in Mans- 
field, this State, is still living, now (1901) aged 
eighty-seven. 



EMERY DOWNING, deceased. For almost 
a half century prior to his death, in 1893, the sub- 
ject of this sketch was one of the most prominent 
truckmen of Hartford. He was a man of excel- 
lent judgment, and possessed a rare degree of en- 
ergy. Succeeding to a large business, he conduct- 
ed it most successfully, and his interest is still re- 
tained by his widow. 

Mr. Downing was born in Hampton, Conn., 
May 21, 1828, son of Emery and Lora (Parish) 
J 'owning, both also born in Hampton. The father 
was reared on the ancestral farm, and became a 
farmer and butcher, spending most of his life in 
the village of Scotland, where he died at the age 
of seventy-seven, his widow surviving to the age 
of seventy-eight. To them were born Diantha ; 
Emery *ud Emily (twins) ; Serena; Eliza; Henry; 
Lydia, who married Edwin S. Bill, of Hartford; 
and Mary, who married George W. Bill, also of 
Hartford. The parents were members of the Uni- 
versalis! Church. 

Emery Downing, our subject, received a good 
education, and was reared on a farm until twenty- 
one years of age, when he came to Hartford, and 
began work for Mason Smith, one of the early 
truckmen of Hartford, who later became his fa- 
ther-in-law. Mr. Downing was admitted to a part- 
nership, and later purchased the business, which 
he followed up to his death, Jan. 26, 1893, having 
been at that time forty-five years in active busi- 
ness, the oldest in the city and among its best- 
known citizens. He managed a very large trade, 
which he had built up in a most successful man- 
ner, doing the work for many of the large con- 
cerns of Hartford, and was a man highly respected 
and esteemed by all who knew him. A few years 
previous to his death he admitted into partnership 
D. C. Perkins, who had been his bookkeeper for 
several years, and who now carries on the busi- 
ness under the old firm name of Downing & Per- 
kins. In politics Mr. Downing was a Democrat. 
He filled various local offices, and served for sev- 
eral years on the board of common council. He 
was a member of St. John's Lodge, No. 4, A. F. & 
A. M., for many years, of the Governor's Foot 
( luard for a number of years, and later of the 
Veteran Corps. He was also a member of the 
Governor's Horse Guard, and in social circles held 
a wide and influential acquaintanceship. 

In 1852 Mr. Downing married Henrietta 



Smith, a native of Hartford. Her father, Mason 
Smith, was born in Marshfield, Yt., and her grand- 
father, Joshua Smith, in Woodstock, Yt., whence 
he removed to Marshfield when a child, and there 
spent his life, dying at the age of eighty. He was 
an extensive farmer. His wife, Ketura. was born 
in Glastonbury, and lived to a good old age. Joshua 
and Ketura Smith were members of the Presby- 
terian Church. They had a family of six chil- 
dren, all of whom are now dead. Mason Smith 
was a farmer up to the age of twenty-one, and was 
educated in Vermont. He married Lydia Moore, 
a native of Vermont, and came to Hartford with 
a horse and sleigh, starting as a pioneer in the 
trucking business about 1830. This he continued 
successfully, in later years selling out to Mr. 
Downing and retiring to a farm at Blue Hills, 
near Hartford, where he died at the age of sev- 
enty-seven years. His wife died at the age of 
fifty-six. At the time of his retirement Mason 
Smith was the oldest truckman in the city, and 
had an extensive acquaintance with Hartford 
business men. To Mason and Lydia (Moore) 
Smith were born seven children, three of whom 
are now living: Henrietta (Mrs. Downing) is the 
eldest; Julietta married Jerome Walker, of Water- 
bury, Conn. ; and Ellen L., who married John S. 
Stannard, of Hartford. Mason Smith and his wife 
were members of the Universalist Church. 

To Emery and Henrietta Downing was born 
one daughter, Jennie, who married George A. 
Evans, formerly with the Adams Express Co., but 
now manager of the various electric express lines 
in and about Hartford, having charge of the ex- 
press cars which run over the tracks of the street 
railway company. Mrs. Evans has two daughters, 
Annie and Henrietta J. Annie married Dr. Rich- 
ard P. Lyman, a veterinary surgeon of note in 
Hartford, who was educated at Amherst, at the 
Agricultural College, and in the veterinary depart- 
ment of Harvard. He is a member of the Veter- 
inary Association of Connecticut, of which he is 
secretary. Mrs. Lyman has one child, Bertha 
Downing. These four generations, Mrs. Down- 
ing, her daughter, granddaughter and great-grand- 
daughter, all reside in Hartford. 

JAMES W. ELDRIDGE, a large real-estate 
dealer and owner, also engaged in the insurance busi- 
ness in Hartford, office No. 868 Main street, was 
born in Mount Carmel, 111., July 4, 1841, and is a 
lineal descendant of Elder William Brewster, who 
came to the country in the "Mayflower." Charles 
W. Eldridge, father of James W., was born in New 
London, Conn. ; William, the grandfather, also in 
New London; Charles (2). the great grandfather, 
in Groton, Nov. 14, 1720; Daniel, the great-great- 
grandfather, in England. The last named was 
among the early settlers at Groton. He was one 
of three brothers who came to this country, one of 
whom married a daughter of Pocahontas. 

Charles Eldridge (2), the great-grandfather, was 







EMERY DOWHIHG 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



125 



severely wounded at Fort Griswold, battle of Groton 
Heights. There is a monument in the burying- 
ground at the head of Mystic river, from which 
the following inscription is taken : "This monument, 
sacred to the memory of the late Charles Eldridge, 
Esq. He was an Ensign in the Revolution, and 
was wounded in the knee. While lying on the 
field was attacked by two British soldiers and run 
through with a bayonet, and, although left for dead, 
crawled to cover; later bribing a British soldier by 
giving him his gold watch to obtain him nourishment 
and take him to a place of safety." He had formerly 
kept a store in Groton, but that was burned by the 
British. He died Nov. 20, 1798. A full account of 
his war record is found in the work "Battle of Gro- 
ton Heights," published in 1882 by Jabez Allen. 

Grandfather William Eldridge was born Dec. 14, 
1769. He was a merchant in Groton and New 
London, where he continued in business for many 
years, shipping goods to the West Indies. Later he 
spent some years in Tolland county, where he was a 
town official, extensive land owner and prominent 
man. He was also what was known as one of the 
"fire commissioners," appointed by the United States 
government, to apportion lands set apart in north- 
ern Ohio, called "The Fire Lands," which were given 
to reimburse those who had suffered by the burning 
of New London by the British, under the auspices 
of the traitor Arnold, and assisted in laying out the 
same. James W. Eldridge has his diary, showing 
where he with two others started from New London 
with a chaise and saddle horse, and went first to New 
York, then to Pennsylvania, then to northern Ohio, 
back to Albany, and then to Hartford. He later 
went to Mount Carmel, 111., and was the owner of 
some 12,000 acres of land, the greater part of which 
was in northern Ohio, and he gave the village (now 
the city) of Cleveland, Ohio, twenty village lots, to 
be used as aburying-ground,most of which has since 
been "appropriated" — the beautiful Euclid avenue 
being one of the streets laid out through this gift 
land. Mr. Eldridge first married Elizabeth Avery, 
who was born Sept. 14, 1794. She had two chil- 
dren, Francis A. and Charles W., and died Dec. 12, 
1816. The second wife, Pauline (Lee), born Jul} 
15, 1787, had three children, Richard H., Gloriana 
H. and Ellen P., all now deceased. She died Oct. 
11, 1854. Mr. and Mrs. Eldridge were formed} 
members of the Congregational Church, but later at- 
tended the Presbyterian Church. 

Charles W. Eldridge, father of our subject, was 
born in New London, Conn., Nov. 9, 181 1, passed his 
earlier years in Tolland county, and was educated 
in the select schools. He began work as a clerk in 
Hartford, in a dry-goods store, and, later, learned 
the painting of miniatures on ivory, chiefly portraits 
of the celebrated men and women of that day. This 
he began in 1828 and traveled through the various 
cities, such as New York, Baltimore, Philadelphia, 
Chicago, Nashville, Cleveland and New Orleans, 
spending several weeks in each. Our subject has 



a diary, kept by his father at that time, which shows 
the number and names of the persons whose minia- 
tures he painted, in each of these cities. In New 
York City, on his first visit, he painted fifty-six ; in 
Springfield, Mass., nearly one hundred ; in Balti- 
more, in 1834, he painted ninety-eight. In Decem- 
ber of the same year, he located in New York, where 
he remained until October, 1836, during which time 
he painted miniatures of 250 people. He also vis- 
ited Louisville, Ky., in fact all the great cities of 
the United States. He had as a partner James 
Parker, the firm being known as Parker & Eldridge. 
They were celebrated throughout all the States of 
the Union, and were artists of high degree. Our 
subject has portraits painted in those early days by 
his father, which are to-day as perfect as when com- 
pleted. Scores of letters still remain to show the 
satisfaction which they gave their patrons, and of the 
great superiority of their work. 

The father returned to Hartford in 1865, where 
he went into the shoe business for the benefit of his 
son, and was a resident of that city until his death, 
which occurred Jan. 10, 1883. Charles Eldridge's 
second wife, Hannah (Mitchell), born Dec. 18, 1813, 
is still living in Hartford, with faculties remark- 
ably preserved. Frances E. (Parker), mother of 
James Eldridge, was born in Sag Harbor, Long 
island, N. Y., May 5, 1819, a daughter of Capt. 
William Parker, a sea captain of that town, who 
spent his life largely on the water, making his home 
in Sag Harbor, where he died. Our subject's mother 
had ten children, he being the only one living. She 
died Feb. 13, 1847. The parents of our subject were 
members of the Congregational Church. 

James Eldridge spent his early years in Illinois, 
until the age of twelve, and was up to that time edu- 
cated in the common schools. He then came East to 
Ellington, Conn., to attend the famous select school 
of Edwin Hall, 1852-1855, after which he made his 
home with his father, on Long Island, N. Y., until 
enlistment in 1862, as a private in Company A, 127th 
N. Y. V. I., of which he was soon made a corporal, 
and then promoted to sergeant. He served two years 
in this regiment, and in 1864 was discharged to ac- 
cept promotion as second lieutenant in the 23d 
United States Colored Troops, commanding his com- 
pany. He was further promoted to regimental 
quarter-master; first lieutenant in April, 1865; re- 
ceived a furlough on account of physical disability, 
and went north for treatment, and while undergoing 
same the war ended, he receiving his honorable dis- 
charge "on account of close of the war." Mr. 
Eldridge served nearly three years, and was under 
fire three hundred days, being attached to various 
army corps, including the 4th, 7th, 9th 10th, nth 
and 25th, commanded by Gens. Keyes, Banks, Gil- 
more, Weitzel, and others. His regiments partici- 
pated in many battles and skirmishes, including the 
siege of Suffolk, Va., siege of Charleston, S. C, bat- 
tles about Richmond, Petersburg, and others. He 
is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, 



126 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Loyal Legion, Army and Navy Club of Connecticut, 
Connecticut Sons of the American Revolution and 
other patriotic societies. 

Aiter leaving the service Mr. Eldridge came to 
Hartford, and entered the employ of F. A. Brown, 
in what was known as the "Charter Oak Coal Co./' 
which continued for a short time. Mr. Eldridge's 
father having bought out the "Boston Shoe Store,'' 
our subject left the coal business and joined him, 
conducting: the business successfullv some fifteen 
vears. Then, on account of failing health, he sold 
out his interest in 1880, and later entered the real- 
estate business, which he has since continued, being 
now one of the largest dealers in the city. The fine 
residence in which Mr. Eldridge lives, on Wethers- 
field avenue, opposite Mrs. Colt's residence, "Arms- 
mere," was purchased by him and remodeled, and is 
one of the finest homes on the avenue. 

James W. Eldridge has been four times married, 
(first) Oct. 29, 1867, to Ellen A. St. John, born in 
Woodbury, N. J., who died Feb. 26, 1872. For his 
second wife he married Ada E. Hight, born in New- 
port, Maine, by whom he has one child, Annie F., 
living at home (she is an artist of rare taste, but was 
compelled to give up her studies on account of 
weak eyesight) ; her mother died Feb. 5, 1879. For 
his third wife Mr. Eldridge married Emma Ells- 
worth, a great-granddaughter of Chief Justice Ol- 
iver Ellsworth. She was born in Connecticut, and 
died March 24, 1880. and for his fourth wife, he 
wedded Lillie L. Hamilton, born in Sacramento, 
Cal., a daughter of Lorenzo Hamilton, a resident of 
1 [artford, where he was a prominent man for many 
years, and was a charter member of the Young 
Men's Institute or Atheneum. Afterward he went to 
Sacramento, Cal., where he died. The family at- 
tend the Center Congregational Church, and in pol- 
itics Mr. Eldridge is a Republican. 

Mr. Eldridge has been for many years celebrated 
as a collector of original war relics and curios. In 
his beautiful home he has two rooms 30 feet long 
by 20 feet wide, which are especially adapted to his 
purpose, and which have been fitted up at great ex- 
pense. Here, tastefullv arranged, are thousands of 
valuable war relics, each of which has a history, and 
collected at an expense of thousands of dollars, from 
all parts of the country. Pages would be inade- 
quate to describe them. Here are to be seen the first 
flag carried by the first regiment to take part in any 
battle in defense of the Union ; the first Confederate 
"Stars and Bars" flag to cross the Potomac river 
which was made in Washington, D. C, by Confed- 
erate voting ladies, and was taken across Long 
Bridge the morning that Virginia seceded; the 
first solid shot fired in the war of the Rebellion : and 
a part of the first shell that exploded in Fort Sum- 
ter : a right hand gauntlet glove of T. J. (Stonewall) 
Jackson, the famous Confederate general; a chair 
from the home of Jefferson Davis, and saddle used 
by him : the famous sword of John Brown ; a wreath 
made from the hair of forty generals who took part 



in the war of the Rebellion, including that of Gen. I 
(.rant; revolver carried by Gen. Grant throughout 
the war; uniforms, sabres, drums, canteens, haver- 
sacks, knapsacks, bugles, pistols, guns carried by 
different officers and men, each telling its own story, I 
the authenticity of each article being guaranteed by • 
sworn affidavits from persons of character and relia- 
bility. The collection is undoubtedly the largest in I 
the I nited States. In addition to this Mr. Eldridge 
has a collection of autographs, numbering into the! 
thousands. He also has the finest historical collec-- { 
tion of Confederate money in the world, including 
all issues of every denomination, and a majority of 
the serial numbers, issued by the so-called Confed- 
erate States ; a war library given up to literature, | 
of the war of the Rebellion, of over five thousand 
volumes ; and manuscript official letter books and t 
files, pertaining to the Rebellion, covering over a 
thousand pages of matter, all of which he is pleased j 
to exhibit to those who are interested and apprecia-l 
tive, and especially to classes of school children, wdiol 
often visit his rooms — his object being lessons ini 
patriotism for the young. 

EDWARD EVERETT HURLBCRT, of Hart- J 
ford, Conn., is of the eighth generation in descent! 
from Thomas Hurlbut, his pioneer ancestor in thel 
New World, tracing his line of descent through! 
Joseph O., Luman, Joseph, John, Thomas, and Ste-I 
phen to Thomas Hurlbut. As will be seen, the! 
name was originally Hurlbut, and our subject's fa- 
ther was the hrst to write it Hurlburt, which spell- 
ing has since been adopted by all the family. 

(I) Thomas Hurlbut, a blacksmith by trade, jr 
came to America in 1635, settling first at Saybrook, 
and after the Pecpiot war (in which he was a soldier 
tinder Lion Gardiner) locating at W'ethersfield, 
Conn. He was a prominent man, both politically 
and socially, in that town. His wife's name was 
Sarah. 

(II) Stephen Hurlbut, born in Wethersfield, 
Conn., about 1649, was by trade a mechanic. His 
wife's name was Dorothy. 

(III) Thomas Hurlbut, born in Wethersfield, 
Conn., Jan. 27,, 1680, a farmer by occupation, mar- 
ried Jan. 11, 1705, Rebecca Meekins. He died April 
10, 1761. 

(IV) Lieut. John Hurlbut, a farmer, born in 
Wethersfield, Conn., Oct. 1, 1710, settled in Hart- 
ford, Conn., on the east side of the river. He mar- 
ried (first) Feb. 2, 1738, Mary Ann Cowles, who 
died Aug. 31, 1739. He married (second) Oct. 1, 
1741, Mabel Loomis. He died April 21, 1778. 

(V) Joseph Hurlbut, born in Hartford, in May, 
1744, married Sarah Roberts, and died Sept. 21, 
1796. 

(VI) Luman Hurlbut, born Oct. 14, 1788, mar- 
ried Mary Olmstead, and died May 20, 1865. 

(VII) Joseph Olmsted Hurlburt, born July 31, 
1822, married Oct. 30, 1844, Amelia Almira, daugh- 
ter of Horace and Almira Hills, of East Hartford, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



127 



Conn. Issue: (i) Ellen Amelia, born Sept. 13, 
1846, married George W. Roberts and had four 
children — (a) Helen M., born July 31, 1869; (b) 
George H., born March 25, 1874, who died Feb. 10, 
1877; (c) Alfred E., born March 5, 1878; and 
(d) George W., born Oct. 9, 1886. (2) Henry Win- 
throp, born Feb. 13, 1851, died June 7, 1884. His 
children — (a) Anna Louise, born Aug. 21, 1874; 
(b) Mabel, born in 1875, who died same year; (c) 
Xellie Mary, born Nov. 2, 1877, who was married 
April 25, 1900, to Clarence Edgar Whitney; and 
(cl) Florence, born in 1881, who died in 1884. (3) 
Mary Louise was born March 28, 1857. (4) Kath- 
arine Maria was born Feb. 5, 1861. (5) Edward 
Everett, a sketch of whom follows. Joseph O. 
Hurlburt, the father of this familv, received his 
education in East Hartford, and for several years 
taught in the old North school, Hartford. During 
the last twenty years of his life he was principal of 
the Wethersfield high school, and he died March 
18, 1899. He was a member of the County and 
State Teachers Association. 

Edward Everett Hurlburt, whose name opens 
this sketch, was born July 31, 1863, in Hartford, 
where he obtained his education. At the age of six- 
teen years he entered the employ of Botsford & In- 
graham, beef and provision merchants, Hartford, 
and with them remained five years, or until he was 
twenty-one years old, at which time he commenced 
business on his own account on Spruce street, Hart- 
ford. In 1899 he removed to Hoadlev Place, and 
in 1900 incorporated the business as "The Connec- 
ticut Beef Co.," which enjoys a wide and increasing 
trade. 

In 1884 Edward E. Hurlburt was united in mar- 
riage with Miss Susan Elizabeth Stone, of Hartford, 
daughter of Charles Stone, of Ashland, 111., and 
three children have been born to them : Ruth Ame- 
lia, Jan. 22, 1886; Marjorie Stone, Mav 31, 1887; 
and Harry Olmstead, Sept. 25, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. 
Hurlburt are members of the Episcopal Church ; 
socially he is affiliated with the F. & A. M. and 
Royal Arcanum ; in politics he is a Republican. 

JAMES MONROE GRANT, retired, one of the 
prominent well-to-do citizens of Hartford, was born 
at Ashford, Windham Co., Conn., May 27, 1820, and 
comes of patriotic Revolutionary stock. 

Hamilton Grant, his father, was born in Pomfret, 
Conn., a son of John Grant, who was killed in the 
Wyoming massacre. Hamilton in early manhood 
was a school teacher, later in life following agricul- 
tural pursuits. During the Revolutionary war he 
enlisted in the patriot army, and fought in the bat- 
tle of Bunker Hill under Capt. Knowlton, at the con- 
clusion of the war returning to the paths of peace, 
and during the rest of his days making his home in 
Ashford, Conn. He there married Lucy Williams, 
of Groton, Conn., and by her had nine children, two 
of whom are yet living: Minerva ( Airs. Snow), liv- 
in Willimantic, Conn ; and James Monroe, our 



subject. The father died in 1823, the mother in 
1865. 

James M. Grant, whose name opens this sketch, 
received his education in the schools of Ashford, 
Mansfield and Willington, all in Connecticut, and 
worked on farms till he was eighteen years of age, 
when he engaged in the silk business in Willington, 
remaining there four years ; then was overseer for 
Storr's Silk Mill, in Gurleyville, Tolland county, 
two years ; after which he was with Cheney Bros., 
in Manchester for several years, and then was em- 
ployed as overseer of silk mills in Manchester and 
Hartford. For over forty-two years he operated a 
silk mill in company with Mr. Sourby in Northamp- 
ton, Mass., also one in Bridgeport with Williams & 
Johnson, but for about the past sixteen years he has 
lived retired, having secured a competency from his 
patents on reeling silk and on an equalizer as well 
as on other devices pertaining to that trade. 

Mr. Grant has been twice married, first time, in 
1850, in Manchester, Conn., to Julia Inglesby, by 
whom he had no children. For his second wife he 
wedded, in 1872, in Springfield, Alice Wheeler, by 
whom he has two children: (1) James M., Jr., who 
married Jane Eliza Grant, and has two children, 
Thelma Viola and Hamilton Monroe; and (2) Alice 
Viola, who wedded Frank E. Ray, and has one 
child, Doris Grant. 

In religious faith the family are identified with 
the Episcopal Church. In politics Mr. Grant is a 
Republican, and, socially, is a member of the Sons 
of the American Revolution and of the Governor's 
Foot Guard. For a man of his years he is remark- 
ably well preserved, enjoying good health, with 
facnlties unimpaired, and of late years he has de- 
voted his time to the improvement of his real-estate 
holdings. Mr. Grant has a wide circle of friends 
and acquaintances, whose esteem and respect he 
justly merits. 

WILLIAM COTTER (deceased) was one of the 
well-known business men of Hartford, where he con- 
ducted a successful liverv business for more than a 
quarter of a century. His stables, known as the 
Buckingham stables, are still among the largest in 
the city, and the business is carried on by his sons, 
Daniel and Thomas, with every prospect of contin- 
ued prosperity. 

Mr. Cotter was born Sept. 22, 1852, in Portland, 
Conn., and was one of a family of nine children, of 
whom only one is now living. His father, Thomas 
Cotter, a farmer by occupation, became blind as a re- 
sult of overwork, and now makes his home with his 
daughter, Mrs. Lawrence Shay, of East Haddam. 
Our subject's educational advantages were such as 
fell to the lot of the poor fanner boy, and he left 
home and school at an early age. With the well- 
known Frederick Russell, one of the largest invest- 
ors in the Portland Brown Stone Co., our subject 
remained in the capacity of coachman for nearly 
ten years. At the age of twenty-four years he re- 



128 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



moved to Hartford, and engaged in the livery busi- 
ness on Trinity street, opposite the Capitol, continu- 
ing about fifteen years. In June, 1889, he located at 
No. 19, Buckingham street, remodeling the barn 
there. Mr. Cotter was a intense lover of good 
burses, and one of the best judges of good horse- 
flesh in the city. For sixteen years he drove Lyman 
B. Jewell, of the Jewell Belting Co., keeping the 
horses at his stables, and driving them whenever 
Mr. Jewell needed him. He had taken Mr. Jewell 
through every section of the county, while out on 
hunting trips, and possessed the fullest confidence 
and appreciation of that gentleman, who. in speak- 
ing of him, said Mr. Cotter was one of the truest and 
most upright men whom he had ever known. Mr. 
Cotter's death occurred Aug. 24, 1899, am l his re ~ 
mains were interred in Blue Hills cemetery, Hart- 
ford. The latter months of his illness he was con- 
fined to the house, although he directed his business 
almost to the last. He was a quiet man, and at- 
tended strictly to his business, belonging to no socie- 
ties. He was of a sociable disposition, however, and 
made many friends, not a few of whom dropped in 
upon him in his last illness to brighten his hours of 
confinement. He never discussed politics, and was 
not an office seeker ; he with his family was long 
identified with St. Peter's Catholic Church at 
Hartford. 

On Nov. 14. 1875, ^ r - Cotter was married to 
Miss Mary FitzGibbons, who was born in Ireland, 
daughter of Daniel and Johanna (Crowley) Fitz- 
Gibbons. Her father died in Ireland when she was 
quite young, and she came to America at an early 
age, locating in Massachusetts. Four children were 
born to this union: Daniel F., Thomas W., Mazie 
and Josephine, all at home. 

WALTER COLLYER FAXOX. assistant 
secretary of the ^Etna Life Insurance Co., was 
born in Hartford July 18. 18^6, son of Hiram and 
Margaret Maria (Collyer) Faxon. His ancestry 
is traced back to the "Mayflower" Pilgrims, he 
being a lineal descendant of Gov. William Brad- 
ford, through the Adams. Collins, Terry and Ol- 
cott families, and from Richard Warren, through 
the Church and Olcott families. ( )ther names of 
noted persons to be found anion? his ancestry are 
those of Francis Elliott. John Whitman, Edmund 
Hobart, Rev. Solomon Stoddard, Rev. John Ware- 
ham, John Pantry, John Norton, John Stanley, 
George Stocking, William Sprague, Anthony 
Earns, Thomas Bunce and Thomas Wells. 

After being graduated at the Hartford Public 
High School, in April, 1874, Mr. Faxon entered the 
employ of the Travelers Insurance Co., where dur- 
ing a period of nearly seventeen years he received 
the training and insight into the accident business 
which has contributed so materially toward fitting 
him for the position he now occupies. When the 
aer:, lent department of the .Etna Life Insurance 
Co. was decided upon, Mr. Faxon was selected as 
the man especially qualified to assist in its organi- 



zation, and he entered the employ of that company 
Jan. 1, 1 89 1, on which date the first accident policy 
was issued to the president of the company, ex- 
Gov. Morgan G. Bulkeley. Policy number one is 
still in force. In the first year die gross premium 
receipts of the company in its accident department 
were less than $40,000. In its tenth year, just 
closed, they exceed $1,100,000, a most remarkable 
growth for the first ten years of a business of that 
nature. During the first years of his connection 
with the ^Etna Life Mr. Faxon held a clerical po- 
sition; in 1895 the office of assistant secretary in 
the accident department was created, and he was 
appointed to it. How successfully he has filled 
the position is demonstrated by the rapid growth 
of the business, in which his energies and ambi- 
tions are all concentrated. 

Mr. Faxon is a member of the Order of Found- 
ers and Patriots of America, and is a councillor 
general of the General Court of the order, having 
been elected to that office Nov. 23, 1900. 

On May 23, 1877, Walter C. Faxon was mar- 
ried to Nellie A. White, born in Somers, Conn., 
June 25, 1857, a daughter of Josiah and Hannah 
(Pease) White. She is a lineal descendant of 
Elder John White, and among her early ancestry 
are to be found the names of Robert Dunbar, 
John Gardner, Edmund Hobart, Edward Wilder, 
Samuel Tower, Rev. Thomas Wally, George Rus- 
sell, Matthew Cushing, Thomas Thaxter, Aaron 
Cook, Rev. Ephraim Hewitt, Gov. John Webster, 
John Marsh, John Ells, Robert Pease and John 
Emery. Among those of Mrs. Faxon's ancestors 
who served in the Revolutionary war may be men- 
tioned the following: Stephen Pease, Justin Ash- 
lex - , Corp. Abel Cushing, Joseph Ashley, Thomas 
Wilder, Col. David Cushing, Josiah Pierce, Eben- 
czer White, Robert Garnett and Samuel Church, 
the honored names appearing in eight different an- 
cestral lines. Mrs. Faxon has made extensive re- 
searches in genealogy, holds a life membership in 
the Sons of the American Revolution, and is also 
an active member of the Daughters of the Ameri- 
can Revolution. 

( I I Thomas Faxon, the first ancestor of Wal- 
ter C. Faxon in America, was born i:i England 
about 1 60 1, and came to America before 1647, first 
locating at Dedham. Mass., later settling in Brain- 
tree, where he died Nov. 23, 1680. A very promi- 
nent man in his day, he transacted a large amount 
of public business. His wife, Joane, died some 
time between 1663 and 1670. 

(II) Richard Faxon, son of Thomas, the emi- 
grant, born in England in \U\o, died Dec. 20, 
1674. He married Elizabeth ('Hubbard (?), born 
in 1633, who died Aug. 9, 1704, at the age of sev- 
enty-one. 

(III) Thomas Faxon, son of Richard, was born 
in Braintree, Mass., Aug. 2. 1662, and was a pros- 
perous farmer. He died in 1690, his remains be- 
ing interred in Weymouth, Mass. He married 
Mary Blanchard, born Dec. 1, 1662. 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



129 



(IV) Richard Faxon, son of Thomas, was 
born in Braintree, Mass., Sept. 4, 1686, and died 
May 5, 1768. On Dec. 29, 1709, he married Ann 
Brackett, born July 18,- 1687, who died Oct. 16, 
1769. 

(V) Ihomas Faxon, son of Richard, was born 
in Braintree, Mass., Oct. 29, 1710, and died in 
1801. Me married (first) Sept. 22, 1746, Eliza- 
beth Hobart, who died April 5, 1752. 

(VI) Ebenezer Faxon, son of Thomas, and 
great-grandfather of Walter C, was born in 
Braintree, Mass., Dec. 12, 1749, and Jan. 6, 1772, 
came to West Hartford, where he carried on the 
manufacture of earthenware, and died Jan. 11, 
181 1. On Feb. 8, 1776, he married Eleanor Whit- 
man, born in 1755, died Nov. 30, 1827. 

(VII) Flihu Faxon, son of Ebenezer, and 
grandfather of Walter C, was born in West Hart- 
ford Nov. 6, 1779, and died June 30, 1847. O n 
July 8, 1807, he married Elizabeth Olcott, born 
April 22, 1784, a daughter of James and Lucy 
(Terry) Olcott. She died Dec. 21, 1854. 

(Vill) Hiram Faxon, son of Elihu, and father 
of Walter C, was born Aug. 11, 1817, in Nassau, 
N. Y., whence he removed to Buffalo, afterward 
to Brooklyn, N. Y., and then to Hartford, Conn., 
where he died Oct. 30, 1883. On March 31, 1842, 
he married Margaret Maria Collyer, born Oct. 2, 
1822, who died Jan. 12, i860. She was a daugh- 
ter of William and Margaret (Power) Collyer, of 
Marblehead, Mass., and granddaughter of Isaac 
and Sarah (Courtis) Collyer, of Marblehead, the 
former of whom was a lieutenant in the Revolu- 
tionary army. 

FRANCIS HENRY SPENCER, member of the 
widely-known firm of George F. Spencer & Co., 
carmen, Hartford, of which he is also manager, 
is a native of Connecticut, born Sept. 1, 1870, in Suf- 
field. He is a member of one of the oldest and most 
highly honored families of New England, being a 
lineal descendant of 

( f ) Thomas Spencer, who with his wife came 
to Hartford in the company of Thomas Hooker. He 
was representative to the General Court, and had a 
grant of land given him for his services. 

(II) Samuel Spencer, son of- the above, moved 
to Windham (now Scotland), Connecticut. 

(III) John Spencer, son of Samuel, born in 
Windham, died a violent death during the raising of 
a church, and is buried in Scotland. He had five 
sons in the Revolutionary war. 

(IV) Jonathan Spencer, son of John, born in 
Windham, was one of those who "turned out" at 
the ••Lexington Alarm." He married a Miss 
Brown, of Brooklyn, Connecticut. 

( V ) Ichabod Spencer, son of the above, born in 
Scotland, Conn., in July, 1781, passed the greater 
part of his life there in agricultural pursuits, dying 
in Mav, 1853. He was twice married, first to Hen- 
rietta Babcock, by whom he had children as fol- 
lows : Lucius, deceased; George D., a sketch of 
9 



whom follows; Mary E., wife of Zadock Babcock, 
of South Windham ; and Joseph B., of Windham. 
To the second marriage came the following : Charles 
E., of Lebanon, Conn. ; and Frederick, deceased. 

(VI) George D. Spencer, grandfather of Fran- 
cis H., was born January 26, 1813, in Lisbon (now 
Sprague), Conn., and was there reared and edu- 
cated. For several years he clerked in stores in 
Lebanon, Norwich and Hartford, after which he 
went into the grocery business on his own account 
at Hampton, and later, from 1847 -° J 864, in Leb- 
anon. He spent the latter years of his life at the 
home of his son George F., in Deep River, dying in 
1885, at the age of seventy-two years. Politically 
he was first a Whig, afterward a Republican, and 
in 1854 he represented Lebanon in the Legislature; 
was also town clerk and judge of probate for many 
years, being altogether a very prominent man. He 
was a member of the Baptist Church, in which he 
served as trustee and treasurer. In Hampton, 
Conn., in June, 1839, George D. Spencer married 
Martha Maria Spalding, of that place, born in De- 
cember, 181 5, who died in May, 1883, a daughter of 
Francis and Martha (Hilbrook) Spalding, of Can- 
terbury, Conn. Children as follows were born to 
this union: George F. (sketch of whom follows) 
and Dwight S. The latter born in 185 1, died! 
March 9, 1883; at the time of his decease he was a 
member of the firm of Spencer Bros., of Deep River.. 
A short time after his decease the father also died,, 
and three days later the mother, too, was called, 
from earth. 

(VII) George F. Spencer, father of Francis 
H., was born Jan. 18, 1842, in Hampton, Conn., was 
reared in Lebanon, and there attended the common 
schools and Lebanon Academy. For four years he 
was steward and collector of the Connecticut Lit- 
erary Institute, at Suffield, Conn. At the age of 
twenty-three he embarked in a general merchandise 
business in South Windham, then, after a couple of 
years, in December, 1875, moved to Deep River, 
where he bought out the store of Griswold & Smith, 
and carried same on in company with his brother 
Dwight until the latter's death. Since then he has 
been alone in the business, which is widely known. 
He is also engaged in the coal business. In April, 
1896, along with his son Francis H., he commenced 
the trucking business in Hartford, which will be 
mentioned more fully farther on. 

George F. Spencer has been twice married, first 
time in 1868, to Martha Champlin, born in Lebanon,, 
a daughter of Robert Champlin, a shipbuilder there, 
who married Lucretia Bailey and had two children : 
Martha (Mrs. G. F. Spencer) and Henry (in Chi- 
cago). The father died at the age of seventy-four, 
the mother when eighty-four. Two children were 
born to George F. and Martha Spencer ; Francis H., 
our subject; and Arthur C, a lawyer in Portland, 
Oregon, born Oct. 17, 1872. The mother died in 
Suffield, Conn., in 1872, at the age of thirty-two 
years, a consistent member of the Baptist Church. 



130 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



On Jan. i, 1875, for his second wife, George F. 
Spencer wedded Esther Linsley, daughter of John 
S. Linsley, of Northford, Conn., and children as 
follows came to this union : Martha L., horn Oct. 
28, 1875; George D., Aug. 22, 1878; Benjamin H., 
Nov. 9, 1885; Charles S., Oct. 26, 1887; and Es- 
ther. Nov. 28, 1889. 

In his political preferences George F. Spencer 
is a Republican, and for sixteen years — from 1880 
to 1896 — was chairman of the Republican town 
committee. In 1884 he was a representative of his 
town in the Legislature, and served on the Buck- 
ingham Statue (special) committee; in 1893 he 
again represented the town, and was on the com- 
mittees on Humane Institutions, Judicial Nomina- 
tions, and Health. For over fifteen years he was a 
member of the school board, serving much of the 
time as chairman; since 1893 has been a member 
of the State Board of Charters; and is a director 
of the Deep River National Bank, and the Williman- 
tic Savings Bank. An influential member of die 
Baptist Church, he is a deacon in same, and, taken 
all in all, he is one of the most prominent men in 
Middlesex county. 

Francis H. Spencer, the subject proper of these 
line, passed the earlier years of his life in Lebanon 
and Deep River, from the high school of which lat- 
ter place he graduated, subsequently attending Ver- 
mont Academy, at Saxtons River, Yt., from which 
institution he was graduated in 1890. Subsequent 
to this he took a special course at Colgate Univer- 
sity, Hamilton. N. Y., and then for a time took up 
his residence in Deep River. In 1896 he came to 
Hartford and joined his father in the trucking busi- 
ness, buying out Webb & Shield, the firm being now 
known as George F. Spencer & Co., Francis Jl. 
being manager. The concern is one of the best 
known and largest in that line in the country, and 
enjoys a wide patronage. 

In 1894, at Brattleboro, Yt., Francis H. Spencer 
was married to Abbie Fuller, born in Brattleboro, 
daughter of George W. Fuller, and niece of the late 
Gov. L. K. Fuller, of Yermont. Her father was 
superintendent of the Estey Organ Co., and is still 
living in Vermont. He married Zylphy Phippen, a 
native of Cambridgeport, Yt., and three children 
were born to them: Walter G., who is in Brattle- 
boro, Yt. ; Albert M., in Minneapolis. Minn.; and 
Abbie E. (Mrs. Spencer). To our subject and 
his wife has been born one son, Walter F. In pol- 
itics Mr. Spencer is a Republican ; in 1889 was 
elected member of the common council : in 1890 was 
re-elected, and same year was made president 
thereof. Socially he is affiliated with the F. & A. 
M., and the Royal Arcanum. In religious faith he 
and his wife are members of the First Baptist 
Church. As a citizen he is wide-awake and pro- 
gressive, and the circle of his friends is limited only 
by the circle of his acquaintances, which is ven 
large, while his name is synonymous with honora- 
ble dealing. 



ELISHAMA BRANDEGEE, M. D. On 
Feb. 17, 1884, there passed away, at his home in 
Berlin, a well-beloved physician, whose many years 
of faithful toil in his profession had made his name 
a household word in that community. Nor had 
his influence and his efforts been confined to pro- 
fessional lines only, for in all the varied activities 
of our common life he had taken a helpful part as 
a loyal citizen, devoting his abilities to the cause of 
progress. Dr. Brandegee was a man whose death 
brought a loss to all classes, and the following brief 
account of one so esteemed will be read with un- 
usual interest. 

The Doctor was born in the old Brandegee 
homestead on Berlin street Jan. 14. 1814, and be- 
longed to an old Connecticut family of English 
origin. His great-grandfather, Jacob Brandegee, 
was born at Nine Partners in 1720; his mother bore 
the maiden name of Brock. He was engaged in 
the West India trade, running vessels from Rocky 
Hill. Conn., and died at sea March 25, 1765. On 
Oct. n. 1752, he married Abigail Dunham, of 
Hartford, who was born in 1737. and died in 1825. 

Capt. Elishama Brandegee, the Doctor's grand- 
father, was born in Christian Lane, Berlin, April 
17. 1754. and was a sea captain, also engaged in 
the West India trade and in merchandising in Ber- 
lin, where he died Feb. 26, 1832. During the Rev- 
olutionary war. May 5, 1775. he enlisted in the 2d 
Company, 2d Connecticut Regiment, under Capt. 
VVyllys. He was recruited in Middlesex county, 
and participated in the battle of Bunker Hill, after 
which he was detached and joined Capt. Hanchett's 
company, Sept. 1. 1775. He took part in the assault 
on Quebec Dec. 31, 1775, and was with Gens. 
Arnold and Montgomery at Montreal. After the 
assault on Quebec he was taken prisoner. The 
2d regiment was organized under Col. Wyllys as a 
Continental regiment. Capt. Brandegee was mar- 
ried, March 10, 1778. to Mrs. Lucy (Plumb) Wes- 
ton, of Middletown. who died Feb. 1. 1827, and the 
remains of both were interred in the South bury- 
ing-grcund, Berlin. 

Elishama Brandegee, father of our subject, was 
born in Berlin Nov. 5. 1784. He conducted a store 
on Berlin street, near where Brandegee Hall now 
stands, and also engaged in the manufacture of 
thread. He was a man of excellent ability, and was 
quite prominent in business affairs. He married 
Emilv Stocking, who was born in Cromwell, Conn., 
Nov. 29. 1793. The Stocking family was founded 
in Massachusetts in 1633, and three years later one 
of its representatives. George Stocking, came to 
Hartford with Rev. Thomas Hooker. In 1650 they 
were among the first settlers of Middletown, Conn., 
and Samuel Stocking was the first deacon of the 
first church at that place. 

The primary education of Dr. Brandegee was 
obtained in the Cheshire Academy, and later he was 
a student in the Simeon Hart Academy, of Farni- 
insrton. He attended Yale College, from which he 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



131 



was graduated in 1833; was graduated from the 
Medical Department of that institution, and subse- 
quently attended lectures at a medical school in 
Castleton, \ t., from which he was also graduated. 
For two or three years he was engaged in practice 
in St. Louis, Mo., but at the end of that time re- 
turned home on account of his father's ill health, 
and from 1841 up to within eight weeks of his death 
he was actively engaged in practice in Berlin. He 
was one of the ablest representatives of the medical 
fraternity in that locality, and enjoyed a large and 
lucrative practice, which extended throughout Ber- 
lin, East Berlin, Westfield, Newington, Rocky Hill, 
Xew Britain, Beckley and Kensington. 

On April 28, 1841, Dr. Brandegee was united 
in marriage with Miss Florence Stith, of Peters- 
burg, Va., who was born in Florence, Italy, Nov. 
•8, 1822, a daughter of Maj. Townshend and Cath- 
erine (Potter) Stith. Her father was a soldier of 
the Mexican war, and was minister to Tunis under 
President Monroe. To the Doctor and his wife 
were born the following children : Townshend 
Stith, who was a member of the 1st Conn. V. I. 
during the Civil war, married Katharine Layne, 
and is now living in San Diego, Cal. ; he is a civil 
■engineer by profession, but is devoting his time to 
botany. Charles, a member of the 5th New York 
Zouaves during the Civil war, married Mabel Dag- 
gett, and formerly lived in the West, but now 
makes his home in Farmington, Conn., where he is 
serving as town clerk ; he has one child, Hilda. 
Florence Stith resides with her mother in Berlin. 
Robert Boiling married Susan Lord, and has one 
•child, Robert Lord; he is an artist, having studied 
in Paris, and now has a studio in Farmington. 
Emily Stocking and Katharine live at home with 
their mother. Henry Melville died in Helena, 
Mont., at the age of thirty-seven years, and his re- 
mains were interred in the South burying-ground, 
Berlin. Edith Victorina died at the age of six 
years. Horace Stocking died at the age of four 
and a half years. Arthur Latimer is a florist of 
Berlin. Edward New ton is in the real-estate busi- 
ness in Helena, Montana. 

In 1850 Dr. Brandegee took up his residence in 
the house where his death occurred. This place 
was built by his father for the teachers of the 
Worthington Academy, which at that time was 
quite a flourishing educational institution ; later the 
house was sold, and the Doctor purchased it from 
Joseph Booth. He remodeled the same, and it is 
to-day one of the most pleasant homes on Berlin 
street. He always took an active interest in edu- 
cational matters, was a friend to the public schools, 
and was very instrumental in establishing the Ber- 
lin Library. He was a great student, and devoted 
■considerable time to the study of nature, making 
a specialty of botany and the analyzation of trees, 
flowers, etc. Politically he was a standi Repub- 
lican, and filled the offices of assessor and treas- 
urer of the schools of Berlin. Although, of a modesl 



and retiring disposition, he made many warm 
friends, and was highly respected by all who knew 
him. He was a consistent and faithful member of 
the Congregational Church of Berlin, of which his 
estimable wife is also a member. 

GEORGE TERWILLIGER FINCH, M. D., 
is one of the leading physicians and prominent resi- 
dents of Thompsonville. He has much natural abil- 
ity, but is withal a close student, and believes thor- 
oughly in the maxim "there is no excellence with- 
out labor." His devotion to the duties of his pro- 
fession, therefore, combined with a comprehensive 
understanding of the principles of the science of 
medicine, has made him a most successful and able 
practitioner, one whose prominence is well de- 
served. 

Dr. Finch was born in Penn Yan, N. Y., June 
28, 1854, a son of Martin J. and Mary E. (Craven I 
Finch, who were natives of Ohio and New York, 
respectively, and of English ancestry. The paternal 
grandfather, Martin Finch, was a pioneer farmer 
of Muskingum county, Ohio, and the maternal 
grandfather, James Craven, was an early settler of 
Yates county, N. Y. The father, Martin J. Finch, 
was a resident of Elmira, N. Y., from 1858. For 
twenty-eight years he was a traveling salesman 
for the Downer Oil Company of New York City, 
and was engaged in the oil business on his own 
account in Elmira for several years. He died in 
August, 1899, at the age of eighty-two. 

Dr. Finch accompanied his parents on their re- 
moval to Elmira, and in the public schools of that 
city he began his education. Subsequently he at- 
tended the Elmira Free Academy and Hobart Col- 
lege, Geneva, N. Y., graduating from the latter in 
1875. The same year he commenced the study of 
medicine in the office of Dr. J. K. Stanchfield, of 
Elmira, and was graduated from Bellevue Hospital 
Medical College, New York City, in 1878. Im- 
mediately afterward he was appointed house sur- 
geon of Hartford Hospital, Hartford, Conn., and 
later house physician, remaining there until June, 
1879, when he located in Thompsonville. He has 
since been in the active and successful practice of 
his profession at that place. 

Dr. Finch has been twice married, his first wife 
having been Fannie R. Allen, a daughter of Horace 
1',. and Mary A. (Bancroft) Allen, of Enfield, 
Hartford county. Two sons were born of that 
union: Martin A. and George C. The Doctor's 
present wife was, in her maidenhood, Miss Ida M. 
Young, a daughter of Winfield E. and Mary 
(Welsh) Young, of Middletown, Conn. Dr. and 
Mrs. Finch are members of the Episcopal Church. 
and fraternally he belongs to the F. & A. M., the 
Ancient Order of Foresters, the Connecticut State 
Medical Society, and the Hartford .Medical Society. 
He casts his ballot with the Republican party, and 
in 1895 he represented the town of Enfield in the 
State Legislature. For sixteen years he has been 



132 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



a member of the Thompsonville district committee, 
acting visitor for fifteen years, and is the present 
health officer of the town. 

ALBERT D. GRISWOLD (deceased) was a 
native of the town of Wethersfield, as was his fa- 
ther, Capt. Francis, and his grandfather, Caleb. 
Francis Griswold, who was a sailor, married Sarah 
Pierce Deming, of the same place. He was the 
father of ten children, of whom Albert D. was third 
in the order of birth, the names of the other nine 
being Francis, Sarah, Robert B., Louise C, Teresa 
C, Robert P.. Ella, Martha and Florine. 

Albert D. Griswold lived in the town of Weth- 
ersfield until he attained his majority, when he went 
to Ashland. .Minn., where he carried on business 
as a lumber dealer and proprietor of a sawmill. 
Jn 1859, becoming dissatisfied with the business 
outlook, he returned to his native place, and ac- 
cepted a position as overseer on the farm of the 
Robbins Seed Co. In their employ he remained 
for two years, then in 1869 went to Rocky Hill, 
where he bought a farm, upon which one of his 
sons, W. F., now lives, and where he made his home 
until his death, in 1889. 

On April 26. 1856. Mr. Griswold married Miss 
Mary A. Wells, of Wethersfield, who bore him nine 
children. Some brief mention of this numerous 
family cannot fail to be of interest. ( 1 ) The eldest, 
Mary E., was educated in the public and high 
schools of Hartford, and for twenty-two years has 
been a school teacher. During most of this time 
she has been employed in the schools of Hartford 
county, and for six vears past has taught at Man- 
chester. Her devotion to her profession has led 
her to keep fully abreast with every onward and 
upward movement inaugurated by the leading ed- 
ucators of the country, and she has attained an en- 
viable reputation in the profession which she has 
chosen for her life work. (2) W. F. Griswold, 
whose biographical sketch appears elsewhere, was 
the second child and eldest son. (3) Emma L. is 
deceased. ( 4 1 Florine is the wife of Henry L. 
Vibberts, of Manchester. (5) Hattie is now the 
wife of James W. Williams, ticket agent for the 
New York. Xew Haven & Hartford R. R. at Xew 
Britain: they are the parents of three children. 
James G., Harold A. and Horace. (6) Sarah L. 
married George W. Best, of Wethersfield. a night 
watchman in the State penitentiarv at that place : 
they have one child. Donald D. (7) Albert A. 
died in 1876. and (8) Jesse D. is a teacher in the 
public schools of Hartford, having graduated from 
the State Xormal institution at Xew Britain. ( 9 > 
Everett C. is an insurance man. and makes his home 
with his mother at Rocky Hill. 

Mr. Griswold, while never seeking office, was 
the recipient of many proffered honors from his 
fellow townsmen in the way of election to posi- 
tions 1 I r 5] risibility and trust. Besides having 
been selectman of Rocky Hill, he represented his 



town in the Legislature during the session of 1883. 
For twenty-two years he served as school visitor, 
and for many terms filled the office of justice of the 
peace, in which position his unswerving integrity 
and keen common sense rendered him particularly 
acceptable to honest litigants and a terror to evil- I 
doers. In politics he was a Democrat, and in his 
general convictions liberal and broad-minded. He. 
was public-spirited, and always ready to aid in the 
promotion of any enterprise looking toward the 
benefit of the town of his residence. It was from 
an impulse of this sort that he became one of the 
founders of the Rocky Hill Library Association. 

LESTER GOODEXOCGH (deceased), who 
for over sixty years was an honored resident of 
Bristol, was well known and highly esteemed, not 
only as a successful business man. but as a good,. ] 
useful, loyal citizen. 

Levi Goodenough, his grandfather, was born 
in Maiden, Mass., Jan. 30, ^JJ2, and died Jan. 31, 
1858, in Peacham, Yt. He was thrice married,, 
first time, April 2, 1793, to Betsey Walker, who 
was horn April 10, 1770, and died April 30, 1816, 
the mother of children as follows: (1) Ephraim 
was the father of cur subject. ( 2 | Ashbel, born 
Jan. II, 1795, died Dec. 3, 1874; he married Xancy 
Carter. (3) Levi, Jr., horn March 31, 1798, died 
Nov. 3. 1878. (4) Betsey, born Feb. 3, 1800, died 
Aug. 29, 1844. (5) Phebe was born April 2$ r 
1802. (6) Sally, born July 22, 1804, died May 30,. 
1870; she married John Harvey, of Barnet, At. 
(7) Hiram, born July 8. 1807, died Jan. 15, 1811. 
( S ) Almira, born March 29. 1809, married a Mr. 
Maine, of Ohio. (9) Walker, born Feb. 15. 1812, 
died Jan. 15, 1814. (10) Warner W.. born Xov. 
12, 1 81 4, married Sarah J. Davis, of Plainfield, 
Yt. For his second wife Levi Goodenough mar- 
ried. Dec. 19, 1816, Clarissa Way. who was born 
Xov. 25, 1783, and died Sept. 27,, 1830. leaving 
three children: Harriet, born March 28. 1818; 
Daniel, Xov. 11, 1820; and Alma. Oct. 6. 1822. 
For his third wife Levi Goodenough wedded, Jan. 
29, 1835. Ruth Walker, who died March 8, 1844, 
without issue. 

Ephraim Goodenough, son of the above, and fa- 
ther of the late Lester Goodenough, was born Xov. 
19, 1793. in Peacham. Yt.. and died April 6, 1873,. 
in Bristol, Conn. In early life he was a carpenter, 
and also followed the trade of wheelwright. He- 
was a consistent member of the M. E. . Church, 
and in politics was a Republican. On Dec. 17, 
1818, Ephraim Goodenough married Martha E. 
Ladd, who was born Sept. 13. 1794. in Peacham. 
Vt., a daughter of Tiling and Elizabeth (Jimsonj 
Ladd. She died Jan. 26, 1838. at Burlington, 
Conn., the mother of children as follows: (il 
Lester, the subject proper of this sketch. 12) 
Viola Eliza, horn Dec. nj, 1821, married Ranslaer 
K a \ ne's ford, of Ylford, Mass.. and died June 22. 
1876, at West Hartford, Conn. (3) Orlando,. 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



133 



feorn Feb. 17, 1824, died in Burlington, Dec. 4, 
1844. unmarried. (4) Rodney, born May 13, 
1827. died Jan. 2J, 1880, in Dallas, Oregon; he 
was a sea captain, and went to California in 1849. 
( 5 ) Waldo, born Feb. 2$, 1832, in Bristol, is a 
printer in Leavenworth, Kansas. 

Lester Goodenough, whose name opens this 
memoir, was born Sept. 18, 1820, in Burlington, 
Conn., and died Dec. 20, 1898, in Bristol. He re- 
ceived his education in the common schools of Bur- 
lington and the Bristol Academy. Mr. Good- 
enough served an apprenticeship of three years, 
in \\ higville, with E. K. Jones at wood clock- 
turning, and in 1837, at tne a g e °f seventeen years, 
lie came to Bristol, where he was employed for six 
years by Chauncey Boardman in finishing clocks, 
and then went into business for himself, making 
clock trimmings. In this he continued some three 
or four years, at the end of which time he formed 
a partnership with Asahel Hooker, in the brass 
foundry business, the co-partnership existing until 
Mr. Hooker's death, in 1865. Mr. Goodenough 
■continued the business alone until 1897, in which 
year he took his son Charles R. into partnership, 
under the firm name of Lester Goodenou°-h & 
Son. which so continued until the death of the 
senior partner, since which time Charles R. has 
■conducted the business alone. 

Mr. Goodenough was elected president of the 
Coddling Mfg. Co. when it was reorganized in 1895, 
and was holdingthat position at the time of hisdeath ; 
andwas one of the original incorporators of the Bris- 
tol Savings Bank, being a director and one of the 
loaning committee. In politics he was a lifelong Re- 
publican, and for twenty-five years his name was 
on the town ticket of his party for one or more 
offices. He served as assessor and manager of the 
town deposit fund, was also auditor of the town, 
and for twenty-five years was treasurer of the Sec- 
ond school district of Bristol. While not a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, he was a mem- 
ber of the Ecclesiastical Society until the church 
became incorporated, and he always regularly at- 
tended the Church services. Sociallv Mr. Good- 
en' ugh was a Freemason of many years' standing, 
Slaving united with Franklin Lodge, No. 56, F. & 
A. M., Oct. 27,, 1854. He served the lodge faith- 
fully in various capacities, including that of grand 
master, and was also past high priest of Pequa- 
buck Chapter, Xo. 32, R. A. M. In all the rela- 
tions of life no one in Bristol enjoyed a larger 
measure of confidence and respect than did Lester 
Goodenough. 

Mr. Goodenough was twice married, (first) 
June 7, 1848, to Harriet Maria Champion, who 
was born Feb. 18, 1820, in Winsted, Conn., a 
daughter of Xathan and Mercy (Bevin) Cham- 
pion. She died in Bristol Sept. 21, 1870, the mother 
of five children: ( 1 ) Henry Bird, born Aug. 14, 
185 1, in Bristol, Conn., is in the insurance busi- 
ness in Xew Britain. He married Nov. 16, 1881, 
Mattie (Cowles) Pratt, daughter of Loren and 



Martha (Smith) Cowles, of Hartford; no issue. 
(2) Ellen Hooker, born Aug. 7, 1853, died Oct. 5, 
1855. (3) Sarah Champion was born March 21, 
1857. (4) Charles Rodney Goodenough, born 
Jan. 4, i860, was educated in the common schools 
01 Bristol and in Xew Britain Seminary. When 
twenty years of age he entered his fatlier's shop 
and learned the trade, later becoming a partner, 
and since his father's death he has conducted the 
business under the same name, although he is sole 
proprietor. He is a member of the Knights of 
Pythias, and in politics is a Republican. He was 
married July 26, 1896, to Flattie B. Shubert, who 
was born bept. 9, 1873, a daughter of Theodore 
and Mary Shubert, of Bristol. They have one 
child, Olive Pearl, born July 24, 1897. (5) Har- 
riet Maria, born June 19, 1862, was married June 
25, 1891, to Charles W. Edgerton, traveling sales- 
man for the Penfield Saw Works, of Bristol ; they 
have one child, Lester Goodenough, born April 
17, 1899. For his second wife our subject wedded, 
on June 26, 1872, Lucinda Xorton Champion (sis- 
ter to his first wife), who was born March 23, 
1822, and died March 31, 1894. 

CADWELL. The Cadwells were of Scotch 
descent. They were manufacturers in the north 
of Scotland. Thomas Cadwell came to this coun- 
try previous to 1630, and was first heard of at Dor- 
chester, Mass. In 1652 he lived on the corner of 
Front and Grove streets, Hartford. He was a 
respectable farmer and constable of the town. Mar- 
ried, 1658, Widow Elizabeth, daughter of Deacon 
Edw?.rd Stebbins. He came to Hartford with Rev. 
Thomas Hooker. His name among others is seen 
upon the shaft in the old Center Church burying- 
ground erected to commemorate the first male mem- 
bers of Hooker's first church, established in 
Hartford, Conn., year 1635. The children were 
ten in number: Edward, Thomas, Samuel, Eliza- 
beth, Mary, Matthew (born Oct. 5, 1668), Hannah, 
Abigal, Mehitable, William. His will, probated 
in Hartford Feb. 4, 1694, found in Vol. IX, Probate 
Records. 

Matthew Cadwell married Abigal Beckly, daugh- 
ter of John Beckly, Xew Haven, Conn., 1695. He 
was buried in the Center burying-ground, and the 
following is upon his stone : "Here lieth ye body 
of Mr. Matthew Cadwell, Sen. who died April ye 
22, 1719 in ye 51 year of his age." The children 
were: Matthew (born 1696), John, Abel, Daniel 
and Abigal. 

Matthew (II) married Esther Burnham, 1720. 
The children were : Amelia, born 17 — , and Matthew, 
born 1724. He moved to West Hartford, and is 
buried there. In Hinman's "Early Puritans, Conn. 
Settlers," in speaking of the Cadwells, it says: 
"They were good men and prominent in church 
and town and men of means." 

Matthew (III) married Elizabeth Hubbard, 
1747. The children were: Matthew, born 1748; 



134 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Elizabeth, born 1750; Anna, born 1752; Pelatiah, 
born 1754; Huldah, born 1756; Theodore, born Dec. 
24, 1759; and John, born 1760. He moved to 
Bloomfield, and with his wife is buried in the old 
Center burying-ground. 

Theodore Cadwell was in the army of the Revo- 
lution, enlisted at Simsbury in Capt. Prior's com- 
pany, Erastus Wolcott's regiment. He married 
Huldah Case, and removed to Johnstown, N. Y. 
The children were: Theodore (born in 1782), 
Allyn and Orin. 

Theodore Cadwell, Jr., married Roxy Parsons 
Oct. 25, 1804. He resided in Bloomfield and was 
a prominent business man, and one of the largest 
builders and contractors in those days, building the 
First Congregational church in Manchester, the 
Congregational church in North Preston, and the 
First Congregational church that was built in Can- 
ada : also public buildings in Hartford, and most of 
the best houses in the town of Bloomfield, and was 
still a young man when called away from this earth. 
Children of Theodore (11) : Roxy, born 1805; 
Lavina, born 1808; Huldah, born 1810; Esther, 
born 1812; Theodore Case, born Dec. 2, 1813; 
Mary, born 1815 ; Jeanette, born 1824; and Ed- 
ward, born 1825. 

Theodore C. Cadwell was born in the town of 
Bloomfield Dec. 2, 181 3. Was reared a farmer, 
and on Sept. 2, 1835, was united in marriage with 
Miss Julia A. Cornish, who was a daughter of 
Harry Cornish, and was born May 18, 1813. Theo- 
dore C. passed the major part of his life on a farm, 
was an active and progressive man, held a commis- 
sion as first lieutenant in the Horse Guards, and 
in politics was first a Whig and later a Republican, 
holding many of the offices in the gift of the town. 
He passed away, a highly respected citizen and a 
member of the Congregational Church. May 28, 
i860, having lost his wife Sept. 29, 185 1. To this 
marriage were born : Henry C. and George. The 
latter was born Jan. 7, 1840, and Oct. 24, i860, mar- 
ried Miss Maria Hubbard, who bore him two chil- 
dren, viz.: George T., born Jan. 17, 1862, now a 
resident of Hartford; and Elith M.. now the wife 
of a Mr. Goddard. George Cadwell passed awav 
July 6. 1878. 

Henry Corxish Cadwell, a most highly re- 
spected farmer of Bloomfield, was born on his pres- 
ent homestead June 20, 1836, was educated in the 
Bloomfield schools and in the YVilliston Seminary, 
at East Hampton, Mass., and was engaged with his 
father in farming until the latter 's death. 

Henry C. Cadwell married in East Granby, 
Conn., June 22, 1857, Miss Harriet L. Pinney, 
daughter of Luther Pinney, and to this marriage 
have been born three children, viz. Julia Emma, born 
March 28, 1858, is married to Wilbur H. Gaines, 
and is the mother of four children, born as follows — 
LeRoy Cadwell, Aug. 17, 1880; Lena May, June 
26, 1882: Ham W., Aug. 25, 1884: and Charles 
W.. Dec. 28. 1888. The second child of Henry 



C. and Harriet L. Cadwell is Hattie Cornish, borm 
Dec. 6, 1862, and now resides in Hartford, Conm 
The third is Katherine Henri, of Bloomfield, born. 
June 24, 1 87 1. 

In their religious faith the Cadwell family are 
Congregationalists. Thev enjoy to the full the 
esteem of their neighbors, wherever located. Henry 
C. Cadwell is a member of and a deacon in the 
Congregational Church, a Republican in politics,, 
has served as town assessor, member of the Board 
of Relief, member of the School Board, and the. 
superintendent of the schools, and is classed among 
the most skillful and progressive agriculturists of 
the town of Bloomfield. 

FRANKLIN HOLDEX MAYBERRY, M. D._ 

of Burnside, is ranked among the most successful 
medical practitioners in the State, especially in the 
treatment of typhoid fever, in which, it is probable, 
he is excelled by few in Xew England. He was 
born in the town of Casco. Cumberland Co., Maine, 
April 8, 1862. a son of Edward and Clara (Hol- 
den ) Mayberry, and descends from good old Co- 
lonial stock, both paternally and maternally, the 
Holden family being of Massachusetts nativity, and 
his grandfather, Edward Holden, married a Miss 
Bolton, of the same State. 

Capt. Richard Mayberry, great-grandfather of 
the Doctor, was a first lieutenant in Capt. SamueL 
Knight's company during the Revolutionary war. 
and later was captain of the Fifth Company, 
Eleventh Regiment, Massachusetts troops, and par- 
ticipated in the battles of Fort Ticonderoga, Hub- 
bardtown, Stillwater and Saratoga : was present 
at the surrender of Gen. Burgoyne, shared in the 
hardships of the inclement winter at Valley Forge, 
and also took part in the battle of Monmouth, June 
28, 1778, the last battle of note at the North dur- 
ing the Revolution. William Mayberry, father of 
Capt. Richard, was a pioneer of Maine, and one 
of the sixtv Colonists to whom grants of land were 
made Jan. 17, 1735. at Windham, being one of the 
first to settle in the State. 

Edward Mayberry, the Doctor's grandfather, 
was the first of the family to locate at Casco, where 
he became prominent as a lumberman. Our sub- 
ject's parents passed all their days in the village, 
and were classed among its most substantial citi- 
zens. Edward Mayberry, his father, was a cousii 
of M. E. Ingalls, the well-known president of th( 
"Big Four" railroad system, and of the Norfolk 
Western Railroad Co., two Holden sisters being 
their mothers. < )f the three children born to Ed- 
ward and Clara Mayberry, Franklin H. is the onh 
son ; his elder sister, Harriet, is now the wife of 
George W. Mills, of Weeping Water, Cass Co. 
Neb., and his younger sister. Abby is the wido\ 
of Franklin Edwards, and a resident of the same 
village. 

Dr. F. H. Mayberry received his elementan 
education in the public schools ef h's native tcvnl 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



135 



next attended the Bridgton Academy, in the same 
county, four years, and then entered Bowdoin Col- 
lege in the class of 1880. He then entered upon 
the study of medicine under Dr. Cobb, of Casco, 
and later under Prof. Tinkham, of Burlington, 
Vt. ; then entered the University of Vermont, from 
the Medical Department of which he. graduated in 
1885, and at once located in Hartford. Conn., where, 
for three years, he served as second assistant physi- 
cian at the Retreat, and for the three years follow- 
ing was assistant superintendent of the same in- 
stitution. 

In 1891 Dr. Mayberry settled in Burnside. where 
his success has been so flattering and so lucrative 
that he has become a "fixture." His village, as 
well as his country practice, is constantly on the 
increase, and this phenomenal success is due en- 
tirely to his professional skill ami merits, as he 
located here unheralded, and his extraordinary man- 
agement of cases of typhoid fever, one of the most 
virulent disorders that "flesh is heir to," as well 
as one of the most difficult to control, and one of 
the most prevalent, has made his name famous in 
much more than a local sense. 

In politics the Doctor is a sound Republican, 
and as an evidence of his popularity and value as 
a citizen, as measured by the residents of the town 
of East Hartford, it may be mentioned that he was 
elected, the first year of his residence here, a mem- 
ber of the school board, of which office he is still 
a valuable and active incumbent ; in 1895 he was 
elected to the State Legislature, after the shortest 
residence in the district of any of his predecessors, 
and his voice is still potent in the councils of his 
party. Fraternallv he is a member of Orient Lodge, 
No. '62, F. & A. M., of Hartford; of Lafayette 
Council, O. U. A. M., of East Hartford; of the 
Foresters, of the same town ; was a charter mem- 
ber of the Knights of Pythias Lodge, also at East 
Hartford, and is still an active member of the 
latter. 

The Doctor was most happily married. May 19, 
1890, to Miss Elizabeth Maher, daughter cf Alex- 
ander Maher, of Hartford, and this union has 
been crowned by the birth of one child, Dorothy 
H. The Doctor and wife are socially among the 
most respected residents of the town, and their 
financial standing is all that could be desired. 

JARED FREDERICK BRAIXARD (de- 
ceased), for many years a prominent farmer of 
Enfield, was born in that town March 9, 1818, a 
son of Jared and Mary (Pierce) Brainard, and a 
lineal descendant in the seventh generation from 
Daniel Brainard, a native of England, who at the 
age of eight years was brought to Hartford. Conn., 
where he was reared to manhood, and who about 
1662 settled in Haddam, Conn. The paternal grand- 
parents of our subject were Frederick and Anna 
( Brainard) Brainard; Frederick was a son of Ezra 
and Jerusha (Snow) Brainard; Ezra, a son of 



Josiah and Hannah (Spencer) Brainard; Josiah, 
a son of William and Sarah (Bidwell) Brainard; 
and William, a son of Daniel and Hannah ( Spen- 
cer ) Brainard, the founders of the family in Amer- 
ica. Hannah, the wife of Daniel Brainard, was a 
daughter of Gen. Spencer, of Lynn, Massachusetts. 

The maternal grandparents of our subject were 
John and Lucy (Snow) Pierce; John was a son of 
Ebenezer and Mary (Stowe) Pierce: Ebenezer, a 
son of Ebenezer and Mary Pierce ; and Ebenezer, a 
son of John and Deborah (Converse) Pierce, of 
Woburn, Massachusetts. 

Jared Frederick Brainard, our subject, was 
reared to manhood on the old homestead at Brain- 
ardsville, where he spent his entire life. He re- 
ceived a common-school and an academical educa- 
tion, and was a successful farmer. He took an 
active part in church affairs, being a member of 
the First Congregational Church of Enfield, and a 
life member of the Home Missionary Society of that 
town. For many years he taught the Young Men's 
Bible Class in the Sabbath-school. He was mar- 
ried, Sept. 14, 1842, to Jane R. Baird, daughter 
of Thomas and Sarah (Eddy) Baird, of Auburn, 
Mass., who bore him six children: Sarah J. (Mrs. 
Henry H. Chilson ) . Frederick, Ogden T., Laura 
M. (Mrs. Frank G. Burt), Nellie A. (now Mrs. 
Fred A. Belden ) and Howard N. Mr. Brainard 
died April 19, 1892, and his wife on Aug. 14, 1886. 

HON. DAVIS EMERY LANE, D. D. S., one 
of the oldest, most experienced and popular dentists 
of Hartford, whose skill has placed him at the head 
of his profession is a native of Wavne, Kennebec 
Co., Maine, born Nov. 25. 1842, a son of Davis 
Verrel and Nancy (Bodge) Lane, natives of the 
same State. 

Peter Lane, father of Davis Verrel Lane, and 
grandfather cf the Doctor, was a farmer, and lived 
in Leeds, Androscoggin county. He was twice mar- 
ried, and to his first union the father of the Doctor 
was born. Peter Lane passed his entire life at Leeds, 
and there his mortal remains w r ere interred. 

Davis V. Lane, the father of the Doctor, was 
born in Leeds in 1800, and after a due attendance 
at school entered a woolen-mill, and became very 
skillful as a manufacture of woolen goods. Later 
he engaged in farming in Wayne, Kennebec county, 
and still later removed from Maine to Long Island, 
X. Y., where he passed the remainder of his life 
in Huntington, dying in 1887. To his marriage, 
with Nancy Bodge, were born three children : Al- 
mira, who was married to Dr. F. W. Burgess, of 
Huntington, L. I.; Davis E., the subject of this 
sketch : and ( )live, wife of Jonas Velsor, also of 
Huntington, Nancy (Bodge) Fan' was born in 
Fayette, Kennebec Co., Maine, and was one of the 
thirteen children born to John Bodge, a potter. 

Davis Emery Lane was educated primarily in 
the district schools, and finished his literary course 
in the Wayne high school. In September, [862, he 



13G 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



enlisted in Company G, Twenty-fourth Maine Vol- 
unteers, under Capt. E. Lewis Sturtivant and Col. 
George M. Atwooo, went from Maine to New 
Orleans, La., and was in service on the Mississippi 
river at Port Hudson, where he remained until the 
surrender. The term of his enlistment having ex- 
pired, he, with the regiment, then returned to his 
native State. For two years he lived in Portland, 
Maine, where he was engaged in mercantile trade. 
Jn 1868 he took up the study of dentistry, and, after 
the completion of its course, practiced for a while 
at Huntington, L. I., X. V. In 1872 he came to 
Hartford, Conn., and located on Pratt street, where 
he has been actively engaged since, and has built 
up a very extensive practice. 

In 1873 Dr. Lane married Miss Adrienne E. 
Howard, a native of Huntington, L. I., and daugh- 
ter of Farnum L. and Emeline Howard. Seven 
children have been born to this marriage, of whom 
five are no w living; Harrold died in infancy, and 
Davis E., Jr., died in 1888. Those living are: Emily 
M. ; Farnum Howard, an organist of ability, and 
teacher of music : Homer Bodge : Jessie A. ; and 
Robert Irving— all living with their parents. 

In 1882 Dr. Lane removed his family to East 
Hartford, but retained his business office in the city. 
Being a stanch Republican, he took great interest in 
local party affairs, became very popular, and in 
1888 was elected to represent his district in the 
State Legislature, in which he served greatly to 
his honor and credit. He has also been a member 
of the school committee for several vears, and quite 
prominent in the affairs of the village generally. 

The Doctor is a member of Orient Lodge, Xo. 
67, F. & A. M.. and of D. C. Rodman Post, Xo. 
65, G. A. R. In religion he and his family are 
Unitarians, and regularly attend the house of wor- 
ship of the Unitarian Society, to the support of 
which they freely contribute financially. Besides 
Ids professional eminence the Doctor holds a high 
position in the social circles of both Hartford and 
East Hartford, and with his amiable wife and chil- 
dren enjoys die esteem of his neighbors to a very 
marked degree. Since 1888 he has been a member 
of the board of trustees of the Raymond Library, 
East Hartford, was several years vice-president, and 
in May, 1899, on the death of H. R. Hayden. he was 
elected president of the board. 

HOX. LEWIS SPERRY, of the law firm of 
Sperry & McLean, Hartford, and former member 
of Congress from the First Connecticut District, 
has taken high rank in the legal profession of the 
State. 

Mr. Sperry was born Jan. 23, 1848, on East 
Windsor Hill, in the town of South Windsor, the 
sixth child and second son of Daniel Gilbert and 
Harriet Frances (Pelton) Sperry, the father, a 
fanner, horn at Sperrys Farms. Woodbridge, Conn.. 
a descendant in the sixth generation from Richard 
Sperry. Richard Sperry was of the Colony of 
New Haven as early as 1643, coming as agent for 



the Earl of Warwick, and was granted a tract of 
land, in what is now the town of Woodbridge, 
Conn., which is still known as Sperrys Farms. 
Other paternal ancestors of our subject in the New 
Haven Colony were Matthew Gilbert Todd, Cooper 
Heaton (or Eaton), Wilmot and Carrington. 

Harriet Frances Pelton, our subject's mother, 
was a daughter of James and Sophia (Gaylord) Pel- 
ton, and a descendant of Deacon William Gavlord, 
Matthew Grant, Daniel Clark, Humphrey Prior, 
John Drake, Benedictus Alvord, Thomas Moore, 
and John Osborn, of Windsor; was also descended 
from the Edwards family of Hartford, the Lathrops 
of Xorwich, and the Peases of Enfield, Conn. 
James Pelton was descended from John Pelton of 
Boston, 1634, and from Margaret Thompson, a 
Scotch widow with nine children, who sailed from 
Ireland in 17 18, in the fleet of five ships commanded 
by Capt.Temple, bound for Boston. Nine of Lewis 
Sperry 's ancestors arrived in Xew England later 
than 1730, all became at once land owners in the 
various towns which they chose for their homes, 
and all were farmers, whatever other occupation 
they may have joined with their agricultural pur- 
suits. In every war, from the Pequot to the Civil, 
some ancestor or near relative fought on the win- 
ning side. 

Lawyer Sperry's boyhood was passed on the 
farm in the Connecticut Valley, where beauty of 
scene and fertility of soil frees the farmer from 
many of the hardships and privations which per- 
tain to that occupation in more remote or barren 
regions. He attended both public and private 
schools in the neighborhood. At the age of thir- 
teen he was sent to Xew Haven, and was a member 
of the family and school of the well-known teacher, 
Sidney A. Thomas. Later he entered Monson 
(Mass.) Academy, graduating in 1869, and spent 
the succeeding four years in Amherst. He was 
popular in college, was editor of the "Amherst 
Student," and an active member of the debating 
societies, but never at that time or since has he 
joined any secret society. He perhaps gave more 
time to the study and practice of debate and oratory 
than to the regular studies of the college course, 
and won several prizes as a speaker and debater, 
and the first "Hardy prize" at his graduation, in 
1873. After this event he immediately entered the 
law office of Waldo, Hubbard & Hyde, in Hartford, 
Connecticut. 

Dailv intercourse with nich men as Judge Loren 
P. Waldo, Gov. Richard D. Hubbard, and Alvan P. 
Hyde, could but give noble ideas of life to any 
youth coming under their influence, and here young 
Sperrv could see exemplified each day the highest 
requirements in the study of law, and its most hon- 
orable application when practiced as a profession. 
Admitted to the Hartford County Bar in 1875, 
Mr. Sperrv the following year joined with ex- 
Lieut. -Gov. George G. Sill in renting the chambers 
at Xo. 345 Main street, and between Mr. Sill and 
Mr. Sperry began a friendship which time has only 










C\C^<^~^<J 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



137 



deepened. Here might be noted a strong trait in 
the character of Lewis Sperry : In his home, among 
his playmates in the district school, at college, and 
with those whom he oftenest meets in the practice 
of his profession, he has formed deep and abiding 
friendships, which evince no variableness or shadow 
of turning. Since his entrance into public life Mr. 
Sperry, so far from forgetting his earlier friends, 
appears to feel for them a tender regard, as for 
.those who did not come with political popularity 
and will not depart with it. In 1876 he represented 
his native town in the Legislature, and was a mem- 
ber of the committee on Education. When the 
new coroner law went into effect, in 1883, he was 
appointed coroner for Hartford county, and had 
the difficult task of applying a law without prece- 
dents to guide him. The most notable case which 
came under his care while holding this office, was 
the explosion of the boilers in the "Park Central 
Hotel." The coroner's finding, and his courage and 
good judgment in holding the responsible parties 
guilty in this accident, were noted by the New York 
and Boston papers, and editorial comment termed 
his a "model report." The capacity he showed for 
the administration of public affairs led to his selec- 
tion as a candidate for Congress, and after his nom- 
ination, in 1890, his career can be culled from the 
public prints. After the election the "Amherst 
Student" took pride in saying: "Hon. Lewis Sperry 
1 '/$ ) will represent the First Connecticut District 
in the Llld Congress, having defeated Simonds, 
(Rep.) by 708. Mr. Sperry's popularity is shown 
from the fact that two years ago Simonds carried 
the district by 813, making a gam for Mr. Sperry 
•of 1. 521. Hartford City, where Mr. Sperry prac- 
tices law, was carried by him by 1,112, being the 
largest majority ever given a Congressional candi- 
date. Amherst's new Congressman, while in Am- 
herst captured many prizes, including the first 
[Hardy.' " 

The Springfield Republican of Xov. 9, 1890, 
remarked : "It is seldom that a candidate of either 
party has been complimented so highly by the votes 
of his political opponents in the profession as has 
Lewis Sperry. He will not be so showy a man as 
Mr. Simonds, but he will be a hard worker, which 
is his natural habit." 

For a Congressman spending his first winter at 
the National Capital Mr. Sperry had his full share 
of official social life. His renomination was a 
foregone conclusion, and the Democratic Congres- 
sional Convention simply carried out the wishes of 
his constituents, in making him a candidate for a 
second term. His speech in accepting the nomina- 
tion showed a thoughtful consideration for the in- 
terests of the district. No Democrat has ever been 
elected in this district in a Presidential year, and no 
Congressman ever succeeded himself. With the 
chances apparently against him, and the district 
almost a tie between Mr. Harrison and Mr. Cleve- 
land, Mr. Sperry won by the handsome majority 
of 340. Party lines were closely drawn in the rest 



of the district, but his personal following in Flart- 
ford carried the day. Mr. Sperry was a member 
of the committee on Banking and Currency, charged 
with the investigation of the question of increasing 
the National Bank Association, and on Aug. 2, 
1893, made one of the best speeches for the repeal 
of the Sherman Act which had been heard in the 
House since it met in extraordinary session. He 
was looked upon as the leader of the party in oppo- 
sition to the Wilson Bill. This position he main- 
tained, and was one of the seventeen Democrats who 
voted against the Bill. A storm of censure raged 
throughout the newspapers, and he was vehemently 
called upon to resign. His course was approved 
by the Republican papers, and the A r ezv York Sun, 
and he was editorially defended by the veteran leader 
of the Democratic party in Connecticut, the Hart- 
ford Times. Mr. Sperry had the brain and nerve 
to see his way clear, and to stand firmly by his own 
convictions. Such a man in either party in Con- 
gress wins respect. Declining a renomination, Mr. 
Sperry returned to the practice of law in Hartford, 
forming in October, 1895, the law firm of Sperry 
& McLean, of which he has since been senior part- 
ner. In religious sympathies Mr. Sperry is a Con- 
gregationalist. 

On Nov. 7, 1878, Mr. Sperry was married to 
Miss Elizabeth Ellsworth Wood, daughter of the 
late Dr. William Wood, the naturalist, of East 
Windsor Hill, Conn. Two children were born to 
them : Ellsworth and Mary E. From an obituary 
notice published in one of the Hartford papers at 
the time of Mrs. Sperry's death, is extracted the 
following : 

"By the death, Friday night, of Mrs. Elizabeth 
Ellsworth Sperry, at East Windsor Hill, the com- 
munity loses a woman of rare qualities, of estima- 
ble character, and one who was highly esteemed 
in the circles in which she moved. Airs. Sperry 
suffered a surgical operation about six months ago. 
Since then she has failed steadily, and for three 
months past has been confined to her apartment. 

"Mrs. Sperry was a native of East Windsor Hill, 
born in 1849, an d daughter of Dr. William Wood, 
the noted ornithologist. She attended the Green- 
wood Academy, at Brattleboro, Vt, and in 1878 
was united to Mr. Sperry by Rev. Mr. Bowman, 
now of East Hartford. She was a valued member 
of the Congregational Church of South Windsor. 
Mrs. Sperry took an active interest in the affairs 
of the Daughters of the American Revolution, as 
her ancestry included such distinguished men as 
Chief Justice Ellsworth and Oliver Wolcott. Mrs. 
Sperrv was a member of Martha Pitkin Chapter, D. 
A. R.; of East Hartford." 

ROBERT CASE (deceased) was for many 
vears a leading agriculturist of North Canton, and 
while his life was free from all competition for 
worldly honors he won and retained the respect of 
all who knew him. 

Mr. Case was born in North Canton in 1805, and 



138 



COMMEMORATIVE, BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



came of a well-known family. Sergt. Richard Case 
came to this section at an early dav with his wife, 
Mercy Holcomb, and settled in West Simsbury, 
upon a farm. Simeon Case, son of John, and the 
grandfather of our subject, was born in West Sims- 
bury in 1739. and in 1759 located in what is now 
West Granby, where he owned a large tract of land, 
and was engaged for many years in general farming, 
stock raising and grain growing. He died there in 
1823. He married Alary Case, who was born in 1739, 
daughter of Amos Case, and died in 1826. They 
had eleven children, as follows: Simeon (1756- 
1819) married Phoebe Burr; Ashbel (1762-1816) 
married Polly Frazier ; Titus (1764-1816) married 
Amy Reed; Obed (1765- 1849) married Rachel Em- 
mons; Eliphalet ( 1770- 1847) married Rachel Case, 
who died in 1813 ; Mary (1771-1821); Alexander 
(1774-1824) married Mindwell Case, who died in 
1830; Francis (1777-1845) married Jemima Case; 
Robert is mentioned more fully below ; Peter ; and 
Elizabeth married Reuben Russell. 

Robert Case. Sr.. our subject's father, was born 
in 1780. in what is now West Granby, and followed 
farming throughout his life. He was an excellent 
citizen, was active in local politics in connection with 
the Whig party, and in religious work as a member 
of the Episcopal Church. He married (first) 
Clarissa Case, who was born in 1784. daughter of 
Darius and Mary (Giddings) Case, and grand- 
daughter of Noah Case. She died in 1827, and he 
subsequently married Mrs. Martha (Cooley) Reed, 
a widow. By the first marriage there were ten 
children: Robert, cur subject; Ambrose: Jared ; 
Walter; Ruth: Savilla; Louise: Clarissa; Pluma 
and Temperance. The only child of the second 
marriage, Sidney P., is now a farmer in North 
Canton. 

Our subject received a common-school educa- 
tion, and when a young man engaged in farming on 
a tract of land n< w owned by his sons Ansel and 
Warren. He made many improvements upon the 
place, and was a successful farmer, his attention 
having been given to st< >ck raising, dairying and 
tobacco growing with good results. He was a man 
of temperate habits, industrious and thrifty, and 
for many years was a prominent member of the 
Methodist Church at Washington Hill. In politics 
he was a Republican, but he did not seek official 
honors. He died in 1852, his remains being in- 
terred in the North Canton cemetery. His wife, 
Catherine Case, was born in the town of Canton, 
a daughter of Alexander and Mindwell (Case) 
Case, and a granddaughter of Simeon Case, our 
subject's grandfather. She died in 1878, leaving 
the memory of a worthy life as wife and mother. 
Of their seven children, (1) Ansel is engaged in 
tobacco growing at the homestead, and is one of the 
successful fanners of the locality; (2) Trumbull 
died in [852; (3) Miss Julia A. is at home: (4) 
Warren is in partnership with Ansel on the home- 
stead, and is an enterprising and industrious farm- 



er, and a highly esteemed citizen; (5) Louisa (de- 
ceased) married Sherman Messenger, of Canton; 
(6) John W. is mentioned more fully below; (7) 
Martha is the second wife of Sherman Messenger. 
John W. Cask was born Jan. 23, 1842, and 
after receiving a district-school education engaged 
in farming at the homestead. In 1871 he bought 
his present farm of 140 acres in North Canton, 
which he has improved extensively. He is a gen- 
eral farmer, but has been successful in tobacco 
growing, dairying and the raising of stock. His 
industry, honesty and frugality are family char- 
acteristics, and he is regarded as one of the sub- 
stantial citizens of his town. Politically he is a 
Republican, and in religion he holds liberal views. 
Mr. Case married Miss Alice Barber, a native of 
New Hartford, and a daughter of Noah Barber. 
They have three children: Albert W., Rachel C. 
and Alice E. 

JOSEPH LANGDON, for more than fifty 
years a dry-goods merchant of Hartford, was de- 
scended from an excellent Connecticut family, whose 
first settlement in America appears to have been 
made in Wethersfield about 1640. 

Reuben Langdon, his father, was born in 1777 
in Farmington. married in 1803 Patience, daughter 
of Hon. Sylvester Gilbert, of Hebron, and was for 
some years engaged in business in New London, 
but removed to Hartford about 181 7. There he 
established the dry-goods business, which under 
various managers has continued and increased tc 
this dav, and is now known by the firm name of C. 
S. Hills & Co. Later he became treasurer of the 
Society for Savings, popularly known as the Pratt 
Street Bank, and was finally succeeded in his store 
by the subject of this sketch. His death occurred 
in Hartford in 1849. 

Joseph Langdon was born in New London, 
Conn., July 20, 181 1. removed with his parents tc 
Hartford when a child, was educated in the public 
schools of that city, and on Jan. 1, 1835, married 
.Mary Ann, daughter of Thomas Mather, of West- 
field. Mass. After her death he married, June 5, 
1874, Mrs. Nancy Sheldon, daughter of Capt. 
Gideon Hubbard, of the coasting service. Mrs. 
Langdon, who is still a resident of Hartford, hac 
by her first marriage one son. Charles R. Sheldon, 
who was for several years bookkeeper for Mr. Lang- 
don, and died at the age of forty. Mr. Langdon 
also had one son by his first marriage, Edwarc 
Mather, who died at the age of twelve years. His 
own death occurred June 3, 1895. as the result of 
trolley car accident. Mr. Langdon was a merchant 
of the old school, conservative in his methods, un- 
swervingly honest and upright in every transaction, 
and successful in acquiring a competency for the 
quiet years of his later life. For many years he 
was Vice-President of the Society for Savings. 
During the long period of his career he watched, 
with affectionate regard, the growth and improve- 



^» : : S§^« 




J^H^Jt tL&na>cl?nAs 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



139' 



ment of the city where he lived, enjoying the pleas- 
ure of seeing its population and importance increase 
more than sevenfold. He was a Republican as to 
his political views, and, though not strongly parti- 
san, took none the less an earnest interest in the con- 
duct of the affairs of the State and Nation. He had 
no desire for, and never sought, public official posi- 
tions. He was a member of the Park Congrega- 
tional Church and a regular attendant upon its serv- 
ices. In early life he was an officer of the First 
Company, Governor's Foot Guards, retaining his 
membership in the Veteran Corps and his enthu- 
siasm for the company to the end of his life. Mr. 
Langdon was a good man, quietly benevolent toward 
the needy, a generous supporter of every good cause, 
and a citizen who enjoyed the respect and high es- 
teem of his fellow men. 

THOMAS SMITH O'CONNELL, M. D. As 
the years glide away new men constantly appear 
upon the scene of human activities in every branch 
of professional and business life, and by the innate 
forces of superior worth and ability win speedy 
renown and recognition. Dr. Thomas S. O'Connell 
is a comparativelv young man, yet his career in the 
few brief years of his practice in East Hartford 
has been brilliantly successful. He has an almost 
unbroken record of complete success in his profes- 
sion, winning for him one of the largest practices 
in the East Side towns, while his unfailing courtesy, 
his quiet good fellowship, and his liberality of 
mind and opinion, combine to make him one of the 
most popular young men of East Hartford. 

The Doctor was born at Colchester, Conn., Dec. 
15, 1866, the fifth child and second son of Michael 
and Annie (Smith) O'Connell, the former a native 
of County Kerry, and the latter of County Cork, 
Ireland. The father migrated to America as a poor 
and friendless lad in 1848. He found employment 
and for a time worked at Colchester, then in 1854 
went to Montreal, Canada, where he met and mar- 
ried Annie Smith. He supported his family by his 
labor, and in many respects is a remarkable man. 
With scant educational opportunities in his youth, 
his mental activities awakened later in life, and by 
reading and original thought he has given evi- 
dence of much more than ordinary ability. He has 
been a man of the best habits, strictly temperate, 
one to whom the vices of intoxicating drink and 
tobacco in all its forms were wholly unknown. 
Though not exempt from the provocations of anger, 
he never used profanity; none of his sons ever 
heard an oath fall from his lips. About 1865 
Michael O'Connell returned with his family to 
Colchester, Conn., where he was employed in the 
Colchester Rubber Works. Both he and his wife 
are living, at the ages of seventy and sixty-five 
years respectively. 

Dr. CJ'Conneil obtained his early education in 
the public schools of his native town. He then be- 
came a student in Bacon Academy, one of the finest 



high schools in Connecticut, on graduating from 
which, in 1885, he taught school in Colchester, 
and for four years he was employed as a teacher 
in the public schools of his native town. He has 
always been interested in the common schools, and 
has practical knowledge of their virtues and their 
faults. For some years he was chairman of the 
committee for one of the district schools in Col- 
chester. Early in his school days he developed an 
inclination for the profession of medicine, and later, 
in 1889, he passed his examinations for admission, 
to the Baltimore College of Physicians and Sur- 
geons. Among his studies he took particular in- 
terest in anatomy, physiology and chemistry, and 
in his junior year he obtained the position of as- 
sistant demonstrator of chemistry. In April, 1892, 
he graduated, among the first ten in a class of 143. 

Dr. O'Connell possesses a talent for music, and 
his ability as a violinist was a source of revenue. 
He gave lessons on the violin, and the money 
thus earned assisted materially in defraying the 
expenses of his education, which was paid for 
wholly from his own savings. 

In August, 1892, Dr. O'Connell located at East 
Hartford. He was a complete stranger, but his 
progress in his profession was rapid from the start. 
At first he relieved Dr. McKnight of the care of 
distant patients, and won almost immediately favor- 
able notice. In 1893 he joined the State and County 
Medical Societies, and in January, 1894, he be- 
came an associate member of the City Society. His 
medical library is an exceptionally fine one. For 
some years he has been making a specialty of ob- 
stetrics, and he has a constantly increasing practice, 
one which is built up solely on his merits as a 
physician. 

Anions: the fraternities the Doctor is a member 
and examining physician of Nutmeg Lodge, A. O.. 
U. W. ; surgeon and examining physician for the 
First Division, Ancient Order of Hibernians : ex- 
amining physician for Semaphore Lodge, No. 551, 
of the Brotherhood of Railway Trainmen ; and ex- 
amining physician for the Brotherhood of Loco- 
motive Firemen. Fie is a regular attendant at St. 
Mary's Church. 

In politics the Doctor is attached to straight 
Jeffersonian principles. In 1893 he was chosen, on 
the Democratic town ticket, a member of the board 
of school visitors, a position which he has held ever 
since. For a number of years he has been a mem- 
ber of the High School committee of East Hart- 
ford. 

In October, 1896. the Doctor was married, at 
East Hartford, to Miss Nellie M. Flynn, a native 
of East Hartford, and a daugliter of Dominick 
Flynn, which union has been blessed with two chil- 
dren : Thomas Ward, born May 5, 1898; and Mary 
Elizabeth, born March 14, 1900. 

As a citizen Dr. O'Connell stands among the 
foremost in the community, his deep and abiding in- 
terest in all worth)- public causes making k.m one 



140 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



•of those natural leaders to which the community in 
which he lives turns almost instinctively for counsel 
and advice. He is popular among all classes of men, 
and his few years of active life have in them much 
promise for the future. 

JOSEPH EDWARD ROOT, B. S., M. D., of 
Hartford, where his standing in the profession and 
in citizenship is high, has descended in several 
lines from not only some of the earliest families to 
come to New England, but some of the most con- 
spicuous in its history — from families that have 
given to this section men eminent and illustrious. 

Dr. Root was born March 4, 1854, in Green- 
wich, Mass., a son of Hon. Thomas Pitkin and 
Seraph Marsh ( Haynes ) Root, and is a lineal de- 
scendant on his mother's side from John Haynes, 
a man of education and letters from Hertfordshire, 
England, who came to Xew England with Rev. 
Thomas Hooker and company in the ship "Griffin" 
in 1633, and in 1637 settled in Hartford, of which 
he was one of the original proprietors, and was 
chosen the first Governor of Connecticut in 1639. 
Also in that line Dr. Root, through his grandmo- 
ther, Betsey (Marsh) Haynes, wife of Reuben 
(she beingf a daughter of Lucy (Putnam) and Ty- 
ler Marsh), is a lineal descendant of John Marsh, 
an English emigrant who settled at Salem, Mass., 
as earl\' as 1637, and of John Putnam, who was 
the ancestor of Gen. Israel Putnam, of Revolu- 
tionary fame, John, the emigrant, coming from 
Aston Abbotts, Buckinghamshire, England, in 1634, 
settling in Salem. From these two ancestors Dr. 
Root's line is, respectively, through Zachariah, 
Ebenezer, Ehenezer (2), Lieut. Caleb (a patriot of 
the Revolution), Tyler and Betsey Marsh; and 
through John (2), Eleazer, Jeptha, Fuller and Lucy 
Putnam. 

On his father's side Dr. Root is descended from 
John Root, the son of John of Badby, Nottingham- 
shire, England, where the son was born in 1608. 
He came early to New England, and was one of 
the first settlers of Farmington in 1640, which 
point was settled by persons mainly from Boston, 
Newtown and Roxbury. Soon after his location 
John Root married Mary, daughter of Thomas and 
Frances Kilbourne; she was born in 1619 at Wood 
Ditton. England, and came to New England in the 
ship "Increase" in 1635. 

From this emigrant ancestor Dr. Root is a de- 
scendant in the eighth generation, his line being 
through Thomas, Timothy, Timothy (2), Joseph, 
Capt. John and Thomas Pitkin Root. 

(II) Thomas Root, son of John the emigrant, 
Forn about 1648, in Farmington. married (second) 
in 1675 Mary Spencer, and moved to Westfield, 
Mass. He died in 1709. 

(III) Timothy Root, son of Thomas, born in 
[685, married, in 1710, Sarah Pease, daughter of 

John, of Enfield, Conn., and went from Westfield 
to Enfield, and thence, in about 1713, to Somers, 
Conn., as one of the first settlers of the town. 



(IV) Timothy Root (2), son of Timothy, 
born in 1719, in Somers, married Jemima, daugh- 
ter of Josiah Wood, of Somers, and they were 
most excellent citizens and Christian people of that 
community. 

(V) Joseph Root, son of Timothy (2), born in 
1 753- m Somers, married Elizabeth, daughter of 
Deacon Joshua Pomeroy. Mr. Root served for a 
period of four years in the war of the Revolution, 
was at the battle of Bunker Hill, at the siege of 
Charlestown, and at the scene of Gen. Burgoyne's 
surrender. 

(VI) Capt. John Root, son of Joseph, born in 
1789. in Somers, Conn., married, in 1816, Lucy, 
daughter of Deacon Samuel Reynolds, of Somers, 
Conn., and settled in Greenwich, Mass. He died 
in 1855. 

Hon. Thomas Pitkin Root, son of Capt. John, 
and the father of Dr. Root, of Hartford, was born 
Jul}- 8, 1824, in Greenwich, Mass. He was mar- 
ried, in 1 85 1, to Seraph (Marsh) Haynes, daugh- 
ter of Reuben and Betsey (Marsh) Haynes. of 
Greenwich, Mass., and to the union were born 
children as follows : Francis Pitkin Root, born 
Feb. 13, 1852; Joseph Edward Root, born March 
4. 1854; William, who died when young; and 
Charles Samuel Root, born March 18, i860. 
Thomas Pitkin Root has been for many years a 
prominent citizen of Barre, Mass. He has served 
two terms in each branch of the Massachusetts 
Legislature — the Hcuse of Representatives and the 
Senate : for many years he has been a deacon in 
the Congregational Church. 

Dr. Root, of Hartford, is descended from Rev. 
Dr. Peter Reynolds and Rev. Dr. Stephen Will- 
iams, through his grandmother, Lucy (Reynolds) 
Root, born 1789, daughter of Deacon Samuel and 
Mary (Pitkin) Reynolds, and the granddaughter 
of Samuel Reynolds, M. D., and Martha (Will- 
iams ) Reynolds, the latter couple being a son and 
daughter, respectively, of Rev. Dr. Peter Rey- 
nolds and Rev. Dr. Stephen Williams, who were 
contemporaries in the ministry. Rev. Dr. Peter 
Reynolds was the second minister in Enfield, 
Conn., and a descendant from Capt. Nathaniel, 
who came from England in about 1644: while 
Rev. Dr. Stephen Williams, born in 1693, was a 
son of Rev. John Williams, of Deerfield, a de- 
scendant in the third generation from Robert, of 
Roxbury, who came probably from Norwich, 
England, about 1638. This Williams family was 
one of historic note in New England annals. Rev. 
John and family were of the number taken pris- 
oner in February, 1704, at Deerfield, Mass., dur- 
ing the French and Indian war, several of the chil- 
dren being killed and the father and son taken to 
Canada and kept captives — the father until 1706, 
and the son until 1705. Rev. Dr. Stephen Will- 
iams at the time of his captivity was but a lad. 
After his release he was a graduate from Harvard, 
and served in several campaigns as chaplain in the 
army : was at the capture of Louisburg. and was 



\ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



141 



with Col. Ephraim Williams at the hattle of Lake 
George in September, 1755, when Col. Williams 
was killed. Ihe Pitkins, too, of this line of Dr. 
Root's ancestors, were a historic and illustrious 
family. Mary Pitkin, above, descended from Hon. 
William Pitkin, the progenitor of the American 
family, who came from England in 1659, and from 
1675 to 1690 was a member of the Colonial As- 
sembly from Hartford, and who, earlier, was 
prosecutor for the Colony, attorney general and 
treasurer successively. Mary Pitkin's line was 
through William (2) (who for twenty-six years 
was in the General Assembly, and also chief jus- 
tice of the Supreme Court of Connecticut), Col. 
Thomas and Thomas Pitkin. 

Dr. Joseph Edward Root, the subject proper 
of this sketch, received his primary and early 
school training in the public schools of Barre, 
Mass., attending from i860 to 1868 District School 
No. 8, and the four succeeding years the Barre 
High School. In 1876 he received the degree of 
B. S. from the Massachusetts College at Amherst, 
and in the same year a like degree from Boston 
University. He studied medicine at the College 
of Physicians and Surgeons of New York, grad- 
uating therefrom in 1883. ' While at Amherst he 
was one of the Farnsworth Prize speakers in his 
Freshman and Sophomore years, and a commence- 
ment speaker at graduation. His boyhood was 
passed on the Hillside farm at Barre, Mass. Dur- 
ing his college course he taught school for two 
winters at Barre Plains, and after his graduation 
he entered Dr. Brown's Institute at Barre, remain- 
ing until the spring of 1879, when he was engaged 
at the Walnut Hill Asymm in Hartford, Conn. 
On receiving his medical diploma from the Col- 
lege of Physicians and Surgeons of New York, in 
1883, he was made assistant physician at the Re- 
treat for the Insane in Hartford, and there re- 
mained until Aug. 20, 1884, at which time he be- 
gan the general practice of medicine in that city, 
which has continued to the present with deserved 
success. During these years Dr. Root has been a 
very busy man, and figured conspicuously in many 
societies and organizations pertaining to his field 
of labor. In 1884 he assisted in reorganizing the 
Hartford Dispensary, of which since its reorgani- 
zation he has been secretary and treasurer; has 
also been chief of the department of general medi- 
cine and nervous diseases at the dispensary. He 
wa> appointed on many commissions of import- 
ance by Govs. Harrison and Morris during their 
administrations. From 1889 to 1894 he was a 
delegate for the Connecticut Medical Society to 
tbe meetings of the American Medical Associa- 
tion, and as such attended the meetings held re- 
spectively at Xewport, R. I., Washington, D. C, 
Milwaukee. Wis., and San Francisco, Cal. In 
April, 1891, he was elected secretary of the Hart- 
ford County Medical Association, which office he 
held until April, 1894. During his term of office 
much of the responsibility pertaining to the Cen- 



tennial Celebration of the Association devolved 
upon him, and he also delivered the historical ad- 
dress. In 1896 he was appointed surgeon on Maj. 
Warren's staif of the First Company, Governor's 
Horse Guard, and now holds that rank. In 1895 
he was elected a member of the board of physi- 
cians and surgeons to the Masonic Home at Wal- 
lingford, Conn. ; in 1896 was made its president, 
which office he has since held, and in 1897 was 
chosen chairman of the Building committee for the 
new Masonic Hospital. Dr. Root was appointed 
medical examiner for the Mutual Reserve Fife In- 
surance Co., of New York, in 1890; of the Massa- 
chusetts Mutual Life, in 1894; of the "Home Cir- 
cle," in 1895 ; and of the Fidelity Insurance Co. in 
1898, and still retains these relations. Dr. Root 
is a member of the Hartford (City) County and 
State Medical Societies, and of the American Med- 
ical Association. He was chosen secretary of the 
Hartford (City) Medical Society in January, 1900, 
and is still serving in that position. Dr. Root was 
chosen, in 1900, a delegate from the Connecticut 
Medical Society to the thirteenth International Med- 
ical Congress held in Paris, France, which he at- 
tended, as also to the sixty-eighth Annual meeting of 
the British Medical Association at Ipswich, England. 
In 1898 he was elected surgeon to the Putnam Pha- 
lanx of Hartford. Dr. Root is one of the surgical 
staff of St. Francis Hospital as Orthopedic Sur- 
geon, and ( )rthopedic Surgeon to the Home for In- 
curables at Newington, Conn. ; he is also on the ad- 
visory board of the Connecticut Institute for the 
Blind. He is a member of the Hartford Scien- 
tific Society. In April, 1900, under Mayor Har- 
bison's administration, he was made one of the 
health commissioners of Hartford. 

Socially Dr. Root is prominent in various clubs 
and organizations. He is a member of the Sons 
of the American Revolution, and of the Masonic 
Club. He is both a York and Scottish Rite Mason, 
and is a member of the following bodies: St. John's 
Lodge, No. 4, Washington Commandery No. 1, 
Charter Oak Lodge of Perfection, Princes of Jeru- 
salem, Rose Croix, and Connecticut Consistory, 
Thirty-second Degree, and of Sphinx Temple of 
the Mystic Shrine. His religious connections are 
with the Farmington Avenue Congregational 
Church. 

Dr. Root has found time, outside of his extended 
professional duties and busy life, to devote his at- 
tention to literature, and his works have given him a 
wide and well-deserved prominence. Among his 
works are: "Early Discovery of America by the 
Norseman," "Hunting Trips in the Rocky Moun- 
tains" I lecture], and the following treatises: "Epil- 
epsy," "Essay on Electricity in Nervous Diseases," 
"Arteritis of the Brain," "Hygiene of School Life," 
"Electricity in Diseases of Women," "Hip Joint 
Disease," and "Centennial History of the Hartford 
County Medical Association." 

Dr. Root's political affiliations are with the Re- 
publican party, and though greatly interested in 



14:2 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



public questions and the success of his party he ':as 
declined to be a candidate for any political office. 
On March 4, 1885, Dr. Root was married to 
Ella Goodman Moseley, of Hartford. Their daugh- 
ter, Seraph Dorothy Rowell Root, was born Nov. 
10, 1897. ( 

A. W. HOWARD, M. D., a prominent and suc- 
cessful physician and surgeon of Wethersfield, was 
born in Providence, R. I., Nov. 25, 1867, and is a 
son of Amasa and Annie (Simmons) Howard, the 
former a native of Woodstock, Conn., the latter of 
Worcester, Massachusetts. 

The paternal grandfather of our subject also 
bore the name of Amasa Howard. The father was 
an ordained minister of the Baptist Church, and at 
different times was pastor of churches in Worces- 
ter (Mass.), Providence (R. I.), and Hartford 
(Conn.). He was also chaplain of the State prison 
at Wethersfield for ten years, and at that place he 
died in 1887, his remains being interred in Cedar 
Hill cemetery. His wife, a lady of culture and re- 
finement, is still living, and continues to make her 
home in Wethersfield. To them were born four 
children: John C, now a resident of Omaha, Neb.; 
Mary, at home with her mother; A. W., our subject ; 
and Fanny, at home. 

Dr. Howard was educated at the South school 
of Hartford and at the Hartford Public High 
School, graduating from the latter in 1887. He then 
entered the Medical University of New York, where 
he pursued a three-years' course, and was graduated 
in 1890. He then spent some time in the Chambers 
Street Hospital, New York City, where he gained 
a good practical knowledge of the profession which 
he had chosen as a life work, and in the fall of 
[890 opened an office in Wethersfield. His skill 
and ability soon won recognition, and he has suc- 
ceeded in building up an excellent practice in Weth- 
ersfield, Newington and Rocky Hill. In connection 
with his private practice he also acts as examiner 
for the Hartford Life, the Phoenix, Mutual, Metro- 
politan and Waterburv Industrial Insurance Com- 
panies. He is a progressive physician, and an hon- 
ored member of the Hartford County Medical So- 
ciety, and the Connecticut State Medical Society; 
also belongs to Hartford Lodge, F. & A. M., and to 
the Wethersfield Grange. Although not a member 
of any religious denomination he attends the Bap- 
tist Church : politically he affiliates with the Republi- 
can party. The Doctor not only stands high in pro- 
fessional circles, but is also quite popular socially. 
In 1894 Dr. Flo ward was united in marriage with 
Miss Flannah Standish, a daughter of James 
Standish, and to them has been born one child, 
Mildred Standish. 

HON. RANDOLPH W. COWLES (deceased) 
was a well-known contractor and builder of South- 
ing! 011, of whose skill many notable examples are to 
~be seen in that section of the county. Thoroughly 



reliable in all things, the quality of his work w r as a 
convincing test of his own personal worth, and the 
same admirable trait was shown in his conscientious 
discharge of the duties of different positions of 
trust and responsibility to which he was chosen. 

Mr. Cowles was born in Southington March 1, 
1838, a son of Henry and Lydia (Thorp) Cowles. 
His maternal grandfather was Elisha Thorp. The 
father was born in Southington Jan. 1, 1805, and was 
married Aug. 29, 1827. He made his home in the 
southwest part of the town, and there his death oc- 
curred. His children were : George ; William ; 
Laura A. ; Lucretia, wife of Lewis L. Avery; Emma 
A., wife of George F. Lewis; Randolph W. ; Vic- 
toria C. ; Emily L. ; Elinora; and Charlotte, wife 
of Squire Robinson. 

'I he paternal grandparents of our subject were 
George Washington and Amy (Adkins) Cowles. 
The former, born in Southington in December, 1775, 
became a resident of the Marion District of that 
town, where he died May 6, 1828. His father, Jo- 
siah Cowles, was born in Farmington Nov. 20, 1716, 
and was married Nov. 1 1, 1739, to Jemima Dickin- 
son. Soon afterward he located in what is now 
Southington. His first wife died Oct. 19, 174 — , 
and Nov. 22, 1748, he wedded Mary Scott, daughter 
of Samuel and Mary (Pynchon) Scott, of Southing- 
ton, and the great-grandmother of our subject. 
Josiah Cowles was the father of eighteen children. 
He was a leading man in church and society, held 
several important town offices, and the military rank 
of captain. He died June 6, 1793. His father, 
Thomas Cowles, was born in Farmington Feb. 4, 
1685, and was married Jan. 6, 1714, to Martha, 
eldest daughter of Thomas and Sarah (Greeman) 
Judd, of Farmington. He resided in Farmington, 
on the place given him by his father, later known 
as the Dr. Carrington place, and there he died March 
11, 1756. He was a son of Samuel and Rachel 
(Porter) Cowles, and a grandson of Samuel and 
Abigail (Stanley) Cowles. The father of Samuel 
Cowles, Sr., was John Cole (or Cowles), one of 
the first settlers of Hartford, who about 1640 re- 
moved to Farmington, where he engaged in farm- 
ing : he served as deputy from Farmington to the 
General Court in 1653 and 1654. In 1662 he re- 
moved to Hadley, Mass., where he died in Septem- 
ber, 1675. 

Randolph W. Cowles, subject of this review, was 
reared in Southington, and in early manhood learned 
the carpenter's trade, but prior to the Civil war 
worked as a pattern-maker in the old Plant shop 
at Plantsville. On Aug. 8, 1862, he enlisted, be- 
coming a private in Company E, 20th Conn. V. 1.1 
participated in all of the engagements of his regi- 
ment, was with Sherman on his celebrated march 
to the sea, and was honorably discharged from the 
service June 13. 1865. On his return home he em- 
barked in business for himself as a contractor and 
builder, which vocation he continued to successfully 
follow until his death, March 28, 1899. 






COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



143 



On Feb. I, 1870, Mr. Cowles was united in 
marriage with Miss Elvira Wheeler, daughter of 
i >badiah and Lucy Ann (Guernsey) Wheeler, of 
Middlebury, Conn., and by that union five children 
were born, all of whom are still living : Edith, wife 
of Merton Holcomb ; Eleanor; Irving W. ; Annie 
E*. ; and Harriet L. Mr. Cowles was an active and 
prominent member of the Second Baptist Church 
of Plantsville, of which. he was a deacon for many 
vears, and fraternally was a member of Friendship 
Lodge, No. 33, F. & A. M., of Southington; and 
Trumbull Post, No. 16, G. A. R. His political 
support was always given to the men and measures 
of the Republican party, and he most acceptably 
served as burgess several terms, as assessor sixteen 
years, and represented Southington in the Legisla- 
ture two terms. 

ELI WELLS STODDARD (deceased) was a 
highly esteemed citizen of Wethersfield, and a 
worthy representative of one of its honored pio- 
neer families. 

John Stoddard, the progenitor of the family in 
America, was one of the first settlers of Wethers- 
field, where he owned and operated a tract of land, 
and served as sergeant in a military company. He 
died in Westfield, in December, 1664. In 1642 
he wedded Mary Foote, who was born in England 
in 1623, a daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth 
(Deming) Foote. After his death the widow mar- 
ried John Goodrich, of Wethersfield, who died in 
1680, and for her third husband she married Lieut. 
Thomas Tracey, of Norwich, Conn., who died Nov. 
7, 1685. By the first marriage there were six chil- 
dren : Mary, born March 12, 1643, was married, 
Dec. 10, 1663, to Joseph Wright, son of Thomas 
Wright, of Wethersfield; John, born April 12, 1646, 
was married May 26, 1674, to Elizabeth Curtis, 
<laughter of Thomas Curtis; Caleb and Joshua 
I twins) were born Sept. 12, 1648, and the former died 
when a young man, while the latter was married, 
Aug. 15, 1680, to Bethia Smith, daughter of Rich- 
ard Smith ; Mercy, born in November, 1652, was 
married March 10, 1685, to Joseph Wright, whose 
first wife was her sister; and Nathaniel, the young- 
est of the family, is mentioned below. 

(II) Nathaniel Stoddard, born in March, 1660, 
was twice married, and by his first wife had one 
son, Nathaniel, born Jan. 17, 1692, who was mar- 
ried, Sept. 26, 1728, to Sarah Buck, born March 25, 
1701, a daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Butler) 
Buck. They lived in Newington, Hartford county, 
where he died Aug. 15, 1756, his wife Nov. 4, 1757. 
For his second wife, Nathaniel Stoddard, Sr., mar- 
ried Eunice Standish, daughter of Thomas Standish. 
He died Feb. 9, 1714, and she departed this life Aug. 
5. 1716. They bad three children: Abigail, born 
Nov. 11, 1697, was married, Feb. 12, 1719, to John 
Francis, who was born in AVetbersfield, Oct. 12, 
1684, a son of John and Mercy Francis; Thomas is 
mentioned below; and Joshua, born March 4, 1703, 



was married, March 13. 1757, to Martha Deming, 
and died in Wethersfield, May 7, 1770. 

(III) Thomas Stoddard, born July 29. 1699, was 
united in marriage, Dec. 18, 1735. with Mary Camp, 
who was born Oct. 25, 1713, and died Aug. 26, 
1775 ; he passed away Aug. 26, 1772. In their fam- 
ily were eight children: (1) Elisha, born Aug. 20, 
1736, was married June 6, 1776, to Dorothy Will- 
ard, who was born Sept. 2J, 1741, a daughter of 
Daniel Willard. He died Jul}- 2, 1790, and she 
on April 11, 1826. He was a deacon of the church. 

(2) Eli, born Feb. 24, 1739, was a soldier of the 
Revolutionary war. On Feb. 8, 1770, he married 
Abigail At wood, who was born Aug. 28, 1747, a, 
daughter of Oliver and Dorothy (Curtis) Atwood. 

(3) Rebecca, born Sept. 8, 1740, was married, Nov. 
25, 1762, to William Wells, Jr., and lived in New- 
ington. (4) Benjamin, born Feb. 2, 1743, died May 
18, 1808. (5) Eunice, born Aug. 22, 1745, was mar- 
ried, Dec. 2, 1764, to Abel Aridrus, a Revolutionary 
soldier, who was born May 6, 1735, and she died 
Jan. 2T), 1785. (6) Epaphras, the next in order of 
birth, is mentioned below. (7) Lydia, born Aug. 8, 
1750, was married Nov. 14, 1771, to Aaron Deming. 
(8) Rhoda, born Oct. 30, 1754, was married, Jan. 
4, 1779, to Levi Curtis, and lived in Lenox, Massa- 
chusetts. 

(IV) Epaphras Stoddard, born Jan. 22, 1748, 
spent his life as a farmer in Wethersfield, where he 
died May 18, 1792, his remains being interred there. 
On Nov. 25, 1773, he was united in marriage with 
Mar)- Wells, a daughter of Ichabod and Abigail 
(Bigelow) Wells. She was born March 24, 1753, 
and died Sept. 10, 1825. By this union the follow- 
ing children were born: Mary, born March 1, 1776, 
died Sept. 26, 1776; Mary, born Nov. 11, 1778, was 
married, Dec. 9, 1803, to William Goodrich, of 
Wethersfield, who died July 14, 1830, while she died 
Aug. 16, 1858; Eli, the father of our subject, is 
mentioned below; Mella, born June 15, 1783, died 
April 29, 1787; Huldah, born May 26, 1785, was 
married, Jan. 22, 1809, to Sylvester Butler; Mella, 
born Aug. 1, 1787, died unmarried, May 6, i858, 
and Harriet, born Oct. 1, 1790, died unmarried, Oct. 
25, 1863. 

(Y ) Eli Stoddard, born Aug. 11, 1781, spent 
his entire life on the old homestead in Wethersfield, 
where he died Sept. 1, 1822. On Nov. 13, 1820, he 
wedded Mary Ferre, of Agawam, Mass., who was 
born in Hartford, Conn., Aug. 30, 1787, a daughter 
of Moses and Jerusha (Easton) Ferre. She was 
again married, May 3, 1835, her second husband be- 
ing George Francis, who was born Sept. 14, 1775, 
and died Nov. 21, 1858. She died Feb. 4, 1866. 
Our subject was the onlv child by the first marriage. 

( VI) Eli Wells Stoddard was born in Wethers- 
field, Jan. 2, 1822. Throughout his active business 
life be followed the occupation of farming, and in 
his labors met with well-merited success. On March 
15, 1843, be was united in marriage with Miss 
Martha Francis, who was born June 18, 1819, a 



144 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



daughter of George and Sally (Butler) Francis, 
and to them was born, Oct. 25, 1845, one daughter, 
Alary Francis. The mother and daughter still live 
on the old homestead in Wethersfield. Air. Stod- 
dard died in 1884, and was laid to rest in Wethers- 
field cemetery, in religious views he was liberal, 
and in political sentiment he was a Democrat. He 
was temperate in his habits, always lived up to the 
golden rule, and merited and received the confidence 
and respect of all who knew him. 

WILLARD IRA ALLIXG possesses a well- 
rounded character which has enabled him to fill 
with credit to himself and with satisfaction to the 
community in which he lives any position to which 
he has been appointed or elected. He has demon- 
strated a high degree of business ability, and pos- 
sesses that industry and integrity which command 
universal respect and insure success. 

Air. Ailing is a direct descendant from Roger 
Allen (Ailing), his emigrant ancestor, who came 
from the County of Bedford, England, and finally 
settled in New Haven, in 1639. His ancestors (tra- 
dition says) were the Athelings (contracted Ailing 
and Allen), who located in the north of England 
about the sixth century. Roger Allen (Ailing) 
was one of the original settlers and early land hold- 
ers in the Colony of Xew Haven. He was given 
a desirable and eligible location in the original lay- 
out in 1 64 1, his residence being at the present corner 
of Church and George streets. He was received 
into the First or Centre Church in 1641. Gov. 
Theophilus Eaton took the oath of allegiance and 
fidelity, and then administered it to many more, and 
among them was Roger Allen (Ailing). He was 
an active business man, and held many offices of 
trust ; was a custom house officer ; a sergeant in the 
first military company ; and the first and only elected 
treasurer of the Colony of Xew Haven until he be- 
came ineligible, by being chosen a deacon in the 
First or Centre Church, in 1669, which office he 
held until his death, on Sept. 27, 1674. In 1654, 
when Rev. John Davenport proposed to apply to 
Gov. Hopkins and the General Court for the estab- 
lishment of the first grammar and college school in 
the Colony of Xew Haven, Roger Allen was the 
first to respond and say he would send his son 
there. Several donations were soon after received, 
and in 1659 the General Court instituted the first 
grammar school in the Colony, at Saybrook, after- 
ward, in 1 70 1, organized as Yale College. 

John Allen (Ailing), son of Roger, was treas- 
urer of Yale College from 1702 until his death, in 
1717. In 1683 he was secretary to the General 
Court of Connecticut, with Robert Treat, gover- 
nor, and Samuel Bishop, deputy governor. He was 
elected to the Assembly or General Court for twen- 
ty years, and his name appears as Allen until 1701, 
when it is written Ailing, although his name ap- 
pears as Ailing at an earlier date. At the election 
of May 12, 1709, when Gurdon Saltonstall was re- 
elected governor, and Nathan Gould deputy gover- 



nor, he was elected one of the magistrates or "Gov- 
ernor's Council," to which office he was re-elected 
for several years, and from 1704 to 1714 he was 
judge of county courts, and held other offices of 
trust. His descendants were of a type Xew Eng- 
land is proud to claim as peculiarly its own — men 
who make the most of their surroundings, who join 
honesty to thrift, who love liberality as they scorn 
extravagance, and they have contributed their share 
toward gaining those priceless treasures, freedom 
and independence, several of the descendants having 
served all through the Revolutionary war and the 
war of 181 2 in civil and military capacity. 

Sergt. Samuel Allen (Ailing), son of John, born 
Sept. 7, 1645, married, Oct. 24, 1667, Elizabeth 
Winston, of the old Cecil (Churchill-Marlborough) 
families. 

Capt. Caleb Allen (Ailing), son of Samuel, mar- 
ried March 19, 1718, Hannah Bishop. 

Capt. Charles Ailing", son of Caleb, born in 
1729, married Hannah Dorman Jan. 17, 1753. He 
was a man of military attainments, was in the en- 
gagement at the invasion of Xew Haven by the 
British, July 5, 1779, and testifies as follows: 

I, Charles Ailing, of New Haven, of lawful age, testify, 
and say, that I saw, examined and assisted in burying Caft. 
John Gilbert, Asa Todd and Joseph Dorman. That Capt. 
John Gilbert was shot through the knee and then appeared 
to be killed with a club as his head was very much bruised, 
and a Club Bloody lay by him. That no wound appeared 
upon Asa Todd, except he was pierced with a Bayonet, 
one through the head and twice through the Body. That 
Joseph Dorman had his Thigh Broken just above the Knee, 
but it appeared tome, to have been done with a stone, which 
lay by him Bloody, and that he was pierced with Bayonets, 
once through the head and once through the Body, but no 
other wounds. 

Charles Allini., 
Sworn to before Samuel Bishop, Jr., Justice of the Peace. 

Abraham Ailing, the great-grandfather of our 
subject, was born May 14, 1754, and married Abi- 
gail Dorman about 1778. He was selectman of 
his town for many years, and became one of the 
best-known Connecticut Congregational ministers 
of a century ago. He was the first pastor of the 
Congregational Church at Whitneyville, serving 
continuously from 1795 to 1822. He was ordained 
Oct. 19, 1797, and was dismissed in 1822, at his 
own request ; his register shows that he solemnized 
324 marriages. He died July 24, 1836, aged 
eighty-two, and with his wife is buried in Hamden 
cemetery. 

Ezra Ailing, son of Abraham, born July 13, 
1799, married Eliza Warner May 25, 1820. He 
was a well-known agriculturist of Hamden and 
North Haven. He and his wife are buried in Ham- 
den cemetery. 

Charles Xoyes Ailing, son of Ezra, was born at 
Hamden, Feb. 22, 1822, learned the carriage maker's 
trade, and for many years was a successful carriage 
maker. About 185 1 he removed to Berlin, where 
he owned and operated the largest carriage factory 
in the town, and became quite well-to-do. In 1S4S 
he married Delia Angeline Baldwin, her mother 




ThMxAot j AIL, 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



145 



being Rhoda Welles, of the well-known Welles 
family of Wethersfield. Both parents of our sub- 
ject are buried in West Lane cemetery, Berlin. In 
politics Cbarles N. Ailing was a Republican. He 
served as justice of the peace, was on the board of 
relief and grand jury for a number of years, and 
rilled various otber minor offices. lie was one of 
tbe founders and an active member of the B irst 
Methodist Episcopal Church at Kensington, and 

I one of tbe trustees until his death, Oct. 8, 1887, at 

I the age of sixty-five years. 

Willard Ira Ailing, our subject, was born at 
Berlin, near his present residence in Kensington, 
-March 27, 1855. His early education was re- 
ceived in the schools of Berlin, and supplemented 
by a course in the scbools of New Britain. Re- 
turning to Berlin, he remained with his father two 
years, then took a special course at the carriage 
maker's trade with the well-known carriage builders 
of Plainville, remaining there about two years. 
Mr. Ailing soon after took charge of his father's 
sbops, and on his own account engaged in the man- 
ufacture of carriages, wbich he continued for about 
twenty years, becoming quite well-to-do, and re- 
tiring in 1893. Since that time he has been engaged 
in the real-estate business and in the management 
of his several properties in Berlin, Kensington and 
New Britain. 

Mr. Ailing married, Dec. 5, 1877, Harriet Eliza- 
beth Upson, who was born Nov. 6, 1857, daughter 
of Isaac and Elizabeth Drusilla (Allyn) Upson, 
both of whom are now deceased, and are buried in 
West Lane cemetery, Berlin. To our subject have 
come tbe following children: Benjamin Willard, 
born Nov. 7, 1879, now a student at Dartmouth 
College ; George Baldwin, born Aug. 23, 1882, a 
student in the New Britain high school ; Marshall 
Louis, bom Aug. 6, 1884, a student at the New 
Britain high school ; one son that died at the age of 
seven months ;Lulah Elizabeth, born Nov. 9, 1890, 
a pupil of the New Britain schools ; Lauretta Delia, 
born Jan. 25, 1894, attending the Berlin schools; 
and Esther, born Sept. I, 1896. In politics Mr. 
Ailing is a Republican. He has represented his 
town at various Congressional, County and Pro- 
bate conventions, and has held various other town 
offices ; at present he is one of the members of the 
Republican executive committee, and one of the 
auditors of the town accounts, and president of the 
West Lane Cemetery Association. He is a member 
of the local Grange, and served as secretary of the 
organization for two years. He is an attendant of 
the Congregational Church at Kensington, of which 
Mrs. Ailing is a member. Mr. Ailing is recognized 
as one of the influential residents of Berlin, and is 
one of its most active and progressive citizens. 

HENRY HAYDEN OSBORNE (deceased), in 
his day a well-known and highly esteemed farmer 
of Haydens Station, town of Windsor, was truly 
a remarkable man. When nearing his 
birthday he was as active as one thirty 
10 



eightieth 



years 



younger, though he was dependent upon his own re- 
sources for a livelihood since a child of three years, 
and had worked hard in all kinds of weather and 
under very difficult circumstances, being knocked 
around from place to place, where he worked at 
various occupations, but principally farming. 

Mr. Osborne was born in the town of Windsor, 
Aug. 21, 1819, a son of Harry and Keziah (Hayden) 
Osborne. The father was a native of East Windsor 
and as a young man came to Windsor, where he 
married, his wife being a representative of the old 
Hayden family of that town. She died when our 
subject was but four years old, and the father, who 
was employed throughout life as a farm hand in 
Windsor, passed away when less than fifty years of 
age. Of their four children, Julia married and spent 
her last years in Hartford, where her death occur- 
red ; and two daughters died in infancy. 

H. H. Osborne, the only survivor of this fam- 
ily, was "put out" with a farmer at the age of three 
years, and had to make his own way in the world, 
working at first as chore boy lor his board and 
clothes. His educational privileges were limited to 
a short attendance at the schools in the vicinity of 
Haydens Station. At the age of eleven years he 
went to Suffield, and later worked at various places 
for different men. On Oct. 2, 1865, he married 
Miss Jane E. Hatheway, of Suffield, a daughter of 
Lucius and Maria (Stanley) Hatheway. She was 
born Feb. 11, 1831. In 1866 Mr. Osborne returned 
to Windsor, and worked on the farm of Ephraim 
A. Judson, at Haydens Station, who at his death 
gave to our subject the place for taking care of him. 

Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Os- 
borne, namely Louise H., an estimable young lady 
who resides at home ; and Francis H., an employe of 
the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad 
Co.. who is also living at home. The latter married 
Nettie L. Ashwell, and has two children : Frank H. 
and Harry Frederick. 

In the course of his life Mr. Osborne met with 
many serious accidents, including broken ribs and 
arms, an injured leg and other painful injuries; but 
notwithstanding these he, in his old age, was still 
well preserved and very active and energetic. Po- 
litically he was a Democrat, but took little interest 
in politics, seldom voting except at Presidential 
elections. Mr. Osborne died July 31, 1899, within 
three weeks of his eightieth birthday, and after an 
illness of only three days. 

JOHN E. MARTIN, A. B., M. D., has brought 
thorough preparation to the practice of medicine. 
He combines with his professional knowledge of the 
healing art a remarkable devotion to his chosen 
profession which has made him eminently successful 
in practice and one of the recognized leaders of the 
medical fraternity in New Britain. 

The Doctor's father, Michael Martin, was born 
in County Kerry, Ireland, son of a farmer and 
cattleman. When twelve years of age he emigrated 



146 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



ti ) America and settled at New York, after some time 
moving to Connecticut, and afterwards to Massa- 
chusetts. Sometime during the 'fifties he returned to 
Connecticut and etablished himself at Uncasville, 
where for many years he was engaged in a manu- 
facturing industry. In 1867 he moved to California, 
and for two years engaged in mining. On his re- 
turn East he located at Montville, thence removing 
to Bristol, where he has since lived. Michael Martin 
is a self-made man, possessed of good native ability, 
and has prospered well in life. In his political 
opinion he is a Democrat, but not active in party af- 
fairs, and he is a member of the Catholic Church. 
He married Ellen Gartland, of Countv Monaghan, 
Ireland, and of their four children Margaret is dead ; 
James owns and manages a hotel at Xiles, Cal. ; 
Mary married Michael Connors, and resides at 
Bristol, Conn. The mother died in 1886. Michael 
Martin had one brother, Thomas Martin, a wealthy 
and successful ranchman of Xiles, Alameda Co., 
Cal., now deceased. 

John E. Martin, whose name introduces this 
sketch, and the youngest child of his parents, was 
born Dec. 11, 1866, at Uncasville, New London 
Co., Conn. He received a good academic education 
in the high schools of Bristol and Hartford, and 
upon the completion of his studies there entered St. 
Laurent College, a branch of Notre Dame, located 
five miles from Montreal, Canada, and remained a 
student for several years. He then attended St. 
Joseph College, at Bardstown, Ky., completing the 
collegiate course and receiving the degree of A. B. 
in 1889. At the college he was regarded as a 
thorough student, and was remarkable for his elo- 
cutionary powers. He next entered the office of 
Dr. Horton at Bristol, Conn., and a year later ma- 
triculated at the University of New York, whence he 
was graduated in April, 1892. He began his pro- 
fessional career at Winsted, Conn., in April, 1892. 
In February, 1893. he removed to New Britain, in 
which city he has since practiced continuously. He 
has a numerous clientele, drawn from a radius of 
ten miles around, and has built up one of the best 
practices in the city. He is visiting physician and 
surgeon for the New Britain General Hospital ; is 
a member of the City Medical Society, belongs to the 
Allopathic school of medicine, and devotes a consid- 
erable share of his time to surgery, in which branch 
he has been very successful. In politics the Doctor 
is a Democrat, but he is not strongly partisan, though 
his elocutionary gifts fit him eminently for a public 
speaker. He is a member of the Knights of Colum- 
bus, the Foresters of America and the K. O. T. M., 
and has taken an active interest in fraternal work. 
He is a man of broad culture, has traveled exten- 
sively, is a thorough business man, and a successful 
practitioner. 

Dr. Martin married, on Juy 17, 1894, Margaret 
J. Wheeler, daughter of Simon Wheeler, a native 
of King's County, Ireland, and one of the oldest and 
most respected residents of West Winsted, Conn. 



She is a graduate of the West Winsted High 
School, also of the New Britain Normal School, and 
in the Winsted schools was regarded as a most bril- 
liant pupil. She was a teacher in the public schools 
of her native town prior to her marriage, taking 
high rank in her profession. To Dr. and Mrs. 
Martin have been born four children, Eleanor, Ra- 
mona, Edward, and Margaret. 

PHILIP NORTON. The family of the late 
Philip Norton of Kensington is descended from 
Le Sieur de Norviile, who came from Normandy to 
England in September, 1006. Through seven gen- 
erations the patronymic continued in its French 
form, although in time Sieur became the plain Eng- 
lish Sir. A son of the first English progenitor mar- 
ried into the family of Barr, and one of his sons into 
that of Dalba Monte. Other matrimonial connec- 
tions in the direct line of descent were with the fam- 
ilies of Xe\\ itt of Ruby, Dampre Count, Sir John 
Headoroke and a Basingbroke. It was at this period 
that the family name was changed to Norton, the 
first of the de Norvilles to take the Saxon form be- 
ing Sir John Norton, who married Anne, a daugh- 
ter of Lord De Grey, of Ruthm. His son and 
grandson both bore the Christian name of John, and 
both were residents of Sharpenhow, Bedfordshire, 
England. John (2) was twice married, his second 
wite (from whom the Connecticut Nortons are de- 
scended) having been Jane, a daughter of John 
Cooper. She bore her husband three sons and one 
daughter. One of the sons, Richard Norton, be- 1 
came the husband of Margery Wingar, also of 
Sharpenhow. Their son, \\ illiam, was also twice 
married, his first wife being Margaret, a daughter 
of William Harris, and his second Dennis Chitsmley. 

The first of the family to emigrate from England 
to America were the two brothers, Thomas and 
Francis, sons of William. Of these the first named 
was the great-great-great-grandfather of Philip 
Norton. He landed at Boston and removed to Guil- 
ford, Conn.. June 1, 1639, he and his wife, Grace, 
being among the first settlers of that town. He died 
there in 1648. 

Thomas Norton had a son named Thomas, a 
resident of Saybrook, who was the great-great- 
grandfather of Philip. Next in the line of descent 
is Thomas (3), who also lived in Saybrook, where 
he reared a large family. His son Jedediah Nor- 
ton, the grandfather of Philip, came from Saybrook 
to Wallingford (now Meriden). In time he became 
a large owner of realty, making his home in Berlin 
on a large tract of land which he purchased, situated 
on the main road between Hartford and New Haven, 
some two miles south of what is now Worthington 
village, and about a mile north of the boundary line 
between Berlin and Meriden, which also separates 
the counties of Hartford and New Haven. He was 
twice married. His first wife was Eunice CowlesJ 
of Meriden, by whom he had two children. In 1746, 
after her death, he was united with Achsah. a 









COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



147 



daughter of Isaac Norton, who was a son of Thomas 
N orton ( 3 ) , mentioned above. 

Isaac A orton, the maternal great-grandfather 
of Philip Norton, was born in Farmington in 1680, 
and died in 1763. He was the husband of Eliza- 
beth Galpin, of Stafford, whom he married in 1707. 
He was known as Ensign and Lieutenant Norton, 
was a merchant of Worthington (now Berlin), and 
one of the wealthiest citizens of the town. He was 
famed for his piety, and was held in high esteem. 
Achsah was born June 10, 1721, and died Aug. 8, 
1805, having borne her husband eight children. He 
and his family were among the first members of the 
Congregational Church, and he was the donor of 
the first organ which the society ever owned, and 
one of the first two imported into America, and 
which was destroyed by fire in the burning of the 
church building. Jedediah's son Samuel, the fa- 
ther of the late Philip Norton, was bom Sept. 30, 
1759, in that part of Farmington which is now Ber- 
lin, the place of his birth being the present home- 
stead, still owned and occupied by decendants of 
the Norton name. In November, 1775, when a 
mere boy of sixteen years, he enlisted in the Con- 
tinental army, re-enlisting in May and July, 1777, 
and again in July, 1779- He was present at the 
siege of Boston, and took part in the battle of 
Bunker Hill. He also served with the New Haven 
coast guard, aided in repelling the British invasion 
of that town, and passed through the war without 
a wound. He was also a delegate from Berlin to the 
Constitutional Convention in 1818. On Jan. 22, 
1789, he married Phoebe Edwards, who was born 
Feb. 19, 1770, in Meriden, which was then a part of 
Wallingford. Ten children were born to them, 
none of whom are living. Samuel Norton was an 
exceedingly prosperous farmer, also a sagacious in- 
vestor in stocks and other securities, and was con- 
sidered, in his day, a very wealthy man. He died 
Oct. 2y, 1832. His wife survived him for many 
years, and both now rest in the South burying- 
ground at Berlin. 

Philip Norton was born March 2, 1801, in 
Berlin. His school days ended, he followed a cus- 
tom then very common among young men in that 
section of the State, and started on a trip through 
the South, peddling tinware made in his native town. 
On his return home he settled down to the life of a 
farmer. He was a public-spirited citizen, and al- 
ways aided any enterprise likely to benefit the town. 
In politics he was a Democrat, and in religious affili- 
ations a Universalist, although the Society of that 
creed in Berlin was dissolved before his death. 

Mr. Norton was married, March 28, 1835, to 
Elizabeth Newberry, who was born May 31, 1810, 
in Wethersfield, the daughter of Benjamin and 
Martha (Dickinson) Newberry. The Newberry 
family was one of the most prominent Colonial 
families of Windsor. The children of this mar- 
riage were three sons and four daughters: Samuel, 
the eldest, lives in San Francisco; John married 



Ann Jeanie Ford, of Berlin, where he resides and 
is prominent in town affairs ; Henrietta is the wife 
of R. A. Moore, postmaster of Kensington ; George 
Benjamin is connected with the wholesale paper 
warehouse of C. B. Hewitt & Bros., of New York; 
The remaining children live together in the family 
homestead, one of the most picturesque places in the 
town. Mr. Norton passed away in 1880, at his res- 
idence in Berlin, and was laid to rest in Berlin cem- 
etery. 

HENRY MARTYN ROBBINS (deceased) 
was for many years one of the honored and esteemed 
citizens of Newington, a man whose well-spent and 
charitable lite commanded the respect of all with 
whom he was brought in contact 

A native of Connecticut, Mr. Robbins was born 
Aug. 10, 1839, on the old homestead, at Newing- 
ton, Hartford county, in the house where his widow 
now makes her home. Unni Robbins, his father, 
w r as born on the adjoining farm (the one on which 
Mrs. F. J. Warner now lives), married Sarah Dun- 
ham, and died when about seventy years of age. 
He was a son of Unni, who was a son of Unni, 
whose father was the first of the family in the United 
States, coming from England and settling in New- 
ington. The ancestors were all farmers by occupa- 
tion, honorable and industrious men, and good citi- 
zens. 

Our subject received a liberal education, in part 
at the Newington public schools, and in part at 
Newington Academy, subsequently continuing his 
studies at Cheshire and Harlem, and in the meantime 
gaining considerable experience in agriculture on 
the home farm. At about the age of eighteen years 
he went to New York City, where he clerked for a 
time, and later took up his residence in Hartford, 
in that city carrying on a furniture business in part- 
nership with Mr. Robbins and Mr. Winship, under 
the firm name of Robbins & Winship. At the end 
of about four years Mr. Robbins, on account of the 
death of his father, withdrew from the concern, re- 
turned home and assumed exclusive control of the 
farm, and passed the remainder of his life there, 
dying Dec. 27, 1898. His home was built by Tim- 
othy Stanley, and bought by his father, Unni Rob- 
bins. Hesides engaging in general farming, our 
subject dealt largely in tobacco, growing consider- 
able quantities each year. He was thoroughly 
public-spirited, widely known and generally re- 
spected, perhaps more so than any other man in 
Newington and vicinity, and was prominent and gen- 
erous in all public affairs. He was mainly instru- 
mental in getting the electric street-car line estab- 
lished between Newington and New Britain, giving 
right of way through some two miles of land, be- 
sides giving financial aid and lending his influence 
in securing money donations for the same purpose. 
He also gave to the town a lot on Main street, 
where' in to build a library, if the town should so 
wish. At his death he left five thousand dollars 



148 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



to the Ecclesiastical Society (Congregational conferred upon him the degree of M. D., then for a 



Church), and one thousand dollars to the Children's 
Home. 

On May 19, 1875, Air. Robbins was united in 
marriage with Miss Sarah Frances Kellogg, who 
was born Oct. 4, 185 1, in North Carolina, one of the 
family of five children of Martin and Patience 
(Gordon) Kellogg, both now deceased, the father 
being buried in Aewington, the mother in North 
Carolina. Mr. Kellogg was born in the town of 



period was engaged in hospital practice, developing 
a taste and aptitude for surgery. On Aug. 11, 1862, 
he was commissioned assistant surgeon ot the 126th 
N. V. V. 1., and during the summer of 1864 served 
as post surgeon at Martinsburg, W. \ a. While at 
this point it was within the province of Surgeon 
Peltier to render to his country most valuable aid, 
which was greatly appreciated by the commanding 
general through a letter of acknowledgment. This 



Kewington, Hartford county, where he received his service was in the line of imparting information, to 
earlier education, subsequently taking a course at Gen. Averill, of a proposed Rebel raid which en- 
Yale College, where he was graduated, and soon dangered his command of capture, in a history of 
afterward going to North Carolina, where he estab 



lished a sciiool tor boys. He married and continued 
to reside there, but died in Hartford, where he had 
come for treatment during his last illness. 

Mr. Robbins, as is also his widow, was a mem- 
ber of the Congregational Church, toward which he himself to all by his uniform kindness, his genial 



the regiment of which Dr. Peltier was surgeon it 
is stated that: "Surgeon Peltier had the full confi- 
dence of the officers and men under his charge, as 
well as of his medical associates, by his skill and 
success as a physician and surgeon, and endeared 



was very liberal ot his means, and he was also con- 
nected with the Grange. A stanch Democrat, he 
was firm in his political creed, but never obtrusive 
or radical; in 1876-77 (one term) he served in the 
Legislature with credit and ability, and for some 
fourteen or fifteen years he was a selectman of the 
town. During the war of the Rebellion he sent a 
substitute, and in many other ways proved his loyalty 
to the cause of the Union. His public and private 
life were alike above reproach, and his widow, a 
most estimable lad} - , fully shares in the high regard 
accorded her husband. 

PIERRE DESXOYERS PELTIER, M. 1).. of 
Hartford, founder of the Farmington Valley San- 
atorium, at Collinsville, and a physician of distinc- 
tion in the profession, has descended from an his- 
toric ancestry. 

Dr. Peltier was born Nov. 15, 1835, in Fort Gra- 
tiot. Mich., son of Charles and Emily (Parmely) 
Peltier, and a lineal descendant of Michael Pelletier, 
Sieur de la Prade, Seigneur de Gentilly ; and of 
Francois Pelletier, who was one of the founders of 
Detroit. Charles Peltier, the grandfather of our 
subject, was a soldier in the war of 1812, serving 
as an adjutant : he was later post trader at Fort 
Wayne, Ind., and was killed by the Indians. 

Charles Peltier (2), our subject's father, was 
an historic character in the earlv history of Micni- 
gan. He was post trader at Fort Gratiot, and af- 



and social qualities as a gentleman, and by his un- 
failing fund of wit and humor, that never required 
a victim." At the close of the war Dr. Peltier 
located at Clifton Springs, X. \\, and later at 
Cornwall-on-the-Hudson, practicing there until 
1871, when he located in Hartford, Conn.; he has, 
by his ability, energy, obliging disposition and en- 
gaging manners, built up a large, lucrative prac- 
tice, and attained high rank in the profession. 

Dr. Peltier, from close observation and study 
through years of experience and contact with the 
world, became impressed with the desire of estab- 
lishing a retreat lor persons suffering with nervous 
and chronic diseases, believing that in so doing he 
would accomplish what in time would be greatly 
appreciated by the thousands of men and women 
throughout the country so afflicted, and that such 
an institution would redound to his honor. In this 
age of hurry and bustle the average business man 
is so interested in the success of his enterprise that 
the strain, with little or no relaxation, sooner or 
later breaks him down, and he finds himself a ner- 
vous wreck. Such diseases require expert treat- 
ment, and in a place of quiet, where the patient can 
have an entire change of scenery, with inviting, 
cheering and restful sum undings. Carrying out 
his ideas in the line indicated, Dr. Peltier has estab- 
lished the Farmington Valley Sanatorium at an ideal 
country seat, Collinsville, near Hartford, and beau- 
tifully located on the Farmington river, where the 



terward for a number of years comptroller and jus- surroundings are just such as are desired. The re- 



tice of the peace in Detroit. Mrs. Emily (Parmely ) 
Peltier, the mother of our subject, after the death 
of her husband was again married, to Simri Col- 
lins, and under the name of Emily Parmelv Collins 
is widely known as a woman suffragist and writer 
on economics. Her father, James Parmely, was a 
patriot of the Revolution. 

< »ur subject's education was received at Mace- 
don ( Nf. Y. ) Academy and in the University of 
Michigan. He was graduated from the Medical 
Department of Buffalo University in i860, which 



treat or home itself is handsome and cheerful, it 
being newly furnished throughout; spacious veran- 
das are on the first and second stories, and the home 
pleasant in general. Beautiful drives are on all 
sides through the grounds, which are well studded 
with trees and shrubbery. A bountiful supply of 
pure spring water is at hand, while the air of the 
Xew England climate is invigorating. Here also 
Dr. Peltier has gathered about him a staff of compe- 
tent physicians and surgeons who have acquired a 
reputation for themselves, and the Sanatorium is 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



149 



rapidly coming into notice, and has a promising 
future. 

Dr. Peltier has been medical director of the Na- 
tional Life Association of Hartford, and for a 
dozen or more years has been president of the Board 
of United States Pension Examiners for Hartford. 
He is now and has been since its organization a 
member of Robert O. Tyler Post, G. A. R., at 
Hartford. At the reunion of the 126th N. Y. V. 
1.. at Gettysburg, Penn., he delivered the address 
commemorative of the occasion. The Doctor is a 
member of the Army of the Potomac, the Army 
and Navy Club, a thirty-second degree Mason, and 
a member of other fraternal organizations. He is 
also a member of the American Association of Or- 
ihcial Surgery, of the American Institute of Home- 
opathy, and was also president of the State Homeo- 
pathic Association ot Connecticut. 

On Aug. 10, 1859, Dr. Peltier was married to 
Maria Reed, who is a great-granddaughter of 
George Reed, a soldier of the Revolution, and is a 
descendant of Joseph Mygatt, one of the first settlers 
l and one of the founders of the Center Congrega- 
tional Church) of Hartford. The three children 
born to this union are Florence Perry, Frank Hast- 
ings Hamilton Peltier, M. D., and Frederick Des- 
noyers Peltier, of New York City. 

HON. DANIEL EDWARD BRADLEY. 
Prominent among the energetic, enterprising and 
successful business men of Berlin, Hartford county, 
is the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch. 
He possesses untiring energy, is quick of perception, 
forms his plans readily, and is determined in their 
execution ; and his close application to business and 
his excellent management have brought to him the 
prosperity which is to-day his. 

Mr. Bradley was born in East Jaffrey, N. H., 
May 16, i86j, a son of Dr. Oscar Holmes Bradley, 
who was born in Louisville, K\\, in 1826, and has 
been engaged in the practice of medicine for many 
years. The mother of our subject, who bore the 
maiden name of Julia Ann Spaulding, was born in 
183 1, a daughter of Daniel and Luanda (Perkins) 
Spaulding, natives of Fitzwilliam, N. H. The 
paternal grandfather, Jeremiah Bradley, married 
Margaret Holmes, of Londonderry, N. H., and 
they died and were buried at South Royalston, 
Massachusetts. 

Daniel E. Bradley, subject of this sketch, spent 
his boyhood and youth at home, and was graduated 
from the public schools of Jaffrey, N. H. At the 
age of eighteen years he entered Darmouth College, 
where he pursued both a scientific and civil engi- 
neering course. After his graduation he had charge 
of the Hoosac tunnel and Wilmington railroad as 
chief engineer, with headquarters at Readsboro, Vt., 
having become connected with that road during va- 
cations, and with this company he remained until 
October, 1883. The following two years he was as- 
sistant engineer for the Boston Bridge Works, and 



for the same length of time had charge of the draft- 
ing department tor the Berlin Iron Bridge Co., at 
East Berlin, Conn. On resigning that position he 
went to St. Albans, Vt., where he served as mana- 
ger and treasurer for the Vermont Construction Co. 
tor two years, and was then elected vice-president, 
which office he held for the same length of time. 
That firm did general contracting and bridge work. 
When he resigned that position he returned to East 
Berlin, Conn., and was manager of the highvvay 
bridge department of the Berlin Iron Bridge Co. 
until 1898, when he was made manager of the con- 
tracting department, and now has full charge of 
making all contracts, etc. Mr. Bradley has proved 
a most efficient man for the place, and under his 
able management the business of the company has 
steadily increased. 

On Dec. 31, 1883, Mr. Bradley married. Miss 
Anna Samson, who was born in Roxbury, Vt., May 
3, 1862, a daughter of Charles and Margaret Sam- 
son. Her father died a number of years ago. Mr. 
and Mrs. Bradley have become the parents of four 
children: Lucile Katherine, born May 27, 1887, is 
now attending the Worthington private school in 
Berlin; Marguerite Julia, born April 16, 1889, is a 
pupil in the same private school ; Ruth, born June 7, 
1891, died Oct. 13, 1893; and Edith Narcissa, born 
Sept. 11, 1893, is attending Miss Roys' private 
school in Berlin. 

In 1894 Mr. Bradley erected, on W'orthington 
avenue, Berlin, a very beautiful residence with all 
modern improvements. At this hospitable home the 
many friends of the family delight to congregate. 
Politically Mr. Bradley is a stanch Democrat, and 
on the party ticket was elected to the State Legis- 
lature in 1897. Although Berlin township gave 
President McKinley a majority of 251 votes, Mr. 
Bradley defeated the Republican candidate, M. E. 
Jacobs, by 68 votes, a fact which plainly indicates 
his personal popularity, and the confidence and trust 
reposed in him by his fellow citizens. He is a prom- 
inent member of the New Britain Club, of New 
Britain, Conn.; the Engineers Club, of New York; 
the Country Club, of Farmington, Conn. ; the Ameri- 
can Society of Civil Engineers ; and is a member of 
the executive committee of the Connecticut Civil 
Engineers Association. He is prominent in both 
business and social circles, and is one of the best- 
known men of his community. 

ALLEX A. ROBBINS (deceased). The Rob- 
bins family for four generations has been promi- 
nently identified with the history and development 
of Rocky LT ill. In all this time there has never been 
one of this historic name who has failed to take an 
active part in the official administration of public 
affairs in this locality. The earliest member of the 
family of whom any record has been preserved was 
one John Robbins, who built the red brick home- 
stead which is still standing upon the Robbins farm. 
He was the great-grandfather of Allen A., and the 



HO 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



grandfather of Allen ( I ) , who was the son of Jacob, 
great-great-grandson of the original John Robbins, 
gentleman. 

Jacob Robbins, grandfather of our subject, was 
first married to Chloe Williams, who bore him three 
children : Elias, Silas, and Allen ( who is referred 
to below). The mother of these children died, and 
he then married Eunice Webster, by whom he be- 
came the father of five children : Austin, Moses, 
Chloe, Silas and Eunice. 

Allen Robbins, father of our subject, was born 
about the year 1779, on the old homestead, and was 
an eminently successful farmer. He married 
Amelia Bulkley, and to their union came the fol- 
lowing children: Thomas, born October, 1806, died 
at Rocky Hill in 1894; Chloe W., born Jan. 9, 1808, 
married Frederick Marsh, and died in June, 1898; 
Mary A., born in July, 1810, died in May, 1890; 
Allen A., our subject, born in 1816, died Oct. 7, 
1900; Abigail W., born in 1819, married Rev. Joshua 
Maynard, and died in May, 1847; Emily W., born 
Jan. 9. 1822, became the wife of Robert Sugden, of 
Rocky Hill. The father died at his home in 1852, 
the mother on Oct. 4, 1847. 

Allen A. Robbins received his early training 
upon his father's farm, and it did not greatly vary 
from that obtained by most farmers' lads in the 
early days of Connecticut history. He remained on 
this farm until after his marriage, in 1840, to Abby 
Ann Goodrich. In the same year he went with his 
wife to live upon the farm of her grandfather, and 
there remained some six years, or until the death of 
his wife, which occurred Aug. 4, 1846. Shortly 
afterward he returned to his father's home, where 
he remained until November, 1898, when he made 
his home with his daughter. To Mr. and Mrs. 
Robbins were born two children : ( 1 ) Thomas H., 
born in November, 1841, is a graduate of Yale 
University, having received his degree in 1868. He 
served in the war of the Rebellion in Company H, 
25th Conn. V. I., and distinguished himself re- 
peatedly by acts of personal bravery. He is a civil 
engineer by profession, and a resident of Oklahoma 
Territory. (2) Annie A., born July 15, 1845, is the 
wife of William G. Robbins, a farmer and also the 
town clerk of Rocky Hill, and they have had six 
children. 

Allen A. Robbins spent the greater part of his 
life upon the farm, and his career may be said to 
have been devoid of any events of striking interest ; 
yet his unassailable integrity, his unvarying fidelity 
to truth, and his genial, kindly disposition, endeared 
him to all with whom he came in contact. For many 
years he was chosen by his townspeople as selectman, 
the duties of which office he discharged with thesamc 
fidelity with which lie entered upon every task that 
fell across his way. When a youth of twenty years 
he became a member of the State militia, and rose 
to the rank of captain of his company. He was a 
devout and consistent member of the Congregational 
Church, and a liberal contributor to its support and 



work. It is of such men as Mr. Robbins. quiet, un- 
assuming and trustworthy, that New England may 
well be proud. 

HOX. WILLIS HENRY UPSON, treasurer 
and secretary of the Berlin Savings Bank, and who 
for years has been successfully engaged in mercan- 
tile pursuits at Kensington (Berlin), has descended 
from one of the early substantial families of New 
England. 

Mr. Upson was born March 29, 1858, in Berlin,. 
son of William and Mary ( Hart ) Upson, and grand- 
son of Thomas Upson, whose ancestors were from 
Massachusetts. Thomas Upson was a thrifty 
farmer in the town of Wolcott. and owned consid- 
erable land. He married Jerusha Upson. William 
Upson, our subject's father, was born July 2, 1825, 
in Wolcott, Conn., in which town he was partially 
reared and schooled, the family moving when Will- 
iam was thirteen to Kensington. On reaching man- 
hood he was married to Mary, daughter of Samuel 
and Lucy (Dickinson) Hart, of Berlin, both of 
whom are now deceased, and their remains rest in 
the Kensington cemetery. Mr. Upson has con- 
tinued to reside in Kensington, and covering the long 
period of sixty and more years he has been a useful 
man in the community and a good citizen. He was 
a Whig in the days of that party, and on its disso- 
lution allied himself with the Republican party, 
and has since strongly advocated its principles. He 
has ever taken a deep interest in matters pertaining 
to the good of the community, and the best interests 
of the town. He has not aspired to office, yet has 
held several, among them that of selectman and a 
member of the board of relief. He was one of the 
charter members of the Grange, and active in its 
interests during the existence of the local organi- 
zation. Since 1870 he has been a deacon in the 
Congregational Church. His first wife died June 
30, 1871, and Feb. 23, 1874, he married (second) 
Aurelia, daughter of Isaac Hough, a tanner of 
Wolcott. She died Aug. 18. 1898. since which 
period the husband has made his home with his 
son Arthur, in Kensington. The children born to 
the first marriage of William Upson are as fol- 
lows: ( 1 ) Willis H., our subject, is mentioned at 
length farther on. (2) Lucy J., born March 26, 
i860, married Jan. 4, 1887, Charles Woodward 
Cary, a merchant of Montevallo, Ala. (3) Arthur 
W., born June 2^, 1863, married Oct. 3. 1889, 
Miss Alice E. Peck, who was born Jan. 8, 1865, 
daughter of Langdon J. and Hannah (Kenney) 
Peck, of Kensington. Arthur Upson is now practic- 
ing law with F. L. Hungerford, of New Britain. 
His children are Claire P.. born Feb. 6, 1891 ; 
Everett L.. born June 19, 1892; and Stewart Ar- 
thur, born May 10, 1894. (4) Alice C, born June 
9. 1868, married Sept. 17. 1890, Sidney M. Cowles, 
who is in the retail meat business in Kensington : 
his children are: Helen M. born July 13. 1891 ; 
and Edward U., born Nov. 11, 1892. (5) Mary 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



151 



Hart, born April 15, 1871, married in October, 
1895, Howard J. Pratt, of Hartford, who is con- 
nected with the Sage & Allen store of that city. 

Our subject's boyhood was mainly passed in the 
towns of Berlin and New Britain ; he attended the 
common schools of the former, and the Camp school 
in New Britain. After his school days were over 
he began his business career as a clerk in the 
shipping-room of the gas-fitting department of the 
Bradley & Hubbard Manufacturing Co., of Meri- 
den, Conn. After some four years' service with this 
company he became assistant paymaster at the Ken- 
sington branch of the Peck, Stow & Wilcox Co., 
and served as such for two years. Following this 
he engaged in the mercantile business, and was 
appointed postmaster at Kensington in 1888, re- 
taining this position eight years. He is now lo- 
cated in the new building, having erected near 
the station a large three-story block in which he 
established his present mercantile business. Since 
1888 Mr. Upson has been treasurer and secretary 
of the Berlin Savings Bank, an institution that was 
incorporated in 1873, an ^ of which William Bulke- 
ley is now the president. Mr. Upson is also a di- 
rector of the institution. Our subject is one of the 
substantial citizens and successful business men 
of Berlin. His public spirit and enterprise are evi- 
denced in his elegant business block, referred to in 
the foregoing. In his political views he is a Re- 
publican, and as such has been active and influential ; 
he is a member of the board of relief in Berlin ; 
in 1895 he was a representative from his town in 
the State Legislature. Fraternally he is a member 
of the Royal Arcanum Lodge, No. 1105, New 
Britain. 

( >n May 23, 1883, at Wolcott, Conn., Mr. Upson 
was married to Miss Clara Eliza Warner, who was 
born Dec. 24, 1859, daughter of Erastus and Eliza 
J. Warner, of Wolcott, the latter of whom died in 
Kensington, in 1899, and is buried in Plymouth, 
Conn. The children born to our subject and his 
wife are as follows : Harold Warner, born March 
19, 1886; Warren William, Nov. 22, 1887; and 
Lura Hart, July 16, 1891. The parents are mem- 
bers of the Kensington Congregational Church, and 
the father has for years been treasurer and clerk 
of the Ecclesiastical Society. Both take an active 
part in church work, and are among its liberal 
supporters. 

EDWIN BISHOP HIBBARD, who passed 

away March 17. 1877, is well remembered by the 
older and main' of the younger, residents of Man- 
chester, Hartford county, as a citizen who always 
had the interests of his communitv at heart, and as 
a man of high moral character and recognized worth. 
He was the pioneer merchant in the town, and, rising 
by his own efforts to a place among the substantial 
busines men of this section, ranked among its self- 
made men, and was honored and esteemed wherever 
known. 



Mr. Hibbard was born in March, 1819, in the 
town of Hebron, Tolland Co., Conn., son of Walter 
and Lucinda (Jones) Hibbard. Walter Hibbard 
was a drum major in the war of 1812; by trade he 
was a stone mason. When our subject was a boy 
the family removed to New York State, and, return- 
ing to Connecticut after a few years' residence there, 
settled in Marlboro, Tolland county. Edwin B. 
Hibbard received his education in the common 
schools, and began work at the tinner's trade, which 
he followed until he reached his majority, after 
which, for about a year, he sold silverware through 
the country, hoping to benefit his health, which was 
very poor. In about 1841 he started a tin shop at 
Marlboro, remaining there until 1847, w which year 
he came to Manchester to do some work on the fac- 
tory of the old Union Manufacturing Co., roofing, 
etc. When the job was completed, and having de- 
cided to settle here, he opened a shop in the vicinity 
of the mill, in time adding hardware, stoves, etc., 
and in 1848 erecting a small store where his son is 
now engaged in business. The place was enlarged 
from time to time as the increasing trade required, 
and for a number of years he sold hardware, stoves, 
etc., there, subsequently renting the store to Alex- 
ander Mitchell and still later to William McCormick 
and to L. S. Emmons ; it is now ocupied by Hibbard 
& Stannard. Early in the 'fifties he also built a store 
in South Manchester, which he conducted a few 
years and then sold out. After renting his hardware 
store Mr. Hibbard handled sewing machines and 
musical instruments, pianos, organs, etc., until his 
death, and he was also engaged in the same line in 
Providence, R. I., as a member of the firm of Hib- 
bard & Hawkins, which later became Hawkins Bros. 
He was always successful in his enterprises, giving 
them the careful attention which is necessary in any 
line, and exercising sound judgment in all his trans- 
actions. 

Though never a politician or office seeker, Mr. 
Hibbard was nevertheless a most active citizen. All 
matters pertaining to his town received his careful 
attention, and, if deserving, his strongest influence, 
for he ccu'd always be depended upon to give his 
support to any undertaking which he thought would 
benefit the community. He was identified with the 
improvement and growth of Manchester from its 
earliest days, for he came to the town when it could 
boast of but one store, that of the Union Manufac- 
turing Co. When the New York & New Haven 
railroad was built through Manchester Mr. Hibbard, 
Loren Carpenter and William Jones purchased the 
land in Manchester on which the depot stands, and 
presented it to the company, thereby securing to the 
people of the town a depot site centrally located and 
convenient. Mr. Hibbard was also for many years 
identified with religious interests in the town, being 
a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, with 
which he united when sixteen years of age. and 
he served efficiently as steward and trustee of the 
Society at Manchester. His political support was 



152 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



given to the Republican party. He was universally 
respected by his fellow men as a deservedly success- 
ful self-made man, and his death was sincerely 
mourned throughout this section. His remains rest 
in the Buckland cemetery. 

Mr. Hibbard was married, Dec. 31, 1848, to Miss 
Elizabeth E. Emmons, who was born Nov. 29, 1829, 
in Haddam, Conn., daughter of William and Han- 
nah (Ely) Emmons, and granddaughter of Daniel 
Emmons, who was a soldier in the Revolutionary 
war. Mr. and Mrs. Hibbard became the parents of 
four children : Albert, Josephine, Philena and Will- 
iam, of whom William is now the only survivor. 
He is engaged in the hardware business in company 
with Mr. Stannard at his father's old store. In 
1859 Mr. Hibbard erected the house in which his 
widow and son now live. 

REV. MICHAEL B. RODDAN. From a 

worldly point of view "the secret of success is con- 
centration." The highest ideals are attained only 
after years of patient toil always tending toward 
the same focus. But who can measure the success 
of a life devoted, from childhood, to the one all ab- 
sorbing purpose of the uplifting of mankind? 

Michael B. Roddan was born Dec. 15, 1833, 
in Boston, Mass., and at the early age of fourteen 
entered Le Petit Seininaire, at Quebec, to enter 
upon his studies for the priesthood. Later he at- 
tended Holy Cross College, at Worcester, and then 
completed his course at Le Grande Seminaire, Mont- 
real. Upon the completion of his studies in that in- 
stitution, he was ordained for the Hartford diocese 
by Mgr. Cique. 

St. Patrick's Church. Hartford, was the first 
scene of the ycung priest's labors, and he served 
under the wise guidance of Rev. James Hughes, 
priest in charge. From there he went to Water- 
bury, to the Church of the Immaculate Conception, 
as assistant to the Rev. Thomas Hendricken, after- 
ward bishop of Providence. In 1863 Bristol he- 
came a parish, and Bishop McFarland appointed 
Father Roddan to care for it. So earnestly did he 
devote himself to the task of building up the new 
parish, that at the end of three years his health had 
failed and he was obliged to seek a change of cli- 
mate. For four years he remained in Greenville, 
R. I., and was then recalled to Bristol, where he has 
since continued his work without interruption. 
For more than thirty years his flock has known 
him and, knowing him well, has given him the 
warm affection bis fostering care has engendered, 
and the community outside the Roman Catholic 
Church respect him for his high character and 
fine attainments. 

H( >N. WILLIAM ! !. C( )WLES is a prominent 
representative of the business interests of Plants- 
ville, where he carries on operations as a liveryman, 
merchant and dealer in coal. He is a man of keen 
perception, of great sagacity, and unbounded en- 



terprise, and to these characteristics may be attrib- 
uted his success. 

Mr. Cowles was born in Scuthington March 19, 
1850. His father, Charles Augustus Cowles, was 
boiin Jan. 1, 1808, and was married Sept. 24, 1839, 
ti Mrs. Delia Y. (Stedman) Bradley, widow of 
Charles Bradley. The children born to them were 
Charles B. ; Frederick A. ; jane L.. wife of Royal C. 
Mix ; Walter A. ; William H. ; Julia A., wife of Al- 
fred X. Parmalee ; and Fanny M. The father ac- 
quired a competence in trade in the South, became a 
Urge land owner in the vicinity of Plantsville, Conn., 
and was extensively engaged in farming. He died 
in Plantsville, June 6, 1873. 

Addison Cowles, the paternal grandfather of our 
subject, was born in Southington. Feb. 17, 1770, and 
was married, Feb. 24, 1800, to Phebe, daughter of 
Dr. Jesse Cole. He lived in Plantsville Center, 
where his wife died March 13, 1824, aged forty-six 
years, and his death occurred Feb. 2^. 1828. His 
father, Ashbel Cowles, was born in Southington 
Sept. 29, 1740, and was married April 29, 1769, to 
Rhoda Lee, daughter of Jared and Rhoda (Judd) 
Lee. He lived west of Plantsville cemetery. He 
was an extensive reader, possessed a very retentive 
memory, and was well versed in historical facts and 
dates. He held several offices, serving as constable 
for years, first selectman in 1792, and also held the 
military rank of captain. He died Sept. 19, 181 5. 
He was a son of Josiah Cowles. who was born in 
Farmington Nov. 20, 1716, and was married Nov. 
ll > l 739, to Jemima Dickinson. Soon afterward he 
located in what is now the town of Southington, 
where he bought land extensively. His wife died 
( )ct. 19, 174''), and he was again married, Nov. 22, 
1748, his second union being with Mary, daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Mary (Pynchon) Scott, of 
Southington. He was a man of great en- 
ergy of character, took a leading part in church and 
society matters, held several important town offices, 
and held the military rank of captain. He was the 
father of eighteen children, and his descendants are 
numerous and scattered. Josiah Cowles died June 6, 
1793. His father, Thomas Cowles, was born in 
Farmington Feb. 4, 1686, and was mairied Jan. 6, 
1 7 14, to Martha Judd, eldest daughter of Thomas 
and Sarah (Freeman) Judd, of VVatefbury. He 
resided in Farmington, where he died March 11, 
1 75 1. His father, Samuel Cowles. was born in 
Farmington March 17. 1661, and was married May 
12, 1685, to Rachel Porter. He lived in F~arming- 
ton until about 1716, when he removed to Kensing- 
ton, where he died ( )ct. 14. 1748. He was a son of 
Samuel Cowles, who was born in 1639, and was mar- 
ried Feb. 14, 1660, to Abigail, daughter of Timothy 
Stanley, of Hartford. They made their home in 
Farmington, and he was one of the eighty-four pro- 
prietors of that town in \<>~2. He died April 17, 
[691. His father, John Cole, was one of the first 
settlers of Hartford, but soon after 1040 he located 
in Farmington. and while residing there was induced 




csfct'dsM: H 





^^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



153 



hange his name to Cowles, in order to avoid the 
inconvenience of being taken at times for anol 
Ji ''nil ( !ole, living in the same place. From that time 
the descendants of his eldest son, Samuel, have 
spelled the name Cowles. John Cole was a farmer, 
and a deputj to the General Court in [653 and 1654 
In [662 he removed to Hadley, Mass., where he 1 
in September, 1675. lie married Hannah — — , 
who died in Hartford, March 6, [683, aged seventy 
years. 

The subjeel of this sketch passed his boyhood 
in Plantsvftle, where he attended the common sch 
and later he was a studenl in the ^.menia ( X. N - I 
Academy. Since [876 he has been engaged in the 
feoal, livery and truck business in Plantsville, and 
ii'iw enjoys an excellent trade. Mis political 
port is always given to the nun and measures of the 
Democratic party, and he has been railed upon to 
|erve as a member of the board of selectmen of 
Southington, and also represented the town in the 
State Legislature. Fraternallj he is a member of 
the Knights of Pythias. On Sept. 21, [881, Mr. 
Cowles was united in marriage with Miss Mary EC. 
Messenger, a daughter of John and Mary 1 Schupp) 
Messenger, of Xew York, and to them have been 
born two children, Clarence V and Harold L. 

STEPHEN 1". CHURCHILL (deceased) was 
horn Sept. 10. [851, in the town of Wethersfield, 
1 (art ford count) , son of Justus and Abigail (Harris) 
Churchill, ami was reared upon his father's farm. 
I here he remained until he attained the age "i 
twenty-one. 

On Jan. iq, 1873, Mr. Churchill was united in 
Marriage to Miss Ella F. Williams, and to then- 
union were horn two children : Frank W.. and Mabel, 
loth of whom are at present living at home with 
their mother. ( >ur subject was noted for his untir- 
ing industry, and it was commonly said that he for 
many years performed more work than any other 
man in the town of Rocky Hill. In addition to his 
general farm work he was extensively engaged in 
the making and sale oi dairy products, besides being 
ne of the few successful tobacco growers in the 
town. Each year he cultivated from five to seven 
acres of this crop. 

Politically Mr. Churchill was a Republican, but 
fever an office-seeker. In religious connection he 
was a devout Congregationalist. He died Nov. 5. 
tSoj, having- a large estate, and was most deeply 
mourned by those who knew him best. Since his 
demise his widow has continued to live Upon the 
farm, where she was horn and married, and where 
she has spent the greater part of a life full of ac- 
tivity and usefulness. 

Mrs. Churchill is a descendant of one of the old 
families of the county, who have for three genera- 
tions occupied the old homestead farm where she 
low resides. Tier grandfather. Washington Will- 
ams. was a native of Rocky Hill, as was also her 
Father, Moses Williams, who was born Dec. 13. 1819, 



and was a man held in i teem by his neighbors 

and friends. In October, [841, he married Abi 
Smith, a native of Rocky II ill. and their union was 

ssed with the following children: Henry C, who 
in Xew Britain; Catharine, who died at the 
five years; Ella !■'.. the wife of our subject; 
aret, who died in [870. Moses Williams 
always lived on tin' old homestead, with the excep- 
ts n ''f one year when he made In- home in Middle- 

n, Conn. In politics he was ch Republi- 

can, and was held in high regard by the pe 
among whom he lived and l>\ those who knew him 
best. I or twenty years he served *s first selectman 
of Rocky Hill, being frequently re-elected without 
am political opposition, lie was a faithful member 
'>i the Congregational Church for sixty years, and 
an exceedingly liberal contributor toward its main- 
tenance and work. 

In 1891 Mrs. < hurchill's parents celebrated their 
golden wedding, and six ■ iter, on Dec. 

[897, her mother entered into rest, her father 
lowing her (who had been hi- helpmate and the 
partner of hi- jovs and grief- for more than half a 
centurj 1. Jan. S. [898, a little more than a year 
later. 

HON. VIRGIL EATON VIETS, a farmer of 
East Granby, 1- of the sixth generation in de- 
scent from Mr. John Viets. He is the owner of the 
homestead of his greal greal grandfather, Capt. 
John Viets, which farm propert) 1- situated in I 
Granby, opposite the Old Newgate Prison. 

HON. THOMAS KIMBERLY BRACE (de- 
ceased ), who through a long lifetime was one of the 
conspicuous characters in the business life of the 
city of Hartford, was descended from an early and 
prominent Connecticut family. 

Stephen lirace, the emigrant ancestor of the 
family, came from London, Lngland. and settled 
in Hartford, Conn. From this ancestor our sub- 
ject was in the fifth gen. rat ion. Lieut. Jonathan 
Brace, the grandfather of Thomas K., settled in 
Harwinton, Litchfield Co., Conn., in 1733. where 
his son, Jonathan Brace, the father of Thomas K., 
was born Nov. 12, 1754. The latter was graduated 
from Yale College in 1779, studied law, and ac- 
quired a large practice in central Vermont, but re- 
turned to Connecticut, and after residing for a time 
in Glastonbury took up his abode in Hartford, in 
1794. He was in public life forty-two years, less 
from choice than from the solicitatiem of his fellow- 
citizens. 

Thomas K. Brace, our subject proper, was born 
Oct. 16, 1779, an d was graduated from Yale Col- 
lege in 1 801. He located in Hartford, where he 
built up the wholesale grocery house of T. K. Brace 
& Co. He was mayor of the city from 1840 to 
1843, and in the latter year consented to run for 
Congress on the Whig ticket, but was beaten by 
Col. Thomas H. Sevmour. Mr. Brace was nomi- 



154 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



nated for a subsequent term, but declined in favor 
of James Dixon, wbo was elected. Mr. Brace, wbo 
was the real father of the enterprise, was chosen 
the first president of the /Etna Fire Insurance Co. 
of Hartford on its organization, in 1819, but owing 
to pecuniary embarrassment resigned in the fall 
of the same year. In March, 182 1, he was again 
chosen president, and sustained such relations to 
the company until in 1857, when, warned by the 
infirmities of age, he resigned. "Mr. Brace be- 
longed to the safe and trusty order of men to whom 
others instinctively turn for guidance." He died 
June 14, i860, when in the eighty-first year of 
his age. 

On Aug. 25, 1807, Thomas K. Brace married 
Lucy A lather, and they had a large family, of whom 
Thomas K., Jr., was born Oct. 14, 1825, in Hart- 
ford. On Jan. 18, 1853, he married Mary Jane 
Buel, daughter of Samuel and Minerva (Wad- 
hams) Buel : the Buels were early settlers of Litch- 
field county. To this union were born four daugh- 
ters : Mary Buel, wife of Atwood Collins ; Emily 
Maria, residing in Hartford ; Julia Wadhams ; and 
Lucy Mather, widow of Joshua Wilson Allen, re- 
siding in Hartford. Mrs. Allen has three children, 
two sons and one daughter. Thomas K. Brace, 
Jr., was identified with the yEtna Co., and was 
secretary when he resigned because of ill health. 
He died in March, 1890, his wife, March 21, 1884. 

HON. JOHN HEXRY HALL, of Hartford, 
vice-president and treasurer of Colt's Patent Fire 
Arms Manufacturing Co., was born in Portland, 
Conn., March 24, 1849. 

Mr. Hall is a descendant in the ninth genera- 
tion of John Hall, born in the County of Kent, Eng- 
land, in 1584, who came to this country and settled 
in Roxbury, Mass., in 1633. In September of the 
same year he, with John Oldham and two others, 
explored the region bordering the Connecticut river, 
and their report, dated Jan. 20, 1634, led to mi- 
grations from Dorchester to Wethersfield, and from 
Cambridge to Hartford. In the year 1635, it is 
recorded, he was made "freeman" in Boston. In 
[636 he joined the Hooker and Stone colony, and 
went to Hartford, removing his family thither in 
[639. He owned and occupied as his place of res- 
idence a tract of six acres west of the New York, 
Xew Haven & Hartford railroad, and now known 
as the Sigourney (or Catlin) Place. In 1650 he 
moved to Middletown (then called Mettabesick) , 
being one of the original purchasers of land from 
the Indians. Samuel Hall, of the third generation 
in this country, in 1719 moved to East Middletown 
1 afterward known as Chatham, and now as Port- 
land), and down to the present generation the fam- 
ily has continued to reside there. 

Alfred Mall, of the eighth generation, father 
nf the subject of this sketch, entered Washington 
(now Trinity) College the first day the bell rang 
for prayers, and his eldest son, Samuel, was the first 



son of a graduate to enter the same college. After 
his graduation Alfred Hall selected the law as his 
profession, and completed the course of study at 
the Harvard Law School. At the request of his 
father, however, he then returned to Portland, and 
engaged with him in the direction of the affairs of 
the brown-stone quarry, known as the Shaler & 
Hall Quarry Co., organized during the Revolu- 
tionary war by Nathaniel Shaler and Samuel Hall, 
the latter being the father of Alfred, and grandfather 
of John H. Hall. The following advertisement, 
taken from the Middletown Gazette or Federal Ad- 
vertiser, published in Middletown, Oct. 13, 1781, 
save in its quaint spelling, would satisfy to-day in 
its energetic promise : 

The Free Stone Quarry atChatham (known by the name 
of Johnson's Quarry), is now worked under the direction of 

Shaler and Hall, who will supply the stone at the Shortest 
Notice, and at the lowest prices either in the Rough or fin- 
ished, and in such Dimensions as may be required. They I 
will contract to furnish any quantity, for public or private 
Buildings, Flags, Grave Stones or Monuments, and deliver 
them at any Port in North America, orders directed post- 
paid) tohhalerand Hall at the Quarry, Chatham, will have 
due attention. 

October 13th, 1781. 

Alfred Hall succeeded his father in the pres- 
idency of the Quarry Co., and for many years took 
an active interest in its affairs. The position is and 
has been for some time past held by John H. Hall, 
who by his energy and progressive management has 
revolutionized its working, introducing machinery 
up-to-date, keeping it abreast with the times, and 
causing it to enter upon a new era of prosperity, in 
1896 he formed a new company, called the Brain- 
erd, Shaler & Hall Quarry Co., which bought the 
Shaler & Hall Quarry Co. and the Brainerd Quarry 
Company. 

John H. Hall attended the public school in Port- 
land, went thence to Chase's school, in Middletown,. 
and completed his course of study at the Episcopal 
Academy of Connecticut, at Cheshire. He pre- 
ferred business to a professional career, and entered 
into the employ of Sturgis, I Jennet & Co., Nos. 125 
and 127 Front street, New York, at the time the 
largest importers of tea and coffee in the United 
States, where he remained five years, enjoying rapid 
promotion, attaining at the age of nineteen to the. 
charge of foreign and insurance departments. In 
December, 1877, he returned to Portland with his 
family, having purchased a large interest in the 
Pickering Governor — at that time in a very de- 
pressed condition — under the firm name of T. R. 
Pickering & Co. Owing to his tireless energy and 
wise business management the enterprise became a 
rapid success. In five years from the time of his { 
association with the firm, the manufacture and said 
increased from less than five hundred a year to five 
thousand. Successful in his competition on this 
side of the water, he engaged in competition with 
English manufacturers, and the sale of the Picker- 
ing Governor to Great Britain and her colonies now 



f 




0* 








^/fXffO^ 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



155 



represents per annum four times the original 
output. 

During his ten years' residence in Portland, 
fmm [878 i" [888, Mr. Hall was prominent in the 
interests: of the town. He was elected president of 
the Shaler & Hall Quarr) Co. in [884, and refused 
nominations to both branches of the Stan- Legis- 
lature, tendered him bj the dominant party. In 
1888 his business, which had been carried on under 
a partnership, was organized as a corporation, Mr. 
Hall retaining his proprietar) interest, and holding 
the position of treasurer. Aboul this time the c< >n 
tinuous ill health of R. \V. II. Jarvis, presidenl of 
the Colt's Patent hire Anns Manufacturing Co., 
and his c< msequent retirement from active manage 
nient in the concern, together with the general de 
pression of its business, and the resignation of Gen. 
William B. Franklin, determined its board of di- 
rectors to offer to Mr. Hall the position of gen 
eral manager of the corporation An arrange 
menl was made satisfactory to both parties, and 
Mr. Hall entered upon the duties of his office with 
the business acumen and untiring zeal and energy 
so characteristic of him. Although Mr. [arvis re- 
tained the presidency, it was understood, owing to 
his condition of health, that he was to be relieved 
of all the responsibility and care attaching to the 
office. Caldwell II. Colt, the vice-president, was 
absent from Hartford the greater portion of the 
time, so that almost from the beginning of his 
connection with the corporation the entire direc- 
tion of affairs, both within the manufactory and 
in its relations with the business world at large, 
devolved upon Mr. Hall. The directors, soon as 
sured of his ample capability and worth, support- 
ed him loyally in the changes he advocated, and 
under his vigorous direction the coinpam has l>een 
strengthened at home and abroad. In 1890 he was 
elected vice-president and treasurer. 

During his residence of twelve years in Hart- 
ford, Mr. Hall's geniality and business ability have 
received a flattering recognition on the part of its 
citizens. lie has declined nomination to munici- 
pal office, hut from [890 to [896 served on the citv 
hoard of water commissioners. He was State sen- 
ator from the First District of Hartford in 1895- 
96. His political affiliations are with the Demo- 
cratic party, and in [896 and 1900 he supported 
the gold win-- of that party. He is a director in 
several of Hartford's corporations, namely: The 
Phoenix Fire Insurance Co., the Phoenix Mutual 
Life Insurance Co., the Hartford National Bank, 
and the Dime Savings Bank, and was one of the 
organizers of the Board of Trade, and a member 
of its first board of directors. He is also a direc- 
tor in the Neptune Meter Co. of New York. He 
enji ys membership in the Hartford Club, the Man- 
hattan Club, the Engineers' Club and the New 
York Yacht Club, of New York City, and the 
Metropolitan Club of Washington; is a member 
of the Sons of the American Revolution, also of 



the "Mayflower" Society, and is a Mason of the 
thirty-second degl 

( )n Feb. 9, [870, Mr. Hall was married to M 
Sarah G. Loomis, of New York, who is descended 
on her father's side from Quaker stuek, and from 
the Hopkinses of Rhode Island. Her ancestor, 
Stephen Hopkins, was a very prominent citizen of 
that honored Commonwealth during the Revolu- 
tionary period. IP- was chief justice of both the 
court of common pleas and the superior court, 
governor of Rhode Island, and Speaker of the 
House of Representatives. He was twice elected 
to the Continental Congress at Philadelphia, and 
1 .ue . .1" the Sigm the i declaration of Inde- 

pendence-. Their union has been blessed with the 
birth of four children, two ui whom survive: Clar- 
ence I ."ines and Mis- < irac< 1 / lines. 

Mr. Hall has always keen a member of the 
Episcopal Church, and i> now senior warden of 
the parish of the Good Shepherd in the city of his 

dence. Me is loyally faithful to the interests 
he represents, whether of a public or private char- 
acter, and has steadfastly declined calls to a wider 
held for the display of his energies with promise 
nf a in. lie lucrative employment. 

ALV \ WEST SPAULDING. The Spaulding 

family is of Puritan stock, and the subject of this 
biography, a well-known resident of Hartford. 1- of 
the eighth generation >^i the family in this country, 
tracing Ins descent fr< m Edward Spaulding. an 
early settler in Braintree, Massachusetts. 

I he name was formerly spelled Spalden or Sparl- 
den, hut after passing through the mutations to 
which so many family names are subject it has 
spelled Spaulding almost entirely from the first 
record we have of it in America. The Spaulding 
genealogy has this to sa) of the family: "As ;i race 
the_\ are possessed of -rear physical vigor, and 1' r 
most part are tillers oi the soil. There are. how ever, 
main successful and wealthv men of business am 
them. About fifty have graduated at different 
leges, and about forty have graduated from different 
si 1 ools of law. medicine, science and theology. The 
piactice of medicine has keen the leading preference. 
next to this the ministry, and then the law." The 
family has also taken an active part in the civic and 
military history of the country. Edward Spauld- 
ing, mentioned above, came to Massachusetts among 
the firsl col< nists, probably between 1630 and 1633, 
his name appearing first in the records of Brainti 

and his wife, Margaret, had three children : John, 
Edward and Grace. 

John Spaulding. horn in [( 33, died in IJ21. He 
was a tiller of the soil, and a soldier under Cap:. 
Manning in King Philip's war. On May 18, 1658, 
he married Hannah 1 tale, and they had the following 
children: John, Eunice, Edward, Hannah. Samuel, 
Deborah, Joseph and Timothy. 

John Spaulding (2), horn Feb. 15. 1659, was 
married first to Ann Ballord, of Andover, )!;:-.. 



lo<6 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






Sept. 21, 1C81. Late in life he removed to Plain- 
field, Conn., with his children, who were named as 
follows: Anna, Samuel, Jonathan, Deborah and 
Eleazer (twins), Dinah and William. 

Eleazer Spaulding, horn Aug. 13, 1690, married 
Abigail Kingsbury, daughter of James Kingsbury, 
Nov. 17. IJ12. He resided in Plainfield, Conn., and 
their eight children were born there : Dorcas, Eunice, 
.Anna, Hezekiah, Pennel. Eleazer. Timothy and 
David. 

David Spaulding, of Plainfield, Conn. [see Plain- 
field Records], was born Dec. 25, 1731, and died 
Aug. 2^. 1803. He married Elizabeth Barrett, who 
was born Oct. 28, 1 736, daughter of Joseph and 
Lydia Barrett. Their children were Barzilla, Milli- 
cent, Abigail. Eunice, Phineas, Simon, Alva and 
Elisha. 

Barzilla Spaulding. our subject's grandfather, 
was born April n, 1757. and resided many years 
in Plainfield, X. H. He was a private and drummer 
hoy in the Connecticut militia in the Revolutionary 
war, and drew a pension. He married Elizabeth 
Spaulding, a daughter of John Spaulding, and a 
descendant of Edward, the line beinc traced through 
John. Ephraim. Edward. Benjamin and Edward. 
They had ten children: Tared. Annah. Elizabeth, 
Levi. ( )zias. Alvah. John. Lucinda. Annah (who 
married a Mr. Sinclair and moved West 1 , and Eli- 
zabeth (who married Joseph Coll, and also moved 
"West ). 

Alvah Spaulding, our subject's father, was born 
in. Vermont, in 1794. He died Julv 20. 1837, aged 
forty-three, and his wife, Emma Cooke, died Jan. 
9, 1837. aged forty-one. The}- had a large family 
of children, as follows: Emma, who died July 28, 
1843, aged twenty-five: Fannv B.. who married 
Horace Darling, of Morristown, Yt. ; Mary, who 
died Dec. 2, 1841, aged nineteen: Alva W. ; Harriet, 
born July 25. 1831, who married Stephen R. Law- 
rence, of Xew Britain, Conn.: Dudley, who died 
May 8, 1831, aged four years : Betsey, who died Jan. 
12. 1830. aged sixteen: Celinda, who died in girl- 
Lood : and William Azro. who resided in Xew Brit- 
am. Conn., and had three children. 

Alva West Spaulding was born March I, 1825, 
in Morristown, Lamoille Co., Yt.. and was educated 
in the common schools of that State, attending until 
he reached the age of eighteen. Having lost his par- 
ents during his boyhood, he was earlv thrown upon 
! is own resources, and about 1847 he located in Xew 
Britain, having gone there to take a span of horses 
tor Charles M. Lewis. On his arrival he had but 
twenty-five cents in his pocket, Lint soon found em- 
ployment with George Hart, father of William Hart, 
and for a number of years worked for him in differ- 
ent capacities, eventuallv taking entire charge of 
tlu livery business. At first his wages were $14 per 
month, but they were gradually increased to $35. 
With the aid of Mr. Hart he bought a livery busi- 
ness of Mr. Woodworth, made needed changes for 
an enlarged trade, and the venture proved entirely 



successful. He continued in the livery business 
until early in the 'eighties, a period of over thirty 
years, and had as partners Horace Bailey, Fred Sey- 
mour, son of Deacon Orson S. Seymour, and later 
Merrill Roberts. Politically he was first a Whig, 
but became a Republican on the organization of 
that party, and his fellow citizens have frequently 
called him into official life. For some years he was 
constable in Xew Britain, and for ten years he served 
as deputy sheriff under Sheriff Westell Russell. In 
1870 he represented Xew Britain in the Legisla- 
ture, his colleague being Timothy W. Stanley, and 
did efficient work, especially on committees. He 
also held office as chief of police for ten years, pre- 
ceding Washington L. Morgan, and in 1881 the 
Republican nomination for sheriff was forced upon 
him by his friends, resulting in his election by a 
handsome majority. He served two terms of three 
years and one term of four years, retiring in 1891. 
In the meantime he removed to Hartford, and had 
charge of the Hartford county jail, and about 1889 
he became interested in the firm of C. C. Fuller & 
Co., furniture dealers, of which he is still a member. 
In religious faith he is a Congregationalist, having 
first united with the Center Church at Xew Britain, 
and since his removal to Hartford he attends the 
Windsor Avenue Church. At one time he belonged 
to the independent Order of Odd Fellows, but is not 
now affiliated. 

( )n Sept. 4, 1854, Mr. Spaulding was married 
to Miss Josephine A. Beckley, of Berlin, who was 
born ( )ct. 26. 1838, daughter of Horace Beckley. 
They have had no children, but have adopted a son, 
Clinton Edgar, a child of Mrs. Spaulding's brother, 
Edgar Beckley. 

DART FAMILY. The name is variously 
spelled Dart, Darte and Dort, but the first form is 
the generally accepted one, the second appearing 
only in old English records, and the third being 
the Dutch or German form. 

The earliest mention we find of the name in 
Xew England records is at Xew London, whence 
members of the family seem to have gone to Bol- 
ton, Middletown, Chatham, Hebron, Windham 
and Stratford, Conn., and to Gilsum and Surry, 
Xew Hampshire. 

( I ) Richard Dart, of Xew London, married in 
1664, his wife's name being Bethia. He died Sept. 
24, 1724. aged eighty-nine years. Children: (1) 
Dinah, born Jan. 13, 1665; (2) Daniel, May 3, 
1666; (3) Richard, May 7, 1667; (4) Roger. Nov. 
22, 1670; (5) Ebenezer, Feb. 18, 1673; (6) Ann, 
Feb. 14. 1675; (7) Bethia, July 30, 1677; (8) 
Elizabeth, Dec. 15, 1679; (9) Sarah, June 10, 
168 1 : and (10) Mary, 1685. 

(II) Daniel Dart, of Xew London, born May 
3, 1666, married Aug. 4, 1686, Elizabeth, eldest 
daughter of William Douglas, and removed to 
Bolton about 1716. Children: (1) Thomas, born 
July 8. 1687; (2) Elizabeth, Oct. 14, 1689; (3) 








jh&ej&^v 





COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



lot 



Daniel. Aug. 31, 1691 ; (4) John, Dec. 2, 1693; 
(5j Maria, Nov. 13, 1695; (0) Ebenezer, May 
It), [698; {/) Abiah, Dec. 2, J701 ; (8) Lidia, 
Nov. 4. 1703; (9) Samuel, Dec. 12, 1705; (10) 
Jabez, March 12, 1708; and (iij Ruth, Aug. 26, 
i 7 1 1. 

'Ill) Daniel Darl, horn Aug. 31, [691, mar- 
ried April 13, 1719, Jemima, daughter of Abel 
Shayler. [For brief record of the Shayler family 
.see farther on. J Daniel Dart died Feb. [9, 1791, 
at Bolton. 

(IV) Jonathan Dart, bom Jan. 10, 1733, mar- 
ried June 16, 1755, Lucy Whitney, oi Canaan. 
He was admitted to Bolton Church May 28, [758. 
Children: 1 11 Timothy, horn Nov. 15, 1750; (2) 
Jonathan, Oct. 8, 1758 ; (3) Lucy, Oct. 27, 1700; 
(4) Asahel, Sept. 30, 1762; (5; Levi, Jul) 25, 
17(4; (6j Abiel, April 7, 17(10; 171 Aaron, Jan. 
12, 1768; (8) Daniel, baptized Dee. 30, [769; (9) 
Ames, baptized Sept. 1, 1771, died March 10, 1778; 
(10) Mabel, baptized Dec. 19, i/js: and (ii) 
Joshua, baptized Aug. 10, 1777. 

i\ 1 Aaron Dart, born Jan. 12, 170S, in Bol- 
ton, Conn., resided in what is nov\ the town of 
West Hartford, where he was an extensive farmer. 
He married Sarah Shayler, and had a large family, 
of whom are named: (l) Chester, horn March 5. 
1700; (2) Avis, born June 10, 170-'; (3) Phoebe; 

(4) Sarah; (5) Edmund, horn March 10, 1797; 

(6) Harriet; (7) Philinda ; (8) Hiram. 

(VI) Edmund Dart, father of Joseph Dart, 
the subject proper oi this sketch, was horn March 
10, 1707. in Tolland, Conn., where he passed his 
early school days. In Hartford he married Mary 
Ann Bartram Withenbury, a native of Hartford, 
born of English descent, and a daughter of Benja- 
min Withenbury. The children born to this union 
were as follows: (1) Benjamin lives in East Hart- 
ford; (2) Marie (deceased) married E. R. Hall, 
of Chicopee, Mass.; (3) Caroline married Leon- 
ard Buckland; (4) Edmund lives in Hartford; 

(5) William and (6) James are both deceased; 

(7) Mary I. is a resident of Hartford; (8) Joseph 
is the subject proper of this sketch; (9) Freder- 
ick is deceased; 1 10) Franklin is an inmate of the 
Soldiers' Home at Xoroton, Conn. ;(n) Robert lives 
in Newington, Conn.; and (12) Lillian married N. 
L. Hope, of Hartford, and they have one child, 
Bessie, married to F. \V. Wakefield, of Meriden, 
Conn. The father of this family, who was a life- 
long farmer of Hartford and West Hartford, died 
March 8, 1861. 

Shayler Family. (I) Thomas Shayler in 
1673 married Alice, widow of Thomas Brooks, 
and daughter of Gerard Spencer, of Haddam. 
He died at sea in 1692, while on a voyage to the 
West Indies. (II) Abel Shayler, son of Thomas, 
was horn in Haddam, Conn., and became an early 
settler of Bolton; was admitted to Church in 1725. 
(Til) Jemima Shayler, daughter of Abel, married 
Daniel Dart April 13, 1719, as above recorded. 

(VII) Joseph Dart, son of Edmund and Mary 



A. B. (Withenbury) Dart, and the .subject proper 
of this biography, was horn Aug. 5, 1839, m VVest 
Hartford, near the old Wadsworth Tavern. His 
education was received partly at the schools of 
West Hartford, and partly at those of llarti 
After laying aside his 1 ks he took up the steam- 
boat business, in both the South and West, and 
sailed up the Mississippi on the last trip before 
the b le of the river about the commencement 
of the war of the Rebellion. During that -•:-. 
he was in the picture-frame business in Hartf 
alter which we find him for several years, or until 
[874, associated with his father-in-law in the man- 
ufacture otton tv/ines in South W Istock, 

n., and Oxford, Ma — . 1 'n giving up this in- 
dustr) Mr. Dart removed to New York and em- 
harked in the cotton-goods commission b 
engaging in same for some nineteen year-, pari 
the lime sdlm^ gi ids "on the road." In the 
spring of [893 he returned to Hartford, where he- 
has since been engaged in stock farming and im- 
proving liis real estate, in connection with which 
latter it may he mentioned that he opened main 
streets . - 1 1 hi> own property. 

On Sept. [8, [862, Mr.' Dart married Adelaide 
A. Warner, of South .Woodstock, Windham 1 
Conn., and three children have been horn to them: 
I 1 1 Alice Louise, horn Oct. 21. 1804, is the wife. 
oi Charles J. Goff, designer for the I'-utterick J 'at- 
torn 1 0., -1 Brooklyn, \. Y.; they have one child, 
Edith. 12) k'red \'\ ., born Sept. 2, [872, married 
( laribel Ashton, and they have "tie son, Harold 
Ashton. 1-red W. was for a few years in the em- 
ploy of C. 1'. Rogers, manufacturers of iron bed- 
steads. New York City, and later was 
in business with his father; he is now a member of 
the West End Land Co., of Hartford. (3) Willie 
J. died in infancy. The parents of this family are 
members of the Baptist Church. In politics Mr. 
Dart is a Republican; socially he is a Freemas 
ami was identified with lodges in Oxford. M 
and Xew York City. He is looked upon as on< 
the substantial business men of the countv, and is 
extremely popular. 

DR. CHARLES SWEET. The Sweet family 
is one of the oldest in Xew England, and the sub- 
ject of this memoir, for many years a prominent sur- 
geon of Hartford and Lebanon, traced his descent 
through five generations to James Sweet, son of 
Isaac and Mary Sweet, of Wales. 

James Sweet came to America in 1630. and set- 
tled in Salem. Mass., at wdiat is now known as 
Sweet's Cove, and afterward removed to North 
Kingston, R. L, where members of the family were 
living in 1882. As far back as their history can 
be obtained, and tradition leading us still farther, 
we find that they have always been accredited with 
a capacity or an ability in an eminent degree for 
bone-setting, though uneducated in any department 
of surgery, and as we follow 7 along down the gene- 



158 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 






illogical line we find members of the family that have 
lie come especially eminent in the practice of this art. 

Dr. John Sweet, grandfather of Dr. Charles 
Sweet, gained a wide-spread reputation during the 
Revolution by his successful practice among the 
officers and men of both the French and American 
armies, though not himself in the government serv- 
ice. His son Benoni, father of Charles Sweet, had 
for a few vears followed in the footsteps of his fa- 
ther, but removing to Lebanon, Conn., in 1793, 
he determined not to practice bone-setting more, 
bnt to give his whole attention to farming. This 
resolution, however, he was unable to carry out, 
for a dislocated shoulder in his own neighborhood 
which bafrled the surgeons forced him again into 
the practice of this, his legitimate and natural call- 
ing, which he never afterward abandoned during 
active life. He died Aug. 26, 1840, at the age of 
eightv years, after an honored and useful life. 
Before leaving Kingston he married Sarah Champ- 
lin, and had one child. The rest of the family were 
born in Lebanon : Susannah, Thomas, Benoni, 
Stephen, Sally, Alary, Lydia, Hannah, Lucy and 
Charles, all now deceased. Thomas died at the age 
of nineteen; Benoni, Jr., practiced bone-settinp- at 
Guilford; Stephen at Franklin; Sally for a time 
at Willimantic ; and Charles for many years at the 
old homestead and later at Lebanon Centre. 

Dr. Charles Sweet was born Dec. 20, 181 1, and 
died at Lebanon Dec. 22, 1896. The history of 
New London county, published in 1882, from which 
we have obtained the facts given above, says of 
him : "He commenced the practice of bone-setting 
a.s young as sixteen years of age, and for nearlv 
forty years he maintained offices in Hartford and 
New London, Conn., and at Springfield, Mass., 
each of which he visited one day each month, 
successfully treating all kinds of bone dislocations, 
fractures and diseases. The greater part of his 
time was devoted to this calling, in which he mani- 
fested an intuitive perception truly surprising. In 
the intervals he carried on farming to some extent 
more for a pasttime than for pecuniary profit. At 
an early age he married Eliza W. Throop, of his 
native town. Of their children : Sophia, born 
March 18, 1835, died March 29, 1898; Sarah E.. 
born April 7, 1837, died March, 1886; Maria F., 
born Nov. 28, T838; Marietta, born Oct. 24, 18 p, 
died Sept. 9, 1873; Charles J., born Jan. 1, 1845, 
died Oct. 18, 1893; J. Henry T., born Nov. 4, 
1848. Their mother died Feb. 14, i860, at the early 
age of forty-f( ur years." Charles, Jr., was located 
near the old home, and practiced with his father. 
J. Henry T. is in practice in Hartford, where he 
has gained an enviable reputation. Dr. Sweet mar- 
ried, for his second wife, Sarah Elizabeth Williams, 
of Mystic, Conn. By this marriage he had three 
children: Bessie, born Nov. 28, 1869; F. Benoni, 
M. I)., born Oct. 7, 1870, graduated at Yale Medi- 
cal School in the class of 1893, and is now practic- 
ing in Springfield, Mass.; and George H., born 



June 3, 1875, died June 25, 1894. Bessie died Jan- 
uary 10, 1870, and their mother departed this life 
after having been married about nineteen years. 
His third wife was Laura A. Anderson, of Clinton, 
Conn., whose years ran parallel with his own. The 
Doctor was always of the strictest temperate habits, 
and his life the life of a Christian both by pro 
fession and practice, in which he ever had the 
fullest co-operation of his three respective wives. 

Dr. J. Henry T. Sweet, son of Dr. Charles, 
was born and reared in Lebanon, and was given a 
good English education in the common schools of 
that locality and in the Bowles school in Ellington, 
which he attended for about three years. He 
studied anatomy under Prof. Hinkley, while a boy 
riding with his father, and as a young man he 
ran his father's institution for remedial purposes 
in their line of treatment. This institution had an 
average of from eighteen to thirty patients month- 
ly during the three years the Doctor was in charge. 
His certificate to practice "surgery and medicine 
connected therewith" was granted by the State 
medical board in New Haven, Dr. Lindsley being 
the president of the board. On Nov. 4. 1874, the 
Doctor opened r.:i office in Hartford and removed 
the institution there, the latter being continued by 
him three years. He also maintained a treatment 
room in Hartford, locating first on Main street, 
near the South Green, for three years, and after 
six years on Trumbull street he went to North 
Main street, near Trumbull; in April, 1887, he re- 
moved to Blue Hills avenue. From the beginning 
he has had a most successful practice, and it has 
grown continuously, extending at present through' 
New London, Windham, Litchfield and Hartford 
counties, and up and down the river more or less. 
The Doctor has been a Republican all his life, and 
has taken an active part in school matters. He 
was formerly a member of the F. & A. M. in 
Columbia, but the lodge having gone out of ex- 
istence he is not now affiliated. He is fond of 
reading, but is a thinker as well, and in practice 
original in his methods, his individuality being per- 
haps one of the main factors in his success. He 
takes ideas from every source, and has the power 
of elucidation to an unusual degree, while his me- 
chanical, tact is unusual. 

Dr. Sweet married Miss Sally J. Boyd, of North 
Garden, Va., and has four children : Jennie E., 
born March 31, 1876, who married Karl Bishop, 
and has one son, Richard Sweet Bishop, born April 
27, 1898; Nellie P., born March 22, 1878; Lucy, 
born March 27, 1880; and John Henrv T.. Jr., Nov. 
27, 1884. 

WILLIAM WOLCOTT ROBERTS, deceased. 
The subject of this memoir, for many years a prom- 
inent citizen of Hartford, was born Nov. 6, 1813, 
at Newington, the son of Abner and Sally (Wol- 
cott) Roberts. 

Abner Roberts died in 1814, leaving several chil- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



159 



dren. Our subject's mother died in 182 1, when he 
was but seven years old, and he was bound out to 
Martin Kellogg, of Xewington, Conn., with whom 
he remained about six years. He then went to 
Hartford, where he found employment in a gro- 
cery and liquor store on the corner of Main and 
Pratt streets ; but as the liquor business was dis- 
tasteful he soon left the place, and learned the car- 
penter's trade. In a few years he built up a good 
business for himself as a cabinet maker, and later 
added a furniture and undertaking branch, his shop 
then being located on Pratt street, opposite the 
Bank of the Society for Savings. He conceived 
a number of successful inventions, and was the 
pioneer undertaker to manufacture coffins, and keep 
them in stock for immediate delivery, the custom 
having been to make them to order after death. 
His tasty hearse, drawn by a fine four-in-hand team, 
attracted much attention ; it was the first in Hart- 
ford to have glass sides, and brought him busi- 
ness from the best class of people ; during the war 
he buried many of the generals and other prominent 

Hers from this section. He frequently was 
called away from this vicinity to officiate at State 
funerals. His skill as a cabinetmaker won him a 
high reputation ; he made many fine cases of rose- 
wood for Col. Samuel Colt, to contain revolvers 
which were presented to the crowned heads of 
Europe. 

In 1 866, Mr. Roberts built the Roberts Block, 
on Main street, tne ground, 65x110 feet, having 
been purchased for $54,000, then considered an 
enormous price. He planned and directed the 
building. In 1869 he drew the plans for and erected 
the Hartford Opera House, at that time the finest 
theatre in New England, outside of Boston. Hav- 
ing seen so much of the dark side of life, inci- 
dent to his undertaking business, he said that he 
"was going to try to amuse the people," and for 
many years under his management it was a most 
popular play house, and even now on an average 
about ten thousand people enter through its portals 
each week of the theatrical season. After twenty 
wears management he turned the theater over to a 
lessee, but his business affairs were transacted by 
himself alone until his death. He died at the age 
pf eight} -four, on May 23, 1898. 

While eminently successful in business, he held 
progressive views of life and kept well abreast of 
the times, reading the best literature and taking 
deep interest in politics as a member of the Repub- 
lican party. He was particularly fond of good 
horses, and until reaching the advanced age of 
seventy-five was an ardent sportsman. By nature 
he was retiring, and his friendship was prized by 
his associates. Early in life he was identified with 
the Fourth Congregational Church of Hartford, 
and although he ceased to attend church in later 
years he maintained the strictest rules of Sabbath 
observance, his teams never being taken out on that 
dav. 



Mr. Roberts' first wife, Sarah Ann Chapman, 
was a daughter of Orrin Chapman, of Glaston- 
bury, and a descendant of Robert Chapman, the 
settler, who came to Saybrook in pioneer times and 
wdiose descendants lined the banks of the Con- 
necticut river. By this marriage he had one daugh- 
ter. Sarah Augusta, who was born Jan. 8, 1834, on 
Village street, in Hartford, and died May 15, 1883. 
She married James A. Williams, and had five chil- 
dren, of whom only one is now living, Harry Rob- 
erts Williams. By his second marriage, to Jane 
Abby, of Enfield, Mr. Roberts had two children : 
William H. Roberts, now living in Hartford, and 
Carrie (now deceased), who was the wife of S. 
N. Ryder, of Plainville, Connecticut. 

James A. Williams, born in Rocky Hill, on June 
g, 1833, has been successfully engaged in the dry- 
goods business since early manhood, having started 
in Hartford with a brother. Later he went to New 
York, but returned to Hartford, and he is now lo- 
cated on Asylum street. For some time previous 
to beginning business for himself he was associated 
with Bolles & Sexton, Weatherby Knouse & Pelton, 
and then with William N. Pelton & Co., being now 
alone. 

Harry R. Williams, one of Hartford's suc- 
cuessful professional men, was born in that city 
Oct. 18, 1861, and received his education in its 
public schools. During his Junior year in the high 
school he gave up his books for a time to take a posi- 
tion with the Travelers Insurance Co. In 1883 he 
began the study of patent law with Simonds & 
Burdett. In 1887 he engaged in practice for him- 
self, and his speedy success furnishes a convincing 
evidence of his ability and skill. From the Rob- 
erts line of ancestry he inherited marked aptitude in 
scientific and mechanical matters, which lead him 
to take natural interest in patents for inventions, in 
matters pertaining to which he is considered an ex- 
pert. In connection with this work he has traveled 
all over this country ; has crossed the Atlantic six 
times ; and has made various trips to our neighbor- 
ing islands. He and his family are well known so- 
cially; he is a member of the Asylum Avenue Bap- 
tist Church; St. John's Lodge, No. 4, F. & A. M.; 
the Knickerbocker Athletic Club, of New York; the 
Megantic Fish and Came Club of Maine, with 
headquarters in Boston ; and at one time was a mem- 
ber of Company K, 1st Regiment, C. N. G. In 
1888, he married Miss Allie Barnum Stone, daugh- 
ter of Rev. George M. Stone, of the Asylum Avenue 
Baptist Church. She died Feb. 12, 1889, leaving 
one son, Harold, who died in August, 1889. Mr. 
Williams afterward married Miss Harriet Heard 
Holley, daughter of Samuel C. Hollcy, of Danbury, 
and they have three daughters, Beatrice, Lois and 
Elizabeth. 

JAMES S. TRYON (deceased) was by birth 
and training eminently fitted for the prominent and 
useful position which through life he held in the 



1G0 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



business and financial world. As banker he was 
for many years intimately acquainted with the 
growth and prosperity of Hartford county, and 
in fostering and developing- its best institutions he 
was a power for good in the influential community 
in which he lived. 

.Mr. Tryon was born in Fayetteville, N. C, Nov. 
7, 1820, son of Thomas and Emily (Root) Tryon, 
and grandson of Moses Tyron, a prominent and 
well-known naval officer, commander of the flag- 
ship "Hartford." Thomas Tryon, father of our 
subject, was a native of Wethersfield, Conn., and 
became a West Indian merchant. He met an un- 
timely death from yellow fever while at sea, about 
1833. His wife. Emily (Root), of Hartford, was a 
descendant of Judge Jesse Root. 

James Seymour Tryon, our subject, spent his 
boyhood days at Brooklyn, N. Y., and there at- 
tended school. At the age of fourteen he com- 
menced his business career as a clerk in the bank 
of James Seymour, of Auburn, N. Y. A few years 
later he began the study of law at Rochester, N. Y., 
and in due time was admitted to the Bar. For a 
time he practiced at Rochester, but his tastes were 
for business rather than a professional career, and 
in 1848 he returned to Auburn, N. Y., to become 
cashier in the bank above mentioned. From 1850 
until 1857 he was connected with a bank in Roches- 
ter, N. Y.. and in 1857 ne came to Hartford as cash- 
ier of the Merchants & Manufacturers Bank, which 
later, through his efforts, was re-organized as the 
First National Bank of Hartford. Mr. Tryon re- 
mained officially connected with the First National 
Bank for sixteen years. In 1873 he went to New 
York, and there entering the banking business con- 
tinued for several years, maintaining his residence 
in Hartford, at No. 991 Asylum street, from 1861 
till his death. Mr. Tryon was for many years in- 
terested in the manufacture of book-stitching ma- 
chines, as secretary and treasurer of the Smythe 
Manufacturing Co. He was deeply interested in 
church work, and was instrumental in the organi- 
zation of the Asylum Hill Congregational Church, 
■ if Asylum avenue. 

Mr. Tryon was married, in Moscow, N. Y.. in 
1848, to Miss Eliza Horsford, daughter of Hon. 
Jedediah Horsford. of Moscow, who had come to 
■ -tern New York many years before, as a mis- 
sionary to the Indians. He served several terms as 
United States Senator. To our subject and wife 
were born three children : 1 1 1 James Seymour, who 
married Miss Mary Vincent Harrington, of New 
Bedford, Mass., resides at Providence, R. I., and has 
two children, Dorothy and Henry; (2) Mary mar- 
ried George F. Stone, an instructor in the American 
School for the Deaf at Hartford, and has three 
children. Janet, Rachel and Mary; (3) Thomas is 
an architect of New York. Mr. Tryon died Jan. 
6, 1895, completing his allotted three score years 
and ten, and presenting in his earnest and successful 
career a type of the best American manhood. 



3 



IRVING DE LOSS BLANCHARD, M. D., 
city physician of Hartford, was born Jan. 30, 1874, 
at Foster, R. 1., son of Rev. Albert D. Blanchard, 

and grandson of William Penn Blanchard, of 
Rhode Island. Rev. Albert D. Blanchard, an hon- 
ored clergyman of the Baptist Church, was born 
in Rhode Island, and his wife, Mary C. Burroughs, 
was a native of Newport, same State. 

Dr. Irving D. Blanchard began his education 
in the schools of Foster, R. 1., and graduated from 
the high school, and the Presbyterian Academy at 
Salida, Colo. In August, 1894, he returned East 
to enter the Medical Department of Yale Univer- 
sity, and in 1897 the degree of M. D. was conferred 
upon him by that institution. In the fall of the 
same year he entered the New York Hospital, 
corner of Fifteenth street and Fifth avenue, re- 
maining there a short time, and after some expe- 
rience in the Bridgeport Hospital he went to the 
Hartford Hospital, Jan. 1, 1898, as assistant phy- 
sician, assistant surgeon, house surgeon, and house 
physician. On Jan. 1, 1900, he engaged in active 
practice at No. 241 Main street. Hartford, and the 
appointment to his present post as city physician 
was made on the 15th of that month. Politically 
the Doctor is a Republican. He is a member of 
the Hartford County Medical Society, and of the 
Hartford City Medical Society. 

HON JAMES RISING (deceased). The fer- 
tile lands of this region have made our rural com- 
munities the home of a superior class of agricultur- 
ists, progressive, enterprising and thrifty, of which 
the subject of this sketch, a well-known resident of 
West Suffield, was an excellent example. 

For several generations the Rising family have 
been prominent in that locality, the first of the name 
to settle there being James Rising, who was bom 
in England about 161 7, and came to America in 
1635. This worthy pioneer resided in Massachu- 
setts for some years, being a student in Harvard 
College in 1646, but after his marriage, in 1657, 
to his first wife, Elizabeth Hinsdale, he spent a short 
time in the Bermuda Islands. On his return he 
made his home in Salem, Mass., in 1668 he came to 
Windsor, Conn., and in 1679 ne settled in Suffield, 
where he died about nine years later. During the first 
year of his stay in Windsor his first wife died, and 
in 1673 he married Martha Bartlett, a widow, who 
died in 1674. By occupation he was a farmer, and 
his descendants hare largely followed the same pur- 
suit. Of his two sons, John and James, the younger, 
died unmarried, so that the present representatives 
of the family in this county are all descendants of 
John. 

John Rising was a farmer in Suffield, his home- 
stead being located on High street, and for many 
years he was a leading citizen of the town, his death 
occurring in 1720. He was twice married, and 
had eighteen children. 

James Rising, our subject's grandfather, was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



161 



born in West Suffield, at what is now known as 
Rising's Corners, and his life was spent there. He 
owned a large amount of land, and was extensively 
engaged in farming and stock raising, while as a 
citizen he was held in high respect. He and his 
wife, Asenath King, died at the homestead many 
years ago, and their remains were interred in the 
cemetery adjoining the Baptist Church at Zion's 
Hill. They had five children : Isaac ; Alfred ; Ase- 
nath, who married Milton Cornish; Julius, who 
died in West Suffield ; and Emaline, wife of Rowland 
Phelps. 

Alfred Rising, our subject's father, was born 
and reared on the old homestead. For some years 
in early manhood he operated a farm of 125 acres 
in Southwick, Hampden Co., Mass., lying near the 
line of Suffield and belonging to the family estate. 
He became one of the pioneer tobacco growers of 
that neighborhood, and after his return to West 
Suffield he continued that line of business in con- 
nection with stock raising and general farming. 
He was a man of high character, being especially 
noted for his strictly temperate habits, and while 
he was very liberal in his religious views he fol- 
lowed the golden rule in his daily life. In his 
early years he was a Democrat, but the issues which 
culminated in the Rebellion led him into the Re- 
publican party, his vote being cast for Abraham 
Lincoln for President. He died at his farm in 
West Suffield, July 4, 1879, an d was buried at Zion 
Hill beside his wife, Marcia King, who passed away 
in August, 1862. She was a daughter of Ashel 
King, of West Suffield, and was a devout and con- 
sistent member of the Baptist Church. This worthy 
couple had three children, our subject being the 
youngest. ( 1 ) Lovatus, a resident of Southwick, 
Mass., married Phoebe Lewis, of Suffield, and their 
only son, Lewis A., of Southwick, who died March 
28, 1900, married Abbie Leonard, and had three 
children — Abbot L., Jame A. and William. (2) 
Amoret, widow of Henrv C. Phelon, resides in West 
Suffield. 

Hon. James Rising was born July 28, 1827, at 
Suffield, and bis early education was limited to the 
district schools of that town. He always resided at 
the homestead, and after the death of his parents 
took sole charge of the farm, making a specialty of 
stock raising, dairying and the growing of tobacco, 
while he also dealt in the latter commodity to some 
extent. He passed away at his home Sept. 24, 1899. 
Politically he was a Republican, but of liberal ten- 
dencies, having supported Greeley in 1872. For 
five years he was assessor in West Suffield and 
served in other local offices, including those of grand 
juror and member of the board of relief. In 1882 
he was elected to the Legislature, and during his 
term of service he devoted to his duties the industry 
and sound judgment which brought him success in 
private business. In 1858 he married Miss Har- 
riet M. Davis, a daughter of Ambrose and Cynthia 
(Pomeroy) Davis, well-known residents of West 
11 



Suffield. The home was one in which culture and 
refinement were apparent, both Mr. and Mrs. Rising 
being fond of the best in art and literature, giving 
their influence freely to the promotion of various 
movements for the general welfare, and Mrs. Rising 
was prominent in religious work as a member of 
the Baptist Church. She passed away Aug. 8, 
1900, at her home. While our subject was noted for 
his honesty and uprightness, and saw the good in 
the underlying principles of all religious faith, he 
was not connected with any Church. Of the two 
children who blessed his marriage, ( 1 ) James A. 
died at the age of eighteen years, in 1878. (2) 
Frank W. is a graduate of the Connecticut Literary 
Institute, at Suffield, and has already made a fine 
reputation as a business man, being a packer and 
dealer in tobacco, and a successful grower of peaches 
and small fruits, to which a portion of the home- 
stead is devoted. He was elected to represent his 
town in the Legislature of 1901. On Oct. 19, 1887, 
he married Miss Minnie A. Knox, of West Suffield, 
and has two childdren, Grace E. and Hawley Knox. 

The Knox family is of Scottish descent, the line 
being traced back to Malcolm I, of Scotland, and 
John Knox, the great reformer, was of the same 
stock. The coat of arms bears the motto : Moveo 
ct Propitior. ' William Knox, the first of the fam- 
ily to come to this country, was born in Glasgow, 
Scotland, and on his arrival in America located first 
in Hardwick, Mass., and later in Blandford, that 
State, being one of the earliest settlers there. He 
cleared a farm in the wilderness, building a log 
cabin, and as time passed he built a fine dwelling- 
house, which is still standing. In religious faith 
he was a Presbyterian, and throughout his life he 
held strictly to the doctrines and practices of that 
Church. He died at Blandford, where his remains 
now rest. His wife was a Miss Ferguson, and 
they had ten children, their six sons being farmers 
by occupation : William and Samuel, who were both 
captains in the Revolutionary army ; John, men- 
tioned more fully below; Nathaniel, who was a. 
teamster in the Revolutionary forces ; David ; James ; 
Molly, who married William Stuart; Elizabeth, who 
married a Mr. Fleming; Eleanor, who married a 
Mr. Crook ; and Eunice, who married a Mr. Thrall. 

John Knox, great-grandfather of Mrs. Frank 
Rising, was born Jan. 13, 1759, and served in the 
Revolutionary army as ensign. When a young man 
he removed to St. Lawrence county, N. Y., and 
settled at Russell, where he was engaged in farming 
during the remainder of his life. He was a Feder- 
alist in his political views, and a devout member of 
the Presbyterian Church. He was married in 
I '.land ford to Miss Anna Gunn, a native of Pittsfield, 
Mass., and a descendant of an old Welsh family. 
She was also a Presbyterian, and died in Russell, 
leaving the memory of a useful Christian life. To 
this union nine children were born: Henry; Gerry; 
John; Russell; Chester; Harvey; Clarissa, who 
married Moses Bradley; Harriet, who married Cal- 



162 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



vin Hill; and Philomela, who married a Air. 
Clark. 

Henry Knox, grandfather of Mrs. Frank Rising, 
was born in 1786, in Blandford, Mass., and re- 
moved to New York State with his parents while 
still in his 'teens. When a young man he returned 
to Blandford, where he bought 190 acres of land, 
on which he made valuable improvements. He fol- 
lowed farming there until his death, which occurred 
in July, 1853, an d was much esteemed as a citizen, 
being a leading member of the Episcopal Church. 
He married Miss Charlotte Blair, a native of Bland- 
ford, of Scottish descent, who died in 1846. Her 
father, Adam Blair, served as a soldier in the Revo- 
lutionary army under Capt. Ferguson. Two chil- 
dren were born of this union : Mary Ann (deceased ) , 
formerly the wife of Thomas Herrick ; and Hiram 
Henry, father of Mrs. Frank W. Rising. 

Hiram Plenry Knox was born in Blandford Jan. 
2J, 1825, and received a limited education in the 
district schools, which he attended during the winter 
months. As he was a keen observer and a constant 
reader, he became a well-informed man, being es- 
pecialy interested in ancient and modern history. 
In early manhood he engaged in farming at Bland- 
ford on a tract of 230 acres, where he made substan- 
tial improvements and remained until 1865. He 
then sold out and bought the place known as the 
Charles M. Owen farm, a tract of seventy-five acres, 
on which he has built barns and tobacco sheds, and 
where for the past thirty-five years he has been 
engaged in tobacco growing, stock raising and gen- 
eral farming. He is an excellent citizen, and com- 
mands the respect of the community. On April 27, 
1847, he was married in Blandford to Miss Ophelia 
Black, a native of Becket, Mass., and a daughter of 
Curtis and Lucina (Herrick) Black. Her grand- 
father, George Black, was a soldier in the Revolu- 
tionary war. Of the two children born to this union, 
Curtis died in infancy. Minnie A., wife of Frank 
W. Rising, was educated in the public schools, and 
graduated from the Connecticut Literary Institute, 
and was teacher of drawing and painting at Mc- 
Lean's Seminary, Simsbury, for two years previous 
to her marriage. She is a lady of fine mental gifts 
and culture, and has shown decided talent in both 
painting and music. 

ISAAC De FORREST BLINN, proprietor of 
the "Maple Crest" poultry yard, at East Hartford, 
and member of the firm of I. N. Blinn & Son, wood 
and lumber dealers, as well as extensive property 
owners, of the same town, was born in Vernon, 
Tolland Co., Conn., Oct. 25, 1866, and is a son of 
Isaac N. and Jane (Fish) Blinn. 

Isaac N. Blinn was born in Newington, Hartford 
county. May 2^,, 1837, and is a son of James and 
Annie ( Butler) Blinn, the former of Newington and 
the latter of Wethersfield. James Blinn was a life- 
long farmer, and was a son of Elisha Blinn, who 
was killed by being thrown from a cart, the team 



of oxen running away. He left his son, James, a 
handsome farm. To James and Annie Blinn were 
born eight children: James B., a molder, who died 
in Bridgeport, Conn. ; Adelia, widow of Frederick 
Little, of Somers ; Edward, of Vernon ; Chauncey, 
of Rocky Hill; Isaac X. ; Fanny, of Vernon; Agnes 
and Charles H., also of Vernon. James Blinn was 
a large man, weighed 230 pounds, and had always 
lived in Newington until his removal to Vernon, 
where his sad and tragic death took place when he 
was eighty-five years of age, his wife dying at the 
age of eighty-seven. He had been a Democrat in 
politics up to the outbreak of the Civil war, when 
his faith in that party was shattered, and he became 
a stanch Republican. 

Isaac N. Blinn attended the Newington Acad- 
emy until seventeen years of age, and then entered 
the South school in Hartford, where he finished 
his education. Notwithstanding the fact that he 
was born without a left hand, he could, when a boy, 
milk cows, pitch hay, cradle and mow, and his ability 
to do other kinds of work equally well was indeed 
remarkable, if not almost incredible. Mr. Blinn 
was reared as a farmer, as may well be inferred from 
the foregoing remarks, and moved from Newing- 
ton to Vernon with his parents, with whom he re- 
mained until twenty years old. He then, with his 
brother Chauncey, built a sawmill and gristmill on 
his father's farm, known as the '"King Farm" and 
on a brook having the Indian name Tangirousin. 
This brook runs into the Hockanum. .For three 
years the two brothers ran the mill together. Then 
Isaac N. continued the business alone. 

In 1865 Mr. Blinn went to Parkville to run a 
blacksmith and wagon shop. Some time later he 
took a position in the sash and blind factory of 
Richard Joslyn, in South Manchester. In 1879 he 
built a sawmill on the Hackmatack road, south of 
that village. Two years later this was burned down, 
and in 1882 he built on its site an iron foundry, 
which he operated for three years, having among 
his work nearly all of the casting for the Cheney 
Bros. In 1885 Air. Blinn located in North Man- 
chester, resuming the sawmill business under the 
firm name of 1. N. Blinn & Son, which he has since 
followed. .They bought the Stone property, ad- 
joining the Childs elevator, in 1888. In 1891 they 
removed to Burnside, buying twenty-eight acres 
of woodland of Charles R. Forbes, in the tract north 
of the Woodland mill, and clearing this purchase 
and several acres adjoining. On this land they 
built a house, now owned by L. R. Clark. 

It was in 1891 that Air. Blinn built a sawmill 
on the site of his present mill. This was burned 
in Alay, 1893. The fire which consumed it was 
the first one occurring after the formation of the 
Center Hose Company, No. 1, and is accordingly 
memorable among the volunteer firemen of the town. 
Immediately after the fire Air. Blinn built his present 
mill. This structure is of brick in the portions ad- 
joining the boilers and engines, and in the remaining 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



163 



portion of wood. It houses two boilers, one of 35 
and the second of 70 horse-power, and one portable 
engine, running the sawmill and the planing mill 
which adjoins the sawmill, and is a two-story build- 
ing of wood containing appliances for turning out 
all kinds of planing. For hauling logs to the mill 
Mr. Blinn keeps nine horses and two three-horse 
stretchers. 

Isaac X. Blinn and his son laid out Blinn street in 
East Hartford, and erected all the houses thereon. 
Indeed, wherever they have lived they have built 
dwellings and mills, and their sound judgment has 
been proven by the fact that they have always 
realized a profit in disposing of their improved 
property. In East Hartford the firm of I. N. Blinn 
& Son has transformed a veritable swamp into beau- 
tiful yards, surrounding pleasant homes, showing 
what push and enterprise can do. 

On Nov. 1, 1864, Isaac N. Blinn married Miss 
Jane Fish, who was born in Manchester Aug. 7, 
1841, and is a daughter of Henry M. and Satnantha 
(Keeney) Fish, who were the parents of two chil- 
dren: Jane, Mrs. Blinn; and Alfonso FL, a joiner. 
Tlie ancestors of Mrs. Blinn were old-time residents 
of .Manchester, and Keeney street, of that town, 
was named in honor of the maternal side of her 
family. Mrs. Blinn was primarily educated in the 
Manchester district* school, was later graduated from 
the high school at Meriden, and is a lady of rare ac- 
complishments, well-fitted to be the mate of her 
enterprising husband, whom she has materially aided 
in his remarkable business career through her sage 
advice. Her father was called from earth at the 
age of seventy-four years, and her mother at sev- 
enty-six. Three children crowned the union of 
Isaac X. Blinn and wife: Isaac DeForrest, the sub- 
ject of this sketch; Leroy, who was born in 1807, 
and died in [868; and Henry Dayton, who was 
born in 1870, and died in 1885. 

Mr. Blinn is a member of Lodge No.. 2, Knights 
of the Maccabees, of Manchester, and for three 
years he was the lodge's chaplain. He is also a 
member of the East Hartford Grange, and he be- 
longs to the Center ( 'a mgregational Church, of which 
his wife is also a member. In politics he is a Re- 
publican, though prior to the war he was Democra- 
tic. He has attended various conventions as a del- 
egate, and in temperance work' he is actively inter- 
I, being a strictly temperate man and one who 
has never used tobacco. He is still very active and 
industrious, and with the little assistance he re- 
ceived at the start of his business life as a pari 
proprietor of a mill run by waterpower, he has made 
himself one of the largest holders of improved real 
in the county. 

Isaac DeForresI Blinn, in.his childhood flays, at- 
tended the schools of the district in which his par- 
ents at different times resided, and at the age of 
sixteen years finished his education at the Cheney 
graded school, in South Manchester. He was early 
trained to a practical knowledge of business by his 



father, who taught him, also, to remain at home, 
which he did, ami eventually became his father's 
partner in business, as is indicated in the foregoing 
paragraphs. But from early childhood he was an 
ardent poultry fancier, and often expressed a desire 
to enter into poultry raising. This desire was not 
favorably regarded by his father, but later on, in 
1 88 1, he started the business on a small scale, and his 
management of and success in this industry has 
been so phenomenal that a somewhat lengthy ac- 
count of it is here permissible, if not necessary. He 
started in the business in a small way nineteen years 
ago, on a village lot in South Manchester, with the 
\\ bite and Barred Plymouth Rocks, Silver Wyan- 
dot tes and White Leghorns. In one season he 
cleared $50 on twelve hens. He then bought one 
and one-quarter acres of land on Hackmatack street, 
in South Manchester, and put up a poultry house 
135 feet long, with enclosed yards,' keeping 200 
fowls. He sold out at a good price, and in 1889 
moved to North Manchester, later to Woodand. 
Here he purchased twenty-two acres of forest land, 
which he cleared, and put up a poultry house 150 
feet long, with a brooder house 40 feet long, pipe 
system and hot water. Here he kept 250 fowls. 

In the spring of 1891 Mr. Blinn moved to his 
present location, the "Maple Crest" poultry farm on 
Pitkin street. East Hartford, and last spring bought 
an additional ten acres of meadow. The poultry 
h iuse is 275 feet long. As we enter the door we 
pass through the cooking and feed room, where are 
root and vegetable cutters, a bonemill, and an Em- 
pire State cooker. The feed bin overhead holds 
2,500 pounds of grain, and is divided into com- 
partments for the various kinds. An alley-way 
three feet wide extends the length of the building, 
opening into the pens, which are 12x9 feet. There 
is an unique device for feeding soft food, the drink- 
ing fountains supply two pens at a time and the eggs 
are gathered from the alley without entering the 
pens. < >ver the cooking room is the salesroom, 
where breeding birds are kept in separate compart- 
ments. In the basement are kept the roots and 
vegetables, and there is a winter scratching room for 
each, pen. In this building are 700 fowls. 

Another 100 feet will be built on, thus enabling 
Mr. Blinn to realize his ambition in having room for 
1,000 fowls. Long sloping yards extend from each 
pen to the meadow. Here are portable houses ^\J 
feet, on sleds, which are moved to fresh ground often 
to accommodate the growing chicks. ( me thousand 
five hundred have been raised this s 'ason. The in- 
cubator house, one story and basement, contains six 
Cyohers hatchers, 360-egg capacit) each. Here are 
I ep1 the eggs gathered each day, each egg being 
mail' stamped with the day of delivery. All the 
are disposed of to private cusl imers in Hart- 
ford, a caii being run to that city once a week. 
cks are hatched out ten months of the year to sup- 
ply the demand for broilers. There are several 
out-door brooders of Mr. P.linn's own manufacture, 



161 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and more are being built. Many hundreds of 
feet of wire fencing are used to fence in the 
many yards. 

Eggs for hatching are sold and shipped to cus- 
tomers in all the States and distant points in Canada. 
Mr. Blinn showed two white Plymouth Rock cock- 
erels at the great Madison Square Garden exhibition 
last winter, one "Snowflake," taking second prize, 
and the other taking fifth, in a class of twenty birds. 
He has recently refused an offer of $50 for "Snow- 
flake. ' He has also exhibited his strains all over 
New England, and has invariably carried off a 
prize. 

I. DeForrest Blinn was joined in matrimony June 
22, 1892, with Miss Ella L. Forbes, a native of 
Hockanum, and daughter of Stephen Forbes, de- 
ceased, a sketch of whose life appears elsewhere. 
To this felicitous union have been born two chil- 
dren, of whom the first-born, Clarence D. F., died 
when eighteen months old ; and Harold Newton, 
the survivor, is a bright and intelligent child, who 
gives promise, if spared, of becoming a credit to any 
community in which his future lot may be cast. 

WILFRED HOPKINS NETTLETON, inven- 
tor, promoter and retired manufacturer of Bristol, 
was born in Waterbury, Conn., June 2, 1825. At an 
early age he removed with his parents, Garry and 
Mary Nettleton, to Bristol. Upon finishing his edu- 
cation, in the schools of his adopted town, he entered 
the employ of Brewster & Ingraham, clock manu- 
facturers, for one year. Soon afterward, at about 
the age of twenty, taking a contract and employing 
a number of men. 

Very ambitious to be himself a manufacturer, 
Mr. Nettleton began the making of certain parts 
of clocks, such as those regulating the striking, 
called "Lockwork," also arbors, pinion wires, and 
other smaller clock devices. For these purposes he 
perfected automatic machines, for which he secured 
patents in this country, but unfortunately not in 
Europe, and, as evidence of the value of these in- 
ventions, they have been copied, and precisely the 
same machinery is being used at present by Euro- 
pean clockmakers. These inventions were greatly 
labor-saving, and gave the product great perfection 
over the old methods, and by them Mr. Nettleton 
for years supplied nearly all the large clockmakers 
of this country with special parts, in the manufac- 
ture of which about one thousand pounds of spe- 
cial wire were used per day, equipping some five 
thousand clocks. He continued actively in this busi- 
ness for some twenty-five years, employing at times 
from thirty to fifty workmen. He also manufac- 
tured, during this time, ladies' fans, sewing ma- 
chines, hemmers and binders, toys, and other small 
wares. He also engaged in the manufacture of the 
famous "Ten Dollar Sewing Machine," at Brat- 
tleboro, Vt., in company with Charles Raymond, 
the inventor of this, the first practical and best 
cheap sewing machine made in this country. After 



a few years, and with this business well established 
and successful, he sold his interests to his partner,. 
Mr. Raymond. 

By reason of failing health, Mr. Nettleton was 
obliged to give up his important business in Bris- 
tol, selling out to George A. Jones in 1871. Since 
that time he has occupied himself in looking after 
his business interests in general, and in frequent 
travels over the country, and especially to the South, 
seeking renewed health. During all his active busi- 
ness life, though a very busy man under the ex- 
actions of his own special lines of business, he was 
sought as a promoter and leader in other business 
enterprises. He was president for twelve years of 
the Bristol Saw Co., a director of the National 
Water Wheel Co., and president of the American 
Coal Barge Co. of New Haven, owning the most 
rapid coal filling and emptying process ever in- 
vented. He is aiso one of tlie two surviving original 
directors of the Bristol National Bank. 

The quality and scope of Mr. Nettleton's busi- 
ness abilities and successes can have no better sum- 
ming up than to say that, beginning as a poor boy 
and day laborer, he never had a penny of financial 
assistance, except as a young man, a hundred dol- 
lars from a kindly aunt. And further, to mention 
the way in which he met and passed, successfully,. 
a most critical epoch in his business career. This 
was about 1855-1857, a period of hard times and 
panic, in which clock manufacturers were severely 
stricken, and many failed. With large sums due 
him, and his own obligations to meet, he weathered, 
the storm by what was hardly less than a stroke 
of genius. Foreseeing the darkening clouds, he 
hurried to make contracts with jewelers, paper 
makers, and other manufacturers of salable wares,, 
to take his orders upon the clockmakers, he in re- 
turn taking miscellaneous goods, and changing the 
same into cash wherever he could find a market. 
The crisis called for foresight, skill and high cour- 
age, and these master qualities were rewarded, 
bringing him safely through what seemed certain' 
bankruptcy. 

Mr. Nettleton has ever been interested and active 
in spheres other than the merely business and 
financial. Politically he has ever been an ardent 
Republican, and for several years was a member of 
the Republican League of New Haven, and a nom- 
inee of his party in 1866 for the Legislature, as 
town representative. During the Civil war he gave 
evidence of earnest loyalty ; though unable to bear 
arms himself on account of ill health, he pledged 
a hundred dollars to each of his employes who 
might choose to enlist, and several did so, receiving 
this bounty. And while not a participant himself 
in the great struggle, he mourns the death of his 
only brother, George E., a soldier of the 16th 
Connecticut Regiment, who died as a result of the 
hardships he suffered at Andersonville. After the 
terrible day at Antietam Mr. Nettleton hurried to- 
the battlefield, passing through most eventful ex- 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



165 



periences in his endeavors to aid the suffering 

Hers from his town and State. 
Mr. Nettleton became a member of the First 
G 'iigregational Church of Bristol in 1871, ever 
interested in its welfare, and at times serving it in 
an official position. He is a member of Franklin 
Lodge, No. 56, F. & A. M.. of Bristol, having a 
lunger membership in it than any one living, and in 
its earlier existence serving it as treasurer. He has 
always had an alert interest and progressive spirit 
in community and social life. This is interestingly 
illustrated in the notable Bristol Brass Band, the 
first of its kind in the town. When a young man of 
nineteen he, with S. B. Jerome and the hearty co- 
operation of a choice body of young men, organized 
the band and orchestra that attained quite a celeb- 
rity under the instruction of Signor Salvator Rosa, 
of Xew York. 

Personally. Mr. Nettleton is easilv one of ''Na- 
ture's gentlemen." A man of gentle dignity, un- 
assuming, affable, and naturally kind and generous, 
as fortune came to him. manv have been the institu- 
tions and persons that have found in him a thought- 
ful and generous benefactor. His relations with the 
man}" employes of his active business life were ever 
friendly and cordial, many remaining with him for 
year-. 

• )n June 9, 1847, ^ r - Nettleton married Miss 
Harriet Xewell Tuttle, of Bristol, his strong 
helper, his devoted wife, and a lady of exceptional 
intelligence and refinement. Mrs. Nettleton died 
May 4, 1896, and had she survived another year they 
Would have celebrated the fiftieth anniversary of 
their most happy union. 

By a long and honorable business career, by 
his thoughtful interest in other persons and things, 
and by his genial social qualities, Mr. Nettleton has 
well earned the confidence and high esteem of bis 
fellow townsmen and all who know him. 

JOHN B. LEWIS, M. D., medical director and 
adjuster of the Travelers Insurance Co., Hartford, 
himself a patriot and soldier of distinction in the 
Civil war, has descended from a family of patriots 
and soldiers. 

Fleazer Lewis, his great-grandfather, was a sol- 
dier of the war of the Revolution, Benjamin Lewis, 
hi- grandfather, a soldier of the war of 1812, and 
John Lewis, his father, a teacher at West Point. 
Our subject was born March 10, 1832, in Suffolk 
comity, N. Y., and received his education in Powell- 
ton Seminary, at Xewburgh. X. Y. He was gradu- 
ated March to. 1853. on his twenty-first birthday, 
from the University Medical College of New York 
City. Shortly threafter he located in the practice in 
Vernon, Conn., having formed a business partner- 
ship with Dr. Alden Skinner, and here for several 
year- lie had a full share of that laborious practice 
of medicine and surgerj which fall- to the lot of an 
energetic country doctor. 

Soon after the breaking out of the Civil war 



Dr. Lewis, July 3, 1861. was commissioned surgeon 
of the 5th Conn. V. I. In the spring of 1862 he was 
commissioned brigade surgeon, United States Vol- 
unteers, by the President, and ordered to report 
to Maj.-Gen. Banks, Department of the Shenandoah, 
and was assigned to the 2nd Brigade, Shield's Di- 
vision. Soon afterward he was made medical di- 
rector of the division, and remained in service in that 
capacity up to the time when the division was in- 
corporated with Gen. McClellan's Army, at Harri- 
son's Landing, when he was assigned to temporary 
duty. The invasion of Maryland by Gen. Lee oc- 
curred soon afterward, and Sept. 15, 1862, while in 
charge of a field hospital, he received orders to pro- 
ceed without delay to the headquarters of Gen Mc- 
Clellan and report to Surgeon Letterman, where, 
during Sept. 17 and 18, he was on duty at the battle 
of Antietam. Some days later he was assigned sur- 
geon in charge of the United States General Hos- 
pital, No. 6. at Frederick, Md., and was in charge of 
this hospital until its discontinuance, in February 
following. By command of Maj.-Gen. Schenck, 
Middle Department, Feb. 18, 1863, Dr. Lewis was 
assigned surgeon in charge of the United States 
General Hospital at Cumberland, Md., upon which 
duty he remained until after the close of the war. 
While in charge of the hospital he also served for a 
time as medical director of the Department of West 
Virginia, and in such official position, in companv 
with Maj.-Gen. Crook, commanding, visited and in- 
spected the military posts and hospitals within the 
department. In his field service Dr. Lewis was pres- 
ent in thirteen battles and skirmishes, and during 
the same period was many times in charge of field 
hospitals. In 1865 he was commissioned, by the 
President, brevet lieutenant-colonel, United States 
Volunteers. He was retained in the service after 
the close of the war in order that he might have 
charge of the sale of the large property belonging to 
tlu' government which had been used for hospital 
purposes at Cumberland, and when he had com- 
plied these duties he forwarded a written request 
to be mustered out "at the earliest date consistent 
with the interests of the service." By special orders 
from the War Department, Oct. 7, 1865, be was 
"honorably discharged out of the service of the 
I Fnited States." 

After his discharge from the service Dr. Lewis 
resumed the practice of medicine, residing for some 
three year- at Rockville, and then removed to Hart- 
ford. After a few months spenl in Europe he en- 
tered, in 1869, the service of the Travelers insurance 
Co., of Hartford, as medical director for thai com- 
pany and in charge of its claim department. I [e has 
since devoted bis time and talent- to the medical 
department of the Travelers, writing meanwhile nu- 
merous papers on historical, medical and medico- 
legal subjects. 

' in June 13. 1855. Dr. I ewis married Mi-- Mary 
K . daughter of lion. J. X. E. Mann, of Dedham, 
Ma--., and to tin'- union three children were born, 



166 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



one son and two daughters ; Dr. William J. Lewis, 
the son, was for years consulting surgeon for the 
Travelers Co., and is now in practice in New York 
City. 

TALCOTT. The family Talcott was originally 
of Warwickshire, England. The Arms — Ar. on a 
pale Sa. three roses of the field. Crest — a demi- 
griffin, erased. Ar. gorged with a collar Sa., 
charged with three roses of the first. Motto — 

VIRTUS SOLA NOBILITAS. 

(I) John 1 Talcott, a descendant from the War- 
wickshire family, was living in Colchester, County 

Essex, previous to 1558. He married (first) 

Wells, who died, her husband and three children sur- 
viving. John Talcott died in Colchester about 1 
Nov., 1606, survived by his wife and her six chil- 
dren. His will, dated 24 Sept., 1606, was admitted 
to probate 12 Nov., 1606. His bequests indicate a 
large estate — "to his grandchild John Talcoat. the 
son of my son John Talcoat, late of Brantree, the 
sum of £40 good and lawful money to be paid unto 
himself by myn executors at the age of 20 years if 
he lyve so long." 

Johx Taylcoat. 

(II) John- Talcott, son of John 1 and Wells, 

was born (probably) in Colchester, previous to 
1558. Married Anne, daughter of William Skinner. 
He died early in 1604, and before the decease of his 
father, John 1 , his wife, one son and five daughters 
surviving. His will, 1604, Anne, his wife, being 
sole executrix and residuary legatee: "I John Tail- 
coat of Braintree in the countie Essex. England, 
gives his homestead to his wife Anne, during her 
life, and after her decease to his son John Tailcoat. 
He gives to dan. Rachel Tailcoat, John Taylcot, my 
sonne, and to Anne Tailcot, Marie Tailcot, Grace 
Tailcot and Sara Tailcot my daughters, fortie 
poundes apeece of lawful money of England." 

John Tailcot. 
Witness : Marke Mott, 

Erasmus Sparhawke, 
James Sparhawke. 

(Ill) John 3 Talcott, son of John 2 and Anne Skin- 
ner, his wife, was born in Braintree. County Essex, 
England. He married Dorothy, daughter (probably) 
of Mark Mott, Esq., and Frances Gutter, his wife, 
of Braintree. Issue : Mary and John, born in Eng- 
land ; and Samuel, born in New England. John 
Talcott was an only son. and was left a minor by 
the death of his father in 1604. No other family 
of this name ever emigrated to this country. He 
came, with others of Rev. Thomas Hooker's com- 
panv, to Boston, in the ship "Lion, ' Capt. Mason, 
which sailed from England 22 Tune, 1632, and ar- 
rived there 16 Sept., 1632. This company first 
settled in Newtown (now Cambridge), near Boston. 
John Talcott was admitted a freeman by the General 
Court at Boston, 6 Nov.. 1632: was a representa- 
tive in the General Court 14 May. 1634: was chosen 



one of the selectmen of Newtown 4 Feb., 1634. He 
was the fifth greatest proprietor of houses and lands 
out of eighty townsmen, 1634. When the party of 
Mr. Hooker decided to come to Hartford, John 
Talcott sold all his possessions 1 May, 1630, to 
Nicholas Danforth. The year before he sent Nich- 
olas Clark, the carpenter, to build him a house, which 
stood where North church now stands, better known 
as Dr. Bushnell s church. He became one of the 
distinguished "Founders of Hartford," in the Col- 
ony of Connecticut ; one of the chief magistrates ; a 
member of the General Court for many years ; and 
was styled the worshipful Mr. John Talcott. His 
will, dated 3 March, 1659-60, proven 3 March, 1660- 
61, inventoried £1708-04-04: "I give and doe give 
and bequefe unto my sonne ;Samewellall my housing 
and house lotts lying in Wethersfield ; both of medow 
swamp ; land upland with all my rights thereunto 
belonging now in the ockupation of John Belden, or 
Enoch Buck, or any other, both on the east, and 
west side of the river forever to injov himselve, and 
Avers, provided that he marry, and leave no issue 
of his body lawfully begoten when he depart this 
life that then his wife shall only posese it during her 
naterall livfe and then the land and housing to re- 
turne to the eldest sonne then living of my sonn 
John to injov after my sonn John his death." Mrs. 
Dorothy (Mott) Talcott died February, 1669-70. 

(IV) Capt. Samuel Talcott, the second son of the 
worshipful Mr. John Talcott"' and Dorothy, his wife] 
was born probably in Newtown (now Cambridge), 
Mass., about 1634 or 1635. He married Hannah, 
daughter of Hon. Elizur Holyoke and Mary Pyn-j 
ebon, his wife, 7 Nov.. 1661. She died in Wethers- 
field 7 Feb.. 1677-78. leaving a family of eight chil- 
dren — six sons and two daughters. He was the 
scholar of the family, a graduate of Harvard Col- 
lege, 1658; a freeman, 1662: 1669 to 1684 commis- 
sioner from Wethersfield : from 1670 to 1684 deputy 
to the General Court ; secretary October session, 
1684. On 16 May. 1676, he was appointed one of 
a standing committee to order such measures and 
dispose of such affairs as shall be necessary to attend 
to in the intervals of the General Court. 12 May, 
1677, he was lieutenant in the Wethersfield train 
band; 14 Oct., 1679, lieutenant of troop; 16 Oct., 
1681, captain of troop of Hartford county. From 
1683, except during the Andross administration, he 
was an Assistant till nis death, 11 Nov., 1691. His 
will was dated 22 April, 1691 ; inventoried £2181- 
01-06; taken 21 Dec, 1691. His will was presented 
in court 23 Jan., 1661-62, having; no witness, "and 
his hand being so well known he having wright it 
all with his own hand the court accepted of it to- 
gether with the inventory." 

( V) Cornet Samuel Talcott, son of Capt. Sam- 
uel Talcott and Hannah Holyoke. his wife, was born 
in Wethersfield in 1662, and married Mary, daugh- 
ter of William and Mary Ellery. He died in Weth- 
ersfield 28 Aoril, 1698. His estate was inventoried 
at £774-02. Children : Samuel, age two years ; Anne, 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



167 



seven years; and Mary, eight months. Adms. to 
Mary, the relict and widow. 

(VI) Ensign Samuel Talcott, son of Cornet 
Samuel Talcott, horn in [696, married 5 Dec.. 1723, 
Thankfnll Belding. He died 6 May. 1739. Estate 
inventoried at £3912-18-01, taken 3 July, 1739. 
Adms. to Thankfnll Talcott. widow. 

( VII ) Ebenezer Talcott, son of Samuel Talcott 
and Thankfnll Melding, horn 1731. died 25 Aug., 
1705. aged sixty-four years. Sarah, daughter of 
John Talcott. his wife, died 13 April, 1801. aged 
sixty-eight. Children: Samuel died young, un- 
married. Ebenezer, a sailor, was lost at sea. Sam- 
uel, born 6 Feb., 1758. married Mary (Molly) Hurl- 
but 25 Dec, 1788; lie died 23 Dec, 1794. 2E. thirty- 
six years. Josiah, a sailor, was drowned in the 
Connecticut river. John, a sailor, was lost at sea 
near Saybrook, coming from the West Indies. Sarah 
married Capt. James Treat, of Wethersfield. Will- 
iam, horn 7 Nov., 1 77 1. married Amelia Hanmer, 
31 July, 1800; he died 28 June. 1813, aged forty- 
two years. Mary died unmarried. Joseph married 
Anna Boardman in 1803; he died 17 June, 1832. 

(VIII) Deacon William Talcott, son of Eben- 
ezer Talcott and Sarah, daughter of John Talcott, 
born 7 Nov., 1771. married 31 July, 1800. and died 
28 June, 18 1 3, aged forty-two years. His wife, 
Amelia, daughter of Francis Hanmer, of Wethers- 
field. horn [8 \)fi:., 1775. died 4 Sept.. 1837. aged 
sixty-two years. Children: Amelia, horn 6 July, 
[801, married David Hills, of East Hartford; she 
died 3 April, 1847, aged forty-six years. Celia. born 
1 Feb., 1804, married Henry Robbins, of Wethers- 
field, and died in [886, aged eighty-two years. 
William, born 22 Sept., [806, married Eliza H. Har- 
ris \2 May, 1830. and died 14 March, 1886, aged 
eighty years. Sarah Treat, horn _>i July, [809, mar- 
ried John Loveland, and died 3 Dec. 1873, aged 
sixty-fi ur years. Francis II.. horn 19 April, [812, 
died 2 Dec. [854, at Brattleboro, Vt., aged forty- 
two -tar-. William Talcott was deacon of the First 
Congregational Church in Wethersfield. A drug- 
gist 1>\ occupation. 

(IX) William Talcott. son of Deacon William 
Talcott and Amelia Hanmer. his wife, horn 22 Sept., 
[806, married \2 May, 1830. Eliza II., daughter of 
Thomas Harris, of Wethersfield, horn 10 April. 
1800, died 31 March. 1883, aged seventy-seven 
year-, lit died 14 March. [886, aged eight}- years. 
Children: William Hanmer, born 17 Feb., 1 83 1 , 
married Charlotte F., daughter of Charles Church, 
of Hartford. Francis Hanmer, born 3 March, 
[833, married Ellen Sophia, daughter of Xathaniel 
Prudden, of Hartford, [6 June. [856. No is 

I le died 30 ' >ct., [893, aged sbcl • ars Thoi 
Han--, born 23 May, [835, 1- nl of \ T ew 

York City. Elizabeth Amelia, born 3 Feb., [838, 
was married 23 Nov., [864, to James T. Smith, horn 
4 May, [833. Marshall Decatur, born 3 I >■•.. [840, 
married Alice Benedict, of Marshall, Mich. Dewitt 
Clinton, born 3 June [842, died 25 Aug., [886, with- 



out issue, aged forty- four years. Cecelia Augusta, 
horn 8 Nov., 1845, married George Smith, of Weth- 
ersfield. Harriet Ella was born 3 March, 1849. 
William Talcott, father of this family, was horn and 
reared in Wethersfield. By occupation he was a 
builder of houses. He and his wife celebrated their 
golden weding May 12, 1880, all their children sur- 
viving. He was a representative to the State Legis- 
lature in 1847, and was Colonel of the 1st Regiment, 
National Guard. 

(X) Major William Hanmer Talcott, 
horn in Wethersfield 17 Feb., 183 1, married 
5 Nov., 1 861, Charlote F., daughter of Charles 
Church, of Hartford, born 31 Jan., 1836. Issue: 
Charles Church, born 15 Aug., 1862, died 28 June, 
1866, aged four years. William Church Talcott, 
the second son of Major William H. Talcott, was 
born 21 Feb., 1872. Major William Hanmer Tal- 
cott, son of Col. William Talcott, of Wethersfield, 
was educated in the town schools of Wethersfield, 
leaving there in 1848. He served an apprenticeship 
of four vears with Allen S. Stillman, to learn the 
trade of book-binding in Hartford. After this 
service he was employed at wages by Edmund Hunt, 
or others, until i860, when he bought the bindery 
of Horace E. Goodwin, and began business for him- 
self. Ten years later he bought the bindery of 
his former master, Capt. Allen S. Stillman, which 
was established in 1798, it being the oldest in the 
State. His brother Francis was in partnership from 
1870 until his death, in 1893. This successful busi- 
ness of forty years has resulted in a wide and favor- 
able acquaintance. With his active business life 
he has found time for other service : Two years in the 
city council, three terms on the hoard of aldermen 
( never missed a meeting and but once its opening). 
The Major is a Democrat in politics ; an active mem- 
ber of the Methodist Church: a trustee of the V. M. 
C. A. : a member of the executive committee of the 
Connecticut Bible Society: a member of Trumbull 
Council, National Provident Union ; a councillor in 
the Order of the Founders and Patriots of America; 
major commanding in 1878-71; the Tit st Company, 
Governor's Foot Guards, chartered iq Oct. 1771; 
and a member of the Connecticut Historical So- 
ciety. 

The Major has some interesting family papers 
in his possession, among them being a Colonial writ 
thai has been passed down in the family for over 
130 years, coming to our subject with the papers 
of his father, who in turn received it from his fa- 
ther. It was issued [9 Nov., [760, in favor of Jo 
seph Talcott, who was treasurer of the Colonj of 
Connecticut from 1750 to [769, and was a son of 
Gov. Joseph Talcott, who was .■ the head of the 

mial government for seventeen years from [725. 
J( seph Talcott had received judgment againsl Sil 
vamis Phelps, of Hebron, for £8 [O-05, nol includ 
ing thi 1 osts of the court, amounting to 8s., 6d., the 
judgmenl being obtained before John Ledyard, of 
Hartford. The ionstable who served the writ was 



168 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



Samuel Gilbert, Jr., of Hebron, tben a part of Hart- 
ford count}-, and tbe document bears bis signature. 
In want of money, goods or cbattels, satisfying the 
judgment, the sheriff of the town was commanded 
to take the body of the said Silvanus and him com- 
mit unto the keeper of tbe gaol in Hartford, in the 
county aforesaid, within the said prison, who is like- 
wise hereby commanded to receive the said Silvanus, 
and him safely to keep until be pay unto the said 
Joseph the full sums above mentioned. Tbe Major 
also has tbe commission of Ensign Samuel Talcott 
to command tbe trained band, dated Hartford io 
May, 1735, and signed Joseph Talcott, Gov. of Con- 
necticut Colony, by his Honour's Command, Geo. 
Wyllys, Sec. 

John Talcott and bis son-in-law, William Wads- 
worth, seized the Charter of Connecticut given by 
Charles II. and secreted it in tbe oak tree in Hart- 
ford afterward known as tbe Charter Oak. 

Goldex Wedding — Fiftieth anniversary of 
the marriage of Col. William Talcott and wife. — 
1 830- 1 880. There was an exceedinglv pleasant gath- 
ering at the residence of Col. and Mrs. William 
Talcott, of Wethersfield, on Wednesday evening, it 
being tbe fiftieth anniversary of their marriage. 
Their eight children were all present with 
their families, viz.: Major William H. Talcott and 
wife and son ; Francis H. Talcott, wife and dauph- 
ter, of Hartford; Thomas H. Talcott (unmarried), 
of New York ; Mrs. James T. Smith, husband and 
children, of Wethersfield; Marshall D. Talcott, wife 
and daughter, of Chicago; Dewitt C. Talcott and 
wife, of New York; and Misses Cecelia A. and 
Harriet E. Talcott. of Wethersfield. .There were 
also present a sister of the Colonel. Mrs. Henry 
Robbins, and Miss Jane Harris, sister of Mrs. Tal- 
cott. both of Wethersfield, besides a large number 
of relatives. The only regret of Col. Talcott and 
family was that their residence was not sufficiently 
large so that they could have invited every relative 
and friend of tbe family to join with them on this 
festal occasion. The reception room was prettily 
trimmed with flowers and running vines. Between 
the two windows was the monogram "T-H" on a 
golden shield, made of flowers, and on the curtains 
of the two windows were 1830-1880, also made of 
flowers. William Talcott and Miss Eliza Harris 
were married by Rev. Dr. Tennev, tben pastor of the 
Congregational Church of Wethersfield, 12 May, 
1830. There are several notable things of interest 
connected with this occasion. The contracting 
parties were born in tbe same year (1806"). No mem- 
ber of the family has been removed by death. Mr. 
and Mrs. Talcott have lived in the same bouse 
nearlv fifty vears, a house erected on ground that 
has always been held by the Talcott family ; and this 
anniversary not only comes on the same day of the 
month of their marriage, but the same day of the 
week. A written invitation to the wedding was ex- 
hibited Wednesday evening, which reads as 
follows : 



Wethersfield, May 10, 1830. 
William Talcott's compliments to Mr. John Loveland, 
requesting the favor of his company at Mr. Thomas Harris's 
on Wednesday evening, at 7 o'clock. 

Yours, etc., 

William Talcott. 

After some time had been passed in social inter- 
course, tbe assembly was called to order by Major 
William H. Talcott, the children standing near the 
parents in a group, when Major Talcott addressed 
his father and mother in well fitting words, thank- 
ing them for their kindness to their children through 
these years, and expressing the love and regard 
which they have for them, and in closing presented a 
purse of gold to the parents. Col. Talcott, although 
taken entirely by surprise, said that he had no words 
at command which could express his feelings. It 
was more to him to meet with his dear eight chil- 
dren upon that occasion, and to feel that they had 
never brought a stain upon the family, than gold. 
Major Talcott then called upon his pastor, Rev. C. 
C. Lasby, of the North Methodist Church, Hart- 
ford, who read a specially appropriate poem. 

The reading of the poem was followed by ex- 
ceedingly appropriate remarks by Rev. W. W. An- 
drews, of Wethersfield, Rev. Howard S. Clapp, pas- 
tor of the Episcopal Church, Wethersfield, and Rev. 
Amasa Howard, of the Baptist Church, in which 
the kindest sentiments were expressed. Congratu- 
latory letters were received from several friends from 
abroad, expressing regret at not being able to be 
present, as follows: From Gen. James T. Pratt, of 
Wethersfield, who was detained by sickness ; Mrs. 
J. W. Brockwav. of Elmira, N. Y. ; Capt. Ed. W. 
Kirk Talcott. of Morgan Park. 111. ; Rev. A. C. 
Washburn, of Syracuse. N. Y. ; L. A. Talcott, of 
Chicago, 111. ; and Samuel Broadbent, of Philadel- 
phia. On the invitations to this anniversary it was 
written "no presents," notwithstanding which there 
were many valuable presents given, and the elegant 
collation served by Habenstein was beyond criti- 
cism, consisting of chicken and lobster salads, fric- 
assee and escalloped oysters, creams and ices in 
fancy forms, jellies, charlotte de russe, loaf cake, 
angel cake, fancy ornamented cake, mottos, confec- 
tionery, fruits, coffee, lemonade, etc. Tbe tables 
looked elegantly trimmed with Mowers and orna- 
mented with a new set of china of rich design, which 
was used upon this occasion for tbe first time. The 
refreshments were served in a large tent in tbe yard, 
which was a novelty and was much enjoyed. 
Through the courtesy of President Goodrich, of the 
Wethersfield horse railroad, two special cars were 
furnished to convey tbe Hartford guests home, 
where they arrived at 1 a. m. 

William ChurclrTalcott, the second son of Major 
William H. Talcott, born 21 Feb., 1872, entered at 
an earlv age the city Arsenal school, from which, at 
the age of fifteen years, he entered the Hartford 
Public High School, his object and nurpose being 
to acquire a business education. He gave one 
year's time and study at that school, at the age of 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



169 



sixteen years entering Wilbraham Academy, Wil- 
brahani. Mass.. from which institution he graduated 
after one year, receiving his diploma. He then, in 
the pursuit of his original plan, engaged with his 
father and uncle (firm of William H. Talcott & 
Bro.) to learn the business of book-binding. His 
untimely death occurred 19. Dec., 1892. He was a 
member of the North Methodist Church and Sun- 
day-school : was librarian for a number of years ; 
an usher in the church ; and a member of the 
Young People's Society of Christian Endeavor, 
having held the office of secretary and treasurer. 
He was a member of the Y. M. C. A., and of the 
Young Men's Athletic Association. The funeral of 
"Willie C. Talcott. the only son of Major William H. 
Talcott and Mrs. Talcott, took place 23 Dec, 1892. 
Prayers were said at the house, after which services 
were held at the church at 2:30 p. M. The pastor, 
Rev. H. O. Ju^Ul, officiated, assisted by Rev. J. E. 
Holmes, of Seymour, Rev. David C. Downey, of 
Stamford i former pastor of this church), Rev. A. 
H. Meade, of Meriden, and Rev. John Cromlish. 
During the services the flag a: the Arsenal school 
was at half-mast out of respect to his memory. Ex- 
tended obituary notices appeared in all the Hartford 
daily papers, Courant, Times, Evening Post, Tele- 
gram, and Globe (weekly). The large attendance 
of friends from far and near, with beautiful floral 
offerings, gave evidence of the sympathy and resp.ct 
toward the bereaved parents, and love for the young- 
man whose short earthly life now ended hail been 
nil in noble aspirations and generous activities. 

JOHN A. CRILLY, adjuster for the Hartford 
Street Railway Co., former county commissioner, 
alderman, present member of the common council, 
and a politician of local note and influence, is one 
of the well and favorably known men and charac- 
of the Capital City, in which he has figured 
conspicuously for more than a third of a century. 

Mr. Crilly was born April 22, 1847, m Pike 
River, Canada, sun of William and Martha (Mc- 
Cormick) Crillv, natives of Ireland, the father born 
Jan. [8, 1805, and the mother March 8, 1807. 
'1 hey were married in Ireland, and in 1836 came to 
Canada, locating in Pike River, where he was occu- 
pied through life as a wheelwright. Both were 

ibers 'if the M. I-;. ( hurch. Mr. Crillv died Jan. 
<). [887, and she «.n July 17. 1X86. Their children 
were as follows: Thomas, born May 8, 1X36; Mary, 
born July 20. [838, who married Allen Hageboom, 
of Canada; William, born July 18, 1840; Sarah J., 
born Aug. 12. 1X42. who married Henrv Spears, of 
Pike River; James, born Oct. 3, 1844: John A. and 
Martha, twin-, bom April 22, 1847; a ' lf l Robert, 
born June 6, [849, who died Dec. to. 1852, 

John A. Crillv passed his boyhood in the place 
of his birth, remaining at home until about fifteen 
years of age, and attending the common schools 01" 
the place. After this for a time he was employed 
at farm work, and when fourteen years of age. in 
1861, he came to Hartford, in which city he in 1865 



became employed in the blacksmith shop of the 
Hartford Street Railway Co. At that time horses 
only were used as motive power. Shortlv after en- 
tering the services of this companv Mr. Crilly be- 
came foreman of the stables, and had charge of the 
outgoing and incoming teams, and also the care of 
the yard. Later, his ability in various lines was rec- 
ognized, and he became acting superintendent, and 
materially aided President Goodrich in much of the 
company's general business. He had the employing 
and discharging of men, and matters pertaining to 
their affairs. At the time of the change from 
horse-power to electricity, Mr. Crilly was entrusted 
with the sale of the horses. He continued in the 
position of acting superintendent until 1895, by 
which time the road had so enlarged that the office 
of adjuster was created, and from our subject's ac- 
quaintance and thorough knowledge of the business 
affairs of the company he was made that officer. He 
has the adjusting of all claims for damages against 
the company, a position requiring a peculiar fitness, 
which Mr. Crilly seems to possess, as he has suc- 
ceeded admirably in all matters of the kind which 
have come to issue since the creation of the office. 
With but few exceptions he has settled all claims 
made, and in each of these exceptions a verdict has 
been obtained for the company ; in this he has no 
doubt saved the company much money, and his ad- 
judication of these claims have always been most 
satisfactory to all parties concerned. 

Mr. Crilly 's political affiliations have been with 
the Republican party, and in its councils he has 
figured not a little. Genial, social, and possessed 
of tact, he is popular, and a good mixer of men — a 
make-up of the kind that makes a good political 
leader. He has long been before the public, his fel- 
low citizens of Hartford having frequently elected 
him to offices of trust, honor and responsibility, and 
as often has he discharged the duties of the same in 
a manner most satisfactory to them and to his own 
credit. He has served six years continuously in 
the common council of Hartford, to which he was 
re-elected in 1900, and eight years as a member of 
the board of aldermen, and at this time is the oldest 
member in point of service. With one exception 
Mr. Crilly has served longer in that body or as 
alderman than any other man now living in the 
city, serving under Mayors Joseph Sprague, (Gov.) 
Bulkeley, (Gen.) Dwight, John G. Root and Alex- 
ander Harbison. Me was three years a selectman,' 
a position he resigned to take that of count) com- 
missi ner, which office he held for two years, for 
twenu years Mr. Crilly has been chairman of the 
Fourth Ward Republican Committee, and he has 
also served occasionally on the ward and town 
> immittees. 

Socially, too, Mr. Crilly is prominenl and in- 
111 ;ntial, being a member of St. John'- Lodge, F & 
\ M. ; Pythagoras Chapter; Wolcotl Council; 
Washington < ommandery, \'o. 1. K. T. ; Sphinx 
Temple, Mystic Shrine; Hartford Lodge, No. 82, 
I. O. ( >. P., in which he ha- passed all the chairs 



170 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



and is past noble grand : Midian Encampment, in 
which he has held a number of official positions ; 
the Knights of Pythias ; the B. P. O. E. ; the An- 
cient Order of United Workmen : and B. H. Webb 
Council, Xo. 702. Royal Arcanum. He is also a 
member of Putnam Phalanx. Mr. Crilly was one 
of three who took medals for twenty-five years of 
continuous service in the Odd Fellows fraternity. 

On May 22. 1879, Mr. Crilly was married to 
Louisa A., daughter of Capt. John and Antoinette 
(Goodrich) Smith, and the union has been blessed 
with children as follows: John A., Jr., born June 
13, 1885 ; Martha A., who died when ten months 
old ; and Mabel Smith, who died when eight months 
old. 

Capt. John Smith was a farmer and river man. 
He had a family of three children: William E. ; 
Louisa A.; and Isabella, who married Capt. San- 
ford A. Griswold, of Hartford. The father and 
mother are now both deceased, she living to be 
sixty-nine years old. William Smith, the grand- 
father of Mrs. Crilly. was a native of Wethers- 
field, Conn., born March 17, 1782, son of James 
and Sarah ( Hanmer ) Smith. His father was one 
of the early settlers of Wethersfield, and planted 
(or set out) the twig from which has grown the 
giant elm tree on Broad street, Wethersfield. 
William Smith married Hulda Woodhouse, a daugh- 
ter of Samuel and Abigail Woodhouse, the former 
a Revolutionary soldier: his widow drew a pension. 

GEORGE M. WAY. There are few of the 
older generation of Hartford's residents who do 
not remembr George M. Way, and many are in- 
debted to his cool head, sagacious judgment and 
far-seeing business foresight for advice, freely and 
cheerfully rendered, which has redounded to' their 
pecuniary profit. His career, viewed from a busi- 
ness standpoint, was eminently successful, inas- 
much as he began life penniless, and died owning 
a large fortune. 

Mr. Way came to Hartford in 183 1, a young 
man of twenty-three years, having been born in 
Colchester, New London county. Nov. 12, 1808, 
son of William and Demice (Packwood) Way' 
His father was a farmer, and by trade a plane 
maker, and the young man was trained in both 
pursuits. His educational advantages were good 
for the period, his attendance at the district schools 
' being supplemented by a course at Bacon Acade- 
my, then a famous school, where he was a class- 
mate of many men who afterward became eminent, 
among them the late Lyman Trumbull, erstwhile 
senator from Illinois. These opportunities were 
not thrown away upon a youth of his talent and 
aptitude. The habits of " study and observation 
formed in boyhood remained with him through life, 
and until he passed into the .unseen world he never 
failed to note and weigh current events. His first 
employment in Hartford was as clerk for Leonard 
Kennedy (afterward his father-in-law), whose store 
stood up.m the site where he himself afterward 



carried on business for many years, and which is 
now occupied by his sons. Even then he displayed 
that tenacity of purpose and power of self-control 
which, in his after life, was so conspicuous. He 
received from Mr. Kennedy for his first year's 
work $600. By dint of rigid economy he was able 
to carry this sum home intact, and offer it to his 
mother. Finding that it was not needed in the do- 
mestic economy, he brought it back with him to 
Hartford ; and this small amount, deposited in the 
Phoenix Bank, constituted the financial nucleus of 
his fortune. The word financial is used advisedly, 
since he owned a more productive capital, in the 
form of hard sense, quick perception and tireless 
energy. In 1840 he acquired an interest in the 
business, which after a few years passed wholly 
under his control. In commercial life he seemed 
incapable of fatigue. Always the first at the store 
in the morning, he was the last to leave at night, 
devoting his evenings to the inspection of his books 
of account, a task which not infrequently extended 
far into the night. How the business developed, 
under his watchful, judicious supervision, consti- 
tutes a part of Hartford's commercial history. Xo 
detail was too trivial to fix his notice ; and it is said 
of his memory that he was able to tell — among 
nearly 3,000 accounts — on which side the balance 
stood on each account and to fix that balance to a 
nicety. The extent of his business necessitated carry- 
ing a large stock, filling not only his store on Mam 
street, but also the rear buildings and additional 
warerooms on Kinsley street. In addition to the capi- 
tal invested in his business he had large and valuable 
holdings in real estate, besides being a stockholder 
in various solid, dividend-paying corporations. 
He owned farms in Bloomfield, on Talcott Moun- 
tain, in Windsor, and in other localities, having 
probably over 700 acres of valuable land in Hart- 
ford county alone. Although unassuming, and 
modest in dress, demeanor and mode of life, he 
was a man of powerful personality, rarely failing 
to exert an influence over those with whom he 
came in contact. His mental grasp was broad and 
firm, and capable of comprehending and fathoming 
schemes of vast magnitude. Among his warmest 
personal friends were E. M. Reed, superintendent 
of the New York, New Haven & Hartford railroad, 
who was wont to consult him on matters of grave 
import ; and the prominent merchants, Henry Keney, 
Charles Brainard (president of the State Bank), 
James Goodwin, and Robert Buell, the latter a 
merchant tailor, and later an extensive stock bro- 
ker. These gentlemen frequently gathered in each 
other's offices, remaining often late into the night. 
Mr. W r ay died at his home on Windsor avenue Oct. 
5, 1882, some two years after the death of his wife. 
May 21, 1880, leaving an estate valued at over half 
a million dollars. In his earlv life he was a Whig, 
and in later years a Republican, although never 
taking an active part in politics. In religious faith 
he was a Congregationalist, being an attendant at 
the Central Church, of which Rev. Dr. Hawes was 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



171 



pastor. He was a lover of fine horses and Alder- 
ney cows, of which he owned a large number. His 
wife, Miriam F. (Kennedy), was born March 18, 
1804. She bore her husband three sons: Samuel 
L.. born July 13. 1833; George L., May 21, 1835; 
and William K., May 19, 1837. The youngest died 
Jan. 18. 1887. 

George L. Way was educated in the district and 
high schools of Hartford, having among his precep- 
tors Rev. Thomas K. Beecher. After graduation he 
entered the store of his father, whose wish was 
that he should become a merchant. In September, 
[862, he enli>ted in Company I, 22d Conn. V. I., 
serving about ten months. On his return home 
he became associated with his father, in the capa- 
city of confidential manager, which relation sub- 
sisted until the demise of the latter. Since that 
event he has devoted his time to the management 
of his own extensive business interests. 

I m June 15, 1876, Mr. Way married Miss Sarah 
Jane Smith, a daughter of James Smith, of Hart- 
ford. Five children have been born to them: A. 
Sidney. Henry P., Leonard D., Howard D., and 
Helen C. Mr. Way attends the Universalist 
Church. 

DANIEL ANS( )N MARKHAM, who has been 
engaged in the successful practice of law in Hart- 
ford tor the past sixteen years, and has also become 
well known in the city in other connections, was born 
Dec. 29, 1854. in Chatham, Middlesex Co., Conn., 
and comes of a family long established in this State. 
His great-grandfather, John Markham, was a sol- 
dier in the Revolution. Hiram Markham, son of 
John, had a son Daniel Xiles, who married Mary 
Skinner, and resides in Chatham. They were the 
parents <i our subject. 

Daniel A. Markham prepared for college under 
private tutors, was graduated from Wesleyan Uni- 
versity, Middletown, Conn., with the class of 1897, 
and subsequently studied law in Middletown with 
Arthur I',. Calef and D. W.* Northrop. In 1882 he 
was admitted to the Bar in Middlesex county, but 
since [884 he has followed his profession in Hart- 
ford, where he has won high rank among the mem- 
bers oi his profession and as a citizen. The resi- 
dents of his adopted city gave substantial evidence 
of their appreciation of his worth and confidence in 
bis ability by electing Mr. Markham, a few years 
after his settlement in Hartford, to the position of 
recorder in the cit) court, in which he served from 
1891 to [893. His able discharge of all the duties 
connected with that incumbency elicited the ap- 
proval of all concerned. Air. Markham's reputation 
as a 1 r is < if the highest. 

In [889 Mr. Markham married Mis> Grace 
Irich, daughter of Samuel G. and Annie 1 Bu1 
hi" 1 Goodrich, and three children have been born 

to them, as follows : Daniel Goodrich, Dec i_\ [890; 
Margaret, Jan. 21, [893 (died Dec. 9, i^o.si: and 
John Anson, Nov. 15. 1X94. 



ROGER WELLES was born at Newington 
March 7, 1829, the sixth child and second son of 
Roger and Electa (Stanley) Welles. Mr. Welles 
attended the district school and the academy in 
Newington, also the academies at Madison, Conn., 
and East Hartford, and later Williston Seminar}-, at 
East Hampton, Mass., 'where he fitted for college. He 
taught a district school in the Belden district in West 
Hartford during the winter of 1846-47, and "board- 
ed round." In 1847 ne entered Yale College, and 
graduated in the class of 185 1, after which he en- 
tered his name as a student in the law office of his 
uncle, Judge Martin Welles, in Hartford, some part 
of (the time being occupied in teaching in Madison 
and his native town. He was admitted to the Bar 
in ( )ctober, 1854, and had a desk in the law office 
of Judge Francis Parsons. He was appointed en- 
grossing clerk of the Legislature at its May session, 
1855, and acted as reporter for the Hartford 
Courant of the doings of the House of Representa- 
tives during that session, Thomas M. Day, Esq., 
being the editor of (the Courant at that time. In Sep- 
tember of that year he went to St. Paul, Minn., and 
entered into a law partnership with William I'. 
Murray, Esq., of that city. In the fall of 1850 he 
was taken sick with remittent fever, and, being ad- 
vised to have a change of climate as the best medi- 
cine, he returned home for the winter of 1856-57. 
In the spring of 1857 he went back to Minnesota 
with restored health, locating at Henderson, Sibley 
county, where the United States Land Office had 
just been established, and entered into partnership 
with Martin J. Severance, Esq., practicing law 
mostly before the land office. On June 10, 1X5X, 
he married, at Prairie du Chien, .Wis., Mercy I). 
Aiken, daughter of Lemuel S. and Sarah (Coffin 1 
Aiken, of Eairhaven, Mass. They have seven chil- 
dren, as follows: (1) Martin, born April 15, [859, 
graduated at Yale in 1882, and is now doing busi- 
ness in Xew York City; on June 12, 1888, he mar- 
ried Mary Amelia Patton, and they have three chil- 
dren. (2) Mary Crowell, born Xov. I, i860, grad- 
uated at Smith College, Northampton, Mass.. in 
1883. and is now an instructor there. (3) Roger,. 
born Dec. 7, 1862, graduated at the Annapolis Naval 
Academy in 1886, and is now a lieutenant in the 
Navy. (4) Sarah Aiken, born Dec. 2, [864, died 
Xov. 3, 1X70. (5) Edwin Stanley, born Sept. 5, 
[866, graduated at the Berkeley Divinity School, at 
Middletown, in iX<;_>. (6) Lemuel Aiken, born 
Xov. iX. 1X70, graduated at Yale in [893, and is 
now a lawyer in Xew York City. (71 Grace 
Mather, born Ma\ [2, 1X74, graduated at Miss 
Burnham's Sclio-l.Xorthampton.Mas>., in [893, and 
on Sept. 3, [895. married II. Leonard Beadle; they 
have one sun. 

In the spring of [860 Mr. Welles returned to 
( bnnecticul and entered into partnership with In 
Martin Welles, who died Jan. [X, [863. Mr was 

en a representative from the town of Wethi 
field in [864 and 1X71, and during the session of tin 



172 



COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



legislature in the latter year secured the passage of 
an Act incorporating Newington, which had before 
been a parish in the town of Wethersfield, as a 
new town. On June I, 1874, he entered into part- 
nership with Hon. William W. Eaton and his son, 
in law practice, continuing thus for several years. 
On May 1, 1889, he was appointed financial clerk 
of the United States Patent Office at Washington, 
D. C, where he continued until Sept. 1, 1891, when 
he was transferred at his own request to the office 
of the Assistant Attorney-General in the Interior 
Department, remaining till he resigned, July 1, 
1893. He has since practiced his profession in Hart- 
ford. 

Air. Welles became a member of the Congrega- 
tional Church in Newington .May 3, 1868, and was 
clerk of the Ecclesiastical Society from Nov. 5, 
1867, to Oct. 24, 1887; superintendent of the Sun- 
day-school from Dec. 31, 1868, to Jan. 4, 1873. He 
published the Church and Society Records in the 
"Annals of Newington," in 1874. Various town 
offices, as those of selectman, assessor, justice of the 
peace and grand juror, have been held by him. 
For several years he was chairman of the committee 
of the Hartford County Bar, for the examination 
of candidates for admission to the Bar, until he 
resigned, in 1889. 

WILLIAM A. CROSBY was born in East 
Glastonbury, May 20. 1846. and was educated in 
the common schools and Wilbraham (Mass.) 
Academy, finishing a't the age of eighteen. 

The name Crosby means "town of the Cross." 
The termination "by" in English towns is a Danish 
form of burgh, .bury nr borough. The towns so 
called are found in great numbers where the Danes 
formed their settlements, principallv along the sea 
casts of northern England. Undoubtedly the 
first of the Crosby family to come to America was 
Simon, who, when twenty-six vears of age came 
to this country in the "Susan and Ellyn," with his 
wife Ann. aged twenty-five years, and' their young 
si .11 Thomas. He became a freeman in Cambridge, 
Mass., in 1636, later was one of the selectmen, 
and died in 1639. He was a wealthy man, and 
undoubtedly brought considerable money with him 
to America. He left tkree children. His widow 
afterward married Rev. William Thompson, of 
Braintree. 

Edwin Crosby, the father of our subject, was 
born in Ellington, Conn., in 1816, and was left 
an orphan at the tender age of two and one-half 
years. Being deprived of his parents at such an 
early age, much of the family history has been 
lost. He made his home with an uncle upon a 
farm in Ellington until fourteen years of age, dur- 
ing which time he attended school only a few short 
months in the winter, but he was a very studious 
boy, and much of his education was obtained by 
reading in the evenings after his day's work was 
done. At the age of fourteen he left the home of 



his uncle to make his own way in the world, and 
went to Rockville, where he was employed in the 
dye department of the woolen mills for some time. 
He then came to East Glastonbury to accept the 
position of superintendent in the mills owned by 
Sereno Hubbard, and in that capacity was connected 
with the mills until the death of Mr. Hubbard, 
when he purchased an interest in the business and 
became a silent partner. Subsequently the firm 
bought the Eagle Mills, in Eagleville ( now Addi- 
son), Conn., and for two years they conducted 
both, the finishing of the product of the old mill 
being done in Eagleville. The mills at East Glas- 
tonbury were then known as the Roaring Brook 
Mills. Financial reverses overtook the company, 
and the mills in Eagleville were sold. They began 
anew in East Glastonbury, but it required some 
months before matters were properly adjusted. 
Later Mr. Crosby assumed full control of the mills, 
which he ran with profit, and continued in active 
business until 1884, when he was succeeded by his 
sons, Alembert O. and Lincoln E., but poor health 
obliged the latter to retire from business shortly 
afterward. The father died April 12, 1888, after 
a gradual decline of about ten years, and was 
buried in East Glastonbury cemetery. He was a 
man of medium height and weight. A faithful 
member of the East Glastonbury Methodist Episco- 
pal Church, he was very active in all its affairs, and 
was a large contributor to same. He served as 
class-leader and superintendent of the Sunday- 
school for a number of years, and whether the 
weather was good or bad he was always in his pew 
on the Sabbath-day. He was very domestic in his 
habits, and was a lover of home and family. As a 
business man he was very thorough in his under- 
takings, was frank and open, and kind to his em- 
ployes, many of whom had been in his employ for 
several years, and made a great effort to please 
him. He was a man of strict integrity, was a con- 
stant reader, and broad-minded and liberal in his 
views. If he had had better educational advant- 
ages in youth he woidd undoubtedly have become 
a very prominent man. He was a stanch supporter 
first of the Whig and later of the Republican 
party, and represented Glastonbury in the State 
Legis'ature. 

For his first wife Edwin Crosby married Al- 
truda Andrews, a native of Glastonbury, and a 
daughter of David and Honorra ( Sparks ) Andrews. 
She died Dec. 5, 1843, leaving two children: (1) 
Lincoln E., born April 10, 1840, died Aug. 25, 1890 
( he married Sarah E. Strong, and they had four 
children, Edwin Hugh, who married Ethel L. Clark, 
and is engaged in the newspaper business in Glas- 
tonbury ; Grace A. ; Eva A. ; and Florence A'. ) : 
(2) Adario, born July 4, 1843, died Feb. 22, 1894 
(he wedded Mary Cory, and they had one daugh- 
ter, Cora, now the wife of a Mr. Webb, of Holyoke, 
Mass.). For his second wife Mr. Crosby married 
a sister of his first, Harriet Andrews, who was born 







s/Z<Kf 




COMMEMORATIVE BIOGRAPHICAL RECORD. 



173 



Oct. 7. 1826, and died Jan. 5, 1899. She was a 
good Christian mother, and a kind and loving neigh- 
bor. By the second union there were three children : 
William A. ; Alembert O., a sketch of whom appears 
elsewhere; and Ada. now Airs. David Gordon, of 
i la/.ardville. Conn., who cared for her mother in her 
declining years. 

William A. Crosby commenced work with T. 
Steele & In., of Hartford, and learned the jeweler's 
trade, remaining about eight years in all. In 1868- 
(*) he was in the jewelr) business in Chicago, work- 
ing for A. H. Miller & Co. In 1869, after return- 
in"- from Chicago, he was employed in the. office of 
E. Crosby & Sons as bookkeeper in their Hartford 
office, w